HomeNDC LookupIngredientsGadoterate Meglumine › 00407-2943-17
CLARISCAN gadoterate meglumine 376.9 mg/mL Injection, Solution — NDC 00407-2943-17 package photo

CLARISCAN gadoterate meglumine 376.9 mg/mL Injection, Solution

by GE Healthcare · 10 SYRINGE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-2943-17) / 15 mL in 1 SYRINGE, PLASTIC
NDC 00407-2943-17
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 0407-2943-17 billing pads the labeler segment with a zero
This package
Contains15 mL in 1 syringe, plastic Medicaid pays$2.96 / unit · 12 mo Per package$443.79 / 150 ml · Medicaid Pack sizes8 compare ↓
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Sep 17, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 0407-2943-17
Product NDC 0407-2943
11-digit billing NDC 00407294317
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII L0ND3981AG
Application # ANDA210016
SPL Set ID 6f8c9fac-c995-4bf4-950d-ab89deb291b5
Established class (EPC) Gadolinium-based Contrast Agent
Mechanism of action Magnetic Resonance Contrast Activity
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2019-11-01
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance GADOTERATE MEGLUMINE
GPI-14 94500037102010
GPI class Clariscan
GCN Seq No 071373
GCN 35136
HICL code 011774
Ingredient (HICL) Gadoterate Meglumine
HIC1 code H
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Nervous System (Except Autonomic)
HIC2 code H1
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Drugs Affecting Principally The Brain
HIC3 code H1U
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Cerebral Spinal Radiopaque Diagnostics
AHFS code 36:68.00.00
AHFS class Roentgenography And Other Imaging Agents
FDB label name CLARISCAN 7.5 MMOL/15 ML SYR
FDB brand name Clariscan
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
TE code (Orange Book) AP · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 0407-2943-17 — a 4-4-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the labeler segment → 00407-2943-17. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerGE Healthcare
Application holderGE HEALTHCARE
FDA applicationANDA210016 (ANDA)
Labeler code00407
First marketedNov 2019
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio3 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name CLARISCAN 7.5 MMOL/15 ML SYR Ingredient Gadoterate Meglumine
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Great question. An MRI without contrast can tell us a lot, but some abnormalities — like small tumors, infections, or areas where the brain's protective barrier has broken down — c...
  • Why do I need a contrast injection for my MRI? Can't they just do it without it?
  • It's a fair concern, and the honest answer is: yes, small amounts of gadolinium can remain in the brain, bone, and other tissues for months to years after a scan. For most people w...
  • Is this dye safe? I've heard gadolinium stays in your body — should I be worried?
📖 Read our full Gadoterate Meglumine guide →
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

Loading inactive ingredients from the official FDA label in the background. No external source is being called by this page request.
Where does this data come from?
Source: official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMed and the openFDA label index. Structured IACT rows and label-wide narrative are kept separate; availability and product-level specificity depend on the submitted label.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $2.96 $443.79 / 150 ml
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
Medicare Part B allowsASP · A9575 $0.090 / A9575 unit
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)0407-2943-17
11-digit billing NDC00407-2943-17
Format4-4-2 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the labeler segment)
HCPCS J-codeA9575
Descriptor0.1 ML
Billing units / pkg1,500 units
Crosswalk sourceCMS ASP NDC-HCPCS Crosswalk
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Gadoterate Meglumine 376.9 mg/mL 65219-0086-20 Fresenius 1 vial FDA listed
Gadoterate Meglumine 376.9 mg/mL 65219-0088-50 Fresenius 1 vial Discontinued
Dotarem 376.9 mg/mL 67684-2001-04 Guerbet 6 vials AP FDA listed
Clariscan 376.9 mg/mLthis 00407-2943-17 GE 10 syringes AP FDA listed
Gadoterate Meglumine 376.9 mg/mL 65219-0082-10 Fresenius 1 vial FDA listed
Dotarem 376.9 mg/mL 67684-2000-00 Guerbet 10 vials AP FDA listed
Dotarem 376.9 mg/mL 67684-3001-01 Guerbet 10 syringes AP FDA listed
Gadoterate Meglumine 376.9 mg/mL 65219-0080-05 Fresenius 1 vial FDA listed
Gadoterate Meglumine 376.9 mg/mL 65219-0084-15 Fresenius 1 vial FDA listed
gadoterate meglumine 376.9 mg/mL 70436-0123-31 Slate 10 vials AP FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2019
On the market since
Nov 2019
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
7 years listed
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 00407-2943-17, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q1 2026 · 5 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
286
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
2.9K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$8.7K
Avg / prescription
$30.34
Avg / unit
$2.9585
Latest quarter Q1 2026
47Rx
Fee-for-service vs managed care
24% FFS 76% MCO
Fee-for-service · 70 Rx Managed care · 216 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: no data reported WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: no data reported MI New York: no data reported NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: no data reported IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: 1,830 units · 15.5 per 100k residents OH Pennsylvania: 165 units · 1.3 per 100k residents PA New Jersey: no data reported NJ Massachusetts: no data reported MA California: 7 units · 0.0 per 100k residents CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: no data reported MO Kentucky: 615 units · 13.6 per 100k residents KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: 316 units · 3.6 per 100k residents VA Maryland: no data reported MD Connecticut: no data reported CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: no data reported TN North Carolina: no data reported NC South Carolina: no data reported SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: no data reported LA Mississippi: no data reported MS Alabama: no data reported AL Georgia: no data reported GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: no data reported TX Florida: no data reported FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
0.015.5
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 Ohio 15.5 /100k
2 Kentucky 13.6 /100k
3 Virginia 3.6 /100k
4 Pennsylvania 1.3 /100k
5 California 0.0 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

