HomeNDC LookupIngredientsPhytonadione › 16714-0973-02
Phytonadione 5 mg Tablet, 30-count — NDC 16714-0973-02 package photo

Phytonadione 5 mg Tablet, 30-count

by Northstar Rx LLC. · 1 BOTTLE in 1 CARTON (16714-973-02) / 30 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE
NDC 16714-0973-02
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 16714-973-02 billing pads the product segment with a zero
This package
Contains30-count Cost per ea$8.83 NADAC Per package$264.94 / 30 tablets Pack sizes2 compare ↓
Also priced by: Medicaid pays $14.81/unit — full pricing hub ↓
Also comes in: 100 tablets 16714-0973-01
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →
⚠️
Other active recalls for Phytonadione (different manufacturers) — 1 · tap to view
These affect other manufacturers’ products for the same ingredient — not necessarily the exact NDC on this page.
Class II · Oct 31, 2025 — Failed Stability Specifications: Observed OOS results: eg results for colour index (Cipla Limited) · FDA recall D-0197-2026
Each entry is an official FDA enforcement report — look up any recall number in the FDA recall database ↗

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 16714-973-02
Product NDC 16714-973
11-digit billing NDC 16714097302
NCPDP billing unit EA — each (per item)
RxCUI 198102
UNII A034SE7857
Application # ANDA210189
SPL Set ID 5429b58b-ec2b-4a18-95d9-a9d804321192
Established class (EPC) Vitamin K; Warfarin Reversal Agent
Physiologic effect Increased Prothrombin Activity; Reversed Anticoagulation Activity
Chemical class Vitamin K
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2022-03-22
Route ORAL
Dosage form TABLET
Substance PHYTONADIONE
GPI-14 77204030000305
GPI class Phytonadione
GCN Seq No 002305
GCN 94711
HICL code 001040
Ingredient (HICL) Phytonadione (Vit K1)
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C6
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Vitamins
HIC3 code C6K
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Vitamin K Preparations
AHFS code 88:24.00.00
AHFS class Vitamin K Activity
FDB label name PHYTONADIONE 5 MG TABLET
FDB brand name Phytonadione
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AB · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 16714-973-02 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 16714-0973-02. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Warfarin Reversal Agent class.

Pharmacologic class Warfarin Reversal Agent, Vitamin K
Drug family (ATC) Vitamin K
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerNorthstar Rx LLC.
Application holderZYDUS LIFESCIENCES GLOBAL FZE
FDA applicationANDA210189 (ANDA)
Labeler code16714
First marketedMar 2022
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio28 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name PHYTONADIONE 5 MG TABLET Ingredient Phytonadione (Vit K1)
📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Phytonadione (vitamin K) is used to prevent bleeding in people with blood clotting problems or too little vitamin K in the body. Phytonadione is in a class of medications called vitamins. It works by providing vitamin K that is needed for blood to clot normally in the body.

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Phytonadione is simply vitamin K1 — the same vitamin K your body uses to make clotting proteins in the liver. Your doctor has prescribed it because your blood isn't clotting proper...
  • What exactly is phytonadione, and why has my doctor prescribed it?
  • Phytonadione is not instant. If you're receiving it by injection into a vein, you may start to see improvement in your clotting levels within one to two hours, and bleeding is usua...
  • Yes — and this is important to understand. Phytonadione directly counteracts warfarin's blood-thinning effect, which is exactly why it's used when your INR is dangerously high. How...
📖 Read our full Phytonadione guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

