Alteplase Injection shortage
Alteplase Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 19, 2026.
Genentech is permanently stopping the 100 mg vial of alteplase injection. The kit form, Activase, is still listed by Genentech as an available source for this medicine.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Alteplase Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
May 21, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
May 21, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Genentech, Inc 📞 800-551-2231 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Size | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Activase, Injection, 1 KIT in 1 CARTON (50242-085-27) * 100 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-USE * 100 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE USE (NDC 50242-085-27) | — | — | Discontinuation of the 100mg vial configuration | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Alteplase Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Alteplase Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Alteplase Injection in shortage?
Genentech, the maker of Activase, has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping production of one specific version of this medication — the 100 mg vial configuration (the kit containing a single-use 100 mL vial, NDC 50242-085-27). This is what's called a "discontinuation," meaning this particular package and strength will not be coming back from this manufacturer.
It's worth noting that the FDA did not provide a specific public reason for why Genentech made this decision — they simply reported that this configuration is being discontinued. This report covers only this one product from Genentech, so it reflects only their version of alteplase in this specific packaging.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Alteplase Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Alteplase Injection?
Alteplase Injection is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list, and I want to walk you through what that means for you.
The affected product is the single-use 100 mL vial (the 100 mg configuration). Right now, this strength has no available source reported. There are no other strengths listed as still supplied on this record.
The reason given is a discontinuation of the 100 mg vial configuration. When a product is marked "to be discontinued," the supply problem may be permanent rather than temporary. Because of that, a conversation with your prescriber or pharmacist is the right next step to plan ahead.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or change how you use this medicine on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check with wholesalers and other manufacturers — local stock does not always match national reports.
- The same medicine, Activase from Genentech, appears in our records as a same-ingredient option; your pharmacy may be able to source it, though it may not be in local stock.
- Since this vial is being discontinued, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about clinician-chosen options that fit your care.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is general, national information and may not reflect your local pharmacy's supply.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Where else can I get Alteplase Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Alteplase Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Activase | Kit | Genentech, Inc. | 50242-0044-13 |
Alternative dosage forms of Alteplase
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 2 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected sizes, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Activase | Genentech, | 1 kit | — | — | FDA listed |
| Activase | Genentech, | 1 kit | — | — | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Alteplase Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (thrombolytic enzymes) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Alteplase Injection shortage FAQs
Is Alteplase Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Alteplase Injection be available again?
Can I still get Alteplase somewhere?
What should I do if I take Alteplase Injection?
Still have a question about the Alteplase Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Alteplase Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.