HomeNDC LookupIngredientsGadodiamide › 00407-0690-15
OMNISCAN gadodiamide 287 mg/mL Injection — NDC 00407-0690-15 package photo

OMNISCAN gadodiamide 287 mg/mL Injection

by GE Healthcare Inc. · 10 VIAL in 1 BOX (0407-0690-15) / 15 mL in 1 VIAL
NDC 00407-0690-15
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 0407-0690-15 billing pads the labeler segment with a zero
This package
Contains15 mL in 1 vial Medicaid pays$15.77 / unit · 12 mo Per package$157.75 / 10 vials · Medicaid Pack sizes10 compare ↓
Rx only Brand On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 0407-0690-15
Product NDC 0407-0690
11-digit billing NDC 00407069015
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII 84F6U3J2R6
Application # NDA020123
SPL Set ID 1e9a37e2-f28a-4373-bf0f-3e9b60f42d8a
Established class (EPC) Paramagnetic Contrast Agent
Mechanism of action Magnetic Resonance Contrast Activity
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category NDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2002-04-19
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION
Substance GADODIAMIDE
GPI-14 94500022002020
GPI class Omniscan
GCN Seq No 064082
GCN 99793
HICL code 013188
Ingredient (HICL) Gadodiamide
HIC1 code H
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Nervous System (Except Autonomic)
HIC2 code H1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Drugs Affecting Principally The Brain
HIC3 code H1U
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Cerebral Spinal Radiopaque Diagnostics
AHFS code 36:68.00.00
AHFS class Roentgenography And Other Imaging Agents
FDB label name OMNISCAN 287 MG/ML VIAL
FDB brand name Omniscan
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 0407-0690-15 — a 4-4-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the labeler segment → 00407-0690-15. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerGE Healthcare Inc.
Application holderGE HEALTHCARE
FDA applicationNDA020123 (NDA)
Labeler code00407
First marketedApr 2002
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio13 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name OMNISCAN 287 MG/ML VIAL Ingredient Gadodiamide
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

💊 What it looks like

Color yellow
One label can cover several strengths, so colors may be combined — always confirm a loose pill against the dispensed prescription label or a pharmacist.
Where does this data come from?
Physical description (imprint, shape, color, scoring, coating) from this product’s FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL), mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • 12 mg / 1 mL UNII 1M6415C70M
    A synthetic compound used as a binder and disintegrant in tablets and capsules. It helps hold ingredients together and allows the medicine to break apart properly for absorption.
  • UNII QTT17582CB
    A strong acid used to adjust and maintain the proper pH level in liquid medicines, ensuring stability and preventing breakdown of active ingredients.
  • UNII 55X04QC32I
    A strong alkaline chemical used to adjust and maintain the pH balance of liquid medicines. It helps keep the medicine stable and ensures it stays effective during storage.

3 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eachPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $15.77 $157.75 / 10 vials
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
Medicare Part B allowsASP · A9579 $1.435 / A9579 unit
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)0407-0690-15
11-digit billing NDC00407-0690-15
Format4-4-2 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the labeler segment)
HCPCS J-codeA9579
Descriptor1 ML
Billing units / pkg150 units
Crosswalk sourceCMS ASP NDC-HCPCS Crosswalk
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Omniscan 287 mg/mLthis 00407-0690-15 GE 10 vials FDA listed
About this product: this is the brand-name version. We did not find an FDA-approved generic match for this exact strength, form and route.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2002
On the market since
Apr 2002
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
24 years listed
🔒
·
No generic listed yet
brand only
ℹ️No FDA-approved generic found

We did not find an FDA-approved generic match for this exact strength, form and route.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 00407-0690-15, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
40
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
41
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$646.76
Avg / prescription
$16.17
Avg / unit
$15.7746
Latest quarter Q4 2025
0Rx
Fee-for-service vs managed care
100% MCO
Fee-for-service · 0 Rx Managed care · 40 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: no data reported MI New York: no data reported NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: no data reported IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: no data reported OH Pennsylvania: no data reported PA New Jersey: no data reported NJ Massachusetts: no data reported MA California: no data reported CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: no data reported MO Kentucky: no data reported KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: no data reported VA Maryland: 41 units · 0.7 per 100k residents MD Connecticut: no data reported CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: no data reported TN North Carolina: no data reported NC South Carolina: no data reported SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: no data reported LA Mississippi: no data reported MS Alabama: no data reported AL Georgia: no data reported GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: no data reported TX Florida: no data reported FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
0.70.7
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 Maryland 0.7 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

