HomeNDC LookupIngredientsLevothyroxine Sodium › 63323-0885-12
Levothyroxine Sodium 20 ug/mL Injection, Solution — NDC 63323-0885-12 package photo

Levothyroxine Sodium 20 ug/mL Injection, Solution

by Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC · 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 CARTON (63323-885-12) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE
NDC 63323-0885-12
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 63323-885-12 billing pads the product segment with a zero
This package
Contains5 mL in 1 vial, single-dose Pack sizes3 compare ↓
Rx only Brand On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Sep 17, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →
⚠️
Other active recalls for Levothyroxine Sodium (different manufacturers) — 6 · tap to view
These affect other manufacturers’ products for the same ingredient — not necessarily the exact NDC on this page.
Class II · Aug 6, 2026 — Subpotent Drug (ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.) · FDA recall D-0781-2026
Class II · Aug 6, 2026 — Subpotent Drug (ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.) · FDA recall D-0786-2026
Class II · Aug 6, 2026 — Subpotent Drug (ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.) · FDA recall D-0782-2026
Class II · Aug 6, 2026 — Subpotent Drug (ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.) · FDA recall D-0775-2026
Class II · Aug 6, 2026 — Subpotent Drug (ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.) · FDA recall D-0777-2026
Class II · Aug 6, 2026 — Subpotent Drug (ACCORD HEALTHCARE, INC.) · FDA recall D-0776-2026
Each entry is an official FDA enforcement report — look up any recall number in the FDA recall database ↗

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 63323-885-12
Product NDC 63323-885
11-digit billing NDC 63323088512
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII 9J765S329G
UPC 0363323895105, 0363323885106, 0363323890100
Application # NDA210632
SPL Set ID 388a1f15-8c1c-46a5-997f-7f326f696b59
Established class (EPC) l-Thyroxine
Chemical class Thyroxine
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category NDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2018-05-29
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance LEVOTHYROXINE SODIUM
GPI-14 28100010102084
GPI class Levothyroxine Sodium
GCN Seq No 079662
GCN 44543
HICL code 002849
Ingredient (HICL) Levothyroxine Sodium
HIC1 code P
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Endocrine System
HIC2 code P3
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Drugs Affecting Thyroid Function
HIC3 code P3A
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Thyroid Hormones
AHFS code 68:36.04.00
AHFS class Thyroid Agents
FDB label name LEVOTHYROXINE 100 MCG/5 ML VL
FDB brand name Levothyroxine Sodium
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 63323-885-12 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 63323-0885-12. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the l-Thyroxine class.

Pharmacologic class l-Thyroxine
Drug family (ATC) Thyroid hormones
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerFresenius Kabi USA, LLC
Application holderFRESENIUS KABI USA LLC
FDA applicationNDA210632 (NDA)
Labeler code63323
First marketedMay 2018
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio554 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name LEVOTHYROXINE 100 MCG/5 ML VL Ingredient Levothyroxine Sodium
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Your thyroid gland isn't making enough of a hormone called T4, which your whole body depends on to regulate your energy, metabolism, heart rate, and more. Levothyroxine is a precis...
  • What exactly is levothyroxine doing for me — why do I need to take it every day?
  • Timing really does make a difference with this medication. Food — especially high-fiber foods or anything soy-based — can block your gut from absorbing it properly. Taking it 30 to...
  • Why does it matter so much when I take it — can't I just take it with breakfast?
📖 Read our full Levothyroxine guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII QTT17582CB
    A strong acid used to adjust and maintain the proper pH level in liquid medicines, ensuring stability and preventing breakdown of active ingredients.
  • UNII 451W47IQ8X
    Sodium chloride is common table salt. It's used in medicines as a buffer to maintain proper pH, as a filler to add bulk, or to adjust the osmotic balance in liquid formulations.
  • UNII 55X04QC32I
    A strong alkaline chemical used to adjust and maintain the pH balance of liquid medicines. It helps keep the medicine stable and ensures it stays effective during storage.
  • UNII F5WR8N145C
    Sodium iodide is an inorganic salt containing iodine. In medications, it acts as a source of iodine and may serve as a preservative or stabilizer to help maintain product quality and shelf life.
  • UNII 023C2WHX2V
    Tromethamine is a chemical buffer that helps maintain the proper acidity level in liquid medicines. It neutralizes acids and stabilizes the solution so the medication remains effective and safe throughout its shelf life.

