Levocarnitine inactive ingredients by manufacturer
Wondering whether your Levocarnitine has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Levocarnitine product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We have read the FDA labels of 16 of the 16 current Levocarnitine products on the market today, from 9 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.
Ask about your bottle
Is there something in your Levocarnitine? Ask in plain words.
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
The short answer
Which Levocarnitine products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?
-
LactoseNo checked product
No checked Levocarnitine product lists lactose.
-
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Levocarnitine product lists a wheat or gluten source.
-
SoyNo checked product
No checked Levocarnitine product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesNo checked product
No checked Levocarnitine product lists synthetic dyes.
-
GelatinNo checked product
No checked Levocarnitine product lists gelatin.
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 1 of 16 Alcohol 2 of 16 Sugar 5 of 16
1 product lists starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every current Levocarnitine product and what its label lists
| Product | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| American Regent, Inc. 2 products | ||
| 200 mg/mL injectionNDC 00517-1045-05 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER |
| 200 mg/mL injectionNDC 00517-1075-01 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER |
| ANI Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 3 products | ||
| 1 g/10 mL oral solutionNDC 70954-0140-10 | None of these listed |
Show 5 ingredientsCHERRY, MALIC ACID, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, SACCHARIN SODIUM MONOHYDRATE |
| 1 g/10 mL oral solutionNDC 70954-0139-10 | Sugar (sucrose, dextrose) |
Show 5 ingredientsCHERRY, MALIC ACID, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, SUCROSE |
| 330 mg tabletNDC 70954-0492-10 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsCELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE K30 |
| Baxter Healthcare Corporation 1 product | ||
| 1 g/5 mL injectionNDC 36000-0368-10 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER |
| Devatis Inc. 1 product | ||
| 1 g/5 mL injectionNDC 73043-0034-05 | None of these listed |
Show 2 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, SODIUM HYDROXIDE |
| Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 1 product | ||
| 1 g/5 mL injectionNDC 00143-9852-10 | None of these listed |
Show 2 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, SODIUM HYDROXIDE |
| Leadiant Biosciences, Inc. 4 products | ||
| 1 g/5 mL injectionNDC 54482-0147-01 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER |
| 1 g/10 mL oral solutionNDC 54482-0145-08 | Sugar (sucrose, dextrose) |
Show 5 ingredientsMALIC ACID, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, SUCROSE, WATER |
| 1 g/10 mL oral solutionNDC 54482-0148-01 | None of these listed |
Show 5 ingredientsMALIC ACID, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, SACCHARIN SODIUM, WATER |
| 330 mg tabletNDC 54482-0144-07 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsMAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED |
| Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. 2 products | ||
| 1 g/10 mL oral solutionNDC 64980-0503-12 | Sugar (sucrose, dextrose) |
Show 5 ingredientsMALIC ACID, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, SUCROSE, WATER |
| 330 mg tabletNDC 16571-0762-09 | Starch, source not stated |
Show 4 ingredientsMAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A |
| Saptalis Pharmaceuticals, LLC 1 product | ||
| 1 g/10 mL oral solutionNDC 71656-0016-01 | Alcohol (ethanol) Sugar (sucrose, dextrose) |
Show 7 ingredientsALCOHOL, CHERRY, MALIC ACID, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, SUCROSE, WATER |
| Trupharma, Llc 1 product | ||
| 1 g/10 mL oral solutionNDC 52817-0830-04 | Alcohol (ethanol) Sugar (sucrose, dextrose) |
Show 7 ingredientsALCOHOL, CHERRY, MALIC ACID, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, SUCROSE, WATER |
A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.
Levocarnitine without starch of unstated source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 1 of 16 checked products list starch of unstated source; 15 do not.
Does not list starch of unstated source
- American Regent: 200 mg/mL injection (NDC 00517-1045-05), 200 mg/mL injection (NDC 00517-1075-01)
- ANI: 1 g/10 mL oral solution (NDC 70954-0140-10), 1 g/10 mL oral solution (NDC 70954-0139-10), 330 mg tablet
- Baxter Healthcare: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Devatis: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Hikma: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Leadiant Biosciences: 1 g/5 mL injection, 1 g/10 mL oral solution (NDC 54482-0145-08), 1 g/10 mL oral solution (NDC 54482-0148-01), 330 mg tablet
- Rising: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
- Saptalis: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
- Trupharma: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
Lists starch of unstated source
- Rising: 330 mg tablet
Levocarnitine without alcohol (ethanol)
Alcohol (ethanol): mostly in liquids; a concern in alcohol recovery, for children, or with disulfiram or metronidazole. 2 of 16 checked products list alcohol (ethanol); 14 do not.
Does not list alcohol (ethanol)
- American Regent: 200 mg/mL injection (NDC 00517-1045-05), 200 mg/mL injection (NDC 00517-1075-01)
- ANI: 1 g/10 mL oral solution (NDC 70954-0140-10), 1 g/10 mL oral solution (NDC 70954-0139-10), 330 mg tablet
- Baxter Healthcare: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Devatis: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Hikma: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Leadiant Biosciences: 1 g/5 mL injection, 1 g/10 mL oral solution (NDC 54482-0145-08), 1 g/10 mL oral solution (NDC 54482-0148-01), 330 mg tablet
- Rising: 1 g/10 mL oral solution, 330 mg tablet
Lists alcohol (ethanol)
- Saptalis: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
- Trupharma: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
Levocarnitine without sugar (sucrose or dextrose)
Sugar (sucrose, dextrose): A consideration in diabetes, mostly in liquids and chewables. 5 of 16 checked products list sugar (sucrose or dextrose); 11 do not.
Does not list sugar (sucrose or dextrose)
- American Regent: 200 mg/mL injection (NDC 00517-1045-05), 200 mg/mL injection (NDC 00517-1075-01)
- ANI: 1 g/10 mL oral solution, 330 mg tablet
- Baxter Healthcare: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Devatis: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Hikma: 1 g/5 mL injection
- Leadiant Biosciences: 1 g/5 mL injection, 1 g/10 mL oral solution, 330 mg tablet
- Rising: 330 mg tablet
Lists sugar (sucrose or dextrose)
- ANI: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
- Leadiant Biosciences: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
- Rising: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
- Saptalis: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
- Trupharma: 1 g/10 mL oral solution
At the pharmacy counter
How to use this at the pharmacy counter
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common questions about Levocarnitine inactive ingredients
Is Levocarnitine gluten-free?
Does Levocarnitine contain lactose?
Does Levocarnitine contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Levocarnitine?
Does Levocarnitine contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Levocarnitine products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Levocarnitine guide