Barium Sulfate Inactive Ingredients by Manufacturer
Wondering whether your Barium Sulfate has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it?
- Lactose
- Gluten source
- Soy
- Dyes
- Gelatin
Same medicine, different fillers. The coatings, colors and fillers differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Barium Sulfate product's FDA label lists, so you can pick a version that leaves out what you avoid.
Answers from the FDA labels
Ask About the Inactive Ingredients in Your Barium Sulfate
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
Check your bottle
Look Up Your Barium Sulfate by NDC, Company or Strength
Pick your bottle and tap what you want to check. The answer comes from that product's own FDA label, which is already on this page.
1 Which bottle do you have?
Or tap your way to it: the form, then the strength, then the company.
This company lists more than one. Match the imprint on your pill, or the NDC on your pharmacy label.
2 What do you want to check?
Nothing tapped? We check the five big ones.
- Listed on the labelthe company names it.
- Not listedthe label does not name it.
- Source unclearthe label names a starch or maltodextrin without saying what plant it came from.
- Still being readwe have not finished this label yet.
Pick your bottle to read its label, or tap an ingredient to see which Barium Sulfate products leave it out.
Summary of all Barium Sulfate products
The checker above looks at one bottle. This is every current Barium Sulfate product at once: 16 FDA labels from 1 company.
Which Barium Sulfate Products List Lactose, a Gluten Source, Soy, Dyes or Gelatin?
-
LactoseNo checked product
No checked Barium Sulfate product lists lactose.
-
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Barium Sulfate product lists a wheat or gluten source.
Of the 16 that do not list it, 4 list maltodextrin or starch without saying where it comes from, so for those the answer is "source unclear", not "no".
-
SoyNo checked product
No checked Barium Sulfate product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesNo checked product
No checked Barium Sulfate product lists synthetic dyes.
-
GelatinNo checked product
No checked Barium Sulfate product lists gelatin.
Also listed by some products: Maltodextrin (source not stated) 4 of 16 Corn 2 of 16 Propylene glycol 1 of 16 PEG or polysorbate 10 of 16 Sorbitol or mannitol 11 of 16
4 products list starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Details of all Barium Sulfate products
Every current Barium Sulfate product, grouped by strength and form. Open one to see each company's NDC, package sizes and full inactive-ingredient list.
Find a version without it
Every Current Barium Sulfate Product and What Its Label Lists
Fastest way: search by NDC. It is printed on your bottle's pharmacy label. If it is not, call your pharmacy: they have it on record.
An NDC (National Drug Code) is the FDA's number for one exact product from one company in one package size, written like 60505-0121-01: the first part is the company, the middle the product and strength, the last the package size. Codes that differ only in the last part are the same product in different pack sizes and share one label, so any of them finds the right product here. Two bottles of the same medicine from different companies can have different inactive ingredients, which is why the pharmacy needs the number, not just the name.
Barium Sulfate 20 mg/mL oral suspension 1 company, 5 products Sorbitol or mannitol 5
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0741-03 White liquid, blueberry flavor | Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 12 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, benzoic acid, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, sorbitol, trisodium citrate dihydrate, water, xanthan gum |
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0742-03 | Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 12 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, benzoic acid, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, sorbitol, trisodium citrate dihydrate, water, xanthan gum |
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0744-03 | Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 10 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, sorbitol, water, xanthan gum |
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0746-03 | Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 12 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, benzoic acid, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, sorbitol, trisodium citrate dihydrate, water, xanthan gum |
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0747-03 | Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 12 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, benzoic acid, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, sorbitol, trisodium citrate dihydrate, water, xanthan gum |
Barium Sulfate 240 mg/mL oral suspension 1 company Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1 Sorbitol or mannitol 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0146-06 | Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 16 ingredientsACACIA, ANHYDROUS CITRIC ACID, CARRAGEENAN SODIUM, DIMETHICONE 1000, DIMETHICONE 350, METHYLCELLULOSE (400 MPA.S), POLYSORBATE 80, POTASSIUM CHLORIDE, POTASSIUM SORBATE, SACCHARIN SODIUM, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM BENZOATE, SORBITOL, TRISODIUM CITRATE DIHYDRATE, WATER, XANTHAN GUM |
Barium Sulfate 400 mg/mL oral suspension 1 company, 4 products Corn-derived 2 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 4 Maltodextrin, source not stated 2