5 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
Medicare Part B allowsASP · J0651 $6.836 / J0651 unit
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)63323-885-12
11-digit billing NDC63323-0885-12
Format5-3-2 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the product segment)
HCPCS J-codeJ0651
DescriptorINJECTION, LEVOTHYROXINE SODIUM (FRESENIUS KABI) NOT THERAPEUTICALLY EQUIVALENT TO J0650, 10 MCG
Billing units / pkg2 units
Crosswalk sourcePDAC NDC-HCPCS crosswalk (DME MAC / DMEPOS)
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Levothyroxine Sodium 20 ug/mLthis 63323-0885-12 Fresenius 1 vial FDA listed
About this product: this is the brand-name version. Some generic versions are approved by the FDA, but we could not confirm current pharmacy availability from our pricing/market data.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2019
First FDA approval
Apr 2019
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
7 years listed
🛡️
2036
Latest patent/protection listed
not a guaranteed launch date
🔒Generic approved by FDA, but pharmacy availability is not confirmed

The FDA lists approved generic versions of this medicine, but that does not always mean a pharmacy can get one today. Patent rules, launch agreements, supply and pricing can affect when generics actually arrive.

🛡️ Latest patent/protection date listed: FDA patent/protection data lists protections through Dec 2036. This may affect when a full generic version becomes widely available, but it is not a guaranteed launch date.
📅 FDA approved Apr 11, 2019 RLD RS ⏳ ~10.2 yr to latest listed protection

Why the date isn’t exact: Generic timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added, removed, or worked around with a narrower label — and FDA approval does not always mean a pharmacy can get the generic today.

Patents & exclusivity — FDA Orange Book
US 9782376 — drug product
US 9782376 — drug product
US 11135190 — drug product
US 10398669 — drug product
US 11135190 — drug product
US 12636270 — drug product
US 11135190 — drug product
US 10398669 — drug product
US 12636270 — drug product
US 9782376 — drug product
US 10398669 — drug product
US 12636270 — drug product
2019 2021 2023 2025 2027 2029 2031 2033 2035 2037
Today
LOE
Substance patent Formulation patent Method-of-use patent Exclusivity Pediatric +6mo
🏛️FDA exclusivity
FDA-granted marketing protection. It’s separate from patents and may be shorter than patent protection.
🧪Product / substance patents
Patents covering the active ingredient, product, formulation, or related drug features.
🎯Method-of-use patents
Patents covering specific approved uses. These can sometimes be carved out with a “skinny label,” but not always.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
Patent
Legal protection listed in the Orange Book that may delay generic approval or launch. Issued by the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office.
Substance patent
Covers the active drug molecule itself — the hardest to design around. A generic generally can’t launch until it expires.
Formulation (product) patent
Covers a specific formulation or dosage form. A generic can sometimes work around it with a different formulation.
Method-of-use patent
A patent covering one specific approved use of the drug — not necessarily the whole molecule. A generic can sometimes launch with a “skinny label” that carves out the protected use and keeps the others.
Skinny label
A generic label that omits a still-patented use when the FDA allows it — letting a generic reach the market for the unprotected uses.
Exclusivity
FDA-granted marketing protection, separate from patents — e.g. 5-yr new chemical entity, 7-yr orphan drug, or a +6-month pediatric extension.
Paragraph IV
A generic applicant’s formal challenge to a listed patent. It can potentially lead to earlier generic entry, but often involves litigation or a settlement.
RLD / RS
Reference Listed Drug — the brand product the FDA uses as the reference for generic applications. Reference Standard — the product the FDA expects generics to compare against in bioequivalence testing.
TE / AB rating
FDA therapeutic-equivalence rating. An AB rating generally means the FDA considers a generic therapeutically equivalent to — and substitutable for — the brand.
LOE (loss of exclusivity)
The latest patent or exclusivity currently listed — the loss-of-exclusivity / latest-listed-protection date shown on this page. Paragraph-IV challenges and settlements can move the real date earlier; FDA approval and a manufacturer’s decision to market can move it later.

Built from the FDA Orange Book. The bars above are scaled to each protection’s expiry; the red LOE marker is the last one to lapse.