💊 Medicaid utilization by pack size

Medicaid (SDUD) totals over the four most recent reported quarters for every package size of this drug — handy when a specific package (e.g. a starter/titration pack) carries little or no Medicaid volume on its own.
10 vials00407-0690-20 80 Rx · $2,096
10 syringes00407-0690-22 20 Rx · $566
10 vials00407-0690-30 No Medicaid data
10 vials00407-0690-40 No Medicaid data
10 bottles00407-0690-70 No Medicaid data
10 vials00407-0690-05 No Medicaid data
10 vials00407-0690-10 No Medicaid data
10 syringes00407-0690-12 No Medicaid data
10 syringes00407-0690-17 No Medicaid data
Drug total (last 4 qtrs): 140 Rx · 1,777 units · $3,308 gross reimbursed
Tap a pack size to open its page. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data, last 4 quarters.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
00407-0690-30 10 VIAL in 1 BOX (0407-0690-30) / 10 mL in 1 VIAL 2010-06-01 Discontinued by firm
00407-0690-40 10 VIAL in 1 BOX (0407-0690-40) / 15 mL in 1 VIAL 2010-06-01 Discontinued by firm
00407-0690-70 10 BOTTLE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-0690-70) / 100 mL in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC 2007-10-02 Discontinued by firm
00407-0690-05 10 VIAL in 1 BOX (0407-0690-05) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL 2002-04-19 Discontinued by firm
00407-0690-10 10 VIAL in 1 BOX (0407-0690-10) / 10 mL in 1 VIAL 2002-04-19 Active
00407-0690-12 10 SYRINGE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-0690-12) / 10 mL in 1 SYRINGE, PLASTIC 2002-04-19 Discontinued by firm
00407-0690-15 You're viewing this 10 VIAL in 1 BOX (0407-0690-15) / 15 mL in 1 VIAL 2002-04-19 Active
00407-0690-17 10 SYRINGE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-0690-17) / 15 mL in 1 SYRINGE, PLASTIC 2002-04-19 Discontinued by firm
00407-0690-20 10 VIAL in 1 BOX (0407-0690-20) / 20 mL in 1 VIAL 2002-04-19 Active
00407-0690-22 10 SYRINGE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-0690-22) / 20 mL in 1 SYRINGE, PLASTIC 2002-04-19 Discontinued by firm

This pack accounts for about 29% of this product's recent Medicaid fills; most go to a different pack size. See all packs ↓

Pack size FAQ

What quantity is in NDC 00407-0690-15?
NDC 00407-0690-15 is listed by the FDA — 10 vial in 1 box / 15 ml in 1 vial.
What NDC number is used to bill for this package of OMNISCAN gadodiamide 287 mg/mL Injection?
Bill NDC 00407-0690-15 — the 11-digit billing format is 00407069015. Pharmacy and medical claims use the 11-digit form; the FDA label may print a shorter form of the same code.

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data — Not published for this NDC Applies only to products approved under an NDA/ANDA; many listings are out of scope.
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk ✓ Available
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) ✓ Available
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 0407-0690-15, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 00407-0690-15, written without dashes as 00407069015. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 00407-0690-15, the first segment (00407) is the labeler code FDA assigned to GE Healthcare Inc.; the middle segment (0690) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (15) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by GE Healthcare Inc.. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Does this product come in other package sizes?
Yes — the FDA directory lists 9 other package presentations of this same product, including 10 vials (00407-0690-30), 10 vials (00407-0690-40), 10 bottles (00407-0690-70). Each has its own NDC and its own page — see the package list near the top of this page.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
GE Healthcare Inc. is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Yes — this NDC cross-references HCPCS code A9579 for medical-claim billing (typically used when a product is administered in a clinical setting rather than dispensed at a retail pharmacy). See the Billing section on this page.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning ~2 min read

WARNING: RISK ASSOCIATED WITH INTRATHECAL USE and NEPHROGENIC SYSTEMIC FIBROSIS WARNING: RISK ASSOCIATED WITH INTRATHECAL USE and NEPHROGENIC SYSTEMIC FIBROSIS See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning. Intrathecal administration of gadolinium-based contrast agents (GBCAs) can cause serious adverse reactions including death, coma, encephalopathy, and seizures. OMNISCAN is not approved for intrathecal use ( 5.1 ).

GBCAs increase the risk for nephrogenic systemic fibrosis among patients with impaired elimination of the drugs. Avoid use of OMNISCAN in these patients unless the diagnostic information is essential and not available with non-contrasted MRI or other modalities. Do not administer OMNISCAN to patients with: chronic, severe kidney disease (GFR < 30 mL/min/1.73m 2 ), or acute kidney injury ( 4 ).

Screen patients for acute kidney injury and other conditions that may reduce renal function. For patients at risk for chronically reduced renal function (e.g., age > 60 years, hypertension or diabetes), estimate the glomerular filtration rate (GFR) through laboratory testing ( 5.2 ). Risk Associated with Intrathecal Use Intrathecal administration of gadolinium-based contrast agents (GBCAs) can cause serious adverse reactions including death, coma, encephalopathy, and seizures.

