HomeNDC LookupIngredientsAminophylline › 00409-5922-01
💉image loading
(from DailyMed)

Aminophylline 25 mg/mL Injection, Solution

by Hospira, Inc. · 25 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 TRAY (0409-5922-01) / 20 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE (0409-5922-16)
NDC 00409-5922-01
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 0409-5922-01 billing pads the labeler segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →
Past resolved recalls for this product (1)
Class II · Sep 27, 2022 · Terminated — Presence of Particulate Matter: A complaint was received for the presence of a hair in one vial. (Pfizer Inc.) · FDA recall D-0003-2023

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 0409-5922-01
Product NDC 0409-5922
11-digit billing NDC 00409592201
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
RxCUI 1724666, 1724668
UNII C229N9DX94
Application # ANDA087242
SPL Set ID 9a663ef3-881f-48bd-2689-3713b24545c2
Established class (EPC) Methylxanthine
Chemical class Xanthines
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2005-02-28
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance AMINOPHYLLINE DIHYDRATE
GPI-14 44300010002010
GPI class Aminophylline
GCN Seq No 000115
GCN 00461
HICL code 000037
Ingredient (HICL) Aminophylline
HIC1 code A
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Cardiovascular System
HIC2 code A1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Cardiac Stimulants
HIC3 code A1B
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Xanthines
AHFS code 48:12.12.00
AHFS class Xanthine Derivatives
FDB label name AMINOPHYLLINE 500 MG/20 ML VL
FDB brand name Aminophylline
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 0409-5922-01 — a 4-4-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the labeler segment → 00409-5922-01. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Xanthines class.

Drug family (ATC) Xanthines
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerHospira, Inc.
Application holderHOSPIRA INC
FDA applicationANDA087242 (ANDA)
Labeler code00409
First marketedFeb 2005
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio317 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name AMINOPHYLLINE 500 MG/20 ML VL Ingredient Aminophylline
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Aminophylline injection is used when your breathing problem is serious enough to need hospital treatment. During a severe asthma attack or a bad flare of a chronic lung condition,...
  • Why am I getting aminophylline through an IV instead of just using my inhaler?
  • Theophylline — the active drug aminophylline releases — has a narrow window between working well and causing serious problems. What's a safe dose for one person can be too much or...
  • Why do the nurses keep checking my blood levels while I'm on this medication?
📖 Read our full Aminophylline guide →
1
Nutrient depletion considerations

Aminophylline may be associated with lower levels of 1 nutrient — worth a chat with your pharmacist, not a cause for alarm.

An association is not a deficiency. Educational only — don't start or stop anything without professional guidance.
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