💊 What it looks like

Color Yellow
ShapeRound
Imprint1014
Size7 mm
ScoringScored — splits in 2
One label can cover several strengths, so colors may be combined — always confirm a loose pill against the dispensed prescription label or a pharmacist.
Where does this data come from?
Physical description (imprint, shape, color, scoring, coating) from this product’s FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL), mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII OP1R32D61U
    Microcrystalline cellulose is a purified form of cellulose, a natural fiber from plant sources. It acts as a binder and filler in tablets and capsules, helping hold ingredients together and give the medicine its shape and size.
  • UNII M28OL1HH48
    Croscarmellose sodium is a plant-based substance derived from cellulose. It acts as a disintegrant, helping tablets and capsules break down quickly in the digestive system so the medicine can be absorbed.
  • UNII 5Y0974F5PW
    Hydroxypropyl cellulose is a plant-derived thickener and binder made by chemically treating cellulose. In medicines, it helps hold tablets together, thickens liquids, and can form a protective coating on capsules.
  • UNII EWQ57Q8I5X
    Lactose monohydrate is a natural sugar derived from milk. It serves as a filler and binder in tablets and capsules, helping create the proper size, texture, and consistency of the medicine.
  • UNII 70097M6I30
    Magnesium stearate is a salt made from magnesium and stearic acid, a fatty substance. It's used in tablets and capsules as a lubricant and glidant to help ingredients flow smoothly during manufacturing and prevent sticking.
  • UNII ETJ7Z6XBU4
    Silicon dioxide is a naturally occurring mineral used as a glidant and anti-caking agent. It helps powder ingredients flow smoothly and prevents clumping during manufacturing and storage.

6 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eaPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly $8.831 $264.94 / 30 tablets
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $14.81 $444.19 / 30 tablets
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
NADAC price history (per ea) — tap or hover for the price & month
Sep 2022 Feb 2026 May 2026 Aug 2026 $31.219 $8.831
▼ Down 72% over the last 10 months.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Phytonadione 5 mg 00904-6882-10 Major 20 tablets $8.831 AB Availability likely
Phytonadione 5 mgthis 16714-0973-02 Northstar 30 tablets $8.831 AB Availability likely
Phytonadione 5 mg 60687-0381-94 American 20 tablets $8.831 AB Availability likely
Phytonadione 5 mg 69097-0999-02 Cipla 30 tablets $8.831 AB Availability likely
Phytonadione 5 mg 70710-1014-01 Zydus 100 tablets $8.831 AB Availability likely
Phytonadione 5 mg 76282-0740-30 Exelan 30 tablets $8.831 AB Availability likely
Phytonadione 5 mg 42291-0566-30 AvKARE 30 tablets AB Discontinued
Phytonadione 5 mg 50228-0333-01 ScieGen 100 tablets AB FDA listed
Phytonadione 5 mg 67046-1581-03 Coupler 30 tablets AB FDA listed
Phytonadione 5 mg 69238-1051-01 Amneal 100 tablets AB FDA listed
Phytonadione 5 mg 70771-1318-01 Zydus 100 tablets AB FDA listed
Phytonadione 5 mg 72134-0008-01 Agnitio 100 tablets AB FDA listed
Phytonadione 5 mg 48433-0160-03 Safecor 30 tablets AB FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2022
On the market since
Mar 2022
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
4 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 16714-0973-02, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
281
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
6.8K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$100.3K
Avg / prescription
$356.93
Avg / unit
$14.8062
Latest quarter Q4 2025
50Rx
Medicaid pays / ea
$14.8062
gross reimbursed
vs
NADAC / ea
$8.8314
acquisition cost
=
Spread
+$5.9748
+68% vs cost
What Medicaid paid per ea (before rebates; includes the pharmacy’s dispensing fee) compared with NADAC — the average price pharmacies pay to buy the drug. A positive spread means Medicaid reimbursed more than the purchase price, before manufacturer rebates.
Fee-for-service vs managed care
35% FFS 65% MCO
Fee-for-service · 98 Rx Managed care · 183 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: no data reported MI New York: 527 units · 2.7 per 100k residents NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: 476 units · 3.8 per 100k residents IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: no data reported OH Pennsylvania: 514 units · 4.0 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: 254 units · 2.7 per 100k residents NJ Massachusetts: no data reported MA California: 1,598 units · 4.1 per 100k residents CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: no data reported MO Kentucky: no data reported KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: no data reported VA Maryland: no data reported MD Connecticut: no data reported CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: no data reported TN North Carolina: no data reported NC South Carolina: no data reported SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: no data reported LA Mississippi: no data reported MS Alabama: 435 units · 8.5 per 100k residents AL Georgia: no data reported GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: 2,970 units · 9.7 per 100k residents TX Florida: no data reported FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
2.79.7
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 Texas 9.7 /100k
2 Alabama 8.5 /100k
3 California 4.1 /100k
4 Pennsylvania 4.0 /100k
5 Illinois 3.8 /100k
6 New Jersey 2.7 /100k
7 New York 2.7 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