Listed patents (12)
PatentTypeUse codeExpires
US 9782376 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 9782376 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 11135190 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 10398669 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 11135190 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 12636270 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 11135190 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 10398669 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 12636270 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 9782376 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 10398669 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
US 12636270 ↗ Drug product Dec 1, 2036
Common questions
Is there a generic version of LEVOTHYROXINE 100 MCG/5 ML VL?
Yes — an FDA-approved generic equivalent is listed in the FDA Orange Book for LEVOTHYROXINE 100 MCG/5 ML VL. See the alternatives section for substitutable, lower-cost products.
The FDA approved a generic — why can’t I get it at my pharmacy yet?
FDA approval and pharmacy availability are two different things. The FDA can approve a generic years before it actually reaches pharmacies, because the brand company may still hold patents or have a settlement that delays the launch. A manufacturer also has to choose to make and sell it, and have supply ready. So a drug can be “FDA-approved generic exists” and still be brand-only at the counter today.
Why do different websites show different generic release dates?
Generic availability is not based on one single date. Some sources use the first exclusivity expiration, some use the last product patent, and others use the latest method-of-use patent. Patent challenges, settlements, licenses, and label carve-outs can also change the real-world launch date. This page shows the underlying Orange Book dates so you can see why estimates may differ.
What does “FDA listed” mean?
It means the product appears in the FDA’s official NDC directory. That’s a good sign a product exists and is intended for the U.S. market, but on its own it does not confirm a pharmacy can fill it today. Where we have recent retail pricing data (NADAC) for a product, we label it “Availability likely” instead.
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
It’s the latest date currently listed in the FDA Orange Book for a patent or exclusivity on the brand product. It can affect when a full generic version becomes widely available — but it is not a guaranteed generic launch date. Generics sometimes arrive earlier (through a settlement or patent challenge) or later (a manufacturer still has to make and sell one).
What does “current Orange Book estimate” mean?
It means we are using the latest patent and exclusivity dates currently listed in the FDA Orange Book. It is not a guaranteed launch date.
Can a generic come out before the last patent expires?
Sometimes. A generic company may challenge a patent, settle with the brand manufacturer, receive a license, or obtain approval with a narrower label that avoids a patented use. In other cases, the last listed protection may delay full-label generic competition.
Can a generic come out after the listed dates?
Yes. Even after patents or exclusivity expire, a generic still needs FDA approval and a manufacturer must choose to market it. Supply, litigation, business decisions, or regulatory issues can delay actual availability.
What is the difference between patents and exclusivity?
Patents are legal protections usually issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. FDA exclusivity is marketing protection granted by the FDA. They are separate, and either one can affect generic timing.
Why are there multiple patent dates?
One drug can have several patents covering different things: the active ingredient, a formulation, a manufacturing process, or a specific approved use. That is why a page may show several expiration dates instead of one simple generic date.
Built from FDA Orange Book patent and exclusivity data. Dates are refreshed from public FDA data when available; the marker is max(latest patent expiry, latest exclusivity expiry). Paragraph-IV settlements and first-filer 180-day exclusivity can shift the real date; a method-of-use patent may allow an earlier skinny-label generic for non-protected indications. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.
Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

💊 Medicaid utilization by pack size

Medicaid (SDUD) totals over the four most recent reported quarters for every package size of this drug — handy when a specific package (e.g. a starter/titration pack) carries little or no Medicaid volume on its own.
1 vial63323-0885-10 497 Rx · $158,523
1 vial63323-0885-14 No Medicaid data
Drug total (last 4 qtrs): 497 Rx · 12,176 units · $158,523 gross reimbursed
Tap a pack size to open its page. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data, last 4 quarters.

📊 Medicare Part D spend CMS · PART D · 2026 (Q1)

Medicare Part D (outpatient prescription) spending for Levothyroxine Sodium — the program that covers self-administered drugs. 19 manufacturers.
⚠️ Drug-level data: CMS publishes Part D spending by drug, not by NDC — these figures combine every manufacturer, strength and package size sold under the name Levothyroxine Sodium. That’s a different level of aggregation than the Medicaid card above, which is specific to this exact 11-digit NDC (pack size included), so the two aren’t directly comparable.
Period
Total Part D spend
$118.86M
Claims incl. refills
10.9M
Beneficiaries
7.8M
Spend / beneficiary
$15.20
Spend / claim
$10.88
Trend by period
💵 About the dollar figures: spending is what Part D plans paid before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower. A blank patient count means fewer than 11 people — CMS hides counts that small to protect privacy. Source: CMS Medicare Quarterly Part D Spending by Drug (data.cms.gov), updated quarterly.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Levothyroxine sodium — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Fatigue26,585
Nausea22,605
Headache19,408
Diarrhoea18,759
Dyspnoea16,717
Pain16,375
Dizziness15,848

