HomeNDC LookupIngredientsFerric Carboxymaltose › 67457-0797-15
Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mL Injection, Solution — NDC 67457-0797-15 package photo

Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mL Injection, Solution

by Mylan Institutional LLC · 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 CARTON (67457-797-15) / 15 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE (67457-797-00)
NDC 67457-0797-15
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 67457-797-15 billing pads the product segment with a zero
Rx only Generic On market Non-controlled
🗂️ Data synced Sep 10, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 67457-797-15
Product NDC 67457-797
11-digit billing NDC 67457079715
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII 6897GXD6OE
Application # ANDA212572
SPL Set ID d6a5cd2d-86bd-4042-974f-46e14d65fc2d
Established class (EPC) Parenteral Iron Replacement; Phosphate Binder
Mechanism of action Phosphate Chelating Activity
Chemical class Iron
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category ANDA
Marketing status On market
FDA listing status Listed (active directory)
Marketing start 2026-07-01
Route INTRAVENOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance FERRIC CARBOXYMALTOSE
TE code (Orange Book) AP · RLD · RS
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 67457-797-15 — a 5-3-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the product segment → 67457-0797-15. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerMylan Institutional LLC
Application holderMYLAN LABORATORIES LTD
FDA applicationANDA212572 (ANDA)
Labeler code67457
First marketedJul 2026
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio167 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

📖 What it is MedlinePlus · NLM

Ferric carboxymaltose injection is used to treat certain patients with a type of anemia (a lower than normal number of red blood cells) caused by too little iron in the body. Ferric carboxymaltose injection is also used to treat a lack of iron in the body to improve exercise ability in certain adults with congestive heart failure (a condition when your heart cannot pump enough blood to the other parts of the body). Ferric carboxymaltose injection is in a class of medications called iron replacement products. It works by providing iron to help the body make more red blood cells.

Read the full MedlinePlus article ↗
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

💡 Tap an ingredient (hover on desktop) to see what it is and why it’s used.

  • UNII QTT17582CB
    A strong acid used to adjust and maintain the proper pH level in liquid medicines, ensuring stability and preventing breakdown of active ingredients.
  • UNII 55X04QC32I
    A strong alkaline chemical used to adjust and maintain the pH balance of liquid medicines. It helps keep the medicine stable and ensures it stays effective during storage.
  • UNII 059QF0KO0R
    Water is a liquid solvent that dissolves and mixes ingredients together in liquid medicines, syrups, and injections. It helps distribute the active drug evenly throughout the product.

3 inactive ingredients listed in the exact product block matched to this NDC.

Where does this data come from?
Data sourced from official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMedingredient classCode="IACT" elements from the exact product block matched by this NDC. Label-section narrative from DailyMed / the openFDA label index is shown separately when available.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly Not in the retail survey — common for institutional, discontinued, or low-volume packs.
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo No recent Medicaid claims on file for this NDC — rare and low-volume NDCs are suppressed in the public data.
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
ℹ️
No price is published for this exact package yet. CMS surveys NADAC per package size, so a different pack of the same drug often has one.
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Injectafer 50 mg/mL 00517-0620-01 American 1 vial AP FDA listed
Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mLthis 67457-0797-15 Mylan 1 vial AP FDA listed
Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mL 72078-0060-99 Mylan 1 vial AP FDA listed
Ferric Carboxymaltose 50 mg/mL 72078-0048-20 Mylan 1 vial AP FDA listed
About this product: this is a generic version of the medicine. FDA equivalence ratings are shown when available, and other versions are listed above, least expensive first.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & generic status

🏛️
2026
On the market since
Jul 2026
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
listed with the FDA
🔓
·
Generic on the market
this product is a generic
This is a generic drug

This product is an FDA-approved generic. Other versions of the same drug are listed under Therapeutic equivalents, least expensive first.

Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Orange Book (small-molecule drugs), refreshed from public FDA data. Generic launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🔬 Reported adverse events (FAERS)

Read carefully: FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified. Counts are not incidence, do not establish causation, are subject to reporting bias, and cannot be used to compare one drug to another. Shown for signal context only. Reports for Ferric Carboxymaltose — the ingredient across all brands.

