Injectafer Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mL Injection, Solution
🆔 Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
🏭 Manufacturer & labeler
Where does this data come from?
🩺 Clinical
Ferric carboxymaltose injection is used to treat certain patients with a type of anemia (a lower than normal number of red blood cells) caused by too little iron in the body. Ferric carboxymaltose injection is also used to treat a lack of iron in the body to improve exercise ability in certain adults with congestive heart failure (a condition when your heart cannot pump enough blood to the other parts of the body). Ferric carboxymaltose injection is in a class of medications called iron replacement products. It works by providing iron to help the body make more red blood cells.
Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗- It's used to replace iron when your body doesn't have enough — specifically for iron deficiency anemia in adults and kids aged 1 and older who couldn't tolerate iron pills or didn'...
- What is ferric carboxymaltose injection actually used for?
- It's given through an IV — a needle into a vein — at a clinic, hospital, or infusion center. You'll typically receive two doses at least a week apart. After each dose, you'll be wa...
- How is this medicine given, and what should I expect during the appointment?
Patient education
Supplement & herbal interactions
Where does this data come from?
Ask a licensed pharmacist directly — free, answered by our team.
🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients
Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.
Where does this data come from?
IACT rows and label-wide narrative are kept separate; availability and product-level specificity depend on the submitted label.Inactive ingredient FAQ
Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Can inactive ingredients matter?
💲 Pricing
A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.
| Price system | Per mL | Per package |
|---|---|---|
| Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly | Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs. | |
| Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo | No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data. | |
| Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly | No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data. | |
| Medicare Part B allowsASP · J1439 | $1.132 / J1439 unit | — |
Where does this data come from?
🧾 Billing & reimbursement
Where does this data come from?
🔁 Therapeutic equivalents
| Product | Labeler | Pack | NADAC/unit | TE | Status | Price vs. this |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injectafer 50 mg/mLthis 00517-0620-01 | American | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed | — |
| Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mL 67457-0797-15 | Mylan | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed | — |
| Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mL 72078-0060-99 | Mylan | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed | — |
| Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mL 72078-0048-20 | Mylan | 1 vial | — | AP | FDA listed | — |
Where does this data come from?
⏳ Availability & generic status
The FDA lists approved generic versions of this medicine, but that does not always mean a pharmacy can get one today. Patent rules, launch agreements, supply and pricing can affect when generics actually arrive.
Why the date isn’t exact: Generic timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added, removed, or worked around with a narrower label — and FDA approval does not always mean a pharmacy can get the generic today.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
- Patent
- Legal protection listed in the Orange Book that may delay generic approval or launch. Issued by the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office.
- Substance patent
- Covers the active drug molecule itself — the hardest to design around. A generic generally can’t launch until it expires.
- Formulation (product) patent
- Covers a specific formulation or dosage form. A generic can sometimes work around it with a different formulation.
- Method-of-use patent
- A patent covering one specific approved use of the drug — not necessarily the whole molecule. A generic can sometimes launch with a “skinny label” that carves out the protected use and keeps the others.
- Skinny label
- A generic label that omits a still-patented use when the FDA allows it — letting a generic reach the market for the unprotected uses.
- Exclusivity
- FDA-granted marketing protection, separate from patents — e.g. 5-yr new chemical entity, 7-yr orphan drug, or a +6-month pediatric extension.
- Paragraph IV
- A generic applicant’s formal challenge to a listed patent. It can potentially lead to earlier generic entry, but often involves litigation or a settlement.
- RLD / RS
- Reference Listed Drug — the brand product the FDA uses as the reference for generic applications. Reference Standard — the product the FDA expects generics to compare against in bioequivalence testing.
- TE / AB rating
- FDA therapeutic-equivalence rating. An AB rating generally means the FDA considers a generic therapeutically equivalent to — and substitutable for — the brand.
- LOE (loss of exclusivity)
- The latest patent or exclusivity currently listed — the loss-of-exclusivity / latest-listed-protection date shown on this page. Paragraph-IV challenges and settlements can move the real date earlier; FDA approval and a manufacturer’s decision to market can move it later.
