Copiktra Generic: When Will Generic Duvelisib Be Available?

Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS

This page is aggregated from FDA records, court filings and company announcements. Coded and designed by

Updated October 9, 2026 How we build our data

Copiktra Generic at a Glance

Four quick answers from FDA records and our estimate.

  1. When is the first generic expected? April 2035 About 8.5 years away Why then?
  2. Has the FDA approved a generic? Not yet None in the FDA’s records yet Why not yet?
  3. When does the last patent end? April 2035 6 patents listed with the FDA
  4. Can you buy a generic today? Not yet No company lists one for sale

Explains

PharmD, BCPS · Clinical pharmacist Updated

Generic duvelisib is expected to be available in April 2035, about 8.5 years away. None is for sale yet.

Why April 2035?

It is when Copiktra’s patent 12,213,983 ends. That patent covers a way of using it, and once it ends, generics can go on sale as soon as the FDA approves them. We rate it probable: more likely than not, but it can still move.

Why hasn’t the FDA approved a generic yet?

That is normal before a launch. The FDA usually can’t give a generic its final approval while a patent or exclusivity still blocks it, so final approval often comes close to the day the generic can be sold. No company holds a “tentative” approval yet either (the FDA’s word for a generic that is ready but still blocked).

Will the generic cost less?

Usually, but no company is recorded as having applied to make one yet, and a single company usually brings only a modest drop. See the price pattern

What should I do now?

Keep taking Copiktra as prescribed. When a generic arrives, your pharmacy may switch you to it automatically, and it may look different. What a generic means for you

Our month is only an estimate based on available information, so we never name a day.

Copiktra by the Numbers

Reason
Patent expiresA patent that protects the brand runs out. After that, approved generics can be sold.
How sure
Probable More likely than not, but it can still move.
Price competition
None filed yet No filers on record
Brand sales
Sales not reported
  • FDA approved 2018 September 2018 FDA Orange Book
  • Patents listed 6 last runs to April 2035 FDA Orange Book
  • Medicare Part D spent $46.1M in 2025, for 302 people CMS Part D Spending by Drug

Copiktra’s Road to a Generic

Copiktra has had the market to itself since the FDA approved it in September 2018 (Secura Bio Inc). Its 6 listed patents run to April 2035.

The first generic of Copiktra is expected in April 2035.

Why that month: patent 12,213,983, on a way of using it, ends then.

Brand alone on the market Since FDA approval, September 2018
Patent 9,216,982 Expires January 2029
Patent 9,840,505 Expires January 2032
Patent 11,312,718 Expires January 2032
Patent RE46621 Expires May 2032
Patent 8,193,182 Expires September 2032
Patent 12,213,983 Expires April 2035 The patent behind the expected month of generic availability
Brand alone on the market Patent on the active ingredient Patent on the formulation Patent on a use First generic expected Swipe the chart sideways to see every year.

Each bar runs from the brand’s approval to the day that protection ends. The green band is our projection for the first generic: a month, never a day, because legal dates move and a generic reaches shelves days to weeks after it is allowed. Sources: FDA Orange Book; the expected month from court records and company announcements.

Copiktra Patents and FDA Protections

Every patent and exclusivity the FDA Orange Book lists for Copiktra’s own applications. A protection running past the expected month does not mean the date is wrong: a settlement or a court ruling can let a generic in before a patent ends, and a patent on one formulation or use does not block every generic.

The one that matters for a generic launch: patent 12,213,983, which ends in April 2035, the month the first generic is expected.

Patents listed with the FDA (6)
PatentWhat it coversProtects untilStatus
9,216,982 A way of using it (U-2413, U-2412) January 2029 Active
9,840,505 A way of using it (U-2413, U-2412) January 2032 Active
11,312,718 The product’s formulation January 2032 Active
RE46621 The active ingredient; the product’s formulation May 2032 Active
8,193,182 The active ingredient September 2032 Active
12,213,983 Sets the expected month of generic availability A way of using it (U-2412) April 2035 Active

Source: FDA Orange Book, application 211155. Patent numbers open the patent on Google Patents.

