HomeNDC LookupIngredientsAbacavir › 31722-0562-24
Abacavir 20 mg/mL Solution, 240 mL — NDC 31722-0562-24 package photo

Abacavir 20 mg/mL Solution, 240 mL

by Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · 240 mL in 1 BOTTLE (31722-562-24)
NDC 31722-0562-24
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 31722-562-24 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Aug 27, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 31722-562-24
Product NDC 31722-562
11-digit billing NDC 31722056224
RxCUI 242680
UNII J220T4J9Q2
UPC 0331722562249
Application # ANDA201107
SPL Set ID e5cbf204-c10d-444b-aba0-180a30645d55
Established class (EPC) Human Immunodeficiency Virus Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor
Mechanism of action Cytochrome P450 1A1 Inhibitors; Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2016-09-26
Route ORAL
Dosage form SOLUTION
Substance ABACAVIR SULFATE
GCN Seq No 040965
GCN 94678
HICL code 018857
Ingredient (HICL) Abacavir Sulfate
HIC1 code W
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Anti-Infecting Agents
HIC2 code W5
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antiviral Agents
HIC3 code W5J
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Antivirals, Hiv-Specific, Nucleoside Analog, Rti
AHFS code 08:18.08.20
AHFS class Hiv Nucleoside, Nucleotide Rt Inhibitors
FDB label name ABACAVIR 20 MG/ML SOLUTION
FDB brand name Abacavir
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AA · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 31722-562-24 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 31722-0562-24. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Human Immunodeficiency Virus Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor class.

Pharmacologic class Human Immunodeficiency Virus Nucleoside Analog Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitor
Drug family (ATC) Nucleoside and nucleotide reverse transcriptase inhibitors
How it works Nucleoside Reverse Transcriptase Inhibitors, Cytochrome P450 1A1 Inhibitors
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerCamber Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Application holderHETERO LABS LTD UNIT III
FDA applicationANDA201107 (ANDA)
Labeler code31722
First marketedSep 2016
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio603 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name ABACAVIR 20 MG/ML SOLUTION Ingredient Abacavir Sulfate
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Abacavir works by blocking a key step HIV uses to copy itself inside your cells. But HIV is clever — if you use just one medicine, the virus can mutate and find a workaround. Using...
  • What exactly does abacavir do, and why do I have to take it with other HIV medicines?
  • Yes, and this one is really important. Before you start abacavir, your doctor will test you for a gene variant called HLA-B*5701. People who carry this variant are at much higher r...
  • I heard there's a genetic test I need before starting — what is that about?
📖 Read our full Abacavir guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII XF417D3PSL
    Anhydrous citric acid is a sour, crystalline powder derived from citric acid with water removed. In medicines, it acts as a buffer to control pH, adds tartness to improve taste, and helps tablets disintegrate.
  • UNII 4AJZ4765R9
    A flavoring agent derived from bananas that gives medicine a banana taste. It's added to make oral medications more palatable, especially for children.
  • UNII A2I8C7HI9T
    Methylparaben is a preservative derived from benzoic acid that prevents growth of bacteria, fungi, and mold in medicines. It extends the product's shelf life and maintains safety during storage.
  • UNII 6DC9Q167V3
    Propylene glycol is a clear liquid derived from petroleum or vegetable sources. It acts as a solvent, humectant, and preservative in medicines, helping dissolve active ingredients and maintain product stability.
  • UNII Z8IX2SC1OH
    Propylparaben is a chemical preservative used to prevent bacterial and fungal growth in medicines and personal care products. It helps extend shelf life and maintain product safety during storage.
  • UNII SB8ZUX40TY
    Saccharin sodium is an artificial sweetener made from saccharin salt. It's added to medicines to improve taste, especially in liquid formulations for children or bitter drugs.
  • UNII 506T60A25R
    Sorbitol is a natural sugar alcohol derived from glucose. It serves as a sweetener, humectant, and bulking agent in medications to improve taste and help maintain moisture in the product.
  • UNII 4J2TY8Y81V
    A natural flavoring derived from strawberries that gives the medicine its strawberry taste and smell. It helps make the medicine more pleasant to take, especially for children.
  • UNII B22547B95K
    A salt derived from citric acid that helps maintain the proper acid-base balance in the medicine. It's used as a buffer to keep the product stable and at the right pH level.
  • UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.