Built from the FDA Orange Book. The bars above are scaled to each protection’s expiry; the red LOE marker is the last one to lapse.
| Patent | Type | Use code | Expires |
|---|---|---|---|
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-1620 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-1432 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3472 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3472 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3472 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3472 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3473 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3473 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3473 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3473 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3474 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3474 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3474 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11478502 ↗ | Method of use | U-3474 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3435 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3435 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3435 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3435 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3436 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3436 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3436 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3436 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3437 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3437 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3437 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3437 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3438 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3438 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3438 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3438 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11364260 ↗ | Method of use | U-3637 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11364260 ↗ | Method of use | U-3637 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11364260 ↗ | Method of use | U-3637 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11364260 ↗ | Method of use | U-3637 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3051 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-1620 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3050 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-2556 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-2557 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-2555 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3115 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3116 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3116 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3115 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3115 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3050 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3116 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-1620 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3051 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-2555 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-2557 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-2556 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3634 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3634 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3634 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 11433091 ↗ | Method of use | U-3634 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3635 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3635 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3635 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3635 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3636 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3636 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3636 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3636 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3312 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3314 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3313 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3315 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3316 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3116 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3115 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3315 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3316 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3316 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3315 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3316 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 8895612 ↗ | Method of use | U-3315 | Jan 8, 2027 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3314 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3312 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3313 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3314 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3313 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3312 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3313 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3314 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7754702 ↗ | Method of use | U-3312 | Feb 15, 2028 |
| US 7612109 ↗ | Drug substance | — | Feb 5, 2027 |
| US 7612109 ↗ | Drug substance | — | Feb 5, 2027 |
| US 7612109 ↗ | Drug substance | — | Feb 5, 2027 |
| US 7612109 ↗ | Drug substance | — | Feb 5, 2027 |
| Code | What it grants | Expires |
|---|---|---|
| I-915 | New indication (3-year) | May 31, 2026 |
| I-915 | New indication (3-year) | May 31, 2026 |
| I-915 | New indication (3-year) | May 31, 2026 |
| I-915 | New indication (3-year) | May 31, 2026 |
Is there a generic version of INJECTAFER 1,000 MG/20 ML VIAL?
The FDA approved a generic — why can’t I get it at my pharmacy yet?
Why do different websites show different generic release dates?
What does “FDA listed” mean?
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
What does “current Orange Book estimate” mean?
Can a generic come out before the last patent expires?
Can a generic come out after the listed dates?
What is the difference between patents and exclusivity?
Why are there multiple patent dates?
Where does this data come from?
🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)
Top reported reactions
Age at onset
Reporter sex
Serious outcomes
Where does this data come from?
📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product
| Package NDC | Description | Marketing start | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 00517-0620-01 You're viewing this | 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 BOX (0517-0620-01) / 20 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE | 2021-06-01 | Active |
🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
| NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) | ✓ Available |
| Labeler | ✓ Available |
| Product & package description | ✓ Available |
| Marketing category & status | ✓ Available |
| Active ingredient / dosage form / route | ✓ Available |
| FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) | ✓ Available |
| Package photos | ✓ Available |
| Inactive ingredients (structured) | — Not published for this NDC The labeler did not submit a structured excipient list, or no SPL is available. |
| NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) | — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey. |
| Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data | ✓ Available |
| HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk | ✓ Available |
| Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) | — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold. |
Questions about this listing
Why is there no price listed?
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
Is this package still being marketed?
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Do I need a prescription for this product?
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Where does this data come from?
📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL
🚨 Boxed Warning ▾
WARNING: SYMPTOMATIC HYPOPHOSPHATEMIA • INJECTAFER can cause severe, prolonged hypophosphatemia associated with serious outcomes, including hospitalization, osteomalacia and fractures requiring clinical intervention [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1)]. • Hypophosphatemia has occurred in patients with normal baseline phosphate levels and without apparent risk factors for hypophosphatemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1)]. • Check serum phosphate levels prior to a repeat course of treatment in patients at risk for low serum phosphate and in any patient who receives a repeat course of therapy within three months [see Dosage and Administration (2.1 , 2.3) ] .
