HomeNDC LookupIngredientsEmtricitabine › 61958-0601-01
Emtriva EMTRICITABINE 200 mg Capsule, 30-count — NDC 61958-0601-01 package photo

Emtriva EMTRICITABINE 200 mg Capsule, 30-count

by Gilead Sciences, Inc. · 30 CAPSULE in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (61958-0601-1)
NDC 61958-0601-01
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 61958-0601-1 billing pads the package segment with a zero
Rx only Brand On market Non-controlled ⚠ On shortage
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →
⚠️
Active FDA shortage. Emtricitabine Capsule is currently reported in shortage by the FDA. Shortage details →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 61958-0601-1
Product NDC 61958-0601
11-digit billing NDC 61958060101
NCPDP billing unit EA — each (per item)
UNII G70B4ETF4S
Application # NDA021500
SPL Set ID d6599395-3944-44f9-97f2-e0424c6b6a1f
Established class (EPC) Human Immunodeficiency Virus Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor
Mechanism of action Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors
Chemical class Nucleosides
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category NDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2003-07-02
Route ORAL
Dosage form CAPSULE
Substance EMTRICITABINE
GPI-14 12106030000120
GPI class Emtriva
GCN Seq No 052802
GCN 20019
HICL code 025426
Ingredient (HICL) Emtricitabine
HIC1 code W
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Anti-Infecting Agents
HIC2 code W5
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antiviral Agents
HIC3 code W5J
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Antivirals, Hiv-Specific, Nucleoside Analog, Rti
AHFS code 08:18.08.20
AHFS class Hiv Nucleoside, Nucleotide Rt Inhibitors
FDB label name EMTRIVA 200 MG CAPSULE
FDB brand name Emtriva
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AB · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 61958-0601-1 — a 5-4-1 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the package segment → 61958-0601-01. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Human Immunodeficiency Virus Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor class.

Pharmacologic class Human Immunodeficiency Virus Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor
Drug family (ATC) Nucleoside and nucleotide reverse transcriptase inhibitors
How it works Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerGilead Sciences, Inc.
Application holderGILEAD SCIENCES INC
FDA applicationNDA021500 (NDA)
Labeler code61958
First marketedJul 2003
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio42 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name EMTRIVA 200 MG CAPSULE Ingredient Emtricitabine
📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Emtricitabine is used to treat human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection. Emtricitabine is in a class of medications called nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NRTIs). It works by decreasing the amount of HIV in the blood. Although emtricitabine does not cure HIV, it may decrease your chance of developing acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) and HIV-related illnesses. Taking these medications and making other lifestyle changes may decrease the risk of giving the HIV virus to other people.

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Emtricitabine doesn't cure HIV, but it's an important part of keeping the virus under control. It works by blocking an enzyme HIV needs to make copies of itself. When it's used alo...
  • What exactly does emtricitabine do — does it cure HIV?
  • Please don't stop without talking to your doctor first. If you also have hepatitis B, stopping emtricitabine can trigger a sudden, severe flare of hepatitis B — sometimes serious e...
  • Can I stop taking emtricitabine if I feel fine or if I also have hepatitis B?
📖 Read our full Emtricitabine guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

💊 What it looks like

Color white / orange
ShapeCapsule
Imprint200mg;GILEAD
Size19 mm
ScoringNot scored
FlavorCotton Candy
One label can cover several strengths, so colors may be combined — always confirm a loose pill against the dispensed prescription label or a pharmacist.
Where does this data come from?
Physical description (imprint, shape, color, scoring, coating) from this product’s FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL), mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII 68401960MK
    Crospovidone is a synthetic polymer made from polyvinylpyrrolidone. It acts as a disintegrant, helping tablets break apart quickly in the stomach so the medicine dissolves and absorbs into the body.
  • UNII L06K8R7DQK
    A synthetic blue dye approved by the FDA for use in medications and foods. It serves as a colorant to make pills and liquids visually distinct and easier to identify.
  • UNII 2G86QN327L
    Gelatin is a protein derived from animal collagen, commonly used in medicines as a gelling agent and capsule material. It helps create soft or hard capsule shells that hold and release medication, and can also thicken liquid formulations.
  • UNII 70097M6I30
    Magnesium stearate is a salt made from magnesium and stearic acid, a fatty substance. It's used in tablets and capsules as a lubricant and glidant to help ingredients flow smoothly during manufacturing and prevent sticking.
  • UNII OP1R32D61U
    Microcrystalline cellulose is a purified form of cellulose, a natural fiber from plant sources. It acts as a binder and filler in tablets and capsules, helping hold ingredients together and give the medicine its shape and size.
  • UNII FZ989GH94E
    Povidone is a synthetic polymer made from a plastic-like material. It acts as a binder to hold tablet ingredients together and as a disintegrant to help the tablet break apart in your stomach so the medicine can be absorbed.
  • UNII 15FIX9V2JP
    Titanium dioxide is a bright white mineral powder commonly used as a colorant and opacifying agent. It makes pills and tablets white or lighter in color and helps make coatings non-transparent.
  • UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.

