Inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Acamprosate inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Wondering whether your Acamprosate has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Acamprosate product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.

We have read the FDA labels of 11 of the 11 current Acamprosate products on the market today, from 10 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.

Ask about your bottle

Is there something in your Acamprosate? Ask in plain words.

Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.

Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.

Check your bottle

Let's take a closer look at your Acamprosate.

Pick your bottle and tap what you want to check. The answer comes from that product's own FDA label, which is already on this page.

1 Which bottle do you have?

Or tap your way to it: the form, then the strength, then the company.

Form

2 What do you want to check?

Nothing tapped? We check the five big ones.

Acamprosate Your bottle Pick a product and this label fills in.

Pick your bottle to read its label, or tap an ingredient to see which Acamprosate products leave it out.

At a glance

Which Acamprosate products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?

  1. LactoseNo checked product

    No checked Acamprosate product lists lactose.

  2. Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product

    No checked Acamprosate product lists a wheat or gluten source.

  3. SoyNo checked product

    No checked Acamprosate product lists soy.

  4. Synthetic dyesNo checked product

    No checked Acamprosate product lists synthetic dyes.

  5. GelatinNo checked product

    No checked Acamprosate product lists gelatin.

Also listed by some products: Carmine or shellac 4 of 11 Propylene glycol 7 of 11 PEG or polysorbate 3 of 11

Find a version without it

Every current Acamprosate product and what its label lists

Fastest way: search by NDC. It is printed on your bottle's pharmacy label. If it is not, call your pharmacy: they have it on record.

Hide products that list:

Acamprosate 333 mg delayed-release tablet 11 companies Propylene glycol 7 Carmine or shellac 4 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 3
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
American Health PackagingNDC 60687-0121-25 Propylene glycol
Show 10 ingredients

CROSPOVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, MAGNESIUM SILICATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID AND ETHYL ACRYLATE COPOLYMER, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC

BionpharmaNDC 69452-0353-25 Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol
Show 13 ingredients

AMMONIA, CROSPOVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, MAGNESIUM SILICATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID AND ETHYL ACRYLATE COPOLYMER, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC

GlenmarkNDC 68462-0435-11 Other pack sizes, same label: 68462-0435-18 Propylene glycol
Show 10 ingredients

CROSPOVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, MAGNESIUM SILICATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID AND ETHYL ACRYLATE COPOLYMER, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC

MajorNDC 00904-7213-04 Propylene glycol
Show 10 ingredients

CROSPOVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, MAGNESIUM SILICATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID AND ETHYL ACRYLATE COPOLYMER, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC

MylanNDC 00378-6333-80 Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol
Show 11 ingredients

AMMONIA, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GLYCERYL DIBEHENATE, HYPROMELLOSE, UNSPECIFIED, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID - METHYL METHACRYLATE COPOLYMER (1:1), MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, TALC

NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba VangardNDC 00615-8560-39 Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol
Show 11 ingredients

AMMONIA, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GLYCERYL DIBEHENATE, HYPROMELLOSE, UNSPECIFIED, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID - METHYL METHACRYLATE COPOLYMER (1:1), MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, TALC

NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba VangardNDC 00615-8660-39 Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol
Show 13 ingredients

AMMONIA, CROSPOVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, MAGNESIUM SILICATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID AND ETHYL ACRYLATE COPOLYMER, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC

RemedyrepackNDC 70518-4616-00 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 10 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 8000, POVIDONE K90, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM BICARBONATE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC

Somerset TherapeuticsNDC 70069-0860-18 Other pack sizes, same label: 70069-0860-30 None of these listed
Show 8 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID AND ETHYL ACRYLATE COPOLYMER, POVIDONE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TRIETHYL CITRATE

ZydusNDC 68382-0569-01 Other pack sizes, same label: 68382-0569-05, 68382-0569-06, 68382-0569-10, 68382-0569-16, 68382-0569-28 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 10 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 8000, POVIDONE K90, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM BICARBONATE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC

Zydus LifesciencesNDC 70771-1057-00 Other pack sizes, same label: 70771-1057-01, 70771-1057-03, 70771-1057-05, 70771-1057-08, 70771-1057-09 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 10 ingredients

CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, METHACRYLIC ACID, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 8000, POVIDONE K90, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM BICARBONATE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC

A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.

