HomeNDC LookupIngredientsInsulin Glargine › 00024-5869-00
TOUJEO insulin glargine 300 U/mL Injection, Solution, 1 syringe — NDC 00024-5869-00 package photo

TOUJEO insulin glargine 300 U/mL Injection, Solution, 1 syringe

by Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC · 1 SYRINGE in 1 CARTON (0024-5869-00) / 1.5 mL in 1 SYRINGE
NDC 00024-5869-00
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 0024-5869-00 billing pads the labeler segment with a zero
This package
Contains1 syringe Pack sizes2 compare ↓
Also priced by: Part D plans $91.77/unit — full pricing hub ↓
Also comes in: 3 syringes 00024-5869-03
Rx only Brand On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 0024-5869-00
Product NDC 0024-5869
11-digit billing NDC 00024586900
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII 2ZM8CX04RZ
Application # BLA206538
SPL Set ID c9561d96-124d-48ca-982f-0aa1575bff36
Established class (EPC) Insulin Analog
Chemical class Insulin
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category BLA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2015-02-15
Route SUBCUTANEOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance INSULIN GLARGINE
GPI-14 2710400300D233
GPI class Toujeo SoloStar
GCN Seq No 073567
GCN 37988
HICL code 022025
Ingredient (HICL) Insulin Glargine,Hum.rec.anlog
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C4
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antihyperglycemics
HIC3 code C4G
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Insulins
AHFS code 68:20.08.00
AHFS class Insulins
FDB label name TOUJEO SOLOSTAR 300 UNIT/ML
FDB brand name Toujeo Solostar
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Biologic (Purple Book) 351(a)
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 0024-5869-00 — a 4-4-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the labeler segment → 00024-5869-00. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Insulin Analog class.

Pharmacologic class Insulin Analog
Drug family (ATC) Insulins and analogues for injection, long-acting
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerSanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC
FDA applicationBLA206538 (BLA)
Labeler code00024
First marketedFeb 2015
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio84 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name TOUJEO SOLOSTAR 300 UNIT/ML Ingredient Insulin Glargine,Hum.rec.anlog
📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Insulin glargine is used to treat type 1 diabetes (condition in which the body does not produce insulin and therefore cannot control the amount of sugar in the blood) and type 2 diabetes (condition in which the body does not use insulin normally and, therefore, cannot control the amount of sugar in the blood) . Insulin glargine is in a class of medications called long-acting insulin. Insulin glargine works by replacing the insulin that is normally produced by the body and by helping move sugar from the blood into other body tissues where it is used for energy. It also stops th...

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Insulin glargine is a long-acting insulin — it's designed to provide a slow, steady background level of insulin over the course of the day, rather than a quick spike like short-act...
  • What exactly is insulin glargine and why did my doctor prescribe it instead of regular insulin?
  • You can take insulin glargine at any time of day that works for your routine — morning, evening, whenever. The key is to take it at the same time every single day. Consistency help...
  • Does it matter what time of day I take my injection?
📖 Read our full Insulin Glargine (rDNA origin) Injection guide →
2
Nutrient depletion considerations

Insulin Glargine may be associated with lower levels of 2 nutrients — worth a chat with your pharmacist, not a cause for alarm.

An association is not a deficiency. Educational only — don't start or stop anything without professional guidance.
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • 20 mg / 1 mL UNII PDC6A3C0OX
    Glycerin is a clear, thick liquid derived from plant oils or fats. It acts as a humectant to retain moisture, a sweetener, and a solvent in medications.
  • 2.7 mg / 1 mL UNII GGO4Y809LO
    Metacresol is a preservative derived from coal tar or petroleum. It prevents bacterial and fungal growth in liquid medicines, helping keep the product safe and stable during storage.
  • UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.
  • 90 ug / 1 mL UNII J41CSQ7QDS
    A mineral element that strengthens tablet structure and acts as a processing aid. Zinc helps bind ingredients together and may improve the medicine's stability during manufacturing and storage.

4 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · Q2 2026 $91.77 $137.66 / 1.5 ml
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Insulin glargine U-300 300 [iU]/mL 00955-3900-03 Sanofi-Aventis 3 syringes $27.022 Availability likely
Toujeo 300 U/mLthis 00024-5869-00 Sanofi-Aventis 1 syringe FDA listed
Toujeo 300 U/mL 50090-2193-00 A-S 3 syringes FDA listed
TOUJEO Max 300 U/mL 50090-4177-00 A-S 2 syringes FDA listed
TOUJEO Max 300 U/mL 00024-5871-01 Sanofi-Aventis 1 syringe FDA listed
About this product: this is a biologic. Biologics don't have small-molecule generics — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars (shown above), not generics.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & biosimilar status

🏛️
2015
First FDA approval
Feb 2015
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
11 years listed
🔓
2026
Biosimilars listed
1 FDA-licensed
🧬FDA-licensed biosimilars listed

1 interchangeable is FDA-licensed for this reference biologic — see the list below. (Biologics have no small-molecule generics.)

🛡️ Latest patent/protection date listed: Biosimilars are already FDA-licensed for this product — the last listed patent runs to Feb 2027.
📅 FDA approved Feb 25, 2015

Why the date isn’t exact: Biosimilar timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added or removed, and litigation can move the real date earlier or later.