10 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $0.4369 $104.86 / 240 ml
Medicare drug plans payPart D · Q2 2026 $0.4577 $109.85 / 240 ml
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Abacavir 20 mg/mLthis 31722-0562-24 Camber 240 ml AA FDA listed
Ziagen 20 mg/mL 49702-0222-48 ViiV 1 bottle AA FDA listed
Abacavir 20 mg/mL 64980-0405-24 Rising 1 bottle AA FDA listed
Abacavir 20 mg/mL 65862-0089-24 Aurobindo 1 bottle AA FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2016
On the market since
Sep 2016
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
10 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 31722-0562-24, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
87
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
34.4K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$15K
Avg / prescription
$172.85
Avg / unit
$0.4369
Latest quarter Q4 2025
0Rx
Fee-for-service vs managed care
44% FFS 56% MCO
Fee-for-service · 38 Rx Managed care · 49 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: 3,660 units · 36.5 per 100k residents MI New York: 9,870 units · 50.4 per 100k residents NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: 6,900 units · 55.0 per 100k residents IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: no data reported OH Pennsylvania: 3,598 units · 27.8 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: 4,740 units · 51.0 per 100k residents NJ Massachusetts: no data reported MA California: no data reported CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: no data reported MO Kentucky: no data reported KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: no data reported VA Maryland: no data reported MD Connecticut: no data reported CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: no data reported TN North Carolina: no data reported NC South Carolina: no data reported SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: no data reported LA Mississippi: no data reported MS Alabama: no data reported AL Georgia: no data reported GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: 5,652 units · 18.5 per 100k residents TX Florida: no data reported FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
18.555.0
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 Illinois 55.0 /100k
2 New Jersey 51.0 /100k
3 New York 50.4 /100k
4 Michigan 36.5 /100k
5 Pennsylvania 27.8 /100k
6 Texas 18.5 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

📊 Medicare Part D spend CMS · PART D · 2026 (Q1)

Medicare Part D (outpatient prescription) spending for Abacavir — the program that covers self-administered drugs. 5 manufacturers.
⚠️ Drug-level data: CMS publishes Part D spending by drug, not by NDC — these figures combine every manufacturer, strength and package size sold under the name Abacavir. That’s a different level of aggregation than the Medicaid card above, which is specific to this exact 11-digit NDC (pack size included), so the two aren’t directly comparable.
Period
Total Part D spend
$409.2K
Claims incl. refills
2.8K
Beneficiaries
1.2K
Spend / beneficiary
$331.90
Spend / claim
$148.38
Trend by period
💵 About the dollar figures: spending is what Part D plans paid before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower. A blank patient count means fewer than 11 people — CMS hides counts that small to protect privacy. Source: CMS Medicare Quarterly Part D Spending by Drug (data.cms.gov), updated quarterly.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
31722-0562-24 You're viewing this 240 mL in 1 BOTTLE (31722-562-24) 2016-09-26 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) ✓ Available
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 31722-562-24, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 31722-0562-24, written without dashes as 31722056224. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 31722-0562-24, the first segment (31722) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; the middle segment (0562) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (24) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc.. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning ~2 min read

WARNING: HYPERSENSITIVITY REACTIONS Serious and sometimes fatal hypersensitivity reactions, with multiple organ involvement, have occurred with abacavir. Patients who carry the HLA-B*5701 allele are at a higher risk of a hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir; although, hypersensitivity reactions have occurred in patients who do not carry the HLA-B*5701 allele [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. Abacavir is contraindicated in patients with a prior hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir and in HLA-B*5701-positive patients [see Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )].

All patients should be screened for the HLA-B*5701 allele prior to initiating therapy with abacavir or reinitiation of therapy with abacavir, unless patients have a previously documented HLA-B*5701 allele assessment. Discontinue abacavir immediately if a hypersensitivity reaction is suspected, regardless of HLA-B*5701 status and even when other diagnoses are possible [see Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. Following a hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir, NEVER restart abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing product because more severe symptoms, including death can occur within hours.

Similar severe reactions have also occurred rarely following the reintroduction of abacavir-containing products in patients who have no history of abacavir hypersensitivity [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. WARNING: HYPERSENSITIVITY REACTIONS See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning. • Serious and sometimes fatal hypersensitivity reactions have occurred with abacavir. ( 5.1 ) • Hypersensitivity to abacavir is a multi-organ clinical syndrome.

( 5.1 ) • Patients who carry the HLA-B*5701 allele are at a higher risk of experiencing a hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir. ( 5.1 ) • Abacavir is contraindicated in patients with a prior hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir and in HLA-B*5701- positive patients. ( 4 ) • Discontinue abacavir as soon as a hypersensitivity reaction is suspected.

Regardless of HLA-B*5701 status, permanently discontinue abacavir if hypersensitivity cannot be ruled out, even when other diagnoses are possible. ( 5.1 ) • Following a hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir, NEVER restart abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing product. ( 5.1 )

🎯 Indications and Usage 54 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Abacavir oral solution, in combination with other antiretroviral agents, is indicated for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV-1) infection. Abacavir oral solution, a nucleoside analogue human immunodeficiency virus (HIV-1) reverse transcriptase inhibitor, is indicated in combination with other antiretroviral agents for the treatment of HIV-1 infection. ( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~2 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION • Before initiating abacavir, screen for the HLA-B*5701 allele. ( 2.1 ) • Adults: 600 mg daily, administered as either 300 mg twice daily or 600 mg once daily. ( 2.2 ) • Pediatric Patients Aged 3 Months and Older: Administered either once or twice daily.

