Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Advair HFA (Fluticasone Propionate and Salmeterol Xinafoate) Inhaler

Advair HFA (Fluticasone Propionate and Salmeterol Xinafoate) Inhaler shortage

Not a nationwide shortage — GlaxoSmithKline has told the FDA it is discontinuing its fluticasone propionate and salmeterol xinafoate inhalers. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 7, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 2 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: Low Pulmonary/Allergy 3 products 72 days First posted Jul 27, 2026 Updated Jul 27, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

GlaxoSmithKline is stopping its Advair HFA (fluticasone/salmeterol) inhaler, with distribution ending around December 31, 2026. Other manufacturers still list Advair HFA and fluticasone/salmeterol HFA inhalers as available.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
3
Affected NDCs
0/1
Reporting makers with supply
3/3
Affected strengths still listed
2
Other companies listing it
72
Days on the list
527
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 7, 2026 · today

Is Advair HFA still in shortage? — status as of Oct 7, 2026

Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 7, 2026. GlaxoSmithKline is stopping its own version only; 2 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.

⚠ Supply risk: Low 0 of 5 risk factors
  1. Every strength is still listed by a company — 3 of 3 strengths (3 only by other companies)
  2. More than one company still lists it — 0 of 1 reporting company with supply + 2 other companies
  3. Most affected NDCs still available — supply listed
  4. Not a long-running shortage — 72 days (a discontinuation notice, not an outage)
  5. Listed by several companies — 3 companies (1 reporting + 2 other)

A rule-based estimate of national supply risk, counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report — never your local pharmacy’s stock. How the rating works.

The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
3 NDCs
To be discontinued 3
Affected strengths still listed by a company
A company on the shortage report with supply, or another company selling that strength
3/3 strengths
Still made by a company 3
Reporting companies with supply
Among the 1 company that reported this shortage — plus 2 other companies listing it, below
0/1 reporting
Reporting no supply 1
✓ Other companies listing the same medicine — not reporting a shortage
Fluticasone Propionate and Salmeterol Xinafoate Inhaler listings in the current FDA NDC Directory from companies that have not filed a shortage report — these are not counted in the charts above. Some are repackagers of another company’s product. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
A-S Medication Solutions Prasco Laboratories
Plus 12 other dosage forms of fluticasone propionate and salmeterol xinafoate.
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Jul 27, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    3 of 3 products affected.
  2. Jul 27, 2026
    First reported to the FDA
    3 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

Which Advair HFA products are affected — by company

Company: GlaxoSmithKline 📞 888-825-5249 3 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Advair HFA Inhaler, 45 ug; 21 ug NDC 00173-0715-22 45 ug; 21 ug — The anticipated date that GSK will cease distribution of the presentation is approximately December 31, 2026. The 120 dose presentation of this product will still be available. —
To Be Discontinued Advair HFA Inhaler, 115 ug; 21 ug NDC 00173-0716-22 115 ug; 21 ug — The anticipated date that GSK will cease distribution of the presentation is approximately December 31, 2026. The 120 dose presentation of this product will still be available. —
To Be Discontinued Advair HFA Inhaler, 230 ug; 21 ug NDC 00173-0717-22 230 ug; 21 ug — The anticipated date that GSK will cease distribution of the presentation is approximately December 31, 2026. The 120 dose presentation of this product will still be available. —

These rows are company reports to the FDA for Fluticasone Propionate and Salmeterol Xinafoate Inhaler — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Advair HFA or its generic? options further down this page.

Why is GlaxoSmithKline discontinuing Advair HFA?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 6, 2026

GlaxoSmithKline has reported that it is permanently stopping distribution of certain package sizes of Advair HFA. Specifically, all three strengths — 45 mcg/21 mcg, 115 mcg/21 mcg, and 230 mcg/21 mcg — in what appears to be a smaller canister size (the specific NDCs listed) are expected to be phased out, with GSK anticipating it will stop shipping these presentations around December 31, 2026. No specific reason was shared publicly for why this packaging is being discontinued.

The good news is that GSK has noted that the 120-dose canister versions of all three strengths will still be available. So it's the specific package presentation being stopped — not the medication or its strengths altogether, at least from this manufacturer.

Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Fluticasone Propionate and Salmeterol Xinafoate Inhaler, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.

What should I do if I take Advair HFA?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 6, 2026

Advair HFA (fluticasone propionate and salmeterol inhalation aerosol) is currently on the FDA shortage list. This affects the inhaler you may use for asthma, so let me walk you through what the report shows.

The notice comes from GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) and covers all three strengths they make: 45/21 mcg, 115/21 mcg, and 230/21 mcg. GSK has marked these as to be discontinued, with distribution expected to end around December 31, 2026. One important detail in their note: the 120-dose presentation of this product will still be available. This means the supply change may be permanent for the affected presentation, so a conversation with your prescriber is the right next step.

Here is what I suggest, in order:

  • Do not stop, skip, or change how you use your inhaler on your own.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other makers — the same medicine is listed from other suppliers, such as Prasco Laboratories and A-S Medication Solutions. Your pharmacy may be able to source one of these, though it may not be in local stock.
  • If your exact inhaler cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a suitable option chosen for you.

GSK's contact number is listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Advair HFA or its generic?” below ↓ The same medicine from companies not reporting a shortage, other dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
Quick checklist for the pharmacy counter:
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Keep reading
Our full Fluticasone and Salmeterol Oral Inhalation guide

Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.

