Podofilox Topical Gel shortage
Podofilox Topical Gel is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 20, 2026.
AbbVie is permanently stopping production of Podofilox 0.5% topical gel. Padagis still lists the same medicine, so a version of podofilox gel may still be available from other suppliers.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Podofilox Topical Gel. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Jan 28, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Jan 28, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: AbbVie Inc. 📞 800-633-9110 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Condylox , Topical Gel, 0.5% (NDC 0023-6118-03) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Podofilox Topical Gel — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Podofilox Topical Gel? options further down this page.
Why is Podofilox Topical Gel in shortage?
AbbVie has let the FDA know that they are permanently stopping the making of their brand-name Condylox Topical Gel 0.5%. This is what's called a discontinuation — meaning this specific product won't be manufactured by AbbVie going forward. It's not a temporary shortage or a factory delay; they've simply decided to stop making it altogether.
Worth knowing is that AbbVie did not share a specific public reason why they made this decision — just that the discontinuation of manufacturing is the cause. This report reflects only AbbVie's product, so it speaks only to their version of podofilox topical gel 0.5%.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Podofilox Topical Gel, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Podofilox Topical Gel?
Podofilox topical gel (0.5%) is currently listed on the FDA drug-shortage report. I want to walk you through what this means so you know what to do next.
The one strength covered by this report — 0.5% — has no available source from the manufacturer that filed it, AbbVie (the maker of Condylox). There are no other strengths in this record, so the 0.5% gel is the one affected. The reason given is a discontinuation of manufacture, which means this particular supply problem may be permanent rather than temporary.
Please keep in mind this reflects only the manufacturer that filed the report — it does not mean every company has stopped making this medicine. Our records show the same medicine, podofilox gel, is also listed from another maker, Padagis US LLC. Your pharmacy may be able to source it, though it may not be sitting on the local shelf.
Here is what I suggest:
- Do not stop or change how you use your medicine on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers, including the Padagis version of podofilox gel.
- Because AbbVie's product is being discontinued, talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about the right next step.
- Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.
This is general, national information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Where else can I get Podofilox Topical Gel?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Podofilox Topical Gel is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Podofilox | PODOFILOX 5 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Padagis US LLC | 00574-0621-05 |
Alternative dosage forms of Podofilox
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 2 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Podofilox 5 mg/g | Padagis | 3.5 g | $127.020 | — | Availability likely |
| Condylox 5 mg/g | Allergan, | 3.5 g | $172.001 | — | Availability likely |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Podofilox Topical Gel — that fall in the same broad treatment class (keratolytics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Podofilox Topical Gel shortage FAQs
Is Podofilox Topical Gel in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Podofilox Topical Gel be available again?
Can I still get Podofilox somewhere?
What should I do if I take Podofilox Topical Gel?
Still have a question about the Podofilox Topical Gel shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Podofilox Topical Gel on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.