Dose should be calculated on body weight (kg) and should not exceed 600 mg daily. ( 2.3 ) • Patients with Hepatic Impairment: Mild hepatic impairment - 200 mg twice daily. ( 2.4 )

2.1Screening for HLA-B*5701 Allele prior to Starting Abacavir Screen for the HLA-B*5701 allele prior to initiating therapy with abacavir [see Boxed Warning, Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )].

2.2Recommended Dosage for Adult Patients The recommended dosage of abacavir for adults is 600 mg daily, administered orally as either 300 mg twice daily or 600 mg once daily, in combination with other antiretroviral agents.

2.3Recommended Dosage for Pediatric Patients The recommended dosage of abacavir oral solution in HIV-1-infected pediatric patients aged 3 months and older is 8 mg per kg orally twice daily or 16 mg per kg orally once daily (up to a maximum of 600 mg daily) in combination with other antiretroviral agents. Abacavir is also available as a scored tablet for HIV-1-infected pediatric patients weighing greater than or equal to 14 kg for whom a solid dosage form is appropriate. Before prescribing abacavir tablets, children should be assessed for the ability to swallow tablets.

If a child is unable to reliably swallow abacavir tablets, the oral solution formulation should be prescribed. The recommended oral dosage of abacavir tablets for HIV-1-infected pediatric patients is presented in Table 1. Table 1.

Dosing Recommendations for Abacavir Scored Tablets in Pediatric Patients Weight (Kg) Once-Daily Dosing Regimen a Twice-Daily Dosing Regimen AM Dose PM Dose Total Daily Dose 14 to <20 1 tablet (300 mg) ½ tablet (150 mg) ½ tablet (150 mg) 300 mg ≥20 to <25 1½ tablets (450 mg) ½ tablet (150 mg) 1 tablet (300 mg) 450 mg ≥25 2 tablets (600 mg) 1 tablet (300 mg) 1 tablet (300 mg) 600 mg a Data regarding the efficacy of once-daily dosing is limited to subjects who transitioned from twice-daily dosing to once-daily dosing after 36 weeks of treatment [see Clinical Studies ( 14.2) ].

2.4Recommended Dosage for Patients with Hepatic Impairment The recommended dose of abacavir in patients with mild hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh Class A) is 200 mg twice daily. To enable dose reduction, abacavir oral solution (10 mL twice daily) should be used for the treatment of these patients. The safety, efficacy, and pharmacokinetic properties of abacavir have not been established in patients with moderate to severe hepatic impairment; therefore, abacavir is contraindicated in these patients.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 45 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Abacavir Oral Solution, USP contains 20 mg per mL of abacavir as abacavir sulfate, USP. The solution is clear yellowish, strawberry-banana flavored liquid filled in 250 cc HDPE opaque bottles. • Oral Solution: 20 mg per mL ( 3 )

Contraindications 77 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Abacavir oral solution is contraindicated in patients: • who have the HLA-B*5701 allele [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. • with prior hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. • with moderate or severe hepatic impairment [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.6 )]. • Presence of HLA-B*5701 allele. ( 4 ) • Prior hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir. ( 4 ) • Moderate or severe hepatic impairment.

( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~2 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS • Lactic acidosis and severe hepatomegaly with steatosis, including fatal cases, have been reported with the use of nucleoside analogues. ( 5.2) • Immune reconstitution syndrome has been reported in patients treated with combination antiretroviral therapy. ( 5.3 )

5.1Hypersensitivity Reactions Serious and sometimes fatal hypersensitivity reactions have occurred with abacavir. These hypersensitivity reactions have included multi-organ failure and anaphylaxis and typically occurred within the first 6 weeks of treatment with abacavir (median time to onset was 9 days); although abacavir hypersensitivity reactions have occurred any time during treatment [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )]. Patients who carry the HLA-B*5701 allele are at a higher risk of abacavir hypersensitivity reactions; although, patients who do not carry the HLA-B*5701 allele have developed hypersensitivity reactions.

Hypersensitivity to abacavir was reported in approximately 206 (8%) of 2,670 patients in 9 clinical trials with abacavir-containing products where HLA-B*5701 screening was not performed. The incidence of suspected abacavir hypersensitivity reactions in clinical trials was 1% when subjects carrying the HLA-B*5701 allele were excluded. In any patient treated with abacavir, the clinical diagnosis of hypersensitivity reaction must remain the basis of clinical decision making.

Due to the potential for severe, serious, and possibly fatal hypersensitivity reactions with abacavir: • All patients should be screened for the HLA-B*5701 allele prior to initiating therapy with abacavir or reinitiation of therapy with abacavir, unless patients have a previously documented HLA-B*5701 allele assessment. • Abacavir is contraindicated in patients with a prior hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir and in HLA-B*5701-positive patients. • Before starting abacavir, review medical history for prior exposure to any abacavir-containing product.