Read the Fluticasone and Salmeterol Oral Inhalation guide →

Where else can I get Advair HFA or its generic?

FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists fluticasone propionate and salmeterol xinafoate inhalers is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. These are generic versions of Advair HFA — a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeCompanyNDC
Advair Hfa FLUTICASONE PROPIONATE 115 ug/1; SALMETEROL XINAFOATE 21 ug/1 Aerosol, Metered · Respiratory (Inhalation) A-S Medication Solutions 50090-3672-00
Fluticasone Propionate And Salmeterol Hfa FLUTICASONE PROPIONATE 45 ug/1; SALMETEROL XINAFOATE 21 ug/1 Aerosol, Metered · Respiratory (Inhalation) Prasco Laboratories 66993-0086-96
Fluticasone Propionate And Salmeterol Hfa FLUTICASONE PROPIONATE 115 ug/1; SALMETEROL XINAFOATE 21 ug/1 Aerosol, Metered · Respiratory (Inhalation) Prasco Laboratories 66993-0087-96
Fluticasone Propionate And Salmeterol Hfa FLUTICASONE PROPIONATE 230 ug/1; SALMETEROL XINAFOATE 21 ug/1 Aerosol, Metered · Respiratory (Inhalation) Prasco Laboratories 66993-0088-96

Other dosage forms of fluticasone propionate and salmeterol xinafoate

A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:

Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 8 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Fluticasone Propionate and Salmeterol HFA 45 ug/1; 21 ugNDC 66993-0086-96 Prasco 1 inhaler $16.678 save 17% — Availability likely
Advair Hfa 115 ug/1; 21 ugNDC 00173-0716-22 GlaxoSmithKline 1 inhaler $18.731 — Availability likely
Advair Hfa 45 ug/1; 21 ugNDC 00173-0715-22 GlaxoSmithKline 1 inhaler $20.018 — Availability likely
Fluticasone Propionate and Salmeterol HFA 115 ug/1; 21 ugNDC 66993-0087-96 Prasco 1 inhaler $20.708 +11% — Availability likely
Fluticasone Propionate and Salmeterol HFA 230 ug/1; 21 ugNDC 66993-0088-96 Prasco 1 inhaler $26.746 save 12% — Availability likely
Advair Hfa 230 ug/1; 21 ugNDC 00173-0717-22 GlaxoSmithKline 1 inhaler $30.531 — Availability likely
Advair Hfa 115 ug/1; 21 ugNDC 50090-4504-00 A-S 1 inhaler — — FDA listed
Advair Hfa 115 ug/1; 21 ugNDC 50090-3672-00 A-S 1 inhaler — — FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Advair HFA — that fall in the same broad treatment class (beta-adrenergic and glucocorticoid combo, inhaled) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
GCN Seq No 061343
GCN 97135
HICL code 019963
Ingredient (HICL) Fluticasone Propion/Salmeterol
HIC1 code B
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Respiratory System
HIC2 code B6
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Drugs Affecting The Trachea And Bronchi (Cont3)
HIC3 code B63
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Beta-Adrenergic And Glucocorticoid Combo, Inhaled
AHFS code 12:12.08.12
AHFS class Selective Beta-2-Adrenergic Agonists
FDB label name ADVAIR HFA 45-21 MCG INHALER
FDB brand name Advair Hfa
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
GPI-1444209902703250
GPI classAdvair HFA
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other pulmonary/allergy shortages

Advair HFA shortage FAQs

Is Advair HFA still in shortage?
Not as a nationwide shortage — the FDA lists fluticasone propionate and salmeterol xinafoate inhalers under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 7, 2026: GlaxoSmithKline has told the FDA it is stopping its own product, while 2 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem.
Which strengths of Advair HFA are affected?
The FDA record covers 3 strengths: 45 ug; 21 ug, 115 ug; 21 ug, 230 ug; 21 ug. Every strength on the record is still made by at least one company, though stock varies by pharmacy.
Which Advair HFA products are affected?
Advair HFA Inhaler, 45 ug; 21 ug (NDC 00173-0715-22); Advair HFA Inhaler, 115 ug; 21 ug (NDC 00173-0716-22); Advair HFA Inhaler, 230 ug; 21 ug (NDC 00173-0717-22). The full per-NDC list (availability, company and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Advair HFA be available again?
A discontinuation is usually permanent for that company’s product. The same medicine is still sold by A-S Medication Solutions and Prasco Laboratories, so ask your pharmacy to order another company’s version.
Can I still get Advair HFA or its generic somewhere?
Other companies (A-S Medication Solutions and Prasco Laboratories) sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem — these are generic versions, and a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. 12 other dosage forms of fluticasone propionate and salmeterol xinafoate are also listed. See “Where else can I get Advair HFA or its generic?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
Is the brand or the generic affected?
Only the brand (Advair HFA) is on this FDA record; it lists no generic fluticasone propionate and salmeterol xinafoate inhalers. Availability can still differ between companies and package sizes — check the per-NDC table and confirm with your pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Advair HFA?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another company or a different strength or package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Advair HFA shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (0–2)Several companies still list it and most strengths or pack sizes are still listed by someone — counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report. A listing is not a stock check.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes without a source, or a long-running outage. A company’s discontinuation notice is not an outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages