Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution shortage
Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution is currently listed in shortage by the FDA. The FDA lists 1 affected product. This page was last refreshed from FDA data on Oct 2, 2026.
Fresenius Kabi is stopping production of this potassium chloride/sodium chloride/calcium chloride/magnesium chloride injection solution, and the change may be permanent. Plegisol (potassium chloride, sodium chloride, calcium chloride injection solution) from Hospira is listed as an available option from a manufacturer not reporting a shortage.
Don’t stop or change your therapy on your own — talk with your prescriber about the plan that fits you, and ask your pharmacist what’s actually available (see options).
Do you take this drug? See the ‘What to do’ recommendation from Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD →What’s in shortage — at a glance
These figures count only the manufacturers that reported this shortage to the FDA — not every company that makes Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution. Other makers that haven’t reported a problem are shown in the green card below.
Shortage timeline
-
Aug 31, 2026Currently in shortage1 of 1 product affected.
-
Aug 31, 2026First reported to the FDA1 product first listed.
Built from FDA posting and update dates. The end date FDA publishes is the posting/update date, not a true resolution date, so durations are approximate.
What exactly is on backorder — by manufacturer
Manufacturer: Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC 📞 888-386-1300 1 NDC click to expand
| Status | NDC / product | Strength | Availability | Related information | Reason |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Be Discontinued | Cardioplegic Solution, Injection, Solution, 17.6 mg/100 mL; 325.3 mg/100 mL; 119.3 mg/100 mL; 643 mg/100 mL (NDC 65219-258-10) | — | — | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug | — |
These rows are manufacturer reports to the FDA for Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution — they do not necessarily cover every manufacturer that makes this drug. A company appears here only if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so other makers may still have stock. That’s the basis for the Where else can I get Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution? options further down this page.
Why is Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution in shortage?
Fresenius Kabi USA has reported to the FDA that they are permanently stopping the manufacture of this specific cardioplegic solution — the injection containing potassium chloride 17.6 mg/100 mL, sodium chloride 325.3 mg/100 mL, calcium chloride 119.3 mg/100 mL, and magnesium chloride 643 mg/100 mL (the 10-unit package, NDC 65219-258-10). This is a full discontinuation, meaning they do not plan to make this product again.
No specific reason was shared publicly by the manufacturer for why they made this decision — they simply reported to the FDA that manufacturing of this drug is being permanently stopped. This report reflects only what Fresenius Kabi has filed with the FDA and applies only to their product.
Based on the manufacturer-reported reason(s) and notes on file with the FDA for Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution, summarized in plain English by HelloPharmacist. A drug can be short for more than one reason, and the FDA updates these as manufacturers report changes.
What should I do if I take Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution?
The combination cardioplegic solution containing potassium chloride, sodium chloride, calcium chloride, and magnesium chloride injection is currently on the FDA shortage list. I want to walk you through what this means so you know your options.
The affected product comes as a single combined strength (potassium chloride 119.3 mg/100 mL, sodium chloride 643 mg/100 mL, calcium chloride 17.6 mg/100 mL, and magnesium chloride 325.3 mg/100 mL). Right now, this strength has no available source reported.
The reason listed is that the manufacturer, Fresenius Kabi USA, is discontinuing production. Because the status is to be discontinued, this supply problem may be permanent, so a conversation with your prescriber or pharmacist is the right next step.
Here is what I suggest:
- Do not stop, skip, or change how this is used on your own — talk with your prescriber or pharmacist first.
- Ask your pharmacy to check wholesalers and other manufacturers; a same-medicine version (Plegisol, from Hospira) may be available, though it may not be in local stock.
- If your exact product cannot be found, ask your prescriber or pharmacist about a suitable alternative.
Manufacturer contact numbers are listed on this page for reference, though pharmacies usually handle those calls. This is national, manufacturer-reported data and may not match your local pharmacy's actual stock.
- Don’t stop or change the medication on your own — talk to your prescriber first.
- If this is part of an ongoing or essential regimen (for example HIV treatment or prevention, seizure, heart, transplant, diabetes or mental-health medicines), do not skip or ration doses — contact your pharmacist or prescriber right away to arrange continued supply before you run out.
- Ask your pharmacy to check other manufacturers, strengths, package sizes, and nearby stores.
- Ask your prescriber whether a different strength, formulation, or the brand/generic version is appropriate.
Where else can I get Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution?
FDA shortages are manufacturer-reported — a company only shows up on the shortage list if it told the FDA it has a supply problem, so not every maker of Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution is necessarily short. Below we pull together the other still-marketed options that are not reported in shortage: the same medicine from manufacturers that haven’t reported a problem, and alternative dosage forms. These may still be out of stock at your pharmacy, and only your prescriber or pharmacist can decide what’s right for you.
Same medicine, other manufacturers (not reported short)
Same active ingredient, dosage form & route as the shortage (matched on the FDB HICL ingredient code), from makers that have not filed a shortage with the FDA:
| Product | Strength | Form / route | Manufacturer | NDC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plegisol | POTASSIUM CHLORIDE 119.3 mg/100mL; SODIUM CHLORIDE 643 mg/100mL; CALCIUM CHLORID | Injection, Solution · Intra-Arterial | Hospira, Inc. | 00409-7969-05 |
Alternative dosage forms of Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution
A different form of the same drug (for example a solution when capsules are short). A form change is a clinical decision — ask your prescriber:
Therapeutic equivalents & pricing 2 productsclick to expand
Orange Book–rated equivalents of the affected strengths, with the latest NADAC price (a federal retail-acquisition benchmark, not your copay) and an evidence-based availability label. Cheapest first.
| Product | Manufacturer | Package | NADAC $/unit | AB rating | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardioplegic Solution 119.3 mg/100mL; 643 mg/100mL; 17.6 mg/100mL; 325.3 mg/100mL | Fresenius | 10 pouches | — | AT | FDA listed |
| Plegisol 119.3 mg/100mL; 643 mg/100mL; 17.6 mg/100mL; 325.3 mg/100mL | Hospira, | 12 pouches | — | AT | FDA listed |
Equivalents share the same ingredient, strength, dosage form and route; an AB rating means the FDA considers them substitutable. NADAC is a national retail-pharmacy acquisition benchmark from CMS — not what you pay. Availability is inferred from recent pricing, not a stock check.
Identity & classification
Where does this data come from?
Other cardiovascular shortages
Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution shortage FAQs
Is Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution in shortage?
Which products are affected?
When will Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution be available again?
Can I still get Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution somewhere?
What should I do if I take Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution?
Still have a question about the Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Calcium Chloride, And Magnesium Chloride Injection, Solution shortage?
Ask a pharmacist about this shortage →View Potassium Chloride, Sodium Chloride, Cal... on the FDA drug-shortage database →
Where does this data come from?
/drug/shortages) — drug, manufacturer & contact, NDC/product, status, availability, reason, therapeutic category and posting/update dates. Current / To Be Discontinued = active; Resolved is kept for history. The Supply-Risk rating is assessed per active ingredient and adds the FDA NDC Directory (still-marketed manufacturers by ingredient & form); same-medicine and equivalent products use First Databank classification + CMS NADAC pricing; Medicaid use + most-affected states come from CMS Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data. Reference only — confirm current status with the manufacturer or FDA before acting on it.