Efavirenz, Emtricitabine and Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 600 mg; 200 mg; 300 mg Tablet, Film Coated, 30-count — NDC 31722-0736-30 package photo

Efavirenz, Emtricitabine and Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 600 mg; 200 mg; 300 mg Tablet, Film Coated, 30-count

by Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · 30 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BOTTLE (31722-736-30)
NDC 31722-0736-30
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 31722-736-30 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Sep 10, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 31722-736-30
Product NDC 31722-736
11-digit billing NDC 31722073630
NCPDP billing unit EA — each (per item)
RxCUI 643066
UNII JE6H2O27P8, G70B4ETF4S, OTT9J7900I
UPC 0331722736305
Application # ANDA203053
SPL Set ID 5f261872-d705-4549-a43d-2ad6b0164dc3
Established class (EPC) Human Immunodeficiency Virus 1 Non-Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor; Human Immunodeficiency Virus Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor
Mechanism of action Non-Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors; Cytochrome P450 3A Inducers; Cytochrome P450 2B6 Inducers; Cytochrome P450 2C9 Inhibitors; Cytochrome P450 2C19 Inhibitors; Cytochrome P450 3A4 Inhibitors; Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors
Chemical class Nucleosides
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2022-01-24
Route ORAL
Dosage form TABLET, FILM COATED
Substance EFAVIRENZ; EMTRICITABINE; TENOFOVIR DISOPROXIL FUMARATE
GPI-14 12109903300320
GPI class Efavirenz-Emtricitab-Tenofovir
GCN Seq No 061173
GCN 27346
HICL code 033888
Ingredient (HICL) Efavirenz/Emtricit/Tenofovr Df
HIC1 code W
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Anti-Infecting Agents
HIC2 code W5
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antiviral Agents
HIC3 code W5Q
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Artv Nucleoside,Nucleotide,Non-Nucleoside Rti Comb
AHFS code 08:18.08.16
AHFS class Hiv Nonnucleoside Rev.transcrip. Inhib.
FDB label name EFAVIR-EMTRI-TENOF 600-200-300
FDB brand name Efavirenz-Emtric-Tenofov Disop
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AB · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 31722-736-30 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 31722-0736-30. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Human Immunodeficiency Virus 1 Non-Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor class.

Pharmacologic class Human Immunodeficiency Virus 1 Non-Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor
Drug family (ATC) Non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors
How it works Non-Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors, Cytochrome P450 2C19 Inhibitors, Cytochrome P450 3A4 Inhibitors, Cytochrome P450 2C9 Inhibitors
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerCamber Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Application holderHETERO LABS LTD UNIT V
FDA applicationANDA203053 (ANDA)
Labeler code31722
First marketedJan 2022
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio603 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name EFAVIR-EMTRI-TENOF 600-200-300 Ingredient Efavirenz/Emtricit/Tenofovr Df
📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

The combination of efavirenz, emtricitabine, and tenofovir DF is used to treat human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection. Efavirenz is in a class of medications non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NNRTIs). Emtricitabine and tenofovir are in a class of medications called nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NRTIs). They work by decreasing the amount of HIV in the body. Although efavirenz, emtricitabine, and tenofovir DF will not cure HIV, these medications may decrease your chance of developing acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) and HIV-related illnesses. Taking t...

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Yes, it does matter — especially because of the efavirenz component. A high-fat meal can increase efavirenz levels in your blood by a significant amount, which raises the risk of s...
  • Why do I need to take this on an empty stomach, and does it really matter?
  • Very common, especially in the first couple of weeks. Dizziness, vivid or abnormal dreams, trouble sleeping, and difficulty concentrating affect many people who start this medicati...
  • I keep having really strange dreams and feel dizzy in the morning — is this normal?
📖 Read our full Efavirenz, Emtricitabine, and Tenofovir guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII OP1R32D61U
    Microcrystalline cellulose is a purified form of cellulose, a natural fiber from plant sources. It acts as a binder and filler in tablets and capsules, helping hold ingredients together and give the medicine its shape and size.
  • UNII M28OL1HH48
    Croscarmellose sodium is a plant-based substance derived from cellulose. It acts as a disintegrant, helping tablets and capsules break down quickly in the digestive system so the medicine can be absorbed.
  • UNII RFW2ET671P
    Hydroxypropyl cellulose is a plant-derived thickening agent made from cellulose. It acts as a binder to hold tablet ingredients together and as a film-former to coat tablets or control how fast the medicine releases.
  • UNII 70097M6I30
    Magnesium stearate is a salt made from magnesium and stearic acid, a fatty substance. It's used in tablets and capsules as a lubricant and glidant to help ingredients flow smoothly during manufacturing and prevent sticking.
  • UNII G2M7P15E5P
    Polyethylene glycol 3350 is a synthetic polymer used as a solvent, humectant, and thickening agent in medicines. It helps dissolve other ingredients, retain moisture in the product, and achieve the desired consistency.
  • UNII 532B59J990
    Polyvinyl alcohol is a synthetic polymer made from plant-derived materials. It's used as a binder to hold ingredients together, a film-former in coatings, and a thickener in liquid formulations.
  • UNII 368GB5141J
    A detergent and foaming agent derived from coconut or palm oil. In medications, it helps break down and mix oil and water-based ingredients, aids in tablet disintegration, and improves how the drug dissolves and spreads in the mouth or digestive system.
  • UNII 7SEV7J4R1U
    A powder made from a naturally occurring mineral. In medicines, talc works as a glidant and anti-caking agent, helping tablets and capsules flow smoothly during manufacturing and preventing clumping.
  • UNII 15FIX9V2JP
    Titanium dioxide is a bright white mineral powder commonly used as a colorant and opacifying agent. It makes pills and tablets white or lighter in color and helps make coatings non-transparent.

