HomeNDC LookupIngredientsIndocyanine Green › 70710-2018-03
Indocyanine green Kit — NDC 70710-2018-03 package photo

Indocyanine green Kit

by Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. · 6 KIT in 1 CARTON (70710-2018-3) / 1 KIT in 1 KIT * 1 INJECTION, POWDER, LYOPHILIZED, FOR SOLUTION in 1 VIAL (70710-2031-1) * 6 VIAL in 1 CARTON (70710-2032-8) / 10 mL in 1 VIAL (70710-2032-1)
NDC 70710-2018-03
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 70710-2018-3 billing pads the package segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Aug 13, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 70710-2018-3
Product NDC 70710-2018
11-digit billing NDC 70710201803
Application # ANDA219139
SPL Set ID edf5b8f3-8542-42f7-bc08-f71843c1be4c
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2026-08-04
Dosage form KIT
TE code (Orange Book) AP · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 70710-2018-3 — a 5-4-1 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the package segment → 70710-2018-03. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerZydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc.
Application holderZYDUS LIFESCIENCES GLOBAL FZE
FDA applicationANDA219139 (ANDA)
Labeler code70710
First marketedAug 2026
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio451 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

A current SPL was checked, but it does not contain a structured or narrative inactive-ingredient list for this product. This does not mean the product has no inactive ingredients.
Where does this data come from?
Source: official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMed and the openFDA label index. Structured IACT rows and label-wide narrative are kept separate; availability and product-level specificity depend on the submitted label.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer eachPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
ℹ️
No price is published for this exact package yet. CMS surveys NADAC per package size, so a different pack of the same drug often has one.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
IC-Green 70100-0810-02 Renew 1 kit AP FDA listed
IC-Green 70100-0825-02 Renew 1 kit AP FDA listed
Indocyanine greenthis 70710-2018-03 Zydus 6 kits AP FDA listed
Indocyanine Green 70771-1961-03 Zydus 1 kit AP FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2026
First FDA approval
Aug 2026
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
listed with the FDA
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

🛡️ Latest patent/protection date listed: FDA patent/protection data lists protections through Jan 2027. This may affect when a full generic version becomes widely available, but it is not a guaranteed launch date.
📅 FDA approved Aug 3, 2026 AP TE-rated RLD RS ⏳ ~0.4 yr to latest listed protection

Why the date isn’t exact: Generic timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added, removed, or worked around with a narrower label — and FDA approval does not always mean a pharmacy can get the generic today.

Patents & exclusivity — FDA Orange Book
Exclusivity CGT
2026
Today
LOE
Substance patent Formulation patent Method-of-use patent Exclusivity Pediatric +6mo
🏛️FDA exclusivity
FDA-granted marketing protection. It’s separate from patents and may be shorter than patent protection.
🧪Product / substance patents
Patents covering the active ingredient, product, formulation, or related drug features.
🎯Method-of-use patents
Patents covering specific approved uses. These can sometimes be carved out with a “skinny label,” but not always.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
Patent
Legal protection listed in the Orange Book that may delay generic approval or launch. Issued by the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office.
Substance patent
Covers the active drug molecule itself — the hardest to design around. A generic generally can’t launch until it expires.
Formulation (product) patent
Covers a specific formulation or dosage form. A generic can sometimes work around it with a different formulation.
Method-of-use patent
A patent covering one specific approved use of the drug — not necessarily the whole molecule. A generic can sometimes launch with a “skinny label” that carves out the protected use and keeps the others.
Skinny label
A generic label that omits a still-patented use when the FDA allows it — letting a generic reach the market for the unprotected uses.
Exclusivity
FDA-granted marketing protection, separate from patents — e.g. 5-yr new chemical entity, 7-yr orphan drug, or a +6-month pediatric extension.
Paragraph IV
A generic applicant’s formal challenge to a listed patent. It can potentially lead to earlier generic entry, but often involves litigation or a settlement.
RLD / RS
Reference Listed Drug — the brand product the FDA uses as the reference for generic applications. Reference Standard — the product the FDA expects generics to compare against in bioequivalence testing.
TE / AB rating
FDA therapeutic-equivalence rating. An AB rating generally means the FDA considers a generic therapeutically equivalent to — and substitutable for — the brand.
LOE (loss of exclusivity)
The latest patent or exclusivity currently listed — the loss-of-exclusivity / latest-listed-protection date shown on this page. Paragraph-IV challenges and settlements can move the real date earlier; FDA approval and a manufacturer’s decision to market can move it later.

