Home › NDC Lookup › Drug shortages › Activated Charcoal Oral Suspension (Actidose Aqua, Actidose)

Activated Charcoal Oral Suspension (Actidose Aqua, Actidose) shortage

Not a nationwide shortage — Padagis US has told the FDA it is discontinuing its activated charcoal oral suspensions. The FDA lists this under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: a company stopping its own product. 1 other company sells the same medicine and has not reported a problem, so your pharmacy may be able to order another company’s version.

To Be Discontinued ⚠ Supply risk: High Other 5 products 144 days First posted May 15, 2026 Updated May 15, 2026
Here’s the bottom line

Padagis is permanently stopping production of its activated charcoal oral suspension (208 mg/mL). Actidose and Insta-Char, two other activated charcoal suspension products, are still listed as available from other manufacturers.

Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).

Do you take this medicine? See the ‘What to do’ note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →
5
Affected NDCs
0/1
Reporting makers with supply
0/1
Affected strengths still listed
1
Other companies listing it
144
Days on the list
100
Medicaid Rx (2026)
Source: FDA Drug Shortages Database API (openFDA). Last refreshed Oct 5, 2026 · yesterday

Is activated charcoal still in shortage? — status as of Oct 5, 2026

Still listed as “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026. Padagis US is stopping its own version only; 1 other company still sells the same medicine and has not reported a problem. Your pharmacy may need to order another company’s version.

⚠ Supply risk: High 5 of 5 risk factors
  1. Every strength is still listed by a company — 0 of 1 strength
  2. More than one company still lists it — 0 of 1 reporting company with supply + 1 other company
  3. Most affected NDCs still available — supply listed
  4. Not a long-running shortage — 143 days (a discontinuation notice, not an outage)
  5. Listed by several companies — 2 companies (1 reporting + 1 other)

A rule-based estimate of national supply risk, counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report — never your local pharmacy’s stock. How the rating works.

The charts count only the companies that reported this shortage to the FDA; companies that haven’t reported a problem are in the green card, and the Supply-Risk rating counts them too.

Availability of affected NDCs
From the FDA shortage report
5 NDCs
To be discontinued 5
Affected strengths still listed by a company
A reporting maker with supply, or another company listing that strength
0/1 strengths
No listed source 1
Reporting companies with supply
Among the 1 company that reported this shortage — plus 1 other company listing it, below
0/1 reporting
Reporting no supply 1
✓ Other companies listing the same medicine — not reporting a shortage
Activated Charcoal Oral Suspension listings in the current FDA NDC Directory from companies that have not filed a shortage report — these are not counted in the charts above. Some are repackagers of another company’s product. Stock can still vary by pharmacy.
VistaPharm, LLC
See all other options & details →
Shortage timeline
  1. May 15, 2026
    Currently in shortage
    5 of 5 products affected.
  2. May 15, 2026
    First reported to the FDA
    5 products first listed.

Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.

Which activated charcoal products are affected — by company

Company: Padagis US LLC 📞 866-634-9120 5 NDCS click to expand
Status NDC / product Strength Availability Related information Reason
To Be Discontinued Actidose Oral Suspension, 208 mg/1 mL NDC 00574-0520-74 208 mg/1 mL — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Actidose Aqua Oral Suspension, 208 mg/1 mL NDC 00574-0521-25 208 mg/1 mL — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Actidose Aqua Oral Suspension, 208 mg/1 mL NDC 00574-0521-74 208 mg/1 mL — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Actidose Aqua Oral Suspension, 208 mg/1 mL NDC 00574-0521-76 208 mg/1 mL — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —
To Be Discontinued Actidose Oral Suspension, 208 mg/1 mL NDC 00574-0520-76 208 mg/1 mL — Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug —

These rows are company reports to the FDA for Activated Charcoal Oral Suspension — they do not cover every company that lists this medicine. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other companies may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get activated charcoal? options further down this page.

Why is Padagis US discontinuing activated charcoal?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 2, 2026

Padagis US LLC has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping production of their activated charcoal oral suspension products — both Actidose and Actidose Aqua — in the 208 mg/1 mL strength. This affects several different package sizes of both formulations (the plain Actidose and the Actidose Aqua version, which is mixed with water). This is a permanent decision, not a temporary supply hiccup.

It's worth noting that Padagis did not share a specific public reason why they made this decision — just that manufacturing is being discontinued. This report reflects only what Padagis has submitted to the FDA, so it speaks only to their products and not to what other manufacturers may be producing.

Based on the company-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Activated Charcoal Oral Suspension, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as companies report changes.

What should I do if I take activated charcoal?

A note from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD · Written Oct 2, 2026

Activated Charcoal Oral Suspension is currently on the FDA drug-shortage list, and I want to walk you through what that means for you.

The one strength on this report, 208 mg/1 mL, has no available source right now from the manufacturer that filed this record. The reason given is that the maker, Padagis US LLC, is discontinuing production of this product. Because of that, this supply problem may be permanent for the products listed here. Keep in mind this report reflects only the manufacturer who filed it — the same medicine may still be supplied by other companies.

Please don't stop or change how you use this medicine on your own. Here is how I'd approach it:

  • Talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about next steps, since this product is being discontinued.
  • Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers — the same medicine (activated charcoal oral suspension) may be available from another maker, such as Insta-Char Aqueous from VistaPharm, though it may not be in local stock.
  • Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.