8 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eaPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly $17.446 $523.38 / 30 capsules
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $18.00 $540.02 / 30 capsules
Medicare drug plans payPart D · Q2 2026 $17.42 $522.63 / 30 capsules
NADAC price history (per ea) — tap or hover for the price & month
Mar 2021 Jan 2026 Apr 2026 Jul 2026 $17.446 $17.427
Flat over the last 9 months.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
emtricitabine 200 mg 69097-0642-02 Cipla 30 capsules $12.486 AB Availability likely save 28%
Emtriva 200 mgthis 61958-0601-01 Gilead 30 capsules $17.446 AB Availability likely
Emtricitabine 200 mg 65862-0301-05 Aurobindo 500 capsules FDA listed
About this product: this is the brand-name version. FDA-approved generic versions are listed, and recent pricing/market data suggests they may be available.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2003
On the market since
Jul 2003
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
23 years listed
🔓
·
Generic versions listed
see equivalents
Generic appears available

FDA-approved generic versions are listed, and recent pricing/market data suggests they may be available — see Therapeutic equivalents.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 61958-0601-01, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
218
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
6.2K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$112.4K
Avg / prescription
$515.66
Avg / unit
$18.0006
Latest quarter Q4 2025
61Rx
Medicaid pays / ea
$18.0006
gross reimbursed
vs
NADAC / ea
$17.4459
acquisition cost
=
Spread
+$0.5547
+3% vs cost
What Medicaid paid per ea (before rebates; includes the pharmacy’s dispensing fee) compared with NADAC — the average price pharmacies pay to buy the drug. A positive spread means Medicaid reimbursed more than the purchase price, before manufacturer rebates.
Fee-for-service vs managed care
90% FFS
Fee-for-service · 196 Rx Managed care · 22 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: no data reported MI New York: no data reported NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: no data reported IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: no data reported OH Pennsylvania: 330 units · 2.5 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: no data reported NJ Massachusetts: no data reported MA California: 5,469 units · 14.0 per 100k residents CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: no data reported MO Kentucky: 86 units · 1.9 per 100k residents KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: no data reported VA Maryland: no data reported MD Connecticut: no data reported CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: no data reported TN North Carolina: no data reported NC South Carolina: no data reported SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: no data reported LA Mississippi: no data reported MS Alabama: no data reported AL Georgia: 360 units · 3.3 per 100k residents GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: no data reported TX Florida: no data reported FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
1.914.0
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 California 14.0 /100k
2 Georgia 3.3 /100k
3 Pennsylvania 2.5 /100k
4 Kentucky 1.9 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

📊 Medicare Part D spend CMS · PART D · 2026 (Q1)

Medicare Part D (outpatient prescription) spending for Emtriva — the program that covers self-administered drugs. 1 manufacturer.
⚠️ Drug-level data: CMS publishes Part D spending by drug, not by NDC — these figures combine every manufacturer, strength and package size sold under the name Emtriva. That’s a different level of aggregation than the Medicaid card above, which is specific to this exact 11-digit NDC (pack size included), so the two aren’t directly comparable.
Period
Total Part D spend
$33.5K
Claims incl. refills
65
Beneficiaries
31
Spend / beneficiary
$1,080.71
Spend / claim
$515.42
Trend by period
💵 About the dollar figures: spending is what Part D plans paid before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower. A blank patient count means fewer than 11 people — CMS hides counts that small to protect privacy. Source: CMS Medicare Quarterly Part D Spending by Drug (data.cms.gov), updated quarterly.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
61958-0601-01 You're viewing this 30 CAPSULE in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC (61958-0601-1) 2003-07-02 Active

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning 141 words

WARNING: POSTTREATMENT ACUTE EXACERBATION OF HEPATITIS B Severe acute exacerbations of hepatitis B (HBV) have been reported in patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV and have discontinued EMTRIVA. Hepatic function should be monitored closely with both clinical and laboratory follow-up for at least several months in patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV and discontinue EMTRIVA. If appropriate, initiation of anti-hepatitis B therapy may be warranted [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ].

