Inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Benztropine inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Wondering whether your Benztropine has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Benztropine product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.

We have read the FDA labels of 56 of the 56 current Benztropine products on the market today, from 23 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.

Ask about your bottle

Is there something in your Benztropine? Ask in plain words.

Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.

Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.

Check your bottle

Let's take a closer look at your Benztropine.

Pick your bottle and tap what you want to check. The answer comes from that product's own FDA label, which is already on this page.

1 Which bottle do you have?

Or tap your way to it: the form, then the strength, then the company.

Form

2 What do you want to check?

Nothing tapped? We check the five big ones.

Benztropine Your bottle Pick a product and this label fills in.

Pick your bottle to read its label, or tap an ingredient to see which Benztropine products leave it out.

At a glance

Which Benztropine products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?

  1. LactoseDiffers by manufacturer

    39 of 56 checked products list lactose; 17 do not. See which products do not list it

  2. Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product

    No checked Benztropine product lists a wheat or gluten source.

  3. SoyNo checked product

    No checked Benztropine product lists soy.

  4. Synthetic dyesDiffers by manufacturer

    5 of 56 checked products list synthetic dyes; 51 do not. See which products do not list it

  5. GelatinNo checked product

    No checked Benztropine product lists gelatin.

Also listed by some products: Corn 23 of 56 Tartrazine 5 of 56

Find a version without it

Every current Benztropine product and what its label lists

Fastest way: search by NDC. It is printed on your bottle's pharmacy label. If it is not, call your pharmacy: they have it on record.

Hide products that list:

Benztropine 0.5 mg tablet 15 companies Lactose 11 Corn-derived 7 Synthetic dyes 2 Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5) 2
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
American Health PackagingNDC 68084-0381-01 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE

Bryant Ranch PrepackNDC 72162-2594-00 Other pack sizes, same label: 72162-2594-01, 72162-2594-02 Corn-derived
Show 3 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, CORN

Chartwell RXNDC 62135-0141-18 Other pack sizes, same label: 62135-0141-57 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, CORN

CiplaNDC 69097-0826-02 Other pack sizes, same label: 69097-0826-07, 69097-0826-15 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO

CouplerNDC 67046-1205-03 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

CouplerNDC 67046-1674-03 Lactose Synthetic dyes Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)
Show 6 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C RED NO. 40 ALUMINUM LAKE, FD&C YELLOW NO. 5 ALUMINUM LAKE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED

EndoNDC 00603-2433-10 Other pack sizes, same label: 00603-2433-21, 00603-2433-32 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

LeadingNDC 69315-0136-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 69315-0136-10 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CORN OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

MajorNDC 00904-7288-61 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE

MarlexNDC 10135-0813-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 10135-0813-10 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba VangardNDC 00615-8222-39 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

QuagenNDC 70752-0123-10 Other pack sizes, same label: 70752-0123-11 Corn-derived
Show 3 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, PREGELATINIZED CORN

RemedyrepackNDC 70518-2732-00 Other pack sizes, same label: 70518-2732-02, 70518-2732-04, 70518-2732-05 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CORN OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

ScieGenNDC 50228-0225-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 50228-0225-10 Lactose Synthetic dyes Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)
Show 6 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C RED NO. 40 ALUMINUM LAKE, FD&C YELLOW NO. 5 ALUMINUM LAKE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED

SunriseNDC 11534-0167-09 Other pack sizes, same label: 11534-0167-10 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

Benztropine 1 mg tablet 19 companies Lactose 15 Corn-derived 9 Synthetic dyes 1 Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5) 1
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
A-S Medication SolutionsNDC 50090-7017-00 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE

American Health PackagingNDC 68084-0388-01 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE

Aphena Pharma Solutions - TennesseeNDC 71610-0502-53 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CORN OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

Bryant Ranch PrepackNDC 72162-2595-00 Other pack sizes, same label: 72162-2595-01, 72162-2595-02 Corn-derived
Show 3 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, CORN

