Allopurinol Tablet shortage
Not a nationwide shortage — Teva Pharmaceuticals has told the FDA it is discontinuing its allopurinol tablets. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 28 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.
Teva is permanently stopping its allopurinol tablets. Both the 100 mg and 300 mg strengths are still listed by other makers, including Mylan, Par, Major Pharmaceuticals, and Rising Pharma.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →Is allopurinol still in shortage? — status as of Oct 6, 2026
Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026. Teva Pharmaceuticals is stopping its own version only; 28 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.
The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.
Shortage timeline
-
Feb 19, 2026Currently in shortage4 of 4 products affected.
-
Feb 19, 2026First reported to the FDA4 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
Which allopurinol products are affected — by company
Company: Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 📞 800-545-8800 4 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Allopurinol Tablet, 300 mg | 300 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Allopurinol Tablet, 100 mg | 100 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Allopurinol Tablet, 100 mg | 100 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Allopurinol Tablet, 300 mg | 300 mg | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are company reports to the FDA for Allopurinol Tablet — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get allopurinol? options further down this page.
Why is Teva Pharmaceuticals discontinuing allopurinol?
Teva Pharmaceuticals has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping production of their allopurinol tablets — both the 100 mg and 300 mg strengths, across all of their package sizes. This isn't a temporary delay or a supply hiccup; Teva has decided to stop making these specific products for good.
It's worth knowing that Teva did not share a specific public reason why they made this decision — just that manufacturing is being discontinued. This report only covers Teva's versions of allopurinol, so it doesn't reflect what other manufacturers may be doing with their own products.
Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Allopurinol Tablet, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.
What should I do if I take allopurinol?
Allopurinol tablets are currently on the FDA shortage list. This report comes from one manufacturer, Teva Pharmaceuticals, which has decided to discontinue the medicine — so I want to walk you through what that means and what to do next.
Both strengths involved, the 100 mg and 300 mg tablets, are affected by Teva's decision. Teva is no longer making these, and the reason given is simply that they are stopping production. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary supply problem, Teva's version may not return. The reassuring part is that several other companies still list both the 100 mg and 300 mg tablets, so the same medicine should remain available elsewhere.
Here is how to handle it:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your allopurinol dose on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to order your strength from another maker — same-medicine options include Mylan, Par, Major, Rising, NorthStar, and Accord. Your pharmacy can check wholesalers, though a specific brand may not be in local stock right away.
- If your pharmacy cannot find your exact tablet, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about the best next step.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference, though pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national data and may not match your pharmacy's actual stock.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get allopurinol?
FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists allopurinol tablets is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Company | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 00378-0137-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 00378-0181-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Par Health USA, LLC | 00603-2115-21 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Par Health USA, LLC | 00603-2116-21 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Major Pharmaceuticals | 00904-6572-61 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Major Pharmaceuticals | 00904-7041-61 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0883-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 200 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0884-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. | 16571-0885-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | NorthStar RxLLC | 16714-0576-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | NorthStar RxLLC | 16714-0577-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 16729-0134-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Accord Healthcare Inc. | 16729-0135-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 23155-0693-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 23155-0694-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Unichem Pharmaceuticals (USA), Inc. | 29300-0349-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Unichem Pharmaceuticals (USA), Inc. | 29300-0350-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 31722-0252-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Camber Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 31722-0253-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | PD-Rx Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 43063-0934-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | PD-Rx Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 43063-0935-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, LLC | 43353-0186-60 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Safecor Health, LLC | 48433-0003-20 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | A-S Medication Solutions | 50090-4662-03 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | A-S Medication Solutions | 50090-4663-00 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Mylan Institutional Inc. | 51079-0205-20 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Mylan Institutional Inc. | 51079-0206-20 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 53489-0156-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 53489-0157-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited | 55111-0729-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited | 55111-0730-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 59651-0285-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 59651-0286-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | American Health Packaging | 60687-0677-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | American Health Packaging | 60687-0688-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | St. Mary's Medical Park Pharmacy | 60760-0656-90 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | ST. MARY'S MEDICAL PARK PHARMACY | 60760-0722-90 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Chartwell RX, LLC | 62135-0516-31 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Chartwell RX, LLC | 62135-0517-31 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 63187-0240-30 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Proficient Rx LP | 63187-0463-30 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 63629-1781-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 63629-2111-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | NuCare Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 66267-0665-30 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, LLC | 67544-0736-60 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Leading Pharma, LLC | 69315-0291-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Leading Pharma, LLC | 69315-0292-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 200 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Leading Pharma, LLC | 69315-0409-09 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | REMEDYREPACK INC. | 70518-3660-00 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | REMEDYREPACK INC. | 70518-3704-00 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Zydus Pharmaceuticals (USA) Inc. | 70710-1209-00 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Zydus Pharmaceuticals (USA) Inc. | 70710-1210-00 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 200 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Zydus Pharmaceuticals (USA) Inc. | 70710-2009-00 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Florida Pharmaceutical Products, LLC | 71921-0240-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 200 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Florida Pharmaceutical Products, LLC | 71921-0241-09 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Florida Pharmaceutical Products, LLC | 71921-0242-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Direct_Rx | 72189-0417-30 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Direct_Rx | 72189-0437-30 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 100 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | XLCare Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 72865-0303-01 |
| Allopurinol | ALLOPURINOL 300 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | XLCare Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 72865-0304-01 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 30 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Mylan | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Actavis | 1000 tablets | $0.032 | — | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Par | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Major | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Rising | 90 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | NorthStar | 30 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Heritage | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Unichem | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Camber | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Mylan | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Sun | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Dr. | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Aurobindo | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | American | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Chartwell | 300 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Leading | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Zydus | 1000 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Florida | 100 tablets | $0.032 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Actavis | 100 tablets | $0.032 | — | Discontinued |
| Allopurinol 100 mg | Accord | 100 tablets | $0.033 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Mylan | 100 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Actavis | 100 tablets | $0.052 | — | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Par | 100 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Major | 100 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Rising | 90 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | NorthStar | 100 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Heritage | 100 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Discontinued |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Unichem | 100 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Camber | 100 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Availability likely |
| Allopurinol 300 mg | Mylan | 100 tablets | $0.052 | AB | Availability likely |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of allopurinol — that fall in the same broad treatment class (hyperuricemia tx - xanthine oxidase inhibitors) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
Where does this data come from?
Allopurinol shortage FAQs
Is allopurinol still in shortage?
Which strengths of allopurinol are affected?
Which allopurinol products are affected?
When will allopurinol be available again?
Can I still get allopurinol somewhere?
What should I do if I take allopurinol?
Still have a question about the allopurinol shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Allopurinol Tablet on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.