OMNISCAN is not approved for intrathecal use [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ]. Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis GBCAs increase the risk for nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF) among patients with impaired elimination of the drugs. Avoid use of OMNISCAN in these patients unless the diagnostic information is essential and not available with non-contrasted MRI or other modalities.

NSF may result in fatal or debilitating fibrosis affecting the skin, muscle and internal organs. Do not administer OMNISCAN to patients with: chronic, severe kidney disease (GFR < 30 mL/min/1.73m 2 ), or acute kidney injury [see Contraindications (4) ]. Screen patients for acute kidney injury and other conditions that may reduce renal function.

For patients at risk for chronically reduced renal function (e.g., age > 60 years, hypertension or diabetes), estimate the glomerular filtration rate (GFR) through laboratory testing. Do not exceed the recommended OMNISCAN dose and allow a sufficient period of time for elimination of the drug from the body prior to any readministration [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ].

🎯 Indications and Usage 150 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE OMNISCAN is a gadolinium-based contrast agent for diagnostic magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) indicated for intravenous use to: Visualize lesions with abnormal vascularity in the brain, spine, and associated tissues ( 1.1 ) Facilitate the visualization of lesions with abnormal vascularity within the thoracic, abdominal, pelvic cavities, and the retroperitoneal space ( 1.2 )

1.1CNS (Central Nervous System) OMNISCAN is a gadolinium-based contrast agent indicated for intravenous use in MRI to visualize lesions with abnormal vascularity (or those thought to cause abnormalities in the blood-brain barrier) in the brain (intracranial lesions), spine, and associated tissues [see Clinical Studies (14.1) ].

1.2Body (Intrathoracic [noncardiac], Intra-abdominal, Pelvic and Retroperitoneal Regions) OMNISCAN is a gadolinium-based contrast agent indicated for intravenous use in MRI to facilitate the visualization of lesions with abnormal vascularity within the thoracic (noncardiac), abdominal, pelvic cavities, and the retroperitoneal space [see Clinical Studies (14.2) ].

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~2 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION CNS – Adults and Pediatrics; 2 to 16 years of age: 0.2 mL/kg (0.1 mmol/kg) ( 2.1 , 2.4 ) Body – Adults and Pediatrics; 2 to 16 years of age: Kidney: 0.1 mL/kg (0.05 mmol/kg) Intrathoracic, intra-abdominal, and pelvic cavities: 0.2 mL/kg (0.1 mmol/kg) ( 2.2 , 2.4 )

2.1CNS (Central Nervous System) Adults: The recommended dose of OMNISCAN is 0.2 mL/kg (0.1 mmol/kg) administered as a bolus intravenous injection. Pediatric Patients (2 to 16 years of age): The recommended dose of OMNISCAN is 0.2 mL/kg (0.1 mmol/kg) administered as a bolus intravenous injection [see Dosage and Administration (2.3) ].

2.2Body (Intrathoracic [noncardiac], Intra-abdominal, Pelvic and Retroperitoneal Regions) Adult and Pediatric Patients (2 to 16 years of age): For imaging the kidney, the recommended dose of OMNISCAN is 0.1 mL/kg (0.05 mmol/kg). For imaging the intrathoracic (noncardiac), intra-abdominal, and pelvic cavities, the recommended dose of OMNISCAN is 0.2 mL/kg (0.1 mmol/kg) [see Dosage and Administration (2.3) ].

2.3Dosage Chart BODY WEIGHT PEDIATRIC ADULTS 0.05 0.1 0.05 0.1 kg lb (mmol/kg) (mmol/kg) VOLUME (mL) VOLUME (mL) 12 26 1.2 2.4 - - 14 31 1.4 2.8 - - 16 35 1.6 3.2 - - 18 40 1.8 3.6 - - 20 44 2 4 - - 22 48 2.2 4.4 - - 24 53 2.4 4.8 - - 26 57 2.6 5.2 - - 28 62 2.8 5.6 - - 30 66 3 6 - - 40 88 4 8 4 8 50 110 5 10 5 10 60 132 6 12 6 12 70 154 7 14 7 14 80 176 8 16 8 16 90 198 - - 9 18 100 220 - - 10 20 110 242 - - 11 22 120 264 - - 12 24 130 The heaviest patient in clinical studies weighed 136 kg. 286 - - 13 26

2.4Dosing Guidelines Inspect OMNISCAN visually for particulate matter and discoloration before administration, whenever solution and container permit. Do not use the solution if it is discolored or particulate matter is present. Draw OMNISCAN into the syringe and use immediately.