NEVER restart abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing product following a hypersensitivity reaction to abacavir, regardless of HLA-B*5701 status. • To reduce the risk of a life-threatening hypersensitivity reaction, regardless of HLA-B*5701 status, discontinue abacavir immediately if a hypersensitivity reaction is suspected, even when other diagnoses are possible (e.g., acute onset respiratory diseases such as pneumonia, bronchitis, pharyngitis, or influenza; gastroenteritis; or reactions to other medications). • If a hypersensitivity reaction cannot be ruled out, do not restart abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing products because more severe symptoms which may include life-threatening hypotension and death, can occur within hours. • If a hypersensitivity reaction is ruled out, patients may restart abacavir.

Rarely, patients who have stopped abacavir for reasons other than symptoms of hypersensitivity have also experienced life-threatening reactions within hours of reinitiating abacavir therapy. Therefore, reintroduction of abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing product is recommended only if medical care can be readily accessed. • A Medication Guide and Warning Card that provide information about recognition of hypersensitivity reactions should be dispensed with each new prescription and refill.

5.2Lactic Acidosis and Severe Hepatomegaly with Steatosis Lactic acidosis and severe hepatomegaly with steatosis, including fatal cases, have been reported with the use of nucleoside analogues, including abacavir oral solution. A majority of these cases have been in women. Female sex and obesity may be risk factors for the development of lactic acidosis and severe hepatomegaly with steatosis in patients treated with antiretroviral nucleoside analogues.

Treatment with abacavir oral solution should be suspended in any patient who develops clinical or laboratory findings suggestive of lactic acidosis or pronounced hepatotoxicity, which may include hepatomegaly and st…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following adverse reactions are discussed in other sections of the labeling: • Serious and sometimes fatal hypersensitivity reactions [see Boxed Warning, Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )]. • Lactic acidosis and severe hepatomegaly with steatosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )]. • Immune reconstitution syndrome [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )]. • Myocardial infarction [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )]. • The most commonly reported adverse reactions of at least moderate intensity (incidence greater than or equal to 10%) in adult HIV-1 clinical trials were nausea, headache, malaise and fatigue, nausea and vomiting, and dreams/sleep disorders.

( 6.1 ) • The most commonly reported adverse reactions of at least moderate intensity (incidence greater than or equal to 5%) in pediatric HIV-1 clinical trials were fever and/or chills, nausea and vomiting, skin rashes, and ear/nose/throat infections. ( 6.2 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Hetero Labs Limited at 1-866-495-1995 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch .

6.1Clinical Trials Experience in Adult Subjects Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared with rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in clinical practice. Serious and Fatal Abacavir-Associated Hypersensitivity Reactions In clinical trials, serious and sometimes fatal hypersensitivity reactions have occurred with abacavir [see Boxed Warning, Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1) ].

These reactions have been characterized by 2 or more of the following signs or symptoms: (1) fever; (2) rash; (3) gastrointestinal symptoms (including nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, or abdominal pain); (4) constitutional symptoms (including generalized malaise, fatigue, or achiness); (5) respiratory symptoms (including dyspnea, cough, or pharyngitis). Almost all abacavir hypersensitivity reactions include fever and/or rash as part of the syndrome. Other signs and symptoms have included lethargy, headache, myalgia, edema, arthralgia, and paresthesia.

Anaphylaxis, liver failure, renal failure, hypotension, adult respiratory distress syndrome, respiratory failure, myolysis, and death have occurred in association with these hypersensitivity reactions. Physical findings have included lymphadenopathy, mucous membrane lesions (conjunctivitis and mouth ulcerations), and maculopapular or urticarial rash (although some patients had other types of rashes and others did not have a rash). There were reports of erythema multiforme.

Laboratory abnormalities included elevated liver chemistries, elevated creatine phosphokinase, elevated creatinine, and lymphopenia, and abnormal chest x-ray findings (predominantly infiltrates, which were localized). Additional Adverse Reactions with Use of Abacavir Therapy-Naive Adults: Treatment-emergent clinical adverse reactions (rated by the investigator as moderate or severe) with a greater than or equal to 5% frequency during therapy with abacavir 300 mg twice daily, lamivudine 150 mg twice daily, and efavirenz 600 mg daily compared with zidovudine 300 mg twice daily, lamivudine 150 mg twice daily, and efavirenz 600 mg daily from CNA30024 are listed in Table 2.

Table 2. Treatment-Emergent (All Causality) Adverse Reactions of at Least Moderate Intensity (Grades 2 to 4, Greater than or Equal to 5% Frequency) in Therapy-Naive Adults (CNA30024a) through 48 Weeks of Treatment Adverse Reaction Abacavir plus Lamivudine plus Efavirenz (n = 324) Zidovudine plus Lamivudine plus Efavirenz (n = 325) Dreams/sleep disorders 10% 10% Drug hypersensitivity 9% <1%b Headaches/migraine 7% 11% Nausea 7% 11% Fatigue/malaise 7% 10% Diarrhea 7% 6% Rashes 6% 12% Abdominal pain/gastritis/gastrointestinal signs and symptoms 6% 8% Depressive disorders 6% 6% Dizziness 6% 6% Musculoskeletal pain 6% 5% Bronchitis 4% 5% Vomiting 2% 9% a…

🔄 Drug Interactions 138 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS • Methadone: An increased methadone dose may be required in a small number of patients. ( 7.1 ) • Riociguat: The riociguat dose may need to be reduced. ( 7.2 )

7.1Methadone In a trial of 11 HIV-1-infected subjects receiving methadone-maintenance therapy with 600 mg of abacavir twice daily (twice the currently recommended dose), oral methadone clearance increased [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )]. This alteration will not result in a methadone dose modification in the majority of patients; however, an increased methadone dose may be required in a small number of patients.

