Izba Generic: When Will Generic Travoprost Be Available?
This page is aggregated from FDA records, court filings and company announcements. Coded and designed by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS
Updated October 9, 2026 How we build our data
Izba Generic at a Glance
Four quick answers from FDA records and our estimate.
- When is the first generic expected? During 2026 Sometime that year Why then?
- Has the FDA approved a generic? March 2013 7 companies approved
- When does the last patent end? October 2029 4 patents listed with the FDA Why is a generic expected sooner?
- Can you buy a generic today? Yes 5 companies list one
It already is. A generic travoprost is listed for sale by 5 companies, so ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with one.
Why 2026?
The brand company and a generic maker settled their patent fight and agreed on when a generic can launch. We rate it probable: more likely than not, but it can still move.
If Izba’s last patent runs to October 2029, how can a generic come sooner?
The 4 patents that run past the expected month, to October 2029 (9,144,561, 8,754,123, 8,178,582 and 8,722,735), cover the product’s formulation. A patent like that protects one way of making or using the medicine, not the medicine itself. A generic company can often make its version a different way or leave that use off its label, or a court can rule the patent invalid or not infringed. Here, a settlement between the companies sets the date. Generic companies have been challenging Izba’s patents with the FDA since December 2015. That is why the expected month comes before the last protection ends. See the road to a generic
What should I do now?
Ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with a generic. It may look different from Izba, but the active ingredient, strength and form are the same. What a generic means for you
Our month is only an estimate based on available information, so we never name a day.
Izba by the Numbers
- Reason
- Settlement between companiesThe brand company and a generic maker settled their patent fight and agreed on when a generic can launch.
- How sure
- Probable More likely than not, but it can still move.
- Price competition
- Moderate 2 companies have filed, 1 first in line
- Brand sales
- Sales not reported
- FDA approved 2014 May 2014 FDA Orange Book
- Patents listed 4 last runs to October 2029 FDA Orange Book
- Generics FDA-approved 7 companies, the first approved March 2013 FDA Orange Book
Izba’s Road to a Generic
Izba has had the market to itself since the FDA approved it in May 2014 (Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp). Its 4 listed patents run to October 2029. Generic companies have challenged its patents with the FDA since December 2015.
The first generic of Izba is expected sometime in 2026.
Why that month: the brand company and a generic maker settled their patent fight and agreed on when a generic can launch.
Why a Generic Can Come Before October 2029
The last listed patent runs to October 2029, but it covers the product’s formulation, not the medicine itself, which a generic can often work around or challenge. Dr. Brian explains
Each bar runs from the brand’s approval to the day that protection ends. The green band is our projection for the first generic: a month, never a day, because legal dates move and a generic reaches shelves days to weeks after it is allowed. Sources: FDA Orange Book; the expected month from court records and company announcements.
Izba Patents and FDA Protections
Every patent and exclusivity the FDA Orange Book lists for Izba’s own applications. A protection running past the expected month does not mean the date is wrong: a settlement or a court ruling can let a generic in before a patent ends, and a patent on one formulation or use does not block every generic.
| Patent | What it covers | Protects until | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9,144,561 | The product’s formulation | March 2029 | Active |
| 8,754,123 | The product’s formulation | May 2029 | Active |
| 8,178,582 | The product’s formulation | October 2029 | Active |
| 8,722,735 | The product’s formulation | October 2029 | Active |
Source: FDA Orange Book, application 204822. Patent numbers open the patent on Google Patents.
Patent Challenges to Izba
The first patent challenge to Izba reached the FDA in December 2015, from one company on that first day. The FDA has not approved a first challenger’s generic yet.
What Is a Patent Challenge?