Top reported reactions

Hypophosphataemia563
Pain261
Product Quality Issue226
Anxiety202
Emotional Distress198
Anhedonia197
Arthralgia170

Age at onset

Neonate5
Infant2
Child1
Adolescent10
Adult110
Elderly54

Reporter sex

1,619 reports
Male · 17%
Female · 83%

Serious outcomes

Hospitalization298
Disabling224
Life-threatening208
Reports over time (by year) — tap or hover for the count & year
2020 2022 2024 2026 292 0
Most recent year is provisional (FAERS lags ~3 months).
Where does this data come from?
Adverse-event reports from the FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) via openFDA. FAERS reports are voluntary and unverified — counts are not incidence and don’t establish causation.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
67457-0797-15 You're viewing this 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE in 1 CARTON (67457-797-15) / 15 mL in 1 VIAL, SINGLE-DOSE (67457-797-00) 2026-07-01 Active

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) ✓ Available
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) — Not published for this NDC CMS publishes NADAC only for NDCs reported in its retail-pharmacy survey.
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk — Not published for this NDC Most self-administered / retail products have no J-code — that is normal.
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) — Not published for this NDC CMS reports utilization only for NDCs with Medicaid claims above its privacy threshold.
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

Why is there no price listed?
The pricing shown on our NDC pages comes from CMS NADAC, a voluntary survey of retail community pharmacy invoices. CMS does not publish a NADAC for every NDC — packages outside the retail survey (institutional and hospital products, bulk packages, discontinued items, and many OTC items) may never receive one. A missing price reflects the survey's scope, not this product's actual cost, and does not mean the product is free or unavailable.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 67457-797-15, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 67457-0797-15, written without dashes as 67457079715. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 67457-0797-15, the first segment (67457) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Mylan Institutional LLC; the middle segment (0797) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (15) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Is this package still being marketed?
Yes, per the latest FDA NDC Directory data on this page: this package is listed as actively marketed, with no marketing end date reported by Mylan Institutional LLC. Listing status can change — the directory data on this page refreshes weekly.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Mylan Institutional LLC is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🚨 Boxed Warning ~1 min read

WARNING: SYMPTOMATIC HYPOPHOSPHATEMIA • Ferric carboxymaltose injection can cause severe, prolonged hypophosphatemia associated with serious outcomes, including hospitalization, osteomalacia and fractures requiring clinical intervention [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . • Hypophosphatemia has occurred in patients with normal baseline phosphate levels and without apparent risk factors for hypophosphatemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . • Check serum phosphate levels prior to a repeat course of treatment in patients at risk for low serum phosphate and in any patient who receives a repeat course of therapy within three months [see Dosage and Administration (2.1 , 2.3) ] .

Correct pre-existing hypophosphatemia prior to administering ferric carboxymaltose injection [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . • Advise patients receiving ferric carboxymaltose injection about the risk of hypophosphatemia and to report any signs and symptoms of hypophosphatemia (e.g., fatigue, muscle weakness or pain, bone and joint pain, bone fractures) [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] . WARNING: SYMPTOMATIC HYPOPHOSPHATEMIA See full prescribing information for complete boxed warning. • Ferric carboxymaltose injection can cause severe, prolonged hypophosphatemia associated with serious outcomes, including hospitalization, osteomalacia and fractures requiring clinical intervention ( 5.1 ). • Hypophosphatemia has occurred in patients with normal baseline phosphate levels and without apparent risk factors for hypophosphatemia ( 5.1 ). • Check serum phosphate levels prior to a repeat course of treatment in patients at risk for low serum phosphate and in any patient who receives a repeat course of therapy within three months.

Correct pre-existing hypophosphatemia prior to administering ferric carboxymaltose injection ( 2.1 , 2.3 , 5.1 ). • Advise patients receiving ferric carboxymaltose injection about the risk of hypophosphatemia and to report any signs and symptoms of hypophosphatemia (e.g., fatigue, muscle weakness or pain, bone and joint pain, bone fractures) ( 5.1 ).