9 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eaPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly $1.164 $34.92 / 30 tablets
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $6.77 $203.21 / 30 tablets
Medicare drug plans payPart D · Q2 2026 $6.95 $208.48 / 30 tablets
NADAC price history (per ea) — tap or hover for the price & month
Aug 2022 Dec 2025 Apr 2026 Aug 2026 $5.484 $1.163
▼ Down 79% over the last 12 months.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Efavirenz, Emtricitabine and Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 600 mg/1; 200 mg/1; 300 mg 00093-5234-56 Teva 30 tablets $1.164 AB Availability likely
Efavirenz, Emtricitabine and Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 600 mg/1; 200 mg/1; 300 mgthis 31722-0736-30 Camber 30 tablets $1.164 AB Availability likely
Efavirenz, Emtricitabine and Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 600 mg/1; 200 mg/1; 300 mg 33342-0138-07 Macleods 30 tablets $1.164 AB Availability likely
Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate 600 mg/1; 200 mg/1; 300 mg 42385-0915-30 Laurus 30 tablets $1.164 AB Availability likely
Efavirenz, Emtricitabine And Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 600 mg/1; 200 mg/1; 300 mg 65862-0497-30 Aurobindo 30 tablets $1.164 Availability likely
efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate 600 mg/1; 200 mg/1; 300 mg 69097-0210-02 Cipla 30 tablets $1.164 AB Availability likely
Efavirenz, Emtricitabine And Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate 600 mg/1; 200 mg/1; 300 mg 72162-2565-03 Bryant 30 tablets AB FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2022
On the market since
Jan 2022
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
4 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 31722-0736-30, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
1K
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
39.3K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$266.4K
Avg / prescription
$264.82
Avg / unit
$6.7736
Latest quarter Q4 2025
237Rx
Medicaid pays / ea
$6.7736
gross reimbursed
vs
NADAC / ea
$1.1640
acquisition cost
=
Spread
+$5.6096
+482% vs cost
What Medicaid paid per ea (before rebates; includes the pharmacy’s dispensing fee) compared with NADAC — the average price pharmacies pay to buy the drug. A positive spread means Medicaid reimbursed more than the purchase price, before manufacturer rebates.
Fee-for-service vs managed care
59% FFS 41% MCO
Fee-for-service · 597 Rx Managed care · 409 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: 600 units · 6.0 per 100k residents MI New York: 13,080 units · 66.8 per 100k residents NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: 1,020 units · 8.1 per 100k residents IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: no data reported OH Pennsylvania: 420 units · 3.2 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: 1,740 units · 18.7 per 100k residents NJ Massachusetts: no data reported MA California: 12,510 units · 32.1 per 100k residents CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: no data reported MO Kentucky: no data reported KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: no data reported VA Maryland: 2,340 units · 37.9 per 100k residents MD Connecticut: no data reported CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: no data reported TN North Carolina: no data reported NC South Carolina: no data reported SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: 1,020 units · 22.3 per 100k residents LA Mississippi: no data reported MS Alabama: no data reported AL Georgia: no data reported GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: 3,060 units · 10.0 per 100k residents TX Florida: 1,620 units · 7.2 per 100k residents FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
3.266.8
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 New York 66.8 /100k
2 Maryland 37.9 /100k
3 California 32.1 /100k
4 Louisiana 22.3 /100k
5 New Jersey 18.7 /100k
6 Texas 10.0 /100k
7 Illinois 8.1 /100k
8 Florida 7.2 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
31722-0736-30 You're viewing this 30 TABLET, FILM COATED in 1 BOTTLE (31722-736-30) 2022-01-24 Active

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning 201 words

WARNING: POSTTREATMENT ACUTE EXACERBATION OF HEPATITIS B Severe acute exacerbations of hepatitis B virus (HBV) have been reported in patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV and have discontinued products containing emtricitabine (FTC) and/or tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF), which are components of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets. Closely monitor hepatic function with both clinical and laboratory follow-up for at least several months in patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV and discontinue efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate.

If appropriate, initiation of anti-hepatitis B therapy may be warranted [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. WARNING: POSTTREATMENT ACUTE EXACERBATION OF HEPATITIS B See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning. Severe acute exacerbations of hepatitis B virus (HBV) have been reported in patients coinfected with HBV and HIV-1 who have discontinued products containing emtricitabine (FTC) and/or tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF), and may occur with discontinuation of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate.

