HomeNDC LookupIngredientsIron Sucrose › 49230-0534-25
Venofer iron sucrose 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution — NDC 49230-0534-25 package photo

Venofer iron sucrose 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution

by Fresenius Medical Care Holdings, Inc. · 25 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 TRAY (49230-534-25) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE (49230-534-01)
NDC 49230-0534-25
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 49230-534-25 billing pads the product segment with a zero
This package
Contains5 mL in 1 vial, single-dose Medicaid pays$15.88 / unit · 12 mo Per package$1,985.49 / 125 ml · Medicaid Pack sizes2 compare ↓
Also comes in: 10 vials 49230-0534-10
Rx only Brand On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →
🚨
Active recall for this product.
Class II · Nov 11, 2024 — Presence of Particulate Matter: Potential for glass delamination from the vials. (American Regent, Inc.) · FDA recall D-0080-2025
Class II · Nov 11, 2024 — Presence of Particulate Matter: Potential for glass delamination from the vials. (American Regent, Inc.) · FDA recall D-0081-2025
Check your lot/expiration against the official notice — look up the recall number in the FDA recall database ↗
⚠️
Other active recalls for Iron Sucrose (different manufacturers) — 1 · tap to view
These affect other manufacturers’ products for the same ingredient — not necessarily the exact NDC on this page.
Class II · Nov 11, 2024 — Presence of Particulate Matter: Potential for glass delamination from the vials. (American Regent, Inc.) · FDA recall D-0082-2025
Each entry is an official FDA enforcement report — look up any recall number in the FDA recall database ↗

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 49230-534-25
Product NDC 49230-534
11-digit billing NDC 49230053425
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII FZ7NYF5N8L
UPC 0349230530254, 0349230534252
Application # NDA021135
SPL Set ID f1ab1a22-2b99-4d27-8b5a-9c3bcd5e3040
Established class (EPC) Parenteral Iron Replacement
Chemical class Iron
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category NDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2008-11-04
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance IRON SUCROSE
GPI-14 82300048002020
GPI class Venofer
GCN Seq No 047038
GCN 86371
HICL code 021773
Ingredient (HICL) Iron Sucrose Complex
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C3
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Minerals
HIC3 code C3B
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Iron Replacement
AHFS code 20:04.04.00
AHFS class Iron Preparations
FDB label name VENOFER 100 MG/5 ML VIAL
FDB brand name Venofer
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AB · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 49230-534-25 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 49230-0534-25. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Parenteral Iron Replacement class.

Pharmacologic class Parenteral Iron Replacement
Drug family (ATC) Iron trivalent, oral preparations
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerFresenius Medical Care Holdings, Inc.
Application holderAMERICAN REGENT INC
FDA applicationNDA021135 (NDA)
Labeler code49230
First marketedNov 2008
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio2 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name VENOFER 100 MG/5 ML VIAL Ingredient Iron Sucrose Complex
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Iron sucrose injection is a way to get iron directly into your bloodstream through an IV. It's used when you have iron deficiency anemia — meaning your body doesn't have enough iro...
  • What exactly is iron sucrose injection and why do I need it?
  • A nurse or healthcare professional will place an IV and slowly administer the medication — the infusion itself can take anywhere from a few minutes to a couple of hours depending o...
  • What will happen during my infusion? How long does it take?
📖 Read our full Iron Sucrose Injection guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.

1 inactive ingredient listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $15.88 $1,985.49 / 125 ml
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
Medicare Part B allowsASP · J1756 $0.227 / J1756 unit
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)49230-534-25
11-digit billing NDC49230-0534-25
Format5-3-2 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the product segment)
HCPCS J-codeJ1756
DescriptorINJECTION, IRON SUCROSE, 1MG
Billing units / pkg20 units
Crosswalk sourcePDAC NDC-HCPCS crosswalk (DME MAC / DMEPOS)
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Venofer 20 mg/mL 00517-2310-05 American 5 vials $12.531 AB FDA listed
Venofer 20 mg/mL 00517-2340-01 American 1 vial AB FDA listed
Iron Sucrose 100 mg/5mL 00781-3486-95 Sandoz 10 vials AB FDA listed
Venofer 20 mg/mLthis 49230-0534-25 Fresenius 25 vials AB FDA listed
Venofer (Iron Sucrose) 20 mg/mL 51662-1568-01 HF 5 ml AB FDA listed
Iron Sucrose 100 mg/5mL 67457-0638-10 Mylan 10 vials AB FDA listed
Iron Sucrose 20 mg/mL 76329-9201-01 International 10 vials AB FDA listed
Venofer 20 mg/mL 49230-0530-10 Fresenius 10 vials AB FDA listed
Iron Sucrose 20 mg/mL 76329-9202-05 International 5 vials AB FDA listed
Iron Sucrose 20 mg/mL 76329-9200-01 International 10 vials AB FDA listed
Venofer 20 mg/mL 00517-2325-10 American 10 vials AB FDA listed
About this product: this is the brand-name version. Some generic versions are approved by the FDA, but we could not confirm current pharmacy availability from our pricing/market data.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2008
On the market since
Nov 2008
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
18 years listed
🔒
·
Generic approved (availability unconfirmed)
see note
🔒Generic approved by FDA, but pharmacy availability is not confirmed