💊 Medicaid utilization by pack size

Medicaid (SDUD) totals over the four most recent reported quarters for every package size of this drug — handy when a specific package (e.g. a starter/titration pack) carries little or no Medicaid volume on its own.
10 vials00407-2943-02 12,649 Rx · $405,317
10 vials00407-2943-05 11,539 Rx · $467,637
10 vials00407-2943-01 4,988 Rx · $142,536
10 bottles00407-2943-70 3,518 Rx · $88,958
10 syringes00407-2943-22 303 Rx · $12,525
10 vials00407-2943-06 269 Rx · $3,330
10 syringes00407-2943-12 197 Rx · $6,094
Drug total (last 4 qtrs): 33,749 Rx · 687,692 units · $1,135,075 gross reimbursed
Tap a pack size to open its page. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data, last 4 quarters.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
00407-2943-01 10 VIAL, GLASS in 1 BOX (0407-2943-01) / 10 mL in 1 VIAL, GLASS 2019-11-01 Active
00407-2943-02 10 VIAL, GLASS in 1 BOX (0407-2943-02) / 15 mL in 1 VIAL, GLASS 2019-11-01 Active
00407-2943-05 10 VIAL, GLASS in 1 BOX (0407-2943-05) / 20 mL in 1 VIAL, GLASS 2019-11-01 Active
00407-2943-06 10 VIAL, GLASS in 1 BOX (0407-2943-06) / 5 mL in 1 VIAL, GLASS 2019-11-01 Active
00407-2943-12 10 SYRINGE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-2943-12) / 10 mL in 1 SYRINGE, PLASTIC 2020-11-16 Active
00407-2943-17 You're viewing this 10 SYRINGE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-2943-17) / 15 mL in 1 SYRINGE, PLASTIC 2020-11-16 Active
00407-2943-22 10 SYRINGE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-2943-22) / 20 mL in 1 SYRINGE, PLASTIC 2020-11-16 Active
00407-2943-70 10 BOTTLE, PLASTIC in 1 BOX (0407-2943-70) / 100 mL in 1 BOTTLE, PLASTIC 2020-08-04 Active

This pack accounts for about 0.8% of this product's recent Medicaid fills; the largest share goes to a different pack size. See all packs ↓

Pack size FAQ

What quantity is in NDC 00407-2943-17?
NDC 00407-2943-17 is listed by the FDA — 10 syringe, plastic in 1 box / 15 ml in 1 syringe, plastic.
What NDC number is used to bill for this package of CLARISCAN gadoterate meglumine 376.9 mg/mL Injection, Solution?
Bill NDC 00407-2943-17 — the 11-digit billing format is 00407294317. Pharmacy and medical claims use the 11-digit form; the FDA label may print a shorter form of the same code.

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) — Not published for this NDC The labeler did not submit a structured excipient list, or no SPL is available.
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk ✓ Available
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) ✓ Available
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 0407-2943-17, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 00407-2943-17, written without dashes as 00407294317. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 00407-2943-17, the first segment (00407) is the labeler code FDA assigned to GE Healthcare; the middle segment (2943) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (17) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by GE Healthcare. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Does this product come in other package sizes?
Yes — the FDA directory lists 7 other package presentations of this same product, including 10 vials (00407-2943-01), 10 vials (00407-2943-02), 10 vials (00407-2943-05). Each has its own NDC and its own page — see the package list near the top of this page.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
GE Healthcare is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Yes — this NDC cross-references HCPCS code A9575 for medical-claim billing (typically used when a product is administered in a clinical setting rather than dispensed at a retail pharmacy). See the Billing section on this page.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning ~2 min read

WARNING: RISK ASSOCIATED WITH INTRATHECAL USE and NEPHROGENIC SYSTEMIC FIBROSIS WARNING: RISK ASSOCIATED WITH INTRATHECAL USE and NEPHROGENIC SYSTEMIC FIBROSIS See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning Intrathecal administration of gadolinium-based contrast agents (GBCAs) can cause serious adverse reactions including death, coma, encephalopathy, and seizures. Clariscan is not approved for intrathecal use. ( 5.1 ) GBCAs increase the risk for nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF) among patients with impaired elimination of the drugs.

Avoid use of Clariscan in these patients unless the diagnostic information is essential and not available with non-contrasted MRI or other modalities. The risk for NSF appears highest among patients with: Chronic, severe kidney disease (GFR < 30 mL/min/1.73 m 2 ), or Acute kidney injury. Screen patients for acute kidney injury and other conditions that may reduce renal function.

For patients at risk for chronically reduced renal function (for example, age > 60 years, hypertension or diabetes), estimate the glomerular filtration rate (GFR) through laboratory testing ( 5.2 ). Risk Associated with Intrathecal Use Intrathecal administration of gadolinium-based contrast agents (GBCAs) can cause serious adverse reactions including death, coma, encephalopathy, and seizures. Clariscan is not approved for intrathecal use [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ].

Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis GBCAs increase the risk for nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF) among patients with impaired elimination of the drugs. Avoid use of Clariscan in these patients unless the diagnostic information is essential and not available with non-contrasted MRI or other modalities. NSF may result in fatal or debilitating fibrosis affecting the skin, muscle, and internal organs.