Correct pre-existing hypophosphatemia prior to administering INJECTAFER [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1)]. • Advise patients receiving INJECTAFER about the risk of hypophosphatemia and to report any signs and symptoms of hypophosphatemia (e.g., fatigue, muscle weakness or pain, bone and joint pain, bone fractures) [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1)] . WARNING: SYMPTOMATIC HYPOPHOSPHATEMIA See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning. INJECTAFER can cause severe, prolonged hypophosphatemia associated with serious outcomes, including hospitalization, osteomalacia and fractures requiring clinical intervention ( 5.1 ).
Hypophosphatemia has occurred in patients with normal baseline phosphate levels and without apparent risk factors for hypophosphatemia ( 5.1 ). Check serum phosphate levels prior to a repeat course of treatment in patients at risk for low serum phosphate and in any patient who receives a repeat course of therapy within three months. Correct pre-existing hypophosphatemia prior to administering INJECTAFER ( 2.1 , 2.3 , 5.1 ).
Advise patients receiving INJECTAFER about the risk of hypophosphatemia and to report any signs and symptoms of hypophosphatemia (e.g., fatigue, muscle weakness or pain, bone and joint pain, bone fractures) ( 5.1 ).
🎯 Indications and Usage ▾
1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Injectafer is indicated for the treatment of: • iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in: adult and pediatric patients 1 year of age and older who have either intolerance or an unsatisfactory response to oral iron. adult patients who have non-dialysis dependent chronic kidney disease. • iron deficiency in adult patients with heart failure and New York Heart Association class II/III to improve exercise capacity. Injectafer is an iron replacement product indicated for the treatment of: • iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in: adult and pediatric patients 1 year of age and older who have either intolerance or an unsatisfactory response to oral iron.
( 1 ) adult patients who have non-dialysis dependent chronic kidney disease. ( 1 ) • iron deficiency in adult patients with heart failure and New York Heart Association class II/III to improve exercise capacity. ( 1 )
⏱️ Dosage and Administration ▾
2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION For patients weighing 50 kg or more, the recommended dosage is Injectafer 750 mg intravenously in two doses separated by at least 7 days for a total cumulative dose of 1,500 mg of iron per course. For adult patients weighing 50 kg or more, an alternative dose of Injectafer 15 mg/kg body weight up to a maximum of 1,000 mg intravenously may be administered as a single-dose per course. ( 2.2 ) For patients weighing less than 50 kg, the recommended dosage is Injectafer 15 mg/kg body weight intravenously in two doses separated by at least 7 days per course.
( 2.2 ) See Section 2.2, Table 1 for dosage in patients with iron deficiency and heart failure. ( 2.2 ) Injectafer treatment may be repeated if IDA or iron deficiency in heart failure reoccurs. ( 2.3 )
2.1Laboratory Testing Check serum phosphate levels prior to a repeat course of treatment in patients at risk for low serum phosphate and in any patient who receives a repeat course of therapy within three months [see Boxed Warning and Dosage and Administration (2.3)]. Correct pre-existing hypophosphatemia prior to administering Injectafer [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1)].
2.2Recommended Dosage Recommended Dosage for Treatment of Iron Deficiency Anemia For patients weighing 50 kg or more, the recommended dosage is: Injectafer 750 mg intravenously in two doses separated by at least 7 days for a total cumulative dose of 1,500 mg of iron per course. In adult patients, Injectafer 15 mg/kg body weight up to a maximum of 1,000 mg intravenously may be administered as a single-dose per course. For patients weighing less than 50 kg, the recommended dosage is Injectafer 15 mg/kg body weight intravenously in two doses separated by at least 7 days per course.
