HomeNDC LookupIngredientsGlucarpidase › 50633-0210-11
Voraxaze glucarpidase 1000 [USP'U]/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution, 1 vial — NDC 50633-0210-11 package photo

Voraxaze glucarpidase 1000 [USP'U]/1 Injection, Powder, For Solution, 1 vial

by BTG International Inc. · 1 VIAL in 1 CARTON (50633-210-11) / 1 INJECTION, POWDER, FOR SOLUTION in 1 VIAL
NDC 50633-0210-11
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 50633-210-11 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Brand On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 50633-210-11
Product NDC 50633-210
11-digit billing NDC 50633021011
NCPDP billing unit EA — each (per item)
RxCUI 1242131, 1242136
UNII 2GFP9BJD79
Application # BLA125327
SPL Set ID acaef5a6-b740-40e3-8ffe-74a75c74745c
Established class (EPC) Carboxypeptidase
Chemical class Carboxypeptidases
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category BLA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2012-04-01
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, POWDER, FOR SOLUTION
Substance GLUCARPIDASE
GPI-14 21756030002120
GPI class Voraxaze
GCN Seq No 068421
GCN 31194
HICL code 038387
Ingredient (HICL) Glucarpidase
HIC1 code V
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Neoplasms
HIC2 code V1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antineoplastic Drugs
HIC3 code V1I
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Chemotherapy Rescue/Antidote Agents
AHFS code 44:00.00.00
AHFS class Enzymes
FDB label name VORAXAZE 1,000 UNIT VIAL
FDB brand name Voraxaze
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Biologic (Purple Book) 351(a)
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 50633-210-11 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 50633-0210-11. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Carboxypeptidase class.

Pharmacologic class Carboxypeptidase
Drug family (ATC) Detoxifying agents for antineoplastic treatment
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerBTG International Inc.
FDA applicationBLA125327 (BLA)
Labeler code50633
First marketedApr 2012
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio6 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name VORAXAZE 1,000 UNIT VIAL Ingredient Glucarpidase
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • When you receive high-dose methotrexate for cancer treatment and your kidneys can't clear it fast enough, methotrexate builds up to toxic levels in your blood. Voraxaze is an enzym...
  • What exactly does Voraxaze do, and why do I need it?
  • Voraxaze is given as a single injection into your vein over about 5 minutes by a nurse or doctor — you won't be doing this at home. In most cases, one dose is all that's needed. Yo...
  • How is Voraxaze given, and will I need more than one dose?
📖 Read our full Glucarpidase guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • 10 mg UNII EWQ57Q8I5X
    Lactose monohydrate is a natural sugar derived from milk. It serves as a filler and binder in tablets and capsules, helping create the proper size, texture, and consistency of the medicine.
  • 0.6 mg UNII 383V75M34E
    A salt form of tromethamine, an organic base compound. It functions as a buffer to help maintain the medicine's pH level and improve stability during storage.
  • 0.002 mg UNII FM5526K07A
    Zinc acetate is a salt compound containing zinc. It acts as a buffer and pH stabilizer in formulations, helping maintain the medicine's chemical stability and shelf life.

3 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
ℹ️
No price is published for this exact package yet. CMS surveys NADAC per package size, so a different pack of the same drug often has one.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Voraxaze 1000 [USP'U]this 50633-0210-11 BTG 1 vial FDA listed
About this product: this is a biologic. Biologics don't have small-molecule generics — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars (shown above), not generics.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & biosimilar status

🏛️
2012
First FDA approval
Jan 2012
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
14 years listed
🔓
·
Biosimilar pathway open
listed protections lapsed 2024
🧬Biologic — competition comes from biosimilars

Biologics have no small-molecule generics; biosimilar competition is tracked in the FDA Purple Book.

🛡️ Latest patent/protection date listed: The latest listed FDA patent/protection lapsed Jan 2024 — those protections no longer apply, though a biosimilar still needs FDA licensure and a manufacturer to market it.
📅 FDA approved Jan 17, 2012

Why the date isn’t exact: Biosimilar timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added or removed, and litigation can move the real date earlier or later.