Age at onset

Neonate282
Infant75
Child220
Adolescent179
Adult19,320
Elderly21,623

Reporter sex

312,551 reports
Male · 19%
Female · 81%
Unknown · 0%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization90,712
Death20,300
Life-threatening10,774
Disabling9,272
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2019 2021 2023 2026 19,277 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
63323-0885-14 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 CARTON (63323-885-14) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE 2018-05-29 Active
63323-0885-10 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 CARTON (63323-885-10) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE 2018-05-29 Active
63323-0885-12 You're viewing this 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 CARTON (63323-885-12) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE 2018-05-29 Active

This pack shows little to no recent Medicaid volume — a different pack size carries most fills. See all packs ↓

Pack size FAQ

What quantity is in NDC 63323-0885-12?
NDC 63323-0885-12 is listed by the FDA — 1 vial, single-dose in 1 carton / 5 ml in 1 vial, single-dose.
What NDC number is used to bill for this package of Levothyroxine Sodium 20 ug/mL Injection, Solution?
Bill NDC 63323-0885-12 — the 11-digit billing format is 63323088512. Pharmacy and medical claims use the 11-digit form; the FDA label may print a shorter form of the same code.

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk ✓ Available
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 63323-885-12, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 63323-0885-12, written without dashes as 63323088512. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 63323-0885-12, the first segment (63323) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC; the middle segment (0885) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (12) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Does this product come in other package sizes?
Yes — the FDA directory lists 2 other package presentations of this same product, including 1 vial (63323-0885-14), 1 vial (63323-0885-10). Each has its own NDC and its own page — see the package list near the top of this page.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Yes — this NDC cross-references HCPCS code J0651 for medical-claim billing (typically used when a product is administered in a clinical setting rather than dispensed at a retail pharmacy). See the Billing section on this page.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning 92 words

WARNING: NOT FOR TREATMENT OF OBESITY OR FOR WEIGHT LOSS Thyroid hormones, including Levothyroxine Sodium Injection, should not be used for the treatment of obesity or for weight loss. Larger doses may produce serious or even life threatening manifestations of toxicity. ( 6 , 10 ) WARNING: NOT FOR TREATMENT OF OBESITY OR FOR WEIGHT LOSS Thyroid hormones, including Levothyroxine Sodium Injection, should not be used for the treatment of obesity or for weight loss.

Larger doses may produce serious or even life threatening manifestations of toxicity. ( 6 , 10 )

🎯 Indications and Usage 111 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Levothyroxine Sodium Injection is indicated for the treatment of myxedema coma. Levothyroxine Sodium Injection is L-thyroxine (T4) indicated in adult patients for the treatment of myxedema coma. ( 1 ) Limitations of Use: Not recommended as a substitute for oral levothyroxine sodium because the relative bioavailability of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection to oral levothyroxine sodium has not been established and there is a risk of inaccurate dose conversion.

( 1 ) Limitations of Use: Not recommended as a substitute for oral levothyroxine sodium because the relative bioavailability of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection to oral levothyroxine sodium has not been established and there is a risk of inaccurate dose conversion.

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~1 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Consider the age, general physical condition, cardiac risk factors, and clinical severity of myxedema and duration of myxedema symptoms when determining dosages of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection. ( 2.1 ) Start with lower doses in elderly patients and in patients with underlying cardiovascular disease. ( 2.1 ) The recommended loading dose is 300 mcg to 500 mcg administered intravenously.

( 2.1 ) The recommended maintenance dose is 50 mcg to 100 mcg administered intravenously daily until the patient can tolerate oral therapy. ( 2.1 ) Administer Levothyroxine Sodium Injection intravenously at a rate not to exceed 100 mcg per minute. ( 2.2 ) Do not add Levothyroxine Sodium Injection to intravenous fluids.

( 2.2 )

2.1Dosage Consider the age, general physical condition, cardiac risk factors, and clinical severity of myxedema and duration of myxedema symptoms when determining the starting and maintenance dosages of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection. Start with lower doses in elderly patients and in patients with underlying cardiovascular disease [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 ) and Use in Specific Populations ( 8.5 )]. The recommended loading dose of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection is 300 mcg to 500 mcg administered intravenously.

The recommended maintenance dose of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection is 50 mcg to 100 mcg administered intravenously daily until the patient can tolerate oral therapy.

2.2Administration Instructions Administer Levothyroxine Sodium Injection as an intravenous injection at a rate not to exceed 100 mcg per minute. Do not add Levothyroxine Sodium Injection to intravenous fluids. Inspect Levothyroxine Sodium Injection visually prior to injection. It should appear clear and colorless, solution free of visible particulates. Do not use if particulate matter or coloration is seen. Discard any unused portion.

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 40 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Levothyroxine Sodium Injection is clear, colorless solution supplied as: 100 mcg per 5 mL (20 mcg per mL) single-dose vial Injection: 100 mcg per 5 mL (20 mcg per mL) single-dose vial ( 3 )

Contraindications 18 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Uncorrected adrenal insufficiency [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] Uncorrected adrenal insufficiency. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~1 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Cardiac Adverse Reactions in the Elderly and in Patients with Underlying Cardiovascular Disease: Overtreatment may cause arrhythmias, tachycardia, myocardial ischemia and infarction, or worsening of congestive heart failure and death, particularly in patients with cardiovascular disease and in elderly patients. Start with lower doses in elderly patients and in patients with underlying cardiovascular disease and monitor patients after administration ( 5.1 ). Acute Adrenal Crisis in Patients with Concomitant Adrenal Insufficiency: Initiation of thyroid hormone therapy prior to initiating glucocorticoid therapy may precipitate an acute adrenal crisis in patients with adrenal insufficiency.

Treat patients with adrenal insufficiency with replacement glucocorticoids prior to initiating treatment ( 5.2 ). Worsening of Diabetic Control: May worsen glycemic control and result in increased antidiabetic agent or insulin requirements. Carefully monitor glycemic control ( 5.3 ).

5.1Cardiac Adverse Reactions in the Elderly and in Patients with Underlying Cardiovascular Disease Overtreatment with Levothyroxine Sodium Injection may cause arrhythmias, tachycardia, myocardial ischemia and infarction, or worsening of congestive heart failure and death, particularly in patients with cardiovascular disease and in elderly patients. Start with lower doses in elderly patients and in patients with underlying cardiovascular disease and monitor patients after administration of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection for cardiac adverse reactions.

5.2Acute Adrenal Crisis in Patients with Concomitant Adrenal Insufficiency Chronic autoimmune thyroiditis, which can lead to myxedema coma, may occur in association with other autoimmune disorders such as adrenal insufficiency. Thyroid hormone increases metabolic clearance of glucocorticoids. Initiation of thyroid hormone therapy prior to initiating glucocorticoid therapy may precipitate an acute adrenal crisis in patients with adrenal insufficiency [see Contraindications ( 4 )].

Treat patients with adrenal insufficiency with replacement glucocorticoids prior to initiating treatment with Levothyroxine Sodium Injection.

5.3Worsening of Diabetic Control Addition of levothyroxine therapy in patients with diabetes mellitus may worsen glycemic control and result in increased antidiabetic agent or insulin requirements. Carefully monitor glycemic control [see Drug Interactions ( 7.2 )].

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~1 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS Adverse reactions associated with levothyroxine are primarily those of hyperthyroidism due to therapeutic overdosage [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5 ) , Overdosage ( 10 ) ] . They include the following: General: fatigue, increased appetite, weight loss, heat intolerance, fever, excessive sweating Central nervous system: headache, hyperactivity, nervousness, anxiety, irritability, emotional lability, insomnia Musculoskeletal: tremors, muscle weakness, muscle spasm Cardiovascular: palpitations, tachycardia, arrhythmias, increased pulse and blood pressure, heart failure, angina, myocardial infarction, cardiac arrest Respiratory: dyspnea Gastrointestinal: diarrhea, vomiting, abdominal cramps, elevations in liver function tests Dermatologic: flushing, rash Seizures have been reported rarely with the institution of levothyroxine therapy.

Adverse reactions associated with Levothyroxine Sodium Injection are primarily those of hyperthyroidism due to therapeutic overdosage: fatigue, increased appetite, weight loss, heat intolerance, fever, excessive sweating, headache, hyperactivity, nervousness, anxiety, irritability, emotional lability, insomnia, tremors, muscle weakness, muscle spasm, palpitations, tachycardia, arrhythmias, increased pulse and blood pressure, heart failure, angina, myocardial infarction, cardiac arrest, dyspnea, diarrhea, vomiting, abdominal cramps, elevations in liver function tests, flushing, and rash.

( 6 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC at 1-800-551-7176 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch. Hypersensitivity Reactions Hypersensitivity reactions to inactive ingredients have occurred in patients treated with thyroid hormone products. These include urticaria, pruritus, skin rash, flushing, angioedema, various gastrointestinal symptoms (abdominal pain, nausea, vomiting and diarrhea), fever, arthralgia, serum sickness, and wheezing.

Hypersensitivity to levothyroxine itself is not known to occur.