The FDA lists approved generic versions of this medicine, but that does not always mean a pharmacy can get one today. Patent rules, launch agreements, supply and pricing can affect when generics actually arrive.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 49230-0534-25, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
209.6K
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
1.1M
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$17.36M
Avg / prescription
$82.86
Avg / unit
$15.8839
Latest quarter Q4 2025
43.1KRx
Fee-for-service vs managed care
34% FFS 66% MCO
Fee-for-service · 71,067 Rx Managed care · 138,492 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: 5,365 units · 385 per 100k residents ME Washington: 16,680 units · 214 per 100k residents WA Idaho: 3,635 units · 185 per 100k residents ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: 600 units · 76.6 per 100k residents ND Minnesota: 41,173 units · 718 per 100k residents MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: no data reported MI New York: 151,641 units · 775 per 100k residents NY Vermont: 1,200 units · 185 per 100k residents VT New Hampshire: 785 units · 56.0 per 100k residents NH Oregon: 42,315 units · 1,000 per 100k residents OR Nevada: 670 units · 21.0 per 100k residents NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: 295 units · 32.1 per 100k residents SD Iowa: 6,830 units · 213 per 100k residents IA Illinois: 76,321 units · 608 per 100k residents IL Indiana: 33,033 units · 481 per 100k residents IN Ohio: 125,640 units · 1,066 per 100k residents OH Pennsylvania: 33,260 units · 257 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: 385 units · 4.1 per 100k residents NJ Massachusetts: 21,756 units · 311 per 100k residents MA California: 186,436 units · 478 per 100k residents CA Utah: 41 units · 1.2 per 100k residents UT Colorado: 2,690 units · 45.8 per 100k residents CO Nebraska: 7,280 units · 368 per 100k residents NE Missouri: 19,615 units · 317 per 100k residents MO Kentucky: 14,749 units · 326 per 100k residents KY West Virginia: 19,715 units · 1,114 per 100k residents WV Virginia: 1,180 units · 13.5 per 100k residents VA Maryland: 13,565 units · 219 per 100k residents MD Connecticut: 32,406 units · 896 per 100k residents CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: 26,365 units · 1,247 per 100k residents NM Kansas: 2,788 units · 94.8 per 100k residents KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: 140 units · 2.0 per 100k residents TN North Carolina: 35,832 units · 331 per 100k residents NC South Carolina: 17,150 units · 319 per 100k residents SC Delaware: 9,335 units · 905 per 100k residents DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: 19,863 units · 434 per 100k residents LA Mississippi: 825 units · 28.1 per 100k residents MS Alabama: 29,765 units · 583 per 100k residents AL Georgia: 25,250 units · 229 per 100k residents GA D.C.: 1,115 units · 164 per 100k residents DC Hawaii: 1,386 units · 96.6 per 100k residents HI Texas: 9,598 units · 31.5 per 100k residents TX Florida: 54,409 units · 241 per 100k residents FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
1.21,247
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 New Mexico 1,247 /100k
2 West Virginia 1,114 /100k
3 Ohio 1,066 /100k
4 Oregon 1,000 /100k
5 Delaware 905 /100k
6 Connecticut 896 /100k
7 New York 775 /100k
8 Minnesota 718 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

💊 Medicaid utilization by pack size

Medicaid (SDUD) totals over the four most recent reported quarters for every package size of this drug — handy when a specific package (e.g. a starter/titration pack) carries little or no Medicaid volume on its own.
25 vials this page49230-0534-25 209,559 Rx · $17,363,377
10 vials49230-0534-10 105,540 Rx · $14,736,914
Drug total (last 4 qtrs): 315,099 Rx · 1,596,528 units · $32,100,291 gross reimbursed
Tap a pack size to open its page. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data, last 4 quarters.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Venofer (this brand).