FDA Purple Book — biosimilars & interchangeables
Interchangeable 1
Source: FDA Purple Book (purplebooksearch.fda.gov), matched on the reference product’s active ingredient.
Patents & exclusivity — FDA Purple Book
Exclusivity RefProduct
2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2027
Today
LOE
Biologic patent Exclusivity
🏛️Reference-product exclusivity
A flat 12 years of FDA market protection from first licensure. No biosimilar can be licensed before it ends — regardless of patents.
🧪Listed biologic patents
Patents the reference maker lists covering the molecule, formulation, or manufacturing. A biosimilar generally can’t launch until these resolve.
🔁Interchangeability
An interchangeable biosimilar may be substituted at the pharmacy (state laws vary). The first one can earn its own exclusivity period.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
Biologic patent
A patent the reference product’s maker has publicly listed. A biosimilar generally can’t launch until these expire — unless they’re invalidated or resolved in a settlement.
Reference-product exclusivity
A flat 12 years of FDA market protection from the biologic’s first licensure (the BPCIA). No biosimilar can be licensed before it ends, regardless of patents.
Interchangeable exclusivity
The first interchangeable biosimilar can earn a period as the only interchangeable version (pharmacists can substitute it without the prescriber).
Earliest biosimilar (LOE)
The latest of all the dates above — the soonest a biosimilar can realistically reach the market. Litigation and settlements can move it earlier.

Biologics have no small-molecule “generics” — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars, tracked in the FDA Purple Book.

FDA exclusivity
CodeWhat it grantsExpires
RefProductReference-product exclusivity (12-year, BPCIA) — no biosimilar can be licensed before this dateFeb 25, 2027
Common questions
Is there a biosimilar for TOUJEO SOLOSTAR 300 UNIT/ML?
Yes — at least one FDA-licensed biosimilar is listed for this biologic. See the Purple Book family above for the available products.
Why do different websites show different biosimilar dates?
Biosimilar availability isn’t based on one single date. Some sources use the reference-product exclusivity, some use the last listed patent, and patent litigation, settlements, and licenses can all change the real-world launch date. This page shows the underlying Purple Book dates so you can see why estimates differ.
Can a biosimilar launch before the last patent expires?
Sometimes. A biosimilar maker may settle with the reference manufacturer or receive a license to launch earlier. In other cases, the last listed protection delays competition.
What does “current Purple Book estimate” mean?
It means we’re using the latest patent and exclusivity dates currently listed in the FDA Purple Book. It is not a guaranteed launch date.
What does “FDA listed” mean?
It means the product appears in the FDA’s official directory. That’s a good sign a product exists for the U.S. market, but on its own it does not confirm a pharmacy can get it today. Where we have recent retail pricing data, we label it “Availability likely” instead.
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
It’s the latest date currently listed in the FDA Purple Book for a patent or exclusivity on the reference biologic. It can affect when a biosimilar becomes widely available — but it is not a guaranteed launch date. Settlements and licenses can move the real date earlier or later.
Built from the FDA Purple Book Patent List (patents the reference-product sponsor has publicly listed under the BPCIA) plus reference-product exclusivity. Biosimilars cannot launch until these clear; patent litigation and settlements can shift the real date. Biologics have no small-molecule generics — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars, not the Orange Book.
Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Purple Book (biologics), refreshed from public FDA data. Biosimilar launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

💊 Medicaid utilization by pack size

Medicaid (SDUD) totals over the four most recent reported quarters for every package size of this drug — handy when a specific package (e.g. a starter/titration pack) carries little or no Medicaid volume on its own.
3 syringes00024-5869-03 46,634 Rx · $28,832,958
Drug total (last 4 qtrs): 46,634 Rx · 316,358 units · $28,832,958 gross reimbursed
Tap a pack size to open its page. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data, last 4 quarters.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Per unit Per pack Marketing startStatus
00024-5869-00 You're viewing this 1 SYRINGE in 1 CARTON (0024-5869-00) / 1.5 mL in 1 SYRINGE 2015-02-15 Active
00024-5869-03 3 SYRINGE in 1 CARTON (0024-5869-03) / 1.5 mL in 1 SYRINGE (0024-5869-01) $91.30 / mL $410.87 2015-02-15 Active

This pack shows little to no recent Medicaid volume — a different pack size carries most fills. See all packs ↓

Pack size FAQ

What quantity is in NDC 00024-5869-00?
NDC 00024-5869-00 contains 1 syringe — 1 syringe in 1 carton / 1.5 ml in 1 syringe.
What is the difference between NDC 00024-5869-00 and NDC 00024-5869-03?
Both are TOUJEO insulin glargine 300 U/mL Injection, Solution — the drug itself is identical. NDC 00024-5869-00 is the 1 syringe package, while NDC 00024-5869-03 is the 3 syringes package.
What NDC number is used to bill for this package of TOUJEO insulin glargine 300 U/mL Injection, Solution?
Bill NDC 00024-5869-00 — the 11-digit billing format is 00024586900. Pharmacy and medical claims use the 11-digit form; the FDA label may print a shorter form of the same code.