Discard any unused portion of OMNISCAN Injection. To ensure complete delivery of the desired volume of contrast medium, follow the injection of OMNISCAN with a 5 mL flush of 0.9% sodium chloride. Complete the imaging procedure within 1 hour of administration of OMNISCAN.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 24 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Sterile aqueous solution for intravenous injection; 287 mg/mL. Sterile aqueous solution for intravenous injection; 287 mg/mL ( 3 )

Contraindications 48 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS OMNISCAN is contraindicated in patients with: Chronic, severe kidney disease (glomerular filtration rate, GFR < 30 mL/min/1.73m 2 ) or acute kidney injury Prior hypersensitivity to OMNISCAN Patients with chronic, severe kidney disease (GFR < 30 mL/min/1.73m 2 ) or acute kidney injury ( 4 ).

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~3 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Hypersensitivity Reactions: Anaphylactoid and other serious hypersensitivity reactions including fatal reactions have occurred particularly in patients with history of allergy or drug reactions. Monitor patients closely for need of emergency cardiorespiratory support ( 5.3 ). Gadolinium Retention: Gadolinium is retained for months or years in brain, bone, and other organs ( 5.4 ).

Acute Renal Failure: Acute renal failure has occurred in patients with preexisting renal insufficiency. Use the lowest necessary dose of OMNISCAN and evaluate renal function in these patients ( 5.5 ).

5.1Risk Associated with Intrathecal Use Intrathecal administration of GBCAs can cause serious adverse reactions including death, coma, encephalopathy, and seizures. The safety and effectiveness of OMNISCAN have not been established with intrathecal use. OMNISCAN is not approved for intrathecal use [see Dosage and Administration (2.1 , 2.2) ].

5.2Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis GBCAs increase the risk for nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF) among patients with impaired elimination of the drugs. Avoid use of OMNISCAN among these patients unless the diagnostic information is essential and not available with non-contrast enhanced MRI or other modalities. The GBCA-associated NSF risk appears highest for patients with chronic, severe kidney disease (GFR < 30 mL/min/1.73m 2 ) as well as patients with acute kidney injury.

Do not administer OMNISCAN to these patients. The risk appears lower for patients with chronic, moderate kidney disease (GFR 30 to 59 mL/min/1.73m 2 ) and little, if any, for patients with chronic, mild kidney disease (GFR 60 to 89 mL/min/1.73m 2 ). NSF may result in fatal or debilitating fibrosis affecting the skin, muscle and internal organs.

Report any diagnosis of NSF following OMNISCAN administration to GE HealthCare (1-800-654-0118) or FDA (1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch). Screen patients for acute kidney injury and other conditions that may reduce renal function. Features of acute kidney injury consist of rapid (over hours to days) and usually reversible decrease in kidney function, commonly in the setting of surgery, severe infection, injury or drug-induced kidney toxicity.

Serum creatinine levels and estimated GFR may not reliably assess renal function in the setting of acute kidney injury. For patients at risk for chronically reduced renal function (e.g., age > 60 years, diabetes mellitus or chronic hypertension), estimate the GFR through laboratory testing. Among the factors that may increase the risk for NSF are repeated or higher than recommended doses of a GBCA and the degree of renal impairment at the time of exposure.

Record the specific GBCA and the dose administered to a patient. When administering a GBCA, do not exceed the recommended dose and allow a sufficient period of time for elimination of the agent prior to any readministration [see Boxed Warning , Contraindications (4) , Clinical Pharmacology (12.2) and Dosage and Administration (2) ].

5.3Hypersensitivity Reactions Anaphylactoid and anaphylactic reactions, with cardiovascular, respiratory and/or cutaneous manifestations, resulting in death have occurred. Personnel trained in resuscitation techniques and resuscitation equipment should be present prior to OMNISCAN administration. If a hypersensitivity reaction occurs, stop OMNISCAN Injection and immediately begin appropriate therapy.

Observe patients closely, particularly those with a history of drug reactions, asthma, allergy or other hypersensitivity disorders, during and up to several hours after OMNISCAN Injection.

5.4Gadolinium Retention Gadolinium is retained for months or years in several organs. The highest concentrations (nanomoles per gram of tissue) have been identified in the bone, followed by other organs (e.g., brain, skin, kidney, liver, and spleen). The duration of retention also varies by tissue and is longest in bone. Linear GBCAs cause more retention than macrocyc…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~2 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are discussed in greater detail in other sections of the label: Nephrogenic systemic fibrosis [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] Hypersensitivity reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] Acute Renal Failure [see Warnings and Precautions (5.5) ] The most frequent adverse reactions (≤ 3%) observed during OMNISCAN adult clinical studies were nausea, headache, and dizziness ( 6.1 ) Serious or life-threatening reactions include: cardiac failure, arrhythmia and myocardial infarction ( 6.1 , 6.2 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact GE HealthCare at 1-800-654-0118 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Studies Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. Adverse Reactions in Adult Patients In clinical studies 1,160 patients were exposed to OMNISCAN. The most frequent adverse reactions were nausea, headache, and dizziness that occurred in 3% or less of the patients.

