Kynmobi Generic: When Will Generic Apomorphine Be Available?
This page is aggregated from FDA records, court filings and company announcements. Coded and designed by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS
Updated October 9, 2026 How we build our data
Kynmobi Generic at a Glance
Four quick answers from FDA records and our estimate.
- When is the first generic expected? April 2036 About 9.5 years away Why then?
- Has the FDA approved a generic? Not yet None in the FDA’s records yet Why not yet?
- When does the last patent end? April 2036 12 patents listed with the FDA
- Can you buy a generic today? Not yet No company lists one for sale
Generic apomorphine hydrochloride is expected to be available in April 2036, about 9.5 years away. None is for sale yet.
Why April 2036?
It is when Kynmobi’s patents 10,449,146 and 10,959,943 end. They cover a way of using it, and once they end, generics can go on sale as soon as the FDA approves them. We rate it toss-up: still unsettled. Just as likely to slip as to hold.
Why hasn’t the FDA approved a generic yet?
That is normal before a launch. The FDA usually can’t give a generic its final approval while a patent or exclusivity still blocks it, so final approval often comes close to the day the generic can be sold. No company holds a “tentative” approval yet either (the FDA’s word for a generic that is ready but still blocked).
Will the generic cost less?
Usually, but no company is recorded as having applied to make one yet, and a single company usually brings only a modest drop. See the price pattern
What should I do now?
Keep taking Kynmobi as prescribed. When a generic arrives, your pharmacy may switch you to it automatically, and it may look different. What a generic means for you
Our month is only an estimate based on available information, so we never name a day.
Kynmobi by the Numbers
- Reason
- Patent expiresA patent that protects the brand runs out. After that, approved generics can be sold.
- How sure
- Toss-up Still unsettled. Just as likely to slip as to hold.
- Price competition
- None filed yet No filers on record
- Brand sales
- Sales not reported
- FDA approved 2020 May 2020 FDA Orange Book
- Patents listed 12 last runs to April 2036 FDA Orange Book
Kynmobi’s Road to a Generic
Kynmobi has had the market to itself since the FDA approved it in May 2020 (Sumitomo Pharma America Inc). Its 12 listed patents run to April 2036.
The first generic of Kynmobi is expected in April 2036.
Why that month: patents 10,449,146 and 10,959,943, on a way of using it, end then.
Each bar runs from the brand’s approval to the day that protection ends. The green band is our projection for the first generic: a month, never a day, because legal dates move and a generic reaches shelves days to weeks after it is allowed. Sources: FDA Orange Book; the expected month from court records and company announcements.
Kynmobi Patents and FDA Protections
Every patent and exclusivity the FDA Orange Book lists for Kynmobi’s own applications. A protection running past the expected month does not mean the date is wrong: a settlement or a court ruling can let a generic in before a patent ends, and a patent on one formulation or use does not block every generic.
The one that matters for a generic launch: patents 10,449,146 and 10,959,943, which end in April 2036, the month the first generic is expected.
| Patent | What it covers | Protects until | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10,821,074 | The product’s formulation | August 2029 | Active |
| 9,044,475 | The product’s formulation | June 2030 | Active |
| 9,283,219 | The product’s formulation; a way of using it (U-2825) | June 2030 | Active |
| 9,326,981 | A way of using it (U-2825) | June 2030 | Active |
| 9,669,019 | The product’s formulation; a way of using it (U-2825) | June 2030 | Active |
| 9,669,021 | A way of using it (U-2825) | June 2030 | Active |
| 10,420,763 | The product’s formulation; a way of using it (U-2825) | June 2030 | Active |
| 8,414,922 | The product’s formulation; a way of using it (U-2825) | December 2031 | Active |
| 8,846,074 | The product’s formulation; a way of using it (U-2825) | December 2031 | Active |
| 11,419,769 | The product’s formulation; a way of using it (U-2825) | December 2031 | Active |
| 10,449,146 Sets the expected month of generic availability | A way of using it (U-2825) | April 2036 | Active |
| 10,959,943 Sets the expected month of generic availability | A way of using it (U-2825) | April 2036 | Active |
Source: FDA Orange Book, application 210875. Patent numbers open the patent on Google Patents.