The risk for NSF appears highest among patients with: - Chronic, severe kidney disease (GFR < 30 mL/min/1.73 m 2 ), or - Acute kidney injury. Screen patients for acute kidney injury and other conditions that may reduce renal function. For patients at risk for chronically reduced renal function (e.g., age > 60 years, hypertension, diabetes), estimate the glomerular filtration rate (GFR) through laboratory testing ( 5.2 ).

For patients at highest risk for NSF, do not exceed the recommended Clariscan dose and allow a sufficient period of time for elimination of the drug from the body prior to any re-administration [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ].

🎯 Indications and Usage 99 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Clariscan is a gadolinium-based contrast agent indicated for intravenous use with magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) in brain (intracranial), spine and associated tissues in adult and pediatric patients (including term neonates) to detect and visualize areas with disruption of the blood brain barrier (BBB) and/or abnormal vascularity. Clariscan is a gadolinium-based contrast agent indicated for intravenous use with magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) in brain (intracranial), spine and associated tissues in adult and pediatric patients (including term neonates) to detect and visualize areas with disruption of the blood brain barrier (BBB) and/or abnormal vascularity.

( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~2 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Adult and pediatric patients: The recommended dose of Clariscan is 0.2 mL/kg (0.1 mmol/kg) body weight administered as an intravenous bolus injection at a flow rate of approximately 2 mL/second for adults and 1 to 2 mL/second for pediatric patients (including term neonates). The dose is delivered by manual or power injection. ( 2 )

2.1Dosing Guidelines For adult and pediatric patients (including term neonates), the recommended dose of Clariscan is 0.2 mL/kg (0.1 mmol/kg) body weight administered as an intravenous bolus injection, manually or by power injector, at a flow rate of approximately 2 mL/second for adults and 1 to 2 mL/second for pediatric patients. Table 1 provides weight-adjusted dose volumes. Table 1: Volumes of Clariscan Injection by Body Weight Body Weight Volume Pounds (lb) Kilograms (kg) Milliliters (mL) 5.5 2.5 0.5 11 5 1 22 10 2 44 20 4 66 30 6 88 40 8 110 50 10 132 60 12 154 70 14 176 80 16 198 90 18 220 100 20 242 110 22 264 120 24 286 130 26 308 140 28 330 150 30 To ensure complete injection of Clariscan, the injection may be followed by normal saline flush.

Contrast MRI can begin immediately following Clariscan injection.

2.2Drug Handling Visually inspect Clariscan for particulate matter prior to administration. Do not use the solution if particulate matter is present or if the container appears damaged. Clariscan should be a clear, colorless to yellow solution.

Do not mix with other drugs or parenteral nutrition. Discard any unused portions of the drug. Directions for Use of Clariscan (gadoterate meglumine) Injection Glass vial: Aseptically draw up the contrast medium into a disposable syringe and use immediately.

Plastic pre-filled syringe: 1) Holding the syringe vertically so the tip cap is pointed upward, aseptically remove the tip cap from the tip of the syringe and attach either a sterile, disposable needle or compatible needleless luer lock tubing set using a push- twist action. At this point, the tubing set is not attached to a patient's intravenous connection. If using a needleless luer lock tubing set, check the connection between the syringe and the tubing as the fluid flows.

Ensure that the connection is successful before administration of Clariscan Injection. If using a needle, hold the syringe vertically and push plunger forward until all of the air is evacuated and fluid either appears at the tip of the needle or the tubing is filled. Following the usual venous blood aspiration procedure, complete the Clariscan injection.

2) To ensure complete delivery of the contrast medium, the injection may be followed by a normal saline flush. 3) Properly dispose of the syringe and any other materials used. Plastic pre-filled syringe Image

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 54 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Clariscan 0.5 mmol/mL is a sterile, clear, colorless to yellow, aqueous solution for intravenous injection containing 376.9 mg/mL gadoterate meglumine and is available in vials and pre-filled syringes. Clariscan Injection 0.5 mmol/mL contains 376.9 mg/mL of gadoterate meglumine and is available in vials and pre-filled syringes. ( 3 )

Contraindications 25 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS History of clinically important hypersensitivity reactions to Clariscan [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ]. Clinically important hypersensitivity reactions to Clariscan. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~3 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Hypersensitivity Reactions: Anaphylactoid/anaphylactic reactions with cardiovascular, respiratory or cutaneous manifestations, ranging from mild to severe, including death, have uncommonly occurred. Monitor patients closely for need of emergency cardiorespiratory support. ( 5.3 ) Gadolinium Retention: Gadolinium is retained for months or years in brain, bone, and other organs. ( 5.4 )

5.1Risk Associated with Intrathecal Use Intrathecal administration of GBCAs can cause serious adverse reactions including death, coma, encephalopathy, and seizures. The safety and effectiveness of Clariscan have not been established with intrathecal use. Clariscan is not approved for intrathecal use [see Dosage and Administration (2.1) ].

5.2Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis GBCAs increase the risk for nephrogenic systemic fibrosis (NSF) among patients with impaired elimination of the drugs. Avoid use of Clariscan among these patients unless the diagnostic information is essential and not available with non-contrast MRI or other modalities. The GBCA-associated NSF risk appears highest for patients with chronic, severe kidney disease (GFR < 30 mL/min/1.73 m 2 ) as well as patients with acute kidney injury.

