Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Podocon 25, Topical Tincture (Podophyllum Resin Topical Tincture)

Podocon 25, Topical Tincture (Podophyllum Resin Topical Tincture) shortage

Not a nationwide shortage — Padagis US has told the FDA it is discontinuing its podophyllum resin topical tincture. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 1 other company sells the same medicine and has not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: Low Dermatology 1 product 75 days First posted Jul 23, 2026 Updated Jul 23, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

Padagis is stopping production of Podophyllum Resin Topical Tincture, and this change may be permanent. Podocon-25 (podophyllum resin) 1 mg/4 mL tincture is still listed as available from Bryant Ranch Prepack.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
1
Affected NDCs
0/1
Reporting makers with supply
1/1
Affected strengths still listed
1
Other companies listing it
75
Days on the list
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 5, 2026 · yesterday

Is Podocon 25, Topical Tincture still in shortage? — status as of Oct 5, 2026

Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026. Padagis US is stopping its own version only; 1 other company still sells the same medicine and has not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.

⚠ Supply risk: Low 2 of 5 risk factors
  1. Every strength is still listed by a company — 1 of 1 strength (1 only by other companies)
  2. More than one company still lists it — 0 of 1 reporting company with supply + 1 other company
  3. Most affected NDCs still available — supply listed
  4. Not a long-running shortage — 74 days (a discontinuation notice, not an outage)
  5. Listed by several companies — 2 companies (1 reporting + 1 other)

A rule-based estimate of national supply risk, counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report — never your local pharmacy’s stock. How the rating works.

The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
1 NDCs
To be discontinued 1
Affected strengths still listed by a company
A reporting maker with supply, or another company listing that strength
1/1 strengths
Has a listed source 1
Reporting companies with supply
Among the 1 company that reported this shortage — plus 1 other company listing it, below
0/1 reporting
Reporting no supply 1
✓ Other companies listing the same medicine — not reporting a shortage
Podophyllum Resin Topical Tincture listings in the current FDA NDC Directory from companies that have not filed a shortage report — these are not counted in the charts above. Some are repackagers of another company’s product. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
Bryant Ranch Prepack
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. Jul 23, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    1 of 1 product affected.
  2. Jul 23, 2026
    First reported to the FDA
    1 product first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

Which Podocon 25, Topical Tincture products are affected — by company

Company: Padagis US LLC 📞 (800) 775-2054 1 NDC click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Podocon 25, Topical Tincture, 1 mg/4 mL NDC 00574-0601-15 1 mg/4 mL — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —

These rows are company reports to the FDA for Podophyllum Resin Topical Tincture — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Podocon 25, Topical Tincture or its generic? options further down this page.

Why is Padagis US discontinuing Podocon 25, Topical Tincture?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Jul 24, 2026

Padagis US LLC has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping production of their Podocon-25 topical tincture — specifically the 1 mg/4 mL package size. This isn't a temporary shortage or a factory delay; it's a full discontinuation of manufacturing for this particular product from this company.

Padagis did not share a specific public reason explaining why they made this decision — just that manufacturing will be discontinued. It's also worth knowing that this report only reflects what Padagis has filed with the FDA, so it speaks only to their product and not to what other manufacturers may or may not be doing with similar products.

Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Podophyllum Resin Topical Tincture, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.

What should I do if I take Podocon 25, Topical Tincture?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Jul 24, 2026

Podophyllum Resin Topical Tincture is currently listed on the FDA drug-shortage report. I want to walk you through what this means so you know what to expect.

There is only one strength involved here: the 1 mg/4 mL topical tincture (Podocon 25). That strength does not have an available source right now. The reason reported is that the manufacturer, Padagis US LLC, is discontinuing production of this product. Because the record shows it is being discontinued, this supply problem may be a lasting one rather than a short-term gap — which makes a conversation with your prescriber the right next step.

