Apretude Cabotegravir Kit
🆔 Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
🏷️ RxNorm drug class
This medicine belongs to the Human Immunodeficiency Virus Integrase Strand Transfer Inhibitor class.
Where does this data come from?
🏭 Manufacturer & labeler
Where does this data come from?
🩺 Clinical
Cabotegravir and rilpivirine injections are used in combination for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV-1) infection. Cabotegravir is in a class of medications called HIV integrase inhibitors. Rilpivirine is in a class of medications called non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors (NNRTIs). These medications work by decreasing the amount of HIV in the blood. Although cabotegravir and rilpivirine do not cure HIV, they may decrease your chance of developing acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) and HIV-related illnesses. Receiving these medications and making oth...
Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗- It can actually be both, depending on the situation. If you already have HIV and your virus is under control on your current treatment, Vocabria tablets (taken with Edurant) serve...
- What exactly is Vocabria used for — is it a treatment or a prevention drug?
- This is a really important safety step. Cabotegravir on its own is not a complete HIV treatment — it only blocks one step the virus uses to replicate. If HIV somehow got into your...
- Why do I have to keep getting HIV tested if I'm using this for PrEP?
Patient education
Supplement & herbal interactions
Some supplements/herbs that may interact with Cabotegravir — tap one for details:
Where does this data come from?
Ask a licensed pharmacist directly — free, answered by our team.
💊 What it looks like
Where does this data come from?
🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients
Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.
Where does this data come from?
IACT rows and label-wide narrative are kept separate; availability and product-level specificity depend on the submitted label.Inactive ingredient FAQ
Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Can inactive ingredients matter?
💲 Pricing
A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.
| Price system | Per each | Per package |
|---|---|---|
| Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly | Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs. | |
| Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo | $1,304.48 | — |
| Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly | No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data. | |
| Medicare Part B allowsASP · J0739 | $7.294 / J0739 unit | — |
Where does this data come from?
🧾 Billing & reimbursement
Where does this data come from?
🔁 Therapeutic equivalents
| Product | Labeler | Pack | NADAC/unit | TE | Status | Price vs. this |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apretudethis 49702-0264-23 | ViiV | 1 kit | — | — | FDA listed | — |
| Apretude 49702-0280-63 | ViiV | 1 kit | — | — | FDA listed | — |
Where does this data come from?
⏳ Availability & generic status
We did not find an FDA-approved generic match for this exact strength, form and route. Patent/protection dates below may affect future generic timing.
Why the date isn’t exact: Generic timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added, removed, or worked around with a narrower label — and FDA approval does not always mean a pharmacy can get the generic today.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
- Patent
- Legal protection listed in the Orange Book that may delay generic approval or launch. Issued by the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office.
- Substance patent
- Covers the active drug molecule itself — the hardest to design around. A generic generally can’t launch until it expires.
- Formulation (product) patent
- Covers a specific formulation or dosage form. A generic can sometimes work around it with a different formulation.
- Method-of-use patent
- A patent covering one specific approved use of the drug — not necessarily the whole molecule. A generic can sometimes launch with a “skinny label” that carves out the protected use and keeps the others.
- Skinny label
- A generic label that omits a still-patented use when the FDA allows it — letting a generic reach the market for the unprotected uses.
- Exclusivity
- FDA-granted marketing protection, separate from patents — e.g. 5-yr new chemical entity, 7-yr orphan drug, or a +6-month pediatric extension.
- Paragraph IV
- A generic applicant’s formal challenge to a listed patent. It can potentially lead to earlier generic entry, but often involves litigation or a settlement.
- RLD / RS
- Reference Listed Drug — the brand product the FDA uses as the reference for generic applications. Reference Standard — the product the FDA expects generics to compare against in bioequivalence testing.
- TE / AB rating
- FDA therapeutic-equivalence rating. An AB rating generally means the FDA considers a generic therapeutically equivalent to — and substitutable for — the brand.
- LOE (loss of exclusivity)
- The latest patent or exclusivity currently listed — the loss-of-exclusivity / latest-listed-protection date shown on this page. Paragraph-IV challenges and settlements can move the real date earlier; FDA approval and a manufacturer’s decision to market can move it later.
Built from the FDA Orange Book. The bars above are scaled to each protection’s expiry; the red LOE marker is the last one to lapse.
| Patent | Type | Use code | Expires |
|---|---|---|---|
| US 12138264 ↗ | Drug product | — | Sep 15, 2031 |
| US 10927129 ↗ | Drug substance | — | Apr 28, 2026 |
| US 8410103 ↗ | Drug substance | — | Feb 4, 2031 |
| US 11224597 ↗ | Drug product | — | Sep 15, 2031 |
| Code | What it grants | Expires |
|---|---|---|
| NCE | New Chemical Entity (5-year) | Jan 21, 2026 |
Is there a generic version of APRETUDE ER 600 MG/3 ML VIAL?
The FDA approved a generic — why can’t I get it at my pharmacy yet?
Why do different websites show different generic release dates?
What does “FDA listed” mean?
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
What does “current Orange Book estimate” mean?
Can a generic come out before the last patent expires?
Can a generic come out after the listed dates?
What is the difference between patents and exclusivity?
Why are there multiple patent dates?
Where does this data come from?
🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend
🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)
Top reported reactions
Age at onset
Reporter sex
Serious outcomes
Where does this data come from?
📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product
| Package NDC | Description | Marketing start | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 49702-0264-23 You're viewing this | 1 KIT in 1 CARTON (49702-264-23) * 3 mL in 1 VIAL (49702-238-03) | 2021-12-20 | Active |
🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage
Kit / multi-component package
This NDC identifies a kit — a package containing more than one component. Structured data (pricing, ingredients, equivalents) is often reported per component rather than for the kit NDC itself, which can make this page look thinner than the components' own pages.
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
| NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) | ✓ Available |
| Labeler | ✓ Available |
| Product & package description | ✓ Available |
| Marketing category & status | ✓ Available |
| Active ingredient / dosage form / route | ✓ Available |
| FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) | ✓ Available |
| Package photos | ✓ Available |
| Inactive ingredients (structured) | — Not published for this NDC The labeler did not submit a structured excipient list, or no SPL is available. |
| NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) | — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey. |
| Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data | ✓ Available |
| HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk | ✓ Available |
| Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) | ✓ Available |
Questions about this listing
Why is there no price listed?
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
Is this package still being marketed?
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Do I need a prescription for this product?
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Where does this data come from?
📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL
🚨 Boxed Warning ▾
WARNING: RISK OF DRUG RESISTANCE WITH USE OF APRETUDE FOR HIV-1 PRE‑EXPOSURE PROPHYLAXIS (PrEP) IN UNDIAGNOSED HIV-1 INFECTION Individuals must be tested for HIV-1 infection prior to initiating APRETUDE or oral cabotegravir, and with each subsequent injection of APRETUDE, using a test approved or cleared by the FDA for the diagnosis of acute or primary HIV-1 infection. Drug-resistant HIV-1 variants have been identified with use of APRETUDE by individuals with undiagnosed HIV-1 infection. Do not initiate APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP unless negative infection status is confirmed.
Individuals who acquire HIV-1 while receiving APRETUDE for PrEP must transition to a complete HIV-1 treatment regimen [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 ), Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . WARNING: RISK OF DRUG RESISTANCE WITH USE OF APRETUDE FOR HIV-1 PRE-EXPOSURE PROPHYLAXIS (PrEP) IN UNDIAGNOSED HIV-1 INFECTION See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning. Individuals must be tested for HIV-1 infection prior to initiating APRETUDE or oral cabotegravir, and with each subsequent injection of APRETUDE, using a test approved or cleared by the FDA for the diagnosis of acute or primary HIV-1 infection.
Drug-resistant HIV-1 variants have been identified with use of APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP by individuals with undiagnosed HIV-1 infection. Do not initiate APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP unless negative infection status is confirmed. Individuals who acquire HIV-1 while receiving APRETUDE for PrEP must transition to a complete HIV-1 treatment regimen.
( 2.2 , 4 , 5.1 )
🎯 Indications and Usage ▾
1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE APRETUDE is indicated for pre‑exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) to reduce the risk of sexually acquired HIV-1 infection in adults and adolescents weighing at least 35 kg who are at risk for HIV-1 acquisition. Individuals must have a negative HIV-1 test prior to initiating APRETUDE (with or without an oral lead-in with oral cabotegravir) for HIV-1 PrEP [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 , 2.4 ), Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . APRETUDE is an HIV-1 integrase strand transfer inhibitor (INSTI) indicated for PrEP to reduce the risk of sexually acquired HIV-1 infection in adults and adolescents weighing at least 35 kg who are at risk for HIV-1 acquisition.
Individuals must have a negative HIV-1 test prior to initiating APRETUDE (with or without an oral lead-in with oral cabotegravir) for HIV-1 PrEP. ( 1 )
⏱️ Dosage and Administration ▾
2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION • HIV-1 Screening: Screen all individuals for HIV-1 infection immediately prior to initiating APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP and prior to each injection while taking APRETUDE. ( 2.2 ) • Prior to initiating APRETUDE, an oral lead-in dosing may be used for approximately 1 month with the recommended dosage to assess the tolerability of APRETUDE. ( 2.4 ) • For gluteal intramuscular injection only.
( 2.5 , 2.7 ) • Recommended Dosing Schedule: Initiate APRETUDE with a single 600-mg (3-mL) injection given 1 month apart for 2 consecutive months on the last day of an oral lead-in if used or within 3 days and continue with the injections every 2 months thereafter. ( 2.5 )
2.1Dosage and Administration Overview • APRETUDE contains cabotegravir extended-release injectable suspension in a single-dose vial [see Dosage Forms and Strengths ( 3 )] . • APRETUDE must be administered by a healthcare provider by gluteal intramuscular injection [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.7 )] . • APRETUDE may be initiated with oral cabotegravir prior to the intramuscular injections or the patient may proceed directly to injection of APRETUDE without an oral lead-in [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.4 )] .
2.2HIV-1 Screening for Individuals Receiving APRETUDE for HIV-1 Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis Individuals must be tested for HIV-1 infection prior to initiating APRETUDE or oral cabotegravir, and with each subsequent injection of APRETUDE, using a test approved or cleared by the FDA for the diagnosis of acute or primary HIV-1 infection. If an antigen/antibody-specific test is used and provides negative results, then such negative results should be confirmed using an RNA-specific assay, even if the results of the RNA-assay are available after APRETUDE or oral cabotegravir administration [see Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] .
