Inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Saxagliptin inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Wondering whether your Saxagliptin has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Saxagliptin product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.

We have read the FDA labels of 6 of the 6 current Saxagliptin products on the market today, from 3 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.

Ask about your bottle

Is there something in your Saxagliptin? Ask in plain words.

Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.

Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.

Check your bottle

Let's take a closer look at your Saxagliptin.

Pick your bottle and tap what you want to check. The answer comes from that product's own FDA label, which is already on this page.

1 Which bottle do you have?

Or tap your way to it, one step at a time:

a Form

2 What do you want to check?

Nothing tapped? We check the five big ones.

Saxagliptin Your bottle Pick a product and this label fills in.

Pick your bottle to read its label, or tap an ingredient to see which Saxagliptin products leave it out.

At a glance

Which Saxagliptin products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?

  1. LactoseDiffers by manufacturer

    4 of 6 checked products list lactose; 2 do not. See which products do not list it

  2. Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product

    No checked Saxagliptin product lists a wheat or gluten source.

  3. SoyNo checked product

    No checked Saxagliptin product lists soy.

  4. Synthetic dyesDiffers by manufacturer

    4 of 6 checked products list synthetic dyes; 2 do not. See which products do not list it

  5. GelatinNo checked product

    No checked Saxagliptin product lists gelatin.

Also listed by some products: Tartrazine 1 of 6 Titanium dioxide 6 of 6 Carmine or shellac 4 of 6 Propylene glycol 4 of 6 PEG or polysorbate 4 of 6 Sorbitol or mannitol 2 of 6

Find a version without it

Every current Saxagliptin product and what its label lists

Fastest way: search by NDC. It is printed on your bottle's pharmacy label. If it is not, call your pharmacy: they have it on record.

Hide products that list:

Saxagliptin 2.5 mg tablet 3 companies Synthetic dyes 2 Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5) 1 Titanium dioxide 3 Sorbitol or mannitol 1 Lactose 2 Carmine or shellac 2 Propylene glycol 2 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 2
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
AurobindoNDC 65862-0825-01 Synthetic dyes Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5) Titanium dioxide Sorbitol or mannitol
Show 15 ingredients

ASCORBIC ACID, CROSPOVIDONE (35 .MU.M), FD&C YELLOW NO. 5, FERRIC OXIDE YELLOW, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GLYCERYL MONOSTEARATE, HYDROXYPROPYL CELLULOSE (45000 WAMW), MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MANNITOL, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE 102, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE 301, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE

GlenmarkNDC 68462-0726-05 Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 14 ingredients

AMMONIA, BUTYL ALCOHOL, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C BLUE NO. 2, FERRIC OXIDE YELLOW, HYPROMELLOSE, UNSPECIFIED, ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE

MylanNDC 00378-4705-77 Lactose Titanium dioxide Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 16 ingredients

AMMONIA, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FERRIC OXIDE YELLOW, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, HYDROCHLORIC ACID, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE 200, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 3350, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 4000, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE

Saxagliptin 5 mg tablet 3 companies Synthetic dyes 2 Titanium dioxide 3 Sorbitol or mannitol 1 Lactose 2 Carmine or shellac 2 Propylene glycol 2 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 2
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
AurobindoNDC 65862-0826-01 Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Sorbitol or mannitol
Show 15 ingredients

ASCORBIC ACID, CROSPOVIDONE (35 .MU.M), FD&C YELLOW NO. 6, FERRIC OXIDE RED, FERRIC OXIDE YELLOW, GLYCERYL MONOSTEARATE, HYDROXYPROPYL CELLULOSE (45000 WAMW), MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MANNITOL, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE 102, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE 301, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE

GlenmarkNDC 68462-0727-05 Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 14 ingredients

AMMONIA, BUTYL ALCOHOL, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C BLUE NO. 2, FERRIC OXIDE RED, HYPROMELLOSE, UNSPECIFIED, ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE

MylanNDC 00378-4706-77 Lactose Titanium dioxide Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 15 ingredients

AMMONIA, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, HYDROCHLORIC ACID, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE 200, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 3350, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 4000, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE

A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.

Saxagliptin without lactose

Lactose: milk sugar; a concern with lactose intolerance or a milk allergy. 4 of 6 checked products list lactose; 2 do not.

Show which Saxagliptin products list lactose and which do not, by product and company

Does not list lactose

Lists lactose

Saxagliptin without synthetic dyes

Synthetic dyes: FD&C or D&C colorants and their aluminum lakes. 4 of 6 checked products list synthetic dyes; 2 do not.