Here is what I suggest:

  • Do not stop or change how you use this medicine on your own. Keep following your current directions.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check with wholesalers and other suppliers. Our records show the same medicine and strength (Podocon 25, podophyllum resin 1 mg/4 mL) listed from another maker, Bryant Ranch Prepack — your pharmacy may be able to source it, though it may not be sitting in local stock.
  • Since this product is being discontinued, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a clinician-chosen alternative for your situation.

Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually make these calls. This is national, manufacturer-reported information and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.

See “Where else can I get Podocon 25, Topical Tincture or its generic?” below ↓ The same medicine from companies not reporting a shortage, other dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
Quick checklist for the pharmacy counter:
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.

Where else can I get Podocon 25, Topical Tincture or its generic?

FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists podophyllum resin topical tincture is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. These are generic versions of Podocon 25, Topical Tincture — a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeCompanyNDC
Podocon 25 PODOPHYLLUM RESIN 1 mg/4mL Tincture · Topical Bryant Ranch Prepack 63629-8699-01
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 4 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Podocon 25 1 mg/4mLNDC 63629-8699-01 Bryant 1 bottle — — FDA listed
Podocon 25 1 mg/4mLNDC 72162-1117-02 Bryant 1 bottle — — FDA listed
Podocon 25 1 mg/4mLNDC 00574-0601-15 Padagis 1 bottle — — FDA listed
Podocon 25 1 mg/4mLNDC 71335-2925-01 Bryant 1 bottle — — FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of Podocon 25, Topical Tincture — that fall in the same broad treatment class (keratolytics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
GCN Seq No 005795
GCN 22850
HICL code 002466
Ingredient (HICL) Podophyllum Resin
HIC1 code L
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Skin/Subcutaneous Tissue
HIC2 code L5
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Keratolytics/Keratoplastics
HIC3 code L5A
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Keratolytics
AHFS code 84:28.00.00
AHFS class Keratolytic Agents
FDB label name PODOCON-25 LIQUID
FDB brand name Podocon-25
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
GPI-1490750020002025
GPI classPodocon-25
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other dermatology shortages

Podocon 25, Topical Tincture shortage FAQs

Is Podocon 25, Topical Tincture still in shortage?
Not as a nationwide shortage — the FDA lists podophyllum resin topical tincture under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: Padagis US has told the FDA it is stopping its own product, while 1 other company still lists the same medicine and has not reported a shortage.
Which strengths of Podocon 25, Topical Tincture are affected?
The FDA record covers 1 strength: 1 mg/4 mL. Every strength on the record is still listed by someone — a reporting maker with supply, or another company listing it with the FDA — though local stock varies.
Which Podocon 25, Topical Tincture products are affected?
Podocon 25, Topical Tincture, 1 mg/4 mL (NDC 00574-0601-15). The full per-NDC list (availability, company and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will Podocon 25, Topical Tincture be available again?
A discontinuation is usually permanent for that company’s product. The same medicine is still listed by Bryant Ranch Prepack, so ask your pharmacy to order another company’s version.
Can I still get Podocon 25, Topical Tincture or its generic somewhere?
Another company (Bryant Ranch Prepack) lists the same medicine with the FDA and has not reported a shortage — these are generic versions, and a switch from the brand goes through your pharmacist or prescriber. See “Where else can I get Podocon 25, Topical Tincture or its generic?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
Is the brand or the generic affected?
Only the brand (Podocon 25, Topical Tincture) is on this FDA record; it lists no generic podophyllum resin topical tincture. Availability can still differ between companies and package sizes — check the per-NDC table and confirm with your pharmacy.
What should I do if I take Podocon 25, Topical Tincture?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another company or a different strength or package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the Podocon 25, Topical Tincture shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (0–2)Several companies still list it and most strengths or pack sizes are still listed by someone — counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report. A listing is not a stock check.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes without a source, or a long-running outage. A company’s discontinuation notice is not an outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages