Spherusol Coccidioides immitis Spherule-Derived Skin Test Antigen 12.7 ug/mL Injection, Solution, 1 mL — NDC 59584-0140-01 package photo

Spherusol Coccidioides immitis Spherule-Derived Skin Test Antigen 12.7 ug/mL Injection, Solution, 1 mL

by Nielsen BioSciences, Inc. · 1 mL in 1 VIAL, MULTI-DOSE (59584-140-01)
NDC 59584-0140-01
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 59584-140-01 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Brand On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 59584-140-01
Product NDC 59584-140
11-digit billing NDC 59584014001
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
RxCUI 1666441, 1666446
UNII ITY7G7Q744
Application # BLA125354
SPL Set ID 77108624-4771-4886-a3e2-b2625c444d1b
Established class (EPC) Skin Test Antigen
Physiologic effect Cell-mediated Immunity
Chemical class Antigens, Fungal
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category BLA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2011-07-29
Route INTRADERMAL
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance COCCIDIOIDES IMMITIS SPHERULE
GPI-14 94300009202020
GPI class Spherusol
GCN Seq No 069279
GCN 32272
HICL code 004229
Ingredient (HICL) Spherule-Deriv Cocci Skin Test
HIC1 code W
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Anti-Infecting Agents
HIC2 code W7
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Biologicals
HIC3 code W7T
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Antigenic Skin Tests
AHFS code 36:32.00.00
AHFS class Fungi
FDB label name SPHERUSOL VIAL
FDB brand name Spherusol
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Biologic (Purple Book) 351(a)
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 59584-140-01 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 59584-0140-01. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Skin Test Antigen class.

Pharmacologic class Skin Test Antigen
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerNielsen BioSciences, Inc.
FDA applicationBLA125354 (BLA)
Labeler code59584
First marketedJul 2011
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio2 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name SPHERUSOL VIAL Ingredient Spherule-Deriv Cocci Skin Test
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • .0045 mL / 1 mL UNII 339NCG44TV
    Phenol is a chemical compound derived from coal tar or petroleum. It serves as a preservative and antimicrobial agent in medicines, helping prevent bacterial and fungal growth to keep the product stable and safe during storage.
  • .00014 g / 1 mL UNII 91MBZ8H3QO
    Sodium borate is an inorganic salt compound used in medicines as a buffer to help maintain a stable pH level, and sometimes as a mild preservative or cleansing agent in topical formulations.
  • .009 g / 1 mL UNII 451W47IQ8X
    Sodium chloride is common table salt. It's used in medicines as a buffer to maintain proper pH, as a filler to add bulk, or to adjust the osmotic balance in liquid formulations.
  • .99 mL / 1 mL UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.

4 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
ℹ️
No price is published for this exact package yet. CMS surveys NADAC per package size, so a different pack of the same drug often has one.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Spherusol 12.7 ug/mLthis 59584-0140-01 Nielsen 1 ml FDA listed
About this product: this is a biologic. Biologics don't have small-molecule generics — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars (shown above), not generics.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & biosimilar status

🏛️
2011
First FDA approval
Jul 2011
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
15 years listed
🔓
·
Biosimilar pathway open
listed protections lapsed 2023
🧬Biologic — competition comes from biosimilars

Biologics have no small-molecule generics; biosimilar competition is tracked in the FDA Purple Book.

🛡️ Latest patent/protection date listed: The latest listed FDA patent/protection lapsed Jul 2023 — those protections no longer apply, though a biosimilar still needs FDA licensure and a manufacturer to market it.
📅 FDA approved Jul 29, 2011

Why the date isn’t exact: Biosimilar timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added or removed, and litigation can move the real date earlier or later.