Prices are the latest CMS NADAC pharmacy acquisition cost per NDC; per-pack figures are per-unit × pack quantity, shown only when the pack is denominated in the same measure NADAC prices.

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 0024-5869-00, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 00024-5869-00, written without dashes as 00024586900. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 00024-5869-00, the first segment (00024) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC; the middle segment (5869) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (00) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Does this product come in other package sizes?
Yes — the FDA directory lists 1 other package presentation of this same product, including 3 syringes (00024-5869-03). Each has its own NDC and its own page — see the package list near the top of this page.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 80 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE TOUJEO is indicated to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients 6 years of age and older with diabetes mellitus. TOUJEO is a long-acting human insulin analog indicated to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients 6 years and older with diabetes mellitus. ( 1 ) Limitations of Use : Not recommended for the treatment of diabetic ketoacidosis.

( 1 ) Limitations of Use: TOUJEO is not recommended for the treatment of diabetic ketoacidosis.

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Individualize dose based on type of diabetes, metabolic needs, blood glucose monitoring results and glycemic control goal. ( 2.2 ) Administer subcutaneously into the abdominal area, thigh, or deltoid once daily at any time during the day, at the same time every day. ( 2.1 ) Rotate injection sites to reduce risk of lipodystrophy and localized cutaneous amyloidosis.

( 2.1 ) Do not dilute or mix with any other insulin or solution. ( 2.1 ) See Full Prescribing Information for the recommended starting dosage in patients with type 2 diabetes and how to switch to TOUJEO from other insulins ( 2.3 , 2.4 ) Closely monitor glucose when switching to TOUJEO and during initial weeks thereafter. ( 2.4 )

2.1Important Administration Instructions Always check insulin labels before administration [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] . Visually inspect the TOUJEO solution for particulate matter and discoloration prior to administration and only use if the solution is clear and colorless with no visible particles. Inject TOUJEO subcutaneously into the abdominal area, thigh, or deltoid.

Rotate injection sites within the same region from one injection to the next to reduce the risk of lipodystrophy and localized cutaneous amyloidosis. Do not inject into areas of lipodystrophy or localized cutaneous amyloidosis [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) , Adverse Reactions (6) ] . Use TOUJEO with caution in patients with visual impairment who may rely on audible clicks to dial their dose.

Do not administer TOUJEO intravenously or in an insulin pump. Do not dilute or mix TOUJEO with any other insulin products or solutions. Never transfer TOUJEO from the cartridges of the TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar prefilled pen into a syringe for administration [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] .

2.2General Dosing Instructions TOUJEO is available in 2 single-patient-use prefilled pens: The TOUJEO SoloStar prefilled pen contains 450 units of insulin glargine. It delivers doses in 1-unit increments and can deliver up to 80 units in a single injection. The TOUJEO Max SoloStar prefilled pen contains 900 units of insulin glargine.

It delivers doses in 2-unit increments and can deliver up to 160 units in a single injection. It is recommended for patients requiring at least 20 units per day. When changing between TOUJEO SoloStar and TOUJEO Max SoloStar, if the patient's previous dose was an odd number, the dose should be increased or decreased by 1 unit to match the dose increments dialable on each prefilled pen.

The dose counter of the TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar prefilled pen shows the number of units of TOUJEO to be injected and no conversion is required. Inject TOUJEO subcutaneously once a day at the same time of day. During changes to a patient's insulin regimen, increase the frequency of blood glucose monitoring [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] .

Individualize and titrate the dosage of TOUJEO based on the patient's metabolic needs, blood glucose monitoring results, and glycemic control goal. Titrate the dose of TOUJEO no more frequently than every 3 to 4 days. Dosage adjustments may be needed with changes in physical activity, changes in meal patterns (i.e., macronutrient content or timing of food intake), changes in renal or hepatic function or during acute illness to minimize the risk of hypoglycemia or hyperglycemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) and Use in Specific Populations (8.6 , 8.7) ] .

2.3Starting Dose in Insulin-Naive Pediatric and Adult Patients Recommended Starting Dosage in Patients with Type 1 Diabetes The recommended starting dose of TOUJEO in insulin-naive patients with type 1 diabetes is approximately one-third to one-half of the total daily insulin dose. The remainder of the total daily insulin dose should be given as a short-acting insulin and divided between each daily meal. As a general rule, 0.2 to 0.4 units of insulin per kilogram of body weight can be used to calculate the initial t…

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 70 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 300 units/mL (U-300) of insulin glargine in a clear, colorless, solution available as: 1.5 mL SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen (450 units per 1.5 mL pen) 3 mL Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen (900 units per 3 mL pen) Injection: 300 units/mL (U-300) insulin glargine in: 1.5 mL SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen ( 3 ) 3 mL Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen ( 3 )

Contraindications 54 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS TOUJEO is contraindicated: During episodes of hypoglycemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] . In patients with hypersensitivity to insulin glargine or any excipients in TOUJEO [see Warnings and Precautions (5.5) ] . During episodes of hypoglycemia ( 4 ) Hypersensitivity to insulin glargine or any excipients in TOUJEO ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~3 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Never share a TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen between patients, even if the needle is changed. ( 5.1 ) Hyperglycemia or hypoglycemia with changes in insulin regimen: Make changes to a patient's insulin regimen (e.g., insulin strength, manufacturer, type, injection site, or method of administration) under close medical supervision with increased frequency of blood glucose monitoring. ( 5.2 ) Hypoglycemia: May be life-threatening.

