Inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Sulfasalazine inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Wondering whether your Sulfasalazine has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Sulfasalazine product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.

We have read the FDA labels of 13 of the 14 current Sulfasalazine products on the market today, from 10 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side. 1 is still being read and will appear on a later visit.

Ask about your bottle

Is there something in your Sulfasalazine? Ask in plain words.

Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.

Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.

The short answer

Which Sulfasalazine products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?

  1. LactoseNo checked product

    No checked Sulfasalazine product lists lactose.

  2. Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product

    No checked Sulfasalazine product lists a wheat or gluten source.

  3. SoyNo checked product

    No checked Sulfasalazine product lists soy.

  4. Synthetic dyesNo checked product

    No checked Sulfasalazine product lists synthetic dyes.

  5. GelatinNo checked product

    No checked Sulfasalazine product lists gelatin.

Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 1 of 13 Corn 13 of 13 Propylene glycol 2 of 13 PEG or polysorbate 2 of 13

1 product lists starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.

Find a version without it

Every current Sulfasalazine product and what its label lists

Hide products that list:

ProductListsInactive ingredients on the label
A-S Medication Solutions 2 products
500 mg tabletNDC 50090-0086-00 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, SILICA, ZEA MAYS (CORN) STARCH

500 mg tabletNDC 50090-6936-00 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, SILICA, ZEA MAYS (CORN) STARCH

Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, LLC 1 product
500 mg tabletNDC 71610-0706-70 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

Bryant Ranch Prepack 1 product
500 mg tabletNDC 63629-9715-01 Starch, source not stated Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, STARCH, CORN, STEARIC ACID

Chartwell RX, LLC. 1 product
500 mg tabletNDC 62135-0960-01 Corn-derived
Show 3 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, STARCH, CORN, STEARIC ACID

Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. 2 products
500 mg delayed-release tabletNDC 59762-0104-01 Corn-derived Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 11 ingredients

CARNAUBA WAX, CELLACEFATE, GLYCERYL MONOSTEARATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN, TALC, WHITE WAX

500 mg tabletNDC 59762-5000-01 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

Pfizer Laboratories Div Pfizer Inc 2 products
500 mg delayed-release tabletNDC 00013-0102-01 Corn-derived Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 11 ingredients

CARNAUBA WAX, CELLACEFATE, GLYCERYL STEARATE SE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 20000, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN, TALC, WHITE WAX

500 mg tabletNDC 00013-0101-01 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

Remedyrepack Inc. 1 product
500 mg tabletNDC 70518-1829-02 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. 1 product
500 mg tabletNDC 16571-0261-01 Corn-derived
Show 4 ingredients

MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE K30, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN

Sunrise Pharmaceutical, Inc. 2 products
500 mg delayed-release tabletNDC 11534-0201-01 Corn-derived
Show 9 ingredients

CARNAUBA WAX, CELLACEFATE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, DIETHYL PHTHALATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM STEARYL FUMARATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC

500 mg tabletNDC 11534-0200-01 Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, STARCH, CORN, TALC, WATER

Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 1 product
500 mg tabletNDC 00093-3234-01 Still being read Not read yet

A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.

Sulfasalazine without starch of unstated source

Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 1 of 13 checked products list starch of unstated source; 12 do not.

Does not list starch of unstated source

Lists starch of unstated source

Sulfasalazine and corn-derived ingredients

Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. Every checked Sulfasalazine product (13) lists corn-derived ingredients.

Lists corn-derived ingredients

Sulfasalazine without propylene glycol

Propylene glycol: A solvent in liquids and capsules; a concern in kidney disease, for infants, and at high doses. 2 of 13 checked products list propylene glycol; 11 do not.

Does not list propylene glycol

Lists propylene glycol

Sulfasalazine without polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 2 of 13 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 11 do not.

Does not list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

Lists polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

At the pharmacy counter

How to use this at the pharmacy counter

  1. Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
  2. Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
  3. Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
  4. If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Ask Dr. Staiger which Sulfasalazine product suits you →

Common questions about Sulfasalazine inactive ingredients

Is Sulfasalazine gluten-free?
This page cannot certify any Sulfasalazine product gluten-free; it reports what each label declares. Of the 13 products checked, none lists a wheat, barley, rye or gluten ingredient, and 1 lists starch without a stated source (most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say). If you have celiac disease, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written gluten statement for the lot you have.
Does Sulfasalazine contain lactose?
No checked Sulfasalazine product lists lactose on its label. The lactose in a tablet or capsule is a small amount, but people with a milk allergy or a strong intolerance often prefer a version that does not list it.
Does Sulfasalazine contain soy?
No checked Sulfasalazine product lists a soy ingredient (soybean oil or soy lecithin) on its label. Soy lecithin is the usual form and the amount is small, but people with a soy allergy often prefer a version that does not list it.
Is there a dye-free Sulfasalazine?
No checked Sulfasalazine product lists a synthetic dye (an FD&C or D&C colorant) on its label. Colorants often differ by strength within one company's line, so compare the lists above strength by strength.
Does Sulfasalazine contain gelatin?
No checked Sulfasalazine product lists gelatin on its label. Gelatin is usually bovine or porcine and the label rarely says which; for kosher, halal or vegetarian needs, ask the manufacturer.
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
A generic must match the brand's active ingredient, strength, dose form and how it is absorbed; its fillers, binders, coatings and colorants are the manufacturer's own choice. That is why one Sulfasalazine product can list lactose and a dye while another from a different company lists neither.
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
Often, if you ask before the prescription is filled: many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one. Some pharmacies buy a generic from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check. Give them the NDC from this page; the company name alone is often enough.
How current is this list?
The products are the ones in the FDA's current NDC directory as of October 6, 2026, and each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA label as our label sync last read it. Formulations change, so check the label on your own bottle and ask your pharmacist if a refill looks different.

Sources: the products are the finished Sulfasalazine products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Sulfasalazine guide