WARNING: POSTTREATMENT ACUTE EXACERBATION OF HEPATITIS B See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning . Severe acute exacerbations of Hepatitis B (HBV) have been reported in patients coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV who have discontinued EMTRIVA. Hepatic function should be monitored closely in patients coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV who discontinue EMTRIVA.

If appropriate, initiation of anti-hepatitis B therapy may be warranted. ( 5.1 )

🎯 Indications and Usage 45 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE EMTRIVA ® is indicated in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of HIV-1 infection. EMTRIVA, a nucleoside analog HIV-1 reverse transcriptase inhibitor, is indicated in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of HIV-1 infection. ( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Testing: Prior to or when initiating EMTRIVA test for hepatitis B virus infection. ( 2.1 ) EMTRIVA may be taken without regard to food. ( 2.2 ) Adult Patients (18 years of age and older) ( 2.3 ): EMTRIVA capsules: One 200 mg capsule administered once daily orally.

EMTRIVA oral solution: 240 mg (24 mL) administered once daily orally. Pediatric Patients (0–3 months of age) ( 2.4 ): EMTRIVA oral solution: 3 mg/kg administered once daily orally. Pediatric Patients (3 months through 17 years of age) ( 2.5 ): EMTRIVA capsules: For children weighing more than 33 kg who can swallow an intact capsule, one 200 mg capsule administered once daily orally.

EMTRIVA oral solution: 6 mg/kg up to a maximum of 240 mg (24 mL) administered once daily orally. Dose interval adjustment in adult patients with renal impairment ( 2.6 ): Creatinine Clearance (mL/min) Formulation ≥50 mL/min 30–49 mL/min 15–29 mL/min <15 mL/min or on hemodialysis Hemodialysis Patients: If dosing on day of dialysis, give dose after dialysis. Capsule (200 mg) 200 mg every 24 hours 200 mg every 48 hours 200 mg every 72 hours 200 mg every 96 hours Oral Solution (10 mg/mL) 240 mg every 24 hours (24 mL) 120 mg every 24 hours (12 mL) 80 mg every 24 hours (8 mL) 60 mg every 24 hours (6 mL)

2.1Testing Prior to Initiation of Treatment with EMTRIVA Prior to or when initiating EMTRIVA, test patients for hepatitis B virus infection [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ].

2.2Recommended Dosage EMTRIVA is taken by mouth once daily and may be taken without regard to food [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .

2.3Recommended Dosage in Adult Patients (18 years of age and older) EMTRIVA capsules: One 200 mg capsule administered once daily orally. EMTRIVA oral solution: 240 mg (24 mL) administered once daily orally.

2.4Recommended Dosage in Pediatric Patients (0–3 months of age) EMTRIVA oral solution: 3 mg per kg administered once daily orally.

2.5Recommended Dosage in Pediatric Patients (3 months through 17 years of age) EMTRIVA oral solution: 6 mg per kg up to a maximum of 240 mg (24 mL) administered once daily orally. EMTRIVA capsules: For pediatric patients weighing more than 33 kg who can swallow an intact capsule, one 200 mg capsule administered once daily orally.

2.6Dosage Adjustment in Patients with Renal Impairment Table 1 provides dosage interval adjustment for patients with renal impairment. No dosage adjustment is necessary for patients with mild renal impairment (creatinine clearance 50–80 mL/min). The safety and effectiveness of dose adjustment recommendations in patients with moderate to severe renal impairment (creatinine clearance below 50 mL/min) have not been clinically evaluated.

Therefore, clinical response to treatment and renal function should be closely monitored in these patients [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) , Use in Specific Populations (8.6) ] . Table 1 Dose Interval Adjustment for Adult Patients with Altered Creatinine Clearance Creatinine Clearance (mL/min) Formulation ≥50 mL/min 30–49 mL/min 15–29 mL/min <15 mL/min or on hemodialysis Hemodialysis Patients: If dosing on day of dialysis, give dose after dialysis. Capsule (200 mg) 200 mg every 24 hours 200 mg every 48 hours 200 mg every 72 hours 200 mg every 96 hours Oral Solution (10 mg/mL) 240 mg every 24 hours (24 mL) 120 mg every 24 hours (12 mL) 80 mg every 24 hours (8 mL) 60 mg every 24 hours (6 mL) There are insufficient data available to make dosage recommendations in pediatric patients with renal impairment.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 86 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS EMTRIVA is available as capsules or as an oral solution. 200 mg Capsules: 200 mg of emtricitabine (FTC): size 1 hard gelatin capsules with a blue cap and white body, printed with "200 mg" in black on the cap and with "GILEAD" and the corporate logo in black on the body. Oral solution: clear, orange to dark orange liquid containing 10 mg of FTC per mL. Capsules: 200 mg ( 3 ) Oral solution: 10 mg per mL ( 3 )