Increase frequency of glucose monitoring with changes to: insulin dosage, concomitant drugs, meal pattern, physical activity, and in patients with renal impairment or hepatic impairment or hypoglycemia unawareness. ( 5.3 , 6.1 ) Hypoglycemia Due to Medication errors: Accidental mix-ups between insulin products can occur. Instruct patients to check insulin labels before injection.

( 5.4 ) Hypersensitivity reactions: Severe, life-threatening, generalized allergy, including anaphylaxis, can occur. Discontinue TOUJEO, monitor and treat if indicated. ( 5.5 , 6.1 ) Hypokalemia: May be life-threatening.

Monitor potassium levels in patients at risk of hypokalemia and treat if indicated. ( 5.6 ) Fluid retention and heart failure with concomitant use of Thiazolidinediones (TZDs): Observe for signs and symptoms of heart failure; consider dosage reduction or discontinuation if heart failure occurs. ( 5.7 )

5.1Never Share a TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar Pen Between Patients TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pens must never be shared between patients, even if the needle is changed. Pen sharing poses a risk for transmission of blood-borne pathogens.

5.2Hyperglycemia or Hypoglycemia with Changes in Insulin Regimen Changes in Insulin Regimen Including Changes to Administration Site Changes in an insulin regimen (e.g., insulin strength, manufacturer, type, injection site, or method of administration) may affect glycemic control and predispose to hypoglycemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] or hyperglycemia. Repeated insulin injections into areas of lipodystrophy or localized cutaneous amyloidosis have been reported to result in hyperglycemia, and a sudden change in the injection site (to unaffected area) has been reported to result in hypoglycemia [see Adverse Reactions (6) ] .

Make any changes to a patient's insulin regimen under close medical supervision with increased frequency of blood glucose monitoring. Advise patients who have repeatedly injected into areas of lipodystrophy or localized cutaneous amyloidosis to change the injection site to unaffected areas and closely monitor for hypoglycemia. For patients with type 2 diabetes, dosage adjustments of concomitant oral antidiabetic products may be needed.

Changing to TOUJEO from other Insulin Therapies On a unit-to-unit basis, TOUJEO has a lower glucose lowering effect than LANTUS [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.2) ] . In clinical trials, patients who changed to TOUJEO from other basal insulins experienced higher average fasting plasma glucose levels in the first weeks of therapy compared to patients who were changed to LANTUS. Higher doses of TOUJEO were required to achieve similar levels of glucose control compared to LANTUS in clinical trials [see Clinical Studies (14.1) ] .

The onset of action of TOUJEO develops over 6 hours following an injection. In type 1 diabetes patients treated with IV insulin, consider the longer onset of action of TOUJEO before stopping IV insulin. The full glucose lowering effect may not be apparent for at least 5 days [see Dosage and Administration (2.2) and Clinical Pharmacology (12.2) ] .

To minimize the risk of hyperglycemia when initiating TOUJEO monitor glucose daily, titrate TOUJEO as described in this prescribing information, and adjust coadministered glucose-lowering therapies per standard of care [see Dosage and Administration (2.2 , 2.3) ] .

5.3 Hypoglycemia Hypoglycemia is the most common adverse reaction asso…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following adverse reactions are discussed elsewhere: Hyperglycemia or Hypoglycemia with Changes in Insulin Regimen [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] Hypoglycemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] Hypoglycemia due to medication errors [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] Hypersensitivity Reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.5) ] Hypokalemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.6) ] Adverse reactions commonly associated with TOUJEO (≥5%) are: Hypoglycemia, allergic reactions, injection site reaction, lipodystrophy, pruritus, rash, edema, and weight gain.

( 6.1 , 6.2 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact sanofi-aventis at 1-800-633-1610 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates actually observed in clinical practice. The data in Table 1 reflect the exposure of 304 patients with type 1 diabetes to TOUJEO with mean exposure duration of 23 weeks. The type 1 diabetes population had the following characteristics: Mean age was 46 years and mean duration of diabetes was 21 years.

Fifty-five percent were male, 86% were White, 5% were Black or African American, and 5% were Hispanic or Latino. At baseline, the mean eGFR was 82 mL/min/1.73 m 2 and 35% of patients had eGFR ≥90 mL/min/1.73 m 2 . The mean body mass index (BMI) was 28 kg/m 2 .

HbA1c at baseline was greater than or equal to 8% in 58% of patients. The data in Table 2 reflect the exposure of 1242 patients with type 2 diabetes to TOUJEO with mean exposure duration of 25 weeks. The type 2 diabetes population had the following characteristics: Mean age was 59 years and mean duration of diabetes was 13 years.

Fifty-three percent were male, 88% were White, 7% were Black or African American, and 17% were Hispanic or Latino. At baseline, mean eGFR was 79 mL/min/1.73 m 2 and 27% of patients had an eGFR ≥90 mL/min/1.73 m 2 . The mean BMI was 35 kg/m 2 .