🎯 Indications and Usage 151 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE Ferric carboxymaltose injection is indicated for the treatment of: • iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in: o adult and pediatric patients 1 year of age and older who have either intolerance or an unsatisfactory response to oral iron. o adult patients who have non-dialysis dependent chronic kidney disease. • iron deficiency in adult patients with heart failure and New York Heart Association class II/III to improve exercise capacity. Ferric carboxymaltose injection is an iron replacement product indicated for the treatment of: • iron deficiency anemia (IDA) in: o adult and pediatric patients 1 year of age and older who have either intolerance or an unsatisfactory response to oral iron.

( 1 ) o adult patients who have non-dialysis dependent chronic kidney disease. ( 1 ) • iron deficiency in adult patients with heart failure and New York Heart Association class II/III to improve exercise capacity. ( 1 )

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION • For patients weighing 50 kg or more, the recommended dosage is ferric carboxymaltose injection 750 mg intravenously in two doses separated by at least 7 days for a total cumulative dose of 1,500 mg of iron per course. For adult patients weighing 50 kg or more, an alternative dose of ferric carboxymaltose injection 15 mg/kg body weight up to a maximum of 1,000 mg intravenously may be administered as a single-dose per course. ( 2.2 ) • For patients weighing less than 50 kg, the recommended dosage is ferric carboxymaltose injection 15 mg/kg body weight intravenously in two doses separated by at least 7 days per course.

( 2.2 ) • See Section 2.2, Table 1 for dosage in patients with iron deficiency and heart failure. ( 2.2 ) Ferric carboxymaltose injection treatment may be repeated if IDA or iron deficiency in heart failure reoccurs. ( 2.3 )

2.1Laboratory Testing Check serum phosphate levels prior to a repeat course of treatment in patients at risk for low serum phosphate and in any patient who receives a repeat course of therapy within three months [see Boxed Warning and Dosage and Administration (2.3) ] . Correct pre-existing hypophosphatemia prior to administering ferric carboxymaltose injection [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] .

2.2Recommended Dosage Recommended Dosage for Treatment of Iron Deficiency Anemia For patients weighing 50 kg or more, the recommended dosage is: • Ferric carboxymaltose injection 750 mg intravenously in two doses separated by at least 7 days for a total cumulative dose of 1,500 mg of iron per course. • In adult patients, ferric carboxymaltose injection 15 mg/kg body weight up to a maximum of 1,000 mg intravenously may be administered as a single-dose per course. For patients weighing less than 50 kg, the recommended dosage is ferric carboxymaltose injection 15 mg/kg body weight intravenously in two doses separated by at least 7 days per course.

Recommended Dosage in Patients with Iron Deficiency with Heart Failure See Table 1 for recommended dosage for treatment of iron deficiency in patients with heart failure and New York Heart Association class II/III to improve exercise capacity. Table 1: Recommended Dosage in Patients with Iron Deficiency with Heart Failure Weight less than 70 kg Weight 70 kg or more Hb (g/dL) Hb (g/dL) < 10 10 to 14 > 14 to < 15 < 10 10 to 14 > 14 to < 15 Day 1 1,000 mg 1,000 mg 500 mg 1,000 mg 1,000 mg 500 mg Week 6 500 mg No dose No dose 1,000 mg 500 mg No dose Administer a maintenance dose of 500 mg at 12, 24 and 36 weeks if serum ferritin < 100 ng/mL or serum ferritin 100-300 ng/mL with transferrin saturation < 20%.

There are no data available to guide dosing beyond 36 weeks or with Hb ≥ 15 g/dL.

2.3Repeat Dosage Courses Ferric carboxymaltose injection treatment may be repeated if IDA or iron deficiency in heart failure reoccurs.