The risk appears lower for patients with chronic, moderate kidney disease (GFR 30 to 59 mL/min/1.73 m 2 ) and little, if any, for patients with chronic, mild kidney disease (GFR 60 to 89 mL/min/1.73 m 2 ). NSF may result in fatal or debilitating fibrosis affecting the skin, muscle, and internal organs. Report any diagnosis of NSF following Clariscan administration to GE HealthCare at (1-800-654-0118) or FDA at (1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch).

Screen patients for acute kidney injury and other conditions that may reduce renal function. Features of acute kidney injury consist of rapid (over hours to days), and usually reversible, decrease in kidney function, commonly in the setting of surgery, severe infection, injury or drug-induced kidney toxicity. Serum creatinine levels and estimated GFR may not reliably assess renal function in the setting of acute kidney injury.

For patients at risk for chronically reduced renal function (e.g., age > 60 years, diabetes mellitus or chronic hypertension), estimate the GFR through laboratory testing. The factors that may increase the risk for NSF are repeated or higher than recommended doses of a GBCA, and the degree of renal impairment at the time of exposure. Record the specific GBCA and the dose administered to a patient.

For patients at highest risk for NSF, do not exceed the recommended Clariscan dose and allow a sufficient period of time for elimination of the drug prior to re-administration. For patients receiving hemodialysis, physicians may consider the prompt initiation of hemodialysis following the administration of a GBCA in order to enhance the contrast agent's elimination. The usefulness of hemodialysis in the prevention of NSF is unknown [see Dosage and Administration (2) and Clinical Pharmacology (12) ].

5.3Hypersensitivity Reactions Anaphylactic and anaphylactoid reactions have been reported with gadoterate meglumine, involving cardiovascular, respiratory, and/or cutaneous manifestations. Some patients experienced circulatory collapse and died. In most cases, initial symptoms occurred within minutes of gadoterate meglumine administration and resolved with prompt emergency treatment [see Adverse Reactions (6) ].

Before Clariscan administration, assess all patients for any history of a reaction to contrast media, bronchial asthma and/or allergic disorders. These patients may have an increased risk for a hypersensitivity reaction to Clariscan. Administer Clariscan only in situations where trained personnel and therapies are promptly available for the treatment of hypersensitivity reactions, including personnel trained in resuscitation.

During and following Clariscan administration, observe patients for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity reactions.

5.4 Gadolini…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~2 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are described elsewhere in the labeling: Nephrogenic systemic fibrosis [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] Hypersensitivity reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] Gadolinium Retention [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] The most frequent (≥ 0.2%) adverse reactions in clinical studies were nausea, headache, injection site pain, injection site coldness, and rash. ( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact GE HealthCare at 1-800-654-0118 or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in clinical practice. The data described below reflect gadoterate meglumine exposure in 2867 patients, representing 2682 adults and 185 pediatric patients. Overall, 55% of the patients were men.

In clinical trials where ethnicity was recorded, the ethnic distribution was 81% Caucasian, 11% Asian, 4% Black, and 4% others. The average age was 53 years (range from < 1 week to 97 years). Overall, 4% of patients reported at least one adverse reaction, primarily occurring immediately or within 24 hours following gadoterate meglumine administration.

Most adverse reactions were mild or moderate in severity and transient in nature. Table 2 lists adverse reactions that occurred in ≥ 0.2% patients who received gadoterate meglumine. Table 2: Adverse Reactions in Clinical Trials Reaction Rate (%) n= 2867 Nausea 0.6% Headache 0.4% Injection Site Pain 0.4% Injection Site Coldness 0.2% Rash 0.2% Adverse reactions that occurred with a frequency < 0.2% in patients who received gadoterate meglumine include: feeling cold, feeling hot, burning sensation, somnolence, pain, dizziness, dysgeusia, blood creatinine increased, hypotension, hypertension, asthenia, fatigue, injection site reactions (inflammation, extravasation, pruritus, swelling, warmth), paresthesia, pruritus, laryngeal discomfort, pain in extremity, vomiting, anxiety and palpitations.

Adverse Reactions in Pediatric Patients During clinical trials, 185 pediatric patients (52 aged < 24 months, 33 aged 2 to 5 years, 57 aged 6 to 11 years and 43 aged 12 to 17 years) received gadoterate meglumine. Overall, 7 pediatric patients (3.8%) reported at least one adverse reaction following gadoterate meglumine administration. The most frequently reported adverse reaction was headache (1.1%).

Most adverse events were mild in intensity and transient in nature.

6.2Postmarketing Experience The following additional adverse reactions have been identified during postmarketing use of gadoterate meglumine or other GBCAs. Because these reactions are reported voluntarily from a population of uncertain size, it is not always possible to reliably estimate their frequency or establish a causal relationship to drug exposure. Table 3: Adverse Reactions in the Postmarketing Experience System Organ Class Adverse Reaction Cardiac Disorders bradycardia, tachycardia, arrhythmia Immune System Disorders hypersensitivity / anaphylactoid reactions including cardiac arrest, respiratory arrest, cyanosis, pharyngeal edema, laryngospasm, bronchospasm, angioedema, conjunctivitis, ocular hyperemia, eyelid edema, lacrimation increased, hyperhidrosis, urticaria Nervous System Disorders coma, convulsion, syncope, presyncope, parosmia, tremor Musculoskeletal and Connective Tissue Disorders muscle contracture, muscle weakness Gastrointestinal Disorders diarrhea, salivary hypersecretion, acute pancreatitis with onset within 48 hours after GBCA administration General Disorders and Administration Site Conditions malaise, fever Adverse reactions with variable onset and duration have been reported after GBCA administration .