Closely monitor hepatic function with both clinical and laboratory follow-up for at least several months in patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV and discontinue efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate. If appropriate, initiation of anti-hepatitis B therapy may be warranted. ( 5.1 )

🎯 Indications and Usage 107 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are indicated as a complete regimen or in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of HIV-1 infection in adults and pediatric patients weighing at least 40 kg. Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are a three-drug combination of efavirenz (EFV), a non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor, and emtricitabine (FTC) and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF), both HIV-1 nucleoside analog reverse transcriptase inhibitors, and is indicated as a complete regimen or in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of HIV-1 infection in adults and pediatric patients weighing at least 40 kg.

( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~2 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION • Testing: Consult Full Prescribing Information for important testing recommendations prior to initiation and during treatment with efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets. ( 2.1 ) • Recommended dosage in adults and pediatric patients weighing at least 40 kg: One tablet once daily taken orally on an empty stomach, preferably at bedtime. ( 2.2 ) • Renal impairment: Not recommended in patients with estimated creatinine clearance below 50 mL/min.

( 2.3 ) • Hepatic impairment: Not recommended in patients with moderate to severe hepatic impairment. ( 2.4 ) • Dosage adjustment with rifampin coadministration: An additional 200 mg/day of efavirenz is recommended for patients weighing 50 kg or more. ( 2.5 )

2.1Testing Prior to Initiation and During Treatment with Efavirenz, Emtricitabine and Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate Tablets Prior to or when initiating efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets, test patients for hepatitis B virus infection [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. Prior to initiation and during use of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets, on a clinically appropriate schedule, assess serum creatinine, estimated creatinine clearance, urine glucose and urine protein in all patients.

In patients with chronic kidney disease, also assess serum phosphorus [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.7 )]. Monitor hepatic function prior to and during treatment with efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )]. Perform pregnancy testing before initiation of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets in adolescents and adults of childbearing potential [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.8 ), Use in Specific Populations ( 8.1 , 8.3 )].

2.2Recommended Dosage for Adults and Pediatric Patients Weighing at Least 40 kg Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are a three-drug fixed-dose combination product containing 600 mg of efavirenz (EFV), 200 mg of emtricitabine (FTC), and 300 mg of tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF). The recommended dosage of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets in adults and pediatric patients weighing at least 40 kg is one tablet once daily taken orally on an empty stomach.

Dosing at bedtime may improve the tolerability of nervous system symptoms [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].

2.3Not Recommended in Patients with Moderate or Severe Renal Impairment Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are not recommended in patients with moderate or severe renal impairment (estimated creatinine clearance below 50 mL/min) [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.7 ), Use in Specific Populations ( 8.6 )].

2.4Not Recommended in Patients with Moderate to Severe Hepatic Impairment Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are not recommended in patients with moderate to severe hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh B or C) [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 ) and Use in Specific Populations ( 8.7 )].

2.5Dosage Adjustment with Rifampin If efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are co-administered with rifampin in patients weighing 50 kg or more, take one tablet of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate once daily followed by one additional 200 mg per day of efavirenz [see Drug Interactions ( 7.3 ) and Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 79 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are white to off-white colored, capsule shaped, film-coated tablets debossed with ‘H’ on one side and ‘128’ on the other side. Each tablet contains 600 mg of efavirenz USP, 200 mg of emtricitabine USP, and 300 mg of tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (equivalent to 245 mg of tenofovir disoproxil). Tablets: 600 mg of efavirenz, 200 mg of emtricitabine, and 300 mg of tenofovir disoproxil fumarate.

( 3 )

Contraindications 119 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS • Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are contraindicated in patients with previously demonstrated clinically significant hypersensitivity (e.g., Stevens-Johnson syndrome, erythema multiforme, or toxic skin eruptions) to efavirenz, a component of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )]. • Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are contraindicated to be coadministered with voriconazole or elbasvir/grazoprevir [see Drug Interactions ( 7.3 ) and Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )]. • Previously demonstrated hypersensitivity (e.g., Stevens-Johnson syndrome, erythema multiforme, or toxic skin eruptions) to efavirenz, a component of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets.

( 4 ) • Coadministration with voriconazole. ( 4 ) • Coadministration with elbasvir/grazoprevir. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~3 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS • Rash: Discontinue if severe rash develops. ( 5.2 , 6.1 ) • Hepatotoxicity: Monitor liver function tests before and during treatment in patients with underlying hepatic disease, including hepatitis B or C coinfection, marked transaminase elevations, or who are taking medications associated with liver toxicity. Among reported cases of hepatic failure, a few occurred in patients with no pre-existing hepatic disease.

( 5.3 , 6.2 , 8.7 ) • Risk of adverse reactions or loss of virologic response due to drug interactions: Consult full prescribing information prior to and during treatment for important potential drug interactions. Consider alternatives to efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate in patients taking other medications with a known risk of Torsade de Pointes or in patients at higher risk of Torsade de Pointes. ( 5.4 ) • Serious psychiatric symptoms: Immediate medical evaluation is recommended.

( 5.5 , 6.1 ) • Nervous system symptoms (NSS): NSS are frequent, usually begin 1 to 2 days after initiating therapy, and resolve in 2 to 4 weeks. Dosing at bedtime may improve tolerability. NSS are not predictive of onset of psychiatric symptoms.

( 2.2 , 5.6 ) • New onset or worsening renal impairment: Can include acute renal failure and Fanconi syndrome. Prior to initiation and during use of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate, assess serum creatinine, estimated creatinine clearance, urine glucose, and urine protein in all patients. In patients with chronic kidney disease, also assess serum phosphorus.