💊 Medicaid utilization by pack size

Medicaid (SDUD) totals over the four most recent reported quarters for every package size of this drug — handy when a specific package (e.g. a starter/titration pack) carries little or no Medicaid volume on its own.
100 tablets16714-0973-01 No Medicaid data
Drug total (last 4 qtrs): 281 Rx · 6,774 units · $100,297 gross reimbursed
Tap a pack size to open its page. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data, last 4 quarters.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Per unit Per pack Marketing startStatus
16714-0973-01 1 BOTTLE in 1 CARTON (16714-973-01) / 100 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE $31.22 / ea $3,121.94 2022-03-22 Discontinued by firm
16714-0973-02 You're viewing this 1 BOTTLE in 1 CARTON (16714-973-02) / 30 TABLET in 1 BOTTLE $8.83 / ea $264.94 2022-03-22 Active

This pack has the lowest per-ea cost of the 2 priced pack sizes ($8.83 NADAC).

In Medicaid, this is the most-dispensed pack of this product — about 100% of fills over the last four reported quarters. See all packs ↓

Pack size FAQ

What quantity is in NDC 16714-0973-02?
NDC 16714-0973-02 is a 30-count package — 1 bottle in 1 carton / 30 tablet in 1 bottle.
What is the difference between NDC 16714-0973-02 and NDC 16714-0973-01?
Both are Phytonadione 5 mg Tablet — the drug itself is identical. NDC 16714-0973-02 is the 30-count package, while NDC 16714-0973-01 is the 100 tablets package. Per-ea NADAC also differs: $8.83 here vs $31.22 for the 100 tablets pack.
What NDC number is used to bill for this package of Phytonadione 5 mg Tablet?
Bill NDC 16714-0973-02 — the 11-digit billing format is 16714097302. Pharmacy and medical claims use the 11-digit form; the FDA label may print a shorter form of the same code.

Prices are the latest CMS NADAC pharmacy acquisition cost per NDC; per-pack figures are per-unit × pack quantity, shown only when the pack is denominated in the same measure NADAC prices.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage ~1 min read

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Phytonadione is indicated for the treatment of adults with the following coagulation disorders which are due to faulty formation of factors II, VII, IX and X when caused by vitamin K deficiency or interference with vitamin K activity. anticoagulant-induced hypoprothrombinemia caused by coumarin or indanedione derivatives; hypoprothrombinemia secondary to antibacterial therapy; hypoprothrombinemia secondary to factors limiting absorption or synthesis of vitamin K, e.g., obstructive jaundice, biliary fistula, sprue, ulcerative colitis, celiac disease, intestinal resection, cystic fibrosis of the pancrease, and regional enteritis; Other drug-induced hypoprothrombinemia where it is definitely shown that the result is due to interference with vitamin K metabolism, e.g., salicylates.

Phytonadione is a vitamin K replacement indicated for the treatment of adults with the following coagulation disorders which are due to faulty formation of factors II, VII, IX and X when caused by vitamin K deficiency or interference with vitamin K activity: Anticoagulant-induced prothrombin deficiency caused by coumarin or indanedione derivatives; ( 1 ) Hypoprothrombinemia secondary to antibacterial therapy; ( 1 ) Hypoprothrombinemia secondary to factors limiting absorption or synthesis of vitamin K, e.g., obstructive jaundice, biliary fistula, sprue, ulcerative colitis, celiac disease, intestinal resection, cystic fibrosis of the pancreas, and regional enteritis; ( 1 ) Other drug-induced hypoprothrombinemia where it is definitively shown that the result is due to interference with vitamin K metabolism, e.g., salicylates.

( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~2 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Anticoagulant-Induced Prothrombin Deficiency: 2.5 mg to 10 mg or up to 25 mg ( 2.2 ) Hypoprothrombinemia Due to Other Causes: 2.5 mg to 25 mg or more ( 2.2 ) Must be given with bile salts when endogenous supply of bile to gastrointestinal track is deficient. ( 2.1 )

2.1Dosing Considerations Avoid the oral route when the clinical disorder would prevent proper absorption. Bile salts must be given with the tablets when the endogenous supply of bile to the gastrointestinal tract is deficient. The coagulant effects of phytonadione tablets are not immediate; improvement of international normalized ratio (INR) may take 1 to 8 hours.

Interim use of whole blood or component therapy may also be necessary if bleeding is severe. Phytonadione tablets will not counteract the anticoagulant action of heparin. When phytonadione tablets are used to correct excessive anticoagulant-induced hypoprothrombinemia, anticoagulant therapy still being indicated, the patient is again faced with the clotting hazards existing prior to starting the anticoagulant therapy.

Phytonadione is not a clotting agent, but overzealous therapy with vitamin K1 may restore conditions which originally permitted thromboembolic phenomena. Dosage should be kept as low as possible, and prothrombin time should be checked regularly as clinical conditions indicate.

2.2Recommended Dosage Anticoagulant-Induced Prothrombin Deficiency in Adults The recommended dose to correct excessively prolonged prothrombin times caused by oral anticoagulant therapy is, 2.5 to 10 mg or up to 25 mg initially. In some instances 50 mg may be required. Frequency and amount of subsequent doses should be determined by prothrombin time response or clinical condition.

If, in 12 to 48 hours after oral administration, the prothrombin time has not been shortened satisfactorily, repeat the dose. Repeated large doses of phytonadione tablets are not warranted in liver disease if the response to initial use of the vitamin is unsatisfactory. Failure to respond to phytonadione tablets may indicate a congenital coagulation defect or that the condition being treated is unresponsive to vitamin K.

Hypoprothrombinemia Due to Other Causes in Adults If possible, discontinuation or reduction of the dosage of drugs interfering with coagulation mechanisms (such as salicylates, antibiotics) is suggested as an alternative to administering concurrent phytonadione tablets. The severity of the coagulation disorder should determine whether the immediate administration of phytonadione tablets is required in addition to discontinuation or reduction of interfering drugs. The recommended dose is 2.5 mg to 25 mg or more (sometimes up to 50 mg).

Evaluate INR after 6 to 8 hours, and repeat dose if INR remains prolonged. Modify subsequent dosage (amount and frequency) based upon the INR or clinical condition.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 35 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Tablets: 5 mg, light yellow to yellow colored, round-shaped, uncoated tablets engraved with "10 14" on one side and break line on other side. Tablets: 5 mg ( 3 )

Contraindications 36 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Phytonadione tablets are contraindicated in patients with a history of a hypersensitivity reaction to phytonadione or inactive ingredients [see Description ( 11 )] . Hypersensitivity to any component of this medication. ( 4 )

🤒 Adverse Reactions 178 words

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following adverse reactions associated with the use of parenteral phytonadione were identified in clinical studies or postmarketing reports. Because some of these reactions were reported voluntarily from a population of uncertain size, it is not always possible to reliably estimate their frequency or establish a causal relationship to drug exposure. Severe hypersensitivity reactions, including anaphylactoid reactions and deaths, have been reported following parenteral administration.

The majority of these reported events occurred following intravenous administration. Transient "flushing sensations" and "peculiar" sensations of taste have been observed with parenteral phytonadione, as well as instances of dizziness, rapid and weak pulse, profuse sweating, brief hypotension, dyspnea, and cyanosis. Hyperbilirubinemia has been observed in the newborn following administration of parenteral phytonadione.