Top reported reactions

Drug Hypersensitivity1,159
Nausea1,021
Dyspnoea988
Pruritus636
Vomiting632
Diarrhoea547
Rash539

Age at onset

Neonate32
Infant4
Child25
Adolescent26
Adult795
Elderly450

Reporter sex

9,478 reports
Male · 33%
Female · 67%
Unknown · 0%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization3,238
Death921
Life-threatening663
Disabling228
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2019 2021 2023 2026 843 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Per unit Per pack Marketing startStatus
49230-0534-10 10 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 BOX (49230-534-10) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE (49230-534-01) $12.21 / mL $610.34 2008-11-04 Active
49230-0534-25 You're viewing this 25 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 TRAY (49230-534-25) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE (49230-534-01) 2008-11-04 Active

In Medicaid, this is the most-dispensed pack of this product — about 67% of fills over the last four reported quarters. See all packs ↓

Pack size FAQ

What quantity is in NDC 49230-0534-25?
NDC 49230-0534-25 is listed by the FDA — 25 vial, single-dose in 1 tray / 5 ml in 1 vial, single-dose.
What NDC number is used to bill for this package of Venofer iron sucrose 20 mg/mL Injection, Solution?
Bill NDC 49230-0534-25 — the 11-digit billing format is 49230053425. Pharmacy and medical claims use the 11-digit form; the FDA label may print a shorter form of the same code.

Prices are the latest CMS NADAC pharmacy acquisition cost per NDC; per-pack figures are per-unit × pack quantity, shown only when the pack is denominated in the same measure NADAC prices.

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk ✓ Available
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) ✓ Available
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 49230-534-25, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 49230-0534-25, written without dashes as 49230053425. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 49230-0534-25, the first segment (49230) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Fresenius Medical Care Holdings, Inc.; the middle segment (0534) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (25) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Fresenius Medical Care Holdings, Inc.. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Does this product come in other package sizes?
Yes — the FDA directory lists 1 other package presentation of this same product, including 10 vials (49230-0534-10). Each has its own NDC and its own page — see the package list near the top of this page.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Fresenius Medical Care Holdings, Inc. is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Yes — this NDC cross-references HCPCS code J1756 for medical-claim billing (typically used when a product is administered in a clinical setting rather than dispensed at a retail pharmacy). See the Billing section on this page.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 47 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Venofer is indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD). Venofer is an iron replacement product indicated for the treatment of iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in patients with chronic kidney disease (CKD). ( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Venofer must only be administered intravenously either by slow injection or by infusion. The dosage of Venofer is expressed in mg of elemental iron. Each mL contains 20 mg of elemental iron.

Population Dose Adult patients Hemodialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (HDD-CKD) ( 2.2 ) 100 mg slow intravenous injection or infusion Non-Dialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (NDD-CKD) ( 2.3 ) 200 mg slow intravenous injection or infusion Peritoneal Dialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (PDD-CKD) ( 2.4 ) 300 mg or 400 mg intravenous infusion Pediatric patients HDD-CKD ( 2.5 ), PDD-CKD or NDD-CKD ( 2.6 ) 0.5 mg/kg slow intravenous injection or infusion

2.1Mode of Administration Administer Venofer only intravenously by slow injection or by infusion. The dosage of Venofer is expressed in mg of elemental iron. Each mL contains 20 mg of elemental iron.

2.2Adult Patients with Hemodialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (HDD-CKD) Administer Venofer 100 mg undiluted as a slow intravenous injection over 2 to 5 minutes, or as an infusion of 100 mg diluted in a maximum of 100 mL of 0.9% NaCl over a period of at least 15 minutes, per consecutive hemodialysis session [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling ( 16.2 )]. Administer Venofer early during the dialysis session (generally within the first hour). The usual total treatment course of Venofer is 1000 mg.

Venofer treatment may be repeated if iron deficiency reoccurs.

2.3Adult Patients with Non-Dialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (NDD-CKD) Administer Venofer 200 mg undiluted as a slow intravenous injection over 2 to 5 minutes or as an infusion of 200 mg in a maximum of 100 mL of 0.9% NaCl over a period of 15 minutes. Administer on 5 different occasions over a 14 day period. There is limited experience with administration of an infusion of 500 mg of Venofer, diluted in a maximum of 250 mL of 0.9% NaCl, over a period of 3.5 to 4 hours on Day 1 and Day 14 [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling ( 16.2 )].

Venofer treatment may be repeated if iron deficiency reoccurs.