Avoid administering efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate with concurrent or recent use of nephrotoxic drugs. ( 5.7 ) • Embryo fetal toxicity: Fetal harm may occur when administered to a pregnant woman during the first trimester. Avoid pregnancy while receiving efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate and for 12 weeks after discontinuation.

( 5.8 , 8.1 ) • Decreases in bone mineral density (BMD): Consider assessment of BMD in patients with a history of pathological fracture or other risk factors for osteoporosis or bone loss. ( 5.9 ) • Convulsions: Use caution in patients with a history of seizures. ( 5.10 ) • Lactic acidosis/severe hepatomegaly with steatosis: Discontinue treatment in patients who develop symptoms or laboratory findings suggestive of lactic acidosis or pronounced hepatotoxicity.

( 5.11 ) • Immune reconstitution syndrome: May necessitate further evaluation and treatment. ( 5.12 ) • Redistribution/accumulation of body fat: Observed in patients receiving antiretroviral therapy. ( 5.13 )

5.1Severe Acute Exacerbation of Hepatitis B in Patients Coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV All patients should be tested for the presence of chronic HBV before or when initiating antiretroviral therapy [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.1 )]. Severe acute exacerbations of hepatitis B (e.g., liver decompensation and liver failure) have been reported in patients who are coinfected with HBV and HIV-1 and have discontinued FTC or TDF, two of the components of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets.

Patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV should be closely monitored, with both clinical and laboratory follow-up for at least several months after stopping treatment with efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate. If appropriate, initiation of anti-hepatitis B therapy may be warranted, especially in patients with advanced liver disease or cirrhosis, since posttreatment exacerbation of hepatitis may lead to hepatic decompensation and liver failure.

5.2Rash In controlled clinical trials, 26% (266/1,008) of adult subjects treated with 600 mg EFV experienced new-onset skin rash compared with 17% (111/635) of those treated in control groups. Rash associated with blistering, moist desquamation, or ulceration occurred in 0.9% (9/1,008) of subjects treated with EFV. The incidence of Grade 4 rash (e.…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following adverse reactions are discussed in other sections of the labeling: • Severe Acute Exacerbations of Hepatitis B in Patients Coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. • Rash [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )]. • Hepatotoxicity [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )]. • Psychiatric Symptoms [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )]. • Nervous System Symptoms [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.6 )]. • New Onset or Worsening Renal Impairment [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.7 )]. • Embryo-Fetal Toxicity [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.8 )]. • Bone Loss and Mineralization Defects [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.9 )]. • Convulsions [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.10 )]. • Lactic Acidosis/Severe Hepatomegaly with Steatosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.11 )]. • Immune Reconstitution Syndrome [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.12 )]. • Fat Redistribution [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.13 )].

Most common adverse reactions (incidence greater than or equal to 10%) observed in an active-controlled clinical trial of EFV, FTC, and TDF are diarrhea, nausea, fatigue, headache, dizziness, depression, insomnia, abnormal dreams, and rash. ( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Annora Pharma Private Limited at 1-866-495-1995 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. Clinical Trials in Adult Subjects Study 934 was an open-label active-controlled trial in which 511 antiretroviral-naïve subjects received either FTC + TDF administered in combination with EFV (N=257) or zidovudine (AZT)/lamivudine (3TC) administered in combination with EFV (N=254).

The most common adverse reactions (incidence greater than or equal to 10%, any severity) occurring in Study 934 include diarrhea, nausea, fatigue, headache, dizziness, depression, insomnia, abnormal dreams, and rash. Adverse reactions observed in Study 934 were generally consistent with those seen in previous trials of the individual components (Table 1). Table 1 Selected Adverse Reactions a (Grades 2 to 4) Reported in ≥5% in Either Treatment Group in Study 934 (0 to 144 Weeks) FTC+TDF+EFV b AZT/3TC+EFV N=257 N=254 Fatigue 9% 8% Depression 9% 7% Nausea 9% 7% Diarrhea 9% 5% Dizziness 8% 7% Upper respiratory tract infections 8% 5% Sinusitis 8% 4% Rash Event c 7% 9% Headache 6% 5% Insomnia 5% 7% Anxiety 5% 4% Nasopharyngitis 5% 3% Vomiting 2% 5% a .

Frequencies of adverse reactions are based on all treatment-emergent adverse events, regardless of relationship to study drug. b . From Weeks 96 to 144 of the trial, subjects received FTC/TDF administered in combination with EFV in place of FTC + TDF with EFV. c . Rash event includes rash, exfoliative rash, rash generalized, rash macular, rash maculopapular, rash pruritic, and rash vesicular.

In Study 073, subjects with stable, virologic suppression on antiretroviral therapy and no history of virologic failure were randomized to receive efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate or to stay on their baseline regimen. The adverse reactions observed in Study 073 were generally consistent with those seen in Study 934 and those seen with the individual components of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets when each was administered in combination with other antiretroviral agents.