FDA Purple Book — biosimilars & interchangeables
🔒 No FDA-licensed biosimilars or interchangeable biosimilars are listed yet for this biologic. It currently has no biosimilar competition in the FDA Purple Book.
Source: FDA Purple Book (purplebooksearch.fda.gov), matched on the reference product’s active ingredient.
Patents & exclusivity — FDA Purple Book
Exclusivity RefProduct
2011 2013 2015 2017 2019 2021 2023
Today
LOE
Biologic patent Exclusivity
🏛️Reference-product exclusivity
A flat 12 years of FDA market protection from first licensure. No biosimilar can be licensed before it ends — regardless of patents.
🧪Listed biologic patents
Patents the reference maker lists covering the molecule, formulation, or manufacturing. A biosimilar generally can’t launch until these resolve.
🔁Interchangeability
An interchangeable biosimilar may be substituted at the pharmacy (state laws vary). The first one can earn its own exclusivity period.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
Biologic patent
A patent the reference product’s maker has publicly listed. A biosimilar generally can’t launch until these expire — unless they’re invalidated or resolved in a settlement.
Reference-product exclusivity
A flat 12 years of FDA market protection from the biologic’s first licensure (the BPCIA). No biosimilar can be licensed before it ends, regardless of patents.
Interchangeable exclusivity
The first interchangeable biosimilar can earn a period as the only interchangeable version (pharmacists can substitute it without the prescriber).
Earliest biosimilar (LOE)
The latest of all the dates above — the soonest a biosimilar can realistically reach the market. Litigation and settlements can move it earlier.

Biologics have no small-molecule “generics” — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars, tracked in the FDA Purple Book.

FDA exclusivity
CodeWhat it grantsExpires
RefProductReference-product exclusivity (12-year, BPCIA) — no biosimilar can be licensed before this dateJul 29, 2023
Common questions
Is there a biosimilar for SPHERUSOL VIAL?
No FDA-licensed biosimilar is currently listed for this biologic in the FDA Purple Book.
Why do different websites show different biosimilar dates?
Biosimilar availability isn’t based on one single date. Some sources use the reference-product exclusivity, some use the last listed patent, and patent litigation, settlements, and licenses can all change the real-world launch date. This page shows the underlying Purple Book dates so you can see why estimates differ.
Can a biosimilar launch before the last patent expires?
Sometimes. A biosimilar maker may settle with the reference manufacturer or receive a license to launch earlier. In other cases, the last listed protection delays competition.
What does “current Purple Book estimate” mean?
It means we’re using the latest patent and exclusivity dates currently listed in the FDA Purple Book. It is not a guaranteed launch date.
What does “FDA listed” mean?
It means the product appears in the FDA’s official directory. That’s a good sign a product exists for the U.S. market, but on its own it does not confirm a pharmacy can get it today. Where we have recent retail pricing data, we label it “Availability likely” instead.
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
It’s the latest date currently listed in the FDA Purple Book for a patent or exclusivity on the reference biologic. It can affect when a biosimilar becomes widely available — but it is not a guaranteed launch date. Settlements and licenses can move the real date earlier or later.
Built from the FDA Purple Book Patent List (patents the reference-product sponsor has publicly listed under the BPCIA) plus reference-product exclusivity. Biosimilars cannot launch until these clear; patent litigation and settlements can shift the real date. Biologics have no small-molecule generics — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars, not the Orange Book.
Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Purple Book (biologics), refreshed from public FDA data. Biosimilar launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
59584-0140-01 You're viewing this 1 mL in 1 VIAL, MULTI-DOSE (59584-140-01) 2020-06-01 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 59584-140-01, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 59584-0140-01, written without dashes as 59584014001. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 59584-0140-01, the first segment (59584) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Nielsen BioSciences, Inc.; the middle segment (0140) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (01) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Nielsen BioSciences, Inc.. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Nielsen BioSciences, Inc. is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning ~1 min read

WARNING The expected response to Spherusol ® is a local area of inflammation at the site of the skin test. The reaction is usually dime to quarter size reaching maximum diameter between 24 and 48 hours. Larger accelerated reactions can occur, which may require treatment with local cold compresses and anti-inflammatory medication.

( 2.3 , 6.1 ) Systemic reactions can occur with skin test antigens and in certain individuals these reactions may be life-threatening or cause death. Emergency measures and personnel trained in their use should be immediately available. Patients should be observed for at least 20 minutes following the administration of a skin test.

( 6.2 ) Spherusol ® should never be given intravenously. ( 5 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Nielsen BioSciences, Inc. at (855) 855-1212 or MEDWATCH, Food and Drug Administration (FDA), 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20852-9782. Telephone: (800) 332-1088 or www.vaers.hhs.gov .

( 6.2 ) WARNING See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning The expected response to Spherusol ® is a local area of inflammation at the site of the skin test. The reaction is usually dime to quarter size reaching maximum diameter between 24 and 48 hours. Larger accelerated reactions can occur, which may require treatment with local cold compresses and anti-inflammatory medication.

( 2.3 , 6.1 ) Systemic reactions can occur with skin test antigens and in certain individuals these reactions may be life-threatening or cause death. Emergency measures and personnel trained in their use should be immediately available. Patients should be observed for at least 20 minutes following the administration of a skin test.