7.2Riociguat Coadministration with fixed-dose abacavir/dolutegravir/lamivudine resulted in increased riociguat exposure, which may increase the risk of riociguat adverse reactions [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )]. The riociguat dose may need to be reduced. See full prescribing information for ADEMPAS (riociguat).

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS • Lactation: Women infected with HIV should be instructed not to breastfeed due to potential for HIV transmission. ( 8.2 )

8.1Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to abacavir during pregnancy. Healthcare Providers are encouraged to register patients by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at 1-800-258-4263. Risk Summary Available data from the APR show no difference in the overall risk of birth defects for abacavir compared with the background rate for birth defects of 2.7% in the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) reference population (see Data) .

The APR uses the MACDP as the U.S. reference population for birth defects in the general population. The MACDP evaluates women and infants from a limited geographic area and does not include outcomes for births that occurred at less than 20 weeks' gestation. The rate of miscarriage is not reported in the APR.

The estimated background rate of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies in the U.S. general population is 15% to 20%. The background risk for major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. In animal reproduction studies, oral administration of abacavir to pregnant rats during organogenesis resulted in fetal malformations and other embryonic and fetal toxicities at exposures 35 times the human exposure (AUC) at the recommended clinical daily dose.

However, no adverse developmental effects were observed following oral administration of abacavir to pregnant rabbits during organogenesis, at exposures approximately 9 times the human exposure (AUC) at the recommended clinical dose (see Data). Data Human Data: Based on prospective reports to the APR of exposures to abacavir during pregnancy resulting in live births (including over 1,300 exposed in the first trimester and over 1,300 exposed in second/third trimester), there was no difference between the overall risk of birth defects for abacavir compared with the background birth defect rate of 2.7% in the U.S. reference population of the MACDP.

The prevalence of defects in live births was 3.2% (95% CI: 2.3% to 4.3%) following first trimester exposure to abacavir-containing regimens and 2.9% (95% CI: 2.1% to 4.0%) following second/third trimester exposure to abacavir-containing regimens. Abacavir has been shown to cross the placenta and concentrations in neonatal plasma at birth were essentially equal to those in maternal plasma at delivery [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )]. Animal Data: Abacavir was administered orally to pregnant rats (at 100, 300, and 1,000 mg per kg per day) and rabbits (at 125, 350, or 700 mg per kg per day) during organogenesis (on Gestation Days 6 through 17 and 6 through 20, respectively).

Fetal malformations (increased incidences of fetal anasarca and skeletal malformations) or developmental toxicity (decreased fetal body weight and crown-rump length) were observed in rats at doses up to 1,000 mg per kg per day, resulting in exposures approximately 35 times the human exposure (AUC) at the recommended daily dose. No developmental effects were observed in rats at 100 mg per kg per day, resulting in exposures (AUC) 3.5 times the human exposure at the recommended daily dose. In a fertility and early embryo-fetal development study conducted in rats (at 60, 160, or 500 mg per kg per day), embryonic and fetal toxicities (increased resorptions, decreased fetal body weights) or toxicities to the offspring (increased incidence of stillbirth and lower body weights) occurred at doses up to 500 mg per kg per day.

No developmental effects were observed in rats at 60 mg per kg per day, resulting in exposures (AUC) approximately 4 times the human exposure at the recommended daily dose. Studies in pregnant rats showed that abacavir is transferred to the fetus through the placenta. In pregnant rabbits, no developmental toxicities a…

🤰 Pregnancy ~3 min read

8.1Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to abacavir during pregnancy. Healthcare Providers are encouraged to register patients by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at 1-800-258-4263. Risk Summary Available data from the APR show no difference in the overall risk of birth defects for abacavir compared with the background rate for birth defects of 2.7% in the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) reference population (see Data) .

The APR uses the MACDP as the U.S. reference population for birth defects in the general population. The MACDP evaluates women and infants from a limited geographic area and does not include outcomes for births that occurred at less than 20 weeks' gestation. The rate of miscarriage is not reported in the APR.

The estimated background rate of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies in the U.S. general population is 15% to 20%. The background risk for major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. In animal reproduction studies, oral administration of abacavir to pregnant rats during organogenesis resulted in fetal malformations and other embryonic and fetal toxicities at exposures 35 times the human exposure (AUC) at the recommended clinical daily dose.