Acamprosate without carmine or shellac

Carmine or shellac: insect-derived red colorant or coating glaze. 4 of 11 checked products list carmine or shellac; 7 do not.

Show which Acamprosate products list carmine or shellac and which do not, by product and company

Does not list carmine or shellac

Lists carmine or shellac

Acamprosate without propylene glycol

Propylene glycol: A solvent in liquids and capsules; a concern in kidney disease, for infants, and at high doses. 7 of 11 checked products list propylene glycol; 4 do not.

Show which Acamprosate products list propylene glycol and which do not, by product and company

Does not list propylene glycol

Lists propylene glycol

  • 333 mg delayed-release tablet: American Health Packaging, Bionpharma, Glenmark, Major, Mylan, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard

Acamprosate without polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 3 of 11 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 8 do not.

Show which Acamprosate products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate and which do not, by product and company

Does not list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

  • 333 mg delayed-release tablet: American Health Packaging, Bionpharma, Glenmark, Major, Mylan, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, NCS HealthCare of KY, LLC dba Vangard, Somerset Therapeutics

Lists polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

At the pharmacy counter

How to use this at the pharmacy counter

  1. Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
  2. Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
  3. Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
  4. If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Ask Dr. Staiger which Acamprosate product suits you →

Common questions about Acamprosate inactive ingredients

Is Acamprosate gluten-free?
This page cannot certify any Acamprosate product gluten-free; it reports what each label declares. Of the 11 products checked, none lists a wheat, barley, rye or gluten ingredient, and none lists a starch or maltodextrin without a stated source. If you have celiac disease, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written gluten statement for the lot you have.
Does Acamprosate contain lactose?
No checked Acamprosate product lists lactose on its label. The lactose in a tablet or capsule is a small amount, but people with a milk allergy or a strong intolerance often prefer a version that does not list it.
Does Acamprosate contain soy?
No checked Acamprosate product lists a soy ingredient (soybean oil or soy lecithin) on its label. Soy lecithin is the usual form and the amount is small, but people with a soy allergy often prefer a version that does not list it.
Is there a dye-free Acamprosate?
No checked Acamprosate product lists a synthetic dye (an FD&C or D&C colorant) on its label. Colorants often differ by strength within one company's line, so compare the lists above strength by strength.
Does Acamprosate contain gelatin?
No checked Acamprosate product lists gelatin on its label. Gelatin is usually bovine or porcine and the label rarely says which; for kosher, halal or vegetarian needs, ask the manufacturer.
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
A generic must match the brand's active ingredient, strength, dose form and how it is absorbed; its fillers, binders, coatings and colorants are the manufacturer's own choice. That is why one Acamprosate product can list lactose and a dye while another from a different company lists neither.
Who decides what counts as a gluten source, a dye or soy on this page?
Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS, a clinical pharmacist, wrote and maintains the classification this page applies: which ingredient names count as a lactose, wheat or gluten, soy, synthetic dye or gelatin source, and which read as "source not stated" (bare starch or maltodextrin). The ingredient lists themselves are the manufacturers' own FDA labels, shown as filed; nothing is added to or removed from a label.
The NDC on my bottle ends differently from the one on this page. Is it the same product?
Usually, yes. An NDC has three parts: the company, the product (the medicine, strength and form) and, last, the package size. Two codes that share the first two parts are the same product in different pack sizes, and a label belongs to the product, so every pack size shares one inactive-ingredient list. Each product on this page lists every pack size the FDA directory holds for it, and the NDC search accepts any of them.
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
Often, if you ask before the prescription is filled: many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one. Some pharmacies buy a generic from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check. Give them the NDC from this page; the company name alone is often enough.
How current is this list?
The products are the ones in the FDA's current NDC directory as of October 6, 2026. The list is rebuilt every day, the FDA directory is re-imported every week, and each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA label as our label sync last read it, re-read when the FDA publishes a new version. Formulations change, so check the label on your own bottle and ask your pharmacist if a refill looks different.

Sources: the products are the finished Acamprosate products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Acamprosate guide