A generic company that wants to sell its version before Izba’s patents run out can tell the FDA that a patent is invalid, or that its version does not infringe it. The FDA calls this a “Paragraph IV certification.” The brand company usually sues, and the FDA then generally cannot approve that generic for up to 30 months while the case runs. To reward going first, the companies that challenge first can get a 180-day head start: the FDA cannot approve the generics that came after them until it ends.
| Product | First challenged | Companies that day | 180-day head start | First challenger’s generic | Challenged patents run to | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Approved | On sale | |||||
| Ophthalmic solution, 0.003% | December 2015 | 1 company | Head start no longer applies decided August 2020 | Not yet | Not yet | October 2029 |
Source: the FDA’s Paragraph IV Patent Certifications list, as of September 2026. The FDA began posting the 180-day decisions and the first challenger’s approval and first sale in June 2019: an older entry it has not updated since reads “Not posted”, and “Not yet” means the list records no such event. “Companies that day” is the FDA’s count of challenges that arrived on the first day.
Who Is Lined Up to Make Generic Travoprost
Three steps stand between a brand and a generic you can buy: a company applies to the FDA, the FDA approves it, and the company starts selling it.
Applied to the FDA
At least 8 companies have applied to the FDA to make generic travoprost.
The FDA has tentatively approved one company’s generic: Par Pharm (August 2011). A tentative approval means the generic is ready, but a patent or exclusivity still stops the FDA from giving it final approval.
First in line. One of them was first in line: the first company to challenge the brand’s patents can earn 180 days on the market before the other generics, which is why being first matters.
Generic companies have challenged Izba’s patents with the FDA since December 2015: see the patent challenges.
Approved by the FDA
The FDA has approved generic versions from 7 companies, the first in March 2013. Approved is not the same as on sale: patents, a settlement or the company’s own plans can still hold a launch.
For Sale in Pharmacies
Yes. A generic travoprost is listed for sale by 5 companies. Ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with it.
Apotex Corp., Bryant Ranch Prepack, Golden State Medical Supply, Inc., Sagent Pharmaceuticals and Sandoz Inc
| Company | First approved | Strengths | Rated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chartwell Rx Sciences LLC | March 2013 | 0.004% | – |
| Apotex Inc | July 2015 | 0.004% | AT2 |
| Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc | July 2017 | 0.004% | AT2 |
| Alembic Pharmaceuticals Ltd | December 2019 | 0.004% | AT2 |
| Micro Labs Ltd | March 2021 | 0.004% | AT2 |
| Gland Pharma Ltd | July 2024 | 0.004% | AT2 |
| Somerset Therapeutics LLC | September 2024 | 0.004% | AT2 |
| Lupin Ltd discontinued | May 2024 | 0.004% | – |
Sources: how many companies have applied, from court records and company announcements; approved generics from the FDA Orange Book; tentative approvals from Drugs@FDA; what is for sale from the FDA NDC Directory. The FDA does not disclose an application before it approves it (21 CFR 314.430).
Izba Price: What Pharmacies Pay and What Generics Usually Do
What a Generic Could Cost
How we estimate it. The national survey of what pharmacies pay (NADAC) has no recent price for Izba, so we cannot show dollars. Here is the FDA’s finding of how far the price pharmacies pay usually falls as generic companies join: about 31% with one company, 44% with two, 73% with four and over 95% with six or more (the typical drop for every drug whose first generic came out from 2015 to 2017).
Median prices pharmacies paid for the generic (invoice prices), compared with the brand’s price before generic entry, from FDA’s 2019 analysis “Generic Competition and Drug Prices”. At the manufacturer’s price FDA found steeper drops (about 39%, 54%, 79% and over 95%), the figures quoted elsewhere on this tracker. A typical pattern, not a price quote for this medicine.
Izba Strengths and Forms
| Strength | Form | How it is taken | Approved | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0.003% **Federal Register determination that product was not discontinued or withdrawn for safety or effectiveness reasons** | Solution/drops | Ophthalmic | May 2014 | Discontinued reference product |
Source: FDA Orange Book, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp.