2.3Adherence to APRETUDE Prior to starting APRETUDE, healthcare providers should carefully select individuals who agree to the required injection dosing and testing schedule and counsel individuals about the importance of adherence to scheduled dosing visits to help reduce the risk of acquiring HIV-1 infection and development of resistance [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.1 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 , 5.3 ), Microbiology ( 12.4 )] .
2.4Optional Oral Lead-In Dosing to Assess Tolerability of APRETUDE The healthcare provider and individual may decide to use an oral lead-in with oral cabotegravir prior to the initiation of APRETUDE to assess the tolerability of cabotegravir or the healthcare provider and individual may proceed directly to injection of APRETUDE without the use of an oral lead-in [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.5 )] . No safety and efficacy data are available for use of APRETUDE without an oral lead-in [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 ), Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )].
However, in HIV-1 treatment clinical trials, data show that an oral lead-in is not needed to ensure adequate plasma cabotegravir exposure upon initiation of injections and that the safety and efficacy results of CABENUVA (cabotegravir extended-release injectable suspension; rilpivirine extended-release injectable suspension) were similar when administered with and without an oral lead-in.
2.5Gluteal Intramuscular Injection Dosing with APRETUDE Initiation Injections If an oral lead-in is used, initiation injections should be administered on the last day of oral lead‑in or within 3 days thereafter. The recommended initiation injection doses of APRETUDE in individuals is a single 600‑mg (3-mL) intramuscular injection of APRETUDE given 1 month apart for 2 consecutive months ( Table 1 and Table 2 ). Individuals may be given the second APRETUDE initiation injection up to 7 days before or after the date the individual is scheduled to receive the injections.
Continuation Injections After the 2 initiation injection doses given consecutively 1 month apart, the recommended continuation injection dose of APRETUDE…
💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths ▾
3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: Single-dose vial containing 600 mg/3 mL (200 mg/mL) of cabotegravir extended‑release injectable suspension. Injection: Single-dose vial of 600 mg/3 mL (200 mg/mL) of cabotegravir extended-release injectable suspension. ( 3 )
⛔ Contraindications ▾
4 CONTRAINDICATIONS APRETUDE is contraindicated in individuals: • with unknown or positive HIV-1 status [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 , 5.2 )] . • with previous hypersensitivity reaction to cabotegravir [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] . • receiving the following coadministered drugs for which significant decreases in cabotegravir plasma concentrations may occur due to uridine diphosphate glucuronosyltransferase (UGT)1A1 enzyme induction, which may result in reduced effectiveness [see Drug Interactions ( 7.2 , 7.3 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] : o Anticonvulsants: Carbamazepine, oxcarbazepine, phenobarbital, phenytoin o Antimycobacterials: Rifampin, rifapentine • Unknown or positive HIV-1 status.
( 4 ) • Previous hypersensitivity reaction to cabotegravir. ( 4 ) • Coadministration with drugs where significant decreases in cabotegravir plasma concentrations may occur. ( 4 )
⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ▾
5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS • Comprehensive management to reduce the risk of HIV-1 acquisition. ( 5.1 ) • Potential risk of developing resistance to APRETUDE if an individual acquires HIV-1 either before or while taking APRETUDE or following discontinuation of APRETUDE. Reassess risk of HIV-1 acquisition and test before each injection to confirm HIV-1 negative status.
( 5.2 ) • Residual concentrations of cabotegravir may remain in the systemic circulation of individuals up to 12 months or longer. ( 5.3 ) • Serious or severe hypersensitivity reactions have been reported with cabotegravir and include Stevens-Johnson syndrome (SJS)/toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN). Discontinue APRETUDE immediately if signs or symptoms of hypersensitivity reactions develop.
( 5.4 ) • Hepatotoxicity has been reported in individuals receiving cabotegravir. Clinical and laboratory monitoring should be considered. Discontinue APRETUDE if hepatotoxicity is suspected.
( 5.5 ) • Depressive disorders have been reported with APRETUDE. Prompt evaluation is recommended for depressive symptoms. ( 5.6 )
5.1Comprehensive Management to Reduce the Risk of HIV-1 Infection Use APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP to reduce the risk of HIV-1 infection as part of a comprehensive prevention strategy including adherence to the administration schedule and safer sex practices, including condoms, to reduce the risk of sexually transmitted infections (STIs). APRETUDE is not always effective in preventing HIV-1 acquisition [see Clinical Studies ( 14.1 )] . The time from initiation of APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP to maximal protection against HIV-1 infection is unknown.
Risk for HIV-1 acquisition includes behavioral, biological, or epidemiologic factors including, but not limited to, condomless sex, past or current STIs, self-identified HIV risk, having sexual partners of unknown HIV-1 viremic status, or sexual activity in a high prevalence area or network. Counsel individuals on the use of other prevention measures (e.g., consistent and correct condom use; knowledge of partner(s)’ HIV-1 status, including viral suppression status; regular testing for STIs that can facilitate HIV-1 transmission).