Built from the FDA Orange Book. The bars above are scaled to each protection’s expiry; the red LOE marker is the last one to lapse.

FDA exclusivity
CodeWhat it grantsExpires
CGTFDA-granted marketing exclusivityJan 31, 2027
Common questions
Is there a generic version of this drug?
Yes — an FDA-approved generic equivalent is listed in the FDA Orange Book for this drug. See the alternatives section for substitutable, lower-cost products.
The FDA approved a generic — why can’t I get it at my pharmacy yet?
FDA approval and pharmacy availability are two different things. The FDA can approve a generic years before it actually reaches pharmacies, because the brand company may still hold patents or have a settlement that delays the launch. A manufacturer also has to choose to make and sell it, and have supply ready. So a drug can be “FDA-approved generic exists” and still be brand-only at the counter today.
Why do different websites show different generic release dates?
Generic availability is not based on one single date. Some sources use the first exclusivity expiration, some use the last product patent, and others use the latest method-of-use patent. Patent challenges, settlements, licenses, and label carve-outs can also change the real-world launch date. This page shows the underlying Orange Book dates so you can see why estimates may differ.
What does “FDA listed” mean?
It means the product appears in the FDA’s official NDC directory. That’s a good sign a product exists and is intended for the U.S. market, but on its own it does not confirm a pharmacy can fill it today. Where we have recent retail pricing data (NADAC) for a product, we label it “Availability likely” instead.
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
It’s the latest date currently listed in the FDA Orange Book for a patent or exclusivity on the brand product. It can affect when a full generic version becomes widely available — but it is not a guaranteed generic launch date. Generics sometimes arrive earlier (through a settlement or patent challenge) or later (a manufacturer still has to make and sell one).
What does “current Orange Book estimate” mean?
It means we are using the latest patent and exclusivity dates currently listed in the FDA Orange Book. It is not a guaranteed launch date.
Can a generic come out before the last patent expires?
Sometimes. A generic company may challenge a patent, settle with the brand manufacturer, receive a license, or obtain approval with a narrower label that avoids a patented use. In other cases, the last listed protection may delay full-label generic competition.
Can a generic come out after the listed dates?
Yes. Even after patents or exclusivity expire, a generic still needs FDA approval and a manufacturer must choose to market it. Supply, litigation, business decisions, or regulatory issues can delay actual availability.
What is the difference between patents and exclusivity?
Patents are legal protections usually issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. FDA exclusivity is marketing protection granted by the FDA. They are separate, and either one can affect generic timing.
Why are there multiple patent dates?
One drug can have several patents covering different things: the active ingredient, a formulation, a manufacturing process, or a specific approved use. That is why a page may show several expiration dates instead of one simple generic date.
Built from FDA Orange Book patent and exclusivity data. Dates are refreshed from public FDA data when available; the marker is max(latest patent expiry, latest exclusivity expiry). Paragraph-IV settlements and first-filer 180-day exclusivity can shift the real date; a method-of-use patent may allow an earlier skinny-label generic for non-protected indications. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.
Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for INDOCYANINE GREEN — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Palpitations10
Urticaria10
Visual Acuity Reduced9
Dyspnoea8
Haemangioma Congenital8
Low Birth Weight Baby8
Patent Ductus Arteriosus8

Age at onset

Neonate3
Adult5
Elderly1

Reporter sex

116 reports

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization24
Life-threatening14
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2020 2022 2024 2026 13 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
70710-2018-03 You're viewing this 6 KIT in 1 CARTON (70710-2018-3) / 1 KIT in 1 KIT * 1 INJECTION, POWDER, LYOPHILIZED, FOR SOLUTION in 1 VIAL (70710-2031-1) * 6 VIAL in 1 CARTON (70710-2032-8) / 10 mL in 1 VIAL (70710-2032-1) 2026-08-04 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product Kit / multi-component package

Kit / multi-component package

This NDC identifies a kit — a package containing more than one component. Structured data (pricing, ingredients, equivalents) is often reported per component rather than for the kit NDC itself, which can make this page look thinner than the components' own pages.

What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) — Not published for this NDC The labeler did not submit a structured excipient list, or no SPL is available.
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 70710-2018-3, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 70710-2018-03, written without dashes as 70710201803. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 70710-2018-03, the first segment (70710) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc.; the middle segment (2018) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (03) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc.. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage ~1 min read

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Indocyanine green for injection is an optical imaging agent indicated for: Fluorescence imaging of vessels (micro-and macro-vasculature), blood flow and tissue perfusion before, during and after vascular, gastrointestinal, organ transplant, plastic, micro- and reconstructive surgeries, including general minimally invasive surgical procedures, in adults and pediatric patients aged 1 month and older ( 1.1 ) Fluorescence imaging of extrahepatic biliary ducts in adults and pediatric patients aged 12 years and older ( 1.2 ) Fluorescence imaging of lymph nodes and lymphatic vessels during lymphatic mapping in adults with cervical and uterine cancer ( 1.3 ) Ophthalmic angiography in adults and pediatric patients ( 1.4 )

1.1Visualization of Vessels, Blood Flow and Tissue Perfusion Indocyanine green for injection is indicated for fluorescence imaging of vessels (micro- and macro- vasculature), blood flow and tissue perfusion before, during and after vascular, gastrointestinal, organ transplant, plastic, micro- and reconstructive surgeries, including general minimally invasive surgical procedures in adults and pediatric patients aged 1 month and older.

1.2Visualization of Extrahepatic Biliary Ducts Indocyanine green for injection is indicated for fluorescence imaging of extrahepatic biliary ducts in adults and pediatric patients aged 12 years and older.

1.3Lymphatic Mapping of Cervical and Uterine Cancer Indocyanine green for injection is indicated for fluorescence imaging of lymph nodes and delineation of lymphatic vessels during lymphatic mapping in adults with cervical and uterine cancer for which this procedure is a component of intraoperative management.

1.4Ophthalmic Angiography Indocyanine green for injection is indicated for use in ophthalmic angiography in adults and pediatric patients.

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion (2.5 mg/mL solution) 1.25 mg to 5 mg by intravenous injection is recommended for a surgical procedure in adults and pediatric patients aged 1 month and older. 3.75 mg to 10 mg by intravenous injection is recommended for visualization of perfusion in extremities through the skin for plastic, micro- and reconstructive surgeries in adults. Additional doses may be administered.

Do not exceed a total dose of 2 mg/kg. ( 2.1 ) Visualization of extrahepatic biliary ducts in adults and pediatric patients aged 12 years and older (2.5 mg/mL solution) 2.5 mg by intravenous injection at least 45 minutes prior to surgery. Additional doses may be administered.

Do not exceed a total dose of 2 mg/kg. ( 2.2 ) Lymphatic mapping of cervical and uterine cancer in adults (1.25 mg/mL solution) 5 mg interstitially as four 1 mL injections. See Full Prescribing Information for injection techniques.

( 2.3 ) Ophthalmic Angiography Doses up to 40 mg in 2 mL of Sterile Water for Injection by intravenous injection. ( 2.4 ) See Full Prescribing Information for reconstitution instructions. ( 2.5 ).

2.1Recommended Dose, Administration and Imaging for Visualization of Vessels, Blood Flow and Tissue Perfusion Dosing Adults: The recommended dose of indocyanine green for a single image sequence for visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion in adults is 1.25 mg to 5 mg administered intravenously as 0.5 mL to 2 mL of a 2.5 mg/mL solution. For visualization of perfusion in extremities through the skin in adults, the recommended dose is 3.75 mg to 10 mg administered intravenously as 1.5 mL to 4 mL of a 2.5 mg/mL solution.

Immediately flush with a 10 mL bolus of 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection. Pediatric patients aged 1 month and older The recommended dose of indocyanine green for a single image sequence for visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion in pediatric patients aged 1 month and older is 1.25 mg to 5 mg administered intravenously as 0.5 mL to 2 mL of a 2.5 mg/mL solution. Lower doses may be administered in younger patients and in those with lower body weight.

Adjust the amount and type of flush to avoid volume and/or sodium overload. In both adults and pediatric patients aged 1 month and older, additional doses may be administered to obtain imaging sequences during the procedure. Do not exceed the maximum total dose of 2 mg/kg.