🔄 Drug Interactions ~3 min read

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS See full prescribing information for drugs that affect thyroid hormone pharmacokinetics and metabolism (e.g., synthesis, secretion, catabolism, protein binding, and target tissue response) that may alter the therapeutic response to Levothyroxine Sodium Injection. ( 7 )

7.1Drugs Known to Affect Thyroid Hormone Pharmacokinetics Many drugs affect thyroid hormone pharmacokinetics and metabolism (e.g., synthesis, secretion, catabolism, protein binding, and target tissue response) and may alter the therapeutic response to Levothyroxine Sodium Injection (see Tables 1 - 3 ). Table 1: Drugs That May Alter T 4 and Triiodothyronine (T 3 ) Serum Transport Without Effecting Free Thyroxine (FT 4 ) Concentration (Euthyroidism) Drug or Drug Class Effect Clofibrate Estrogen-containing oral contraceptives Estrogens (oral) Heroin / Methadone 5-Fluorouracil Mitotane Tamoxifen These drugs may increase serum thyroxine-binding globulin (TBG) concentration.

Androgens / Anabolic Steroids Asparaginase Glucocorticoids Slow-Release Nicotinic Acid These drugs may decrease serum TBG concentration. Potential impact (below): Administration of these agents with levothyroxine results in an initial transient increase in FT 4 . Continued administration results in a decrease in serum T 4 and normal FT 4 and TSH concentrations.

Salicylates (> 2 g/day) Salicylates inhibit binding of T 4 and T 3 to TBG and transthyretin. An initial increase in serum FT 4 is followed by return of FT 4 to normal levels with sustained therapeutic serum salicylate concentrations, although total T 4 levels may decrease by as much as 30%. Other drugs: Carbamazepine Furosemide (> 80 mg IV) Heparin Hydantoins Non-Steroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs - Fenamates These drugs may cause protein-binding site displacement.

Furosemide has been shown to inhibit the protein binding of T4 to TBG and albumin, causing an increase free T4 fraction in serum. Furosemide competes for T4-binding sites on TBG, prealbumin, and albumin, so that a single high dose can acutely lower the total T4 level. Phenytoin and carbamazepine reduce serum protein binding of levothyroxine, and total and free T4 may be reduced by 20% to 40%, but most patients have normal serum TSH levels and are clinically euthyroid.

Closely monitor thyroid hormone parameters. Table 2: Drugs That May Alter Hepatic Metabolism of T 4 (Hypothyroidism) Potential impact: Stimulation of hepatic microsomal drug-metabolizing enzyme activity may cause increased hepatic degradation of levothyroxine, resulting in increased levothyroxine requirements. Drug or Drug Class Effect Phenobarbital Rifampin Phenobarbital has been shown to reduce the response to thyroxine.

Phenobarbital increases L-thyroxine metabolism by inducing uridine 5'-diphospho-glucuronosyltransferase (UGT) and leads to a lower T4 serum levels. Changes in thyroid status may occur if barbiturates are added or withdrawn from patients being treated for hypothyroidism. Rifampin has been shown to accelerate the metabolism of levothyroxine.

Table 3: Drugs That May Decrease Conversion of T 4 to T 3 Potential impact: Administration of these enzyme inhibitors decreases the peripheral conversion of T 4 to T 3 , leading to decreased T 3 levels. However, serum T 4 levels are usually normal but may occasionally be slightly increased. Drug or Drug Class Effect Beta-adrenergic antagonists (e.g., Propranolol > 160 mg/day) In patients treated with large doses of propranolol (> 160 mg/day), T 3 and T 4 levels change slightly, TSH levels remain normal, and patients are clinically euthyroid.

It should be noted that actions of particular beta-adrenergic antagonists may be impaired when the hypothyroid patient is converted to the euthyroid state. Glucocorticoids (e.g., Dexamethasone ≥ 4 mg/day) Short-term administration of large doses of glucocorticoids may decrease serum T 3 concentrations by 30% with minimal change in serum T 4 levels. However, long-term glucocorticoid therapy may result in s…

🔄 Drug / Laboratory Test Interactions 78 words

7.8Drug-Laboratory Test Interactions Consider changes in TBG concentration when interpreting T4 and T3 values. Measure and evaluate unbound (free) hormone and/or determine the free T4 index (FT4I) in this circumstance. Pregnancy, infectious hepatitis, estrogens, estrogen containing oral contraceptives, and acute intermittent porphyria increase TBG concentrations.

Nephrosis, severe hypoproteinemia, severe liver disease, acromegaly, androgens, and corticosteroids decrease TBG concentration. Familial hyper- or hypo-thyroxine binding globulinemias have been described, with the incidence of TBG deficiency approximating 1 in 9,000.