Who Is Lined Up to Make Generic Duvelisib

Three steps stand between a brand and a generic you can buy: a company applies to the FDA, the FDA approves it, and the company starts selling it.

1

Applied to the FDA

No company is recorded as having applied to the FDA to make a generic Copiktra yet.

2

Approved by the FDA

Not yet. The FDA has not approved a generic duvelisib. Final approval often comes close to the day a generic can be sold.

3

For Sale in Pharmacies

Not yet. No company lists a generic duvelisib for sale with the FDA.

Sources: how many companies have applied, from court records and company announcements; approved generics from the FDA Orange Book; tentative approvals from Drugs@FDA; what is for sale from the FDA NDC Directory. The FDA does not disclose an application before it approves it (21 CFR 314.430).

Copiktra Price: What Pharmacies Pay and What Generics Usually Do

What a Generic Could Cost

How we estimate it. The national survey of what pharmacies pay (NADAC) has no recent price for Copiktra, so we cannot show dollars. Here is the FDA’s finding of how far the price pharmacies pay usually falls as generic companies join: about 31% with one company, 44% with two, 73% with four and over 95% with six or more (the typical drop for every drug whose first generic came out from 2015 to 2017).

Median prices pharmacies paid for the generic (invoice prices), compared with the brand’s price before generic entry, from FDA’s 2019 analysis “Generic Competition and Drug Prices”. At the manufacturer’s price FDA found steeper drops (about 39%, 54%, 79% and over 95%), the figures quoted elsewhere on this tracker. A typical pattern, not a price quote for this medicine.

What Medicare and Medicaid Spend on Copiktra

Big public spending is part of why generic makers line up for a medicine, and why its first generic matters beyond the pharmacy counter. Figures are before manufacturer rebates, which are confidential.

Medicare Part D Spending

What Medicare drug plans spent on Copiktra, before manufacturer rebates.

$12.6M
January to March 2026, the latest CMS has posted
For 147 people, about $42,617 per prescription fill
$46.1M
2025, the whole year
For 302 people, about $40,792 per prescription fill
See the numbers
PeriodSpendingPeoplePer fill
January to March 2026$12,572,119147$42,617.35
2025$46,094,939302$40,791.98

Source: CMS Medicare Part D Spending by Drug, matched by the brand name Copiktra only, so no generic is counted in it. What CMS says it is used for: This medication is used to treat certain types of cancer (such as chronic lymphocytic leukemia, small lymphocytic lymphoma). Duvelisib belongs to a class of drugs known as kinase inhibitors.

Copiktra Strengths and Forms

StrengthFormHow it is takenApprovedStatus
15MGCapsuleOralSeptember 2018Prescription reference product
25MGCapsuleOralSeptember 2018Prescription reference product

Source: FDA Orange Book, Secura Bio Inc. Listed for sale today by Verastem, Inc., Secura Bio, Inc. and Secura Bio, Inc (FDA NDC Directory).

Copiktra NDC Codes and Packages

Each Copiktra package sold today has its own NDC, the product number printed on the box and on the pharmacy label. Open one to see that package’s details, what pharmacies pay for it and its patent timeline.

Copiktra packages (12)
NDCProductPackageCompany
71779-0115-0115 mg capsulebottle of 56 capsulesVerastem, Inc.
71779-0115-0215 mg capsulecarton of 2 packages of 28 blister packs of 1 capsuleVerastem, Inc.
71779-0125-0125 mg capsulebottle of 56 capsulesVerastem, Inc.
71779-0125-0225 mg capsulepackage of 28 blister packs of 1 capsuleVerastem, Inc.
73116-0215-28DUVELISIB 15 mg/1 capsulepackage of 28 capsulesSecura Bio, Inc
73116-0215-28DUVELISIB 15 mg/1 capsulepackage of 28 capsulesSecura Bio, Inc
73116-0215-56DUVELISIB 15 mg/1 capsulepackage of 56 capsulesSecura Bio, Inc
73116-0215-56DUVELISIB 15 mg/1 capsulepackage of 56 capsulesSecura Bio, Inc
Show the other 4 Copiktra packages
NDCProductPackageCompany
73116-0225-28DUVELISIB 25 mg/1 capsulepackage of 28 capsulesSecura Bio, Inc
73116-0225-28DUVELISIB 25 mg/1 capsulepackage of 28 capsulesSecura Bio, Inc
73116-0225-56DUVELISIB 25 mg/1 capsulepackage of 56 capsulesSecura Bio, Inc
73116-0225-56DUVELISIB 25 mg/1 capsulepackage of 56 capsulesSecura Bio, Inc