This has occurred primarily with doses above those recommended. Most common adverse reactions are transient "flushing sensations", "peculiar" sensations of taste and instances of dizziness, rapid and weak pulse, profuse sweating, brief hypotension, dyspnea, and cyanosis. ( 6 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Northstar Rx LLC at 1-800-206-7821 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch .

🔄 Drug Interactions 72 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Anticoagulants Phytonadione may induce temporary resistance to prothrombin-depressing anticoagulants, especially when larger doses of phytonadione are used. Should this occur, higher doses of anticoagulant therapy may be needed when resuming anticoagulant therapy, or a change in therapy to a different class of anticoagulant may be necessary (i.e., heparin sodium). Phytonadione does not affect the anticoagulant action of heparin.

Anticoagulants: May induce temporary resistance to prothrombin-depressing anticoagulants. ( 7 )

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~2 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies with the use of phytonadione during pregnancy have not reported a clear association with phytonadione and adverse developmental outcomes [see Data] . There are maternal and fetal risks associated with vitamin K deficiency during pregnancy [see Clinical Considerations] . Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with phytonadione.

The estimated background risk for the indicated population is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.

Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Pregnant women with vitamin K deficiency hypoprothrombinemia may be at increased risk for bleeding diatheses during pregnancy and hemorrhagic events at delivery. Subclinical vitamin K deficiency during pregnancy has been implicated in rare cases of fetal intracranial hemorrhage. Data Human Data Phytonadione has been measured in cord blood of infants whose mothers were treated with phytonadione during pregnancy in concentrations lower than seen in maternal plasma.

Administration of vitamin K 1 to pregnant women shortly before delivery increased both maternal and cord blood concentrations. Published data do not report a clear association with phytonadione and adverse maternal or fetal outcomes when used during pregnancy. However, these studies cannot definitively establish the absence of any risk because of methodologic limitations including small sample size and lack of blinding.

Animal Data In pregnant rats receiving vitamin K 1 orally, fetal plasma and liver concentrations increased following administration, supporting placental transfer.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary Phytonadione is present in breastmilk. There are no data on the effects of phytonadione on the breastfed child or on milk production. The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the clinical need for phytonadione and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed child from phytonadione or from the underlying maternal condition.

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established with phytonadione. Hemolysis, jaundice, and hyperbilirubinemia in newborns, particularly in premature infants, have been reported with vitamin K.

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical studies of phytonadione did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects. Other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger patients. In general, dose selection for an elderly patient should be cautious, usually starting at the low end of the dosing range, reflecting the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy.

🤰 Pregnancy ~1 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies with the use of phytonadione during pregnancy have not reported a clear association with phytonadione and adverse developmental outcomes [see Data] . There are maternal and fetal risks associated with vitamin K deficiency during pregnancy [see Clinical Considerations] . Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with phytonadione.

The estimated background risk for the indicated population is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.

Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Pregnant women with vitamin K deficiency hypoprothrombinemia may be at increased risk for bleeding diatheses during pregnancy and hemorrhagic events at delivery. Subclinical vitamin K deficiency during pregnancy has been implicated in rare cases of fetal intracranial hemorrhage. Data Human Data Phytonadione has been measured in cord blood of infants whose mothers were treated with phytonadione during pregnancy in concentrations lower than seen in maternal plasma.

Administration of vitamin K 1 to pregnant women shortly before delivery increased both maternal and cord blood concentrations. Published data do not report a clear association with phytonadione and adverse maternal or fetal outcomes when used during pregnancy. However, these studies cannot definitively establish the absence of any risk because of methodologic limitations including small sample size and lack of blinding.

Animal Data In pregnant rats receiving vitamin K 1 orally, fetal plasma and liver concentrations increased following administration, supporting placental transfer.

🧒 Pediatric Use 31 words

8.4Pediatric Use Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients have not been established with phytonadione. Hemolysis, jaundice, and hyperbilirubinemia in newborns, particularly in premature infants, have been reported with vitamin K.