HbA1c at baseline was greater than or equal to 8% in 66% of patients. TOUJEO was studied in 233 pediatric patients (6–17 years of age) with type 1 diabetes for a mean duration of 26 weeks [see Clinical Studies (14.1) ] . Common adverse reactions (occurring ≥5%) in TOUJEO-treated subjects during clinical trials in adult patients with type 1 diabetes mellitus and type 2 diabetes mellitus are listed in Table 1 and Table 2, respectively.

Common adverse reactions for TOUJEO-treated pediatric subjects with type 1 diabetes mellitus were similar to the adverse reactions listed in Table 1. Hypoglycemia is discussed in a dedicated subsection below. Table 1: Adverse Reactions Occurring ≥5% in Two Pooled Clinical Trials of 26 Weeks and 16 Weeks Duration in Adults with Type 1 Diabetes TOUJEO + Mealtime Insulin "mealtime insulin" refers to insulin glulisine, insulin lispro, or insulin aspart. , % (n=304) Nasopharyngitis

12.8 Upper respiratory tract infection

9.5Table 2: Adverse Reactions Occurring ≥5% in Three Pooled Clinical Trials of 26 Weeks Duration in Adults with Type 2 Diabetes TOUJEO one of the trials in type 2 diabetes included mealtime insulin. , % (n=1242) Nasopharyngitis

7.1 Upper respiratory tract infection

5.7Hypoglycemia Hypoglycemia is the most commonly observed adverse reaction in patients treated with TOUJEO. The rates of reported hypoglycemia depend on the definition of hypoglycemia used, diabetes type, insulin dose, intensity of glucose control, background therapies, and other intrinsic and extrinsic patient factors. For these reasons, comparing rates of hypoglycemia in clinical trials for TOUJEO with the incidence of hypoglycemia for other products may be misleading and also may not be representative of hypoglycemia rates that will occur in clinical practice.

In the TOUJEO adult program, severe hypoglycemia was…

🔄 Drug Interactions ~1 min read

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Table 3 includes clinically significant drug interactions with TOUJEO. Table 3: Clinically Significant Drug Interactions with TOUJEO Drugs That May Increase the Risk of Hypoglycemia Drugs: Antidiabetic agents, ACE inhibitors, angiotensin II receptor blocking agents, disopyramide, fibrates, fluoxetine, monoamine oxidase inhibitors, pentoxifylline, pramlintide, salicylates, somatostatin analogs (e.g., octreotide), and sulfonamide antibiotics, GLP-1 receptor agonists, DPP-4 inhibitors, and SGLT-2 inhibitors.

Intervention: Dosage reductions and increased frequency of glucose monitoring may be required when TOUJEO is coadministered with these drugs. Drugs That May Decrease the Blood Glucose Lowering Effect of TOUJEO Drugs: Atypical antipsychotics (e.g., olanzapine and clozapine), corticosteroids, danazol, diuretics, estrogens, glucagon, isoniazid, niacin, oral contraceptives, phenothiazines, progestogens (e.g., in oral contraceptives), protease inhibitors, somatropin, sympathomimetic agents (e.g., albuterol, epinephrine, terbutaline), and thyroid hormones.

Intervention: Dosage increases and increased frequency of glucose monitoring may be required when TOUJEO is coadministered with these drugs. Drugs That May Increase or Decrease the Blood Glucose Lowering Effect of TOUJEO Drugs: Alcohol, beta-blockers, clonidine, and lithium salts. Pentamidine may cause hypoglycemia, which may sometimes be followed by hyperglycemia.

Intervention: Dosage adjustment and increased frequency of glucose monitoring may be required when TOUJEO is coadministered with these drugs. Drugs That May Blunt Signs and Symptoms of Hypoglycemia Drugs: Beta-blockers, clonidine, guanethidine, and reserpine. Intervention: Increased frequency of glucose monitoring may be required when TOUJEO is coadministered with these drugs.

Drugs that Affect Glucose Metabolism: Adjustment of insulin dosage may be needed. ( 7 ) Antiadrenergic Drugs (e.g., beta-blockers, clonidine, guanethidine, and reserpine): Signs and symptoms of hypoglycemia may be reduced or absent. ( 5.3 , 7 )

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies with use of insulin glargine during pregnancy have not reported a clear association with insulin glargine and adverse developmental outcomes (see Data ) . There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy (see Clinical Considerations ) . Rats and rabbits were exposed to insulin glargine in animal reproduction studies during organogenesis, respectively 50 times and 10 times the human subcutaneous dose of 0.2 unit/kg/day.

Overall, the effects of insulin glargine did not generally differ from those observed with regular human insulin (see Data ) . In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively. The estimated background risk of major birth defects is 6% to 10% in women with pregestational diabetes with a peri-conceptional HbA1c >7 and has been reported to be as high as 20% to 25% in women with a peri-conceptional HbA1c >10.

The estimated background risk of miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. Clinical Considerations Disease-Associated Maternal and/or Embryo/fetal Risk Hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia occur more frequently during pregnancy in patients with pre-gestational diabetes. Poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy increases the maternal risk for diabetic ketoacidosis, preeclampsia, spontaneous abortions, preterm delivery, and delivery complications.