These include fatigue, asthenia, pain syndromes, and hetero…

🔄 Drug Interactions 28 words

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Gadoterate does not interfere with serum and plasma calcium measurements determined by colorimetric assays. Specific drug interaction studies with gadoterate meglumine have not been conducted.

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Pregnancy: Use only if imaging is essential during pregnancy and cannot be delayed. ( 8.1 )

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary GBCAs cross the human placenta and result in fetal exposure and gadolinium retention. The human data on the association between GBCAs and adverse fetal outcomes are limited and inconclusive (see Data ) . In animal reproduction studies, there were no adverse developmental effects observed in rats or rabbits with intravenous administration of gadoterate meglumine during organogenesis at doses up to 16 and 10 times, respectively, the recommended human dose (see Data ) .

Because of the potential risks of gadolinium to the fetus, use Clariscan only if imaging is essential during pregnancy and cannot be delayed. The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population(s) are unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2 to 4% and 15 to 20%, respectively. Data Human Data Contrast enhancement is visualized in the placenta and fetal tissues after maternal GBCA administration. Cohort studies and case reports on exposure to GBCAs during pregnancy have not reported a clear association between GBCAs and adverse effects in the exposed neonates.

However, a retrospective cohort study, comparing pregnant women who had a GBCA MRI to pregnant women who did not have an MRI, reported a higher occurrence of stillbirths and neonatal deaths in the group receiving GBCA MRI. Limitations of this study include a lack of comparison with non-contrast MRI and lack of information about the material indication for MRI. Overall, these data preclude a reliable evaluation of the potential risk of adverse fetal outcomes with the use of GBCAs in pregnancy.

Animal Data Gadolinium Retention GBCAs administered to pregnant non-human primates (0.1 mmol/kg on gestational days 85 and 135) result in measurable gadolinium concentration in the offspring in bone, brain, skin, liver, kidney, and spleen for at least 7 months. GBCAs administered to pregnant mice (2 mmol/kg daily on gestational days 16 through 19) result in measurable gadolinium concentrations in the pups in bone, brain, kidney, liver, blood, muscle, and spleen at one-month postnatal age. Reproductive Toxicology Gadoterate meglumine was administered in intravenous doses of 0, 2, 4 and 10 mmol/kg/day [3, 7 and 16 times the recommended human dose (RHD) based on body surface area (BSA)] to female rats for 14 days before mating, throughout the mating period and until gestation day (GD) 17.

Pregnant rabbits were administered gadoterate meglumine in intravenous doses of 0, 1, 3 and 7 mmol/kg/day (3, 10 and 23 times the RHD based on BSA) from GD6 to GD19. No effects on embryo-fetal development were observed at doses up to 10 mmol/kg/day in rats and 3 mmol/kg/day in rabbits. Maternal toxicity was observed in rats at 10 mmol/kg/day and in rabbits at 7 mmol/kg/day.

This maternal toxicity was characterized in rats by a slightly lower litter size and gravid uterus weight compared to the control group, and in rabbits by a reduction in body weight and food consumption.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of gadoterate in human milk, the effects on the breastfed infant, or the effects on milk production. However, published lactation data on other GBCAs indicate that 0.01 to 0.04% of the maternal gadolinium dose is excreted in breast milk. Additionally, there is limited GBCA gastrointestinal absorption in the breastfed infant.

Gadoterate is present in goat milk ( see Data ). The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the mother's clinical need for Clariscan and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed infant from Clariscan or from the underlying maternal condition. Data Noncli…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary GBCAs cross the human placenta and result in fetal exposure and gadolinium retention. The human data on the association between GBCAs and adverse fetal outcomes are limited and inconclusive (see Data ) . In animal reproduction studies, there were no adverse developmental effects observed in rats or rabbits with intravenous administration of gadoterate meglumine during organogenesis at doses up to 16 and 10 times, respectively, the recommended human dose (see Data ) .

Because of the potential risks of gadolinium to the fetus, use Clariscan only if imaging is essential during pregnancy and cannot be delayed. The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated population(s) are unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes.

In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2 to 4% and 15 to 20%, respectively. Data Human Data Contrast enhancement is visualized in the placenta and fetal tissues after maternal GBCA administration. Cohort studies and case reports on exposure to GBCAs during pregnancy have not reported a clear association between GBCAs and adverse effects in the exposed neonates.

However, a retrospective cohort study, comparing pregnant women who had a GBCA MRI to pregnant women who did not have an MRI, reported a higher occurrence of stillbirths and neonatal deaths in the group receiving GBCA MRI. Limitations of this study include a lack of comparison with non-contrast MRI and lack of information about the material indication for MRI. Overall, these data preclude a reliable evaluation of the potential risk of adverse fetal outcomes with the use of GBCAs in pregnancy.

Animal Data Gadolinium Retention GBCAs administered to pregnant non-human primates (0.1 mmol/kg on gestational days 85 and 135) result in measurable gadolinium concentration in the offspring in bone, brain, skin, liver, kidney, and spleen for at least 7 months. GBCAs administered to pregnant mice (2 mmol/kg daily on gestational days 16 through 19) result in measurable gadolinium concentrations in the pups in bone, brain, kidney, liver, blood, muscle, and spleen at one-month postnatal age. Reproductive Toxicology Gadoterate meglumine was administered in intravenous doses of 0, 2, 4 and 10 mmol/kg/day [3, 7 and 16 times the recommended human dose (RHD) based on body surface area (BSA)] to female rats for 14 days before mating, throughout the mating period and until gestation day (GD) 17.