🧓 Geriatric Use 83 words

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical studies of phytonadione did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects. Other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger patients. In general, dose selection for an elderly patient should be cautious, usually starting at the low end of the dosing range, reflecting the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~1 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Phytonadione tablets possess the same type and degree of activity as does naturally-occurring vitamin K, which is necessary for the production via the liver of active prothrombin (factor II), proconvertin (factor VII), plasma thromboplastin component (factor IX), and Stuart factor (factor X). The prothrombin test is sensitive to the levels of three of these four factors – II, VII, and X. Vitamin K is an essential cofactor for a microsomal enzyme that catalyzes the posttranslational carboxylation of multiple, specific, peptide-bound glutamic acid residues in inactive hepatic precursors of factors II, VII, IX, and X.

The resulting gamma-carboxyglutamic acid residues convert the precursors into active coagulation factors that are subsequently secreted by liver cells into the blood. In normal animals and humans, phytonadione is virtually devoid of pharmacodynamic activity. However, in animals and humans deficient in vitamin K, the pharmacological action of vitamin K is related to its normal physiological function, that is, to promote the hepatic biosynthesis of vitamin K-dependent clotting factors.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Phytonadione tablets generally exert their effect within 6 to 10 hours.

12.3Pharmacokinetics Absorption Oral phytonadione is adequately absorbed from the gastrointestinal tract only if bile salts are present. Distribution After absorption, phytonadione is initially concentrated in the liver, but the concentration declines rapidly. Very little vitamin K accumulates in tissues. Elimination Little is known about the metabolic fate of vitamin K. Almost no free unmetabolized vitamin K appears in bile or urine.

🧬 Mechanism of Action 166 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Phytonadione tablets possess the same type and degree of activity as does naturally-occurring vitamin K, which is necessary for the production via the liver of active prothrombin (factor II), proconvertin (factor VII), plasma thromboplastin component (factor IX), and Stuart factor (factor X). The prothrombin test is sensitive to the levels of three of these four factors – II, VII, and X. Vitamin K is an essential cofactor for a microsomal enzyme that catalyzes the posttranslational carboxylation of multiple, specific, peptide-bound glutamic acid residues in inactive hepatic precursors of factors II, VII, IX, and X.

The resulting gamma-carboxyglutamic acid residues convert the precursors into active coagulation factors that are subsequently secreted by liver cells into the blood. In normal animals and humans, phytonadione is virtually devoid of pharmacodynamic activity. However, in animals and humans deficient in vitamin K, the pharmacological action of vitamin K is related to its normal physiological function, that is, to promote the hepatic biosynthesis of vitamin K-dependent clotting factors.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 94 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Phytonadione Tablets USP, 5 mg are light yellow to yellow colored, round shaped, uncoated tablets engraved with "10 14" on one side and break line on other side and are supplied as follows: NDC 16714-973-01 in bottle of 100 tablets NDC 16714-973-02 in bottle of 30 tablets Storage Store at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F); excursions permitted to 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. Always protect phytonadione tablets from light. Store in tightly closed original container and carton until contents have been used.

📋 Description 98 words

11 DESCRIPTION Phytonadione, USP is a vitamin K replacement, which is a clear, yellow to amber, viscous, and nearly odorless liquid. It is soluble in dehydrated alcohol, in benzene, in chloroform, in ether and slightly soluble in alcohol. It has a molecular weight of 450.7.

Phytonadione is 2-methyl-3-phytyl-1, 4-naphthoquinone. Its molecular formula is C 31 H 46 O 2 and its structural formula is: Each uncoated phytonadione tablet, USP for oral administration contains 5 mg of phytonadione, USP and contains following inactive ingredients: croscarmellose sodium, colloidal silicon dioxide, hydroxypropyl cellulose, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate and microcrystalline cellulose. Image

💬 Information for Patients 73 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Vitamin K 1 is fairly rapidly degraded by light; therefore, advise patients to always protect phytonadione tablets from light. Store phytonadione tablets in closed original carton until contents have been used [see How Supplied/Storage and Handling ( 16 ) ]. Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects.

You may report side effects to FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088. Please address medical inquiries to, Northstar Rx LLC at Tel.: 1-800-206-7821.

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.