Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage
Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 10 affected products. The reported reason: Other. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 2, 2026.
Dobutamine hydrochloride injection is currently in shortage, with Hospira facing a manufacturing delay and not expecting full recovery until December 2027. All strengths still have at least one available source listed by other makers, including Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA and Slate Run Pharmaceuticals.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — ask your pharmacist about other manufacturers (see options) and your prescriber about a long-term plan.
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Sep 22, 2026Currently in shortage10 of 10 products affected.
-
Sep 17, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record3 products updated.
-
Sep 16, 2026FDA refreshed this shortage record1 product updated.
-
Nov 6, 2017First reported to the FDA10 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Baxter Healthcare 📞 888-229-0001 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 200 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1075-02) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 100 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1073-02) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 400 mg/100 mL (NDC 0338-1077-02) | — | Available | — | — |
Manufacturer: Hainan Poly Pharm. Co., Ltd. 📞 Slate Run Pharmaceuticals, LLC: 844-529-8988 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/20 mL (NDC 70436-203-80) | — | Available | Distributed by Slate Run Pharmaceuticals, LLC, 1-844-529-8988 | — |
Manufacturer: Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company 📞 844-646-4398 6 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/20mL (12.5 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-2344-01) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 500 mg/250mL (2 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-0151-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 250 mg/250mL (1 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-0025-10) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/20mL (12.5 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-2344-88) | — | Unavailable | Next Delivery and Estimated Recovery: December 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay | Other |
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/20mL (12.5 mg/1 mL) (NDC 0409-2344-02) | — | Available | — | — |
| Current | Dobutamine Hydrochloride In Dextrose 5% In Plastic Container, Injection, 1,000 mg/250mL (4 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1100-10) | — | Available | — | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection? options further down this page.
Why is Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
The shortage here is specific to one particular package of dobutamine made by Hospira (a Pfizer company) — the 250 mg/20 mL vial (12.5 mg/mL) with NDC 0409-2344-88. According to Hospira, there's been a hold-up at their factory (what the FDA calls a "manufacturing delay"), and they don't expect to have that specific product back in supply until December 2027. That's a significant wait.
It's worth knowing that this affects only that one Hospira package. Hospira's other versions of the 250 mg/20 mL vial are still listed as available, and their pre-mixed dobutamine-in-dextrose bags (in the 1 mg/mL, 2 mg/mL, and 4 mg/mL strengths) are also currently available from them. This report covers only what Hospira and the other manufacturers listed here have filed with the FDA — it doesn't tell the full picture of every supplier out there.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection?
Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection is currently on the FDA shortage list, but the overall supply picture is reassuring: every strength on this record still has an available source.
To be clear about the strength you may use, all 8 listed strengths have supply right now — including the 250 mg/20mL (12.5 mg/1 mL), 200 mg/100 mL, 400 mg/100 mL, 100 mg/100 mL, 1,000 mg/250 mL (4 mg/mL), 250 mg/250 mL (1 mg/mL), and 500 mg/250 mL (2 mg/mL) presentations. No strength is completely without a source. One specific package of the 250 mg/20mL is listed as unavailable from Hospira (with an estimated recovery of December 2027 due to a manufacturing delay), but other packages of that same strength are still available.
All three manufacturers on this record are still reporting supply, and the reported reason is listed only as "Other." This shortage has lasted over a year, yet access remains steady.
- Do not stop, skip, or change this medicine on your own.
- If your strength is affected at one source, ask your pharmacy to order it — pharmacies can check wholesalers and other manufacturers.
- The same medicine is also made by Hikma and Slate Run; your pharmacy may be able to source one of these, though it may not be in local stock.
- Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.
This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dobutamine | DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 12.5 mg/mL | Injection, Solution · Intravenous | Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | 00143-9141-10 |
| Dobutamine | DOBUTAMINE HYDROCHLORIDE 250 mg/20mL | Injection · Intravenous | Slate Run Pharmaceuticals | 70436-0203-82 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 10 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dobutamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose 200 mg/100mL | Baxter | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dobutamine in Dextrose 200 mg/100mL | Hospira, | 12 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dobutamine 200 mg/100mL | HF | 250 ml | — | AP | Discontinued |
| Dobutamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose 100 mg/100mL | Baxter | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dobutamine in Dextrose 100 mg/100mL | Hospira, | 12 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dobutamine Hydrochloride 100 mg/100mL | HF | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dobutamine In Dextrose 100 mg/100mL | HF | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dobutamine In Dextrose 100 mg/100mL | HF | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dobutamine Hydrochloride in Dextrose 400 mg/100mL | Baxter | 250 ml | — | AP | FDA listed |
| Dobutamine in Dextrose 400 mg/100mL | Hospira, | 12 pouches | — | AP | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection — that fall in the same broad treatment class (inotropic drugs) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage FAQs
Is Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Why is Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection be available again?
Can I still get Dobutamine Hydrochloride somewhere?
What should I do if I take Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection?
Still have a question about the Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Dobutamine Hydrochloride Injection on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.