Contraindications 39 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS EMTRIVA is contraindicated in patients with previously demonstrated hypersensitivity to any of the components of the products. EMTRIVA is contraindicated in patients with previously demonstrated hypersensitivity to any of the components of the products. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~2 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Immune reconstitution syndrome: May necessitate further evaluation and treatment. ( 5.2 ) Lactic acidosis/severe hepatomegaly with steatosis: Discontinue treatment in patients who develop symptoms or laboratory findings suggestive of lactic acidosis or pronounced hepatotoxicity. ( 5.3 )

5.1Severe Acute Exacerbation of Hepatitis B in Patients Coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV All patients should be tested for the presence of chronic Hepatitis B virus (HBV) before or when initiating EMTRIVA [see Dosage and Administration (2.1) ] . Severe acute exacerbations of hepatitis B (e.g., liver decompensation and liver failure) have been reported in patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV and have discontinued EMTRIVA. Patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV who discontinue EMTRIVA should be closely monitored with both clinical and laboratory follow-up for at least several months after stopping treatment.

If appropriate, initiation of anti-hepatitis B therapy may be warranted, especially in patients with advanced liver disease or cirrhosis, since posttreatment exacerbation of hepatitis may lead to hepatic decompensation and liver failure.

5.2Immune Reconstitution Syndrome Immune reconstitution syndrome has been reported in patients treated with combination antiretroviral therapy, including EMTRIVA. During the initial phase of combination antiretroviral treatment, patients whose immune system responds may develop an inflammatory response to indolent or residual opportunistic infections (such as Mycobacterium avium infection, cytomegalovirus, Pneumocystis jirovecii pneumonia [PCP], or tuberculosis), which may necessitate further evaluation and treatment.

Autoimmune disorders (such as Graves' disease, polymyositis, and Guillain-Barré syndrome) have also been reported to occur in the setting of immune reconstitution; however, the time to onset is more variable, and can occur many months after initiation of treatment.

5.3Lactic Acidosis/Severe Hepatomegaly with Steatosis Lactic acidosis and severe hepatomegaly with steatosis, including fatal cases, have been reported with the use of nucleoside analogs, including FTC, alone or in combination with other antiretrovirals. Treatment with EMTRIVA should be suspended in any patient who develops clinical or laboratory findings suggestive of lactic acidosis or pronounced hepatotoxicity (which may include hepatomegaly and steatosis even in the absence of marked transaminase elevations).

5.4Dose Adjustment in Patients with New Onset or Worsening Renal Impairment Emtricitabine is principally eliminated by the kidney. Reduction of the dosage of EMTRIVA is recommended for patients with impaired renal function [see Dosage and Administration (2.6) , Use in Specific Populations (8.6) , and Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ].

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following adverse reactions are discussed in other sections of the labeling: Severe Acute Exacerbation of Hepatitis B in Patients Coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ]. Immune Reconstitution Syndrome [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ]. Lactic Acidosis/Severe Hepatomegaly with Steatosis [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ].

Most common adverse reactions (incidence ≥10%) are headache, diarrhea, nausea, fatigue, dizziness, depression, insomnia, abnormal dreams, rash, abdominal pain, asthenia, increased cough, and rhinitis. Skin hyperpigmentation was very common (≥10%) in pediatric patients. ( 6 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Gilead Sciences, Inc. at 1-800-GILEAD-5 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. Adverse Reactions from Clinical Trials Experience in Adults More than 2,000 adult subjects with HIV-1 infection have been treated with EMTRIVA alone or in combination with other antiretroviral agents for periods of 10 days to 200 weeks in clinical trials.

The most common adverse reactions (incidence greater than or equal to 10%, any severity) identified from any of the three large, controlled clinical trials include headache, diarrhea, nausea, fatigue, dizziness, depression, insomnia, abnormal dreams, rash, abdominal pain, asthenia, increased cough, and rhinitis. In Trials 301A and 303, the most common adverse reactions that occurred in subjects receiving EMTRIVA with other antiretroviral agents were headache, diarrhea, nausea, and rash, which were generally mild to moderate.

Approximately 1% of subjects discontinued participation in the clinical trials due to these events. All adverse reactions were reported with similar frequency in EMTRIVA and control treatment groups except for skin discoloration, which was reported with higher frequency in the EMTRIVA-treated group. Skin discoloration, manifested by hyperpigmentation on the palms or soles, was generally mild and asymptomatic.

The mechanism and clinical significance are unknown. A summary of EMTRIVA treatment-emergent clinical adverse reactions in Trials 301A and 303 is provided in Table 2. Table 2 Selected Treatment-Emergent Adverse Reactions (All Grades, Regardless of Causality) Reported in ≥3% of EMTRIVA-Treated Subjects in Either Trial 301A or 303 (0–48 Weeks) 303 301A EMTRIVA + AZT/d4T + NNRTI/PI (N=294) 3TC + AZT/d4T + NNRTI/PI (N=146) EMTRIVA + didanosine + EFV (N=286) d4T + didanosine + EFV (N=285) AZT=zidovudine; d4T=stavudine; NNRTI/PI=non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor/protease inhibitor; 3TC=lamivudine; EFV=efavirenz.

Body as a Whole Asthenia 16% 10% 12% 17% Headache 13% 6% 22% 25% Abdominal pain 8% 11% 14% 17% Digestive System Diarrhea 23% 18% 23% 32% Nausea 18% 12% 13% 23% Vomiting 9% 7% 9% 12% Dyspepsia 4% 5% 8% 12% Musculoskeletal Myalgia 4% 4% 6% 3% Arthralgia 3% 4% 5% 6% Nervous System Insomnia 7% 3% 16% 21% Depressive disorders 6% 10% 9% 13% Paresthesia 5% 7% 6% 12% Dizziness 4% 5% 25% 26% Neuropathy/peripheral neuritis 4% 3% 4% 13% Abnormal dreams 2% <1% 11% 19% Respiratory Rhinitis 18% 12% 12% 10% Increased cough 14% 11% 14% 8% Skin Rash event Rash event includes rash, pruritus, maculopapular rash, urticaria, vesiculobullous rash, pustular rash, and allergic reaction.

17% 14% 30% 33% Laboratory Abnormalities : Laboratory abnormalities in these trials occurred with similar frequency in the EMTRIVA and comparator groups. A summary of Grades 3−4 laboratory abnormalities is provided in Table 3. Table 3 Treatment-Emergent Grades 3–4 Laboratory Abnormalities Reported in ≥1% of EMTRIVA-Treated Subjects in Either Trial 301A or 303 303 301A EMTRIVA + AZT/d4T + NNRTI/PI (N=294) 3T…

🔄 Drug Interactions 50 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS The potential for drug interactions with EMTRIVA has been studied in combination with AZT, indinavir, d4T, famciclovir, and tenofovir DF (TDF). There were no clinically significant drug interactions for any of these drugs. Drug interactions trials are described elsewhere in the labeling [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ].

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Lactation: Breastfeeding is not recommended. ( 8.2 ) Pediatrics: Dose adjustment based on age and weight. ( 2.4 , 2.5 , 12.3 )

8.1Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to EMTRIVA during pregnancy. Healthcare providers are encouraged to register patients by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at 1-800-258-4263. Risk Summary Available data from the APR show no increase in the overall risk of major birth defects with first trimester exposure for emtricitabine (FTC) (2.3%) compared with the background rate for major birth defects of 2.7% in a U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) (see Data ) .

The rate of miscarriage for individual drugs is not reported in the APR. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 15–20%. In animal reproduction studies, no adverse developmental effects were observed when FTC was administered at exposures ≥60 times that of the recommended daily dose of EMTRIVA (see Data ) .

Data Human Data Based on prospective reports to the APR of exposures to FTC-containing regimens during pregnancy resulting in live births (including over 2,700 exposed in the first trimester and over 1,200 exposed in the second/third trimester), there was no increase between FTC and overall birth defects compared with the background birth defect rate of 2.7% in a U.S. reference population of the MACDP. The prevalence of birth defects in live births was 2.4% (95% CI: 1.9% to 3.1%) with first trimester exposure to FTC-containing regimens and 2.3% (95% CI: 1.5% to 3.3%) with the second/third trimester exposure to FTC-containing regimens.

Prospective reports from the APR of overall major birth defects in pregnancies exposed to FTC are compared with a U.S. background major birth defect rate. Methodologic limitations of the APR include the use of MACDP as the external comparator group. Limitations of using an external comparator include differences in methodology and populations, as well as confounding due to the underlying disease.

Additionally, published observational studies on FTC exposure in pregnancy have not shown an increased risk for major malformations. Animal Data FTC was administered orally to pregnant mice (at 0, 250, 500, or 1,000 mg/kg/day), and rabbits (at 0, 100, 300, or 1,000 mg/kg/day) through organogenesis (on gestation days 6 through 15, and 7 through 19, respectively). No significant toxicological effects were observed in embryo-fetal toxicity studies performed with FTC in mice at exposures (AUC) approximately 60 times higher and in rabbits at approximately 120 times higher than human exposures at the recommended daily dose.

In a pre/postnatal development study in mice, FTC was administered orally at doses up to 1,000 mg/kg/day; no significant adverse effects directly related to drug were observed in the offspring exposed daily from before birth (in utero) through sexual maturity at daily exposures (AUC) of approximately 60 times higher than human exposures at the recommended daily dose.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommend that HIV-1 infected mothers not breastfeed their infants to avoid risking postnatal transmission of HIV-1. Based on published data, FTC has been shown to be present in human breast milk. It is not known if FTC affects milk production or has effects on the breastfed child.

Because of the potential for: (1) HIV transmission (in HIV-negative infants); (2) developing viral resistance (in HIV-positive infants); and (3) adverse reactions in a breastfed infant similar to those seen in adults, instruct mothers not to breastfeed if they are taking EMTRIVA.

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and efficacy of FTC in patients between 3 months and 21 years of age is supported by data from three open-label, nonrandomiz…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to EMTRIVA during pregnancy. Healthcare providers are encouraged to register patients by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at 1-800-258-4263. Risk Summary Available data from the APR show no increase in the overall risk of major birth defects with first trimester exposure for emtricitabine (FTC) (2.3%) compared with the background rate for major birth defects of 2.7% in a U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) (see Data ) .

The rate of miscarriage for individual drugs is not reported in the APR. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 15–20%. In animal reproduction studies, no adverse developmental effects were observed when FTC was administered at exposures ≥60 times that of the recommended daily dose of EMTRIVA (see Data ) .

Data Human Data Based on prospective reports to the APR of exposures to FTC-containing regimens during pregnancy resulting in live births (including over 2,700 exposed in the first trimester and over 1,200 exposed in the second/third trimester), there was no increase between FTC and overall birth defects compared with the background birth defect rate of 2.7% in a U.S. reference population of the MACDP. The prevalence of birth defects in live births was 2.4% (95% CI: 1.9% to 3.1%) with first trimester exposure to FTC-containing regimens and 2.3% (95% CI: 1.5% to 3.3%) with the second/third trimester exposure to FTC-containing regimens.

Prospective reports from the APR of overall major birth defects in pregnancies exposed to FTC are compared with a U.S. background major birth defect rate. Methodologic limitations of the APR include the use of MACDP as the external comparator group. Limitations of using an external comparator include differences in methodology and populations, as well as confounding due to the underlying disease.

Additionally, published observational studies on FTC exposure in pregnancy have not shown an increased risk for major malformations. Animal Data FTC was administered orally to pregnant mice (at 0, 250, 500, or 1,000 mg/kg/day), and rabbits (at 0, 100, 300, or 1,000 mg/kg/day) through organogenesis (on gestation days 6 through 15, and 7 through 19, respectively). No significant toxicological effects were observed in embryo-fetal toxicity studies performed with FTC in mice at exposures (AUC) approximately 60 times higher and in rabbits at approximately 120 times higher than human exposures at the recommended daily dose.

In a pre/postnatal development study in mice, FTC was administered orally at doses up to 1,000 mg/kg/day; no significant adverse effects directly related to drug were observed in the offspring exposed daily from before birth (in utero) through sexual maturity at daily exposures (AUC) of approximately 60 times higher than human exposures at the recommended daily dose.

🧒 Pediatric Use 108 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and efficacy of FTC in patients between 3 months and 21 years of age is supported by data from three open-label, nonrandomized clinical trials in which FTC was administered to 169 HIV-1 infected treatment-naïve and experienced (defined as virologically suppressed on a 3TC containing regimen for which FTC was substituted for 3TC) subjects [see Clinical Studies (14.4) ] . The pharmacokinetics of FTC were studied in 20 neonates born to HIV-1 positive mothers [see Clinical Studies (14.4) ] .

All neonates were HIV-1 negative at the end of the trial; the efficacy of FTC in preventing or treating HIV-1 could not be determined.

🧓 Geriatric Use 61 words

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical trials of EMTRIVA did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 years and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects. In general, dose selection for the elderly patient should be cautious, keeping in mind the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy .

🆘 Overdosage 68 words

10 OVERDOSAGE If overdose occurs, the patient should be monitored for evidence of toxicity, and standard supportive treatment applied as necessary. Hemodialysis treatment removes approximately 30% of the FTC dose over a 3-hour dialysis period starting within 1.5 hours of FTC dosing (blood flow rate of 400 mL/min and a dialysate flow rate of 600 mL/min). It is not known whether FTC can be removed by peritoneal dialysis.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Emtricitabine is an antiretroviral drug [see Microbiology (12.4) ].

12.3Pharmacokinetics Adults The pharmacokinetic properties of FTC were evaluated in healthy subjects and HIV-1-infected subjects. Emtricitabine pharmacokinetics are similar between these populations. Figure 1 shows the mean steady-state plasma FTC concentration-time profile in 20 HIV-1-infected subjects receiving EMTRIVA capsules.

Figure 1 Mean (± 95% CI) Steady-State Plasma FTC Concentrations in HIV-1 Infected Adults (N=20) Figure 1 Absorption Emtricitabine is rapidly and extensively absorbed following oral administration, with peak plasma concentrations occurring at 1–2 hours postdose. Following multiple dose oral administration of EMTRIVA capsules to 20 HIV-1 infected subjects, the (mean ± SD) steady-state plasma FTC peak concentration (C max ) was 1.8 ± 0.7 µg/mL and the area-under the plasma concentration-time curve over a 24-hour dosing interval (AUC) was 10.0 ± 3.1 µg ∙ hr/mL.

The mean steady-state plasma trough concentration at 24 hours postdose was 0.09 µg/mL. The mean absolute bioavailability of EMTRIVA capsules was 93%, while the mean absolute bioavailability of EMTRIVA oral solution was 75%. The relative bioavailability of EMTRIVA oral solution was approximately 80% of EMTRIVA capsules.

The multiple dose pharmacokinetics of FTC are dose proportional over a dose range of 25–200 mg. Distribution In vitro binding of FTC to human plasma proteins was less than 4% and independent of concentration over the range of 0.02–200 µg/mL. At peak plasma concentration, the mean plasma to blood drug concentration ratio was ~1.0 and the mean semen to plasma drug concentration ratio was ~4.0.

Metabolism Following administration of radiolabelled FTC, complete recovery of the dose was achieved in urine (~86%) and feces (~14%). Thirteen percent (13%) of the dose was recovered in urine as three putative metabolites. The biotransformation of FTC includes oxidation of the thiol moiety to form the 3'-sulfoxide diastereomers (~9% of dose) and conjugation with glucuronic acid to form 2'-O-glucuronide (~4% of dose).

No other metabolites were identifiable. Elimination The plasma FTC half-life is approximately 10 hours. The renal clearance of FTC is greater than the estimated creatinine clearance, suggesting elimination by both glomerular filtration and active tubular secretion.

There may be competition for elimination with other compounds that are also renally eliminated. Effects of Food on Oral Absorption EMTRIVA capsules and oral solution may be taken with or without food. Emtricitabine systemic exposure (AUC) was unaffected while C max decreased by 29% when EMTRIVA capsules were administered with food (an approximately 1000 kcal high-fat meal).

Emtricitabine systemic exposure (AUC) and C max were unaffected when 200 mg EMTRIVA oral solution was administered with either a high-fat or low-fat meal. Specific Populations Geriatric Patients The pharmacokinetics of FTC have not been fully evaluated in the elderly (65 years of age and older). Pediatric Patients The pharmacokinetics of FTC at steady state were determined in 77 HIV-1 infected pediatric subjects, and the pharmacokinetic profile was characterized in four age groups (Table 6).

The FTC exposure achieved in pediatric subjects receiving a daily dose of 6 mg/kg up to a maximum of 240 mg oral solution or a 200-mg capsule is similar to exposures achieved in adult subjects receiving a once-daily dose of 200 mg. The pharmacokinetics of FTC were studied in 20 neonates born to HIV-1 positive mothers. Each mother received prenatal and intrapartum combination antiretroviral therapy.

Neonates received up to 6 weeks of AZT prophylactically after birth. The neonates were administered two short courses of FTC oral solution (each 3 mg/kg once daily × 4 days) during the first 3 months of life. The AUC observed in neonates who received a daily dose of 3 mg/kg of FTC was similar to the AUC…

🧬 Mechanism of Action 13 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Emtricitabine is an antiretroviral drug [see Microbiology (12.4) ].

