Dapsone Gel shortage
Not a nationwide shortage — Amneal Pharmaceuticals has told the FDA it is discontinuing its dapsone gels. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 13 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.
Amneal Pharmaceuticals is stopping its dapsone gel 7.5%, and the change may be permanent. Other makers have not reported a shortage, including options like Aczone (dapsone) gel and generic dapsone gel in 5% and 7.5% strengths.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →Is dapsone still in shortage? — status as of Oct 5, 2026
Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026. Amneal Pharmaceuticals is stopping its own version only; 13 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.
The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.
Shortage timeline
-
Mar 27, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Mar 27, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
Which dapsone products are affected — by company
Company: Amneal Pharmaceuticals 📞 866-525-7270 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Dapsone Gel, 7.5% | 7.5% | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are company reports to the FDA for Dapsone Gel — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get dapsone? options further down this page.
Why is Amneal Pharmaceuticals discontinuing dapsone?
Amneal Pharmaceuticals has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping the manufacture of their Dapsone 7.5% gel. This is a discontinuation, meaning they don't plan to make this specific product anymore — it's not a temporary supply issue or factory hold-up.
It's worth knowing that this report only reflects what Amneal has shared with the FDA. It applies specifically to their 7.5% gel formulation. Amneal did not provide a more detailed public explanation for why they made this decision beyond noting the discontinuation of manufacture.
Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Dapsone Gel, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.
What should I do if I take dapsone?
Dapsone gel is currently listed on the FDA drug-shortage report. I want to walk you through what this means so you can plan your next refill with confidence.
The affected product is the 7.5% strength, made by Amneal Pharmaceuticals. Right now, this strength has no available source reported, and the reason listed is that the manufacturer is discontinuing this product. Because this is marked "to be discontinued," the supply problem for Amneal's 7.5% gel may be permanent rather than temporary. That said, this report reflects only the one manufacturer who filed it, and dapsone gel is still made by other companies.
Please do not stop or change how you use your gel on your own. Here is a sensible way to move forward:
- Talk with your prescriber or pharmacist before your next refill runs low, since your exact 7.5% product is being discontinued.
- Ask your pharmacy whether they can source dapsone gel from another maker — the same medicine is listed as available in 5% (50 mg/g) and 7.5% (75 mg/g) forms from several manufacturers, though these may not sit on your local shelf.
- Ask your prescriber which option is right for you before switching.
Manufacturer contact numbers appear on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get dapsone?
FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists dapsone gels is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Company | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 00378-4830-60 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 50 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Cosette Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | 00713-0886-18 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Torrent Pharmaceuticals Limited | 13668-0605-05 |
| Aczone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Almirall, LLC | 16110-0526-60 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 50 mg/g | Gel · Topical | NORTHSTAR RX LLC | 16714-0956-01 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | NORTHSTAR RX LLC | 16714-0975-01 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 50 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Encube Ethicals, Inc. | 21922-0018-07 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 50 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 51672-1387-02 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 51672-1388-02 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 50 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Mayne Pharma | 51862-0123-60 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 50 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Trupharma, LLC | 52817-0831-60 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Trupharma, LLC | 52817-0832-60 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 50 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 59651-0666-60 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 50 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Pacific Pharma, Inc. | 60758-0670-30 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Alembic Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 62332-0663-30 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Mayne Pharma Commercial LLC | 68308-0342-60 |
| Dapsone | DAPSONE 75 mg/g | Gel · Topical | Viona Pharmaceuticals Inc | 72578-0094-01 |
Other dosage forms of dapsone
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 12 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Mylan | 1 bottle | $0.715 | AB | Availability likely |
| dapsone 75 mg/g | Torrent | 1 bottle | $0.715 | AB | Availability likely |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | NORTHSTAR | 1 bottle | $0.715 | AB | Availability likely |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Mayne | 1 bottle | $0.715 | AB | Availability likely |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Amneal | 1 bottle | $0.715 | AB | Availability likely |
| Aczone 75 mg/g | Almirall, | 1 bottle | — | AB | Discontinued |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Alembic | 1 bottle | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Sun | 1 bottle | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Trupharma, | 1 tube | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Alembic | 1 bottle | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Zydus | 1 bottle | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Dapsone 75 mg/g | Viona | 1 bottle | — | AB | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of dapsone — that fall in the same broad treatment class (acne agents,topical) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
Where does this data come from?
Other dermatology shortages
Dapsone shortage FAQs
Is dapsone still in shortage?
Which strengths of dapsone are affected?
Which dapsone products are affected?
When will dapsone be available again?
Can I still get dapsone somewhere?
What should I do if I take dapsone?
Still have a question about the dapsone shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Dapsone Gel on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.