( 5.3 , 6.2 ) Spherusol ® should never be given intravenously. ( 5 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Nielsen BioSciences, Inc. at (855) 855-1212 or MEDWATCH, Food and Drug Administration (FDA), 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20852-9782. Telephone: (800) 332-1088 or www.vaers.hhs.gov .

( 6.2 )

🎯 Indications and Usage 200 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Spherusol ® is a skin test antigen indicated for the detection of delayed-type hypersensitivity to Coccidioides immitis in individuals with a history of pulmonary coccidioidomycosis. Spherusol ® is approved for use in individuals 18-64 years of age. The use of Spherusol ® to detect delayed-type hypersensitivity responses in a general population with unknown exposure to C. immitis has not been evaluated.

Persons with acute or disseminated coccidioidomycosis may not develop a delayed-type hypersensitivity response to Spherusol ® . Persons with immunodeficiency and a history of coccidioidomycosis may not develop a delayed-type hypersensitivity response to Spherusol ® . Spherusol ® is a skin test antigen indicated for the detection of delayed-type hypersensitivity to Coccidioides immitis in individuals with a history of pulmonary coccidioidomycosis.

Spherusol ® is approved for use in individuals 18-64 years of age. The use of Spherusol ® to detect delayed-type hypersensitivity responses in a general population with unknown exposure to C. immitis has not been evaluated. Persons with acute or disseminated coccidioidomycosis may not develop a delayed-type hypersensitivity response to Spherusol ® .

Persons with immunodeficiency and a history of coccidioidomycosis may not develop a delayed-type hypersensitivity response to Spherusol ® .( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration 215 words

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION A single 0.1 mL intradermal injection. Induration at injection site to be evaluated 48 hours after administration. ( 2.1 , 2.3 )

2.1Preparation for Administration Spherusol ® is a clear, colorless sterile solution for intradermal administration. Parenteral drug products should be inspected visually for particulate matter and discoloration prior to administration, whenever solution and container permit. If any of these conditions exists, the skin test antigen should not be administered.

2.2Administration: Spherusol ® is administered as a 0.1 mL dose by intradermal injection to the volar surface of the forearm using a tuberculin syringe (0.5 or 1.0 mL) and a ½ inch 26-27 gauge needle. The needle should be inserted bevel side up in the skin at a 15-20 degree angle. Intradermal injection of 0.1 mL Spherusol ® will result in a bleb 5-10 mm in diameter at the injection site.

2.3Skin Test Assessment The injection site should be assessed for induration at 48 hours (±4 hours) following administration. The response to the skin test should be measured by taking the mean of the orthogonal diameters of the area of induration. A mean induration of ≥ 5 mm is considered a positive delayed-type hypersensitivity response to Spherusol ® . Repeat administration of Spherusol ® has not been evaluated.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 51 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Spherusol ® is a solution for intradermal injection supplied in a 1 mL multi-dose vial. Each 0.1 mL dose contains 1.27 mcg of spherule-derived Coccidioides immitis antigen. Multi-dose vial (1 mL) containing a solution of spherule-derived C. immitis antigen, 1.27 mcg per 0.1mL. ( 3 )

Contraindications 49 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS A severe allergic reaction (e.g., anaphylaxis) to Spherusol ® , or any component of Spherusol ® or other coccidioidin products is a contraindication to administration. Severe allergic reaction (e.g., anaphylaxis) to Spherusol ® , or any component of Spherusol ® or other coccidioidin products. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~1 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Acute hypersensitivity reactions and anaphylaxis have occurred following the administration of other skin test antigens and may occur in individuals following the administration of Spherusol ® . ( 5.1 ) Patients receiving beta-blocking drugs may be refractive to the usual dose of epinephrine in cases of hypersensitivity. ( 5.2 ) Any condition or agent that impairs or attenuates delayed type hypersensitivity reactions, including infections and use of immunosuppressive drugs, can potentially cause a false negative reaction to Spherusol ® .

( 5.3 )

5.1Prevention and Management of Acute Hypersensitivity Reactions Prior to administration, the healthcare provider should review the medical history for possible skin test sensitivity and previous skin test related adverse reactions to assess the risks and benefits. Immediate hypersensitivity, to include severe systemic reactions, may occur following administration of skin test antigens. Medications and equipment to manage possible anaphylactic reactions should be available for immediate use.