Loading inactive ingredients from the official FDA label in the background. No external source is being called by this page request.
Where does this data come from?
Source: official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMed and the openFDA label index. Structured IACT rows and label-wide narrative are kept separate; availability and product-level specificity depend on the submitted label.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $1.82 $909.60 / 500 ml
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
Medicare Part B allowsASP · J0280 $11.160 / J0280 unit
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)0409-5922-01
11-digit billing NDC00409-5922-01
Format4-4-2 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the labeler segment)
HCPCS J-codeJ0280
DescriptorINJECTION, AMINOPHYLLIN, UP TO 250 MG
Billing units / pkg0.1 units
Crosswalk sourcePDAC NDC-HCPCS crosswalk (DME MAC / DMEPOS)
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Aminophylline 25 mg/mL 00404-9814-20 Henry 1 vial FDA listed
Aminophylline 25 mg/mLthis 00409-5922-01 Hospira, 25 vials FDA listed
Aminophylline 25 mg/mL 51662-1341-01 HF 20 ml FDA listed
Aminophylline 25 mg/mL 71872-7060-01 Medical 1 vial FDA listed
Aminophylline 25 mg/mL 84549-0922-01 ProPharma 20 ml FDA listed
Aminophylline 25 mg/mL 51662-1204-01 HF 10 ml FDA listed
Aminophylline 25 mg/mL 00409-5921-01 Hospira, 25 vials FDA listed
Aminophylline 25 mg/mL 71872-7374-01 Medical 1 vial FDA listed
Aminophylline 25 mg/mL 00404-9813-10 Henry 1 vial FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2005
On the market since
Feb 2005
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
21 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 00409-5922-01, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
3.3K
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
41.3K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$75.1K
Avg / prescription
$23.04
Avg / unit
$1.8192
Latest quarter Q4 2025
599Rx
Fee-for-service vs managed care
46% FFS 54% MCO
Fee-for-service · 1,506 Rx Managed care · 1,752 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: no data reported MI New York: 16,220 units · 82.9 per 100k residents NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: no data reported IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: 860 units · 7.3 per 100k residents OH Pennsylvania: 4,390 units · 33.9 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: 791 units · 8.5 per 100k residents NJ Massachusetts: 1,330 units · 19.0 per 100k residents MA California: 150 units · 0.4 per 100k residents CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: no data reported MO Kentucky: 1,991 units · 44.0 per 100k residents KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: no data reported VA Maryland: 296 units · 4.8 per 100k residents MD Connecticut: 7,420 units · 205 per 100k residents CT Rhode Island: 870 units · 79.5 per 100k residents RI Arizona: 340 units · 4.6 per 100k residents AZ New Mexico: 1,220 units · 57.7 per 100k residents NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: 190 units · 2.7 per 100k residents TN North Carolina: no data reported NC South Carolina: 620 units · 11.5 per 100k residents SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: 36 units · 0.9 per 100k residents OK Louisiana: no data reported LA Mississippi: 1,270 units · 43.2 per 100k residents MS Alabama: 600 units · 11.7 per 100k residents AL Georgia: no data reported GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: 1,070 units · 3.5 per 100k residents TX Florida: 1,600 units · 7.1 per 100k residents FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
0.4205
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 Connecticut 205 /100k
2 New York 82.9 /100k
3 Rhode Island 79.5 /100k
4 New Mexico 57.7 /100k
5 Kentucky 44.0 /100k
6 Mississippi 43.2 /100k
7 Pennsylvania 33.9 /100k
8 Massachusetts 19.0 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Aminophylline — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Dyspnoea462
Asthma406
Vomiting384
Pneumonia367
Wheezing324
Drug Hypersensitivity321
Oedema307

Age at onset

Neonate9
Infant16
Child4
Adolescent8
Adult77
Elderly146

Reporter sex

1,970 reports
Male · 37%
Female · 62%
Unknown · 0%

Serious outcomes

Life-threatening284
Disabling53
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2020 2022 2024 2026 140 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
00409-5922-01 You're viewing this 25 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 TRAY (0409-5922-01) / 20 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE (0409-5922-16) 2005-02-28 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos — Not published for this NDC No photo available yet for this listing.
Inactive ingredients (structured) — Not published for this NDC The labeler did not submit a structured excipient list, or no SPL is available.
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data — Not published for this NDC Applies only to products approved under an NDA/ANDA; many listings are out of scope.
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk ✓ Available
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) ✓ Available
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 0409-5922-01, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 00409-5922-01, written without dashes as 00409592201. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 00409-5922-01, the first segment (00409) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Hospira, Inc.; the middle segment (5922) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (01) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Hospira, Inc.. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Hospira, Inc. is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Yes — this NDC cross-references HCPCS code J0280 for medical-claim billing (typically used when a product is administered in a clinical setting rather than dispensed at a retail pharmacy). See the Billing section on this page.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 45 words

INDICATIONS AND USAGE Intravenous theophylline is indicated as an adjunct to inhaled beta-2 selective agonists and systemically administered corticosteroids for the treatment of acute exacerbations of the symptoms and reversible airflow obstruction associated with asthma and other chronic lung diseases, e.g., emphysema and chronic bronchitis.

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION General Considerations: The steady-state serum theophylline concentration is a function of the infusion rate and the rate of theophylline clearance in the individual patient. Because of marked individual differences in the rate of theophylline clearance, the dose required to achieve a serum theophylline concentration in the 10-20 mcg/mL range varies fourfold among otherwise similar patients in the absence of factors known to alter theophylline clearance. For a given population there is no single theophylline dose that will provide both safe and effective serum concentrations for all patients.