Inform individuals about and support their efforts in reducing sexual risk behavior. Use APRETUDE to reduce the risk of acquiring HIV-1 only in individuals confirmed to be HIV‑1 negative [see Contraindications ( 4 )] . HIV-1 resistance substitutions may emerge in individuals with undiagnosed HIV‑1 infection who are taking only APRETUDE, because APRETUDE alone does not constitute a complete regimen for HIV-1 treatment [see Microbiology ( 12.4 )] ; therefore, care should be taken to minimize the risk of initiating or continuing APRETUDE before confirming the individual is HIV-1 negative. • Prior to initiating APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP, ask seronegative individuals about recent (in past month) potential exposure events (e.g., condomless sex or condom breaking during sex with a partner of unknown HIV-1 status or unknown viremic status, a recent STI), and evaluate for current or recent signs or symptoms consistent with acute HIV-1 infection (e.g., fever, fatigue, myalgia, skin rash). • If recent (<1 month) exposures to HIV-1 are suspected or clinical symptoms consistent with acute HIV-1 infection are present, use a test approved or cleared by the FDA as an aid in the diagnosis of acute or primary HIV-1 infection.
When using APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP, HIV-1 testing should be repeated prior to each injection and upon diagnosis of any other STIs [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 , 2.5 )] . • If an HIV-1 test indicates possible HIV-1 infection, or if symptoms consistent with acute HIV-1 infection develop following an exposure event, additional HIV testing to determine HIV status is needed. If an individual has confirmed HIV-1 infection, then the individual must be transitioned to a complete HIV-1 treatment regimen. Counsel individuals without HIV-1 to strictly adhere to the recommended dosing and testing schedu…
🤒 Adverse Reactions ▾
6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following adverse reactions are described below and in other sections of the labeling: • Hypersensitivity reactions [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] • Hepatotoxicity [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] • Depressive disorders [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.6 )] The most common adverse reactions (all grades) observed in at least 1% of participants receiving APRETUDE were injection site reactions, diarrhea, headache, pyrexia, fatigue, sleep disorders, nausea, dizziness, flatulence, abdominal pain, vomiting, myalgia, rash, decreased appetite, somnolence, back pain, and upper respiratory tract infection.
( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact ViiV Healthcare at 1-877-844-8872 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.
6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared with rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect rates observed in practice. Clinical Trials Experience in Adults The safety assessment of APRETUDE is based on the analysis of data from 2 international, multicenter, double-blind trials, HPTN 083 and HPTN 084 [see Clinical Studies ( 14.1 )] . Adverse reactions were reported while on blinded study product following exposure to APRETUDE extended-release injectable suspension and oral cabotegravir tablets as oral lead-in.
The median time on blinded study product in HPTN 083 was 65 weeks and 2 days (range: 1 day to 156 weeks and 1 day), with a total exposure on cabotegravir of 3,231 person‑years. The median time on blinded study product in HPTN 084 was 64 weeks and 1 day (range: 1 day to 153 weeks and 1 day), with a total exposure on cabotegravir of 2,009 person‑years. The most common adverse reactions regardless of severity reported in at least 1% of participants in HPTN 083 or HPTN 084 are presented in Table 4 .
In HPTN 083, 6% of participants in the group receiving APRETUDE intramuscular injection every 2 months and 4% of participants receiving oral TRUVADA [emtricitabine (FTC) and tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF)] once daily discontinued due to adverse events (all causality). Non-injection-site–associated adverse events leading to discontinuation and occurring in ≥1% of participants were increased alanine aminotransferase with APRETUDE and TRUVADA. In HPTN 084, 1% of participants receiving APRETUDE and 1% of participants receiving TRUVADA discontinued due to adverse events.
The most commonly reported adverse event (all causality) leading to discontinuation was increased alanine aminotransferase (<1%) with APRETUDE and TRUVADA. The side-by-side tabulation is to simplify presentation; direct comparison across trials should not be made due to differing trials. Table 4.
Adverse Drug Reactions a (All Grades) Reported in at Least 1% of Participants Receiving APRETUDE in Either HPTN 083 or HPTN 084 a Adverse reactions defined as “treatment-related” as assessed by the investigator, with exception of injection site reactions, where all injection site reactions were reported regardless of causality. b Participants who received injection: HPTN 083, APRETUDE (n = 2,117) and TRUVADA (n = 2,081); HPTN 084, APRETUDE (n = 1,519) and TRUVADA (n = 1,516). c Pyrexia includes pyrexia, feeling hot, chills, influenza-like illness. d Fatigue includes fatigue, malaise. e Sleep disorders includes insomnia, abnormal dreams. f Abdominal pain includes abdominal pain, upper abdominal pain. g Rash includes rash, erythema, pruritis, macular, papular, maculopapular.
Adverse Reactions HPTN 083 HPTN 084 APRETUDE Every 2 Months (n = 2,281) TRUVADA Once Daily (n = 2,285) APRETUDE Every 2 Months (n = 1,614) TRUVADA Once Daily (n = 1,610) Injection site reactions b 82% 35% 38% 11% Diarrhea 4% 5% 4% 4% Headache 4% 3% 12% 13% Pyrexia c 4% <1% <1% <1% Fatigue d 4% 2% 3% 3% Sleep disorders e 3% 3% 1% 1% Nausea 3% 5% 4% 8% Dizziness 2% 3%…
🔄 Drug Interactions ▾
7 DRUG INTERACTIONS • Refer to the full prescribing information for important drug interactions with APRETUDE. ( 4 , 5.7 , 7 ) • Drugs that induce uridine diphosphate glucuronosyltransferase (UGT)1A1 may significantly decrease plasma concentrations of cabotegravir. ( 4 , 7.2 , 7.3 )
7.1Use of Other Antiretroviral Drugs after Discontinuation of APRETUDE Residual concentrations of cabotegravir may remain in the systemic circulation of individuals for prolonged periods (up to 12 months or longer). These residual concentrations are not expected to affect the exposures of antiretroviral drugs that are initiated after discontinuation of APRETUDE [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 ), Drug Interactions ( 7.4 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .
7.2Potential for Other Drugs to Affect APRETUDE Cabotegravir is primarily metabolized by UGT1A1 with some contribution from UGT1A9. Drugs that are strong inducers of UGT1A1 or 1A9 are expected to decrease cabotegravir plasma concentrations; therefore, coadministration of APRETUDE with these drugs is contraindicated [see Contraindications ( 4 )] .
7.3Established and Other Potentially Significant Drug Interactions Information regarding potential drug interactions with cabotegravir is provided in Table 8 . These recommendations are based on either drug interaction trials following oral administration of cabotegravir or predicted interactions due to the expected magnitude of the interaction [see Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.7 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] . Table 8 includes potentially significant interactions but is not all inclusive.
Table 8. Drug Interactions with APRETUDE ↑ = Increase, ↓ = Decrease, ↔ = No change. Concomitant Drug Class: Drug Name Effect on Concentration Clinical Comment Anticonvulsants: Carbamazepine Oxcarbazepine Phenobarbital Phenytoin ↓Cabotegravir Coadministration is contraindicated with APRETUDE due to potential for significant decreases in plasma concentration of APRETUDE.
Antimycobacterials: Rifampin Rifapentine ↓Cabotegravir Antimycobacterial: Rifabutin ↓Cabotegravir When rifabutin is started before or concomitantly with the first initiation injection of APRETUDE, the recommended dosing of APRETUDE is one 600-mg (3-mL) injection, followed 2 weeks later by a second 600‑mg (3-mL) initiation injection and monthly thereafter while on rifabutin. When rifabutin is started at the time of the second initiation injection or later, the recommended dosing schedule of APRETUDE is 600‑mg (3 mL) monthly while on rifabutin.
After stopping rifabutin, the recommended dosing schedule of APRETUDE is 600-mg (3 mL) every 2 months.
7.4Drugs without Clinically Significant Interactions with Cabotegravir Based on drug interaction study results, the following drugs can be coadministered with cabotegravir (non-antiretrovirals) or given after discontinuation of cabotegravir (antiretrovirals and non-antiretrovirals) without a dose adjustment: etravirine, midazolam, oral contraceptives containing levonorgestrel and ethinyl estradiol, and rilpivirine [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .
👥 Use in Specific Populations ▾
8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS • Lactation: Assess the benefit-risk of using APRETUDE to the infant while breastfeeding due to the potential for adverse reactions and residual concentrations in the systemic circulation for up to 12 months or longer after discontinuation. ( 8.2 ) • Pediatrics: Not recommended in individuals weighing <35 kg. ( 8.4 )
8.1Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in individuals exposed to APRETUDE during pregnancy. Healthcare providers are encouraged to register individuals by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at 1-800-258-4263. Risk Summary There are insufficient human data on the use of APRETUDE during pregnancy to adequately assess a drug-associated risk of birth defects and miscarriage.
Discuss the benefit-risk of using APRETUDE with individuals of childbearing potential or during pregnancy. Cabotegravir use in pregnant individuals has not been evaluated. APRETUDE should be used during pregnancy only if the expected benefit justifies the potential risk to the fetus.
The APR has been established to monitor for birth defects following prenatal exposure to antiretrovirals. The rate of miscarriage is not reported in the APR. The background rate for major birth defects in a U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) is 2.7%.
The estimated background rate of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies in the U.S. general population is 15% to 20%. The APR uses the MACDP as the U.S. reference population for birth defects in the general population. The MACDP evaluates mothers and infants from a limited geographic area and does not include outcomes for births that occurred at <20 weeks’ gestation.
In animal reproduction studies with oral cabotegravir, a delay in the onset of parturition and increased stillbirths and neonatal deaths were observed in a rat pre- and postnatal development study at >28 times the exposure at the recommended human dose (RHD). No evidence of adverse developmental outcomes was observed with oral cabotegravir in rats or rabbits (>28 times or similar to the exposure at the RHD, respectively) given during organogenesis (see Data) . Clinical Considerations Cabotegravir is detected in systemic circulation for up to 12 months or longer after discontinuing injections of APRETUDE; therefore, consideration should be given to the potential for fetal exposure during pregnancy [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] .
Data Animal Data: Cabotegravir was administered orally to pregnant rats at 0, 0.5, 5, or 1,000 mg/kg/day from 15 days before cohabitation, during cohabitation, and from Gestation Days 0 to 17. There were no effects on fetal viability when fetuses were delivered by caesarean, although a minor decrease in fetal body weight was observed at 1,000 mg/kg/day (>28 times the exposure in humans at the RHD). No drug-related fetal toxicities were observed at 5 mg/kg/day (approximately 13 times the exposure in humans at the RHD), and no drug-related fetal malformations were observed at any dose.
Cabotegravir was administered orally to pregnant rabbits at 0, 30, 500, or 2,000 mg/kg/day from Gestation Days 7 to 19. No drug-related fetal toxicities were observed at 2,000 mg/kg/day (approximately 0.7 times the exposure in humans at the RHD). In a rat pre- and postnatal development study, cabotegravir was administered orally to pregnant rats at 0, 0.5, 5, or 1,000 mg/kg/day from Gestation Day 6 to Lactation Day 21.