2.4Preparation and Administration Administer ferric carboxymaltose intravenously, either as an undiluted slow intravenous push or by infusion. When administered via infusion, dilute up to 1,000 mg of iron in no more than 250 mL of sterile 0.9% sodium chloride injection, USP, such that the concentration of the infusion is not less than 2 mg of iron per mL and administer over at least 15 minutes. When added to an infusion bag containing 0.9% sodium chloride injection, USP, at concentrations ranging from 2 to 4 mg of iron per mL, ferric carboxymaltose injection solution is physically and chemically stable for 72 hours when stored at room temperature.

To maintain stability, do not dilute to concentrations less than 2 mg iron/mL. Inspect parenteral drug products visually for the absence of particulate matter and discoloration prior to administration. The product contains no preservatives.

Each vial of ferric carboxymaltose injection is intended for a single dose. When administering ferric carboxymaltose injection 500 or 750 mg as a slow intravenous push, give at the rate of approximately 100 mg (2 mL) per minute. For…

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 39 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 50 mg/mL, dark brown, non-transparent, sterile, aqueous, isotonic colloidal solution for intravenous injection. • 750 mg iron/15 mL single-dose vial Injection: 50 mg/mL ( 3 ) • 750 mg iron/15 mL single-dose vial

Contraindications 43 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS Ferric carboxymaltose injection is contraindicated in patients with a history of hypersensitivity to ferric carboxymaltose or any of its components [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] . Hypersensitivity to ferric carboxymaltose injection or any of its inactive components. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~2 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS • Hypersensitivity Reactions: Observe for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after ferric carboxymaltose administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of each administration. ( 5.2 ) • Hypertension: Monitor patients closely for signs and symptoms of hypertension following each ferric carboxymaltose administration. ( 5.3 )

5.1Symptomatic Hypophosphatemia Symptomatic hypophosphatemia, including severe cases, with serious outcomes such as osteomalacia and fractures requiring clinical intervention have occurred in patients treated with ferric carboxymaltose in the post-marketing setting. These cases have occurred after single and multiple doses of ferric carboxymaltose. Risk factors for hypophosphatemia include a history of gastrointestinal disorders associated with malabsorption of fat-soluble vitamins or phosphate, inflammatory bowel disease, concurrent or prior use of medications that affect proximal renal tubular function, hyperparathyroidism, vitamin D deficiency, malnutrition, and hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia (HHT or Osler-Weber-Rendu syndrome).

However, individuals without apparent risk factors have experienced symptomatic hypophosphatemia. In most cases, hypophosphatemia resolved within three months. Check serum phosphate levels prior to a repeat course of treatment if the patient is at risk for low serum phosphate or if the patient will receive a repeat course of therapy within three months of the prior course [see Dosage and Administration (2.1 , 2.3) ] .

Correct pre-existing hypophosphatemia prior to administering ferric carboxymaltose. Monitor serum phosphate levels in patients at risk for chronic low serum phosphate. Treat hypophosphatemia as medically indicated.

Consider permanent discontinuation of ferric carboxymaltose for severe symptomatic hypophosphatemia or persistent hypophosphatemia .

5.2Hypersensitivity Reactions Serious hypersensitivity reactions, including anaphylactic-type reactions, some of which have been life-threatening and fatal, have been reported in patients receiving ferric carboxymaltose. Patients may present with shock, clinically significant hypotension, loss of consciousness, and/or collapse. Monitor patients for signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity during and after ferric carboxymaltose administration for at least 30 minutes and until clinically stable following completion of the infusion.

Only administer ferric carboxymaltose when personnel and therapies are immediately available for the treatment of serious hypersensitivity reactions [see Adverse Reactions (6.1 , 6.2) ] . In clinical trials, serious anaphylactic/anaphylactoid reactions were reported in 0.1% (2/1,775) of subjects receiving ferric carboxymaltose. Other serious or severe adverse reactions potentially associated with hypersensitivity which included, but not limited to, pruritus, rash, urticaria, wheezing, or hypotension were reported in 1.5% (26/1,775) of these subjects.

5.3Hypertension In clinical studies, hypertension was reported in 4% (67/1,775) of subjects in clinical trials 1 and 2. Transient elevations in systolic blood pressure, sometimes occurring with facial flushing, dizziness, or nausea were observed in 6% (106/1,775) of subjects in these two clinical trials. These elevations generally occurred immediately after dosing and resolved within 30 minutes.