Pregnant rabbits were administered gadoterate meglumine in intravenous doses of 0, 1, 3 and 7 mmol/kg/day (3, 10 and 23 times the RHD based on BSA) from GD6 to GD19. No effects on embryo-fetal development were observed at doses up to 10 mmol/kg/day in rats and 3 mmol/kg/day in rabbits. Maternal toxicity was observed in rats at 10 mmol/kg/day and in rabbits at 7 mmol/kg/day.

This maternal toxicity was characterized in rats by a slightly lower litter size and gravid uterus weight compared to the control group, and in rabbits by a reduction in body weight and food consumption.

🧒 Pediatric Use 213 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and efficacy of gadoterate meglumine at a single dose of 0.1 mmol/kg have been established in pediatric patients from birth (term neonates ≥ 37 weeks gestational age) to 17 years of age based on clinical data in 133 pediatric patients 2 years of age and older, and clinical data in 52 pediatric patients birth to less than 2 years of age that supported extrapolation from adult data [see Clinical Studies (14) ] . Adverse reactions in pediatric patients were similar to those reported in adults [see Adverse Reactions (6.1) ] .

No dosage adjustment according to age is necessary in pediatric patients [see Dosage and Administration (2.1) , Pharmacokinetics (12.3) ] . The safety of gadoterate meglumine has not been established in preterm neonates. No cases of NSF associated with gadoterate meglumine or any other GBCA have been identified in pediatric patients age 6 years and younger [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] .

Normal estimated GFR (eGFR) is approximately 30 mL/minute/1.73 m 2 at birth and increases to adult values by 2 years of age. Juvenile Animal Data Single and repeat-dose toxicity studies in neonatal and juvenile rats did not reveal findings suggestive of a specific risk for use in pediatric patients including term neonates and infants.

🧓 Geriatric Use 75 words

8.5Geriatric Use In clinical studies of gadoterate meglumine, 900 patients were 65 years of age and over, and 304 patients were 75 years of age and over. No overall differences in safety or efficacy were observed between these subjects and younger subjects. In general, use of Clariscan in elderly patients should be cautious, reflecting the greater frequency of impaired renal function and concomitant disease or other drug therapy.

No age-related dosage adjustment is necessary.

🆘 Overdosage 53 words

10 OVERDOSAGE Clariscan administered to healthy volunteers and to adult patients at cumulative doses up to 0.3 mmol/kg was tolerated in a manner similar to lower doses. Adverse reactions to overdosage with gadoterate meglumine have not been reported. Gadoterate meglumine can be removed from the body by hemodialysis [see Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ].

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~3 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Gadoterate is a paramagnetic molecule that develops a magnetic moment when placed in a magnetic field. The magnetic moment enhances the relaxation rates of water protons in its vicinity, leading to an increase in signal intensity (brightness) of tissues. In magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), visualization of normal and pathological tissue depends in part on variations in the radiofrequency signal intensity that occurs with: 1) differences in proton density 2) differences of the spin-lattice or longitudinal relaxation times (T1) 3) differences in the spin-spin or transverse relaxation time (T2) When placed in a magnetic field, gadoterate shortens the T1 and T2 relaxation times in target tissues.

At recommended doses, the effect is observed with greatest sensitivity in the T1-weighted sequences.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Gadoterate affects proton relaxation times and consequently the MR signal, and the contrast obtained is characterized by the relaxivity of the gadoterate molecule. The relaxivity values for gadoterate are similar across the spectrum of magnetic field strengths used in clinical MRI (0.2 to

1.5T). Disruption of the blood-brain barrier or abnormal vascularity allows distribution of gadoterate in lesions such as neoplasms, abscesses, and infarcts.

12.3Pharmacokinetics The pharmacokinetics of total gadolinium assessed up to 48 hours following an intravenously administered 0.1 mmol/kg dose of gadoterate meglumine in healthy adult subjects demonstrated a mean elimination half-life (reported as mean ± SD) of about 1.4 ± 0.2 hours and 2.0 ± 0.7 hours in female and male subjects, respectively. Similar pharmacokinetic profile and elimination half-life values were observed after intravenous injection of 0.1 mmol/kg of gadoterate meglumine followed 20 minutes later by a second injection of 0.2 mmol/kg (1.7 ± 0.3 hours and 1.9 ± 0.2 hours in female and male subjects, respectively).

Distribution The volume of distribution at steady state of total gadolinium in healthy subjects is 179 ± 26 and 211 ± 35 mL/kg in female and male subjects respectively, roughly equivalent to that of extracellular water. Gadoterate does not undergo protein binding in vitro . The extent of blood cell partitioning of gadoterate is not known.

Following GBCA administration, gadolinium is present for months or years in brain, bone, skin, and other organs [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ]. Metabolism Gadoterate is not known to be metabolized. Elimination Following a 0.1 mmol/kg dose of gadoterate meglumine, total gadolinium is excreted primarily in the urine with 72.9 ± 17.0% and 85.4 ± 9.7% (mean ± SD) eliminated within 48 hours, in female and male subjects, respectively.

Similar values were achieved after a cumulative dose of 0.3 mmol/kg (0.1 + 0.2 mmol/kg, 20 minutes later), with 85.5 ± 13.2% and 92.0 ± 12.0% recovered in urine within 48 hours in female and male subjects, respectively. In healthy subjects, the renal and total clearance rates of total gadolinium are comparable (1.27 ± 0.32 and 1.74 ± 0.12 mL/min/kg in females; and 1.40 ± 0.31 and 1.64 ± 0.35 mL/min/kg in males, respectively) indicating that the drug is primarily cleared through the kidneys. Within the studied dose range (0.1 to 0.3 mmol/kg), the kinetics of total gadolinium appear to be linear.

Specific Populations Renal Impairment A single intravenous dose of 0.1 mmol/kg of gadoterate meglumine was administered to 8 patients (5 men and 3 women) with impaired renal function (mean serum creatinine of 498 ± 98 µmol/L in the 10 to 30 mL/min creatinine clearance group and 192 ± 62 µmol/L in the 30 to 60 mL/min creatinine clearance group). Renal impairment delayed the elimination of total gadolinium. Total clearance decreased as a function of the degree of renal impairment.

The distribution volume was unaffected by the severity of renal impairment (Table 5). No changes in renal function test parameters were observed after gadoterate meglumin…

🧬 Mechanism of Action 123 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Gadoterate is a paramagnetic molecule that develops a magnetic moment when placed in a magnetic field. The magnetic moment enhances the relaxation rates of water protons in its vicinity, leading to an increase in signal intensity (brightness) of tissues. In magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), visualization of normal and pathological tissue depends in part on variations in the radiofrequency signal intensity that occurs with: 1) differences in proton density 2) differences of the spin-lattice or longitudinal relaxation times (T1) 3) differences in the spin-spin or transverse relaxation time (T2) When placed in a magnetic field, gadoterate shortens the T1 and T2 relaxation times in target tissues.

At recommended doses, the effect is observed with greatest sensitivity in the T1-weighted sequences.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling ~2 min read

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Clariscan Injection is a clear, colorless to yellow solution containing 0.5 mmol/mL of gadoterate meglumine. It is supplied in vials and pre-filled syringes. Clariscan Injection is supplied in 10 mL vials containing 5 mL or 10 mL of solution and in 20 mL vials containing 15 mL or 20 mL of solution.

Each single-dose vial is closed with a rubber stopper and sealed with an aluminum cap and the contents are sterile. Vials are packaged in a box of 10, in the following configurations: 2.5 mmol per 5 mL (0.5 mmol per mL) in glass vial (NDC 0407-2943-06) 5 mmol per 10 mL (0.5 mmol per mL) in glass vial (NDC 0407-2943-01) 7.5 mmol per 15 mL (0.5 mmol per mL) in glass vial (NDC 0407-2943-02) 10 mmol per 20 mL (0.5 mmol per mL) in glass vial (NDC 0407-2943-05) Clariscan Injection is supplied in 20 mL plastic pre-filled syringes containing 10 mL, 15 mL, or 20 mL of solution.

Each syringe is sealed with rubber closures and the contents are sterile. Syringes, including plunger rod, are individually packaged in a box of 10, in the following configurations: 5 mmol per 10 mL (0.5 mmol per mL) in plastic pre-filled syringe (NDC 0407-2943-12) 7.5 mmol per 15 mL (0.5 mmol per mL) in plastic pre-filled syringe (NDC 0407-2943-17) 10 mmol per 20 mL (0.5 mmol per mL) in plastic pre-filled syringe (NDC 0407-2943-22) Storage Store at 25°C (77°F); excursions permitted to 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) [see USP, Controlled Room Temperature].

Pre-filled syringes must not be frozen. Frozen syringes should be discarded. Should solidification occur in the vial because of exposure to the cold, bring Clariscan to room temperature before use.

If allowed to stand at room temperature for a minimum of 90 minutes, Clariscan should return to a clear, colorless to yellow solution. Before use, examine the product to assure that all solids are dissolved and that the container and closure have not been damaged. Discard the vial if solids persist.

📦 Storage and Handling 100 words

Storage Store at 25°C (77°F); excursions permitted to 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F) [see USP, Controlled Room Temperature]. Pre-filled syringes must not be frozen. Frozen syringes should be discarded.

Should solidification occur in the vial because of exposure to the cold, bring Clariscan to room temperature before use. If allowed to stand at room temperature for a minimum of 90 minutes, Clariscan should return to a clear, colorless to yellow solution. Before use, examine the product to assure that all solids are dissolved and that the container and closure have not been damaged.

Discard the vial if solids persist.

📋 Description 205 words

11 DESCRIPTION Clariscan (gadoterate meglumine) is a paramagnetic macrocyclic ionic contrast agent administered for magnetic resonance imaging. The chemical name for gadoterate meglumine is D-glucitol, 1-deoxy-1-(methylamino)-, [1,4,7,10-tetraazacyclododecane-1,4,7,10-tetraaceto(4-)-.kappa.N1, .kappa.N4, .kappa.N7, .kappa.N10, .kappa.O1, .kappa.O4, .kappa.O7, .kappa.O10]gadolinate(1-)(1:1); it has a formula weight of 753.9 g/mol and empirical formula of C 23 H 42 O 13 N 5 Gd (anhydrous basis). The structural formula of gadoterate meglumine in solution is as follows: CAS Registry No.

92943-93-6 Clariscan Injection is a sterile, nonpyrogenic, clear, colorless to yellow, aqueous solution of 0.5 mmol/mL of gadoterate meglumine. Each vial and pre-filled syringe contains 2.5 mmol per 5 mL, 5 mmol per 10 mL, 7.5 mmol per 15 mL and 10 mmol per 20 mL. No preservative is added.