Administration of the median theophylline dose required to achieve a therapeutic serum theophylline concentration in a given population may result in either sub-therapeutic or potentially toxic serum theophylline concentrations in individual patients. The dose of theophylline must be individualized on the basis of serum theophylline concentration measurements in order to achieve a dose that will provide maximum potential benefit with minimal risk of adverse effects. When theophylline is used as an acute bronchodilator, the goal of obtaining a therapeutic serum concentration is best accomplished with an intravenous loading dose.

Because of rapid distribution into body fluids, the serum concentration (C) obtained from an initial loading dose (LD) is related primarily to the volume of distribution (V), the apparent space into which the drug diffuses: C = LD/V If a mean volume of distribution of about

0.5L/kg is assumed (actual range is 0.3 to

0.7L/kg), each mg/kg (ideal body weight) of theophylline administered as a loading dose over 30 minutes results in an average 2 mcg/mL increase in serum theophylline concentration. Therefore, in a patient who has received no theophylline in the previous 24 hours, a loading dose of intravenous theophylline of 4.6 mg/kg (5.7 mg/kg as aminophylline), calculated on the basis of ideal body weight and administered over 30 minutes, on average, will produce a maximum post-distribution serum concentration of 10 mcg/mL with a range of 6-16 mcg/mL.

When a loading dose becomes necessary in the patient who has already received theophylline, estimation of the serum concentration based upon the history is unreliable, and an immediate serum level determination is indicated. The loading dose can then be determined as follows: D = (Desired C - Measured C) (V) where D is the loading dose, C is the serum theophylline concentration, and V is the volume of distribution. The mean volume of distribution can be assumed to be

0.5L/kg and the desired serum concentration should be conservative (e.g., 10 mcg/mL) to allow for the variability in the volume of distribution. A loading dose should not be given before obtaining a serum theophylline concentration if the patient has received any theophylline in the previous 24 hours. A serum concentration obtained 30 minutes after an intravenous loading dose, when distribution is complete, can be used to assess the need for and size of subsequent loading doses, if clinically indicated, and for guidance of continuing therapy.

Once a serum concentration of 10 to 15 mcg/mL has been achieved with the use of a loading dose(s), a constant intravenous infusion is started. The rate of administration is based upon mean pharmacokinetic parameters for the population and calculated to achieve a target serum concentration of 10 mcg/mL (see Table V ). For example, in non-smoking adults, initiation of a constant intravenous theophylline infusion of 0.4 mg/kg/hr (0.5 mg/kg/hr as aminophylline) at the completion of the loading dose, on average, will result in a steady-state concentration of 10 mcg/mL with a range of 7-26 mcg/mL.

The mean and range of steady-state serum concentrations are similar when the average child (age 1 to 9 years) is given a loading dose of 4.6 mg/kg theophylline (5.7 mg/kg as aminophylline) followed by a constant intravenous infusion of 0.8 mg/kg/hr (1.0…

Contraindications 21 words

CONTRAINDICATIONS Aminophylline is contraindicated in patients with a history of hypersensitivity to theophylline or other components in the product including ethylenediamine.

⚠️ Warnings ~2 min read

WARNINGS Concurrent Illness: Theophylline should be used with extreme caution in patients with the following clinical conditions due to the increased risk of exacerbation of the concurrent condition: Active peptic ulcer disease Seizure disorders Cardiac arrhythmias (not including bradyarrhythmias) Conditions That Reduce Theophylline Clearance: There are several readily identifiable causes of reduced theophylline clearance. If the infusion rate is not appropriately reduced in the presence of these risk factors, severe and potentially fatal theophylline toxicity can occur.

Careful consideration must be given to the benefits and risks of theophylline use and the need for more intensive monitoring of serum theophylline concentrations in patients with the following risk factors: Age Neonates (term and premature) Children <1 year Elderly (>60 years) Concurrent Diseases Acute pulmonary edema Congestive heart failure Cor pulmonale Fever; ≥102° for 24 hours or more; or lesser temperature elevations for longer periods Hypothyroidism Liver disease; cirrhosis, acute hepatitis Reduced renal function in infants <3 months of age Sepsis with multi-organ failure Shock Cessation of Smoking Drug Interactions Adding a drug that inhibits theophylline metabolism (e.g., cimetidine, erythromycin, tacrine) or stopping a concurrently administered drug that enhances theophylline metabolism (e.g., carbamazepine, rifampin) (see PRECAUTIONS , Drug Interactions , Table II ).

