MorphaBond ER Generic: When Will Generic Morphine Be Available?
This page is aggregated from FDA records, court filings and company announcements. Coded and designed by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS
Updated October 9, 2026 How we build our data
MorphaBond ER Generic at a Glance
Four quick answers from FDA records and our estimate.
- When is the first generic expected? TBD no date yet What opens the door is not settled yet
- Has the FDA approved a generic? July 1998 6 companies approved
- When does the last patent end? August 2028 2 patents listed with the FDA
- Can you buy a generic today? Yes 18 companies list one
It already is. A generic morphine sulfate is listed for sale by 18 companies, so ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with one.
What should I do now?
Ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with a generic. It may look different from MorphaBond ER, but the active ingredient, strength and form are the same. What a generic means for you
Our month is only an estimate based on available information, so we never name a day.
MorphaBond ER by the Numbers
- Reason
- Settlement between companiesThe brand company and a generic maker settled their patent fight and agreed on when a generic can launch.
- How sure
- Not rated Too early to rate.
- Price competition
- Low 1 company has filed, 1 first in line
- Brand sales
- Sales not reported
- FDA approved 2015 October 2015 FDA Orange Book
- Patents listed 2 last runs to August 2028 FDA Orange Book
- Generics FDA-approved 6 companies, the first approved July 1998 FDA Orange Book
MorphaBond ER’s Road to a Generic
MorphaBond ER has had the market to itself since the FDA approved it in October 2015 (Ohemo Life Sciences Inc). Its 2 listed patents run to August 2028. Generic companies have challenged its patents with the FDA since January 2019.
The brand company and a generic maker settled their patent fight and agreed on when a generic can launch.
Each bar runs from the brand’s approval to the day that protection ends. The green band is our projection for the first generic: a month, never a day, because legal dates move and a generic reaches shelves days to weeks after it is allowed. Sources: FDA Orange Book; the expected month from court records and company announcements.
MorphaBond ER Patents and FDA Protections
Every patent and exclusivity the FDA Orange Book lists for MorphaBond ER’s own applications. A protection running past the expected month does not mean the date is wrong: a settlement or a court ruling can let a generic in before a patent ends, and a patent on one formulation or use does not block every generic.
| Patent | What it covers | Protects until | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7,955,619 | The product’s formulation | August 2028 | Active |
| 10,314,788 | The product’s formulation | August 2028 | Active |
Source: FDA Orange Book, application 206544. Patent numbers open the patent on Google Patents.
Patent Challenges to MorphaBond ER
The first patent challenge to MorphaBond ER reached the FDA in January 2019, from one company on that first day.
What Is a Patent Challenge?
A generic company that wants to sell its version before MorphaBond ER’s patents run out can tell the FDA that a patent is invalid, or that its version does not infringe it. The FDA calls this a “Paragraph IV certification.” The brand company usually sues, and the FDA then generally cannot approve that generic for up to 30 months while the case runs. To reward going first, the companies that challenge first can get a 180-day head start: the FDA cannot approve the generics that came after them until it ends.
| Product | First challenged | Companies that day | 180-day head start | First challenger’s generic | Challenged patents run to | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Approved | On sale | |||||
| Extended-release tablets, 15 mg, 30 mg, 60 mg and 100 mg | January 2019 | 1 company | Not posted | Not posted | Not posted | August 2028 |
Source: the FDA’s Paragraph IV Patent Certifications list, as of September 2026. The FDA began posting the 180-day decisions and the first challenger’s approval and first sale in June 2019: an older entry it has not updated since reads “Not posted”, and “Not yet” means the list records no such event. “Companies that day” is the FDA’s count of challenges that arrived on the first day.
Who Is Lined Up to Make Generic Morphine Sulfate
Three steps stand between a brand and a generic you can buy: a company applies to the FDA, the FDA approves it, and the company starts selling it.
Applied to the FDA
At least 6 companies have applied to the FDA to make generic morphine sulfate.
First in line. One of them was first in line: the first company to challenge the brand’s patents can earn 180 days on the market before the other generics, which is why being first matters.
Generic companies have challenged MorphaBond ER’s patents with the FDA since January 2019: see the patent challenges.