However, no adverse developmental effects were observed following oral administration of abacavir to pregnant rabbits during organogenesis, at exposures approximately 9 times the human exposure (AUC) at the recommended clinical dose (see Data). Data Human Data: Based on prospective reports to the APR of exposures to abacavir during pregnancy resulting in live births (including over 1,300 exposed in the first trimester and over 1,300 exposed in second/third trimester), there was no difference between the overall risk of birth defects for abacavir compared with the background birth defect rate of 2.7% in the U.S. reference population of the MACDP.

The prevalence of defects in live births was 3.2% (95% CI: 2.3% to 4.3%) following first trimester exposure to abacavir-containing regimens and 2.9% (95% CI: 2.1% to 4.0%) following second/third trimester exposure to abacavir-containing regimens. Abacavir has been shown to cross the placenta and concentrations in neonatal plasma at birth were essentially equal to those in maternal plasma at delivery [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )]. Animal Data: Abacavir was administered orally to pregnant rats (at 100, 300, and 1,000 mg per kg per day) and rabbits (at 125, 350, or 700 mg per kg per day) during organogenesis (on Gestation Days 6 through 17 and 6 through 20, respectively).

Fetal malformations (increased incidences of fetal anasarca and skeletal malformations) or developmental toxicity (decreased fetal body weight and crown-rump length) were observed in rats at doses up to 1,000 mg per kg per day, resulting in exposures approximately 35 times the human exposure (AUC) at the recommended daily dose. No developmental effects were observed in rats at 100 mg per kg per day, resulting in exposures (AUC) 3.5 times the human exposure at the recommended daily dose. In a fertility and early embryo-fetal development study conducted in rats (at 60, 160, or 500 mg per kg per day), embryonic and fetal toxicities (increased resorptions, decreased fetal body weights) or toxicities to the offspring (increased incidence of stillbirth and lower body weights) occurred at doses up to 500 mg per kg per day.

No developmental effects were observed in rats at 60 mg per kg per day, resulting in exposures (AUC) approximately 4 times the human exposure at the recommended daily dose. Studies in pregnant rats showed that abacavir is transferred to the fetus through the placenta. In pregnant rabbits, no developmental toxicities and no increases in fetal malformations occurred at up to the highest dose evaluated, resulting in exposures (AUC) approximately 9 times the human exposur…

🧒 Pediatric Use 64 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of abacavir have been established in pediatric patients aged 3 months and older. Use of abacavir is supported by pharmacokinetic trials and evidence from adequate and well-controlled trials of abacavir in adults and pediatric subjects [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.3 ), Adverse Reactions ( 6.2 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 ), Clinical Studies ( 14.2 )].

🧓 Geriatric Use 60 words

8.5Geriatric Use Clinical trials of abacavir did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects. In general, caution should be exercised in the administration of abacavir in elderly patients reflecting the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function, and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy.

🆘 Overdosage 41 words

10 OVERDOSAGE There is no known specific treatment for overdose with abacavir. If overdose occurs, the patient should be monitored and standard supportive treatment applied as required. It is not known whether abacavir can be removed by peritoneal dialysis or hemodialysis.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Abacavir is an antiretroviral agent [see Microbiology ( 12.4 )].

12.3Pharmacokinetics Pharmacokinetics in Adults The pharmacokinetic properties of abacavir were independent of dose over the range of 300 to 1,200 mg per day. Absorption: Following oral administration, abacavir is rapidly absorbed and extensively distributed. The geometric mean absolute bioavailability of the tablet was 83%.

Plasma abacavir AUC was similar following administration of the oral solution or tablets. After oral administration of 300 mg twice daily in 20 subjects, the steady-state peak serum abacavir concentration (C max ) was 3 ± 0.89 mcg per mL (mean ± SD) and AUC (0 to 12 h) was 6.02 ± 1.73 mcg•hour per mL. After oral administration of a single dose of 600 mg of abacavir in 20 subjects, C max was 4.26 ± 1.19 mcg per mL (mean ± SD) and AUC ∞ was 11.95 ± 2.51 mcg•hour per mL.

Effect of Food: Bioavailability of abacavir tablets was assessed in the fasting and fed states with no significant difference in systemic exposure (AUC ∞ ); therefore, abacavir tablets may be administered with or without food. Systemic exposure to abacavir was comparable after administration of abacavir oral solution and abacavir tablets. Therefore, these products may be used interchangeably.

Distribution: The apparent volume of distribution after IV administration of abacavir was 0.86 ±

0.15L per kg, suggesting that abacavir distributes into extravascular space. In 3 subjects, the CSF AUC (0 to 6 h) to plasma abacavir AUC (0 to 6 h) ratio ranged from 27% to 33%. Binding of abacavir to human plasma proteins is approximately 50% and was independent of concentration.

Total blood and plasma drug-related radioactivity concentrations are identical, demonstrating that abacavir readily distributes into erythrocytes. Elimination: In single-dose trials, the observed elimination half-life (t ½ ) was 1.54 ± 0.63 hours. After intravenous administration, total clearance was 0.80 ±

0.24L per hour per kg (mean ± SD). Metabolism: In humans, abacavir is not significantly metabolized by cytochrome P450 enzymes. The primary routes of elimination of abacavir are metabolism by alcohol dehydrogenase to form the 5'-carboxylic acid and glucuronyl transferase to form the 5'-glucuronide.