Recommended Dosage in Patients with Iron Deficiency with Heart Failure See Table 1 for recommended dosage for treatment of iron deficiency in patients with heart failure and New York Heart Association class II/III to improve exercise capacity. Table 1: Recommended Dosage in Patients with Iron Deficiency with Heart Failure Weight less than 70 kg Weight 70 kg or more Hb (g/dL) Hb (g/dL) < 10 10 to 14 > 14 to < 15 < 10 10 to 14 > 14 to < 15 Day 1 1,000 mg 1,000 mg 500 mg 1,000 mg 1,000 mg 500 mg Week 6 500 mg No dose No dose 1,000 mg 500 mg No dose Administer a maintenance dose of 500 mg at 12, 24 and 36 weeks if serum ferritin <100 ng/mL or serum ferritin 100-300 ng/mL with transferrin saturation <20%.
There are no data available to guide dosing beyond 36 weeks or with Hb ≥15 g/dL.
2.3Repeat Dosage Courses Injectafer treatment may be repeated if IDA or iron deficiency in heart failure reoccurs.
2.4Preparation and Administration Administer Injectafer intravenously, either as an undiluted slow intravenous push or by infusion. When administered via infusion, dilute up to 1,000 mg of iron in no more than 250 mL of sterile 0.9% sodium chloride injection, USP, such that the concentration of the infusion is not less than 2 mg of iron per mL and administer over at least 15 minutes. When added to an infusion bag containing 0.9% sodium chloride injection, USP, at concentrations ranging from 2 to 4 mg of iron per mL, Injectafer solution is physically and chemically stable for 72 hours when stored at room temperature.
To maintain stability, do not dilute to concentrations less than 2 mg iron/mL. Inspect parenteral drug products visually for the absence of particulate matter and discoloration prior to administration. The product contains no preservatives.
Each vial of Injectafer is intended for a single dose. When administering Injectafer 500 or 750 mg as a slow intravenous push, give at the rate of approximately 100 mg (2 mL) per minute. For Injectafer 1,000 mg, administer as a slow intravenous push over 15 minutes.
Avoid extravasation of Injectafer since brown discoloration of the extravasation site may be long lasting. Monitor for extravasation. If extravasation occurs, discontinue the Injectafer administration at…
💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths ▾
3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 50 mg/mL, dark brown, non-transparent, sterile, aqueous solution. 100 mg iron/2 mL single-dose vial 500 mg iron/10 mL single-dose vial 750 mg iron/15 mL single-dose vial 1,000 mg iron/20 mL single-dose vial Injection: 50 mg/mL 100 mg iron/2 mL single-dose vial 500 mg iron/10 mL single-dose vial 750 mg iron/15 mL single-dose vial 1,000 mg iron/20 mL single-dose vial
⛔ Contraindications ▾
4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Injectafer is contraindicated in patients with a history of hypersensitivity to Injectafer or any of its components [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 ) ]. Hypersensitivity to Injectafer or any of its inactive components.
⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ▾
5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Hypersensitivity Reactions: Observe for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after Injectafer administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of each administration. ( 5.1 ) Hypertension: Monitor patients closely for signs and symptoms of hypertension following each Injectafer administration. ( 5.3 )
5.1Symptomatic Hypophosphatemia Symptomatic hypophosphatemia, including severe cases, with serious outcomes such as osteomalacia and fractures requiring clinical intervention have occurred in patients treated with Injectafer in the post-marketing setting. These cases have occurred after single and multiple doses of Injectafer. Risk factors for hypophosphatemia include a history of gastrointestinal disorders associated with malabsorption of fat-soluble vitamins or phosphate, inflammatory bowel disease, concurrent or prior use of medications that affect proximal renal tubular function, hyperparathyroidism, vitamin D deficiency, malnutrition, and hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia (HHT or Osler-Weber-Rendu syndrome).
However, individuals without apparent risk factors have experienced symptomatic hypophosphatemia. In most cases, hypophosphatemia resolved within three months. Check serum phosphate levels prior to a repeat course of treatment if the patient is at risk for low serum phosphate or if the patient will receive a repeat course of therapy within three months of the prior course [ see Dosage and Administration (2.1, 2.3) ] .
Correct pre-existing hypophosphatemia prior to administering Injectafer. Monitor serum phosphate levels in patients at risk for chronic low serum phosphate. Treat hypophosphatemia as medically indicated.