Approved by the FDA
The FDA has approved generic versions from 6 companies, the first in July 1998. Approved is not the same as on sale: patents, a settlement or the company’s own plans can still hold a launch.
For Sale in Pharmacies
Yes. A generic morphine sulfate is listed for sale by 18 companies. Ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with it.
Actavis Pharma, Inc., American Health Packaging, Amneal Pharmaceuticals of New York LLC, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Lupin Pharmaceuticals,Inc., Major Pharmaceuticals and 12 more
| Company | First approved | Strengths | Rated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rhodes Pharmaceuticals LP | July 1998 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG, 200MG | AB |
| Dava Pharmaceuticals Inc | January 2000 | 15MG | AB |
| Specgx LLC | July 2003 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG, 200MG | AB |
| Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd | May 2012 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG, 200MG | AB |
| Actavis Elizabeth LLC An Indirect Wholly Owned Sub Of Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc | January 2013 | 15MG, 30MG, 45MG, 60MG, 75MG, 90MG, 100MG, 120MG, 200MG | – |
| Upsher Smith Laboratories LLC | June 2013 | 10MG, 20MG, 30MG, 50MG, 60MG, 80MG, 100MG | – |
| Strides Pharma International AG discontinued | October 1998 | 15MG, 20MG, 30MG, 50MG, 60MG, 80MG, 100MG, 200MG | – |
| Watson Laboratories Inc discontinued | January 2001 | 100MG | – |
| Nesher Pharmaceuticals USA LLC discontinued | May 2004 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG, 200MG | – |
| Rising Pharma Holdings Inc discontinued | October 2011 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG, 200MG | – |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals USA discontinued | December 2014 | 20MG, 30MG, 40MG, 50MG, 60MG, 70MG, 80MG, 100MG | – |
| Novel Laboratories Inc discontinued | December 2015 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG, 200MG | – |
| Impax Laboratories Inc discontinued | April 2016 | 20MG, 30MG, 40MG, 50MG, 60MG, 80MG, 100MG | – |
| Epic Pharma LLC discontinued | June 2016 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG, 200MG | – |
| Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Inc discontinued | August 2016 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG, 200MG | – |
| Dr Reddys Laboratories SA discontinued | October 2016 | 15MG, 30MG, 60MG, 100MG | – |
| Anda Repository LLC discontinued | August 2021 | 20MG, 30MG, 50MG, 60MG, 80MG, 100MG | – |
Sources: how many companies have applied, from court records and company announcements; approved generics from the FDA Orange Book; tentative approvals from Drugs@FDA; what is for sale from the FDA NDC Directory. The FDA does not disclose an application before it approves it (21 CFR 314.430).
MorphaBond ER Price: What Pharmacies Pay and What Generics Usually Do
What a Generic Could Cost
How we estimate it. The national survey of what pharmacies pay (NADAC) has no recent price for MorphaBond ER, so we cannot show dollars. Here is the FDA’s finding of how far the price pharmacies pay usually falls as generic companies join: about 31% with one company, 44% with two, 73% with four and over 95% with six or more (the typical drop for every drug whose first generic came out from 2015 to 2017).
Median prices pharmacies paid for the generic (invoice prices), compared with the brand’s price before generic entry, from FDA’s 2019 analysis “Generic Competition and Drug Prices”. At the manufacturer’s price FDA found steeper drops (about 39%, 54%, 79% and over 95%), the figures quoted elsewhere on this tracker. A typical pattern, not a price quote for this medicine.
MorphaBond ER Strengths and Forms
| Strength | Form | How it is taken | Approved | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100MG | Tablet, extended release | Oral | October 2015 | Discontinued reference product |
| 15MG | Tablet, extended release | Oral | October 2015 | Discontinued reference product |
| 30MG | Tablet, extended release | Oral | October 2015 | Discontinued reference product |
| 60MG | Tablet, extended release | Oral | October 2015 | Discontinued reference product |
Source: FDA Orange Book, Ohemo Life Sciences Inc.
What a Generic MorphaBond ER Means for You
Nothing Changes Until It Is in Pharmacies
A generic is listed for sale now, so your pharmacy may already be able to fill your prescription with it.