When Signs or Symptoms of Theophylline Toxicity Are Present: Whenever a patient receiving theophylline develops nausea or vomiting, particularly repetitive vomiting, or other signs or symptoms consistent with theophylline toxicity (even if another cause may be suspected), the intravenous infusion should be stopped and a serum theophylline concentration measured immediately. Dosage Increases Increases in the dose of intravenous theophylline should not be made in response to an acute exacerbation of symptoms unless the steady-state serum theophylline concentration is <10 mcg/mL.

As the rate of theophylline clearance may be dose-dependent (i.e., steady-state serum concentrations may increase disproportionately to the increase in dose), an increase in dose based upon a sub-therapeutic serum concentration measurement should be conservative. In general, limiting infusion rate increases to about 25% of the previous infusion rate will reduce the risk of unintended excessive increases in serum theophylline concentration (see DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION , TABLE VI ).

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

ADVERSE REACTIONS Adverse reactions associated with theophylline are generally mild when peak serum theophylline concentrations are <20 mcg/mL and mainly consist of transient caffeine-like adverse effects such as nausea, vomiting, headache, and insomnia. When peak serum theophylline concentrations exceed 20 mcg/mL, however, theophylline produces a wide range of adverse reactions including persistent vomiting, cardiac arrhythmias, and intractable seizures which can be lethal (see OVERDOSAGE ). Other adverse reactions that have been reported at serum theophylline concentrations <20 mcg/mL include diarrhea, irritability, restlessness, fine skeletal muscle tremors, and transient diuresis.

In patients with hypoxia secondary to COPD, multifocal atrial tachycardia and flutter have been reported at serum theophylline concentrations ≥15 mcg/mL. There have been a few isolated reports of seizures at serum theophylline concentrations <20 mcg/mL in patients with an underlying neurological disease or in elderly patients. The occurrence of seizures in elderly patients with serum theophylline concentrations <20 mcg/mL may be secondary to decreased protein binding resulting in a larger proportion of the total serum theophylline concentration in the pharmacologically active unbound form.

The clinical characteristics of the seizures reported in patients with serum theophylline concentrations <20 mcg/mL have generally been milder than seizures associated with excessive serum theophylline concentrations resulting from an overdose (i.e., they have generally been transient, often stopped without anticonvulsant therapy, and did not result in neurological residua). Products containing aminophylline may rarely produce severe allergic reactions of the skin, including exfoliative dermatitis, after systemic administration in a patient who has been previously sensitized by topical application of a substance containing ethylenediamine.

In such patients skin patch tests are positive for ethylenediamine, a component of aminophylline, and negative for theophylline. Pharmacists and other individuals who experience repeated skin exposure while physically handling aminophylline may develop a contact dermatitis due to the ethylenediamine component. Table IV.

Manifestations of Theophylline Toxicity* Percentage of Patients Reported With Sign or Symptom * These data are derived from two studies in patients with serum theophylline concentrations >30 mcg/mL. In the first study (Study #1 – Shanon, Ann Intern Med 1993;119:1161-67), data were prospectively collected from 249 consecutive cases of theophylline toxicity referred to a regional poison center for consultation. In the second study (Study #2 – Sessler, Am J Med 1990; 88:567-76), data were retrospectively collected from 116 cases with serum theophylline concentrations >30 mcg/mL among 6000 blood samples obtained for measurement of serum theophylline concentrations in three emergency departments.

Differences in the incidence of manifestations of theophylline toxicity between the two studies may reflect sample selection as a result of study design (e.g., in Study #1, 48% of the patients had acute intoxications versus only 10% in Study #2) and different methods of reporting results. ** NR = Not reported in a comparable manner. Acute Overdose (Large Single Ingestion) Chronic Overdosage (Multiple Excessive Doses) Sign/Symptom Study 1 (n=157) Study 2 (n=14) Study 1 (n=92) Study 2 (n=102) Asymptomatic NR** 0 NR** 6 Gastrointestinal Vomiting 73 93 30 61 Abdominal pain NR** 21 NR** 12 Diarrhea NR** 0 NR** 14 Hematemesis NR** 0 NR** 2 Metabolic/Other Hypokalemia 85 79 44 43 Hyperglycemia 98 NR** 18 NR** Acid/base disturbance 34 21 9 5 Rhabdomyolysis NR** 7 NR** 0 Cardiovascular Sinus tachycardia 100 86 100 62 Other supraventricular 2 21 12 14 tachycardias Ventricular premature beats 3 21 10 19 Atrial fibrillation or flutter 1 NR** 12 NR** Multifocal atrial tachycardia 0 NR** 2 NR** Ventricular arrhythmias with 7 14 40 0 hem…