Poorly controlled diabetes increases the fetal risk for major birth defects, stillbirth, and macrosomia-related morbidity. Data Human Data Published data do not report a clear association with insulin glargine and major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes when insulin glargine is used during pregnancy. However, these studies cannot definitely establish the absence of any risk because of methodological limitations including small sample size and some lacking comparator groups.

Animal Data Subcutaneous reproduction and teratology studies have been performed with insulin glargine and regular human insulin in rats and Himalayan rabbits. Insulin glargine was given to female rats before mating, during mating, and throughout pregnancy at doses up to 0.36 mg/kg/day, which is approximately 50 times the recommended human subcutaneous starting dosage of

0.2Units/kg/day (0.007 mg/kg/day). In rabbits, doses of 0.072 mg/kg/day, which is approximately 10 times the recommended human subcutaneous starting dosage of

0.2Units/kg/day (0.007 mg/kg/day), were administered during organogenesis. The effects of insulin glargine did not generally differ from those observed with regular human insulin in rats or rabbits. However, in rabbits, five fetuses from two litters of the high-dose group exhibited dilation of the cerebral ventricles. Fertility and early embryonic development appeared normal.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary There are either no or only limited data on the presence of insulin glargine in human milk, the effects on breastfed infant, or the effects on milk production. Endogenous insulin is present in human milk. The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the mother's clinical need for TOUJEO, and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed child from TOUJEO or from the underlying maternal condition.

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of TOUJEO to improve glycemic control in pediatric patients 6 years of age and older with diabetes mellitus have been established. The use of TOUJEO for this indication is supported by evidence from an adequate and well-controlled study in 463 pediatric patients 6 to 17 years of age with type 1 diabetes mellitus [see Clinical Studies (14.2) ] and from studies in adults with diabetes mellitus [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) , Clinical Studies (14.3) ] . The safety and effectiveness of TOUJEO have not been establi…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies with use of insulin glargine during pregnancy have not reported a clear association with insulin glargine and adverse developmental outcomes (see Data ) . There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy (see Clinical Considerations ) . Rats and rabbits were exposed to insulin glargine in animal reproduction studies during organogenesis, respectively 50 times and 10 times the human subcutaneous dose of 0.2 unit/kg/day.

Overall, the effects of insulin glargine did not generally differ from those observed with regular human insulin (see Data ) . In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively. The estimated background risk of major birth defects is 6% to 10% in women with pregestational diabetes with a peri-conceptional HbA1c >7 and has been reported to be as high as 20% to 25% in women with a peri-conceptional HbA1c >10.

The estimated background risk of miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. Clinical Considerations Disease-Associated Maternal and/or Embryo/fetal Risk Hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia occur more frequently during pregnancy in patients with pre-gestational diabetes. Poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy increases the maternal risk for diabetic ketoacidosis, preeclampsia, spontaneous abortions, preterm delivery, and delivery complications.

Poorly controlled diabetes increases the fetal risk for major birth defects, stillbirth, and macrosomia-related morbidity. Data Human Data Published data do not report a clear association with insulin glargine and major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes when insulin glargine is used during pregnancy. However, these studies cannot definitely establish the absence of any risk because of methodological limitations including small sample size and some lacking comparator groups.

Animal Data Subcutaneous reproduction and teratology studies have been performed with insulin glargine and regular human insulin in rats and Himalayan rabbits. Insulin glargine was given to female rats before mating, during mating, and throughout pregnancy at doses up to 0.36 mg/kg/day, which is approximately 50 times the recommended human subcutaneous starting dosage of

0.2Units/kg/day (0.007 mg/kg/day). In rabbits, doses of 0.072 mg/kg/day, which is approximately 10 times the recommended human subcutaneous starting dosage of

0.2Units/kg/day (0.007 mg/kg/day), were administered during organogenesis. The effects of insulin glargine did not generally differ from those observed with regular human insulin in rats or rabbits. However, in rabbits, five fetuses from two litters of the high-dose group exhibited dilation of the cerebral ventricles. Fertility and early embryonic development appeared normal.

🧒 Pediatric Use 102 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of TOUJEO to improve glycemic control in pediatric patients 6 years of age and older with diabetes mellitus have been established. The use of TOUJEO for this indication is supported by evidence from an adequate and well-controlled study in 463 pediatric patients 6 to 17 years of age with type 1 diabetes mellitus [see Clinical Studies (14.2) ] and from studies in adults with diabetes mellitus [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) , Clinical Studies (14.3) ] . The safety and effectiveness of TOUJEO have not been established in pediatric patients less than 6 years of age.

🧓 Geriatric Use 127 words

8.5Geriatric Use In controlled clinical studies, 30 of 304 (9.8%) TOUJEO-treated patients with type 1 diabetes and 327 of 1242 (26.3%) TOUJEO-treated patients with type 2 diabetes were ≥65 years of age, among them 2.0% of the patients with type 1 and 3.0% of the patients with type 2 diabetes were ≥75 years of age. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness of TOUJEO have been observed between patients 65 years of age and older and younger adult patients. Nevertheless, caution should be exercised when TOUJEO is administered to geriatric patients.

In geriatric patients with diabetes, the initial dosing, dose increments, and maintenance dosage should be conservative to avoid hypoglycemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) , Adverse Reactions (6) , and Clinical Studies (14) ] .