This is general information from national, manufacturer-reported FDA data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock. Your pharmacist or prescriber can help you find the best option for you.

See “Where else can I get activated charcoal?” below ↓ The same medicine from companies not reporting a shortage, other dosage forms, and therapeutic equivalents with pricing.
Quick checklist for the pharmacy counter:
  • Ask your pharmacy to check other companies’ versions, other strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores — the options below are a starting point.
  • If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), arrange continued supply before you run out rather than rationing doses.

Where else can I get activated charcoal?

FDA shortages are company-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every company that lists activated charcoal oral suspensions is necessarily short. Below are the other listings in the current FDA NDC Directory that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from companies that haven’t reported a problem (the reporting company is excluded), and other dosage forms. Some listings are repackagers, which relabel another company’s product. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.

Same medicine from other companies (not reporting a shortage)

Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from companies that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:

ProductStrengthForm / routeCompanyNDC
Insta-Char Aqueous ACTIVATED CHARCOAL 25 g/240mL Suspension · Oral VistaPharm, LLC 66689-0113-08
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 5 productsclick to expand

Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.

ProductManufacturerPackageNADAC $/unitAB ratingAvailability
Actidose 208 mg/mLNDC 00574-0520-74 Padagis 120 ml — — FDA listed
Actidose Aqua 208 mg/mLNDC 00574-0521-04 Padagis 120 ml — — FDA listed
Actidose 208 mg/mLNDC 00574-0520-04 Padagis 120 ml — — FDA listed
Actidose Aqua 208 mg/mLNDC 00574-0521-25 Padagis 72 ml — — FDA listed
Actidose Aqua 208 mg/mLNDC 00574-0521-74 Padagis 120 ml — — FDA listed

Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.

Other drugs in the same treatment class

These are different medicines — not other versions of activated charcoal — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antidotes,miscellaneous) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.

Codes & classification for pharmacists and billers
GCN Seq No 057761
GCN 22989
HICL code 001116
Ingredient (HICL) Activated Charcoal/Sorbitol
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C8
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antidotes To Poisons
HIC3 code C8E
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Antidotes,Miscellaneous
AHFS code 56:04.00.00
AHFS class Antacids And Adsorbents
FDB label name ACTIDOSE 25 GM LIQUID
FDB brand name Actidose
Legend status O — Over-the-counter (OTC) drug or device
Where does this data come from?
Identity codes come from First Databank (FDB) (HICL ingredient, HIC1–3 therapeutic-class hierarchy, GCN, AHFS class, legend status) and Medi-Span GPI, mapped from a representative affected NDC. Licensed reference data — for identification only.

Other other shortages

Activated charcoal shortage FAQs

Is activated charcoal still in shortage?
Not as a nationwide shortage — the FDA lists activated charcoal oral suspensions under “To be discontinued” as of Oct 5, 2026: Padagis US has told the FDA it is stopping its own product, while 1 other company still lists the same medicine and has not reported a shortage.
Which strengths of activated charcoal are affected?
The FDA record covers 1 strength: 208 mg/1 mL. None of it has a listed source right now: no reporting company reports supply, and we could not confirm another company listing it with the FDA. Ask your pharmacist and prescriber about options before you run out.
Which activated charcoal products are affected?
Actidose Oral Suspension, 208 mg/1 mL (NDC 00574-0520-74); Actidose Aqua Oral Suspension, 208 mg/1 mL (NDC 00574-0521-25); Actidose Aqua Oral Suspension, 208 mg/1 mL (NDC 00574-0521-74) and 2 more. The full per-NDC list (availability, company and status) is in the table above — each NDC links to its own page.
When will activated charcoal be available again?
A discontinuation is usually permanent for that company’s product. The same medicine is still listed by VistaPharm, so ask your pharmacy to order another company’s version.
Can I still get activated charcoal somewhere?
Another company (VistaPharm) lists the same medicine with the FDA and has not reported a shortage. See “Where else can I get activated charcoal?” above — stock still varies by pharmacy.
Is the brand or the generic affected?
Only the brand (Actidose Aqua and Actidose) is on this FDA record; it lists no generic activated charcoal oral suspensions. Availability can still differ between companies and package sizes — check the per-NDC table and confirm with your pharmacy.
What should I do if I take activated charcoal?
Don’t stop or change it on your own. Ask your pharmacist whether they can order it from another company or a different strength or package size, and ask your prescriber about a long-term plan before your supply runs out.

Still have a question about the activated charcoal shortage?

Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →
How to read the Supply-Risk rating
Low (0–2)Several companies still list it and most strengths or pack sizes are still listed by someone — counting both the companies reporting the shortage and the companies listing the same medicine without a report. A listing is not a stock check.
Medium (3)Some constraint — fewer suppliers or a notable share of NDCs unavailable.
High (4–5)Down to a single source, most strengths or pack sizes without a source, or a long-running outage. A company’s discontinuation notice is not an outage.
Where does this data come from?
Shortage records come from the FDA Drug Shortages Database API via openFDA (/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (companies listing the same ingredient & form — the "other companies" the rating counts); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.
Data structure & sourcing designed and verified by Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD.
← Back to all current drug shortages