Inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Azelaic Acid Topical inactive ingredients by manufacturer

Wondering whether your Azelaic Acid Topical has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Azelaic Acid Topical product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.

We have read the FDA labels of 11 of the 11 current Azelaic Acid Topical products on the market today, from 10 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.

Ask about your bottle

Is there something in your Azelaic Acid Topical? Ask in plain words.

Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.

Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.

Check your bottle

Let's take a closer look at your Azelaic Acid Topical.

Pick your bottle and tap what you want to check. The answer comes from that product's own FDA label, which is already on this page.

1 Which bottle do you have?

Or tap your way to it: the form, then the strength, then the company.

Form

2 What do you want to check?

Nothing tapped? We check the five big ones.

Azelaic Acid Topical Your bottle Pick a product and this label fills in.

Pick your bottle to read its label, or tap an ingredient to see which Azelaic Acid Topical products leave it out.

At a glance

Which Azelaic Acid Topical products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?

  1. LactoseNo checked product

    No checked Azelaic Acid Topical product lists lactose.

  2. Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product

    No checked Azelaic Acid Topical product lists a wheat or gluten source.

  3. SoyDiffers by manufacturer

    2 of 11 checked products list soy; 9 do not. See which products do not list it

  4. Synthetic dyesNo checked product

    No checked Azelaic Acid Topical product lists synthetic dyes.

  5. GelatinNo checked product

    No checked Azelaic Acid Topical product lists gelatin.

Also listed by some products: Propylene glycol 9 of 11 PEG or polysorbate 9 of 11

Find a version without it

Every current Azelaic Acid Topical product and what its label lists

Fastest way: search by NDC. It is printed on your bottle's pharmacy label. If it is not, call your pharmacy: they have it on record.

Hide products that list:

Azelaic Acid Topical 0.15 g/g ointment or gel topical cream 6 companies Soy 2 Propylene glycol 6 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 6
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
ActavisNDC 00591-2131-55 Soy Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 9 ingredients

BENZOIC ACID, CARBOMER HOMOPOLYMER TYPE C (ALLYL PENTAERYTHRITOL CROSSLINKED), EDETATE DISODIUM, GLYCERYL MONOOLEATE, LECITHIN, SOYBEAN, POLYSORBATE 80, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER

Bryant Ranch PrepackNDC 72162-2297-02 Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 8 ingredients

BENZOIC ACID, CARBOMER HOMOPOLYMER TYPE C (ALLYL PENTAERYTHRITOL CROSSLINKED), EDETATE DISODIUM, MEDIUM-CHAIN TRIGLYCERIDES, POLYSORBATE 80, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER

Encube EthicalsNDC 21922-0038-14 Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 8 ingredients

BENZOIC ACID, CARBOMER HOMOPOLYMER TYPE C (ALLYL PENTAERYTHRITOL CROSSLINKED), EDETATE DISODIUM, MEDIUM-CHAIN TRIGLYCERIDES, POLYSORBATE 80, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER

GlenmarkNDC 68462-0626-52 Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 8 ingredients

BENZOIC ACID, CARBOMER HOMOPOLYMER TYPE C (ALLYL PENTAERYTHRITOL CROSSLINKED), EDETATE DISODIUM, ISOPROPYL MYRISTATE, POLYSORBATE 80, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER

SandozNDC 00781-7172-50 Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 9 ingredients

1,2-DIARACHIDOYL-SN-GLYCERO-3-PHOSPHOCHOLINE, BENZOIC ACID, EDETATE DISODIUM, MEDIUM-CHAIN TRIGLYCERIDES, POLYACRYLIC ACID (250000 MW), POLYSORBATE 80, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER

SunNDC 51672-1389-03 Soy Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 9 ingredients

BENZOIC ACID, CARBOMER HOMOPOLYMER TYPE C (ALLYL PENTAERYTHRITOL CROSSLINKED), EDETATE DISODIUM, LECITHIN, SOYBEAN, MEDIUM-CHAIN TRIGLYCERIDES, POLYSORBATE 80, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER

Azelaic Acid Topical 0.2 g/g ointment or gel topical cream 1 company Propylene glycol 1 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
AlmirallNDC 16110-0869-30 Other pack sizes, same label: 16110-0869-50 Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 10 ingredients