FDA Purple Book — biosimilars & interchangeables
Reference product
🔒 No FDA-licensed biosimilars or interchangeable biosimilars are listed yet for this biologic. It currently has no biosimilar competition in the FDA Purple Book.
Source: FDA Purple Book (purplebooksearch.fda.gov), matched on the reference product’s active ingredient.
Patents & exclusivity — FDA Purple Book
Exclusivity RefProduct
2012 2014 2016 2018 2020 2022 2024
Today
LOE
Biologic patent Exclusivity
🏛️Reference-product exclusivity
A flat 12 years of FDA market protection from first licensure. No biosimilar can be licensed before it ends — regardless of patents.
🧪Listed biologic patents
Patents the reference maker lists covering the molecule, formulation, or manufacturing. A biosimilar generally can’t launch until these resolve.
🔁Interchangeability
An interchangeable biosimilar may be substituted at the pharmacy (state laws vary). The first one can earn its own exclusivity period.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
Biologic patent
A patent the reference product’s maker has publicly listed. A biosimilar generally can’t launch until these expire — unless they’re invalidated or resolved in a settlement.
Reference-product exclusivity
A flat 12 years of FDA market protection from the biologic’s first licensure (the BPCIA). No biosimilar can be licensed before it ends, regardless of patents.
Interchangeable exclusivity
The first interchangeable biosimilar can earn a period as the only interchangeable version (pharmacists can substitute it without the prescriber).
Earliest biosimilar (LOE)
The latest of all the dates above — the soonest a biosimilar can realistically reach the market. Litigation and settlements can move it earlier.

Biologics have no small-molecule “generics” — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars, tracked in the FDA Purple Book.

FDA exclusivity
CodeWhat it grantsExpires
RefProductReference-product exclusivity (12-year, BPCIA) — no biosimilar can be licensed before this dateJan 17, 2024
Common questions
Is there a biosimilar for VORAXAZE 1,000 UNIT VIAL?
No FDA-licensed biosimilar is currently listed for this biologic in the FDA Purple Book.
Why do different websites show different biosimilar dates?
Biosimilar availability isn’t based on one single date. Some sources use the reference-product exclusivity, some use the last listed patent, and patent litigation, settlements, and licenses can all change the real-world launch date. This page shows the underlying Purple Book dates so you can see why estimates differ.
Can a biosimilar launch before the last patent expires?
Sometimes. A biosimilar maker may settle with the reference manufacturer or receive a license to launch earlier. In other cases, the last listed protection delays competition.
What does “current Purple Book estimate” mean?
It means we’re using the latest patent and exclusivity dates currently listed in the FDA Purple Book. It is not a guaranteed launch date.
What does “FDA listed” mean?
It means the product appears in the FDA’s official directory. That’s a good sign a product exists for the U.S. market, but on its own it does not confirm a pharmacy can get it today. Where we have recent retail pricing data, we label it “Availability likely” instead.
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
It’s the latest date currently listed in the FDA Purple Book for a patent or exclusivity on the reference biologic. It can affect when a biosimilar becomes widely available — but it is not a guaranteed launch date. Settlements and licenses can move the real date earlier or later.
Built from the FDA Purple Book Patent List (patents the reference-product sponsor has publicly listed under the BPCIA) plus reference-product exclusivity. Biosimilars cannot launch until these clear; patent litigation and settlements can shift the real date. Biologics have no small-molecule generics — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars, not the Orange Book.
Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Purple Book (biologics), refreshed from public FDA data. Biosimilar launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Voraxaze (this brand).

Top reported reactions

Underdose62
Laboratory Test Interference58
Acute Kidney Injury36
Toxicity To Various Agents34
Blood Creatinine Increased33
Drug Effect Incomplete33
Rebound Effect31

Age at onset

Child2
Adolescent3
Adult14
Elderly8

Reporter sex

358 reports
Male · 60%
Female · 38%
Unknown · 2%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization84
Disabling2
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2019 2021 2023 2026 42 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
50633-0210-11 You're viewing this 1 VIAL in 1 CARTON (50633-210-11) / 1 INJECTION, POWDER, FOR SOLUTION in 1 VIAL 2012-04-01 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 50633-210-11, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 50633-0210-11, written without dashes as 50633021011. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 50633-0210-11, the first segment (50633) is the labeler code FDA assigned to BTG International Inc.; the middle segment (0210) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (11) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by BTG International Inc.. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
BTG International Inc. is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 189 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE VORAXAZE is indicated to reduce toxic plasma methotrexate concentration (greater than 1 micromole per liter) in adult and pediatric patients with delayed methotrexate clearance (plasma methotrexate concentrations greater than 2 standard deviations of the mean methotrexate excretion curve specific for the dose of methotrexate administered) due to impaired renal function. Limitations of Use: VORAXAZE is not recommended for use in patients who exhibit the expected clearance and expected plasma methotrexate concentration.

Reducing plasma methotrexate concentration in these patients may result in subtherapeutic exposure to methotrexate [see Clinical Studies ( 14 )] . VORAXAZE is a carboxypeptidase indicated to reduce toxic plasma methotrexate concentration (greater than 1 micromole per liter) in adult and pediatric patients with delayed methotrexate clearance (plasma methotrexate concentrations greater than 2 standard deviations of the mean methotrexate excretion curve specific for the dose of methotrexate administered) due to impaired renal function.

( 1 ) Limitations of Use: VORAXAZE is not recommended for use in patients who exhibit the expected clearance and expected plasma methotrexate concentration. Reducing plasma methotrexate concentration in these patients may result in subtherapeutic exposure to methotrexate. ( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~2 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION The recommended dosage of VORAXAZE is 50 Units per kilogram as a single intravenous injection over 5 minutes. ( 2.1 ). For the first 48 hours after the dose of VORAXAZE, administer the same leucovorin dose given prior to VORAXAZE.

Administer leucovorin at least 2 hours before or 2 hours after the dose of VORAXAZE. ( 2.2 ) Beyond 48 hours after the dose of VORAXAZE, administer leucovorin based on the measured methotrexate concentration. Continue leucovorin until the methotrexate concentration has been maintained below the leucovorin treatment threshold for a minimum of 3 days.

( 2.2 )

2.1Recommended Dosage The recommended dosage of VORAXAZE is 50 Units per kilogram (kg) as a single intravenous injection administered over 5 minutes. Flush intravenous line before and after administration.

2.2Concomitant Use with Leucovorin Rescue When administering VORAXAZE concomitantly with leucovorin, administer leucovorin at least 2 hours before or 2 hours after the VORAXAZE dose [see Drug Interactions ( 7.1 )] . For the first 48 hours after a dose of VORAXAZE: Administer the same leucovorin dosage given prior to the VORAXAZE dose. Beyond 48 hours after a dose of VORAXAZE : Determine the leucovorin dosage based on the measured methotrexate concentration.

Do not discontinue leucovorin based on the determination of a single methotrexate concentration below the leucovorin rescue threshold. Continue leucovorin until the methotrexate concentration has been maintained below the leucovorin rescue threshold for a minimum of 3 days. Continue intravenous hydration and urinary alkalinization as indicated.

When measuring methotrexate concentrations following a VORAXAZE dose, a chromatographic method is preferred over an immunoassay [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] .

2.3Preparation Reconstitute the contents of the vial with 1 mL of 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP. Roll and tilt the vial gently to mix. Do not shake.

Inspect the vial and discard VORAXAZE if the solution is not clear, colorless, and free of particulate matter. Use reconstituted VORAXAZE immediately or store under refrigeration at 36° to 46°F (2° to 8°C) for up to 4 hours if not used immediately. VORAXAZE contains no preservative and is supplied as a single-dose vial.

Discard any unused product.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 37 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS For Injection: 1,000 Units as a white lyophilized powder in a single-dose vial for reconstitution. For Injection: 1,000 Units as a lyophilized powder in a single-dose vial for reconstitution ( 3 )

Contraindications 4 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS None. None.

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions 158 words

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Serious Hypersensitivity Reactions: Serious hypersensitivity reactions occurred. ( 5.1 ) Monitoring Methotrexate Concentration: Measure methotrexate concentrations within 48 hours following VORAXAZE administration using a chromatographic method; immunoassays are unreliable for samples collected within 48 hours following VORAXAZE administration. ( 5.2 )

5.1Serious Hypersensitivity Reactions Serious hypersensitivity reactions occurred in less than 1% of patients [ see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 ) ].

5.2Interference with Immunoassay Measurements of Methotrexate DAMPA (4-deoxy-4-amino-N 10 - methylpteroic acid), an inactive metabolite of methotrexate formed following VORAXAZE administration, interferes with the measurement of methotrexate concentration using immunoassays. This interference results in an overestimation of the methotrexate concentration. Based on the half-life of DAMPA (about 9 hours), VORAXAZE may interfere with the measurement of methotrexate concentration for up to 48 hours following a VORAXAZE dose [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.1 ) ].