Consider permanent discontinuation of Injectafer for severe symptomatic hypophosphatemia or persistent hypophosphatemia.
5.2Hypersensitivity Reactions Serious hypersensitivity reactions, including anaphylactic-type reactions, some of which have been life-threatening and fatal, have been reported in patients receiving Injectafer. Patients may present with shock, clinically significant hypotension, loss of consciousness, and/or collapse. Monitor patients for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after Injectafer administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of the infusion.
Only administer Injectafer when personnel and therapies are immediately available for the treatment of serious hypersensitivity reactions [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 , 6 .2 )]. In clinical trials, serious anaphylactic/anaphylactoid reactions were reported in 0.1% (2/1,775) of subjects receiving Injectafer. Other serious or severe adverse reactions potentially associated with hypersensitivity which included, but not limited to, pruritus, rash, urticaria, wheezing, or hypotension were reported in 1.5% (26/1,775) of these subjects.
5.3Hypertension In clinical studies, hypertension was reported in 4% (67/1,775) of subjects in clinical trials 1 and 2. Transient elevations in systolic blood pressure, sometimes occurring with facial flushing, dizziness, or nausea were observed in 6% (106/1,775) of subjects in these two clinical trials. These elevations generally occurred immediately after dosing and resolved within 30 minutes.
Monitor patients for signs and symptoms of hypertension following each Injectafer administration [see Dosage and Administration ( 2 )].
5.4Laboratory Test Alterations In the 24 hours following administration of Injectafer, laboratory assays may overestimate serum iron and transferrin bound iron by also measuring the iron in Injectafer.
🤒 Adverse Reactions ▾
6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are discussed in greater detail in other sections of the labeling: Symptomatic Hypophosphatemia [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] Hypersensitivity Reactions [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] Hypertension [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] Laboratory Test Alterations [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] The most common adverse reactions in adult patients (>2%) are nausea, hypertension, flushing, injection site reactions, erythema, hypophosphatemia, and dizziness.
( 6.1 ) The most common adverse reactions in pediatric patients (≥4%) are hypophosphatemia, injection site reactions, rash, headache, and vomiting. ( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact American Regent at 1-800-734-9236 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.
6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, the adverse reaction rates observed cannot be directly compared to rates in other clinical trials and may not reflect the rates observed in clinical practice. Adults In two randomized clinical studies [Studies 1 and 2, see Clinical Studies ( 14 ) ], a total of 1,775 patients were exposed to Injectafer 15 mg/kg body weight up to a maximum single dose of 750 mg of iron on two occasions separated by at least 7 days up to a cumulative dose of 1,500 mg of iron.
Adverse reactions reported by ≥1% of treated patients are shown in the following table. Table 2. Adverse reactions reported in ≥1% of Study Patients in Clinical Trials 1 and 2 Injectafer (N=1,775) % Pooled Comparators a (N=1,783) % Oral iron (N=253) % Nausea 7.2 2
1.2 Hypertension* 4 2
0.4Flushing* 4 0.2 0 Injection site reactions* 3 3.2 0 Erythema* 3 0.6 0 Hypophosphatemia 2.1 0.1 0 Dizziness* 2.1 1.3
0.4 Vomiting 2 1
0.4Injection Site Discoloration** 1.4 0.3 0 Headache* 1.3 1.2
0.4Hepatic enzyme increased* 1.2 0.2 0 Dysgeusia* 1.2 2.1 0 Hypotension 1 2 0 Rash* 1 0.3 0 Constipation 0.5 0.9 3.2 a Includes oral iron and all formulations of IV iron other than Injectafer *Grouped Terms: Hypertension includes hypertension, blood pressure increased, and hypertensive crisis. Flushing includes flushing and hot flush. Injection site reactions include injection site extravasation, injection site discoloration, injection site pain, injection site irritation, injection site bruising, injection site reaction, injection site discomfort, injection site erythema, injection site hematoma, injection site hemorrhage, injection site pruritus, injection site rash, and injection site swelling.
Erythema includes erythema and injection site erythema. Dizziness includes dizziness, balance disorder, and vertigo. **Injection site discoloration was also included in the injection site local administration reactions grouped term. Headache includes headache and migraine.
Hepatic enzyme increased includes alanine aminotransferase increased and aspartate aminotransferase increased. Dysgeusia includes dysgeusia and ageusia. Rash includes rash, urticaria, skin exfoliation, blister, erythema multiforme, injection site rash, rash maculo-papular, and rash pruritic.
Other adverse reactions reported by ≥0.5% of treated patients include abdominal pain, diarrhea, gamma glutamyl transferase increased, paresthesia, and sneezing. Transient decreases in laboratory blood phosphorus levels (< 2 mg/dL) have been observed in 27% (440/1,638) of patients in clinical trials. Pooled data from two Phase 3 studies 1VIT09030 (NCT00981045) and 1VIT09031 (NCT00982007) with a dosing regimen of Injectafer 15 mg/kg up to a maximum of 750 mg x 2 doses to a cumulative dose of 1,500 mg of iron were analyzed to compare rates of adverse reactions in two Phase 3 parallel group studies 1VIT07017 (NCT00548860) and 1VIT07018 (NCT00548691) with a dosing regimen of Injectafer 15 mg/kg up to a maximum of 1,000 mg single dose (Table 3).
Table 3. Adverse Reactions (≥1% in any Treatment Group) In Patients Receiving Tw…
👥 Use in Specific Populations ▾
8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Pregnancy: Risk of hypersensitivity reactions which may have serious consequences for the fetus. ( 8.1 )
8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Parenteral iron administration may be associated with hypersensitivity reactions [ see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )], which may have serious consequences, such as fetal bradycardia ( see Clinical Considerations ). Advise pregnant women of the potential risk to a fetus. Published studies and available data from postmarketing reports with intravenous Injectafer are insufficient to assess the risk of major birth defects and miscarriage.
There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated IDA in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions (see Clinical Considerations). In animal reproduction studies, administration of ferric carboxymaltose to rabbits during the period of organogenesis caused adverse developmental outcomes including fetal malformations and increased implantation loss at maternally toxic doses of approximately 12% to 23% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg (based on body surface area).
The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.
Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Untreated IDA in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia. Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA include increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight. Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as Injectafer) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester.
Data Human Data Published data from randomized controlled studies, prospective observational studies and retrospective studies on the use of ferric carboxymaltose in pregnant women have not reported an association with intravenous ferric carboxymaltose and major birth defects and miscarriage. However, these studies cannot establish or exclude the absence of any drug-related risk during pregnancy. Animal Data Administration of ferric carboxymaltose to rats as a one-hour intravenous infusion up to 30 mg/kg/day iron on gestation days 6 to 17 did not result in adverse embryonic or fetal findings.
This daily dose in rats is approximately 40% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg based on body surface area. In rabbits, ferric carboxymaltose was administered as a one-hour infusion on gestation days 6 to 19 at iron doses of 4.5, 9, 13.5, and 18 mg/kg/day. Malformations were seen starting at the daily dose of 9 mg/kg (23% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg).
Spontaneous abortions occurred starting at the daily iron dose of 4.5 mg/kg (12% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg based on body surface area). Pre-implantation loss was at the highest dose. Adverse embryonic or fetal effects were observed in the presence of maternal toxicity.
A pre- and post-natal development study was conducted in rats at intravenous doses up to 18 mg/kg/day of iron (approximately 23% of the weekly human dose of 750 mg based on body surface area). There were no adverse effects on survival of offspring, their behavior, sexual maturation or reproductive parameters.
8.2Lactation Risk Summary The available published data on the use of ferric carboxymaltose in lactating women demonstrate that iron is present in breast milk. Among the breastfed infants, adverse reactions included constipation and diarrhea but none of the adverse reactions reported were considered rela…
🤰 Pregnancy ▾
8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Parenteral iron administration may be associated with hypersensitivity reactions [ see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )], which may have serious consequences, such as fetal bradycardia ( see Clinical Considerations ). Advise pregnant women of the potential risk to a fetus. Published studies and available data from postmarketing reports with intravenous Injectafer are insufficient to assess the risk of major birth defects and miscarriage.
There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated IDA in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions (see Clinical Considerations). In animal reproduction studies, administration of ferric carboxymaltose to rabbits during the period of organogenesis caused adverse developmental outcomes including fetal malformations and increased implantation loss at maternally toxic doses of approximately 12% to 23% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg (based on body surface area).
The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.
Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Untreated IDA in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia. Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA include increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight. Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as Injectafer) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester.
Data Human Data Published data from randomized controlled studies, prospective observational studies and retrospective studies on the use of ferric carboxymaltose in pregnant women have not reported an association with intravenous ferric carboxymaltose and major birth defects and miscarriage. However, these studies cannot establish or exclude the absence of any drug-related risk during pregnancy. Animal Data Administration of ferric carboxymaltose to rats as a one-hour intravenous infusion up to 30 mg/kg/day iron on gestation days 6 to 17 did not result in adverse embryonic or fetal findings.
This daily dose in rats is approximately 40% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg based on body surface area. In rabbits, ferric carboxymaltose was administered as a one-hour infusion on gestation days 6 to 19 at iron doses of 4.5, 9, 13.5, and 18 mg/kg/day. Malformations were seen starting at the daily dose of 9 mg/kg (23% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg).
Spontaneous abortions occurred starting at the daily iron dose of 4.5 mg/kg (12% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg based on body surface area). Pre-implantation loss was at the highest dose. Adverse embryonic or fetal effects were observed in the presence of maternal toxicity.
A pre- and post-natal development study was conducted in rats at intravenous doses up to 18 mg/kg/day of iron (approximately 23% of the weekly human dose of 750 mg based on body surface area). There were no adverse effects on survival of offspring, their behavior, sexual maturation or reproductive parameters.
🧒 Pediatric Use ▾
8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of Injectafer for IDA in pediatric patients aged 1 year and older who have normal kidney function and have either intolerance to oral iron or have had unsatisfactory response to oral iron have been established. Use of Injectafer for this indication in this age group is supported by evidence from adequate and well-controlled studies of Injectafer in adults with additional pharmacodynamic and safety data in pediatric patients aged 1 year and older [ see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 ) and Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].
Safety and effectiveness of Injectafer have not been established in pediatric patients less than 1 year of age with IDA. Safety and effectiveness of Injectafer have not been established to improve exercise capacity in pediatric patients with ID and symptomatic heart failure.
🧓 Geriatric Use ▾
8.5Geriatric Use Of the 1,775 subjects in clinical studies of Injectafer, 50% were 65 years and over, while 25% were 75 years and over. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these subjects and younger subjects, and other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger patients, but greater sensitivity of some older individuals cannot be ruled out.
🆘 Overdosage ▾
10 OVERDOSAGE Excessive dosages of Injectafer may lead to accumulation of iron in storage sites potentially leading to hemosiderosis. A patient who received Injectafer 18,000 mg over 6 months developed hemosiderosis with multiple joint disorder, walking disability, and asthenia. In the postmarketing setting, hypophosphatemic osteomalacia has been reported in patients who have received repeated high-cumulative courses of Injectafer.
Consider contacting the Poison Help line (1-800-222-1222) or a medical toxicologist for additional overdose management recommendations.
🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ▾
12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY
12.1Mechanism of Action Ferric carboxymaltose is a colloidal iron (III) hydroxide in complex with carboxymaltose, a carbohydrate polymer that releases iron.
12.2Pharmacodynamics Using positron emission tomography (PET) it was demonstrated that red cell uptake of 59 Fe and 52 Fe from Injectafer ranged from 61% to 99%. In patients with iron deficiency, red cell uptake of radiolabeled iron ranged from 91% to 99% at 24 days after Injectafer dose. In patients with renal anemia, red cell uptake of radiolabeled iron ranged from 61% to 84% at 24 days after Injectafer dose.