The majority of these reactions were of mild to moderate intensity. The following adverse reactions occurred in 1% or less of patients: Application Site Disorders: Injection site reaction. Autonomic Nervous System Disorders: Vasodilation.

Body as a Whole-General Disorders: Anaphylactoid reactions (characterized by cardiovascular, respiratory, and cutaneous symptoms), fever, hot flushes, rigors, fatigue, malaise, pain, syncope. Cardiovascular Disorders: Cardiac failure, rare arrhythmia and myocardial infarction resulting in death in patients with ischemic heart disease, flushing, chest pain, deep thrombophlebitis. Central and Peripheral Nervous System Disorders: Convulsions including grand mal, ataxia, abnormal coordination, paresthesia, tremor, aggravated multiple sclerosis (characterized by sensory and motor disturbances), aggravated migraine.

Gastrointestinal System Disorders: Abdominal pain, diarrhea, eructation, dry mouth/vomiting, melena. Hearing and Vestibular Disorders: Tinnitus. Liver and Biliary System Disorders: Abnormal hepatic function.

Musculoskeletal System Disorders: Arthralgia, myalgia. Respiratory System Disorders: Rhinitis, dyspnea. Skin and Appendage Disorders: Pruritus, rash, erythematous rash, sweating increased, urticaria.

Special Senses, Other Disorders: Taste loss, taste perversion. Urinary System Disorders: Acute reversible renal failure. Vision Disorders: Abnormal vision.

Adverse Reactions in Pediatric Patients In the 97 pediatric patients in CNS studies with OMNISCAN [see Clinical Studies (14.1) ] and the 144 pediatric patients in published literature, the adverse reactions were similar to those reported in adults.

6.2Postmarketing Experience The following adverse reactions have been identified during post-approval use of OMNISCAN or other GBCAs. Because these reactions are reported voluntarily from a population of uncertain size, it is not always possible to reliably estimate their frequency or establish a causal relationship to drug exposure. Gastrointestinal Disorders: Acute pancreatitis with onset within 48 hours after GBCA administration .

General Disorders : Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis (NSF) Adverse reactions with variable onset and duration have been reported after GBCA administration . These include fatigue, asthenia, pain syndromes, and heterogeneous clusters of symptoms in the neurological, cutaneous, and musculoskeletal systems . Nervous System Disorders: Convulsions in patients with and without a history of convulsions or brain lesions.

Respiratory, Thoracic and Mediastinal Disorders : Acute respiratory distress syndrome, pulmonary edema Renal and Urinary System Disorders: In patients with pre-existing renal insufficiency: acute renal failure, renal impairment, blood creatinine increased…

🔄 Drug Interactions 11 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Specific drug interaction studies have not been conducted.

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Pregnancy: Use only if imaging is essential during pregnancy and cannot be delayed ( 8.1 ).

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary GBCAs cross the human placenta and result in fetal exposure and gadolinium retention. The human data on the association between GBCAs and adverse fetal outcomes are limited and inconclusive (see Data ) . In animal reproduction studies, no adverse fetal effects were observed with administration of gadodiamide to pregnant rats during organogenesis at doses 1.3 times the maximum human dose based on body surface area (see Data ) .

Because of the potential risks of gadolinium to the fetus, use OMNISCAN only if imaging is essential during pregnancy and cannot be delayed. The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population(s) are unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively. Data Human Data Contrast enhancement is visualized in the human placenta and fetal tissues after maternal GBCA administration. Cohort studies and case reports on exposure to GBCAs during pregnancy have not reported a clear association between GBCAs and adverse effects in the exposed neonates.

However, a retrospective cohort study, comparing pregnant women who had a GBCA MRI to pregnant women who did not have an MRI, reported a higher occurrence of stillbirths and neonatal deaths in the group receiving GBCA MRI. Limitations of this study include a lack of comparison with non-contrast MRI and lack of information about the maternal indication for MRI. Overall, these data preclude a reliable evaluation of the potential risk of adverse fetal outcomes with the use of GBCAs in pregnancy.

Animal Data Gadolinium Retention GBCAs administered to pregnant non-human primates (0.1 mmol/kg on gestational days 85 and 135) result in measurable gadolinium concentration in the offspring in bone, brain, skin, liver, kidney, and spleen for at least 7 months. GBCAs administered to pregnant mice (2 mmol/kg daily on gestational days 16 through 19) result in measurable gadolinium concentrations in the pups in bone, brain, kidney, liver, blood, muscle, and spleen at one-month postnatal age. Reproductive Toxicology Gadodiamide has been shown to have an adverse effect on embryo-fetal development in rabbits at dosages as low as 0.5 mmol/kg/day for 13 days during gestation (approximately 0.6 times the human dose based on a body surface area comparison).