2.4Adult Patients with Peritoneal Dialysis Dependent-Chronic Kidney Disease (PDD-CKD) Administer Venofer in 3 divided doses, given by slow intravenous infusion, within a 28 day period: 2 infusions each of 300 mg over 1.5 hours 14 days apart followed by one 400 mg infusion over 2.5 hours 14 days later. Dilute Venofer in a maximum of 250 mL of 0.9% NaCl [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling ( 16.2 )]. Venofer treatment may be repeated if iron deficiency reoccurs.

2.5Pediatric Patients (2 Years of Age and Older) with HDD-CKD for Iron Maintenance Treatment For iron maintenance treatment: Administer Venofer at a dose of 0.5 mg/kg, not to exceed 100 mg per dose, every two weeks for 12 weeks given undiluted by slow intravenous injection over 5 minutes or diluted in 0.9% NaCl at a concentration of 1 to 2 mg/mL and administered over 5 to 60 minutes. Do not dilute to concentrations below 1 mg/mL [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling ( 16.2 )]. Venofer treatment may be repeated if necessary.

The dosing for iron replacement treatment in pediatric patients with HDD-CKD has not been established.

2.6Pediatric Patients (2 Years of Age and Older) with NDD-CKD or PDD-CKD who are on Erythropoietin Therapy for Iron Maintenance Treatment For iron maintenance treatment: Administer Venofer at a dose of 0.5 mg/kg, not to exceed 100 mg per dose, every four weeks for 12 weeks given undiluted by slow intravenous injection over 5 minutes or diluted in 0.9% NaCl at a concentration of 1 to 2 mg/mL and administered over 5 to 60 minutes. Do not dilute to concentrations below 1 mg/mL [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling ( 16.2 )].

Venofer treatment may be repeated if necessary. The dosing for iron replacement treatment in pediatric patients with NDD-CKD or PDD-CKD has not been established.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 34 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 50 mg/2.5 mL or 100 mg/5 mL (20 mg/mL) in single-dose vials. Injection: 50 mg/2.5 mL or 100 mg/5 mL (20 mg/mL) in single-dose vials. ( 3 )

Contraindications 13 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Known hypersensitivity to Venofer Known hypersensitivity to Venofer ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~2 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Hypersensitivity Reactions: Observe for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after Venofer administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of each administration. Only administer Venofer when personnel and therapies are immediately available for the treatment of serious hypersensitivity reactions. ( 5.1 ) Hypotension: Venofer may cause hypotension.

Monitor for signs and symptoms of hypotension during and following each administration of Venofer. ( 5.2 ) Iron Overload: Regularly monitor hematologic responses during Venofer therapy. Do not administer Venofer to patients with iron overload.

( 5.3 )

5.1Hypersensitivity Reactions Serious hypersensitivity reactions, including anaphylactic-type reactions, some of which have been life-threatening and fatal, have been reported in patients receiving Venofer. Patients may present with shock, clinically significant hypotension, loss of consciousness, and/or collapse. If hypersensitivity reactions or signs of intolerance occur during administration, stop Venofer immediately.

Monitor patients for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after Venofer administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of the infusion. Only administer Venofer when personnel and therapies are immediately available for the treatment of serious hypersensitivity reactions. Most reactions associated with intravenous iron preparations occur within 30 minutes of the completion of the infusion [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 and 6.2 )].

5.2Hypotension Venofer may cause clinically significant hypotension. Monitor for signs and symptoms of hypotension following each administration of Venofer. Hypotension following administration of Venofer may be related to the rate of administration and/or total dose administered [see Dosage and Administration ( 2 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 ), and Adverse Reactions ( 6.2 )].

5.3Iron Overload Excessive therapy with parenteral iron can lead to excess storage of iron with the possibility of iatrogenic hemosiderosis. All adult and pediatric patients receiving Venofer require periodic monitoring of hematologic and iron parameters (hemoglobin, hematocrit, serum ferritin and transferrin saturation). Do not administer Venofer to patients with evidence of iron overload.

Transferrin saturation (TSAT) values increase rapidly after intravenous administration of iron sucrose; do not perform serum iron measurements for at least 48 hours after intravenous dosing [see Dosage and Administration ( 2 ) and Overdosage ( 10 )].

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are described elsewhere in the labeling: • Hypersensitivity Reactions [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] • Hypotension [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] • Iron Overload [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] Adult patients: The most common adverse reactions (≥2%) are diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, headache, dizziness, hypotension, pruritus, pain in extremity, arthralgia, back pain, muscle cramp, injection site reactions, chest pain, and peripheral edema.

( 6.1 ) Pediatric patients: The most common adverse reactions (≥2%) are headache, respiratory tract viral infection, peritonitis, vomiting, pyrexia, dizziness, cough, nausea, arteriovenous fistula thrombosis, hypotension, and hypertension. ( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact American Regent, Inc. at 1-800-734-9236 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch .

6.1Adverse Reactions in Clinical Trials Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug may not reflect the rates observed in practice. Adverse Reactions in Adult Patients with CKD The frequency of adverse reactions associated with the use of Venofer has been documented in six clinical trials involving 231 patients with HDD-CKD, 139 patients with NDD-CKD and 75 patients with PDD-CKD. Adverse reactions reported by ≥ 2% of treated patients in the six clinical trials for which the rate for Venofer exceeds the rate for comparator are listed by indication in Table 1.

Patients with HDD-CKD received 100 mg doses at 10 consecutive dialysis sessions until a cumulative dose of 1000 mg was administered. Patients with NDD-CKD received either 5 doses of 200 mg over 2 weeks or 2 doses of 500 mg separated by fourteen days, and patients with PDD-CKD received 2 doses of 300 mg followed by a dose of 400 mg over a period of 4 weeks. Table 1.

Adverse Reactions Reported in ≥ 2% of Study Populations and for which the Rate for Venofer Exceeds the Rate for Comparator * EPO=Erythropoietin Body System/Adverse Reactions HDD-CKD NDD-CKD PDD-CKD Venofer Venofer Oral Iron Venofer EPO* Only (N=231) (N=139) (N=139) (N=75) (N=46) % % % % % Subjects with any adverse reaction 78.8 76.3 73.4 72.0

65.2Ear and Labyrinth Disorders Ear Pain 0 2.2 0.7 0 0 Eye Disorders Conjunctivitis 0.4 0 0 2.7 0 Gastrointestinal Disorders Abdominal pain 3.5 1.4 2.9 4.0

6.5Diarrhea 5.2 7.2 10.1 8.0

4.3Dysgeusia 0.9 7.9 0 0 0 Nausea 14.7 8.6 12.2 5.3

4.3Vomiting 9.1 5.0 8.6 8.0

2.2General Disorders and Administration Site Conditions Asthenia 2.2 0.7 2.2 2.7 0 Chest pain 6.1 1.4 0 2.7 0 Feeling abnormal 3.0 0 0 0 0 Infusion site pain or burning 0 5.8 0 0 0 Injection site extravasation 0 2.2 0 0 0 Peripheral edema 2.6 7.2 5.0 5.3

10.9Pyrexia 3.0 0.7 0.7 1.3 0 Infections and Infestations Nasopharyngitis, Sinusitis, Upper respiratory tract infections, Pharyngitis 2.6 2.2 4.3 16.0

4.3Injury, Poisoning and Procedural Complications Graft complication 9.5 1.4 0 0 0 Metabolism and Nutrition Disorders Fluid overload 3.0 1.4 0.7 1.3 0 Gout 0 2.9 1.4 0 0 Hyperglycemia 0 2.9 0 0

2.2Hypoglycemia 0.4 0.7 0.7 4.0 0 Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue Disorders Arthralgia 3.5 1.4 2.2 4.0

4.3Back pain 2.2 2.2 3.6 1.3

4.3Muscle cramp 29.4 0.7 0.7 2.7 0 Myalgia 0 3.6 0 1.3 0 Pain in extremity 5.6 4.3 0 2.7

6.5Nervous System Disorders Dizziness 6.5 6.5 1.4 1.3

4.3Headache 12.6 2.9 0.7 4.0 0 Respiratory, Thoracic and Mediastinal Disorders Cough 3.0 2.2 0.7 1.3 0 Dyspnea 3.5 5.8 1.4 1.3

2.2Nasal congestion 0 1.4 2.2 1.3 0 Skin and Subcutaneous Tissue Disorders Pruritus 3.9 2.2 4.3 2.7 0 Vascular Disorders Hypertension 6.5 6.5 4.3 8.0

6.5Hypotension 39.4 2.2 0.7 2.7

2.2One hundred thirty (11%) of the 1,151 patients evaluated in the 4 U.S. trials in HDD-CKD patients (studies A, B and the two post marketing studies) had prior other intravenous iron therapy and were reported to be intolerant (defin…

🔄 Drug Interactions 52 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Venofer may reduce the absorption of concomitantly administered oral iron preparations. The most common adverse reactions (≥2%) following the administration of Venofer are diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, headache, dizziness, hypotension, pruritus, pain in extremity, arthralgia, back pain, muscle cramp, injection site reactions, chest pain, and peripheral edema. ( 6.1 )

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies on intravenous iron sucrose treatment after the first trimester of pregnancy have not shown adverse maternal or fetal outcomes (see Data) . Available reports of intravenous iron sucrose use in pregnant women during the first trimester are insufficient to assess the risk of major birth defects and miscarriage. There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated IDA in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions (see Clinical Considerations) .