Efavirenz, Emtricitabine, or TDF In addition to the adverse reactions in Study 934 and Study 073, the following adverse reactions were observed in clinical trials of EFV, FTC, or TDF in combination with other antiretroviral agents. Efavirenz : The most significant adverse reactions observed in subjects treated with EFV were nervous system symptoms [see Warnings and Pr…

🔄 Drug Interactions ~2 min read

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS • Consult Full Prescribing Information prior to and during treatment for important potential drug interactions. ( 4 , 5.4 , 7 ) • HIV-1 protease inhibitors: Coadministration of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate with either lopinavir/ritonavir or darunavir and ritonavir increases tenofovir concentrations. Monitor for evidence of tenofovir toxicity.

Coadministration of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate with either atazanavir or atazanavir and ritonavir is not recommended. ( 7.3 )

7.1Efavirenz Efavirenz has been shown in vivo to induce CYP3A and CYP2B6. Other compounds that are substrates of CYP3A or CYP2B6 may have decreased plasma concentrations when coadministered with EFV. Drugs that induce CYP3A activity (e.g., phenobarbital, rifampin, rifabutin) would be expected to increase the clearance of EFV, resulting in lowered plasma concentrations [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 )].

There is limited information available on the potential for a pharmacodynamic interaction between EFV and drugs that prolong the QTc interval. QTc prolongation has been observed with the use of EFV [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.2 )]. Consider alternatives to efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate when coadministered with a drug with a known risk of Torsade de Pointes.

7.2Drugs Affecting Renal Function FTC and tenofovir are primarily eliminated by the kidneys [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )]. Coadministration of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate with drugs that are eliminated by active tubular secretion may increase concentrations of FTC, tenofovir, and/or the coadministered drug. Some examples include, but are not limited to, acyclovir, adefovir dipivoxil, cidofovir, ganciclovir, valacyclovir, valganciclovir, aminoglycosides (e.g., gentamicin), and high-dose or multiple NSAIDs [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.7 )].

Drugs that decrease renal function may increase concentrations of FTC and/or tenofovir.

7.3Established and Potentially Significant Drug Interactions Other important drug interaction information for efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate is summarized in Table 3. The drug interactions described are based on trials conducted with either efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate, the components of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets (EFV, FTC, or TDF) as individual agents, or are potential drug interactions [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].

Table 3 Established and Potentially Significant a Drug Interactions Concomitant Drug Class: Drug Name Effect Clinical Comment HIV antiviral agents Protease inhibitor: atazanavir ↓ atazanavir ↑ tenofovir Coadministration of atazanavir with efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate is not recommended. The combined effect of EFV plus TDF on atazanavir plasma concentrations is not known. There are insufficient data to support dosing recommendations for atazanavir or atazanavir/ritonavir in combination with efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate.

Protease inhibitor: fosamprenavir calcium ↓ amprenavir Fosamprenavir (unboosted): Appropriate doses of fosamprenavir and efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate with respect to safety and efficacy have not been established. Fosamprenavir/ritonavir: An additional 100 mg/day (300 mg total) of ritonavir is recommended when efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate is administered with fosamprenavir/ritonavir once daily. No change in the ritonavir dose is required when efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate is administered with fosamprenavir plus ritonavir twice daily.

Protease inhibitor: indinavir ↓ indinavir The optimal dose of indinavir, when given in combination with EFV, is not known. Increasing the indinavir dose to 1000 mg every 8 hours does not compensate for the increased indina…

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS • Pregnancy: Avoid pregnancy while receiving efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate and for 12 weeks after discontinuation. ( 5.8 , 8.3 ) • Lactation: Breastfeeding is not recommended. ( 8.2 ) • Females and Males of Reproductive Potential: Pregnancy testing and contraception are recommended. ( 8.3 ) • Pediatrics: The incidence of rash was higher than in adults. ( 5.2 , 6.1 )

8.1Pregnancy Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in adults and adolescents exposed to efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate during pregnancy. Healthcare providers are encouraged to register patients by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at (800) 258-4263. Risk Summary There are retrospective case reports of neural tube defects in infants whose mothers were exposed to EFV-containing regimens in the first trimester of pregnancy.

Prospective pregnancy data from the APR are not sufficient to adequately assess this risk. Although a causal relationship has not been established between exposure to EFV in the first trimester and neural tube defects, similar malformations have been observed in studies conducted in monkeys at doses similar to the human dose (see Data). In addition, fetal and embryonic toxicities occurred in rats at a dose 10 times less than the human exposure at the recommended clinical human dose (RHD) of EFV.

Because of the potential risk of neural tube defects, EFV is not recommended for use in the first trimester of pregnancy. Avoid pregnancy while receiving efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate and for 12 weeks after discontinuation. Advise pregnant patients of the potential risk to a fetus.

Available data from the APR show no increase in the overall risk of major birth defects for EFV, FTC, or TDF compared with the background rate for major birth defects of 2.7% in a U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) (see Data). The rate of miscarriage is not reported in the APR. The estimated background rate of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies in the U.S. general population is 15 to 20%.

The background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. The APR uses the MACDP as the U.S. reference population for birth defects in the general population. The MACDP evaluates mothers and infants from a limited geographic area and does not include outcomes for births that occurred at less than 20 weeks’ gestation.