What a Generic Izba Means for You
Nothing Changes Until It Is in Pharmacies
A generic is listed for sale now, so your pharmacy may already be able to fill your prescription with it.
Your Pharmacy May Switch You Automatically
Every state lets pharmacists fill a brand-name prescription with an FDA-approved generic rated as equivalent to it, and about 19 states require them to, unless your prescriber writes “dispense as written” or “brand medically necessary” on the prescription. Some states ask the pharmacist to tell you, or to get your OK first. A study of every state’s law has the details.
It Will Probably Look Different
US trademark law does not let a generic look exactly like the brand, so the color, shape or markings usually change. The active ingredient, strength and form are the same. An “authorized generic,” made by or for the brand’s own company, can look identical. The FDA explains.
Your Insurance May Change Too
Once a lower-cost version is available, many insurance plans charge more for the brand, or stop covering it. Your plan’s drug list (formulary) says how.
Questions people ask about Izba
Is there a generic for Izba right now?
Yes. The FDA NDC Directory lists a generic travoprost from 5 companies. Ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with it.
When will Izba go generic?
It already has. The FDA NDC Directory lists a generic travoprost from 5 companies, so ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with one.
Will generic travoprost be the same as Izba?
Yes in the ways that matter: the same active ingredient, strength and form, with proof that it reaches your blood the same way. Inactive ingredients can differ, which is why some people notice a different look or taste.
How much will the generic cost?
Nobody can say for sure before launch. At least 8 companies have applied to the FDA to make it. In the FDA’s study of past launches, pharmacies paid over 95% less once six or more companies sold a generic. That is a pattern from past launches, not a prediction for this one.
Has the FDA approved a generic Izba?
Yes. The FDA Orange Book lists approved generic versions from 7 companies, the first approved in March 2013: Chartwell Rx Sciences LLC, Apotex Inc, Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc, Alembic Pharmaceuticals Ltd and 3 more. Approved is not the same as on sale: patents, a settlement or the company’s own plans can still hold a launch.
When does the Izba patent expire?
The FDA Orange Book lists 4 patents for Izba; the last runs to October 2029. A patent date is not the launch date: settlements and court rulings often bring a generic earlier, and FDA approval or a company’s own plans can make it later. The expected window on this page (Sometime in 2026) weighs all of that.
Has anyone challenged the Izba patents?
Yes. The first patent challenge to Izba reached the FDA in December 2015, from one company on that first day. The FDA has not approved a first challenger’s generic yet. A patent challenge (a “Paragraph IV certification”) is a generic company telling the FDA that a patent listed for the brand is invalid or will not be infringed by its version. The first companies to file one can earn a 180-day head start, during which the FDA cannot approve the generics that filed after them.
Changes to This Projection
- First generic expected Sometime in 2026 on this month’s schedule. A line is added here whenever a monthly update moves the month, the reason or how sure it is.
Every change to the expected month is logged here with the month we saw it.
Also Going Generic
- TrintellixVortioxetine HydrobromideDecember 2026
- QbrexzaGlycopyrronium TosylateAugust 2030
- ZepatierElbasvir and GrazoprevirMay 2031
- CalquenceAcalabrutinib2033 to 2034
- LupkynisVoclosporin2033 to 2034
- GelniqueOxybutynin ChlorideTBD no date yet
About Izba
- Generic name travoprost
- How it is taken In the eye
- Company Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp
- Patent challenges Since December 2015 (FDA)
- More drugs Brand-name drugs starting with I
- Have a question? A pharmacist answers, free. Ask about Izba
Sources. The expected month: FDA Paragraph IV Patent Certifications list, federal court records, company announcements and securities filings (settlement dates, launch plans, sales). The record on this page: FDA Orange Book, Drugs@FDA (tentative approvals), FDA NDC Directory, FDA Paragraph IV Patent Certifications list, FDA, Generic Competition and Drug Prices (2019). Updated October 9, 2026. Information, not medical advice.