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~2 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary There is no available data with use of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection in pregnant women. The clinical data in pregnant women treated with oral levothyroxine to maintain a euthyroid state have not reported increased rates of major birth defects, miscarriages, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes (see Data ). There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with myxedema coma in pregnancy (see Clinical Considerations ) .

Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with levothyroxine sodium. The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2 to 4% and 15 to 20%, respectively.

Clinical Considerations Disease-Associated Maternal and/or Embryo/Fetal Risk Myxedema coma is a medical emergency which can be fatal, if left untreated. Delaying treatment in pregnant women with myxedema coma increases the risk of maternal and fetal morbidity and mortality. Life-sustaining therapy for the pregnant woman should not be withheld due to potential concerns regarding the effects of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection on the fetus.

Data Human Data There is no available data with use of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection in pregnant women. Oral levothyroxine is approved for use as a replacement therapy in hypothyroidism. There is a long experience of oral levothyroxine use in pregnant women that has not reported increased rates of fetal malformations, miscarriages or other adverse maternal or fetal outcomes associated with levothyroxine use in pregnant women.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary Published studies report that levothyroxine is present in human milk following the administration of oral levothyroxine. However, there is insufficient information to determine the effects of levothyroxine on the breastfed infant and no available information on the effects of levothyroxine on milk production. There is no available data with use of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection in lactating women.

The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the mother's clinical need for levothyroxine and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed infant from levothyroxine or from the underlying maternal condition.

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and efficacy of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection have not been established in pediatric patients.

8.5Geriatric Use Because of the increased prevalence of cardiovascular disease among the elderly, initiate Levothyroxine Sodium Injection with lower doses in elderly patients and in patients with underlying cardiovascular disease and closely monitor for cardiac adverse reactions. Atrial arrhythmias can occur in elderly patients. Atrial fibrillation is the most common of the arrhythmias observed with levothyroxine overtreatment in the elderly [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.1 ) and Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )].

🤰 Pregnancy ~1 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary There is no available data with use of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection in pregnant women. The clinical data in pregnant women treated with oral levothyroxine to maintain a euthyroid state have not reported increased rates of major birth defects, miscarriages, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes (see Data ). There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with myxedema coma in pregnancy (see Clinical Considerations ) .

Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with levothyroxine sodium. The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2 to 4% and 15 to 20%, respectively.

Clinical Considerations Disease-Associated Maternal and/or Embryo/Fetal Risk Myxedema coma is a medical emergency which can be fatal, if left untreated. Delaying treatment in pregnant women with myxedema coma increases the risk of maternal and fetal morbidity and mortality. Life-sustaining therapy for the pregnant woman should not be withheld due to potential concerns regarding the effects of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection on the fetus.

Data Human Data There is no available data with use of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection in pregnant women. Oral levothyroxine is approved for use as a replacement therapy in hypothyroidism. There is a long experience of oral levothyroxine use in pregnant women that has not reported increased rates of fetal malformations, miscarriages or other adverse maternal or fetal outcomes associated with levothyroxine use in pregnant women.

🧒 Pediatric Use 18 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and efficacy of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection have not been established in pediatric patients.

🧓 Geriatric Use 75 words

8.5Geriatric Use Because of the increased prevalence of cardiovascular disease among the elderly, initiate Levothyroxine Sodium Injection with lower doses in elderly patients and in patients with underlying cardiovascular disease and closely monitor for cardiac adverse reactions. Atrial arrhythmias can occur in elderly patients. Atrial fibrillation is the most common of the arrhythmias observed with levothyroxine overtreatment in the elderly [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.1 ) and Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )].

🆘 Overdosage 68 words

10 OVERDOSAGE The signs and symptoms of overdosage are those of hyperthyroidism [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5 ) and Adverse Reactions ( 6 )]. In addition, confusion and disorientation may occur. Cerebral embolism, shock, coma, and death have been reported.

Reduce the Levothyroxine Sodium Injection dose or temporarily discontinue if signs or symptoms of overdosage occur. Initiate appropriate supportive treatment as dictated by the patient's medical status.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~2 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Thyroid hormones exert their physiologic actions through control of DNA transcription and protein synthesis. Triiodothyronine (T3) and levothyroxine (T4) diffuse into the cell nucleus and bind to thyroid receptor proteins attached to DNA. This hormone nuclear receptor complex activates gene transcription and synthesis of messenger RNA and cytoplasmic proteins.

