Flucytosine inactive ingredients by manufacturer
Wondering whether your Flucytosine has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Flucytosine product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We have read the FDA labels of 20 of the 20 current Flucytosine products on the market today, from 10 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.
Ask about your bottle
Is there something in your Flucytosine? Ask in plain words.
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
The short answer
Which Flucytosine products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?
-
LactoseEvery checked product
Every checked Flucytosine product (20) lists lactose. See the products
-
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Flucytosine product lists a wheat or gluten source.
-
SoyNo checked product
No checked Flucytosine product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesDiffers by manufacturer
14 of 20 checked products list synthetic dyes; 6 do not. See the products
-
GelatinEvery checked product
Every checked Flucytosine product (20) lists gelatin. See the products
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 2 of 20 Corn 8 of 20 Titanium dioxide 20 of 20 Carmine or shellac 16 of 20 Propylene glycol 2 of 20
2 products list starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every current Flucytosine product and what its label lists
| Product | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| American Health Packaging 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 60687-0599-21 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 12 ingredientsANHYDROUS LACTOSE, D&C YELLOW NO. 10, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C YELLOW NO. 6, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 60687-0610-21 | Lactose Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 9 ingredientsANHYDROUS LACTOSE, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Aurobindo Pharma Limited 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 59651-0331-01 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 12 ingredientsANHYDROUS LACTOSE, D&C YELLOW NO. 10, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C YELLOW NO. 6, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 59651-0332-01 | Lactose Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 9 ingredientsANHYDROUS LACTOSE, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| AvPAK 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 50268-0331-12 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 16 ingredientsFD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, WATER |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 50268-0332-12 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 14 ingredientsFD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, WATER |
| Bausch Health US LLC 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 00187-3554-10 | Lactose Corn-derived Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin |
Show 8 ingredientsD&C YELLOW NO. 10, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C YELLOW NO. 6, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, LACTOSE, UNSPECIFIED FORM, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 00187-3555-10 | Lactose Corn-derived Titanium dioxide Gelatin |
Show 6 ingredientsFERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, LACTOSE, UNSPECIFIED FORM, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet Pharmaceuticals Inc. 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 23155-0860-01 | Lactose Corn-derived Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol |
Show 12 ingredientsD&C YELLOW NO. 10, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C YELLOW NO. 6, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 23155-0861-01 | Lactose Corn-derived Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol |
Show 9 ingredientsFERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Laurus Labs Limited 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 42385-0983-01 | Lactose Starch, source not stated Corn-derived Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 13 ingredientsD&C Yellow no. 10, FD&C Blue no. 1, FD&C Yellow no. 6, Ferrosoferric Oxide, Gelatin, Unspecified, Lactose Monohydrate, Potassium hydroxide, Shellac, Silicon Dioxide, Sodium Starch Glycolate Type A, Starch, Corn, Talc, Titanium dioxide |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 42385-0984-01 | Lactose Starch, source not stated Corn-derived Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 10 ingredientsFerrosoferric Oxide, Gelatin, Unspecified, Lactose Monohydrate, Potassium hydroxide, Shellac, Silicon Dioxide, Sodium Starch Glycolate Type A, Starch, Corn, Talc, Titanium dioxide |
| Lupin Pharmaceuticals,Inc. 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 43386-0771-01 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 16 ingredientsFD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, WATER |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 43386-0770-01 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 14 ingredientsFD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, WATER |
| Major Pharmaceuticals 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 00904-6834-07 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 17 ingredientsALUMINUM OXIDE, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, WATER |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 00904-6835-07 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 15 ingredientsALUMINUM OXIDE, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, WATER |
| Novel Laboratories, Inc. 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 40032-0771-01 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 16 ingredientsFD&C BLUE NO. 1, FD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, WATER |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 40032-0770-01 | Lactose Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac |
Show 14 ingredientsFD&C RED NO. 40, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, SHELLAC, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, WATER |
| Sigmapharm Laboratories, LLC 2 products | ||
| 250 mg capsuleNDC 42794-0009-08 | Lactose Corn-derived Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin |
Show 10 ingredientsD&C YELLOW NO. 10, FD&C GREEN NO. 3, FD&C YELLOW NO. 6, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 500 mg capsuleNDC 42794-0010-08 | Lactose Corn-derived Titanium dioxide Gelatin |
Show 9 ingredientsCARBOXYMETHYLCELLULOSE, FERRIC OXIDE YELLOW, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, STARCH, CORN, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.