BENZOIC ACID, CETEARYL ETHYLHEXANOATE, CETOSTEARYL ALCOHOL, GLYCERIN, GLYCERYL MONO AND DIPALMITOSTEARATE, GLYCERYL MONOSTEARATE, ISOPROPYL MYRISTATE, PEG-30 STEARATE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, WATER

Azelaic Acid Topical 10 g/100 g ointment or gel topical cream 1 company none of the tracked ingredients
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
Guangzhou Ariel Medical TechnologyNDC 87815-0002-01 None of these listed
Show 24 ingredients

1,2-HEXANEDIOL, ALLANTOIN, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, CENTELLA ASIATICA, CENTELLA ASIATICA LEAF, CETEARYL GLUCOSIDE, CETYL ALCOHOL, CYCLODEXTRINS, DIMETHICONE, DIPROPYLENE GLYCOL, HYDROXYACETOPHENONE, HYDROXYPROPYL BETADEX, LAVANDULA ANGUSTIFOLIA (LAVENDER) OIL, MADECASSOSIDE, METHYLPROPANEDIOL, O-CYMENE, POLICAPRAM, SORBITAN OLIVATE, SQUALANE, STEPHANIA TETRANDRA ROOT, TARAXACUM OFFICINALE LEAF, WATER, XANTHAN GUM

Azelaic Acid Topical 14 g/100 g ointment or gel topical cream 2 companies Propylene glycol 1 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
Guangdong Bisutang BiotechnologyNDC 84753-0056-01 Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 24 ingredients

ALLANTOIN, C13-14 ISOPARAFFIN, CAPRYLHYDROXAMIC ACID, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, DIBASIC POTASSIUM PHOSPHATE, DIMETHICONE, DISODIUM EDTA-COPPER, GLYCERIN, GLYCERYL CAPRYLATE, HYDROGENATED POLYDECENE (1500 CST), HYDROXYACETOPHENONE, ISOHEXADECANE, LAURETH-7, METHYLPROPANEDIOL, POLYACRYLAMIDE (CROSSLINKED; 0.01-0.2 MOLE PERCENT BISACRYLAMIDE), POLYACRYLATE CROSSPOLYMER-6, POLYSORBATE 80, POTASSIUM CETYL PHOSPHATE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM ACRYLATE/SODIUM ACRYLOYLDIMETHYLTAURATE COPOLYMER (4000000 MW), SODIUM HYALURONATE, SORBITAN OLEATE, WATER, XANTHAN GUM

Guangzhou Ariel Medical TechnologyNDC 87815-0003-01 None of these listed
Show 25 ingredients

1,2-HEXANEDIOL, 4-HYDROXY-1-NAPHTHALENESULFONIC ACID, ALLANTOIN, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, CENTELLA ASIATICA, CETEARYL GLUCOSIDE, CETYL ALCOHOL, CYCLODEXTRIN, DIMETHICONE, DIPROPYLENE GLYCOL, HYDROXYACETOPHENONE, HYDROXYPROPYL BETADEX, LAVANDULA ANGUSTIFOLIA (LAVENDER) OIL, MADECASSOSIDE, METHYLPROPANEDIOL, O-CYMEN-5-OL, POLICAPRAM, SORBITAN OLIVATE, SQUALANE, STEARYL ALCOHOL, STEPHANIA TETRANDRA ROOT, TARAXACUM OFFICINALE LEAF, WATER, XANTHAN GUM

Azelaic Acid Topical 0.15 g/g inhaler 1 company Propylene glycol 1 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1
CompanyListsInactive ingredients on the label
LEONDC 50222-0303-50 Other pack sizes, same label: 50222-0303-91 Propylene glycol Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Show 12 ingredients

BENZOIC ACID, CETOSTEARYL ALCOHOL, DIMETHYL ISOSORBIDE, GLYCERYL MONO AND DIPALMITOSTEARATE, MEDIUM-CHAIN TRIGLYCERIDES, METHYLCELLULOSE (4000 MPA.S), POLYOXYL 40 STEARATE, POLYSORBATE 80, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SODIUM HYDROXIDE, WATER, XANTHAN GUM

A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.

