Fidaxomicin inactive ingredients by manufacturer
Wondering whether your Fidaxomicin has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Fidaxomicin product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We have read the FDA labels of 6 of the 6 current Fidaxomicin products on the market today, from 5 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.
Ask about your bottle
Is there something in your Fidaxomicin? Ask in plain words.
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
The short answer
Which Fidaxomicin products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?
-
LactoseNo checked product
No checked Fidaxomicin product lists lactose.
-
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Fidaxomicin product lists a wheat or gluten source.
-
SoyDiffers by manufacturer
4 of 6 checked products list soy; 2 do not. See the products
-
Synthetic dyesNo checked product
No checked Fidaxomicin product lists synthetic dyes.
-
GelatinNo checked product
No checked Fidaxomicin product lists gelatin.
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 2 of 6 Corn 5 of 6 Titanium dioxide 5 of 6 PEG or polysorbate 5 of 6
2 products list starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every current Fidaxomicin product and what its label lists
| Product | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| Apotex Corp. 1 product | ||
| 200 mg tabletNDC 60505-4833-02 | Corn-derived Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 10 ingredientsButylated Hydroxytoluene, Hydroxypropyl Cellulose (1600000 WAMW), Magnesium Stearate, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, Polyethylene Glycol 8000, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, Sodium Starch Glycolate Type A Potato, Starch, Corn, Talc, Titanium Dioxide |
| Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC 2 products | ||
| 200 mg/5 mL oral suspensionNDC 52015-0700-22 | None of these listed |
Show 7 ingredientsCITRIC ACID MONOHYDRATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SODIUM BENZOATE, SODIUM CITRATE, UNSPECIFIED FORM, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, SUCRALOSE, XANTHAN GUM |
| 200 mg tabletNDC 52015-0080-01 | Corn-derived Soy Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 11 ingredientsBUTYLATED HYDROXYTOLUENE, HYDROXYPROPYL CELLULOSE (1600000 WAMW), LECITHIN, SOYBEAN, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Sandoz Inc 1 product | ||
| 200 mg tabletNDC 00781-5194-20 | Starch, source not stated Corn-derived Soy Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 11 ingredientsBUTYLATED HYDROXYTOLUENE, HYDROXYPROPYL CELLULOSE (90000 WAMW), MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, SOYBEAN LECITHIN, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Teva Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 1 product | ||
| 200 mg tabletNDC 00480-2596-34 | Corn-derived Soy Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 11 ingredientsBUTYLATED HYDROXYTOLUENE, HYDROXYPROPYL CELLULOSE, UNSPECIFIED, LECITHIN, SOYBEAN, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 3350, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Torrent Pharmaceuticals Limited 1 product | ||
| 200 mg tabletNDC 13668-0745-21 | Starch, source not stated Corn-derived Soy Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 11 ingredientsBUTYLATED HYDROXYTOLUENE, HYDROXYPROPYL CELLULOSE (1600000 WAMW), LECITHIN, SOYBEAN, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL 3350, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.
Fidaxomicin without soy
Soy: soybean oil or soy lecithin; a concern with soy allergy. 4 of 6 checked products list soy; 2 do not.
Does not list soy
- Apotex: 200 mg tablet
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg/5 mL oral suspension
Lists soy
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg tablet
- Sandoz: 200 mg tablet
- Teva: 200 mg tablet
- Torrent: 200 mg tablet
Fidaxomicin without starch of unstated source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 2 of 6 checked products list starch of unstated source; 4 do not.
Does not list starch of unstated source
- Apotex: 200 mg tablet
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg/5 mL oral suspension, 200 mg tablet
- Teva: 200 mg tablet
Lists starch of unstated source
- Sandoz: 200 mg tablet
- Torrent: 200 mg tablet
Fidaxomicin without corn-derived ingredients
Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. 5 of 6 checked products list corn-derived ingredients; 1 does not.
Does not list corn-derived ingredients
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg/5 mL oral suspension
Lists corn-derived ingredients
- Apotex: 200 mg tablet
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg tablet
- Sandoz: 200 mg tablet
- Teva: 200 mg tablet
- Torrent: 200 mg tablet
Fidaxomicin without titanium dioxide
Titanium dioxide: A white colorant some people choose to avoid. 5 of 6 checked products list titanium dioxide; 1 does not.
Does not list titanium dioxide
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg/5 mL oral suspension
Lists titanium dioxide
- Apotex: 200 mg tablet
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg tablet
- Sandoz: 200 mg tablet
- Teva: 200 mg tablet
- Torrent: 200 mg tablet
Fidaxomicin without polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 5 of 6 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 1 does not.
Does not list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg/5 mL oral suspension
Lists polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
- Apotex: 200 mg tablet
- Merck Sharp & Dohme: 200 mg tablet
- Sandoz: 200 mg tablet
- Teva: 200 mg tablet
- Torrent: 200 mg tablet
At the pharmacy counter
How to use this at the pharmacy counter
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common questions about Fidaxomicin inactive ingredients
Is Fidaxomicin gluten-free?
Does Fidaxomicin contain lactose?
Does Fidaxomicin contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Fidaxomicin?
Does Fidaxomicin contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Fidaxomicin products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Fidaxomicin guide