These adverse effects are observed as an increased incidence of flexed appendages and skeletal malformations which may be due to maternal toxicity since the body weight of the dams was reduced in response to gadodiamide administration during pregnancy. In rat studies, fetal abnormalities were not observed at doses up to 2.5 mmol/kg/day for 10 days during gestation (1.3 times the maximum human dose based on a body surface area comparison); however, maternal toxicity was not achieved in these studies and a definitive conclusion about teratogenicity in rats at doses above 2.5 mmol/kg/day cannot be made.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of gadodiamide in human milk, the effects on the breastfed infant, or the effects on milk production. However, published lactation data on other GBCAs indicate that 0.01 to 0.04% of the maternal gadolinium dose is excreted in breast milk. Additionally, there is limited GBCA gastrointestinal absorption in the breast-fed infant.

Animal data show transfer of gadodiamide into rat milk (see Data ). The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the mother's clinical need for OMNISCAN and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed infant from OMNISCAN or from the underlying maternal condition. Data Gadodiamide is detected in the br…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary GBCAs cross the human placenta and result in fetal exposure and gadolinium retention. The human data on the association between GBCAs and adverse fetal outcomes are limited and inconclusive (see Data ) . In animal reproduction studies, no adverse fetal effects were observed with administration of gadodiamide to pregnant rats during organogenesis at doses 1.3 times the maximum human dose based on body surface area (see Data ) .

Because of the potential risks of gadolinium to the fetus, use OMNISCAN only if imaging is essential during pregnancy and cannot be delayed. The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population(s) are unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively. Data Human Data Contrast enhancement is visualized in the human placenta and fetal tissues after maternal GBCA administration. Cohort studies and case reports on exposure to GBCAs during pregnancy have not reported a clear association between GBCAs and adverse effects in the exposed neonates.

However, a retrospective cohort study, comparing pregnant women who had a GBCA MRI to pregnant women who did not have an MRI, reported a higher occurrence of stillbirths and neonatal deaths in the group receiving GBCA MRI. Limitations of this study include a lack of comparison with non-contrast MRI and lack of information about the maternal indication for MRI. Overall, these data preclude a reliable evaluation of the potential risk of adverse fetal outcomes with the use of GBCAs in pregnancy.

Animal Data Gadolinium Retention GBCAs administered to pregnant non-human primates (0.1 mmol/kg on gestational days 85 and 135) result in measurable gadolinium concentration in the offspring in bone, brain, skin, liver, kidney, and spleen for at least 7 months. GBCAs administered to pregnant mice (2 mmol/kg daily on gestational days 16 through 19) result in measurable gadolinium concentrations in the pups in bone, brain, kidney, liver, blood, muscle, and spleen at one-month postnatal age. Reproductive Toxicology Gadodiamide has been shown to have an adverse effect on embryo-fetal development in rabbits at dosages as low as 0.5 mmol/kg/day for 13 days during gestation (approximately 0.6 times the human dose based on a body surface area comparison).

These adverse effects are observed as an increased incidence of flexed appendages and skeletal malformations which may be due to maternal toxicity since the body weight of the dams was reduced in response to gadodiamide administration during pregnancy. In rat studies, fetal abnormalities were not observed at doses up to 2.5 mmol/kg/day for 10 days during gestation (1.3 times the maximum human dose based on a body surface area comparison); however, maternal toxicity was not achieved in these studies and a definitive conclusion about teratogenicity in rats at doses above 2.5 mmol/kg/day cannot be made.

🧒 Pediatric Use 125 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and efficacy of OMNISCAN at a single dose of 0.05 to 0.1 mmol/kg have been established in pediatric patients over 2 years of age based on adequate and well controlled studies of OMNISCAN in adults, a pediatric CNS imaging study, and safety data in the scientific literature. However, the safety and efficacy of doses greater than 0.1 mmol/kg and of repeated doses have not been studied in pediatric patients. Pharmacokinetics of OMNISCAN have not been studied in pediatrics.

The glomerular filtration rate of neonates and infants is much lower than that of adults. The pharmacokinetics volume of distribution is also different. Therefore, the optimal dosing regimen and imaging times in patients under 2 years of age have not been established.

🧓 Geriatric Use 159 words

8.5Geriatric Use In clinical studies of OMNISCAN, 243 patients were between 65 and 80 years of age while 15 were over 80 years of age. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these patients and younger patients. Other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in response between the elderly and younger patients, but greater sensitivity in the elderly cannot be ruled out.

In general, dose selection for an elderly patient should be cautious, usually starting at the low end of the dosing range, reflecting the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy. OMNISCAN is excreted by the kidney, and the risk of toxic reactions to OMNISCAN may be greater in patients with impaired renal function [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ]. Because elderly patients are more likely to have decreased renal function, select dose carefully and consider assessment of renal function before OMNISCAN use.