A delay in the onset of parturition and increases in the number of stillbirths and neonatal deaths by Lactation Day 4 were observed at 1,000 mg/kg/day (>28 times the exposure in humans at the RHD); there were no alterations to growth and development of surviving offspring. In a cross-fostering study, similar incidences of stillbirths and early postnatal deaths were observed when rat pups born to cabotegravir-treated mothers were nursed from birth by…
🤰 Pregnancy ▾
8.1Pregnancy Pregnancy Exposure Registry There is a pregnancy exposure registry that monitors pregnancy outcomes in individuals exposed to APRETUDE during pregnancy. Healthcare providers are encouraged to register individuals by calling the Antiretroviral Pregnancy Registry (APR) at 1-800-258-4263. Risk Summary There are insufficient human data on the use of APRETUDE during pregnancy to adequately assess a drug-associated risk of birth defects and miscarriage.
Discuss the benefit-risk of using APRETUDE with individuals of childbearing potential or during pregnancy. Cabotegravir use in pregnant individuals has not been evaluated. APRETUDE should be used during pregnancy only if the expected benefit justifies the potential risk to the fetus.
The APR has been established to monitor for birth defects following prenatal exposure to antiretrovirals. The rate of miscarriage is not reported in the APR. The background rate for major birth defects in a U.S. reference population of the Metropolitan Atlanta Congenital Defects Program (MACDP) is 2.7%.
The estimated background rate of miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies in the U.S. general population is 15% to 20%. The APR uses the MACDP as the U.S. reference population for birth defects in the general population. The MACDP evaluates mothers and infants from a limited geographic area and does not include outcomes for births that occurred at <20 weeks’ gestation.
In animal reproduction studies with oral cabotegravir, a delay in the onset of parturition and increased stillbirths and neonatal deaths were observed in a rat pre- and postnatal development study at >28 times the exposure at the recommended human dose (RHD). No evidence of adverse developmental outcomes was observed with oral cabotegravir in rats or rabbits (>28 times or similar to the exposure at the RHD, respectively) given during organogenesis (see Data) . Clinical Considerations Cabotegravir is detected in systemic circulation for up to 12 months or longer after discontinuing injections of APRETUDE; therefore, consideration should be given to the potential for fetal exposure during pregnancy [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] .
Data Animal Data: Cabotegravir was administered orally to pregnant rats at 0, 0.5, 5, or 1,000 mg/kg/day from 15 days before cohabitation, during cohabitation, and from Gestation Days 0 to 17. There were no effects on fetal viability when fetuses were delivered by caesarean, although a minor decrease in fetal body weight was observed at 1,000 mg/kg/day (>28 times the exposure in humans at the RHD). No drug-related fetal toxicities were observed at 5 mg/kg/day (approximately 13 times the exposure in humans at the RHD), and no drug-related fetal malformations were observed at any dose.
Cabotegravir was administered orally to pregnant rabbits at 0, 30, 500, or 2,000 mg/kg/day from Gestation Days 7 to 19. No drug-related fetal toxicities were observed at 2,000 mg/kg/day (approximately 0.7 times the exposure in humans at the RHD). In a rat pre- and postnatal development study, cabotegravir was administered orally to pregnant rats at 0, 0.5, 5, or 1,000 mg/kg/day from Gestation Day 6 to Lactation Day 21.
A delay in the onset of parturition and increases in the number of stillbirths and neonatal deaths by Lactation Day 4 were observed at 1,000 mg/kg/day (>28 times the exposure in humans at the RHD); there were no alterations to growth and development of surviving offspring. In a cross-fostering study, similar incidences of stillbirths and early postnatal deaths were observed when rat pups born to cabotegravir-treated mothers were nursed from birth by control mothers. There was no effect on neonatal survival of control pups nursed from birth by cabotegravir-treated mothers.
A lower dose of 5 mg/kg/day (13 times the exposure at the RHD) was not associated with delayed parturition or neonatal mortality in rats. Studies in pregnant rats showed that cabotegravir crosses the placenta and can be dete…
🧒 Pediatric Use ▾
8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP in adolescents weighing at least 35 kg who are at risk for HIV-1 acquisition is supported by data from 2 adequate and well-controlled trials of APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP in adults with additional safety and pharmacokinetic data from studies in adults with HIV-1 who were administered CABENUVA, and in adolescent participants with HIV-1 who were administered separate components of CABENUVA in addition to their current antiretroviral therapy [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.5 ), Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 ), Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 ), Clinical Studies ( 14.1 )] .
APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP was evaluated in 2 open-label multicenter clinical trials, HPTN 083-01 and HPTN 084-01, in adolescent individuals 12 to less than 18 years of age weighing at least 35 kg who are at risk for HIV-1 acquisition. Sixty-four adolescents were enrolled. Of these, 62 adolescent participants received one or more injections.
In adolescents receiving APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP, the safety data were comparable to the safety data reported in adults receiving APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP. While using APRETUDE, HIV-1 testing should be conducted prior to initiating APRETUDE (with or without an oral lead-in with oral cabotegravir) and prior to each injection of APRETUDE. Adolescents may benefit from more frequent visits and counseling to support adherence to the dosing and testing schedule [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )].