Animal reproduction studies of iron sucrose administered to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis at elemental iron doses equivalent to the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus (see Data). The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. Adverse outcomes in pregnancy occur regardless of the health of the mother or the use of medications.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically-recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Iron deficiency anemia during pregnancy should be treated. Untreated IDA in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia.

Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA include increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight. Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as Venofer) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester. Data Human Data Published data from randomized controlled studies and prospective observational studies on the use of Venofer in pregnant women have not reported an association of Venofer and adverse developmental outcomes.

However, these studies did not include women exposed during the first trimester of pregnancy and were not designed to assess the risk of major birth defects. Maternal adverse events reported in these studies are similar to those reported during clinical trials in adult males and non-pregnant females [see Adverse Reactions (6.1)] . Animal Data Iron sucrose was administered intravenously to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis at elemental iron doses up to 13 mg/kg/day (0.25 times or equivalent to the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area, respectively) and revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary Iron sucrose is present in human milk, and available published reports following exposure to 100-300 mg intravenous iron sucrose have not reported adverse reactions in breastfed infants (see Data) . There are no data on the effects on milk production. The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered, along with the mother’s clinical need for Venofer and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed child from Venofer or from the underlying maternal condition.

Data A published study showed no difference in iron concentration in the colostrum of 10 iron deficient breastfeeding women who were 2 to 3 days postpartum and received a single dose of 100 mg of intravenous iron sucrose compared to 5 breastfeeding women who received no iron. These results may underestimate the amount of iron in breastmilk following the standard dose of Venofer. A published report of 78 breastfeeding women who received 300 mg of intravenous iron sucrose over 3 days (infant age not reported) did not report on the safety of iron sucrose in breastfed infants; however adverse reactions in breastfed infants were not reported.

Clinical Considerations Monitor breastfed infants for…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies on intravenous iron sucrose treatment after the first trimester of pregnancy have not shown adverse maternal or fetal outcomes (see Data) . Available reports of intravenous iron sucrose use in pregnant women during the first trimester are insufficient to assess the risk of major birth defects and miscarriage. There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated IDA in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions (see Clinical Considerations) .

Animal reproduction studies of iron sucrose administered to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis at elemental iron doses equivalent to the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus (see Data). The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. Adverse outcomes in pregnancy occur regardless of the health of the mother or the use of medications.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically-recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Iron deficiency anemia during pregnancy should be treated. Untreated IDA in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia.

Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA include increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight. Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as Venofer) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester. Data Human Data Published data from randomized controlled studies and prospective observational studies on the use of Venofer in pregnant women have not reported an association of Venofer and adverse developmental outcomes.

However, these studies did not include women exposed during the first trimester of pregnancy and were not designed to assess the risk of major birth defects. Maternal adverse events reported in these studies are similar to those reported during clinical trials in adult males and non-pregnant females [see Adverse Reactions (6.1)] . Animal Data Iron sucrose was administered intravenously to rats and rabbits during the period of organogenesis at elemental iron doses up to 13 mg/kg/day (0.25 times or equivalent to the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area, respectively) and revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus.

🧒 Pediatric Use 181 words

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness of Venofer for iron replacement treatment in pediatric patients with dialysis-dependent or non-dialysis-dependent CKD have not been established. Safety and effectiveness of Venofer for iron maintenance treatment in pediatric patients 2 years of age and older with dialysis-dependent or non-dialysis-dependent CKD receiving erythropoietin therapy were studied. Venofer at doses of 0.5 mg/kg, 1 mg/kg, and 2 mg/kg was administered.

All three doses maintained hemoglobin between 10.5 g/dL and 14.0 g/dL in about 50% of subjects over the 12-week treatment period with stable EPO dosing [see Clinical Studies ( 14.7 )]. Venofer has not been studied in patients younger than 2 years of age. In a country where Venofer is available for use in children, at a single site, five premature infants (weight less than 1,250 g) developed necrotizing enterocolitis and two of the five died during or following a period when they received Venofer, several other medications and erythropoietin.