When measuring methotrexate concentration following a VORAXAZE dose, a chromatographic method is preferred over an immunoassay.

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are described elsewhere in the labeling: Serious Hypersensitivity Reactions [Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. The most common related adverse events (>1%) were paresthesia, flushing, nausea and/or vomiting, hypotension and headache. ( 6 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact BTG at 877-377-3784 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch .

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under controlled but widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in clinical trials of VORAXAZE cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of other drugs and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. The evaluation of adverse reactions in patients who received VORAXAZE was confounded, because patients had toxic plasma methotrexate concentration due to prolonged methotrexate clearance, which is associated with myelosuppression, mucositis, acute hepatitis, and renal dysfunction and failure.

The safety of VORAXAZE is based on data from 290 patients who were enrolled in Study 1 or Study 2, two single-arm, open-label, multicenter studies conducted in patients who had markedly delayed methotrexate clearance due to impaired renal function. Patients with osteosarcoma were eligible for these studies if the plasma methotrexate concentration was >50 µmol/L at 24 hours, >5 µmol/L at 48 hours, or >2 standard deviations above the mean methotrexate elimination curve at least 12 hours after methotrexate administration; and there was a ≥2-fold increase in serum creatinine above baseline.

All other patients were eligible for these studies if the plasma methotrexate concentration was >10 µmol/L more than 42 hours after the start of the methotrexate or the plasma methotrexate concentration was >2 standard deviations above the mean methotrexate excretion curve at least 12 hours following methotrexate; and the serum creatinine was >1.5 times the upper limit of normal (ULN) or the creatinine clearance (CLcr) was <60 mL/min at least 12 hours following methotrexate administration. Safety data was available for 149 patients enrolled in Study 1.

The protocol specified that patients with pre-VORAXAZE methotrexate concentration >100 μmol/L were to receive a second VORAXAZE dose 48 hours after the first dose; that patients continue receiving intravenous hydration, urinary alkalinization and leucovorin; and that leucovorin administration be adjusted to ensure that it was not administered within 2 hours before or after a VORAXAZE dose. VORAXAZE-related adverse reactions were collected on a flow sheet with a daily log of adverse reactions characterized as “glucarpidase toxicity”.

Additional safety information was collected from clinical records submitted by treating physicians. This safety information was abstracted and categorized using the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 3. One (n=106) or 2 (n= 30) doses of VORAXAZE were administered; the number of doses was not specified for 13 patients.

Doses ranged from 18 Units/kg to 98 Units/kg, with a median dose of 49 Units/kg. The median age was 18 years (1 month to 85 years); 63% were male; and the underlying malignancies were osteosarcoma/sarcomas in 32% and leukemia or lymphoma in 63% of patients. Safety data was available for 141 patients enrolled in Study 2.

The protocol did not specify the criterion for allowing patients to receive a second VORAXAZE dose. The protocol specified that patients continue receiving intravenous hydration, urinary alkalinization and leucovorin and that leucovorin administration be adjusted to ensure that it was not administered within 2 hours before or after VORAXAZE. VORAXAZE-related adverse reactions were collected and severity was graded according to NCI CTCAE version 3.

One (n=122) or 2 (n= 18) doses of VORAXAZE were administered; the number of doses was not specified for 1 patient. Dose…

🔄 Drug Interactions 143 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS

7.1Effects of VORAXAZE on Leucovorin VORAXAZE can decrease leucovorin concentration, which may decrease the effect of leucovorin rescue unless leucovorin is dosed as recommended [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] . VORAXAZE may also reduce the concentrations other folate analogs or folate analog metabolic inhibitors.

7.2Effect of VORAXAZE on Measurement of Methotrexate Concentration DAMPA (4-deoxy-4-amino-N10- methylpteroic acid), an inactive metabolite of methotrexate formed following VORAXAZE administration, interferes with the measurement of methotrexate concentration using immunoassays. This interference results in an overestimation of the methotrexate concentration. Based on the half-life of DAMPA, VORAXAZE may interfere with the measurement of methotrexate concentrations for approximately 48 hours following a VORAXAZE dose [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] .