The metabolites do not have antiviral activity. In vitro experiments reveal that abacavir does not inhibit human CYP3A4, CYP2D6, or CYP2C9 activity at clinically relevant concentrations. Excretion: Elimination of abacavir was quantified in a mass balance trial following administration of a 600-mg dose of 14 C-abacavir: 99% of the radioactivity was recovered, 1.2% was excreted in the urine as abacavir, 30% as the 5'-carboxylic acid metabolite, 36% as the 5'-glucuronide metabolite, and 15% as unidentified minor metabolites in the urine.

Fecal elimination accounted for 16% of the dose. Specific Populations Patients with Renal Impairment: The pharmacokinetic properties of abacavir have not been determined in patients with impaired renal function. Renal excretion of unchanged abacavir is a minor route of elimination in humans.

Patients with Hepatic Impairment: The pharmacokinetics of abacavir have been studied in subjects with mild hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh Class A). Results showed that there was a mean increase of 89% in the abacavir AUC and an increase of 58% in the half-life of abacavir after a single dose of 600 mg of abacavir. The AUCs of the metabolites were not modified by mild liver disease; however, the rates of formation and elimination of the metabolites were decreased [see Contraindications (4), Use in Specific Populations ( 8.6 )].

Pregnant Women: Abacavir pharmacokinetics were studied in 25 pregnant women during the last trimester of pregnancy receiving abacavir 300 mg twice daily. Abacavir exposure (AUC) during pregnancy was similar to those in postpartum and in HIV-infected non-pregnant historical controls. Consistent with passive diffusion of abacavir…

🧬 Mechanism of Action 14 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Abacavir is an antiretroviral agent [see Microbiology ( 12.4 )].

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 78 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Abacavir oral solution USP is a clear yellowish, strawberry-banana flavored liquid filled in 250 cc HDPE opaque bottles. Each mL of the solution contains abacavir sulfate USP equivalent to 20 mg of abacavir. They are supplied in: Bottles of 240 mL with Induction Sealing FSE Wad (NDC 31722-562-24).

This product does not require reconstitution. Store at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. DO NOT FREEZE.

May be refrigerated.

📋 Description 177 words

11 DESCRIPTION Abacavir sulfate is a synthetic carbocyclic nucleoside analogue with inhibitory activity against HIV-1. The chemical name of abacavir sulfate is (1 S , 4 R )-4-[2-Amino-6-(cyclopropylamino)-9 H -purin-9-yl]- 2-cyclopentene-1-methanol sulfate (salt) (2:1). Abacavir sulfate is the enantiomer with 1S , 4R absolute configuration on the cyclopentene ring.

It has a molecular formula of (C 14 H 18 N 6 O)2•H 2 SO 4 and a molecular weight of 670.74 daltons. It has the following structural formula: Abacavir sulfate, USP is a white to off-white powder. Soluble in water, slightly soluble in methanol.

Abacavir oral solution, USP is for oral administration. Each milliliter (1 mL) of abacavir oral solution, USP contains abacavir sulfate USP equivalent to 20 mg of abacavir (i.e., 20 mg per mL) as active ingredient and the following inactive ingredients: anhydrous citric acid, methylparaben and propylparaben (added as preservatives), propylene glycol, saccharin sodium, sodium citrate (dihydrate), noncrystallizing sorbitol solution, strawberry and banana flavors and water. In vivo, abacavir sulfate dissociates to its free base, abacavir.

Dosages are expressed in terms of abacavir. abacavirosstructure

💬 Information for Patients ~3 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Medication Guide). Hypersensitivity Reactions Inform patients: • that a Medication Guide and Warning Card summarizing the symptoms of the abacavir hypersensitivity reaction and other product information will be dispensed by the pharmacist with each new prescription and refill of abacavir oral solution and instruct the patient to read the Medication Guide and Warning Card every time to obtain any new information that may be present about abacavir.

The complete text of the Medication Guide is reprinted at the end of this document. • to carry the Warning Card with them. • how to identify a hypersensitivity reaction [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 ), Medication Guide]. • that if they develop symptoms consistent with a hypersensitivity reaction they should call their healthcare provider right away to determine if they should stop taking abacavir oral solution. • that a hypersensitivity reaction can worsen and lead to hospitalization or death if abacavir is not immediately discontinued. • to not restart abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing product following a hypersensitivity reaction because more severe symptoms can occur within hours and may include life-threatening hypotension and death. • that if they have a hypersensitivity reaction, they should dispose of any unused abacavir oral solution to avoid restarting abacavir. • that a hypersensitivity reaction is usually reversible if it is detected promptly and abacavir oral solution is stopped right away. • that if they have interrupted abacavir oral solution for reasons other than symptoms of hypersensitivity (for example, those who have an interruption in drug supply), a serious or fatal hypersensitivity reaction may occur with reintroduction of abacavir. • to not restart abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing product without medical consultation and only if medical care can be readily accessed by the patient or others.