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0116-00 White liquid, apple flavor Same product, other package sizes: 32909-0116-55 (case of 12 bottles of 70 mL) | Maltodextrin, source not stated Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate | Show 15 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, carboxymethylcellulose sodium, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, glycerin, maltodextrin, polysorbate 80, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, trisodium citrate dihydrate, water, xanthan gum, xylitol |
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0121-07 Same product, other package sizes: 32909-0121-54 (case of 24 tubes of 30 mL) | Corn-derived Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate | Show 15 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, carboxymethylcellulose sodium, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, glycerin, modified corn starch (1-octenyl succinic anhydride), polysorbate 80, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, trisodium citrate dihydrate, water, xanthan gum, xylitol |
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0122-07 Same product, other package sizes: 32909-0122-54 (case of 24 tubes of 30 mL) | Corn-derived Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate | Show 15 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, carboxymethylcellulose sodium, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, glycerin, modified corn starch (1-octenyl succinic anhydride), polysorbate 80, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, trisodium citrate dihydrate, water, xanthan gum, xylitol |
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0814-53 Same product, other package sizes: 32909-0814-55 (case of 24 boxes of 3 bottles of 20 mL) | Maltodextrin, source not stated Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate | Show 15 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, CARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE SODIUM, UNSPECIFIED FORM, dimethicone 1000, dimethicone 350, glycerin, maltodextrin, polysorbate 80, potassium sorbate, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sodium benzoate, trisodium citrate dihydrate, water, xanthan gum, xylitol |
Barium Sulfate 0.6 g/mL oral suspension 1 company Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1 Sorbitol or mannitol 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0187-02 | Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 13 ingredientsANHYDROUS CITRIC ACID, CARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE SODIUM, DIMETHICONE 1000, DIMETHICONE 350, POLYSORBATE 80, POTASSIUM SORBATE, SACCHARIN SODIUM, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM BENZOATE, SORBITOL, TRISODIUM CITRATE DIHYDRATE, WATER, XANTHAN GUM |
Barium Sulfate 0.81 g/g oral suspension 1 company Maltodextrin, source not stated 1 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1 Sorbitol or mannitol 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0105-10 | Maltodextrin, source not stated Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 10 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, carboxymethylcellulose sodium, dimethicone 1000, maltodextrin, polysorbate 80, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sorbitol, trisodium citrate dihydrate, xylitol |
Barium Sulfate 960 mg/g oral suspension 1 company Propylene glycol 1 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1 Sorbitol or mannitol 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0750-03 | Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 12 ingredientsanhydrous citric acid, carrageenan sodium, dimethicone 1000, pectin, polysorbate 80, propylene glycol, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sorbitol, tragacanth, trisodium citrate dihydrate, xanthan gum |
Barium Sulfate 980 mg/g oral suspension 1 company Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1 Sorbitol or mannitol 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0764-01 | Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 10 ingredientsacacia, anhydrous citric acid, carrageenan sodium, dimethicone 1000, ethyl maltol, polysorbate 80, saccharin sodium, silicon dioxide, sorbitol, trisodium citrate dihydrate |
Barium Sulfate 400 mg/mL ointment or gel topical cream 1 company Maltodextrin, source not stated 1 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0125-22 White, vanilla flavor Same product, other package sizes: 32909-0125-54 (case of 24 tubes of 30 mL) | Maltodextrin, source not stated Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate | Show 15 ingredientsANHYDROUS CITRIC ACID, CARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE SODIUM, UNSPECIFIED FORM, DIMETHICONE 1000, DIMETHICONE 350, ETHYL VANILLIN, GLYCERIN, MALTODEXTRIN, POLYSORBATE 80, POTASSIUM SORBATE, SACCHARIN SODIUM, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM BENZOATE, WATER, XANTHAN GUM, XYLITOL |
Barium Sulfate 0.6 g/g ointment or gel topical cream 1 company Sorbitol or mannitol 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-Z-EM CanadaNDC 32909-0770-01 White, vanilla flavor | Sorbitol or mannitol | Show 13 ingredientsANHYDROUS CITRIC ACID, CARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE SODIUM, DIMETHICONE 1000, DIMETHICONE 350, ETHYL VANILLIN, GLYCERIN, METHYLPARABEN, PROPYLPARABEN, SACCHARIN SODIUM, SILICON DIOXIDE, SORBITOL, TRISODIUM CITRATE DIHYDRATE, WATER |
Barium Sulfate 700 mg tablet 1 company
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| E-z-emNDC 10361-0778-31 | No inactive-ingredient list on the label | No list we could read |
A product with none of these on its label may still contain them. The label shows only what the company listed, and it often does not say where a starch or a flavor comes from. Some companies here repackage or sell another company's product under their own name. Tap an NDC to open that product's page with its full label.
Barium Sulfate Products With Maltodextrin of Unstated Source
Maltodextrin, source not stated: usually made from corn in US products and processed so that gluten is removed, but this label does not name the source. 4 of 16 checked products list maltodextrin of unstated source; 12 do not.
Show which Barium Sulfate products list maltodextrin of unstated source and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Maltodextrin of Unstated Source
- 20 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (5 products)
- 240 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 400 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (2 products)
- 0.6 g/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 960 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 980 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.6 g/g ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
Lists Maltodextrin of Unstated Source
- 400 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (2 products)
- 0.81 g/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 400 mg/mL ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
Barium Sulfate Without Corn-Derived Ingredients
Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. 2 of 16 checked products list corn-derived ingredients; 14 do not.
Show which Barium Sulfate products list corn-derived ingredients and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Corn-Derived Ingredients
- 20 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (5 products)
- 240 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 400 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (2 products)
- 0.6 g/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.81 g/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 960 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 980 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 400 mg/mL ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.6 g/g ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
Lists Corn-Derived Ingredients
- 400 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (2 products)
Barium Sulfate Without Propylene Glycol
Propylene glycol: A solvent in liquids and capsules; a concern in kidney disease, for infants, and at high doses. 1 of 16 checked products list propylene glycol; 15 do not.
Show which Barium Sulfate products list propylene glycol and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Propylene Glycol
- 20 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (5 products)
- 240 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 400 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (4 products)
- 0.6 g/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.81 g/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 980 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 400 mg/mL ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.6 g/g ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
Lists Propylene Glycol
- 960 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
Barium Sulfate Without Polyethylene Glycol or Polysorbate
Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 10 of 16 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 6 do not.
Show which Barium Sulfate products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Polyethylene Glycol or Polysorbate
- 20 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (5 products)
- 0.6 g/g ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
Lists Polyethylene Glycol or Polysorbate
- 240 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 400 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (4 products)
- 0.6 g/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.81 g/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 960 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 980 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 400 mg/mL ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
Barium Sulfate Without Sorbitol or Mannitol
Sorbitol or mannitol: sugar alcohols that can cause bloating or diarrhea in larger amounts. 11 of 16 checked products list sorbitol or mannitol; 5 do not.
Show which Barium Sulfate products list sorbitol or mannitol and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Sorbitol or Mannitol
- 400 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (4 products)
- 400 mg/mL ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
Lists Sorbitol or Mannitol
- 20 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada (5 products)
- 240 mg/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.6 g/mL oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.81 g/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 960 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 980 mg/g oral suspension: E-Z-EM Canada
- 0.6 g/g ointment or gel topical cream: E-Z-EM Canada
At the pharmacy counter
How to Get the Version You Want at the Pharmacy
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common Questions About Barium Sulfate Inactive Ingredients
Is Barium Sulfate gluten-free?
Does Barium Sulfate contain lactose?
Does Barium Sulfate contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Barium Sulfate?
Does Barium Sulfate contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
What can a label not tell me?
Who decides what counts as a gluten source, a dye or soy on this page?
The NDC on my bottle ends differently from the one on this page. Is it the same product?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Barium Sulfate products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 7, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Barium Sulfate guide