Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release shortage
Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 2 affected products. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Sep 21, 2026.
Pfizer is permanently stopping production of disopyramide phosphate extended-release capsules (both 100 mg and 150 mg). The immediate-release form — including Norpace (disopyramide phosphate) capsules in both strengths — is still listed as available from other manufacturers.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Aug 24, 2026Currently in shortage2 of 2 products affected.
-
Aug 24, 2026First reported to the FDA2 products first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Pfizer Inc. 📞 800-533-4535 2 NDCS click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Norpace CR, Capsule, Extended Release, 150 mg (NDC 0025-2742-31) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
| To Be Discontinued | Norpace CR, Capsule, Extended Release, 100 mg (NDC 0025-2732-31) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release? options further down this page.
Why is Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release in shortage?
Pfizer has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping the manufacturing of Norpace CR (disopyramide phosphate extended-release capsules) in both the 100 mg and 150 mg strengths. This means these two specific Pfizer products will no longer be made going forward. Pfizer did not share a specific public reason for why they made this decision — just that manufacturing of these products is being discontinued.
It's worth knowing that this report reflects only what Pfizer has filed with the FDA. It covers these two particular extended-release capsule strengths from Pfizer, and no other formulations or manufacturers are addressed in this specific report.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release?
Disopyramide phosphate extended-release capsules (the brand Norpace CR) are currently on the FDA shortage list, so I want to walk you through what this means for you.
Both strengths of the extended-release capsule are affected. The 100 mg and 150 mg extended-release capsules have no available source right now, and neither strength has a manufacturer reporting supply. The reason listed is that the manufacturer, Pfizer, is discontinuing production. Because this is a planned discontinuation rather than a temporary delay, this supply problem for the extended-release form may be permanent, so a conversation with your prescriber is the right next step.
Please keep in mind this is national, manufacturer-reported information and may not match what your local pharmacy actually has in stock.
Here is what I suggest:
- Do not stop, skip, or change your dose on your own.
- Ask your pharmacy to check with wholesalers and other makers — the same medicine, disopyramide phosphate, is also made in capsule form by Teva, Mayne, Mylan, and Dr. Reddy's, so your pharmacy may be able to source one of those, though it may not be in local stock.
- Ask your prescriber or pharmacist about the best option for you, since the extended-release version is being discontinued.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference; pharmacies usually handle those calls.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Uses, dosing, side effects, prices, and the complete FDA label — written in plain English and pharmacist-reviewed.
Where else can I get Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Norpace | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 100 mg/1 | Capsule, Gelatin Coated · Oral | Pfizer Laboratories Div Pfizer Inc | 00025-2752-31 |
| Norpace | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 150 mg/1 | Capsule, Gelatin Coated · Oral | Pfizer Laboratories Div Pfizer Inc | 00025-2762-31 |
| Disopyramide Phosphate | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 100 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 00093-3127-01 |
| Disopyramide Phosphate | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 150 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. | 00093-3129-01 |
| Disopyramide Phosphate | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 100 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Mayne Pharma Commercial LLC | 51862-0095-01 |
| Disopyramide Phosphate | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 100 mg/1 | Capsule, Gelatin Coated · Oral | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 59762-0386-01 |
| Disopyramide Phosphate | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 150 mg/1 | Capsule, Gelatin Coated · Oral | Mylan Pharmaceuticals Inc. | 59762-0400-01 |
| Disopyramide Phosphate | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 150 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Dr. Reddy's Labratories Inc. | 75907-0026-01 |
| Disopyramide Phosphate | DISOPYRAMIDE PHOSPHATE 100 mg/1 | Capsule · Oral | Dr. Reddy's Labratories Inc. | 75907-0027-01 |
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 2 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Norpace CR 100 mg | Pfizer | 100 capsules | $4.141 | — | Discontinued |
| Norpace CR 150 mg | Pfizer | 100 capsules | $4.906 | — | Discontinued |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Other drugs in the same treatment class
These are different medicines — not other versions of Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release — that fall in the same broad treatment class (antiarrhythmics) . They are not automatic substitutes: they can differ in how they work, dosing, effectiveness, side effects and what they’re approved to treat. Do not switch on your own. This list is for information only — ask your prescriber or pharmacist whether any of them is appropriate for you.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other cardiovascular shortages
Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release shortage FAQs
Is Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release be available again?
Can I still get Disopyramide Phosphate somewhere?
What should I do if I take Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release?
Still have a question about the Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended Release shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Disopyramide Phosphate Capsule, Extended... on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.