Fluocinonide Ointment shortage
Not a nationwide shortage — Teva Pharmaceuticals has told the FDA it is discontinuing its fluocinonide ointments. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 3 other companies sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.
Teva Pharmaceuticals has told the FDA it is discontinuing its fluocinonide ointments. Other companies (Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Xiromed and Bryant Ranch Prepack) still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this medicine? See what to do →Is fluocinonide still in shortage? — status as of Oct 6, 2026
Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 6, 2026. Teva Pharmaceuticals is stopping its own version only; 3 other companies still sell the same medicine and have not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.
The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.
Shortage timeline
-
Oct 2, 2026Currently in shortage3 of 3 products affected.
-
Oct 2, 2026First reported to the FDA3 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
Which fluocinonide products are affected — by company
Company: Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 📞 800-545-8800 3 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Fluocinonide Ointment, 0.5 mg/1 g | 0.5 mg/1 g | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Fluocinonide Ointment, 0.5 mg/1 g | 0.5 mg/1 g | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Fluocinonide Ointment, 0.5 mg/1 g | 0.5 mg/1 g | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are company reports to the FDA for Fluocinonide Ointment — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get fluocinonide? options further down this page.
Why is Teva Pharmaceuticals discontinuing fluocinonide?
- Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug
Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Fluocinonide Ointment. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.
What should I do if I take fluocinonide?
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get fluocinonide?
FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists fluocinonide ointments is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Company | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fluocinonide | FLUOCINONIDE .5 mg/g | Ointment · Topical | Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Inc. | 51672-1264-01 |
| Fluocinonide | FLUOCINONIDE .05 mg/g | Ointment · Topical | Xiromed LLC | 70700-0146-15 |
| Fluocinonide | FLUOCINONIDE .05 mg/g | Ointment · Topical | Bryant Ranch Prepack | 72162-1972-02 |
Other dosage forms of fluocinonide
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 29 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Teva | 1 tube | $0.206 | AB | Discontinued |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Teva | 1 tube | $0.256 | AB | Discontinued |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Cosette | 1 tube | $0.367 | AB1 | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Teva | 1 tube | $0.367 | AB1 | Discontinued |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Sun | 1 tube | $0.367 | AB1 | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Sun | 1 tube | $0.368 | AB | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .05 mg/g | Xiromed | 1 tube | $0.368 | AB | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Teva | 1 tube | $0.368 | AB | Discontinued |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Encube | 1 tube | $0.472 | AB1 | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide Cream .5 mg/g | Amneal | 1 tube | $0.472 | AB1 | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Cosette | 1 tube | $0.906 | AB2 | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Teva | 1 tube | $0.906 | AB2 | Discontinued |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Sun | 1 tube | $0.906 | AB2 | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Padagis | 1 tube | $1.084 | AB | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Sun | 1 tube | $1.084 | AB | Availability likely |
| Fluocinonide .05 mg/g | Bryant | 1 tube | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .05 mg/g | Bryant | 1 tube | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .05 mg/g | Bryant | 1 tube | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | NuCare | 1 tube | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Preferred | 1 tube | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .05 mg/g | Bryant | 1 tube | — | AB | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | A-S | 1 tube | — | AB1 | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | NuCare | 30 g | — | AB1 | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | Preferred | 1 tube | — | AB1 | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | A-S | 1 tube | — | AB1 | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | NuCare | 1 tube | — | AB1 | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | NuCare | 15 g | — | AB1 | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | A-S | 1 tube | — | AB1 | FDA listed |
| Fluocinonide .5 mg/g | A-S | 1 tube | — | AB1 | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of fluocinonide — that fall in the same broad treatment class (topical anti-inflammatory steroidal) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
Where does this data come from?
Other dermatology shortages
Fluocinonide shortage FAQs
Is fluocinonide still in shortage?
Which strengths of fluocinonide are affected?
Which fluocinonide products are affected?
When will fluocinonide be available again?
Can I still get fluocinonide somewhere?
What should I do if I take fluocinonide?
Still have a question about the fluocinonide shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Fluocinonide Ointment on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.