The safety, efficacy, and pharmacokinetics of APRETUDE in pediatric participants younger than 12 years of age or weighing <35 kg have not been established.
🧓 Geriatric Use ▾
8.5Geriatric Use No dose adjustment is required in elderly individuals. There are limited data available on the use of APRETUDE in individuals aged 65 years and older. In general, caution should be exercised in administration of APRETUDE in elderly individuals, reflecting greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal, or cardiac function and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy [see Clinical Pharmacology ( 12.3 )] .
🆘 Overdosage ▾
10 OVERDOSAGE There is no known specific treatment for overdose with APRETUDE. If overdose occurs, monitor the individual and apply standard supportive treatment as required as well as observation of the clinical status of the individual. As APRETUDE is highly bound to plasma proteins, it is unlikely that it will be significantly removed by dialysis.
Consider the prolonged exposure to APRETUDE following an injection when assessing treatment needs and recovery [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] .
🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ▾
12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY
12.1Mechanism of Action Cabotegravir is an HIV-1 antiretroviral drug [see Microbiology ( 12.4 )] in a long-acting formulation.
12.2Pharmacodynamics Cardiac Electrophysiology At a dose of cabotegravir 150 mg orally every 12 hours (10 times the recommended total daily oral lead‑in dosage of APRETUDE), the QT interval is not prolonged to any clinically relevant extent. Administration of 3 doses of cabotegravir 150 mg orally every 12 hours resulted in a geometric mean C max approximately 2.8- and 5.6-fold above the geometric mean steady-state C max associated with the recommended 30-mg dose of oral cabotegravir and the recommended 600-mg dose given every 2 months of cabotegravir extended-release injectable suspension, respectively.
12.3Pharmacokinetics Absorption, Distribution, and Elimination The pharmacokinetic properties of cabotegravir are provided in Table 9 . The multiple-dose pharmacokinetic parameters are provided in Table 10 . For the pharmacokinetic properties of oral cabotegravir, refer to the full prescribing information for VOCABRIA (cabotegravir).
Table 9. Pharmacokinetic Properties of Cabotegravir CSF = Cerebrospinal fluid. a When taken orally with a high-fat meal versus fasted, the AUC (0-inf) (geometric mean ratio [90% CI] of cabotegravir are 1.14 [1.02, 1.28]). b The clinical relevance of CSF-to-plasma concentration ratios is unknown. Concentrations were measured at steady-state 1 week after intramuscular administration of cabotegravir extended-release injectable suspensions given monthly or every 2 months. c Elimination half-life driven by slow absorption rate from the intramuscular injection site. d Dosing in mass balance studies: single-dose oral administration of [ 14 C] cabotegravir.
Absorption a T max (days), median 7 Distribution % Bound to human plasma proteins >99.8 Blood-to-plasma ratio
0.52CSF-to-plasma concentration ratio (median [range]) b 0.003 (0.002 to 0.004) Elimination t 1/2 (weeks), mean c 5.6 to
11.5Metabolism Metabolic pathways UGT1A1 UGT1A9 (minor) Excretion Major route of elimination Metabolism % of dose excreted as total 14 C (unchanged drug) in urine d 27 (0) % of dose excreted as total 14 C (unchanged drug) in feces d 59 (47) Table 10. Pharmacokinetic Parameters following Once-Daily Oral Cabotegravir and following Initiation and Every-2-Month Continuation Intramuscular Injections of APRETUDE IM = Intramuscular. a Pharmacokinetic parameter values were based on individual post-hoc estimates from cabotegravir population pharmacokinetic models for patients in Phase 3 treatment studies of HIV treatment. b tau is dosing interval: 24 hours for oral administration, 1 month for the initial injection, and 2 months for every 2 months for intramuscular injections of extended-release injectable suspension. c Oral lead-in pharmacokinetic parameter values represent steady state. d Initial injection C max values primarily reflect oral dosing because the initial injection was administered on the same day as the last oral dose; however, AUC (0-tau) and the C tau values reflect the initial injection.
When administered without oral lead-in to recipients with HIV-1 (n = 110), the observed cabotegravir geometric mean (5th, 95th percentile) C max (1-week post‑initial injection) was 1.89 mcg/mL (0.438, 5.69) and C tau was 1.43 mcg/mL (0.403, 3.90). e Pharmacokinetic parameter values represent steady state. Dosing Phase Dosage Regimen Geometric Mean (5 th , 95 th Percentile) a AUC (0-tau) b (mcg•h/mL) C max (mcg/mL) C tau b (mcg/mL) Oral lead-in c 30 mg 145 8.0 4.6 once daily (93.5, 224) (5.3, 11.9) (2.8, 7.5) Initial injection d 600 mg IM 1,591 8.0 1.5 initial dose (714; 3,245) (5.3, 11.9) (0.65, 2.9) Every-2-month injection e 600 mg IM 3,764 4.0 1.6 every 2 months (2,431; 5,857) (2.3, 6.8) (0.8, 3.0) Specific Populations No clinically significant differences in the pharmacokinetics of cabotegravir were observed based on age, sex, race/ethnicity, BMI, or UGT1A1 polymorphisms.
There…
🧬 Mechanism of Action ▾
12.1Mechanism of Action Cabotegravir is an HIV-1 antiretroviral drug [see Microbiology ( 12.4 )] in a long-acting formulation.
📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling ▾
16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING How Supplied APRETUDE is supplied in a kit containing one 600-mg/3-mL single-dose (200-mg/mL) vial of cabotegravir extended-release injectable suspension, 1 syringe, 1 vial adapter, and 1 needle for intramuscular injection (23 gauge, 1½ inch) (NDC 49702-264-23). The vial stopper is not made with natural rubber latex. Storage and Handling Store APRETUDE at 2°C to 25°C (36°F to 77°F) in the original carton until ready to use.
Exposure up to 30°C permitted. Do not freeze. Do not mix with any other product or diluent.
If the pack has been stored in the refrigerator, the vial should be brought to room temperature prior to administration (not to exceed 30°C [86°F]). Once the suspension has been drawn into the syringe, the injection should be administered as soon as possible, but may remain in the syringe for up to 2 hours. The filled syringes should not be placed in the refrigerator.
If the medicine remains in the syringe for more than 2 hours, the filled syringe and needle must be discarded [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.7 )] .
📋 Description ▾
11 DESCRIPTION APRETUDE contains cabotegravir extended-release injectable suspension, an HIV INSTI. The chemical name of cabotegravir is ( 3S,11aR )-N-[(2,4-difluorophenyl)methyl]-6-hydroxy-3-methyl-5,7-dioxo-2,3,5,7,11,11a-hexahydro[1,3]oxazolo[3,2-a]pyrido[1,2-d]pyrazine-8-carboxamide. The empirical formula is C 19 H 17 F 2 N 3 O 5 and the molecular weight is 405.35 g/mol.
It has the following structural formula: Cabotegravir extended-release injectable suspension is a white to light pink free-flowing suspension for intramuscular injection in a sterile single-dose vial. Each vial contains 3 mL of the following: cabotegravir 200 mg/mL and the inactive ingredients mannitol (35 mg/mL), polyethylene glycol (PEG) 3350 (20 mg/mL), polysorbate 20 (20 mg/mL), and Water for Injection. The vial stoppers are not made with natural rubber latex.
Cabotegravir chemical structure
💬 Information for Patients ▾
17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the individual to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information). Important Information for Individuals without HIV-1 Taking APRETUDE for HIV-1 Pre ‑ Exposure Prophylaxis Advise individuals without HIV-1 about the following [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] : • APRETUDE should be used for PrEP as part of an overall HIV-1 infection prevention strategy, including adherence to the administration schedule and safer sex practices, including condoms, to reduce the risk of STIs. • APRETUDE is not always effective in preventing HIV-1 acquisition [see Clinical Studies ( 14.1 )] .
The time from initiation of APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP to maximal protection against HIV-1 infection is unknown. • Counsel individuals on the use of other prevention measures (e.g., knowledge of partner HIV-1 status, testing for STIs condom use). Inform individuals about and support their efforts in reducing sexual risk behavior. • APRETUDE should be used to reduce the risk of acquiring HIV-1 only in individuals confirmed to be HIV-1 negative [see Contraindications ( 4 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . HIV-1 resistance substitutions may emerge in individuals with undiagnosed HIV-1 infection who are taking only APRETUDE, because APRETUDE alone does not constitute a complete regimen for HIV-1 treatment; therefore, care should be taken to minimize the risk of initiating or continuing APRETUDE before confirming the individual is HIV-1 negative. • If recent (<1 month) exposures to HIV-1 are suspected or clinical symptoms consistent with acute HIV-1 infection are present, use a test approved or cleared by the FDA as an aid in the diagnosis of acute or primary HIV-1 infection. • When using APRETUDE for HIV-1 PrEP, HIV-1 testing should be repeated prior to each injection of APRETUDE, and upon diagnosis of any other STIs. • If an HIV-1 test indicates possible HIV-1 infection, or if symptoms consistent with acute HIV-1 infection develop following an exposure event, additional HIV testing to determine HIV status is needed.
If an individual has confirmed HIV-1 infection, then the individual must be transitioned to a complete HIV-1 treatment regimen. • Some individuals, such as adolescents, may benefit from frequent visits and counseling to support adherence. Potential Risk of Resistance with APRETUDE Advise individuals there is a potential risk of developing resistance to APRETUDE if HIV-1 is acquired either before or while taking APRETUDE or following discontinuation of APRETUDE [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . To minimize this, it is essential that individuals are clinically reassessed for risk of HIV-1 acquisition and tested frequently to confirm HIV-1 negative status.
Advise individuals who are confirmed to have with HIV-1 infection to consult with their healthcare professional, as HIV-1 treatment must be initiated [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . Inform individuals that alternative forms of PrEP should be considered following discontinuation of APRETUDE for those at continuing risk of HIV-1 acquisition and initiated within 2 months of the final injection of APRETUDE [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . Long-Acting Properties of APRETUDE Advise individuals that APRETUDE is an extended-release injectable that may be systemically present for 12 months or longer and consideration should be taken regarding the prolonged release characteristics when APRETUDE is discontinued [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 ), Drug Interactions ( 7 )] .
Adherence to APRETUDE Counsel individuals about the importance of continued medication adherence and scheduled visits to help reduce the risk of acquiring HIV-1 infection and development of resistance [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.3 ), Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Hypersensitivity Reactions Advise individuals to immediately contact their healthcare provider if they develop a rash. Instruct individuals to immediately stop taking APRETUDE and seek…