Each mL of Clariscan contains 376.9 mg of gadoterate meglumine, 0.25 mg of DOTA and water for injection. Clariscan has a pH of 6.5 to 8.0. The main physiochemical properties of Clariscan are provided below: Table 4: Physicochemical Properties Parameter Value Density @ 20°C 1.1753 g/cm 3 Viscosity @ 20°C 3.4 mPa.s Viscosity @ 37°C 2.4 mPa.s Osmolality 1350 mOsm/kg water The thermodynamic stability constants for gadoterate (log K therm and log K cond at pH 7.4) are 25.6 and 19.3, respectively.

Chemical Structure

💬 Information for Patients ~1 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Medication Guide)

17.1Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis Instruct patients to inform their healthcare provider if they: have a history of kidney disease, or have recently received a GBCA. GBCAs increase the risk for NSF among patients with impaired elimination of the drugs. To counsel patients at risk for NSF: Describe the clinical manifestations of NSF.

Describe procedures to screen for the detection of renal impairment. Instruct the patients to contact their physician if they develop signs or symptoms of NSF following Clariscan administration, such as burning, itching, swelling, scaling, hardening and tightening of the skin; red or dark patches on the skin; stiffness in joints with trouble moving, bending or straightening the arms, hands, legs or feet; pain in the hip bones or ribs; or muscle weakness.

17.2Common Adverse Reactions Inform patients that they may experience: Reactions along the venous injection site, such as mild and transient burning or pain or feeling of warmth or coldness at the injection site. Side effects of headache, nausea, abnormal taste and feeling hot.

17.3General Precautions Pregnancy: Advise pregnant women of the potential risk of fetal exposure to gadoterate [see Use in Specific Populations (8.1) ] . Gadolinium Retention: Advise patients that gadolinium is retained for months or years in brain, bone, skin, and other organs in patients with normal renal function. The clinical consequences of retention are unknown.

Retention depends on multiple factors and is greater following administration of linear GBCAs than following administration of macrocyclic GBCAs [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ].

💬 Medication Guide ~3 min read

This Medication Guide has been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Rev.

3/2025 MEDICATION GUIDE CLARISCAN™ (kla-ri'-skan) (gadoterate meglumine) Injection, for intravenous use What is the most important information I should know about Clariscan? GBCAs like Clariscan may cause serious side effects including death, coma, encephalopathy, and seizures when it is given intrathecally (injection given into the spinal canal). It is not known if Clariscan is safe and effective with intrathecal use.

Clariscan is not approved for this use. Clariscan contains a metal called gadolinium. Small amounts of gadolinium can stay in your body including the brain, bones, skin and other parts of your body for a long time (several months to years).

It is not known how gadolinium may affect you, but so far, studies have not found harmful effects in patients with normal kidneys. Rarely patients have reported pains, tiredness, and skin, muscle or bone ailments for a long time, but these symptoms have not been directly linked to gadolinium. There are different GBCAs that can be used for your MRI exam.

The amount of gadolinium that stays in the body is different for different gadolinium medicines. Gadolinium stays in the body more after Omniscan or Optimark than after Eovist, Magnevist or MultiHance. Gadolinium stays in the body the least after Clariscan, Dotarem, Gadavist or ProHance.

People who get many doses of gadolinium medicines, women who are pregnant and young children may be at increased risk from gadolinium staying in the body. Some people with kidney problems who get gadolinium medicines can develop a condition with severe thickening of the skin, muscles and other organs in the body (nephrogenic systemic fibrosis). Your healthcare provider should screen you to see how well your kidneys are working before you receive Clariscan.

What is Clariscan? Clariscan is a prescription medicine called a gadolinium-based contrast agent (GBCA). Clariscan, like other GBCAs, is injected into your vein and used with a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner.

An MRI exam with a GBCA, including Clariscan, helps your doctor to see problems better than an MRI exam without a GBCA. Your doctor has reviewed your medical records and has determined that you would benefit from using a GBCA with your MRI exam. Do not receive Clariscan if you have had a severe allergic reaction to Clariscan.

Before receiving Clariscan, tell your healthcare provider about all your medical conditions, including if you: have had any MRI procedures in the past where you received a GBCA. Your healthcare provider may ask you for more information including the dates of these MRI procedures. are pregnant or plan to become pregnant. It is not known if Clariscan can harm your unborn baby.

Talk to your healthcare provider about the possible risks to an unborn baby if a GBCA such as Clariscan is received during pregnancy. have kidney problems, diabetes, or high blood pressure. have had an allergic reaction to dyes (contrast agents) including GBCAs. What are possible side effects of Clariscan? See " What is the most important information I should know about Clariscan? " Allergic reactions.

Clariscan can cause allergic reactions that can sometimes be serious. Your healthcare provider will monitor you closely for symptoms of an allergic reaction. The most common side effects of Clariscan include: nausea, headache, pain, or cold feeling at the injection site, and rash.

These are not all the possible side effects of Clariscan. Call your doctor for medical advice about side effects. You may report side effects to FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088.

General information about the safe and effective uses of Clariscan. Medicines are sometimes prescribed for purposes other than those listed in a Medication Guide. You can ask your healthcare provider for information about Clariscan that is written for health professionals.

What are the ingredients in Clariscan? Active ingredient: gadoterate meglumine Inactive…

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.