Administration Prior to the imaging procedure, draw up the desired dose of indocyanine green solution into appropriate syringes and prepare a 10 mL syringe of 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection. Administer via a central or peripheral venous line using a three-way stopcock attached to an injection port on the infusion line. Inject the prepared indocyanine green into the line as a tight bolus.

Immediately switch the access on the stopcock and inject the prepared flush. Imaging Instructions Indocyanine green may be used with an FDA-authorized imaging device that is intended to be used with indocyanine green for fluorescence imaging of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion. A fluorescence response should be visible in blood vessels within 5 seconds to 15 seconds after injection.

2.2Recommended Dose, Administration and Imaging for Visualization of Extrahepatic Biliary Ducts Dosing and Administration The recommended dose of indocyanine green for visualization of extrahepatic biliary ducts in adults and pediatric patients aged 12 years and older is 2.5 mg administered intravenously as 1 mL of a 2.5 mg/mL solution at least 45 minutes prior to surgery. Additional doses may be administered to obtain imaging sequences during the procedure. Do not exceed a total dose of 2 mg/kg.

Imaging Instructions Indocyanine green may be used with an FDA-authorized imaging device that is intended to be used with indocyanine green for fluorescence imaging of extrahepatic biliary ducts. Fluorescence is visible in the biliary tree within 45 minutes…

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 68 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS For injection: 25 mg of indocyanine green as a sterile, lyophilized, dark green, blue-green, dark blue, olive-brown or black color cake or powder for reconstitution provided in a 20 mL single-patient-use vial. For injection: 25 mg of indocyanine green as a lyophilized, dark green, blue-green, dark blue, olive-brown or black color cake or powder for reconstitution in a single-patient-use vial ( 3 )

Contraindications 35 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Indocyanine green is contraindicated in patients with a history of hypersensitivity to indocyanine green. Reactions have included anaphylaxis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Hypersensitivity to indocyanine green ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions 129 words

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Hypersensitivity reactions: Hypersensitivity reactions including anaphylaxis and urticaria have occurred. Always have cardiopulmonary resuscitation personnel and equipment readily available and monitor patients. ( 5.1 )

5.1Hypersensitivity Reactions Hypersensitivity reactions including anaphylaxis, urticaria and deaths due to anaphylaxis have been reported following intravenous administration of indocyanine green [see Adverse Reactions ( 6 )]. Indocyanine green is contraindicated in patients with a history of hypersensitivity to indocyanine green [see Contraindications ( 4 )] . Always have cardiopulmonary resuscitation personnel and equipment readily available and monitor all patients for hypersensitivity reactions.

5.2Interference with Thyroid Radioactive Iodine Uptake Studies Because indocyanine green contains sodium iodide, the iodine-binding capacity of thyroid tissue may be reduced for at least one week following administration [see Drug Interactions ( 7 )].

🤒 Adverse Reactions 106 words

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are described elsewhere in the labeling: Hypersensitivity Reactions [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . The following adverse reactions have been identified during post-approval use of indocyanine green. Because these reactions are reported voluntarily from a population of uncertain size, it is not always possible to reliably estimate their frequency or establish a causal relationship to drug exposure.

Immune System Disorders : Anaphylaxis, urticaria The most common adverse reactions reported are anaphylaxis and urticaria. ( 6 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Zydus Pharmaceuticals (USA) Inc. at 1-877-993-8779 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www fda.gov/medwatch.

🔄 Drug Interactions 77 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Interference with Thyroid Radioactive Iodine Uptake Studies Because indocyanine green contains sodium iodide, the iodine-binding capacity of thyroid tissue may be reduced for at least one week following administration. Do not perform radioactive iodine uptake studies for at least one week following administration of indocyanine green. Interference with Thyroid Radioactive Iodine Uptake Studies: Do not perform radioactive iodine uptake studies for at least one week following the use of indocyanine green.

( 7 )

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary There are no adequate and well-controlled studies of indocyanine green in pregnant women. Available data from a very small number of scientific literature studies with indocyanine green use in pregnant women over several decades have not reported any drug associated risks for major birth defects, miscarriage or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes. Data from one small study in which indocyanine green was administered intravenously to pregnant women during labor suggest there is no placental transfer of the drug.

Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with indocyanine green. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defects, loss or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary Seventeen cases of indocyanine green use in lactating women have been reported in the scientific literature with no adverse events observed in the breastfed infant. However, there are no data on the presence of indocyanine green in human milk or the effects on milk production. Therefore, the developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the mother's clinical need for indocyanine green and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed infant from indocyanine green or from the underlying maternal condition.

8.4Pediatric Use Use of indocyanine green for visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion has been established in pediatric patients aged 1 month and older. Pediatric use is supported by published data in 49 pediatric patients who received indocyanine green for assessment of blood flow and tissue perfusion in cardiovascular, vascular and plastic, micro- and reconstructive surgical procedures and by clinical trials in adults . No overall differences in safety or effectiveness have been observed between pediatric patients and adults.

The dose range was similar to the effective dose range in adults [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.1 )]. The use of indocyanine green for visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion has not been established in pediatric patients aged less than 1 month. Use of indocyanine green for visualization of extrahepatic biliary ducts has been established in pediatric patients aged 12 years and older.

Pediatric use is supported by clinical trials in adults in addition to clinical use in pediatric patients. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness have been observed between pediatric patients and adults. The dose range was similar to the effective dose range in adults [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 )] .

The use of indocyanine green for visualization of extrahepatic biliary ducts has not been established in pediatric patients aged less than 12 years. Use of indocyanine green for visualization of lymph nodes and lymphatic vessels during lymphatic mapping for cervical and uterine cancer have not been established in pediatric patients. Use of indocyanine green for ophthalmic angiography has been established in pediatric patients.

Pediatric use is supported by evidence from the published literature.

8.5Geriatric Use Of the total number of patients in clinical studies of indocyanine green for injection for visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion, 7% were 65 and over, while 1% were 75 and over. Of the total number of patients in clinical studies of indocyanine green for injection for visualization of lymph nodes and lymphatic vessels during lymphatic mapping of cervical and uterine cancer, 9% were 65 and over, while 2% were 75 and over. Clinical studies of indocyanine green for injection for visualization of extrahepatic biliary ducts did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger patients.

No overall differences in…

🤰 Pregnancy 134 words

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary There are no adequate and well-controlled studies of indocyanine green in pregnant women. Available data from a very small number of scientific literature studies with indocyanine green use in pregnant women over several decades have not reported any drug associated risks for major birth defects, miscarriage or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes. Data from one small study in which indocyanine green was administered intravenously to pregnant women during labor suggest there is no placental transfer of the drug.

Animal reproduction studies have not been conducted with indocyanine green. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defects, loss or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.

🧒 Pediatric Use ~1 min read

8.4Pediatric Use Use of indocyanine green for visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion has been established in pediatric patients aged 1 month and older. Pediatric use is supported by published data in 49 pediatric patients who received indocyanine green for assessment of blood flow and tissue perfusion in cardiovascular, vascular and plastic, micro- and reconstructive surgical procedures and by clinical trials in adults . No overall differences in safety or effectiveness have been observed between pediatric patients and adults.

The dose range was similar to the effective dose range in adults [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.1 )]. The use of indocyanine green for visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion has not been established in pediatric patients aged less than 1 month. Use of indocyanine green for visualization of extrahepatic biliary ducts has been established in pediatric patients aged 12 years and older.

Pediatric use is supported by clinical trials in adults in addition to clinical use in pediatric patients. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness have been observed between pediatric patients and adults. The dose range was similar to the effective dose range in adults [see Dosage and Administration ( 2.2 )] .

The use of indocyanine green for visualization of extrahepatic biliary ducts has not been established in pediatric patients aged less than 12 years. Use of indocyanine green for visualization of lymph nodes and lymphatic vessels during lymphatic mapping for cervical and uterine cancer have not been established in pediatric patients. Use of indocyanine green for ophthalmic angiography has been established in pediatric patients.

Pediatric use is supported by evidence from the published literature.

🧓 Geriatric Use 182 words

8.5Geriatric Use Of the total number of patients in clinical studies of indocyanine green for injection for visualization of vessels, blood flow and tissue perfusion, 7% were 65 and over, while 1% were 75 and over. Of the total number of patients in clinical studies of indocyanine green for injection for visualization of lymph nodes and lymphatic vessels during lymphatic mapping of cervical and uterine cancer, 9% were 65 and over, while 2% were 75 and over. Clinical studies of indocyanine green for injection for visualization of extrahepatic biliary ducts did not include sufficient numbers of patients aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger patients.