🔄 Drug Interactions ~2 min read

Drug Interactions: Theophylline interacts with a wide variety of drugs. The interaction may be pharmacodynamic, i.e., alterations in the therapeutic response to theophylline or another drug or occurrence of adverse effects without a change in serum theophylline concentration. More frequently, however, the interaction is pharmacokinetic, i.e., the rate of theophylline clearance is altered by another drug resulting in increased or decreased serum theophylline concentrations.

Theophylline only rarely alters the pharmacokinetics of other drugs. The drugs listed in Table II have the potential to produce clinically significant pharmacodynamic or pharmacokinetic interactions with theophylline. The information in the "Effect" column of Table II assumes that the interacting drug is being added to a steady-state theophylline regimen.

If theophylline is being initiated in a patient who is already taking a drug that inhibits theophylline clearance (e.g., cimetidine, erythromycin), the dose of theophylline required to achieve a therapeutic serum theophylline concentration will be smaller. Conversely, if theophylline is being initiated in a patient who is already taking a drug that enhances theophylline clearance (e.g., rifampin), the dose of theophylline required to achieve a therapeutic serum theophylline concentration will be larger. Discontinuation of a concomitant drug that increases theophylline clearance will result in accumulation of theophylline to potentially toxic levels, unless the theophylline dose is appropriately reduced.

Discontinuation of a concomitant drug that inhibits theophylline clearance will result in decreased serum theophylline concentrations, unless the theophylline dose is appropriately increased. The drugs listed in Table III have either been documented not to interact with theophylline or do not produce a clinically significant interaction (i.e., <15% change in theophylline clearance). The listing of drugs in Tables II and III are current as of September 1, 1995.

New interactions are continuously being reported for theophylline, especially with new chemical entities. The clinician should not assume that a drug does not interact with theophylline if it is not listed in Table II . Before addition of a newly available drug in a patient receiving theophylline, the package insert of the new drug and/or the medical literature should be consulted to determine if an interaction between the new drug and theophylline has been reported.

Table II. Clinically Significant Drug Interactions With Theophylline* Drug Type Of Interaction Effect** * Refer to PRECAUTIONS , Drug Interactions for further information regarding table. ** Average effect on steady-state theophylline concentration or other clinical effect for pharmacologic interactions. Individual patients may experience larger changes in serum theophylline concentration than the value listed.

Adenosine Theophylline blocks adenosine receptors. Higher doses of adenosine may be required to achieve desired effect. Alcohol A single large dose of alcohol (3 mL/kg of whiskey) decreases theophylline clearance for up to 24 hours.

30% increase Allopurinol Decreases theophylline clearance at allopurinol doses ≥600 mg/day. 25% increase Aminoglutethimide Increases theophylline clearance by induction of microsomal enzyme activity. 25% decrease Carbamazepine Similar to aminoglutethimide.

30% decrease Cimetidine Decreases theophylline clearance by inhibiting cytochrome P450 1A2. 70% increase Ciprofloxacin Similar to cimetidine. 40% increase Clarithromycin Similar to erythromycin.

25% increase Diazepam Benzodiazepines increase CNS concentrations of adenosine, a potent CNS depressant, while theophylline blocks adenosine receptors. Larger diazepam doses may be required to produce desired level of sedation. Discontinuation of theophylline without reduction of diazepam dose may result in respiratory depression.

Disulfiram Decreases theophylline clearance by inhibiting hydroxylation and demet…

🤰 Pregnancy 90 words

Pregnancy: There are no adequate and well controlled studies in pregnant women. Additionally, there are no teratogenicity studies in nonrodents (e.g., rabbits). Theophylline was not shown to be teratogenic in CD-1 mice at oral doses up to 400 mg/kg, approximately 2.0 times the human dose on a mg/m 2 basis or in CD-1 rats at oral doses up to 260 mg/kg, approximately 3.0 times the recommended human dose on a mg/m 2 basis.