In animal reproduction studies, no adverse developmental effects were observed when FTC and TDF were administered separately at doses/exposures ≥60 (FTC), ≥14 (TDF) and 2.7 (tenofovir) times those at the RHD of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (see Data). Data Human Data Efavirenz : There are retrospective postmarketing reports of findings consistent with neural tube defects, including meningomyelocele, all in infants of mothers exposed to EFV-containing regimens in the first trimester. Based on prospective reports to the APR of 1,217 exposures to EFV-containing regimens during pregnancy resulting in live births (including over 1,023 live births exposed in the first trimester and 194 exposed in the second/third trimester), there was no increase in overall birth defects with EFV compared with the background birth defect rate of 2.7% in the U.S. reference population of the MACDP.

The prevalence of birth defects in live births was 2.3% (95% CI: 1.5% to 3.5%) with first trimester exposure to EFV-containing regimens, and 1.5% (95% CI: 0.3% to 4.5%) with the second/third trimester exposure to EFV-containing regimens. One of these prospectively reported defects with first-trimester exposure was a neural tube defect. A single case of anophthalmia with first-trimester exposure to EFV has also been prospectively reported.

This case also included severe oblique…

🤰 Pregnancy ~3 min read

8.1Pregnancy Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in adults and adolescents exposed to efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate during pregnancy. Healthcare providers are encouraged to register patients by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at (800) 258-4263. Risk Summary There are retrospective case reports of neural tube defects in infants whose mothers were exposed to EFV-containing regimens in the first trimester of pregnancy.

Prospective pregnancy data from the APR are not sufficient to adequately assess this risk. Although a causal relationship has not been established between exposure to EFV in the first trimester and neural tube defects, similar malformations have been observed in studies conducted in monkeys at doses similar to the human dose (see Data). In addition, fetal and embryonic toxicities occurred in rats at a dose 10 times less than the human exposure at the recommended clinical human dose (RHD) of EFV.

Because of the potential risk of neural tube defects, EFV is not recommended for use in the first trimester of pregnancy. Avoid pregnancy while receiving efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate and for 12 weeks after discontinuation. Advise pregnant patients of the potential risk to a fetus.

Available data from the APR show no increase in the overall risk of major birth defects for EFV, FTC, or TDF compared with the background rate for major birth defects of 2.7% in a U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) (see Data). The rate of miscarriage is not reported in the APR. The estimated background rate of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies in the U.S. general population is 15 to 20%.

The background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. The APR uses the MACDP as the U.S. reference population for birth defects in the general population. The MACDP evaluates mothers and infants from a limited geographic area and does not include outcomes for births that occurred at less than 20 weeks’ gestation.

In animal reproduction studies, no adverse developmental effects were observed when FTC and TDF were administered separately at doses/exposures ≥60 (FTC), ≥14 (TDF) and 2.7 (tenofovir) times those at the RHD of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (see Data). Data Human Data Efavirenz : There are retrospective postmarketing reports of findings consistent with neural tube defects, including meningomyelocele, all in infants of mothers exposed to EFV-containing regimens in the first trimester. Based on prospective reports to the APR of 1,217 exposures to EFV-containing regimens during pregnancy resulting in live births (including over 1,023 live births exposed in the first trimester and 194 exposed in the second/third trimester), there was no increase in overall birth defects with EFV compared with the background birth defect rate of 2.7% in the U.S. reference population of the MACDP.

The prevalence of birth defects in live births was 2.3% (95% CI: 1.5% to 3.5%) with first trimester exposure to EFV-containing regimens, and 1.5% (95% CI: 0.3% to 4.5%) with the second/third trimester exposure to EFV-containing regimens. One of these prospectively reported defects with first-trimester exposure was a neural tube defect. A single case of anophthalmia with first-trimester exposure to EFV has also been prospectively reported.

This case also included severe oblique facial clefts and amniotic banding, which have a known association with anophthalmia. Emtricitabine : Based on prospective reports from the APR of 4,005 exposures to FTC- containing regimens during pregnancy resulting in live births (including 2,785 exposed in the first trimester and 1,220 exposed in the second/third trimester), there was no increase in overall major birth defects with FTC compared with the background birth…

🧒 Pediatric Use 171 words

8.4Pediatric Use The effectiveness and safety of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate as a complete regimen for the treatment of HIV-1 infection was established in pediatric patients with body weight greater than or equal to 40 kg [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 )]. Use of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate in this age group is supported by adequate and well-controlled studies of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate in adults with HIV-1 infection and data from pediatric studies of the individual components of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets (EFV, FTC, and TDF).

Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate should only be administered to pediatric patients with a body weight greater than or equal to 40 kg. Because efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate is a fixed-dose combination tablet, the dose of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate cannot be adjusted for patients of lower weight [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 , 5.9 ), Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 ), and Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].

🧓 Geriatric Use 61 words

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical trials of EFV, FTC, or TDF did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects. In general, dose selection for elderly patients should be cautious, keeping in mind the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy.

🆘 Overdosage 163 words

10 OVERDOSAGE If overdose occurs, the patient should be monitored for evidence of toxicity, and standard supportive treatment applied as necessary. Administration of activated charcoal may be used to aid removal of unabsorbed EFV. Hemodialysis can remove both FTC and TDF (refer to detailed information below) but is unlikely to significantly remove EFV from the blood.