🆘 Overdosage 89 words

10 OVERDOSAGE Excess insulin administration may cause hypoglycemia and hypokalemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3 , 5.6) ] . Mild episodes of hypoglycemia can be treated with oral glucose. Lowering the insulin dosage, and adjustments in meal patterns, or physical activity level may be needed.

More severe episodes of hypoglycemia with coma, seizure, or neurologic impairment may be treated with glucagon for emergency use or concentrated intravenous glucose. Sustained carbohydrate intake and observation may be necessary because hypoglycemia may recur after apparent clinical recovery. Hypokalemia must be corrected appropriately.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action The primary activity of insulin, including insulin glargine, is regulation of glucose metabolism. Insulin and its analogs lower blood glucose by stimulating peripheral glucose uptake, especially by skeletal muscle and fat, and by inhibiting hepatic glucose production. Insulin inhibits lipolysis and proteolysis and enhances protein synthesis.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Onset of Action The pharmacodynamic profiles for TOUJEO given subcutaneously as a single dose of 0.4, 0.6, or

0.9U/kg in a euglycemic clamp study in patients with type 1 diabetes showed that on average, the onset of action develops over 6 hours post dose for all three single doses of TOUJEO. Single-Dose Pharmacodynamics The pharmacodynamics for single 0.4, 0.6, and

0.9U/kg doses of TOUJEO in 24 patients with type 1 diabetes mellitus was evaluated in a euglycemic clamp study. On a unit-to-unit basis, TOUJEO had a lower maximum (GIR max ) and 24-hour glucose lowering effect (GIR-AUC 0–24 ) compared to LANTUS. The overall glucose lowering effect of TOUJEO

0.4U/kg was 12% of the glucose lowering effect of an equivalent dose of LANTUS. Glucose lowering at least 30% of the effect of a single

0.4 U/kg dose of LANTUS was not observed until the single dose of TOUJEO exceeded

0.6U/kg. Multiple Once-Daily Dose Pharmacodynamics The pharmacodynamics of TOUJEO after 8 days of daily injection was evaluated in 30 patients with type 1 diabetes. At steady state, the 24-hour glucose lowering effect (GIR-AUC 0–24 ) of TOUJEO

0.4U/kg was approximately 27% lower with a different distribution profile than that of an equivalent dose of LANTUS [see Dosage and Administration (2) , Warnings and Precautions (5.2) , and Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] . The glucose lowering effect of a TOUJEO dose increased with each daily administration. The pharmacodynamic profile for TOUJEO given subcutaneously as multiple once-daily subcutaneous injections of

0.4U/kg in a euglycemic clamp study in patients with type 1 diabetes is shown in Figure 1. Figure 1: Glucose Infusion Rate in Patients with Type 1 Diabetes in Multiple-Dose Administration of TOUJEO Glucose infusion rate: determined as amount of glucose infused to maintain constant plasma glucose levels. Figure 1

12.3Pharmacokinetics Absorption The pharmacokinetic profiles for single 0.4, 0.6, and

0.9U/kg doses of TOUJEO in 24 patients with type 1 diabetes mellitus was evaluated in a euglycemic clamp study. The median time to maximum serum insulin concentration was 12 (8–14), 12 (12–18), and 16 (12–20) hours, respectively. Mean serum insulin concentrations declined to the lower limit of quantitation of 5.02 µU/mL by 16, 28, and beyond 36 hours, respectively.

Steady-state insulin concentrations are reached by at least 5 days of once-daily subcutaneous administration of

0.4 U/kg to

0.6U/kg doses of TOUJEO over 8 days in patients with type 1 diabetes mellitus. After subcutaneous injection of TOUJEO, the intra-subject variability, defined as the coefficient of variation for the insulin exposure during 24 hours, was 21.0% at steady state. Elimination After subcutaneous injection of TOUJEO in diabetic patients, insulin glargine is metabolized at the carboxyl terminus of the B-chain with formation of two active metabolites M1 (21 A -Gly-insulin) and M2 (21 A -Gly-des-30 B -Thr-insulin).

The in vitro activity of M1 and M2 were similar to that of human insulin. Specific Populations Pediatrics Population pharmacokinetic analysis was conducted for TOUJEO based on concentration data of its main metabolite M1 using data from 75 pediatric patients (6 to <18 years of age) with type 1 diabetes. The findings with regard to the effect of body weight on systemic exposure of M1 are generally consistent with findings in adults.

Elderly, Race, Sex, and Obesity Effect of age ≥65, race, and sex on the pharmacokinetics of TOUJEO has not been evaluated. When weight is taken into account as a covariate on clearance, BMI is n…

🧬 Mechanism of Action 50 words

12.1Mechanism of Action The primary activity of insulin, including insulin glargine, is regulation of glucose metabolism. Insulin and its analogs lower blood glucose by stimulating peripheral glucose uptake, especially by skeletal muscle and fat, and by inhibiting hepatic glucose production. Insulin inhibits lipolysis and proteolysis and enhances protein synthesis.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling ~1 min read

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING

16.1How Supplied TOUJEO (insulin glargine) injection, 300 units/mL (U-300), is a clear and colorless solution and is available as: TOUJEO Total volume Total units available in presentation Max dose per injection Dose increment NDC number Package size SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen 1.5 mL 450 units 80 units 1 unit 0024-5869-03 3 pens/pack Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen 3 mL 900 units 160 units 2 units 0024-5871-02 2 pens/pack Needles are not included in the packs of TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen.