Who Is Lined Up to Make Generic Apomorphine Hydrochloride
Three steps stand between a brand and a generic you can buy: a company applies to the FDA, the FDA approves it, and the company starts selling it.
Applied to the FDA
No company is recorded as having applied to the FDA to make a generic Kynmobi yet.
Approved by the FDA
Not yet. The FDA has not approved a generic apomorphine hydrochloride. Final approval often comes close to the day a generic can be sold.
For Sale in Pharmacies
Not yet. No company lists a generic apomorphine hydrochloride for sale with the FDA.
Sources: how many companies have applied, from court records and company announcements; approved generics from the FDA Orange Book; tentative approvals from Drugs@FDA; what is for sale from the FDA NDC Directory. The FDA does not disclose an application before it approves it (21 CFR 314.430).
Kynmobi Price: What Pharmacies Pay and What Generics Usually Do
What a Generic Could Cost
How we estimate it. The national survey of what pharmacies pay (NADAC) has no recent price for Kynmobi, so we cannot show dollars. Here is the FDA’s finding of how far the price pharmacies pay usually falls as generic companies join: about 31% with one company, 44% with two, 73% with four and over 95% with six or more (the typical drop for every drug whose first generic came out from 2015 to 2017).
Median prices pharmacies paid for the generic (invoice prices), compared with the brand’s price before generic entry, from FDA’s 2019 analysis “Generic Competition and Drug Prices”. At the manufacturer’s price FDA found steeper drops (about 39%, 54%, 79% and over 95%), the figures quoted elsewhere on this tracker. A typical pattern, not a price quote for this medicine.
Kynmobi Strengths and Forms
| Strength | Form | How it is taken | Approved | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10MG | Film | Sublingual | May 2020 | Discontinued reference product |
| 15MG | Film | Sublingual | May 2020 | Discontinued reference product |
| 20MG | Film | Sublingual | May 2020 | Discontinued reference product |
| 25MG | Film | Sublingual | May 2020 | Discontinued reference product |
| 30MG | Film | Sublingual | May 2020 | Discontinued reference product |
Source: FDA Orange Book, Sumitomo Pharma America Inc. Listed for sale today by Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. (FDA NDC Directory).
Kynmobi NDC Codes and Packages
Each Kynmobi package sold today has its own NDC, the product number printed on the box and on the pharmacy label. Open one to see that package’s details, what pharmacies pay for it and its patent timeline.
| NDC | Product | Package | Company |
|---|---|---|---|
| 63402-0010-30 | 10 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0110-30 | 10 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0015-30 | 15 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0115-30 | 15 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0020-30 | 20 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0120-30 | 20 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0025-30 | 25 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0125-30 | 25 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
Show the other 4 Kynmobi packages
| NDC | Product | Package | Company |
|---|---|---|---|
| 63402-0030-30 | 30 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0130-30 | 30 mg film, soluble | carton of 30 pouches of 1 film | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0088-10 | kit | 1 KIT in 1 CARTON * 2 POUCH in 1 CARTON / 1 FILM, SOLUBLE in 1 POUCH * 2 POUCH in 1 CARTON / 1 FILM, SOLUBLE in 1 POUCH * 2 POUCH in 1 CARTON / 1 FILM, SOLU | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
| 63402-0188-10 | kit | 1 KIT in 1 CARTON * 1 FILM, SOLUBLE in 1 POUCH * 1 FILM, SOLUBLE in 1 POUCH * 1 FILM, SOLUBLE in 1 POUCH * 1 FILM, SOLUBLE in 1 POUCH * 1 FILM, SOLUBLE in 1 POUCH (63402- | Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc. |
Source: the FDA NDC Directory, current listings only. Only packages sold under Kynmobi’s own FDA approval (NDA 210875) are listed, never a generic. Some codes belong to companies that repackage Kynmobi: it is the same medicine in a different package.