Azelaic Acid Topical without soy

Soy: soybean oil or soy lecithin; a concern with soy allergy. 2 of 11 checked products list soy; 9 do not.

Show which Azelaic Acid Topical products list soy and which do not, by product and company

Does not list soy

Lists soy

Azelaic Acid Topical without propylene glycol

Propylene glycol: A solvent in liquids and capsules; a concern in kidney disease, for infants, and at high doses. 9 of 11 checked products list propylene glycol; 2 do not.

Show which Azelaic Acid Topical products list propylene glycol and which do not, by product and company

Does not list propylene glycol

Lists propylene glycol

Azelaic Acid Topical without polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 9 of 11 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 2 do not.

Show which Azelaic Acid Topical products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate and which do not, by product and company

Does not list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

Lists polyethylene glycol or polysorbate

At the pharmacy counter

How to use this at the pharmacy counter

  1. Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
  2. Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
  3. Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
  4. If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Ask Dr. Staiger which Azelaic Acid Topical product suits you →

Common questions about Azelaic Acid Topical inactive ingredients

Is Azelaic Acid Topical gluten-free?
This page cannot certify any Azelaic Acid Topical product gluten-free; it reports what each label declares. Of the 11 products checked, none lists a wheat, barley, rye or gluten ingredient, and none lists a starch or maltodextrin without a stated source. If you have celiac disease, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written gluten statement for the lot you have.
Does Azelaic Acid Topical contain lactose?
No checked Azelaic Acid Topical product lists lactose on its label. People with a milk allergy or a strong intolerance often prefer a version that does not list it.
Does Azelaic Acid Topical contain soy?
2 of 11 checked Azelaic Acid Topical products list a soy ingredient (soybean oil or soy lecithin); 9 do not: Almirall (0.2 g/g ointment or gel topical cream), Bryant Ranch Prepack (0.15 g/g ointment or gel topical cream), Encube Ethicals (0.15 g/g ointment or gel topical cream) and Glenmark (0.15 g/g ointment or gel topical cream) and 4 other companies. Soy lecithin is the usual form and the amount is small, but people with a soy allergy often prefer a version that does not list it.
Is there a dye-free Azelaic Acid Topical?
No checked Azelaic Acid Topical product lists a synthetic dye (an FD&C or D&C colorant) on its label. Colorants often differ by strength within one company's line, so compare the lists above strength by strength.
Does Azelaic Acid Topical contain gelatin?
No checked Azelaic Acid Topical product lists gelatin on its label. Gelatin is usually bovine or porcine and the label rarely says which; for kosher, halal or vegetarian needs, ask the manufacturer.
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
A generic must match the brand's active ingredient, strength, dose form and how it is absorbed; its fillers, binders, coatings and colorants are the manufacturer's own choice. That is why one Azelaic Acid Topical product can list lactose and a dye while another from a different company lists neither.
Who decides what counts as a gluten source, a dye or soy on this page?
Dr. Brian Staiger, PharmD, BCPS, a clinical pharmacist, wrote and maintains the classification this page applies: which ingredient names count as a lactose, wheat or gluten, soy, synthetic dye or gelatin source, and which read as "source not stated" (bare starch or maltodextrin). The ingredient lists themselves are the manufacturers' own FDA labels, shown as filed; nothing is added to or removed from a label.
The NDC on my bottle ends differently from the one on this page. Is it the same product?
Usually, yes. An NDC has three parts: the company, the product (the medicine, strength and form) and, last, the package size. Two codes that share the first two parts are the same product in different pack sizes, and a label belongs to the product, so every pack size shares one inactive-ingredient list. Each product on this page lists every pack size the FDA directory holds for it, and the NDC search accepts any of them.
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
Often, if you ask before the prescription is filled: many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one. Some pharmacies buy a generic from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check. Give them the NDC from this page; the company name alone is often enough.
How current is this list?
The products are the ones in the FDA's current NDC directory as of October 6, 2026. The list is rebuilt every day, the FDA directory is re-imported every week, and each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA label as our label sync last read it, re-read when the FDA publishes a new version. Formulations change, so check the label on your own bottle and ask your pharmacist if a refill looks different.

Sources: the products are the finished Azelaic Acid Topical products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Azelaic Acid Topical guide