Monitor patients for signs and symptoms of hypertension following each ferric carboxymaltose administration [see Dosage and Administration (2) ] .

5.4Laboratory Test Alterations In the 24 hours following administration of ferric carboxymaltose, laboratory assays may overestimate serum iron and transferrin bound iron by also measuring the iron in ferric carboxymaltose.

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following clinically significant adverse reactions are discussed in greater detail in other sections of the labeling: • Symptomatic Hypophosphatemia [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ] • Hypersensitivity Reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] • Hypertension [see Warnings and Precautions (5.3) ] • Laboratory Test Alterations [see Warnings and Precautions (5.4) ] • The most common adverse reactions in adult patients (> 2%) are nausea, hypertension, flushing, injection site reactions, erythema, hypophosphatemia, and dizziness.

( 6.1 ) • The most common adverse reactions in pediatric patients (≥ 4%) are hypophosphatemia, injection site reactions, rash, headache, and vomiting. ( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Mylan at 1-877-446-3679 (1-877-4-INFO-RX) or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trials Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, the adverse reaction rates observed cannot be directly compared to rates in other clinical trials and may not reflect the rates observed in clinical practice. Adults In two randomized clinical studies [Studies 1 and 2, see Clinical Studies (14) ], a total of 1,775 patients were exposed to ferric carboxymaltose 15 mg/kg body weight up to a maximum single dose of 750 mg of iron on two occasions separated by at least 7 days up to a cumulative dose of 1,500 mg of iron.

Adverse reactions reported by ≥ 1% of treated patients are shown in the following table. Table 2. Adverse reactions reported in ≥ 1% of Study Patients in Clinical Trials 1 and 2 Ferric Carboxymaltose (N = 1,775) % Pooled Comparators Includes oral iron and all formulations of IV iron other than ferric carboxymaltose.

(N = 1,783) % Oral iron (N = 253) % Nausea 7.2 2

1.2Hypertension Grouped Terms: Hypertension includes hypertension, blood pressure increased, and hypertensive crisis. Flushing includes flushing and hot flush. Injection site reactions include injection site extravasation, injection site discoloration, injection site pain, injection site irritation, injection site bruising, injection site reaction, injection site discomfort, injection site erythema, injection site hematoma, injection site hemorrhage, injection site pruritus, injection site rash, and injection site swelling.

Erythema includes erythema and injection site erythema. Dizziness includes dizziness, balance disorder, and vertigo. 4 2

0.4Flushing 4 0.2 0 Injection site reactions 3 3.2 0 Erythema 3 0.6 0 Hypophosphatemia 2.1 0.1 0 Dizziness 2.1 1.3

0.4 Vomiting 2 1

0.4Injection Site Discoloration Injection site discoloration was also included in the injection site local administration reactions grouped term. Headache includes headache and migraine. Hepatic enzyme increased includes alanine aminotransferase increased and aspartate aminotransferase increased.

Dysgeusia includes dysgeusia and ageusia. Rash includes rash, urticaria, skin exfoliation, blister, erythema multiforme, injection site rash, rash maculo-papular, and rash pruritic. 1.4 0.3 0 Headache 1.3 1.2

0.4Hepatic enzyme increased 1.2 0.2 0 Dysgeusia 1.2 2.1 0 Hypotension 1 2 0 Rash 1 0.3 0 Constipation 0.5 0.9

3.2Other adverse reactions reported by ≥ 0.5% of treated patients include abdominal pain, diarrhea, gamma glutamyl transferase increased, paresthesia, and sneezing. Transient decreases in laboratory blood phosphorus levels (< 2 mg/dL) have been observed in 27% (440/1,638) of patients in clinical trials. Pooled data from two Phase 3 studies 1VIT09030 (NCT00981045) and 1VIT09031 (NCT00982007) with a dosing regimen of ferric carboxymaltose 15 mg/kg up to a maximum of 750 mg x 2 doses to a cumulative dose of 1,500 mg of iron were analyzed to compare rates of adverse reactions in two Phase 3 parallel group studies 1VIT07017 (NCT00548860) and 1VIT07018 (NCT00548691) with a dosing regimen of ferric carboxymaltose 15 mg/kg up to a maximum of 1,000 mg single dose (Table 3).