Patients should be observed for a minimum of 30 minutes following administration to assess for adverse reactions.

5.2Patients on Beta Blockers Patients receiving beta blockers may be unresponsive to the usual doses of epinephrine used to treat serious systemic reactions, including anaphylaxis.

5.3Immunosuppression Any condition or agent that impairs or attenuates delayed-type hypersensitivity reactions, including infections and use of immunosuppressive drugs, can potentially cause a false negative reaction to Spherusol ® . [see Drug Interactions ( 7.1 )]

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The most commonly reported local adverse reactions were itching and swelling (>75%) and pain (>15%) within 7 days of administration.( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Nielsen Biosciences, Inc. at (855) 855-1212 or Food and Drug Administration (FDA) at 1-800-332-1088 or www.vaers.hhs.gov . ( 6.3 )

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a skin test antigen cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another skin test antigen, and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. As with any skin test antigen, there is the possibility that broad use of Spherusol ® could reveal adverse reactions not observed in clinical trials. In a double-blinded placebo-controlled clinical trial conducted in areas of the U.S. endemic for C. immitis (Bakersfield, CA and Tucson, AZ), 54 adults (23-64 years of age) with a history of pulmonary coccidioidomycosis of at least 45 days duration, diagnosed by clinical findings, radiography and serological and/or mycological evidence of the disease, received a single dose of Spherusol ® concomitantly with two licensed skin test extracts (Candin ® and Trichophyton) and two controls (product diluent [thimerosal ≤0.0001%] and saline).

Each intradermal injection of 0.1 mL of reagent was given at pre-determined sites on the right and left forearms. Solicited local adverse reactions and systemic adverse events occurring within 7 days after injection were recorded by study subjects via diary card. These events were also recorded on case report forms (CRFs) by study personnel during clinical visits 48 hours and 7 days following injections.

Diary cards and CRFs did not record solicited local reactions by specific site. Local adverse reactions and systemic adverse events that occurred within 7 days were monitored until resolution. Reports of unsolicited adverse events and serious adverse events that occurred within 7 days after administration were collected on the diary cards or reported at study visits.

Table 1 lists the percentage of subjects reporting solicited local reactions (at any site) and solicited systemic adverse events within 7 days following the administration of Spherusol ® , Candin ® , Trichophyton, diluent control and placebo control. Table 1. Frequency of Solicited Local Reactions and Systemic Adverse Events within 7 days of Administration of Spherusol ® , Candin ® , Trichophyton, Diluent Control and Saline Control in Subjects with a History of Pulmonary Coccidioidomycosis (N=53) Symptom Frequency (%) Local ∗ Any Mild Moderate Severe Itching 85 36 47 2 Swelling 79 36 41 2 Pain 17 13 4 0 Necrosis/Ulceration 4 2 0 2 Systemic Increased heart rate 4 2 2 0 Weakness 6 2 4 0 Faintness 0 0 0 0 Dizziness 2 2 0 0 Nausea/cramps 2 2 0 0 Flu-like symptoms 7 2 6 0 Difficulty breathing/shortness of breath 0 0 0 0 Any = Percentage of subjects experiencing adverse event of any intensity; Mild = Barely noticeable, not bothersome; Moderate = Distinctly noticeable discomfort; Severe = Needs medical attention. ∗ Local reactions occurring at any injection site Of subjects with severe reactions, one subject required treatment with oral corticosteroids for ulceration and swelling.

Based on investigator's determination the reaction was at the site of Trichophyton injection. All severe reactions resolved without sequelae. During the 7 days following administration two subjects reported unsolicited adverse events: one subject reported joint pain, fatigue, cough, sensitivity at a test site (test site not specified), and one subject with erythema immediately after administration (test site not specified).

The intensities of these unsolicited adverse events were not recorded. No serious adverse events or deaths were reported during the clinical study.

6.2To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Nielsen BioSciences, Inc. at (855) 855-1212 or MEDWA…

🔄 Drug Interactions 132 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Corticosteroids and immunosuppressive agents may suppress the response to the skin test.( 7.1 )

7.1Corticosteroids and Immunosuppressives Corticosteroids and Immunosuppressive agents may suppress the response to the skin test. Pharmacologic doses of corticosteroids may suppress the response to skin test antigens after two weeks of therapy. The mechanism of suppression is thought to involve a decrease in monocytes and lymphocytes, particularly T-cells.

The normal DTH response usually returns to pre-treatment levels within several weeks after steroid therapy is discontinued. (5) The use of Spherusol ® has not been evaluated during or following the use of corticosteroids or immunosuppressive agents.