At a dose of 220 mg/kg, embryotoxicity was observed in rats in the absence of maternal toxicity.

🧒 Pediatric Use 110 words

Pediatric Use: Theophylline is safe and effective for the approved indications in pediatric patients (see INDICATIONS AND USAGE ). The constant infusion rate of intravenous theophylline must be selected with caution in pediatric patients since the rate of theophylline clearance is highly variable across the age range of neonates to adolescents (see CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY , Table I , WARNINGS , and DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION , Table V ). Due to the immaturity of theophylline metabolic pathways in pediatric patients under the age of one year, particular attention to dosage selection and frequent monitoring of serum theophylline concentrations are required when theophylline is prescribed to pediatric patients in this age group.

🧓 Geriatric Use 167 words

Geriatric Use: Elderly patients are at significantly greater risk of experiencing serious toxicity from theophylline than younger patients due to pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic changes associated with aging. Theophylline clearance is reduced in patients greater than 60 years of age, resulting in increased serum theophylline concentrations in response to a given theophylline infusion rate. Protein binding may be decreased in the elderly resulting in a larger proportion of the total serum theophylline concentration in the pharmacologically active unbound form.

Elderly patients also appear to be more sensitive to the toxic effects of theophylline after chronic overdosage than younger patients. For these reasons, the maximum infusion rate of theophylline in patients greater than 60 years of age ordinarily should not exceed 17 mg/hr (21 mg/hr as aminophylline) unless the patient continues to be symptomatic and the peak steady state serum theophylline concentration is <10 mcg/mL (see DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION ). Theophylline infusion rates greater than 17 mg/hr (21 mg/hr as aminophylline) should be prescribed with caution in elderly patients.

🆘 Overdosage ~2 min read

OVERDOSAGE General: The chronicity and pattern of theophylline overdosage significantly influences clinical manifestations of toxicity, management and outcome. There are two common presentations: 1) acute overdose , i.e., infusion of an excessive loading dose or excessive maintenance infusion rate for less than 24 hours, and 2) chronic overdosage , i.e., excessive maintenance infusion rate for greater than 24 hours. The most common causes of chronic theophylline overdosage include clinician prescribing of an excessive dose or a normal dose in the presence of factors known to decrease the rate of theophylline clearance and increasing the dose in response to an exacerbation of symptoms without first measuring the serum theophylline concentration to determine whether a dose increase is safe.

Several studies have described the clinical manifestations of theophylline overdose following oral administration and attempted to determine the factors that predict life-threatening toxicity. In general, patients who experience an acute overdose are less likely to experience seizures than patients who have experienced a chronic overdosage, unless the peak serum theophylline concentration is >100 mcg/mL. After a chronic overdosage, generalized seizures, life-threatening cardiac arrhythmias, and death may occur at serum theophylline concentrations >30 mcg/mL.

The severity of toxicity after chronic overdosage is more strongly correlated with the patient's age than the peak serum theophylline concentration; patients >60 years are at the greatest risk for severe toxicity and mortality after a chronic overdosage. Pre-existing or concurrent disease may also significantly increase the susceptibility of a patient to a particular toxic manifestation, e.g., patients with neurologic disorders have an increased risk of seizures and patients with cardiac disease have an increased risk of cardiac arrhythmias for a given serum theophylline concentration compared to patients without the underlying disease.

The frequency of various reported manifestations of oral theophylline overdose according to the mode of overdose are listed in Table IV . Other manifestations of theophylline toxicity include increases in serum calcium, creatine kinase, myoglobin and leukocyte count, decreases in serum phosphate and magnesium, acute myocardial infarction, and urinary retention in men with obstructive uropathy. Seizures associated with serum theophylline concentrations >30 mcg/mL are often resistant to anticonvulsant therapy and may result in irreversible brain injury if not rapidly controlled.

Death from theophylline toxicity is most often secondary to cardiorespiratory arrest and/or hypoxic encephalopathy following prolonged generalized seizures or intractable cardiac arrhythmias causing hemodynamic compromise. Overdose Management: General Recommendations for Patients with Symptoms of Theophylline Overdose or Serum Theophylline Concentrations >30 mcg/mL While Receiving Intravenous Theophylline. 1.

Stop the theophylline infusion. 2. While simultaneously instituting treatment, contact a regional poison center to obtain updated information and advice on individualizing the recommendations that follow.

3. Institute supportive care, including establishment of intravenous access, maintenance of the airway, and electrocardiographic monitoring. 4.

Treatment of seizures : Because of the high morbidity and mortality associated with theophylline-induced seizures, treatment should be rapid and aggressive. Anticonvulsant therapy should be initiated with an intravenous benzodiazepine, e.g., diazepam, in increments of 0.1 - 0.2 mg/kg every 1 - 3 minutes until seizures are terminated. Repetitive seizures should be treated with a loading dose of phenobarbital (20 mg/kg infused over 30 - 60 minutes).

Case reports of theophylline overdose in humans and animal studies suggest that phenytoin is ineffective in terminating theophylline-induced seizures. The doses of benzodiazepines and phenobar…

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read

CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY Mechanism of Action: Theophylline has two distinct actions in the airways of patients with reversible obstruction; smooth muscle relaxation (i.e., bronchodilation) and suppression of the response of the airways to stimuli (i.e., nonbronchodilator prophylactic effects). While the mechanisms of action of theophylline are not known with certainty, studies in animals suggest that bronchodilation is mediated by the inhibition of two isozymes of phosphodiesterase (PDE III and, to a lesser extent, PDE IV), while nonbronchodilator prophylactic actions are probably mediated through one or more different molecular mechanisms, that do not involve inhibition of PDE III or antagonism of adenosine receptors.

Some of the adverse effects associated with theophylline appear to be mediated by inhibition of PDE III (e.g., hypotension, tachycardia, headache, and emesis) and adenosine receptor antagonism (e.g., alterations in cerebral blood flow). Theophylline increases the force of contraction of diaphragmatic muscles. This action appears to be due to enhancement of calcium uptake through an adenosine-mediated channel.

Serum Concentration-Effect Relationship: Bronchodilation occurs over the serum theophylline concentration range of 5 - 20 mcg/mL. Clinically important improvement in symptom control and pulmonary function has been found in most studies to require serum theophylline concentrations >10 mcg/mL. At serum theophylline concentrations >20 mcg/mL, both the frequency and severity of adverse reactions increase.

In general, maintaining the average serum theophylline concentration between 10 and 15 mcg/mL will achieve most of the drug's potential therapeutic benefit while minimizing the risk of serious adverse events. Pharmacokinetics: Overview: The pharmacokinetics of theophylline vary widely among similar patients and cannot be predicted by age, sex, body weight or other demographic characteristics. In addition, certain concurrent illnesses and alterations in normal physiology (see Table I ) and co-administration of other drugs (see Table II ) can significantly alter the pharmacokinetic characteristics of theophylline.

Within-subject variability in metabolism has also been reported in some studies, especially in acutely ill patients. It is, therefore, recommended that serum theophylline concentrations be measured frequently in acutely ill patients receiving intravenous theophylline (e.g., at 24-hr. intervals). More frequent measurements should be made during the initiation of therapy and in the presence of any condition that may significantly alter theophylline clearance (see PRECAUTIONS , Effects on Laboratory Tests ).

Table I. Mean and Range of Total Body Clearance and Half-Life of Theophylline Related to Age and Altered Physiological States¶ ¶ For various North American patient populations from literature reports. Different rates of elimination and consequent dosage requirements have been observed among other peoples. * Clearance represents the volume of blood completely cleared of theophylline by the liver in one minute.

Values listed were generally determined at serum theophylline concentrations, <20 mcg/mL; clearance may decrease and half-life may increase at higher serum concentrations due to nonlinear pharmacokinetics. †† Reported range or estimated range (mean ± 2 SD) where actual range not reported. † NR = not reported or not reported in a comparable format. ** Median Population Characteristics Age Total Body Clearance* Mean (Range) †† (mL/kg/min) Half-Life Mean (Range) †† (hr) Premature neonates postnatal age 3 - 15 days postnatal age 25 - 57 days 0.29 (0.09 - 0.49) 0.64 (0.04 - 1.2) 30 (17 - 43) 20 (9.4 - 30.6) Term infants postnatal age 1 - 2 days postnatal age 3 - 30 weeks NR † NR † 25.7 (25 - 26.5) 11 (6 - 29) Children 1 - 4 years 4 - 12 years 13 - 15 years 6 - 17 years 1.7 (0.5 - 2.9) 1.6 (0.8 - 2.4) 0.9 (0.48 - 1.3) 1.4 (0.2 - 2.6) 3.4 (1.2 - 5.6) NR † NR † 3.7 (1.5 - 5.9) Adults (16 - 60 years) otherwi…