Table 3. Adverse…

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS Pregnancy: Risk of hypersensitivity reactions which may have serious consequences for the fetus. ( 8.1 )

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Parenteral iron administration may be associated with hypersensitivity reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] , which may have serious consequences, such as fetal bradycardia (see Clinical Considerations ) . Advise pregnant women of the potential risk to a fetus. Published studies and available data from postmarketing reports with intravenous ferric carboxymaltose are insufficient to assess the risk of major birth defects and miscarriage.

There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated IDA in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions ( see Clinical Considerations ). In animal reproduction studies, administration of ferric carboxymaltose to rabbits during the period of organogenesis caused adverse developmental outcomes including fetal malformations and increased implantation loss at maternally toxic doses of approximately 12% to 23% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg (based on body surface area).

The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.

Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Untreated IDA in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia. Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA include increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight. Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as ferric carboxymaltose) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester.

Data Human Data Published data from randomized controlled studies, prospective observational studies and retrospective studies on the use of ferric carboxymaltose in pregnant women have not reported an association with intravenous ferric carboxymaltose and major birth defects and miscarriage. However, these studies cannot establish or exclude the absence of any drug-related risk during pregnancy. Animal Data Administration of ferric carboxymaltose to rats as a one-hour intravenous infusion up to 30 mg/kg/day iron on gestation days 6 to 17 did not result in adverse embryonic or fetal findings.

This daily dose in rats is approximately 40% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg based on body surface area. In rabbits, ferric carboxymaltose was administered as a one-hour infusion on gestation days 6 to 19 at iron doses of 4.5, 9, 13.5, and 18 mg/kg/day. Malformations were seen starting at the daily dose of 9 mg/kg (23% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg).

Spontaneous abortions occurred starting at the daily iron dose of 4.5 mg/kg (12% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg based on body surface area). Pre-implantation loss was at the highest dose. Adverse embryonic or fetal effects were observed in the presence of maternal toxicity.

A pre- and post-natal development study was conducted in rats at intravenous doses up to 18 mg/kg/day of iron (approximately 23% of the weekly human dose of 750 mg based on body surface area). There were no adverse effects on survival of offspring, their behavior, sexual maturation or reproductive parameters.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary The available published data on the use of ferric carboxymaltose in lactating women demonstrate that iron is present in breast milk. Among the breastfed infants, adverse reactions included constipation and diarrhea but none of the adverse reactions report…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Parenteral iron administration may be associated with hypersensitivity reactions [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] , which may have serious consequences, such as fetal bradycardia (see Clinical Considerations ) . Advise pregnant women of the potential risk to a fetus. Published studies and available data from postmarketing reports with intravenous ferric carboxymaltose are insufficient to assess the risk of major birth defects and miscarriage.

There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with untreated IDA in pregnancy as well as risks to the fetus associated with maternal severe hypersensitivity reactions ( see Clinical Considerations ). In animal reproduction studies, administration of ferric carboxymaltose to rabbits during the period of organogenesis caused adverse developmental outcomes including fetal malformations and increased implantation loss at maternally toxic doses of approximately 12% to 23% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg (based on body surface area).

The estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage for the indicated populations is unknown. All pregnancies have a background risk of birth defect, loss, or other adverse outcomes. In the U.S. general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2% to 4% and 15% to 20%, respectively.

Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Untreated IDA in pregnancy is associated with adverse maternal outcomes such as post-partum anemia. Adverse pregnancy outcomes associated with IDA include increased risk for preterm delivery and low birth weight. Fetal/Neonatal adverse reactions Severe adverse reactions including circulatory failure (severe hypotension, shock including in the context of anaphylactic reaction) may occur in pregnant women with parenteral iron products (such as ferric carboxymaltose) which may cause fetal bradycardia, especially during the second and third trimester.