No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these patients and younger patients and other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between elderly and younger patients. In general, dose selection for an elderly patient should be cautious, usually starting at the low end of the dosing range, reflecting the greater frequency of decreased hepatic, renal or cardiac function and of concomitant disease or other drug therapy.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~1 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action When bound to proteins in plasma or in lymph fluid, indocyanine green absorbs light in the near-infrared region with peak absorption at 805 nm and emits fluorescence (light) at a slightly longer wavelength, with peak emission at 830 nm. Fluorescence imaging devices provide external energy as near infrared light for indocyanine green to absorb, resulting in excitation of the indocyanine green and the emitted light (fluorescence) is transferred from the field of view to an image on a monitor. These optical properties of indocyanine green are utilized in fluorescence imaging of the micro- and macro- vasculature, blood flow and tissue perfusion, the extrahepatic biliary ducts and for lymphatic mapping of lymph nodes and lymphatic vessels.

12.2Pharmacodynamics There are no pharmacodynamic data.

12.3Pharmacokinetics Distribution Following intravenous injection, indocyanine green binds to plasma proteins (98%) and is largely confined to the intravascular compartment. Indocyanine green undergoes no significant extrahepatic or enterohepatic circulation; simultaneous arterial and venous blood estimations have shown negligible renal, peripheral, lung or cerebro-spinal uptake of the dye. After biliary obstruction, the dye appears in the hepatic lymph, independently of the bile, suggesting that the biliary mucosa is sufficiently intact to prevent diffusion of the dye, though allowing diffusion of bilirubin.

Following interstitial injection, indocyanine green binds to proteins in lymph fluid and the interstitial space, is taken up by the lymphatic vessels and drains to the lymph nodes. Since excessive dye extravasation does not take place in the highly fenestrated choroidal vasculature, indocyanine green is useful in both absorption and fluorescence infrared angiography of the choroidal vasculature when using appropriate filters and film in a fundus camera. Elimination Indocyanine green is taken up from the plasma almost exclusively by the hepatic parenchymal cells and is secreted entirely into the bile.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 99 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING How Supplied Indocyanine green for injection, USP is supplied as a kit (NDC 70710-2018-3) containing the following: Six 20 mL single-patient-use vials of indocyanine green for injection, USP (25 mg each) as a sterile, lyophilized, dark green, blue-green, dark blue, olive-brown or black color cake or powder for reconstitution NDC 70710-2031-1 Carton (NDC 70710-2032-8) containing six single-dose vials (NDC 70710-2032-1) of Sterile Water for Injection, USP (10 mL each) Storage and Handling Store at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F); excursions permitted between 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F). [see USP Controlled Room Temperature]

📋 Description 126 words

11 DESCRIPTION Indocyanine green for injection, USP is an optical imaging agent for intravenous or interstitial use. Each vial contains 25 mg of indocyanine green, USP with not more than 5% sodium iodide and sodium hydroxide (pH adjuster) as a sterile, lyophilized, dark green, blue-green, dark blue, olive-brown or black color cake or powder. Indocyanine green has a pH of 5.5-7.5 when reconstituted with Sterile Water for Injection, USP.

The chemical name for indocyanine green is 1 H- Benz[e]indolium , 2-[7-[1,3-dihydro-1,1-dimethyl-3-(4-sulfobutyl)-2 H- benz[e]indol-2-ylidene]-1,3,5-heptatrienyl]-1,1-dimethyl-3-(4-sulfobutyl)-hydroxide, inner salt, sodium salt. The molecular formula is C 43 H 47 N 2 NaO 6 S 2 . The molecular weight is 774.96 g/mol and the chemical structure is: Indocyanine green has a peak spectral absorption at 805 nm in blood.

Image

💬 Information for Patients 62 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Hypersensitivity Reactions Advise patients to seek medical attention for reactions following injection of indocyanine green such as difficulty breathing, swollen tongue or throat, skin reactions including hives, itching and flushed or pale skin, low blood pressure, a weak and rapid pulse and other symptoms or signs of an anaphylactic reaction [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] .

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.