Inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Trimethoprim inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Wondering whether your Trimethoprim has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Trimethoprim product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.

We have read the FDA labels of 5 of the 5 current Trimethoprim products on the market today, from 5 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.

Ask about your bottle

Is there something in your Trimethoprim? Ask in plain words.

Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.

Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.

Check your bottle

Let's take a closer look at your Trimethoprim.

Pick your bottle and tap what you want to check. The answer comes from that product's own FDA label, which is already on this page.

1 Which bottle do you have?

Or tap your way to it: the form, then the strength, then the company.

Form

2 What do you want to check?

Nothing tapped? We check the five big ones.

Trimethoprim Your bottle Pick a product and this label fills in.

Pick your bottle to read its label, or tap an ingredient to see which Trimethoprim products leave it out.

At a glance

Which Trimethoprim products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?

  1. LactoseDiffers by manufacturer

    4 of 5 checked products list lactose; 1 does not. See which products do not list it

  2. Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product

    No checked Trimethoprim product lists a wheat or gluten source.

  3. SoyNo checked product

    No checked Trimethoprim product lists soy.

  4. Synthetic dyesNo checked product

    No checked Trimethoprim product lists synthetic dyes.

  5. GelatinNo checked product

    No checked Trimethoprim product lists gelatin.

Also listed by some products: Corn 5 of 5

Find a version without it

Every current Trimethoprim product and what its label lists

Fastest way: search by NDC. It is printed on your bottle's pharmacy label. If it is not, call your pharmacy: they have it on record.

Hide products that list:

Trimethoprim 100 mg tablet 5 companies Corn-derived 5 Lactose 4
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
Dr. Reddy's LabratoriesNDC 75907-0043-01 Corn-derived
Show 6 ingredients

DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE DIHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN

Golden State Medical SupplyNDC 51407-0738-01 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN

LupinNDC 43386-0330-01 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN, WATER

NovelNDC 40032-0330-24 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 7 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN, WATER

NovitiumNDC 70954-0541-10 Lactose Corn-derived
Show 5 ingredients

ANHYDROUS LACTOSE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN

A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.

Trimethoprim without lactose

Lactose: milk sugar; a concern with lactose intolerance or a milk allergy. 4 of 5 checked products list lactose; 1 does not.

Show which Trimethoprim products list lactose and which do not, by product and company

Does not list lactose

Lists lactose

  • 100 mg tablet: Golden State Medical Supply, Lupin, Novel, Novitium

Trimethoprim and corn-derived ingredients

Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. Every checked Trimethoprim product (5) lists corn-derived ingredients.

Show which Trimethoprim products list corn-derived ingredients and which do not, by product and company

Lists corn-derived ingredients

  • 100 mg tablet: Dr. Reddy's Labratories, Golden State Medical Supply, Lupin, Novel, Novitium

At the pharmacy counter

How to use this at the pharmacy counter

  1. Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
  2. Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
  3. Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
  4. If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Ask Dr. Staiger which Trimethoprim product suits you →

Common questions about Trimethoprim inactive ingredients

Is Trimethoprim gluten-free?
This page cannot certify any Trimethoprim product gluten-free; it reports what each label declares. Of the 5 products checked, none lists a wheat, barley, rye or gluten ingredient, and none lists a starch or maltodextrin without a stated source. If you have celiac disease, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written gluten statement for the lot you have.
Does Trimethoprim contain lactose?
4 of 5 checked Trimethoprim products list lactose; 1 does not: Dr. Reddy's Labratories (100 mg tablet). The lactose in a tablet or capsule is a small amount, but people with a milk allergy or a strong intolerance often prefer a version that does not list it.
Does Trimethoprim contain soy?
No checked Trimethoprim product lists a soy ingredient (soybean oil or soy lecithin) on its label. Soy lecithin is the usual form and the amount is small, but people with a soy allergy often prefer a version that does not list it.
Is there a dye-free Trimethoprim?
No checked Trimethoprim product lists a synthetic dye (an FD&C or D&C colorant) on its label. Colorants often differ by strength within one company's line, so compare the lists above strength by strength.
Does Trimethoprim contain gelatin?
No checked Trimethoprim product lists gelatin on its label. Gelatin is usually bovine or porcine and the label rarely says which; for kosher, halal or vegetarian needs, ask the manufacturer.
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
A generic must match the brand's active ingredient, strength, dose form and how it is absorbed; its fillers, binders, coatings and colorants are the manufacturer's own choice. That is why one Trimethoprim product can list lactose and a dye while another from a different company lists neither.
Who decides what counts as a gluten source, a dye or soy on this page?
Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS, a clinical pharmacist, wrote and maintains the classification this page applies: which ingredient names count as a lactose, wheat or gluten, soy, synthetic dye or gelatin source, and which read as "source not stated" (bare starch or maltodextrin). The ingredient lists themselves are the manufacturers' own FDA labels, shown as filed; nothing is added to or removed from a label.
The NDC on my bottle ends differently from the one on this page. Is it the same product?
Usually, yes. An NDC has three parts: the company, the product (the medicine, strength and form) and, last, the package size. Two codes that share the first two parts are the same product in different pack sizes, and a label belongs to the product, so every pack size shares one inactive-ingredient list. Each product on this page lists every pack size the FDA directory holds for it, and the NDC search accepts any of them.
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
Often, if you ask before the prescription is filled: many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one. Some pharmacies buy a generic from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check. Give them the NDC from this page; the company name alone is often enough.
How current is this list?
The products are the ones in the FDA's current NDC directory as of October 6, 2026. The list is rebuilt every day, the FDA directory is re-imported every week, and each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA label as our label sync last read it, re-read when the FDA publishes a new version. Formulations change, so check the label on your own bottle and ask your pharmacist if a refill looks different.

Sources: the products are the finished Trimethoprim products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Trimethoprim guide