Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Inactive Ingredients by Manufacturer
Wondering whether your Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We read 5 Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine FDA labels from 5 companies.
Answers from the FDA labels
Ask About the Inactive Ingredients in Your Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
Check your bottle
Look Up Your Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine by NDC, Company or Strength
Pick your bottle and tap what you want to check. The answer comes from that product's own FDA label, which is already on this page.
1 Which bottle do you have?
Or tap your way to it: the form, then the strength, then the company.
2 What do you want to check?
Nothing tapped? We check the five big ones.
- Listed on the labelthe company names it.
- Not listedthe label does not name it.
- Source unclearthe label names a starch or maltodextrin without saying what plant it came from.
- Still being readwe have not finished this label yet.
Pick your bottle to read its label, or tap an ingredient to see which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products leave it out.
At a glance
Which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Products List Lactose, a Gluten Source, Soy, Dyes or Gelatin?
-
LactoseDiffers by manufacturer
1 of 5 checked products list lactose; 4 do not. See which products do not list it
-
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine product lists a wheat or gluten source.
2 of the 5 that do not list it list maltodextrin or starch without a stated source, which the label does not trace, so the answer for those is "source unclear", not "no".
-
SoyNo checked product
No checked Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesDiffers by manufacturer
4 of 5 checked products list synthetic dyes; 1 does not. See which products do not list it
-
GelatinDiffers by manufacturer
4 of 5 checked products list gelatin; 1 does not. See which products do not list it
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 2 of 5 Corn 4 of 5 Titanium dioxide 1 of 5 Carmine or shellac 4 of 5 Alcohol 3 of 5 Propylene glycol 4 of 5
2 products list starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every Current Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Product and What Its Label Lists
Fastest way: search by NDC. It is printed on your bottle's pharmacy label. If it is not, call your pharmacy: they have it on record.
An NDC (National Drug Code) is the FDA's number for one exact product from one company in one package size, written like 60505-0121-01: the first part is the company, the middle the product and strength, the last the package size. Codes that differ only in the last part are the same product in different pack sizes and share one label, so any of them finds the right product here. Two bottles of the same medicine from different companies can have different inactive ingredients, which is why the pharmacy needs the number, not just the name.
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule 4 companies Corn-derived 4 Synthetic dyes 4 Gelatin 4 Carmine or shellac 4 Alcohol (ethanol) 3 Propylene glycol 4 Starch, source not stated 2 Lactose 1 Titanium dioxide 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| Chartwell RXNDC 62135-0433-90 | Corn-derived Synthetic dyes Gelatin Carmine or shellac Alcohol (ethanol) Propylene glycol |
Show 19 ingredientsALCOHOL, ALUMINUM OXIDE, BUTYL ALCOHOL, D&C YELLOW NO. 10, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C BLUE NO. 2, FD&C GREEN NO. 3, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, METHYL ALCOHOL, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TRIMYRISTIN |
| LannettNDC 00527-1552-01 | Corn-derived Synthetic dyes Gelatin Carmine or shellac Alcohol (ethanol) Propylene glycol |
Show 19 ingredientsALCOHOL, ALUMINUM OXIDE, BUTYL ALCOHOL, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, D&C YELLOW NO. 10, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C BLUE NO. 2, FD&C GREEN NO. 3, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, METHYL ALCOHOL, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TRIMYRISTIN |
| SandozNDC 00781-2270-01 | Starch, source not stated Corn-derived Synthetic dyes Gelatin Carmine or shellac Alcohol (ethanol) Propylene glycol |
Show 18 ingredientsALCOHOL, BUTYL ALCOHOL, D&C YELLOW NO. 10, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C BLUE NO. 2, FD&C GREEN NO. 3, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, METHYL ALCOHOL, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE B, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TRIMYRISTIN |
| WestminsterNDC 69367-0416-01 | Lactose Starch, source not stated Corn-derived Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol |
Show 14 ingredientsD&C YELLOW NO. 10 ALUMINUM LAKE, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C BLUE NO. 2, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERRIC OXIDE YELLOW, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule 1 company none of the tracked ingredients
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| Lgm Pharma SolutionsNDC 79739-7192-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 79739-7192-05 | None of these listed |
Show 4 ingredientsMICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, STEARIC ACID, TALC |
A product with none of these on its label may still contain them. The label shows only what the company listed, and it often does not say where a starch or a flavor comes from. Some companies here repackage or sell another company's product under their own name. Tap an NDC to open that product's page with its full label.
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Without Lactose
Lactose: milk sugar; a concern with lactose intolerance or a milk allergy. 1 of 5 checked products list lactose; 4 do not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list lactose and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Lactose
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett, Sandoz
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Lactose
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Without Synthetic Dyes
Synthetic dyes: FD&C or D&C colorants and their aluminum lakes. 4 of 5 checked products list synthetic dyes; 1 does not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list synthetic dyes and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Synthetic Dyes
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Synthetic Dyes
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett, Sandoz, Westminster
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Without Gelatin
Gelatin: animal-derived (usually bovine or porcine); a concern for vegetarian, kosher or halal needs. 4 of 5 checked products list gelatin; 1 does not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list gelatin and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Gelatin
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Gelatin
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett, Sandoz, Westminster
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Products With Starch of Unstated Source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 2 of 5 checked products list starch of unstated source; 3 do not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list starch of unstated source and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Starch of Unstated Source
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Starch of Unstated Source
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Sandoz, Westminster
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Without Corn-Derived Ingredients
Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. 4 of 5 checked products list corn-derived ingredients; 1 does not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list corn-derived ingredients and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Corn-Derived Ingredients
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Corn-Derived Ingredients
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett, Sandoz, Westminster
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Without Titanium Dioxide
Titanium dioxide: A white colorant some people choose to avoid. 1 of 5 checked products list titanium dioxide; 4 do not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list titanium dioxide and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Titanium Dioxide
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett, Sandoz
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Titanium Dioxide
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Without Carmine or Shellac
Carmine or shellac: insect-derived red colorant or coating glaze. 4 of 5 checked products list carmine or shellac; 1 does not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list carmine or shellac and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Carmine or Shellac
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Carmine or Shellac
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett, Sandoz, Westminster
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Without Alcohol (Ethanol)
Alcohol (ethanol): mostly in liquids; a concern in alcohol recovery, for children, or with disulfiram or metronidazole. 3 of 5 checked products list alcohol (ethanol); 2 do not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list alcohol (ethanol) and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Alcohol (Ethanol)
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Westminster
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Alcohol (Ethanol)
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett, Sandoz
Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Without Propylene Glycol
Propylene glycol: A solvent in liquids and capsules; a concern in kidney disease, for infants, and at high doses. 4 of 5 checked products list propylene glycol; 1 does not.
Show which Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products list propylene glycol and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Propylene Glycol
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 500 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Lgm Pharma Solutions
Lists Propylene Glycol
- BUTALBITAL 50 mg/1; ASPIRIN 325 mg/1; CAFFEINE 40 mg capsule: Chartwell RX, Lannett, Sandoz, Westminster
At the pharmacy counter
How to Get the Version You Want at the Pharmacy
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common Questions About Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine Inactive Ingredients
Is Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine gluten-free?
Does Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine contain lactose?
Does Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine?
Does Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
What can a label not tell me?
Who decides what counts as a gluten source, a dye or soy on this page?
The NDC on my bottle ends differently from the one on this page. Is it the same product?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Aspirin, Butalbital, and Caffeine guide