BD (such as BD Ultra-Fine ® ), Ypsomed (such as Clickfine ® ) or Owen Mumford (such as Unifine ® Pentips ® ) needles ‡ can be used in conjunction with TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen and are sold separately. A new sterile needle must be attached before each injection. TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pens must never be shared between patients, even if the needle is changed.

16.2Storage Dispense in the original sealed carton with the enclosed Instructions for Use. TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar prefilled pen should not be stored in the freezer and should not be allowed to freeze. Discard TOUJEO prefilled pen if it has been frozen.

Protect TOUJEO SoloStar/TOUJEO Max SoloStar from direct heat and light. Storage conditions are summarized in the following table: TOUJEO Not in-use (unopened) Refrigerated 36°F–46°F (2°C–8°C) In-use (opened) To prevent degradation, always store the prefilled pens with the cap on during in-use period. Room temperature only (Do not refrigerate) up to 86°F (30°C) 1.5 mL SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen Until expiration date 56 days 3 mL Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen Until expiration date 56 days

📦 Storage and Handling 120 words

16.2Storage Dispense in the original sealed carton with the enclosed Instructions for Use. TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar prefilled pen should not be stored in the freezer and should not be allowed to freeze. Discard TOUJEO prefilled pen if it has been frozen.

Protect TOUJEO SoloStar/TOUJEO Max SoloStar from direct heat and light. Storage conditions are summarized in the following table: TOUJEO Not in-use (unopened) Refrigerated 36°F–46°F (2°C–8°C) In-use (opened) To prevent degradation, always store the prefilled pens with the cap on during in-use period. Room temperature only (Do not refrigerate) up to 86°F (30°C) 1.5 mL SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen Until expiration date 56 days 3 mL Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen Until expiration date 56 days

📋 Description 177 words

11 DESCRIPTION Insulin glargine is a long-acting human insulin analog produced by recombinant DNA technology utilizing a nonpathogenic laboratory strain of Escherichia coli (K12) as the production organism. Insulin glargine differs from human insulin in that the amino acid asparagine at position A21 is replaced by glycine and two arginines remain at the C-terminus of the B-chain. Insulin glargine has a molecular weight of 6063 Da.

TOUJEO (insulin glargine) injection is a sterile, clear and colorless solution for subcutaneous injection. Each mL of TOUJEO contains 300 units of insulin glargine dissolved in a clear aqueous fluid. The 1.5 mL TOUJEO SoloStar prefilled pen presentation contains the following inactive ingredients per mL: glycerin (20 mg), metacresol (2.7 mg), zinc (90 mcg), and Water for Injection, USP.

The 3 mL TOUJEO Max SoloStar prefilled pen presentation contains the following inactive ingredients per mL: glycerin (20 mg), metacresol (2.7 mg), zinc (90 mcg), and Water for Injection, USP. The pH is adjusted by addition of aqueous solutions of hydrochloric acid and sodium hydroxide. TOUJEO has a pH of approximately 4.

💬 Information for Patients ~2 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information and Instructions for Use). There are separate Instructions for Use for TOUJEO SoloStar and TOUJEO Max SoloStar. Never Share a TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar Pen Between Patients Advise patients that they must never share TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar pen with another person even if the needle is changed.

Pen sharing poses a risk for transmission of blood-borne pathogens [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . Hyperglycemia or Hypoglycemia Inform patients that hypoglycemia is the most common adverse reaction with insulin. Inform patients of the symptoms of hypoglycemia (e.g., impaired ability to concentrate and react).

This may present a risk in situations where these abilities are especially important, such as driving or operating other machinery. Advise patients who have frequent hypoglycemia or reduced or absent warning signs of hypoglycemia to use caution when driving or operating machinery [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2 , 5.3) ] . Advise patients that changes in insulin regimen can predispose to hyperglycemia or hypoglycemia and that changes in insulin regimen should be made under close medical supervision [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] .

Inform patients that if they change to TOUJEO from other basal insulins they may experience higher average fasting plasma glucose levels in the first weeks of therapy. Advise patients to monitor glucose daily when initiating TOUJEO [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] . Hypoglycemia Due to Medication Errors Instruct patients to always check the insulin label before each injection [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] .

The "300 units/mL (U-300)" is highlighted in honey gold on the labels of TOUJEO and TOUJEO Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pens. Inform patients that TOUJEO contains 300 units of insulin glargine per mL (U-300) compared to formulations of insulin glargine that contain 100 units/mL (U-100). To avoid dosing errors and potential overdose, instruct patients to never use a syringe to remove TOUJEO from the TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] .

Inform patients that the dose counter of TOUJEO SoloStar or TOUJEO Max SoloStar single-patient-use prefilled pen shows the number of units of TOUJEO to be injected and no dose recalculation is required [see Dosage and Administration (2.1 , 2.4) ] . Hypersensitivity Reactions Advise patients that hypersensitivity reactions have occurred with TOUJEO. Inform patients on the symptoms of hypersensitivity reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.5) ].

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.