Source: the FDA NDC Directory, current listings only. Only packages sold under Copiktra’s own FDA approval (NDA 211155) are listed, never a generic. Some codes belong to companies that repackage Copiktra: it is the same medicine in a different package.

What a Generic Copiktra Means for You

Nothing Changes Until It Is in Pharmacies

Until a generic is actually for sale, keep filling Copiktra as usual. When one arrives, there is nothing you need to sign up for.

Your Pharmacy May Switch You Automatically

Every state lets pharmacists fill a brand-name prescription with an FDA-approved generic rated as equivalent to it, and about 19 states require them to, unless your prescriber writes “dispense as written” or “brand medically necessary” on the prescription. Some states ask the pharmacist to tell you, or to get your OK first. A study of every state’s law has the details.

It Will Probably Look Different

US trademark law does not let a generic look exactly like the brand, so the color, shape or markings usually change. The active ingredient, strength and form are the same. An “authorized generic,” made by or for the brand’s own company, can look identical. The FDA explains.

Your Insurance May Change Too

Once a lower-cost version is available, many insurance plans charge more for the brand, or stop covering it. Your plan’s drug list (formulary) says how.

Until a generic is on US pharmacy shelves, be careful with websites that offer “generic Copiktra”. The FDA warns that unlicensed online pharmacies sell counterfeit and unapproved medicines; its BeSafeRx page shows how to check a pharmacy.

Questions people ask about Copiktra

Is there a generic for Copiktra right now?

No. As of October 9, 2026 no generic duvelisib is listed for sale in the FDA NDC Directory.

When will Copiktra go generic?

April 2035 is the expected month, and that is probable but not certain. It is when Copiktra’s patent 12,213,983 ends. That patent covers a way of using it, and once it ends, generics can go on sale as soon as the FDA approves them.

Will generic duvelisib be the same as Copiktra?

Yes in the ways that matter: the same active ingredient, strength and form, with proof that it reaches your blood the same way. Inactive ingredients can differ, which is why some people notice a different look or taste.

How much will the generic cost?

Nobody can say for sure before launch. No company is recorded as having applied to the FDA to make one yet, and a single company usually brings only a modest drop.

Has the FDA approved a generic Copiktra?

Not yet. The FDA Orange Book lists no approved generic version of Copiktra.

When does the Copiktra patent expire?

The FDA Orange Book lists 6 patents for Copiktra; the last runs to April 2035. The one behind the expected month is patent 12,213,983, which ends in April 2035. A patent date is not the launch date: settlements and court rulings often bring a generic earlier, and FDA approval or a company’s own plans can make it later. The expected month on this page (April 2035) weighs all of that.

Changes to This Projection

  • First generic expected April 2035 on this month’s schedule. A line is added here whenever a monthly update moves the month, the reason or how sure it is.

Every change to the expected month is logged here with the month we saw it.

Also Going Generic

All upcoming generics

About Copiktra

Sources. The expected month: FDA Paragraph IV Patent Certifications list, federal court records, company announcements and securities filings (settlement dates, launch plans, sales). The record on this page: FDA Orange Book, Drugs@FDA (tentative approvals), FDA NDC Directory, CMS Medicare Part D Spending by Drug, FDA, Generic Competition and Drug Prices (2019). Updated October 9, 2026. Information, not medical advice.