The physiological actions of thyroid hormones are produced predominantly by T3, the majority of which (approximately 80%) is derived from T4 by deiodination in peripheral tissues.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Levothyroxine sodium is a synthetic T4 hormone that exerts the same physiologic effect as endogenous T4, thereby maintaining normal T4 levels when a deficiency is present.

12.3Pharmacokinetics Distribution Circulating thyroid hormones are greater than 99% bound to plasma proteins, including thyroxine binding globulin (TBG), thyroxine binding prealbumin (TBPA), and albumin (TBA), whose capacities and affinities vary for each hormone. The higher affinity of both TBG and TBPA for T4 partially explains the higher serum levels, slower metabolic clearance, and longer half life of T4 compared to T3. Protein bound thyroid hormones exist in reverse equilibrium with small amounts of free hormone.

Only unbound hormone is metabolically active. Many drugs and physiologic conditions affect the binding of thyroid hormones to serum proteins [see Drug Interactions ( 7 )]. Thyroid hormones do not readily cross the placental barrier [see Use in Specific Populations ( 8.1 )].

Metabolism T4 is slowly eliminated. The major pathway of thyroid hormone metabolism is through sequential deiodination. Approximately eighty percent of circulating T3 is derived from peripheral T4 by monodeiodination.

The liver is the major site of degradation for both T4 and T3, with T4 deiodination also occurring at a number of additional sites, including the kidney and other tissues. Approximately 80% of the daily dose of T4 is deiodinated to yield equal amounts of T3 and reverse T3 (rT3). T3 and rT3 are further deiodinated to diiodothyronine.

Thyroid hormones are also metabolized via conjugation with glucuronides and sulfates and excreted directly into the bile and gut where they undergo enterohepatic recirculation. Excretion Thyroid hormones are primarily eliminated by the kidneys. A portion of the conjugated hormone reaches the colon unchanged, where it is hydrolyzed and eliminated in feces as the free hormones.

Urinary excretion of T4 decreases with age. Table 1: Pharmacokinetic Parameters of Thyroid Hormones in Euthyroid Patients T 4 : Levothyroxine T 3 : Liothyronine 1 3 to 4 days in hyperthyroidism, 9 to 10 days in hypothyroidism. 2 Includes TBG, TBPA, and TBA.

Hormone Ratio in Thyroglobulin Biologic Potency Half-Life (Days) Protein Binding (%) 2 T 4 10 to 20 1 6 to 8 1

99.96T 3 1 4 ≤ 2 99.5

🧬 Mechanism of Action 79 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Thyroid hormones exert their physiologic actions through control of DNA transcription and protein synthesis. Triiodothyronine (T3) and levothyroxine (T4) diffuse into the cell nucleus and bind to thyroid receptor proteins attached to DNA. This hormone nuclear receptor complex activates gene transcription and synthesis of messenger RNA and cytoplasmic proteins.

The physiological actions of thyroid hormones are produced predominantly by T3, the majority of which (approximately 80%) is derived from T4 by deiodination in peripheral tissues.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 106 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Levothyroxine Sodium Injection is a clear, colorless solution available as follows: NDC Total Strength per Total Volume Concentration 63323-885-14 100 mcg per 5 mL 20 mcg per mL Protect from light in the original vial in a carton and store at 20° to 25°C (68° to 77°F) [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]. The unopened vial may be stored for up to 24 hours exposed to indoor lighting outside of the carton. The drug product is preservative free.

Discard any unused portion. Novaplus is a registered trademark of Vizient, Inc. Manufactured by: Fresenius Kabi Lake Zurich, IL 60047 www.fresenius-kabi.com/us 451680 Fresenius Logo

📋 Description 124 words

11 DESCRIPTION Levothyroxine Sodium Injection contains synthetic crystalline levothyroxine (T4) in sodium salt form. Levothyroxine sodium has an empirical formula of C 15 H 10 I 4 NNaO 4 , a molecular weight of 798.85 g/mol (anhydrous), and the following structural formula: Levothyroxine Sodium Injection is a sterile, preservative free, clear, colorless, sterile solution for intravenous administration available as: 100 mcg per 5 mL (20 mcg per mL). Each mL of Levothyroxine Sodium Injection also contains 10 mg Tromethamine, USP; 0.14 mg Sodium Iodide, USP; 6.48 mg Sodium Chloride, USP; and Water for Injection, USP Sodium hydroxide, NF and/or Hydrochloric acid, USP may have been added for pH adjustment (9.5 – 10.8).

Levothyroxine Sodium Injection is in single dose clear glass vials. Structural Formula

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.