What a Generic Kynmobi Means for You
Nothing Changes Until It Is in Pharmacies
Until a generic is actually for sale, keep filling Kynmobi as usual. When one arrives, there is nothing you need to sign up for.
Your Pharmacy May Switch You Automatically
Every state lets pharmacists fill a brand-name prescription with an FDA-approved generic rated as equivalent to it, and about 19 states require them to, unless your prescriber writes “dispense as written” or “brand medically necessary” on the prescription. Some states ask the pharmacist to tell you, or to get your OK first. A study of every state’s law has the details.
It Will Probably Look Different
US trademark law does not let a generic look exactly like the brand, so the color, shape or markings usually change. The active ingredient, strength and form are the same. An “authorized generic,” made by or for the brand’s own company, can look identical. The FDA explains.
Your Insurance May Change Too
Once a lower-cost version is available, many insurance plans charge more for the brand, or stop covering it. Your plan’s drug list (formulary) says how.
Until a generic is on US pharmacy shelves, be careful with websites that offer “generic Kynmobi”. The FDA warns that unlicensed online pharmacies sell counterfeit and unapproved medicines; its BeSafeRx page shows how to check a pharmacy.
Questions people ask about Kynmobi
Is there a generic for Kynmobi right now?
No. As of October 9, 2026 no generic apomorphine hydrochloride is listed for sale in the FDA NDC Directory.
When will Kynmobi go generic?
April 2036 is the expected month, and that is toss-up but not certain. It is when Kynmobi’s patents 10,449,146 and 10,959,943 end. They cover a way of using it, and once they end, generics can go on sale as soon as the FDA approves them.
Will generic apomorphine hydrochloride be the same as Kynmobi?
Yes in the ways that matter: the same active ingredient, strength and form, with proof that it reaches your blood the same way. Inactive ingredients can differ, which is why some people notice a different look or taste.
How much will the generic cost?
Nobody can say for sure before launch. No company is recorded as having applied to the FDA to make one yet, and a single company usually brings only a modest drop.
Has the FDA approved a generic Kynmobi?
Not yet. The FDA Orange Book lists no approved generic version of Kynmobi.
When does the Kynmobi patent expire?
The FDA Orange Book lists 12 patents for Kynmobi; the last runs to April 2036. The one behind the expected month is patents 10,449,146 and 10,959,943, which end in April 2036. A patent date is not the launch date: settlements and court rulings often bring a generic earlier, and FDA approval or a company’s own plans can make it later. The expected month on this page (April 2036) weighs all of that.
Changes to This Projection
- First generic expected April 2036 on this month’s schedule. A line is added here whenever a monthly update moves the month, the reason or how sure it is.
Every change to the expected month is logged here with the month we saw it.
Also Going Generic
- NevanacNepafenacJanuary 2027
- VeltassaPatiromer Sorbitex Calcium2030 to 2031
- RozlytrekEntrectinibFebruary 2035
- Adhansia XRMethylphenidate HydrochlorideOctober 2035
- ImkeldiImatinib MesylateApril 2040
- DayvigoLemborexantJune 2040
About Kynmobi
- Generic name apomorphine hydrochloride
- How it is taken By mouth
- Company Sumitomo Pharma America Inc
- Hard to copy Inhalers, injectables, patches and other hard-to-copy products. Fewer companies attempt them and dates slip more often.
- More drugs Brand-name drugs starting with K
- Have a question? A pharmacist answers, free. Ask about Kynmobi
Sources. The expected month: FDA Paragraph IV Patent Certifications list, federal court records, company announcements and securities filings (settlement dates, launch plans, sales). The record on this page: FDA Orange Book, Drugs@FDA (tentative approvals), FDA NDC Directory, FDA, Generic Competition and Drug Prices (2019). Updated October 9, 2026. Information, not medical advice.