Data Human Data Published data from randomized controlled studies, prospective observational studies and retrospective studies on the use of ferric carboxymaltose in pregnant women have not reported an association with intravenous ferric carboxymaltose and major birth defects and miscarriage. However, these studies cannot establish or exclude the absence of any drug-related risk during pregnancy. Animal Data Administration of ferric carboxymaltose to rats as a one-hour intravenous infusion up to 30 mg/kg/day iron on gestation days 6 to 17 did not result in adverse embryonic or fetal findings.

This daily dose in rats is approximately 40% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg based on body surface area. In rabbits, ferric carboxymaltose was administered as a one-hour infusion on gestation days 6 to 19 at iron doses of 4.5, 9, 13.5, and 18 mg/kg/day. Malformations were seen starting at the daily dose of 9 mg/kg (23% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg).

Spontaneous abortions occurred starting at the daily iron dose of 4.5 mg/kg (12% of the human weekly dose of 750 mg based on body surface area). Pre-implantation loss was at the highest dose. Adverse embryonic or fetal effects were observed in the presence of maternal toxicity.

A pre- and post-natal development study was conducted in rats at intravenous doses up to 18 mg/kg/day of iron (approximately 23% of the weekly human dose of 750 mg based on body surface area). There were no adverse effects on survival of offspring, their behavior, sexual maturation or reproductive parameters.

🧒 Pediatric Use 136 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of ferric carboxymaltose for IDA in pediatric patients aged 1 year and older who have normal kidney function and have either intolerance to oral iron or have had unsatisfactory response to oral iron have been established. Use of ferric carboxymaltose for this indication in this age group is supported by evidence from adequate and well-controlled studies of ferric carboxymaltose in adults with additional pharmacodynamic and safety data in pediatric patients aged 1 year and older [see Adverse Reactions (6.1) and Clinical Pharmacology (12.3) ] .

Safety and effectiveness of ferric carboxymaltose have not been established in pediatric patients less than 1 year of age with IDA. Safety and effectiveness of ferric carboxymaltose have not been established to improve exercise capacity in pediatric patients with ID and symptomatic heart failure.

🧓 Geriatric Use 69 words

8.5Geriatric Use Of the 1,775 subjects in clinical studies of ferric carboxymaltose, 50% were 65 years and over, while 25% were 75 years and over. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these subjects and younger subjects, and other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger patients, but greater sensitivity of some older individuals cannot be ruled out.

🆘 Overdosage 77 words

10 OVERDOSAGE Excessive dosages of ferric carboxymaltose may lead to accumulation of iron in storage sites potentially leading to hemosiderosis. A patient who received ferric carboxymaltose 18,000 mg over 6 months developed hemosiderosis with multiple joint disorder, walking disability, and asthenia. In the postmarketing setting, hypophosphatemic osteomalacia has been reported in patients who have received repeated high-cumulative courses of ferric carboxymaltose.

Consider contacting the Poison Help line (1-800-222-1222) or a medical toxicologist for additional overdose management recommendations.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~1 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action Ferric carboxymaltose is a colloidal iron (III) hydroxide in complex with carboxymaltose, a carbohydrate polymer that releases iron.

12.2Pharmacodynamics Using positron emission tomography (PET) it was demonstrated that red cell uptake of 59 Fe and 52 Fe from ferric carboxymaltose ranged from 61% to 99%. In patients with iron deficiency, red cell uptake of radio-labeled iron ranged from 91% to 99% at 24 days after ferric carboxymaltose dose. In patients with renal anemia, red cell uptake of radiolabeled iron ranged from 61% to 84% at 24 days after ferric carboxymaltose dose.

12.3Pharmacokinetics After administration of a single dose of ferric carboxymaltose of 100 to 1,000 mg of iron in iron deficient adult patients, maximum iron concentration of 37 µg/mL to 333 µg/mL were obtained respectively after 15 minutes to 1.21 hours post dose. The volume of distribution was estimated to be 3 L. The iron injected or infused was rapidly cleared from the plasma, the terminal half-life ranged from 7 to 12 hours.

