Meperidine inactive ingredients by manufacturer
Wondering whether your Meperidine has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Meperidine product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We have read the FDA labels of 10 of the 10 current Meperidine products on the market today, from 4 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.
Ask about your bottle
Is there something in your Meperidine? Ask in plain words.
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
The short answer
Which Meperidine products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?
-
LactoseDiffers by manufacturer
2 of 10 checked products list lactose; 8 do not. See the products
Lists it Epic -
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Meperidine product lists a wheat or gluten source.
-
SoyNo checked product
No checked Meperidine product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesNo checked product
No checked Meperidine product lists synthetic dyes.
-
GelatinNo checked product
No checked Meperidine product lists gelatin.
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 1 of 10 Corn 2 of 10 Sorbitol or mannitol 1 of 10
1 product lists starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every current Meperidine product and what its label lists
| Product | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| Epic Pharma, Llc 2 products | ||
| 50 mg tabletNDC 42806-0050-01 | Lactose Corn-derived |
Show 5 ingredientsLACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN, STEARIC ACID |
| 100 mg tabletNDC 42806-0051-01 | Lactose Corn-derived |
Show 5 ingredientsLACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, STARCH, CORN, STEARIC ACID |
| Genus Lifesciences Inc. 1 product | ||
| 50 mg tabletNDC 64950-0214-01 | Starch, source not stated |
Show 5 ingredientsHYPROMELLOSE 2910 (5 MPA.S), Microcrystalline Cellulose, Silicon Dioxide, Sodium Starch Glycolate Type A, Stearic Acid |
| Hikma Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. 4 products | ||
| 25 mg/mL injectionNDC 00641-6052-25 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsACETIC ACID, SODIUM ACETATE, WATER |
| 50 mg/mL injectionNDC 00641-6053-25 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsACETIC ACID, SODIUM ACETATE, WATER |
| 100 mg/mL injectionNDC 00641-6054-25 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsACETIC ACID, SODIUM ACETATE, WATER |
| 50 mg/5 mL oral solutionNDC 00054-3545-63 | Sorbitol or mannitol |
Show 6 ingredientsGLYCERIN, HYDROCHLORIC ACID, MALTOL, SODIUM BENZOATE, SORBITOL, WATER |
| Hospira, Inc. 3 products | ||
| 25 mg/mL injectionNDC 00409-1176-30 | None of these listed |
Show 4 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, SODIUM CHLORIDE, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER |
| 50 mg/mL injectionNDC 00409-1178-30 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER |
| 50 mg/mL injectionNDC 00409-1181-30 | None of these listed |
Show 4 ingredientsHYDROCHLORIC ACID, METACRESOL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER |
A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.
Meperidine without lactose
Lactose: milk sugar; a concern with lactose intolerance or a milk allergy. 2 of 10 checked products list lactose; 8 do not.
Does not list lactose
- Genus Lifesciences: 50 mg tablet
- Hikma: 25 mg/mL injection, 50 mg/mL injection, 100 mg/mL injection, 50 mg/5 mL oral solution
- Hospira: 25 mg/mL injection, 50 mg/mL injection (NDC 00409-1178-30), 50 mg/mL injection (NDC 00409-1181-30)
Lists lactose
- Epic: 50 mg tablet, 100 mg tablet
Meperidine without starch of unstated source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 1 of 10 checked products list starch of unstated source; 9 do not.
Does not list starch of unstated source
Lists starch of unstated source
- Genus Lifesciences: 50 mg tablet
Meperidine without corn-derived ingredients
Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. 2 of 10 checked products list corn-derived ingredients; 8 do not.
Does not list corn-derived ingredients
- Genus Lifesciences: 50 mg tablet
- Hikma: 25 mg/mL injection, 50 mg/mL injection, 100 mg/mL injection, 50 mg/5 mL oral solution
- Hospira: 25 mg/mL injection, 50 mg/mL injection (NDC 00409-1178-30), 50 mg/mL injection (NDC 00409-1181-30)
Lists corn-derived ingredients
- Epic: 50 mg tablet, 100 mg tablet
Meperidine without sorbitol or mannitol
Sorbitol or mannitol: sugar alcohols that can cause bloating or diarrhea in larger amounts. 1 of 10 checked products list sorbitol or mannitol; 9 do not.
Does not list sorbitol or mannitol
- Epic: 50 mg tablet, 100 mg tablet
- Genus Lifesciences: 50 mg tablet
- Hikma: 25 mg/mL injection, 50 mg/mL injection, 100 mg/mL injection
- Hospira: 25 mg/mL injection, 50 mg/mL injection (NDC 00409-1178-30), 50 mg/mL injection (NDC 00409-1181-30)
Lists sorbitol or mannitol
- Hikma: 50 mg/5 mL oral solution
At the pharmacy counter
How to use this at the pharmacy counter
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common questions about Meperidine inactive ingredients
Is Meperidine gluten-free?
Does Meperidine contain lactose?
Does Meperidine contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Meperidine?
Does Meperidine contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Meperidine products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Meperidine guide