When measuring methotrexate concentration following a VORAXAZE dose, a chromatographic method is preferred over an immunoassay.

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~2 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary There are no available data on VORAXAZE use in pregnant women or animal reproduction studies to evaluate for a drug-associated risk of major birth defects, miscarriage or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes. VORAXAZE is administered in combination with methotrexate, which can cause embryo-fetal harm. Refer to methotrexate prescribing information for additional information.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of glucarpidase in human milk or its effects on the breastfed infant or on milk production. VORAXAZE is administered in combination with methotrexate. Refer to methotrexate prescribing information for additional information.

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of VORAXAZE have been established in pediatric patients. Use of VORAXAZE for this indication is supported by evidence from a single-arm, open-label study in adult and pediatric patients 5 years of age and older with additional safety data in pediatric patients 1 to 17 years of age as described below. Of the 22 patients in the efficacy dataset in Study 1, 12 were pediatric patients with ages ranging from 5 years to 16 years.

Three of the 6 pediatric patients with a pre-VORAXAZE methotrexate concentration of 1 μmol/L to 50 μmol/L achieved a rapid and sustained clinically important reduction (RSCIR) in plasma methotrexate concentration, while none of the 6 pediatric patients with a pre-VORAXAZE methotrexate concentration >50 μmol/L achieved a RSCIR [see Clinical Studies ( 14 )] . One-hundred forty-seven pediatric patients from 1 month to 17 years received VORAXAZE in Study 1 and Study 2 [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )] . No overall differences in safety were observed between these patients and adult patients.

8.5Geriatric Use Of the total number of 290 patients in clinical studies of VORAXAZE, 15% were 65 and over, while 4% were 75 and over. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these patients and younger adult patients.

8.6Renal Impairment A study of the pharmacokinetics of glucarpidase in the absence of methotrexate in 4 subjects with severe renal impairment (CLcr <30 mL/min) showed that the mean pharmacokinetic parameters were similar to those observed in healthy subjects. On this basis, no dose adjustment of VORAXAZE is recommended for patients with renal impairment [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )].

🤰 Pregnancy 84 words

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary There are no available data on VORAXAZE use in pregnant women or animal reproduction studies to evaluate for a drug-associated risk of major birth defects, miscarriage or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes. VORAXAZE is administered in combination with methotrexate, which can cause embryo-fetal harm. Refer to methotrexate prescribing information for additional information.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.

🧒 Pediatric Use 173 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of VORAXAZE have been established in pediatric patients. Use of VORAXAZE for this indication is supported by evidence from a single-arm, open-label study in adult and pediatric patients 5 years of age and older with additional safety data in pediatric patients 1 to 17 years of age as described below. Of the 22 patients in the efficacy dataset in Study 1, 12 were pediatric patients with ages ranging from 5 years to 16 years.

Three of the 6 pediatric patients with a pre-VORAXAZE methotrexate concentration of 1 μmol/L to 50 μmol/L achieved a rapid and sustained clinically important reduction (RSCIR) in plasma methotrexate concentration, while none of the 6 pediatric patients with a pre-VORAXAZE methotrexate concentration >50 μmol/L achieved a RSCIR [see Clinical Studies ( 14 )] . One-hundred forty-seven pediatric patients from 1 month to 17 years received VORAXAZE in Study 1 and Study 2 [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )] . No overall differences in safety were observed between these patients and adult patients.

🧓 Geriatric Use 42 words

8.5Geriatric Use Of the total number of 290 patients in clinical studies of VORAXAZE, 15% were 65 and over, while 4% were 75 and over. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these patients and younger adult patients.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~2 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Glucarpidase is a recombinant bacterial enzyme that hydrolyzes the carboxyl- terminal glutamate residue from folic acid and classical antifolates such as methotrexate. Glucarpidase converts methotrexate to its inactive metabolites 4-deoxy-4-amino-N 10 - methylpteroic acid (DAMPA) and glutamate. VORAXAZE provides an alternate non-renal pathway for methotrexate elimination in patients with renal dysfunction during high-dose methotrexate treatment.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Following administration of VORAXAZE 50 Units/kg to patients in Study 1, methotrexate concentration measured by a chromatographic method was reduced by ≥ 97% within 15 minutes in all 22 treatment-evaluable patients and was maintained at a > 95% reduction up to 8 days in 20 of the 22 patients [see Clinical Studies ( 14 )] .