Renal elimination of iron was negligible. After administration of a single dose of ferric carboxymaltose 15 mg/kg in pediatric patients 1-17 years of age, the maximum concentrations ranged between 124 and 418.1 µg/mL and the median time to maximum concentration was 7 minutes. The elimination half-life of ferric carboxymaltose in pediatric patients was approximately 9.7 hours.

The total median 72-hour exposure (AUC 0-72h ) after a single dose of ferric carboxymaltose 15 mg/kg in pediatric patients was 4,529.7 µg∙h/mL while the median exposure after a single dose of 1,000 mg in adults was 5,875.3 µg∙h/mL.

🧬 Mechanism of Action 22 words

12.1Mechanism of Action Ferric carboxymaltose is a colloidal iron (III) hydroxide in complex with carboxymaltose, a carbohydrate polymer that releases iron.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling 72 words

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING Ferric carboxymaltose injection is a dark brown, non-transparent, sterile, aqueous, isotonic colloidal solution for intravenous injection and supplied as follows: NDC 67457-797-15 750 mg iron/15 mL Single-Dose Vial Individually Boxed NDC 67457-797-99 750 mg iron/15 mL Single-Dose Vial Packages of 2 Store at 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F); excursions permitted to 15°C to 30°C (59°F to 86°F). [See the USP controlled room temperature.] Do not freeze.

📋 Description 176 words

11 DESCRIPTION Ferric carboxymaltose, an iron replacement product, is an iron carbohydrate complex with the chemical name of polynuclear iron (III)-hydroxide 4(R)-(poly-(1→4)-O-α-D-glucopyranosyl)-oxy-2(R),3(R),5(R),6-tetrahydroxy-hexanoate. It has a relative molecular weight of approximately 150,000 Da corresponding to the following empirical formula: [FeO x (OH) y (H 2 O) z ] n [{(C 6 H 10 O 5 ) m (C 6 H 12 O 7 )} l ] k , where n ≈ 10 3 , m ≈ 8, l ≈ 11, and k ≈ 4 ( l represents the mean branching degree of the ligand).

The chemical structure is presented below: Ferric carboxymaltose injection is a dark brown, sterile, aqueous, isotonic colloidal solution for intravenous injection. Each mL contains 50 mg iron as ferric carboxymaltose in water for injection. Ferric carboxymaltose injection is available in 15 mL single-dose vials.

Sodium hydroxide and/or hydrochloric acid may have been added to adjust the pH to 5.0-7.0. Each mL of ferric carboxymaltose injection contains 4 mg of sodium. Vial closure is not made with natural rubber latex.

Ferric Carboxymaltose Chemical Structure

💬 Information for Patients 203 words

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION Advise the patient to read the FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information) and discuss with the patient the etiology of the iron deficiency anemia and the patient’s iron deficiency anemia treatment options. Symptomatic Hypophosphatemia Advise patients to report any signs or symptoms of hypophosphatemia such as fatigue, muscle weakness or pain, bone and joint pain, or bone fractures [see Warnings and Precautions (5.1) ]. Prior History of Reactions to Parenteral Iron Products Question patients regarding any prior history of reactions to parenteral iron products [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] .

Serious Hypersensitivity Reactions Advise patients to report any signs and symptoms of hypersensitivity that may develop during and following ferric carboxymaltose administration, such as rash, itching, dizziness, lightheadedness, swelling, and breathing problems [see Warnings and Precautions (5.2) ] . Pregnancy Advise pregnant women about the risk of hypersensitivity reactions which may have serious consequences for the fetus. Advise patients who may become pregnant to inform their healthcare provider of a known or suspected pregnancy [see Use in Specific Populations (8.1) ] .

The brands listed are trademarks of their respective owners. Manufactured for: Mylan Institutional LLC Morgantown, WV 26505 U.S.A. Manufactured by: Mylan Laboratories Limited Bangalore, India Revised: 8/2026

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.