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 172 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING EMTRIVA capsules are available in bottles containing 30 capsules with child-resistant closure as follows: 200 mg of FTC capsules are size 1 hard gelatin capsules with a blue cap and white body and printed with "200 mg" in black on the cap and with "GILEAD" and the corporate logo in black on the body (NDC 61958–0601–1). Store EMTRIVA capsules at 25 °C (77 °F); excursions permitted to 15–30 °C (59–86 °F). Dispense only in original container.

Keep container tightly closed. EMTRIVA oral solution is a clear, orange to dark orange liquid containing 10 mg/mL of FTC and is available in unit of use plastic, amber bottles containing 170 mL of oral solution closed with a child resistant closure, and packaged with a marked dosing cup (NDC 61958–0602–1). Store EMTRIVA oral solution refrigerated at 2–8 °C (36–46 °F).

EMTRIVA oral solution should be used within 3 months if stored by the patient at 25 °C (77 °F); excursions permitted to 15–30 °C (59–86 °F). Keep container tightly closed.

📦 Storage and Handling 40 words

Store EMTRIVA oral solution refrigerated at 2–8 °C (36–46 °F). EMTRIVA oral solution should be used within 3 months if stored by the patient at 25 °C (77 °F); excursions permitted to 15–30 °C (59–86 °F). Keep container tightly closed.

📋 Description ~1 min read

11 DESCRIPTION EMTRIVA is the brand name of emtricitabine (FTC), a synthetic nucleoside analog with activity against human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV-1) reverse transcriptase. The chemical name of FTC is 5-fluoro-1-(2 R ,5 S )-[2-(hydroxymethyl)-1,3-oxathiolan-5-yl]cytosine. Emtricitabine is the (-) enantiomer of a thio analog of cytidine, which differs from other cytidine analogs in that it has a fluorine in the 5-position.

It has a molecular formula of C 8 H 10 FN 3 O 3 S and a molecular weight of 247.24. It has the following structural formula: Emtricitabine is a white to off-white powder with a solubility of approximately 112 mg/mL in water at 25 °C. The partition coefficient (log P) for FTC is −0.43 and the pKa is 2.65.

EMTRIVA is available as capsules or as an oral solution. EMTRIVA capsules are for oral administration. Each capsule contains 200 mg of FTC and the inactive ingredients crospovidone, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, povidone, titanium dioxide, gelatin, and FD&C blue No.

2. EMTRIVA oral solution is for oral administration. One milliliter (1 mL) of EMTRIVA oral solution contains 10 mg of FTC in an aqueous solution with the following inactive ingredients: cotton candy flavor, FD&C yellow No.

6, edetate disodium, methylparaben and propylparaben (added as preservatives), sodium phosphate (monobasic), propylene glycol, water, and xylitol (added as a sweetener). Sodium hydroxide and hydrochloric acid may be used to adjust pH. Chemical Structure

💬 Information for Patients ~1 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information) . Severe Acute Exacerbation of Hepatitis B in Patients Coinfected with HIV-1 and HBV Inform patients that severe acute exacerbations of hepatitis B have been reported in patients who are coinfected with HIV-1 and hepatitis B virus (HBV) who have discontinued EMTRIVA. Advise patients not to discontinue EMTRIVA without first informing their healthcare provider.

All patients should be tested for HBV infection before or when starting EMTRIVA and those who are infected with HBV need close medical follow-up for several months after stopping EMTRIVA to monitor for exacerbations of hepatitis [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ]. Immune Reconstitution Syndrome Inform patients that in some patients with advanced HIV infection (AIDS), signs and symptoms of inflammation from previous infections may occur soon after anti-HIV treatment is started. It is believed that these symptoms are due to an improvement in the body's immune response, enabling the body to fight infections that may have been present with no obvious symptoms.

Advise patients to inform their healthcare provider immediately of any symptoms of infection [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ]. Lactic Acidosis and Severe Hepatomegaly Inform patients that lactic acidosis and severe hepatomegaly with steatosis, including fatal cases, have been reported. Treatment with EMTRIVA should be suspended in any patient who develops clinical symptoms suggestive of lactic acidosis or pronounced hepatotoxicity [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ].

Pregnancy Registry Inform patients that there is an antiretroviral pregnancy registry to monitor fetal outcomes of pregnant women exposed to EMTRIVA [see Use in Specific Populations (8.1) ]. Lactation Instruct mothers not to breastfeed if they are taking EMTRIVA because of the risk of passing the HIV-1 virus to the baby [see Use in Specific Populations (8.2) ] .

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.