Chartwell RXNDC 62135-0144-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 62135-0144-10, 62135-0144-18, 62135-0144-30, 62135-0144-57 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, CORN

CiplaNDC 69097-0827-02 Other pack sizes, same label: 69097-0827-07, 69097-0827-15 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO

CouplerNDC 67046-0041-03 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

EndoNDC 00603-2434-10 Other pack sizes, same label: 00603-2434-21, 00603-2434-32 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

LeadingNDC 69315-0137-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 69315-0137-10 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CORN OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

MajorNDC 00904-7289-61 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE

MarlexNDC 10135-0814-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 10135-0814-10 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba VangardNDC 00615-8223-39 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

Proficient RxNDC 63187-0840-03 Other pack sizes, same label: 63187-0840-30, 63187-0840-60, 63187-0840-90 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CORN OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

QuagenNDC 70752-0124-10 Other pack sizes, same label: 70752-0124-11 Corn-derived
Show 3 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, PREGELATINIZED CORN

RemedyrepackNDC 70518-0132-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 70518-0132-02 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

RemedyrepackNDC 70518-0577-00 Other pack sizes, same label: 70518-0577-02, 70518-0577-03, 70518-0577-05 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CORN OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

ScieGenNDC 50228-0226-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 50228-0226-10 Lactose Synthetic dyes Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)
Show 6 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C RED NO. 40 ALUMINUM LAKE, FD&C YELLOW NO. 5 ALUMINUM LAKE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED

SunriseNDC 11534-0168-09 Other pack sizes, same label: 11534-0168-10 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

Unit Dose SolutionsNDC 87441-0012-01 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

Benztropine 2 mg tablet 17 companies Lactose 13 Corn-derived 7 Synthetic dyes 2 Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5) 2
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
American Health PackagingNDC 68084-0389-01 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE

Bryant Ranch PrepackNDC 72162-1154-01 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE

Bryant Ranch PrepackNDC 72162-2596-00 Other pack sizes, same label: 72162-2596-01, 72162-2596-02 Corn-derived
Show 3 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, CORN

Chartwell RXNDC 62135-0142-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 62135-0142-10, 62135-0142-18, 62135-0142-30, 62135-0142-57 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, CORN

CiplaNDC 69097-0832-02 Other pack sizes, same label: 69097-0832-07, 69097-0832-15 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO

CouplerNDC 67046-0040-03 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

CouplerNDC 67046-1675-03 Lactose Synthetic dyes Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)
Show 6 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C RED NO. 40 ALUMINUM LAKE, FD&C YELLOW NO. 5 ALUMINUM LAKE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED

Direct RxNDC 61919-0128-30 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

EndoNDC 00603-2435-10 Other pack sizes, same label: 00603-2435-21, 00603-2435-32 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

LeadingNDC 69315-0138-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 69315-0138-10 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CORN OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

MajorNDC 00904-7290-61 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE

MarlexNDC 10135-0815-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 10135-0815-10 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba VangardNDC 00615-8478-39 Lactose
Show 5 ingredients

CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, DIHYDRATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE

QuagenNDC 70752-0125-10 Other pack sizes, same label: 70752-0125-11 Corn-derived
Show 3 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, STARCH, PREGELATINIZED CORN

RemedyrepackNDC 70518-2677-00 Other pack sizes, same label: 70518-2677-01, 70518-2677-02, 70518-2677-04 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

ANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CORN OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

ScieGenNDC 50228-0227-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 50228-0227-10 Lactose Synthetic dyes Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)
Show 6 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C RED NO. 40 ALUMINUM LAKE, FD&C YELLOW NO. 5 ALUMINUM LAKE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED

SunriseNDC 11534-0169-09 Other pack sizes, same label: 11534-0169-10 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

Benztropine 1 mg/mL injection 5 companies none of the tracked ingredients
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
Fresenius KabiNDC 63323-0970-02 None of these listed
Show 2 ingredients

SODIUM CHLORIDE, WATER

HikmaNDC 00143-9233-05 None of these listed
Show 2 ingredients

SODIUM CHLORIDE, WATER

HikmaNDC 00143-9729-05 None of these listed
Show 2 ingredients

SODIUM CHLORIDE, WATER

NavintaNDC 68475-0512-02 None of these listed
Show 2 ingredients

SODIUM CHLORIDE, WATER

ZydusNDC 68382-0860-10 None of these listed
Show 2 ingredients

SODIUM CHLORIDE, WATER

A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.

Benztropine without lactose

Lactose: milk sugar; a concern with lactose intolerance or a milk allergy. 39 of 56 checked products list lactose; 17 do not.

Show which Benztropine products list lactose and which do not, by product and company

Does not list lactose

Lists lactose

  • 0.5 mg tablet: American Health Packaging, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Coupler, Endo, Leading, Major, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Remedyrepack, ScieGen
  • 1 mg tablet: A-S Medication Solutions, American Health Packaging, Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Endo, Leading, Major, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Proficient Rx, Remedyrepack, Remedyrepack, ScieGen, Unit Dose Solutions
  • 2 mg tablet: American Health Packaging, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Coupler, Direct Rx, Endo, Leading, Major, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Remedyrepack, ScieGen

Benztropine without synthetic dyes

Synthetic dyes: FD&C or D&C colorants and their aluminum lakes. 5 of 56 checked products list synthetic dyes; 51 do not.

Show which Benztropine products list synthetic dyes and which do not, by product and company

Does not list synthetic dyes

  • 0.5 mg tablet: American Health Packaging, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Endo, Leading, Major, Marlex, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Sunrise
  • 1 mg tablet: A-S Medication Solutions, American Health Packaging, Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Endo, Leading, Major, Marlex, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Proficient Rx, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Remedyrepack, Sunrise, Unit Dose Solutions
  • 2 mg tablet: American Health Packaging, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Direct Rx, Endo, Leading, Major, Marlex, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Sunrise
  • 1 mg/mL injection: Fresenius Kabi, Hikma, Hikma, Navinta, Zydus

Lists synthetic dyes

Benztropine without corn-derived ingredients

Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. 23 of 56 checked products list corn-derived ingredients; 33 do not.

Show which Benztropine products list corn-derived ingredients and which do not, by product and company

Does not list corn-derived ingredients

  • 0.5 mg tablet: American Health Packaging, Cipla, Coupler, Coupler, Endo, Major, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, ScieGen
  • 1 mg tablet: A-S Medication Solutions, American Health Packaging, Cipla, Coupler, Endo, Major, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Remedyrepack, ScieGen, Unit Dose Solutions
  • 2 mg tablet: American Health Packaging, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Cipla, Coupler, Coupler, Direct Rx, Endo, Major, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, ScieGen
  • 1 mg/mL injection: Fresenius Kabi, Hikma, Hikma, Navinta, Zydus

Lists corn-derived ingredients

  • 0.5 mg tablet: Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Leading, Marlex, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Sunrise
  • 1 mg tablet: Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Leading, Marlex, Proficient Rx, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Sunrise
  • 2 mg tablet: Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Leading, Marlex, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Sunrise

Benztropine without tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)

Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5): flagged separately: labels must warn about it, and it can cause reactions in people sensitive to aspirin. 5 of 56 checked products list tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5); 51 do not.

Show which Benztropine products list tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5) and which do not, by product and company

Does not list tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)

  • 0.5 mg tablet: American Health Packaging, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Endo, Leading, Major, Marlex, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Sunrise
  • 1 mg tablet: A-S Medication Solutions, American Health Packaging, Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Endo, Leading, Major, Marlex, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Proficient Rx, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Remedyrepack, Sunrise, Unit Dose Solutions
  • 2 mg tablet: American Health Packaging, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Bryant Ranch Prepack, Chartwell RX, Cipla, Coupler, Direct Rx, Endo, Leading, Major, Marlex, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Quagen, Remedyrepack, Sunrise
  • 1 mg/mL injection: Fresenius Kabi, Hikma, Hikma, Navinta, Zydus

Lists tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)

At the pharmacy counter

How to use this at the pharmacy counter

  1. Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
  2. Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
  3. Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
  4. If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Ask Dr. Staiger which Benztropine product suits you →

Common questions about Benztropine inactive ingredients

Is Benztropine gluten-free?
This page cannot certify any Benztropine product gluten-free; it reports what each label declares. Of the 56 products checked, none lists a wheat, barley, rye or gluten ingredient, and none lists a starch or maltodextrin without a stated source. If you have celiac disease, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written gluten statement for the lot you have.
Does Benztropine contain lactose?
39 of 56 checked Benztropine products list lactose; 17 do not: Bryant Ranch Prepack (0.5 mg tablet, 1 mg tablet and 2 mg tablet), Fresenius Kabi (1 mg/mL injection), Hikma (1 mg/mL injection) and Marlex (0.5 mg tablet, 1 mg tablet and 2 mg tablet) and 4 other companies. The lactose in a tablet or capsule is a small amount, but people with a milk allergy or a strong intolerance often prefer a version that does not list it.
Does Benztropine contain soy?
No checked Benztropine product lists a soy ingredient (soybean oil or soy lecithin) on its label. Soy lecithin is the usual form and the amount is small, but people with a soy allergy often prefer a version that does not list it.
Is there a dye-free Benztropine?
5 of 56 checked Benztropine products list a synthetic dye (an FD&C or D&C colorant); 51 do not: A-S Medication Solutions (1 mg tablet), American Health Packaging (0.5 mg tablet, 1 mg tablet and 2 mg tablet), Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee (1 mg tablet) and Bryant Ranch Prepack (0.5 mg tablet, 1 mg tablet and 2 mg tablet) and 18 other companies. Colorants often differ by strength within one company's line, so compare the lists above strength by strength.
Does Benztropine contain gelatin?
No checked Benztropine product lists gelatin on its label. Gelatin is usually bovine or porcine and the label rarely says which; for kosher, halal or vegetarian needs, ask the manufacturer.
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
A generic must match the brand's active ingredient, strength, dose form and how it is absorbed; its fillers, binders, coatings and colorants are the manufacturer's own choice. That is why one Benztropine product can list lactose and a dye while another from a different company lists neither.
Who decides what counts as a gluten source, a dye or soy on this page?
Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS, a clinical pharmacist, wrote and maintains the classification this page applies: which ingredient names count as a lactose, wheat or gluten, soy, synthetic dye or gelatin source, and which read as "source not stated" (bare starch or maltodextrin). The ingredient lists themselves are the manufacturers' own FDA labels, shown as filed; nothing is added to or removed from a label.
The NDC on my bottle ends differently from the one on this page. Is it the same product?
Usually, yes. An NDC has three parts: the company, the product (the medicine, strength and form) and, last, the package size. Two codes that share the first two parts are the same product in different pack sizes, and a label belongs to the product, so every pack size shares one inactive-ingredient list. Each product on this page lists every pack size the FDA directory holds for it, and the NDC search accepts any of them.
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
Often, if you ask before the prescription is filled: many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one. Some pharmacies buy a generic from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check. Give them the NDC from this page; the company name alone is often enough.
How current is this list?
The products are the ones in the FDA's current NDC directory as of October 6, 2026. The list is rebuilt every day, the FDA directory is re-imported every week, and each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA label as our label sync last read it, re-read when the FDA publishes a new version. Formulations change, so check the label on your own bottle and ask your pharmacist if a refill looks different.

Sources: the products are the finished Benztropine products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Benztropine guide