12.3Pharmacokinetics The pharmacokinetics of glucarpidase in the absence of methotrexate were studied in 8 healthy subjects following VORAXAZE 50 Units/kg administered as an intravenous injection over 5 minutes. Serum glucarpidase activity levels were measured by an enzymatic assay and serum total glucarpidase concentrations were measured by ELISA. The mean C max was 3.3 μg/mL and the mean area under the curve (AUC 0-INF ) was 23.3 μg·h/mL.

The pharmacokinetic parameters derived from the serum total glucarpidase concentrations were similar to those generated by serum glucarpidase activity levels except for elimination half-life as described below. Distribution The mean volume of distribution (V d ) was

3.6L. Elimination Serum glucarpidase activity levels declined with a mean elimination half-life (t 1/2 ) of 5.6 hours and serum total glucarpidase concentration declined with a mean elimination half-life of 9 hours. The mean systemic clearance (CL) was 7.5 mL/min.

Specific Populations Patients with Renal Impairment The pharmacokinetics of glucarpidase in the absence of methotrexate were studied in 4 subjects with severe renal impairment (CLcr <30 mL/min). Following a dose of VORAXAZE of 50 Units/kg, the mean pharmacokinetic parameters were similar to those observed in healthy subjects except for a longer half-life of 8.2 hours in subjects with severe renal impairment as compared to 5.6 hours in healthy subjects using an enzymatic assay to measure serum glucarpidase activity levels.

Drug Interaction Studies In patients with cancer receiving high-dose methotrexate (≥1 g/m 2 ) and leucovorin rescue, a VORAXAZE dose of 50 Units/kg administered intravenously 2 hours before leucovorin, reduced (6S)-leucovorin AUC 0-3h by 33% and C max by 52% and reduced its active metabolite (6S)-5-methyltetrahydrofolate AUC 0-3h by 92% and C max by 93% [see Drug Interactions ( 7.1 )] .

🧬 Mechanism of Action 59 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Glucarpidase is a recombinant bacterial enzyme that hydrolyzes the carboxyl- terminal glutamate residue from folic acid and classical antifolates such as methotrexate. Glucarpidase converts methotrexate to its inactive metabolites 4-deoxy-4-amino-N 10 - methylpteroic acid (DAMPA) and glutamate. VORAXAZE provides an alternate non-renal pathway for methotrexate elimination in patients with renal dysfunction during high-dose methotrexate treatment.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 72 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING VORAXAZE (glucarpidase) for injection is supplied as a sterile, preservative-free white lyophilized powder in an individually packaged glass single-dose vial closed with a bromo butyl elastomeric stopper and blue flip-off seal. 1,000 Units of glucarpidase per vial (1 vial per carton) NDC 50633-210-11 Store VORAXAZE refrigerated at 36°F to 46°F (2°C to 8°C). Do not freeze.

Do not use VORAXAZE after the expiration date on the vial.

📋 Description 86 words

11 DESCRIPTION Glucarpidase is a carboxypeptidase produced by recombinant DNA technology in genetically modified Escherichia coli. Glucarpidase is a 390-amino acid homodimer protein with a molecular weight of 83 kDa. Each potency Unit corresponds to the enzymatic cleavage of 1 µmol/L of methotrexate per minute at 37°C.

VORAXAZE (glucarpidase) for injection, for intravenous use is supplied as a sterile, preservative-free, white lyophilized powder in single-dose vials. Each vial contains 1,000 Units of glucarpidase, lactose monohydrate (10 mg), Tris-HCl (0.6 mg) and zinc acetate dihydrate (0.002 mg).

💬 Information for Patients 114 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Serious Hypersensitivity Reactions Inform patients that hypersensitivity reactions, including potentially serious reactions, may occur following a dose of VORAXAZE and to immediately report any signs and symptoms of infusion reactions [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Administration Inform patients of the importance of continued monitoring of plasma methotrexate concentration and renal function at the appropriate times after discharge from the hospital [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] .

Manufactured and distributed by: BTG International Inc. West Conshohocken, PA 19428 U.S. license 1861 VORAXAZE ® is a registered trademark of Protherics Medicines Development Ltd. BTG and the BTG roundel logo are registered trademarks of BTG International Ltd.

P21011D

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.