Chloroquine inactive ingredients by manufacturer
Wondering whether your Chloroquine has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Chloroquine product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We have read the FDA labels of 6 of the 7 current Chloroquine products on the market today, from 5 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side. 1 label gives only a label-wide paragraph, not a list for the exact product, so it is not compared.
Ask about your bottle
Is there something in your Chloroquine? Ask in plain words.
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
The short answer
Which Chloroquine products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?
-
LactoseDiffers by manufacturer
3 of 6 checked products list lactose; 3 do not. See the products
-
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Chloroquine product lists a wheat or gluten source.
-
SoyNo checked product
No checked Chloroquine product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesNo checked product
No checked Chloroquine product lists synthetic dyes.
-
GelatinNo checked product
No checked Chloroquine product lists gelatin.
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 1 of 6 Corn 5 of 6 Titanium dioxide 2 of 6 PEG or polysorbate 2 of 6
1 product lists starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every current Chloroquine product and what its label lists
| Product | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| Amneal Pharmaceuticals of New York LLC 2 products | ||
| 250 mg tabletNDC 00115-2790-02 | Lactose Corn-derived |
Show 6 ingredientsANHYDROUS CITRIC ACID, HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, STARCH, CORN, STARCH, POTATO |
| 500 mg tabletNDC 00115-7010-01 | Lactose Corn-derived |
Show 6 ingredientsANHYDROUS CITRIC ACID, HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, STARCH, CORN, STARCH, POTATO |
| Avet Pharmaceuticals Inc. 1 product | ||
| 500 mg tabletNDC 23155-0850-74 | Label gives only a general paragraph, not compared | See the product page |
| AvKARE 1 product | ||
| 500 mg tabletNDC 42291-0047-25 | Lactose Corn-derived |
Show 6 ingredientsANHYDROUS CITRIC ACID, HYDROGENATED COTTONSEED OIL, LACTOSE MONOHYDRATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, STARCH, CORN, STARCH, POTATO |
| Chartwell RX, LLC 1 product | ||
| 500 mg tabletNDC 62135-0717-26 | Starch, source not stated Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 9 ingredientsANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, HYPROMELLOSE, UNSPECIFIED, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYSORBATE 80, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Rising Pharma Holdings, Inc. 2 products | ||
| 250 mg tabletNDC 64980-0177-01 | Corn-derived |
Show 6 ingredientsANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN |
| 500 mg tabletNDC 64980-0178-01 | Corn-derived Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 10 ingredientsANHYDROUS DIBASIC CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, HYPROMELLOSES, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, POLYSORBATE 80, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, STARCH, CORN, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.
Chloroquine without lactose
Lactose: milk sugar; a concern with lactose intolerance or a milk allergy. 3 of 6 checked products list lactose; 3 do not.
Does not list lactose
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet
- Rising: 250 mg tablet, 500 mg tablet
Lists lactose
- Amneal Pharmaceuticals of New York: 250 mg tablet, 500 mg tablet
- AvKARE: 500 mg tablet
Chloroquine without starch of unstated source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 1 of 6 checked products list starch of unstated source; 5 do not.
Does not list starch of unstated source
- Amneal Pharmaceuticals of New York: 250 mg tablet, 500 mg tablet
- AvKARE: 500 mg tablet
- Rising: 250 mg tablet, 500 mg tablet
Lists starch of unstated source
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet
Chloroquine without corn-derived ingredients
Corn-derived: corn starch, maize or corn syrup; a concern with corn allergy. 5 of 6 checked products list corn-derived ingredients; 1 does not.
Does not list corn-derived ingredients
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet
Lists corn-derived ingredients
- Amneal Pharmaceuticals of New York: 250 mg tablet, 500 mg tablet
- AvKARE: 500 mg tablet
- Rising: 250 mg tablet, 500 mg tablet
Chloroquine without titanium dioxide
Titanium dioxide: A white colorant some people choose to avoid. 2 of 6 checked products list titanium dioxide; 4 do not.
Does not list titanium dioxide
- Amneal Pharmaceuticals of New York: 250 mg tablet, 500 mg tablet
- AvKARE: 500 mg tablet
- Rising: 250 mg tablet
Lists titanium dioxide
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet
- Rising: 500 mg tablet
Chloroquine without polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 2 of 6 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 4 do not.
Does not list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
- Amneal Pharmaceuticals of New York: 250 mg tablet, 500 mg tablet
- AvKARE: 500 mg tablet
- Rising: 250 mg tablet
Lists polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet
- Rising: 500 mg tablet
At the pharmacy counter
How to use this at the pharmacy counter
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common questions about Chloroquine inactive ingredients
Is Chloroquine gluten-free?
Does Chloroquine contain lactose?
Does Chloroquine contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Chloroquine?
Does Chloroquine contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Chloroquine products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of September 27, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Chloroquine guide