Flucytosine and lactose
Lactose: milk sugar; a concern with lactose intolerance or a milk allergy. Every checked Flucytosine product (20) lists lactose.
Lists lactose
- American Health Packaging: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- AvPAK: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Bausch Health: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Laurus: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Lupin: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Major: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Novel: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Flucytosine without synthetic dyes
Synthetic dyes: FD&C or D&C colorants and their aluminum lakes. 14 of 20 checked products list synthetic dyes; 6 do not.
Does not list synthetic dyes
- American Health Packaging: 500 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 500 mg capsule
- Bausch Health: 500 mg capsule
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 500 mg capsule
- Laurus: 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 500 mg capsule
Lists synthetic dyes
- American Health Packaging: 250 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 250 mg capsule
- AvPAK: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Bausch Health: 250 mg capsule
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 250 mg capsule
- Laurus: 250 mg capsule
- Lupin: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Major: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Novel: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 250 mg capsule
Flucytosine and gelatin
Gelatin: animal-derived (usually bovine or porcine); a concern for vegetarian, kosher or halal needs. Every checked Flucytosine product (20) lists gelatin.
Lists gelatin
- American Health Packaging: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- AvPAK: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Bausch Health: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Laurus: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Lupin: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Major: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Novel: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Flucytosine without starch of unstated source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 2 of 20 checked products list starch of unstated source; 18 do not.
Does not list starch of unstated source
- American Health Packaging: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- AvPAK: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Bausch Health: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Lupin: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Major: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Novel: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Lists starch of unstated source
- Laurus: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Flucytosine without corn-derived ingredients
Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. 8 of 20 checked products list corn-derived ingredients; 12 do not.
Does not list corn-derived ingredients
- American Health Packaging: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- AvPAK: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Lupin: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Major: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Novel: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Lists corn-derived ingredients
- Bausch Health: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Laurus: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Flucytosine and titanium dioxide
Titanium dioxide: A white colorant some people choose to avoid. Every checked Flucytosine product (20) lists titanium dioxide.
Lists titanium dioxide
- American Health Packaging: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- AvPAK: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Bausch Health: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Laurus: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Lupin: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Major: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Novel: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Flucytosine without carmine or shellac
Carmine or shellac: insect-derived red colorant or coating glaze. 16 of 20 checked products list carmine or shellac; 4 do not.
Does not list carmine or shellac
- Bausch Health: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Lists carmine or shellac
- American Health Packaging: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- AvPAK: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Laurus: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Lupin: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Major: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Novel: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Flucytosine without propylene glycol
Propylene glycol: A solvent in liquids and capsules; a concern in kidney disease, for infants, and at high doses. 2 of 20 checked products list propylene glycol; 18 do not.
Does not list propylene glycol
- American Health Packaging: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Aurobindo: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- AvPAK: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Bausch Health: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Laurus: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Lupin: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Major: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Novel: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
- Sigmapharm: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
Lists propylene glycol
- Heritage Pharmaceuticals Inc. d/b/a Avet: 250 mg capsule, 500 mg capsule
At the pharmacy counter
How to use this at the pharmacy counter
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common questions about Flucytosine inactive ingredients
Is Flucytosine gluten-free?
Does Flucytosine contain lactose?
Does Flucytosine contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Flucytosine?
Does Flucytosine contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Flucytosine products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Flucytosine guide