🆘 Overdosage 48 words

10 OVERDOSAGE Clinical consequences of overdose with OMNISCAN have not been reported. The minimum lethal dose of intravenously administered OMNISCAN in rats and mice is greater than 20 mmol/kg (200 times the recommended human dose of 0.1 mmol/kg; 67 times the cumulative 0.3 mmol/kg dose). OMNISCAN is dialyzable.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~2 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.2Pharmacodynamics In magnetic resonance imaging, visualization of normal and pathologic tissue depends in part on variations in the radiofrequency signal intensity. These variations occur due to: changes in proton density; alteration of the spin-lattice or longitudinal relaxation time (T 1 ); and variation of the spin-spin or transverse relaxation time (T 2 ). OMNISCAN is a paramagnetic agent with unpaired electron spins which generate a local magnetic field.

As water protons move through this local magnetic field, the changes in magnetic field experienced by the protons reorient them with the main magnetic field more quickly than in the absence of a paramagnetic agent. By increasing the relaxation rate, OMNISCAN decreases both the T 1 and T 2 relaxation times in tissues where it is distributed. At clinical doses, the effect is primarily on the T 1 relaxation time, and produces an increase in signal intensity.

Disruption of the blood-brain barrier or abnormal vascularity allows accumulation of OMNISCAN in lesions such as neoplasms, abscesses, and subacute infarcts. The pharmacokinetic parameters of OMNISCAN in various lesions are not known.

12.3Pharmacokinetics The pharmacokinetics of intravenously administered gadodiamide in normal subjects conforms to an open, two-compartment model with mean distribution and elimination half-lives (reported as mean ± SD) of 3.7 ± 2.7 minutes and 77.8 ± 16 minutes, respectively. Gadodiamide is eliminated primarily in the urine with 95.4 ± 5.5% (mean ± SD) of the administered dose eliminated by 24 hours. The renal and plasma clearance rates of gadodiamide are nearly identical (1.7 and 1.8 mL/min/kg, respectively), and are similar to that of substances excreted primarily by glomerular filtration.

The volume of distribution of gadodiamide (200 ± 61 mL/kg) is equivalent to that of extracellular water. Gadodiamide does not bind to human serum proteins in vitro. Following GBCA administration, gadolinium is present for months or years in brain, bone, skin, and other organs [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ].

Pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic studies have not been systematically conducted to determine the optimal dose and imaging time in patients with abnormal renal function or renal failure, in the elderly, or in pediatric patients with immature renal function.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 123 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING OMNISCAN (gadodiamide) Injection is a sterile, clear, colorless to slightly yellow, aqueous solution containing 287 mg/mL of gadodiamide in rubber stoppered vials. OMNISCAN is supplied in the following sizes: 10 mL vial, box of 10 (NDC 0407-0690-10) 15 mL fill in 20 mL vial, box of 10 (NDC 0407-0690-15) 20 mL vial, box of 10 (NDC 0407-0690-20) Protect OMNISCAN from strong daylight and direct exposure to sunlight. Do not freeze.

Freezing can cause small cracks in the vials, which would compromise the sterility of the product. Do not use if the product is inadvertently frozen. Store OMNISCAN at controlled room temperature 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F); excursions permitted to 15° to 30°C (59° to 86°F) [see USP].

📦 Storage and Handling 61 words

Protect OMNISCAN from strong daylight and direct exposure to sunlight. Do not freeze. Freezing can cause small cracks in the vials, which would compromise the sterility of the product. Do not use if the product is inadvertently frozen. Store OMNISCAN at controlled room temperature 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F); excursions permitted to 15° to 30°C (59° to 86°F) [see USP].

📋 Description 198 words

11 DESCRIPTION OMNISCAN (gadodiamide) Injection is the formulation of the gadolinium complex of diethylenetriamine pentaacetic acid bismethylamide, and is an injectable, nonionic extracellular enhancing agent for magnetic resonance imaging. OMNISCAN is administered by intravenous injection. OMNISCAN is provided as a sterile, clear, colorless to slightly yellow, aqueous solution.

Each 1 mL contains 287 mg gadodiamide and 12 mg caldiamide sodium in Water for Injection. The pH is adjusted between 5.5 and 7.0 with hydrochloric acid and/or sodium hydroxide. OMNISCAN contains no antimicrobial preservative.

OMNISCAN is a 0.5 mol/L solution of aqua[5,8-bis(carboxymethyl)-11-[2-(methylamino)-2-oxoethyl]-3-oxo-2,5,8,11-tetraazatridecan-13-oato (3-)-N 5 , N 8 , N 11 , O 3 , O 5 , O 8 , O 11 , O 13 ] gadolinium hydrate, with a molecular weight of 573.66 (anhydrous), an empirical formula of C 16 H 28 GdN 5 O 9 ∙xH 2 O, and the following structural formula: Pertinent physicochemical data for OMNISCAN are noted below: PARAMETER Osmolality (mOsmol/kg water) @ 37°C 789 Viscosity (cP) @ 20°C 2 @ 37°C

1.4 Density (g/mL) @ 25°C

1.14 Specific gravity @ 25°C

1.15OMNISCAN has an osmolality approximately 2.8 times that of plasma at 37°C and is hypertonic under conditions of use. Chemical Structure

💬 Information for Patients 210 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Medication Guide). Patients receiving OMNISCAN should be instructed to inform their physician if they: are pregnant or breast feeding, or have a history of renal and/or liver disease, convulsions, asthma or allergic respiratory disorders, or recent administration of gadolinium-based contrast. GBCAs increase the risk for NSF among patients with impaired elimination of the drugs.