🧬 Mechanism of Action ~1 min read

Mechanism of Action: Theophylline has two distinct actions in the airways of patients with reversible obstruction; smooth muscle relaxation (i.e., bronchodilation) and suppression of the response of the airways to stimuli (i.e., nonbronchodilator prophylactic effects). While the mechanisms of action of theophylline are not known with certainty, studies in animals suggest that bronchodilation is mediated by the inhibition of two isozymes of phosphodiesterase (PDE III and, to a lesser extent, PDE IV), while nonbronchodilator prophylactic actions are probably mediated through one or more different molecular mechanisms, that do not involve inhibition of PDE III or antagonism of adenosine receptors.

Some of the adverse effects associated with theophylline appear to be mediated by inhibition of PDE III (e.g., hypotension, tachycardia, headache, and emesis) and adenosine receptor antagonism (e.g., alterations in cerebral blood flow). Theophylline increases the force of contraction of diaphragmatic muscles. This action appears to be due to enhancement of calcium uptake through an adenosine-mediated channel.

Serum Concentration-Effect Relationship: Bronchodilation occurs over the serum theophylline concentration range of 5 - 20 mcg/mL. Clinically important improvement in symptom control and pulmonary function has been found in most studies to require serum theophylline concentrations >10 mcg/mL. At serum theophylline concentrations >20 mcg/mL, both the frequency and severity of adverse reactions increase.

In general, maintaining the average serum theophylline concentration between 10 and 15 mcg/mL will achieve most of the drug's potential therapeutic benefit while minimizing the risk of serious adverse events.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 85 words

HOW SUPPLIED Aminophylline Injection, USP 25 mg/mL is supplied in single-dose containers as follows: Unit of Sale Total Strength/Total Volume (Concentration) NDC 0409-5921-01 25 in a carton 250 mg/10 mL (25 mg/mL) NDC 0409-5922-01 25 in a carton 500 mg/20 mL (25 mg/mL) Store at 20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F). [See USP Controlled Room Temperature.] PROTECT FROM LIGHT. Store in carton until time of use. SINGLE-DOSE CONTAINER.

Discard unused portion. Distributed by Hospira, Inc., Lake Forest, IL 60045 USA LAB-1171-1.0 Revised: 03/2018 Hospira logo

📋 Description 197 words

DESCRIPTION Aminophylline Injection, USP is a sterile, nonpyrogenic solution of aminophylline in water for injection. Aminophylline (dihydrate) is approximately 79% of anhydrous theophylline by weight. Aminophylline Injection is administered by slow intravenous injection or diluted and administered by intravenous infusion.

The solution contains no bacteriostat or antimicrobial agent and is intended for use only as a single-dose injection. When smaller doses are required the unused portion should be discarded. Aminophylline is a 2:1 complex of theophylline and ethylenediamine.

Theophylline is structurally classified as a methylxanthine. Aminophylline occurs as a white or slightly yellowish granule or powder, with a slight ammoniacal odor. Aminophylline has the chemical name 1H-Purine-2, 6-dione, 3,7-dihydro-1,3-dimethyl-, compound with 1,2-ethanediamine (2:1).

The structural formula of aminophylline (dihydrate) is as follows: The molecular formula of aminophylline dihydrate is C 16 H 24 N 10 O 4 • 2(H 2 O) with a molecular weight of 456.46. Aminophylline Injection, USP contains aminophylline (calculated as the dihydrate) 25 mg/mL (equivalent to 19.7 mg/mL anhydrous theophylline) prepared with the aid of ethylenediamine. The solution may contain an excess of ethylenediamine for pH adjustment. pH is 8.8 (8.6 to 9.0).

The osmolar concentration is 0.17 mOsmol/mL (calc.). structural formula aminophylline

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.