Lactic Acidosis/Hepatomegaly with Steatosis Advise patients that lactic acidosis and severe hepatomegaly with steatosis have been reported with use of nucleoside analogues and other antiretrovirals. Advise patients to stop taking abacavir oral solution if they develop clinical symptoms suggestive of lactic acidosis or pronounced hepatotoxicity [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )]. Immune Reconstitution Syndrome Advise patients to inform their healthcare provider immediately of any signs and symptoms of infection as inflammation from previous infection may occur soon after combination antiretroviral therapy, including when abacavir oral solution is started [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )].

Pregnancy Registry Advise patients that there is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in women exposed to abacavir during pregnancy [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.1 )]. Lactation Instruct women with HIV-1 infection not to breastfeed because HIV-1 can be passed to the baby in the breast milk [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.2 )]. Missed Dose Instruct patients that if they miss a dose of abacavir oral solution, to take it as soon as they remember.

Advise patients not to double their next dose or take more than the prescribed dose [see Dosage and Administration ( 2 )]. Availability of Medication Guide Instruct patients to read the Medication Guide before starting abacavir oral solution and to re-read it each time the prescription is renewed. Instruct patients to inform their physician or pharmacist if they develop any unusual symptom, or if any known symptom persists or worsens.

All brands listed are trademarks of their respective owners and are not trademarks of the Hetero Labs Limited. Manufactured for: Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Piscataway, NJ 08854 by: HETERO TM Hetero Labs Limited Jeedimetla, Hyderabad - 500 055, India Revised: 10/2022 abacaviroscaberlogo

💬 Medication Guide ~3 min read

MEDICATION GUIDE Abacavir Oral Solution USP (ah-BAH-kah-veer) What is the most important information I should know about abacavir oral solution? Abacavir can cause serious side effects, including: • Serious allergic reactions (hypersensitivity reaction) that can cause death have happened with abacavir oral solution and other abacavir-containing products. Your risk of this allergic reaction is much higher if you have a gene variation called HLA-B*5701.

Your healthcare provider can determine with a blood test if you have this gene variation. If you get a symptom from 2 or more of the following groups while taking abacavir oral solution, call your healthcare provider right away to find out if you should stop taking abacavir oral solution. Symptom(s) Group 1 Fever Group 2 Rash Group 3 Nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal (stomach area) pain Group 4 Generally ill feeling, extreme tiredness, or achiness Group 5 Shortness of breath, cough, sore throat A list of these symptoms is on the Warning Card your pharmacist gives you.

Carry this Warning Card with you at all times. If you stop abacavir oral solution because of an allergic reaction, never take abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing medicine (EPZICOM, TRIUMEQ, or TRIZIVIR) again . • If you have an allergic reaction, dispose of any unused abacavir oral solution. Ask your pharmacist how to properly dispose of medicines. • If you take abacavir oral solution or any other abacavir-containing medicine again after you have had an allergic reaction, within hours you may get life-threatening symptoms that may include very low blood pressure or death. • If you stop abacavir oral solution for any other reason, even for a few days, and you are not allergic to abacavir, talk with your healthcare provider before taking it again.

Taking abacavir oral solution again can cause a serious allergic or life-threatening reaction, even if you never had an allergic reaction to it before. If your healthcare provider tells you that you can take abacavir oral solution again, start taking it when you are around medical help or people who can call a healthcare provider if you need one. What is abacavir oral solution?

Abacavir oral solution is a prescription HIV-1 (Human Immunodeficiency Virus type 1) medicine used with other antiretroviral medicines to treat HIV-1 infection. HIV-1 is the virus that causes Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS). The safety and effectiveness of abacavir has not been established in children under 3 months of age.

When used with other antiretroviral medicines to treat HIV-1 infection, abacavir oral solution may help: • reduce the amount of HIV-1 in your blood. This is called ''viral load''. • increase the number of CD4+ (T) cells in your blood, that help fight off other infections. Reducing the amount of HIV-1 and increasing the CD4+ (T) cells in your blood may help improve your immune system.

This may reduce your risk of death or getting infections that can happen when your immune system is weak (opportunistic infections). Abacavir does not cure HIV-1 infection or AIDS. You must keep taking HIV-1 medicines to control HIV-1 infection and decrease HIV-related illnesses.

Who should not take abacavir oral solution? Do not take abacavir oral solution if you: • have a certain type of gene variation called the HLA-B*5701 allele. Your healthcare provider will test you for this before prescribing treatment with abacavir. • are allergic to abacavir or any of the ingredients in abacavir oral solution.

See the end of this Medication Guide for a complete list of ingredients in abacavir oral solution. • have liver problems. What should I tell my healthcare provider before taking abacavir oral solution? Before you take abacavir oral solution, tell your healthcare provider if you: • have been tested and know whether or not you have a particular gene variation called HLA-B*5701. • have or have had liver problems, including hepatitis B or C virus infection. • have heart pro…

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.