To counsel patients at risk for NSF: Describe the clinical manifestations of NSF Describe procedures to screen for the detection of renal impairment Instruct the patients to contact their physician if they develop signs or symptoms of NSF following OMNISCAN administration such as burning, itching, swelling, scaling, hardening and tightening of the skin; red or dark patches on the skin; stiffness in joints with trouble moving, bending or straightening the arms, hands, legs or feet; pain deep in the hip bones or ribs; or muscle weakness.

Gadolinium Retention Advise patients that gadolinium is retained for months or years in brain, bone, skin, and other organs in patients with normal renal function. The clinical consequences of retention are unknown. Retention depends on multiple factors and is greater following administration of linear GBCAs than following administration of macrocyclic GBCAs [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ].

💬 Medication Guide ~3 min read

MEDICATION GUIDE OMNISCAN™ (OMNI-scan) (gadodiamide) Injection, for intravenous use This Medication Guide has been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Revised: 3/2025 What is the most important information I should know about OMNISCAN? GBCAs like OMNISCAN may cause serious side effects including death, coma, encephalopathy, and seizures when it is given intrathecally (injection given into the spinal canal).

It is not known if OMNISCAN is safe and effective with intrathecal use. OMNISCAN is not approved for this use. OMNISCAN contains a metal called gadolinium.

Small amounts of gadolinium can stay in your body including the brain, bones, skin and other parts of your body for a long time (several months to years). It is not known how gadolinium may affect you, so far, studies have not found harmful effects in patients with normal kidneys. Rarely, patients have reported pains, tiredness, and skin, muscle or bone ailments for a long time, but these symptoms have not been directly linked to gadolinium.

There are different GBCAs that can be used for your MRI exam. The amount of gadolinium that stays in the body is different for different gadolinium medicines. Gadolinium stays in the body more after Omniscan or Optimark than after Eovist, Magnevist, or MultiHance.

Gadolinium stays in the body the least after Dotarem, Gadavist, or ProHance. People who get many doses of gadolinium medicines, women who are pregnant and young children may be at increased risk from gadolinium staying in the body. Some people with kidney problems who get gadolinium medicines can develop a condition with severe thickening of the skin, muscles and other organs in the body (nephrogenic systemic fibrosis).

Your healthcare provider should screen you to see how well your kidneys are working before you receive OMNISCAN. What is OMNISCAN? OMNISCAN is a prescription medicine called a gadolinium-based contrast agent (GBCA).

OMNISCAN, like other GBCA medicines, is used with a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner. An MRI exam with a GBCA, including OMNISCAN, helps your doctor to see problems better than an MRI exam without a GBCA. Your doctor has reviewed your medical records and has determined that you would benefit from using a GBCA with your MRI exam.

Do not receive OMNISCAN if you have had a severe allergic reaction to OMNISCAN . Before receiving OMNISCAN, tell your healthcare provider about all your medical conditions, including if you: have had any MRI procedures in the past where you received a GBCA. Your healthcare provider may ask you for more information including the dates of these MRI procedures. are pregnant or plan to become pregnant.

It is not known if OMNISCAN can harm your unborn baby. Talk to your healthcare provider about the possible risks to an unborn baby if a GBCA such as OMNISCAN is received during pregnancy have kidney problems, diabetes, or high blood pressure. have had an allergic reaction to dyes (contrast agents) including GBCAs What are the possible side effects of OMNISCAN? See " What is the most important information I should know about OMNISCAN? " Allergic reactions.

OMNISCAN can cause allergic reactions that can sometimes be serious. Your healthcare provider will monitor you closely for symptoms of an allergic reaction. The most common side effects of OMNISCAN include: nausea, headache, and dizziness.

These are not all the possible side effects of OMNISCAN. Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects. You may report side effects to FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088.

General information about the safe and effective use of OMNISCAN. Medicines are sometimes prescribed for purposes other than those listed in a Medication Guide. You can ask your healthcare provider for information about OMNISCAN that is written for health professionals.

What are the ingredients in OMNISCAN? Active ingredient: gadodiamide Inactive ingredients: caldiamide sodium, hydrochloric acid, sodium hydroxide © 2025 GE HealthCare Distributed by GE Heal…

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.