Efavirenz : Some patients accidentally taking 600 mg twice daily have reported increased nervous system symptoms. One patient experienced involuntary muscle contractions. Emtricitabine : Hemodialysis treatment removes approximately 30% of the FTC dose over a 3-hour dialysis period starting within 1.5 hours of FTC dosing (blood flow rate of 400 mL/min and a dialysate flow rate of 600 mL/min).

It is not known whether FTC can be removed by peritoneal dialysis. Tenofovir DF : Tenofovir is efficiently removed by hemodialysis with an extraction coefficient of approximately 54%. Following a single 300 mg dose of TDF, a 4-hour hemodialysis session removed approximately 10% of the administered tenofovir dose.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablet is a fixed-dose combination of antiviral drugs EFV, FTC, and TDF [see Microbiology ( 12.4 )].

12.2Pharmacodynamics Cardiac Electrophysiology Efavirenz: The effect of EFV on the QTc interval was evaluated in an open-label, positive and placebo-controlled, fixed single sequence 3-period, 3-treatment crossover QT study in 58 healthy subjects enriched for CYP2B6 polymorphisms. The mean C max of EFV in subjects with CYP2B6 *6/*6 genotype following the administration of 600 mg daily dose for 14 days was 2.25-fold the mean C max observed in subjects with CYP2B6 *1/*1 genotype. A positive relationship between EFV concentration and QTc prolongation was observed.

Based on the concentration-QTc relationship, the mean QTc prolongation and its upper bound 90% confidence interval are 8.7 msec and 11.3 msec in subjects with CYP2B6*6/*6 genotype following the administration of 600 mg daily dose for 14 days [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )].

12.3Pharmacokinetics Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate: One efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablet is bioequivalent to one Sustiva tablet (600 mg) plus one EMTRIVA ® capsule (200 mg) plus one VIREAD ® tablet (300 mg) following single-dose administration to fasting healthy subjects (N=45). Efavirenz: In HIV-1 infected subjects time-to-peak plasma concentrations were approximately 3 to 5 hours and steady-state plasma concentrations were reached in 6 to 10 days. In 35 HIV-1 infected subjects receiving EFV 600 mg once daily, steady-state C max was 12.9 ± 3.7 μM (mean ± SD), C min was 5.6 ± 3.2 μM, and AUC was 184 ± 73 μM·hr.

EFV is highly bound (approximately 99.5 to 99.75%) to human plasma proteins, predominantly albumin. Following administration of 14 C-labeled EFV, 14 to 34% of the dose was recovered in the urine (mostly as metabolites) and 16 to 61% was recovered in feces (mostly as parent drug). In vitro studies suggest CYP3A and CYP2B6 are the major isozymes responsible for EFV metabolism.

EFV has been shown to induce CYP enzymes, resulting in induction of its own metabolism. EFV has a terminal half-life of 52 to 76 hours after single doses and 40 to 55 hours after multiple doses. Emtricitabine: Following oral administration, FTC is rapidly absorbed, with peak plasma concentrations occurring at 1 to 2 hours postdose.

Following multiple dose oral administration of FTC to 20 HIV-1 infected subjects, the steady-state plasma FTC C max was 1.8 ± 0.7 mcg/mL (mean ± SD) and the AUC over a 24-hour dosing interval was 10.0 ± 3.1 mcg•hr/mL. The mean steady-state plasma trough concentration at 24 hours postdose was 0.09 mcg/mL. The mean absolute bioavailability of FTC was 93%.

Less than 4% of FTC binds to human plasma proteins in vitro, and the binding is independent of concentration over the range of 0.02 to 200 mcg/mL. Following administration of radiolabelled FTC, approximately 86% is recovered in the urine and 13% is recovered as metabolites. The metabolites of FTC include 3′-sulfoxide diastereomers and their glucuronic acid conjugate.

FTC is eliminated by a combination of glomerular filtration and active tubular secretion with a renal clearance in adults with normal renal function of 213 ± 89 mL/min (mean ± SD). Following a single oral dose, the plasma FTC half-life is approximately 10 hours. Tenofovir DF: Following oral administration of a single 300 mg dose of TDF to HIV-1 infected subjects in the fasted state, maximum serum concentrations (C max ) were achieved in 1.0 ± 0.4 hrs (mean ± SD) and C max and AUC values were 296 ± 90 ng/mL and 2287 ± 685 ng•hr/mL, respectively.

The oral bioavailability of tenofovir from TDF in fasted subjects is approximately 25%. Less than 0.7% of tenofovir binds to human plasma proteins in vitro, and the binding is independent of concentration over the range of 0.01 to 25 mcg/mL. Approximately 70 to 80% of…

🧬 Mechanism of Action 27 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablet is a fixed-dose combination of antiviral drugs EFV, FTC, and TDF [see Microbiology ( 12.4 )].

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 79 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets 600 mg/200 mg/300 mg are white to off-white colored, capsule shaped, film-coated tablets debossed with ‘H’ on one side and ‘128’ on the other side. Each bottle contains 30 tablets (NDC 31722-736-30) and silica gel desiccant, and is closed with a child-resistant closure. Store at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. • Keep container tightly closed. • Dispense only in original container.