12.3Pharmacokinetics After administration of a single dose of Injectafer of 100 to 1,000 mg of iron in iron deficient adult patients, maximum iron concentration of 37 µg/mL to 333 µg/mL were obtained respectively after 15 minutes to 1.21 hours post dose. The volume of distribution was estimated to be 3 L. The iron injected or infused was rapidly cleared from the plasma, the terminal half-life ranged from 7 to 12 hours.
Renal elimination of iron was negligible. After administration of a single dose of Injectafer 15 mg/kg in pediatric patients 1-17 years of age, the maximum concentrations ranged between 124 and 418.1 μg/mL and the median time to maximum concentration was 7 minutes. The elimination half-life of Injectafer in pediatric patients was approximately 9.7 hours.
The total median 72-hour exposure (AUC 0-72h ) after a single dose of Injectafer 15 mg/kg in pediatric patients was 4,529.7 μg∙h/mL while the median exposure after a single dose of 1,000 mg in adults was 5,875.3 μg∙h/mL.
🧬 Mechanism of Action ▾
12.1Mechanism of Action Ferric carboxymaltose is a colloidal iron (III) hydroxide in complex with carboxymaltose, a carbohydrate polymer that releases iron.
📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling ▾
16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Injectafer (ferric carboxymaltose injection) is a dark brown, non-transparent, sterile, aqueous solution. NDC 0517-0602-01 100 mg iron/2 mL Single-Dose Vial Individually Boxed NDC 0517-0610-01 500 mg iron/10 mL Single-Dose Vial Individually Boxed NDC 0517-0650-01 750 mg iron/15 mL Single-Dose Vial Individually Boxed NDC 0517-0620-01 1,000 mg iron/20 mL Single-Dose Vial Individually Boxed Store at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F); excursions permitted to 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F). [See the USP controlled room temperature.] Do not freeze.
📋 Description ▾
11 DESCRIPTION Ferric carboxymaltose, an iron replacement product, is an iron carbohydrate complex with the chemical name of polynuclear iron (III)-hydroxide 4(R)-(poly-(1→4)- O -α-D-glucopyranosyl)-oxy-2(R),3(R),5(R),6-tetrahydroxy-hexanoate. It has a relative molecular weight of approximately 150,000 Da corresponding to the following empirical formula: [FeO x (OH) y (H 2 O) z ] n [{(C 6 H 10 O 5 ) m (C 6 H 12 O 7 )} l ] k , where n ≈ 10 3 , m ≈ 8, l ≈ 11, and k ≈ 4 ( l represents the mean branching degree of the ligand).
The chemical structure is presented below: Injectafer (ferric carboxymaltose injection) is a dark brown, sterile, aqueous, isotonic colloidal solution for intravenous injection. Each mL contains 50 mg iron as ferric carboxymaltose in water for injection. Injectafer is available in 2 mL, 10 mL, 15 mL and 20 mL single-dose vials.
Sodium hydroxide and/or hydrochloric acid may have been added to adjust the pH to 5.0-7.0. Vial closure is not made with natural rubber latex. New structure
💬 Information for Patients ▾
17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information) and discuss with the patient the etiology of the iron deficiency anemia and the patient’s iron deficiency anemia treatment options. Symptomatic Hypophosphatemia Advise patients to report any signs or symptoms of hypophosphatemia such as fatigue, muscle weakness or pain, bone and joint pain, or bone fractures [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Prior History of Reactions to Parenteral Iron Products Question patients regarding any prior history of reactions to parenteral iron products [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] .
Serious Hypersensitivity Reactions Advise patients to report any signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity that may develop during and following Injectafer administration, such as rash, itching, dizziness, lightheadedness, swelling, and breathing problems [ see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . Pregnancy Advise pregnant women about the risk of hypersensitivity reactions which may have serious consequences for the fetus. Advise patients who may become pregnant to inform their healthcare provider of a known or suspected pregnancy [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.1 )].
Injectafer is manufactured under license from Vifor (International) Inc, Switzerland. Manufactured by: RQ1052-K ARI Hilliard Logo