Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet shortage
Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 2 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 21, 2026.
Pfizer is stopping production of its quinapril/hydrochlorothiazide tablets, and this change may be permanent. The same medicine is still listed by other makers, including Lupin Pharmaceuticals, Chartwell RX, Aurobindo Pharma, and Cipla USA.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Oct 1, 2025Currently in shortage2 of 2 products affected.
-
Oct 1, 2025First reported to the FDA2 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Pfizer Inc. 📞 800-533-4535 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Accuretic, Tablet, 12.5 mg; 20 mg (NDC 0071-5212-23) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Accuretic, Tablet, 12.5 mg; 10 mg (NDC 0071-3112-23) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet? options further down this page.
Why is Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet in shortage?
Pfizer has reported to the FDA that it is permanently stopping the manufacturing of two specific strengths of Accuretic (quinapril/hydrochlorothiazide tablets): the 10 mg/12.5 mg tablet and the 20 mg/12.5 mg tablet. This is a permanent discontinuation, not a temporary shortage, meaning Pfizer does not plan to bring these particular products back.
It's worth knowing that this report reflects only what Pfizer has filed with the FDA. Other manufacturers may make a generic version of this combination, and those products are not part of this specific report.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet?
Your combination blood pressure medicine, quinapril with hydrochlorothiazide (sold by Pfizer as Accuretic), is currently on the FDA shortage list. I want to walk you through what this means so you can plan your next steps calmly.
The two strengths on this record — the 12.5 mg/10 mg tablet and the 12.5 mg/20 mg tablet — currently have no available source from the manufacturer that filed this report. The reason given is that Pfizer is discontinuing manufacture of these tablets. Because this is a discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, the supply problem from this maker may be permanent, and no estimated-recovery date applies. That said, this report reflects only Pfizer, and the same medicine is still listed by other makers, so it is not gone from the market entirely.
Here is what I suggest, in order:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own — keep taking your medicine as prescribed.
- Ask your pharmacy whether they can source the same quinapril/hydrochlorothiazide combination from another maker, such as Lupin, Chartwell, Aurobindo, or Cipla — though it may not be in local stock right away.
- Because this product is being discontinued, please talk with your prescriber or pharmacist about your best long-term option.
Pfizer's contact number is listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle these calls. This is general, national information and may not match your pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Where else can I get Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quinapril Hcl And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Lupin Pharmaceuticals,Inc. | 43386-0710-05 |
| Quinapril Hcl And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Lupin Pharmaceuticals,Inc. | 43386-0711-05 |
| Quinapril Hcl And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 25 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Lupin Pharmaceuticals,Inc. | 43386-0712-05 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Chartwell RX, LLC | 62135-0667-90 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Chartwell RX, LLC | 62135-0668-90 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 25 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Chartwell RX, LLC | 62135-0669-90 |
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 65862-0161-71 |
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated · Oral | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 65862-0162-30 |
| Quinapril Hydrochloride/Hydrochlorothiazide | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 25 mg/1 | Tablet, Film Coated | Aurobindo Pharma Limited | 65862-0163-59 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide 10/12.5 | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 10 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Cipla USA Inc. | 69097-0828-05 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide 20/12.5 | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 12.5 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Cipla USA Inc. | 69097-0829-05 |
| Quinapril And Hydrochlorothiazide 20/25 | QUINAPRIL HYDROCHLORIDE 20 mg/1; HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE 25 mg/1 | Tablet · Oral | Cipla USA Inc. | 69097-0831-05 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 2 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accuretic 12.5; 20 mg/1; mg | Parke-Davis | 90 tablets | — | — | Discontinued |
| Accuretic 12.5; 10 mg/1; mg | Parke-Davis | 90 tablets | — | — | Discontinued |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet — that fall in the same broad treatment class (ace inhibitor-thiazide or thiazide-like diuretic) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other cardiovascular shortages
Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet shortage FAQs
Is Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet be available again?
Can I still get Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride somewhere?
What should I do if I take Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet?
Still have a question about the Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochloride Tablet shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Hydrochlorothiazide; Quinapril Hydrochlo... on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.