7.2Antifungal Medications It is not known if concurrent treatment with antifungal medications interferes with delayed-type hypersensitivity responses to Spherusol ® in patients with a history of pulmonary coccidioidomycosis.

👥 Use in Specific Populations 201 words

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS The safety and effectiveness of Spherusol ® in pregnant and nursing women have not been established. ( 8.1 , 8.3 )

8.1Pregnancy The safety and effectiveness of Spherusol ® in pregnant women have not been established. Pregnancy Category C Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with Spherusol ® . It is also not known whether Spherusol ® can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman or affect reproduction capacity. Spherusol ® should be given to a pregnant woman only if clearly needed.

8.2Labor and Delivery No information is available to assess the effects of Spherusol ® on childbirth.

8.3Nursing Mothers The safety and effectiveness of Spherusol ® in nursing women have not been established. It is not known whether Spherusol ® is excreted in human milk. However, because the potential exists for Spherusol ® to be excreted in human milk, caution should be exercised when administering Spherusol ® to a nursing woman.

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of Spherusol ® in the pediatric population have not been established.

8.5Geriatric Use The safety and effectiveness of Spherusol ® have not been established in individuals >65 years of age.

🤰 Pregnancy 65 words

8.1Pregnancy The safety and effectiveness of Spherusol ® in pregnant women have not been established. Pregnancy Category C Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with Spherusol ® . It is also not known whether Spherusol ® can cause fetal harm when administered to a pregnant woman or affect reproduction capacity. Spherusol ® should be given to a pregnant woman only if clearly needed.

🧒 Pediatric Use 18 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of Spherusol ® in the pediatric population have not been established.

🧓 Geriatric Use 20 words

8.5Geriatric Use The safety and effectiveness of Spherusol ® have not been established in individuals >65 years of age.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology 141 words

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action In individuals with a history of pulmonary coccidioidomycosis Spherusol ® is thought to elicit a cellular immune reaction to C. immitis , as evidenced by a delayed-type hypersensitivity (DTH) response to Coccidioidin (1,2,3,4) . The general mechanism of the DTH response is based on the interaction of antigen with CD 4 and CD 8 lymphocytes followed by the secretion of interleukins and other lymphokines from macrophage cells. The release of effector molecules causes endothelial cells lining the blood vessels to become permeable and allows fibrinogen to escape into the surrounding tissue where it is converted to fibrin.

The deposition of fibrin and the accumulation of T-cells and monocytes within the extracellular spaces cause the tissue to swell and become indurated. This process is usually detectable in 18 hours and peaks at 48 hours. (5)

🧬 Mechanism of Action 138 words

12.1Mechanism of Action In individuals with a history of pulmonary coccidioidomycosis Spherusol ® is thought to elicit a cellular immune reaction to C. immitis , as evidenced by a delayed-type hypersensitivity (DTH) response to Coccidioidin (1,2,3,4) . The general mechanism of the DTH response is based on the interaction of antigen with CD 4 and CD 8 lymphocytes followed by the secretion of interleukins and other lymphokines from macrophage cells. The release of effector molecules causes endothelial cells lining the blood vessels to become permeable and allows fibrinogen to escape into the surrounding tissue where it is converted to fibrin.

The deposition of fibrin and the accumulation of T-cells and monocytes within the extracellular spaces cause the tissue to swell and become indurated. This process is usually detectable in 18 hours and peaks at 48 hours. (5)

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 39 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Spherusol ® is available in 1 mL multidose vial. NDC# 59584-140-01: multi-dose vial. Store refrigerated at 2° to 8°C (35° to 46°F). Do not freeze. Discard if frozen. Do not use after expiration date.

📋 Description 74 words

11 DESCRIPTION Spherusol ® is a sterile aqueous solution of extracts of C. immitis spherules. The multi-dose vial contains 0.9% sodium chloride and 0.014% sodium borate with 0.4% phenol as a preservative. Residual thimerosal from the manufacturing process is present at a concentration of ≤0.0001% (<0.05 mcg mercury/0.1 mL dose).

Each 0.1 mL dose contains 1.27 mcg of spherule-derived antigen. The potency of each lot of Spherusol ® is determined in sensitized guinea pigs.

💬 Information for Patients 31 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Patients should be: Informed of the potential benefits and risks of skin testing with Spherusol ® . Instructed to report any adverse events to their healthcare provider.

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.