Your Pharmacy May Switch You Automatically
Every state lets pharmacists fill a brand-name prescription with an FDA-approved generic rated as equivalent to it, and about 19 states require them to, unless your prescriber writes “dispense as written” or “brand medically necessary” on the prescription. Some states ask the pharmacist to tell you, or to get your OK first. A study of every state’s law has the details.
It Will Probably Look Different
US trademark law does not let a generic look exactly like the brand, so the color, shape or markings usually change. The active ingredient, strength and form are the same. An “authorized generic,” made by or for the brand’s own company, can look identical. The FDA explains.
Your Insurance May Change Too
Once a lower-cost version is available, many insurance plans charge more for the brand, or stop covering it. Your plan’s drug list (formulary) says how.
Questions people ask about MorphaBond ER
Is there a generic for MorphaBond ER right now?
Yes. The FDA NDC Directory lists a generic morphine sulfate from 18 companies. Ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with it.
When will MorphaBond ER go generic?
It already has. The FDA NDC Directory lists a generic morphine sulfate from 18 companies, so ask your pharmacy whether it can fill your prescription with one.
Will generic morphine sulfate be the same as MorphaBond ER?
Yes in the ways that matter: the same active ingredient, strength and form, with proof that it reaches your blood the same way. Inactive ingredients can differ, which is why some people notice a different look or taste.
How much will the generic cost?
Nobody can say for sure before launch. At least 6 companies have applied to the FDA to make it. In the FDA’s study of past launches, pharmacies paid over 95% less once six or more companies sold a generic. That is a pattern from past launches, not a prediction for this one.
Has the FDA approved a generic MorphaBond ER?
Yes. The FDA Orange Book lists approved generic versions from 6 companies, the first approved in July 1998: Rhodes Pharmaceuticals LP, Dava Pharmaceuticals Inc, Specgx LLC, Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd and 2 more. Approved is not the same as on sale: patents, a settlement or the company’s own plans can still hold a launch.
When does the MorphaBond ER patent expire?
The FDA Orange Book lists 2 patents for MorphaBond ER; the last runs to August 2028. A patent date is not the launch date: settlements and court rulings often bring a generic earlier, and FDA approval or a company’s own plans can make it later. The expected window on this page (a date that is not known yet) weighs all of that.
Has anyone challenged the MorphaBond ER patents?
Yes. The first patent challenge to MorphaBond ER reached the FDA in January 2019, from one company on that first day. A patent challenge (a “Paragraph IV certification”) is a generic company telling the FDA that a patent listed for the brand is invalid or will not be infringed by its version. The first companies to file one can earn a 180-day head start, during which the FDA cannot approve the generics that filed after them.
Changes to This Projection
- First generic expected a date that is not known yet on this month’s schedule. A line is added here whenever a monthly update moves the month, the reason or how sure it is.
Every change to the expected month is logged here with the month we saw it.
Also Going Generic
- XaciatoClindamycin PhosphateDecember 2029
- OrkambiIvacaftor and LumacaftorJune 2031
- KerendiaFinerenoneAugust 2033
- Avmapki Fakzynja Co-PackAvutometinib and Defactinib2038 to 2039
- EpinephrineEpinephrineMarch 2039
- SuprenzaPhentermine HydrochlorideTBD no date yet
About MorphaBond ER
- Generic name morphine sulfate
- How it is taken By mouth
- Company Ohemo Life Sciences Inc
- Hard to copy Inhalers, injectables, patches and other hard-to-copy products. Fewer companies attempt them and dates slip more often.
- Patent challenges Since January 2019 (FDA)
- More drugs Brand-name drugs starting with M
- Have a question? A pharmacist answers, free. Ask about MorphaBond ER
Sources. The expected month: FDA Paragraph IV Patent Certifications list, federal court records, company announcements and securities filings (settlement dates, launch plans, sales). The record on this page: FDA Orange Book, Drugs@FDA (tentative approvals), FDA NDC Directory, FDA Paragraph IV Patent Certifications list, FDA, Generic Competition and Drug Prices (2019). Updated October 9, 2026. Information, not medical advice.