Show which Saxagliptin products list synthetic dyes and which do not, by product and company

Does not list synthetic dyes

Lists synthetic dyes

Saxagliptin without tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)

Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5): flagged separately: labels must warn about it, and it can cause reactions in people sensitive to aspirin. 1 of 6 checked products list tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5); 5 do not.

Show which Saxagliptin products list tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5) and which do not, by product and company

Does not list tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)

Lists tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)

Saxagliptin and titanium dioxide

Titanium dioxide: A white colorant some people choose to avoid. Every checked Saxagliptin product (6) lists titanium dioxide.

Show which Saxagliptin products list titanium dioxide and which do not, by product and company

Lists titanium dioxide

Saxagliptin without carmine or shellac

Carmine or shellac: insect-derived red colorant or coating glaze. 4 of 6 checked products list carmine or shellac; 2 do not.

Show which Saxagliptin products list carmine or shellac and which do not, by product and company

Does not list carmine or shellac

Lists carmine or shellac

Saxagliptin without propylene glycol

Propylene glycol: A solvent in liquids and capsules; a concern in kidney disease, for infants, and at high doses. 4 of 6 checked products list propylene glycol; 2 do not.

Show which Saxagliptin products list propylene glycol and which do not, by product and company

Does not list propylene glycol

Lists propylene glycol

Saxagliptin without polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 4 of 6 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 2 do not.

Show which Saxagliptin products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate and which do not, by product and company

Does not list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

Lists polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

Saxagliptin without sorbitol or mannitol

Sorbitol or mannitol: sugar alcohols that can cause bloating or diarrhea in larger amounts. 2 of 6 checked products list sorbitol or mannitol; 4 do not.

Show which Saxagliptin products list sorbitol or mannitol and which do not, by product and company

Does not list sorbitol or mannitol

Lists sorbitol or mannitol

At the pharmacy counter

How to use this at the pharmacy counter

  1. Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
  2. Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
  3. Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
  4. If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Ask Dr. Staiger which Saxagliptin product suits you →

Common questions about Saxagliptin inactive ingredients

Is Saxagliptin gluten-free?
This page cannot certify any Saxagliptin product gluten-free; it reports what each label declares. Of the 6 products checked, none lists a wheat, barley, rye or gluten ingredient, and none lists a starch or maltodextrin without a stated source. If you have celiac disease, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written gluten statement for the lot you have.
Does Saxagliptin contain lactose?
4 of 6 checked Saxagliptin products list lactose; 2 do not: Aurobindo (2.5 mg tablet and 5 mg tablet). The lactose in a tablet or capsule is a small amount, but people with a milk allergy or a strong intolerance often prefer a version that does not list it.
Does Saxagliptin contain soy?
No checked Saxagliptin product lists a soy ingredient (soybean oil or soy lecithin) on its label. Soy lecithin is the usual form and the amount is small, but people with a soy allergy often prefer a version that does not list it.
Is there a dye-free Saxagliptin?
4 of 6 checked Saxagliptin products list a synthetic dye (an FD&C or D&C colorant); 2 do not: Mylan (2.5 mg tablet and 5 mg tablet). Colorants often differ by strength within one company's line, so compare the lists above strength by strength.
Does Saxagliptin contain gelatin?
No checked Saxagliptin product lists gelatin on its label. Gelatin is usually bovine or porcine and the label rarely says which; for kosher, halal or vegetarian needs, ask the manufacturer.
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
A generic must match the brand's active ingredient, strength, dose form and how it is absorbed; its fillers, binders, coatings and colorants are the manufacturer's own choice. That is why one Saxagliptin product can list lactose and a dye while another from a different company lists neither.
Who decides what counts as a gluten source, a dye or soy on this page?
Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS, a clinical pharmacist, wrote and maintains the classification this page applies: which ingredient names count as a lactose, wheat or gluten, soy, synthetic dye or gelatin source, and which read as "source not stated" (bare starch or maltodextrin). The ingredient lists themselves are the manufacturers' own FDA labels, shown as filed; nothing is added to or removed from a label.
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
Often, if you ask before the prescription is filled: many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one. Some pharmacies buy a generic from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check. Give them the NDC from this page; the company name alone is often enough.
How current is this list?
The products are the ones in the FDA's current NDC directory as of October 6, 2026. The list is rebuilt every day, the FDA directory is re-imported every week, and each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA label as our label sync last read it, re-read when the FDA publishes a new version. Formulations change, so check the label on your own bottle and ask your pharmacist if a refill looks different.

Sources: the products are the finished Saxagliptin products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Saxagliptin guide