Necrotizing enterocolitis may be a complication of prematurity in very low birth weight infants. No causal relationship to Venofer or any other drugs could be established.

🧓 Geriatric Use 93 words

8.5Geriatric Use Of the 1,051 patients in two post-marketing safety studies of Venofer, 40% were 65 years and older. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these subjects and younger subjects, and other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger patients, but greater sensitivity of some older individuals cannot be ruled out. In general, dose administration to an elderly patient should be cautious, reflecting the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy.

🆘 Overdosage 102 words

10 OVERDOSAGE No data are available regarding overdosage of Venofer in humans. Excessive dosages of Venofer may lead to accumulation of iron in storage sites potentially leading to hemosiderosis. Do not administer Venofer to patients with iron overload [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )].

Venofer is not dialyzable through CA210 (Baxter) High Efficiency or Fresenius F80A High Flux dialysis membranes. Toxicities in single-dose studies in mice and rats, at intravenous iron sucrose doses up to 8 times the maximum recommended human dose based on body surface area, included sedation, hypoactivity, pale eyes, bleeding in the gastrointestinal tract and lungs, and mortality.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~2 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Venofer is an aqueous complex of poly-nuclear iron (III)-hydroxide in sucrose. Following intravenous administration, Venofer is dissociated into iron and sucrose and the iron is transported as a complex with transferrin to target cells including erythroid precursor cells. The iron in the precursor cells is incorporated into hemoglobin as the cells mature into red blood cells.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Following intravenous administration, Venofer is dissociated into iron and sucrose. In 22 patients undergoing hemodialysis and receiving erythropoietin (recombinant human erythropoietin) therapy treated with iron sucrose containing 100 mg of iron, three times weekly for three weeks, significant increases in serum iron and serum ferritin and significant decreases in total iron binding capacity occurred four weeks from the initiation of iron sucrose treatment.

12.3Pharmacokinetics In healthy adults administered intravenous doses of Venofer, its iron component exhibited first order kinetics with an elimination half-life of 6 h, total clearance of

1.2 L/h, and steady state apparent volume of distribution of

7.9L. The iron component appeared to distribute mainly in blood and to some extent in extravascular fluid. A study evaluating Venofer containing 100 mg of iron labeled with 52 Fe/ 59 Fe in patients with iron deficiency showed that a significant amount of the administered iron is distributed to the liver, spleen and bone marrow and that the bone marrow is an irreversible iron trapping compartment.

Following intravenous administration of Venofer, iron sucrose is dissociated into iron and sucrose. The sucrose component is eliminated mainly by urinary excretion. In a study evaluating a single intravenous dose of Venofer containing 1,510 mg of sucrose and 100 mg of iron in 12 healthy adults (9 female, 3 male: age range 32 to 52), 68.3% of the sucrose was eliminated in urine in 4 h and 75.4% in 24 h.

Some iron was also eliminated in the urine. Neither transferrin nor transferrin receptor levels changed immediately after the dose administration. In this study and another study evaluating a single intravenous dose of iron sucrose containing 500 to 700 mg of iron in 26 patients with anemia on erythropoietin therapy (23 female, 3 male; age range 16 to 60), approximately 5% of the iron was eliminated in urine in 24 h at each dose level.

The effects of age and gender on the pharmacokinetics of Venofer have not been studied. Pharmacokinetics in Pediatric Patients In a single-dose PK study of Venofer, patients with NDD-CKD ages 12 to 16 (N=11) received intravenous bolus doses of Venofer at 7 mg/kg (maximum 200 mg) administered over 5 minutes. Following a single dose of Venofer, the half-life of total serum iron was 8 hours.

The mean Cmax and AUC values were 8545 μg/dl and 31305 hr•μg/dL, respectively, which were 1.42- and 1.67-fold higher than dose adjusted adult Cmax and AUC values. Venofer is not dialyzable through CA210 (Baxter) High Efficiency or Fresenius F80A High Flux dialysis membranes. In in vitro studies, the amount of iron sucrose in the dialysate fluid was below the levels of detection of the assay (less than 2 parts per million).

