Inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Propylthiouracil inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Wondering whether your Propylthiouracil has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Propylthiouracil product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.

We have read the FDA labels of 8 of the 8 current Propylthiouracil products on the market today, from 7 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.

Ask about your bottle

Is there something in your Propylthiouracil? Ask in plain words.

Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.

Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.

The short answer

Which Propylthiouracil products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?

  1. LactoseDiffers by manufacturer

    5 of 8 checked products list lactose; 3 do not. See the products

  2. Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product

    No checked Propylthiouracil product lists a wheat or gluten source.

  3. SoyNo checked product

    No checked Propylthiouracil product lists soy.

  4. Synthetic dyesNo checked product

    No checked Propylthiouracil product lists synthetic dyes.

  5. GelatinNo checked product

    No checked Propylthiouracil product lists gelatin.

Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 3 of 8 Corn 8 of 8

3 products list starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.

Find a version without it

Every current Propylthiouracil product and what its label lists

Hide products that list:

ProductListsInactive ingredients on the label
American Health Packaging 1 product
50 mg tabletNDC 68084-0964-25 Corn-derived
Show 6 ingredients

DOCUSATE SODIUM, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SODIUM BENZOATE, SODIUM GLYCOLATE, STARCH, CORN

Bryant Ranch Prepack 2 products
50 mg tabletNDC 71335-2901-01 Lactose Starch, source not stated Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, STARCH, CORN

50 mg tabletNDC 72162-2072-01 Lactose Starch, source not stated Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, STARCH, CORN

Chartwell RX, LLC 1 product
50 mg tabletNDC 62135-0606-90 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 3 ingredients

CALCIUM STEARATE, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, STARCH, CORN

Endo USA, Inc. 1 product
50 mg tabletNDC 67253-0651-10 Corn-derived
Show 6 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, DOCUSATE SODIUM, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SODIUM BENZOATE, SODIUM GLYCOLATE, STARCH, CORN

Macleods Pharmaceuticals Limited 1 product
50 mg tabletNDC 33342-0314-11 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN

Quagen Pharmaceuticals Llc 1 product
50 mg tabletNDC 70752-0171-10 Lactose Starch, source not stated Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, STARCH, CORN

Teva Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 1 product
50 mg tabletNDC 00480-9242-00 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE K30, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.

Propylthiouracil without lactose

Lactose: milk sugar; a concern with lactose intolerance or a milk allergy. 5 of 8 checked products list lactose; 3 do not.

Does not list lactose

Lists lactose

Propylthiouracil without starch of unstated source

Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 3 of 8 checked products list starch of unstated source; 5 do not.

Does not list starch of unstated source

Lists starch of unstated source

Propylthiouracil and corn-derived ingredients

Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. Every checked Propylthiouracil product (8) lists corn-derived ingredients.

Lists corn-derived ingredients

At the pharmacy counter

How to use this at the pharmacy counter

  1. Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
  2. Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
  3. Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
  4. If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Ask Dr. Staiger which Propylthiouracil product suits you →

Common questions about Propylthiouracil inactive ingredients

Is Propylthiouracil gluten-free?
This page cannot certify any Propylthiouracil product gluten-free; it reports what each label declares. Of the 8 products checked, none lists a wheat, barley, rye or gluten ingredient, and 3 list starch without a stated source (most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say). If you have celiac disease, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written gluten statement for the lot you have.
Does Propylthiouracil contain lactose?
5 of 8 checked Propylthiouracil products list lactose; 3 do not: American Health Packaging (50 mg tablet), Endo (50 mg tablet) and Macleods (50 mg tablet). The lactose in a tablet or capsule is a small amount, but people with a milk allergy or a strong intolerance often prefer a version that does not list it.
Does Propylthiouracil contain soy?
No checked Propylthiouracil product lists a soy ingredient (soybean oil or soy lecithin) on its label. Soy lecithin is the usual form and the amount is small, but people with a soy allergy often prefer a version that does not list it.
Is there a dye-free Propylthiouracil?
No checked Propylthiouracil product lists a synthetic dye (an FD&C or D&C colorant) on its label. Colorants often differ by strength within one company's line, so compare the lists above strength by strength.
Does Propylthiouracil contain gelatin?
No checked Propylthiouracil product lists gelatin on its label. Gelatin is usually bovine or porcine and the label rarely says which; for kosher, halal or vegetarian needs, ask the manufacturer.
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
A generic must match the brand's active ingredient, strength, dose form and how it is absorbed; its fillers, binders, coatings and colorants are the manufacturer's own choice. That is why one Propylthiouracil product can list lactose and a dye while another from a different company lists neither.
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
Often, if you ask before the prescription is filled: many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one. Some pharmacies buy a generic from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check. Give them the NDC from this page; the company name alone is often enough.
How current is this list?
The products are the ones in the FDA's current NDC directory as of September 24, 2026, and each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA label as our label sync last read it. Formulations change, so check the label on your own bottle and ask your pharmacist if a refill looks different.

Sources: the products are the finished Propylthiouracil products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of September 24, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Propylthiouracil guide