📋 Description ~2 min read

11 DESCRIPTION Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate is a fixed-dose combination tablet containing EFV, FTC, and TDF. EFV is a non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor (NNRTI). FTC is a synthetic nucleoside analog of cytidine.

TDF, which is converted in vivo to tenofovir, is an acyclic nucleoside phosphonate (nucleotide) analog of adenosine 5′-monophosphate. Efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets are for oral administration. Each tablet contains 600 mg of efavirenz USP, 200 mg of emtricitabine USP, and 300 mg of TDF (equivalent to 245 mg of tenofovir disoproxil) as active ingredients.

The tablets include the following inactive ingredients: croscarmellose sodium, hydroxypropyl cellulose, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, and sodium lauryl sulfate. The film-coating contains polyethylene glycol, polyvinyl alcohol, talc, and titanium dioxide. Efavirenz: EFV is chemically described as ( S )-6-chloro-4-(cyclopropylethynyl)-1,4-dihydro-4-(trifluoromethyl)-2 H -3,1-benzoxazin-2-one.

Its molecular formula is C 14 H 9 ClF 3 NO 2 and its structural formula is: Efavirenz USP is a white to slightly pink crystalline powder with a molecular mass of 315.68. It is soluble in methanol and practically insoluble in water. Emtricitabine: The chemical name of FTC is 4-amino-5-fluoro-1-(2 R ,5 S )-2-hydroxymethyl)-1,3-oxathiolan-5-yl]2(1H)-pyrimidinone.

FTC is the (-) enantiomer of a thio analog of cytidine, which differs from other cytidine analogs in that it has a fluorine in the 5-position. It has a molecular formula of C 8 H 10 FN 3 O 3 S and a molecular weight of 247.25. It has the following structural formula: Emtricitabine USP is a white to off-white powder with freely soluble in water and in methanol.

Practically insoluble in methylene chloride. Tenofovir DF: TDF is a fumaric acid salt of the bis-isopropoxycarbonyloxymethyl ester derivative of tenofovir. The chemical name of TDF is [[(1R)-2-(6-amino-9H-purin-9-yl)-1-methylethoxy]methyl] phosphonic acid disoproxil fumarate.

It has a molecular formula of C 19 H 30 N 5 O 10 P•C 4 H 4 O 4 and a molecular weight of 635.51. It has the following structural formula. TDF is a white to off-white crystalline powder with sparingly soluble in methanol and in ethanol. efavirenzstructure emtricitabinestructure tenofovirdfstructure

💬 Information for Patients ~3 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information). Severe Acute Exacerbation of Hepatitis B in Patients Coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV Inform patients that severe acute exacerbations of hepatitis B have been reported in patients who are coinfected with HBV and HIV-1 and have discontinued FTC or TDF, and may occur with discontinuation of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate. Advise patients not to discontinue efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate without first informing their healthcare provider.

All patients should be tested for HBV infection before or when starting efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate and those who are infected with HBV need close medical follow-up for several months after stopping efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate to monitor for exacerbations of hepatitis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. Rash Inform patients that a common side effect is rash, and that rashes usually go away without any change in treatment. However, since rash may be serious, advise patients to contact their physician promptly if rash occurs [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )].

Hepatotoxicity Inform patients to watch for early warning signs of liver inflammation or failure, such as fatigue, weakness, lack of appetite, nausea and vomiting, as well as later signs such as jaundice, confusion, abdominal swelling, and discolored feces, and to consult their health care professional without delay if such symptoms occur [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 ) and Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )]. Drug Interactions Advise patients that efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate may interact with many drugs; therefore, advise patients to report to their healthcare provider the use of any other medication, including other drugs for treatment of hepatitis C virus [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) and Drug Interactions ( 7 )].

Psychiatric Symptoms • Inform patients that serious psychiatric symptoms including severe depression, suicide attempts, aggressive behavior, delusions, paranoia, psychosis-like symptoms, and catatonia have been reported in patients receiving EFV, a component of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )]. • Advise patients to seek immediate medical evaluation if they experience severe psychiatric adverse experiences. • Advise patients to inform their physician of any history of mental illness or substance abuse.

Nervous System Symptoms • Inform patients that central nervous system symptoms (NSS) including dizziness, insomnia, impaired concentration, drowsiness, and abnormal dreams, are commonly reported during the first weeks of therapy with EFV, a component of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets. Dosing at bedtime may improve the tolerability of these symptoms, which are likely to improve with continued therapy. • Alert patients to the potential for additive effects when efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate is used concomitantly with alcohol or psychoactive drugs. • Instruct patients that if they experience NSS to avoid potentially hazardous tasks such as driving or operating machinery [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.6 ) and Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 )]. • Inform patients that there is a risk of developing late-onset neurotoxicity, including ataxia and encephalopathy, which may occur months to years after beginning therapy with EFV, a component of efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.6 )].

New Onset or Worsening Renal Impairment Inform patients that renal impairment, including cases of acute renal failure and Fanconi syndrome, has been reported. Advise patients to avoid using efavirenz, emtricitabine and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate with concurrent or recent use of a nephrot…

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.