🧬 Mechanism of Action 60 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Venofer is an aqueous complex of poly-nuclear iron (III)-hydroxide in sucrose. Following intravenous administration, Venofer is dissociated into iron and sucrose and the iron is transported as a complex with transferrin to target cells including erythroid precursor cells. The iron in the precursor cells is incorporated into hemoglobin as the cells mature into red blood cells.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling ~1 min read

16 HOW SUPPLIED/storage and handling

16.1How Supplied Venofer is supplied sterile in 5 mL and 2.5 mL single-dose vials. Each 5 mL vial contains 100 mg elemental iron, and each 2.5 mL vial contains 50 mg elemental iron (20 mg/mL). NDC-49230-534-10 100 mg/5 mL Single-Dose Vial Packages of 10 NDC-49230-534-25 100 mg/5 mL Single-Dose Vial Packages of 25 NDC-49230-530-10 50 mg/2.5 mL Single-Dose Vial Packages of 10 NDC-49230-530-25 50 mg/2.5 mL Single-Dose Vial Packages of 25

16.2Stability and Storage Contains no preservatives. Store in original carton at 20°C to 25°C (68° F to 77° F); excursions permitted to 15° to 30°C (59° to 86°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. Do not freeze.

Syringe Stability : Venofer, when diluted with 0.9% NaCl at concentrations ranging from 2 mg to 10 mg of elemental iron per mL, or undiluted (20 mg elemental iron per mL) and stored in a plastic syringe, was found to be physically and chemically stable for 7 days at controlled room temperature (25°C ± 2°C) and under refrigeration (4°C ± 2°C). Intravenous Admixture Stability: Venofer, when added to intravenous infusion bags (PVC or non-PVC) containing 0.9% NaCl at concentrations ranging from 1 mg to 2 mg of elemental iron per mL, has been found to be physically and chemically stable for 7 days at controlled room temperature (25°C ± 2°C).

Do not dilute to concentrations below 1 mg/mL. Do not mix Venofer with other medications or add to parenteral nutrition solutions for intravenous infusion. Parenteral drug products should be inspected visually for particulate matter and discoloration prior to infusion.

📦 Storage and Handling 186 words

16.2Stability and Storage Contains no preservatives. Store in original carton at 20°C to 25°C (68° F to 77° F); excursions permitted to 15° to 30°C (59° to 86°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. Do not freeze.

Syringe Stability : Venofer, when diluted with 0.9% NaCl at concentrations ranging from 2 mg to 10 mg of elemental iron per mL, or undiluted (20 mg elemental iron per mL) and stored in a plastic syringe, was found to be physically and chemically stable for 7 days at controlled room temperature (25°C ± 2°C) and under refrigeration (4°C ± 2°C). Intravenous Admixture Stability: Venofer, when added to intravenous infusion bags (PVC or non-PVC) containing 0.9% NaCl at concentrations ranging from 1 mg to 2 mg of elemental iron per mL, has been found to be physically and chemically stable for 7 days at controlled room temperature (25°C ± 2°C).

Do not dilute to concentrations below 1 mg/mL. Do not mix Venofer with other medications or add to parenteral nutrition solutions for intravenous infusion. Parenteral drug products should be inspected visually for particulate matter and discoloration prior to infusion.

📋 Description 159 words

11 DESCRIPTION Venofer (iron sucrose injection, USP), an iron replacement product, is a brown, sterile, aqueous, complex of polynuclear iron (III)-hydroxide in sucrose for intravenous use. Iron sucrose injection has a molecular weight of approximately 34,000 to 60,000 daltons and a proposed structural formula: [Na 2 Fe 5 O 8 (OH) ·3(H 2 O)] n ·m(C 12 H 22 O 11 ) where: n is the degree of iron polymerization and m is the number of sucrose molecules associated with the iron (III)-hydroxide. Each mL contains 20 mg elemental iron as iron sucrose in water for injection.

Venofer is available in 5 mL single-dose vials (100 mg elemental iron per 5 mL), and 2.5 mL single-dose vials (50 mg elemental iron per 2.5 mL). The drug product contains approximately 30% sucrose w/v (300 mg/mL). Sodium hydroxide may be added to adjust pH to 10.5 to 11.1.

The product contains no preservatives. The osmolarity of the injection is 1,250 mOsmol/L.

💬 Information for Patients 99 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Prior History of Reactions to Parenteral Iron Products Question patients regarding any prior history of reactions to parenteral iron products [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5 )]. Serious Hypersensitivity Reactions Advise patients to report any symptoms of hypersensitivity that may develop during and following Venofer administration, such as rash, itching, dizziness, light-headedness, swelling, and breathing problems [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5 )] . Distributed by: Fresenius Medical Care, NA Waltham, MA 02451 1-800-323-5188 IN534 100801.K MG # 25536 Venofer is manufactured under license from American Regent, Inc.

(Shirley, NY) and Vifor (International) Inc., Switzerland.

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.