Methenamine inactive ingredients by manufacturer
Wondering whether your Methenamine has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Methenamine product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We have read the FDA labels of 21 of the 21 current Methenamine products on the market today, from 17 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.
Ask about your bottle
Is there something in your Methenamine? Ask in plain words.
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
The short answer
Which Methenamine products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?
-
LactoseNo checked product
No checked Methenamine product lists lactose.
-
Wheat or gluten sourceDiffers by manufacturer
2 of 21 checked products list a wheat or gluten source; 19 do not. See the products
Does not list it Alvogen American Health Packaging ANI Aurobindo AvPAK Bryant Ranch Prepack Chartwell RX Golden State Medical Supply Ingenus Jubilant Cadista Micro NorthStar Rx Oncora Viona Westminster Zydus LifesciencesLists it Edenbridge -
SoyNo checked product
No checked Methenamine product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesDiffers by manufacturer
7 of 21 checked products list synthetic dyes; 14 do not. See the products
-
GelatinNo checked product
No checked Methenamine product lists gelatin.
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 1 of 21 Tartrazine 1 of 21 Titanium dioxide 8 of 21 Benzyl alcohol 1 of 21 PEG or polysorbate 6 of 21
1 product lists starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every current Methenamine product and what its label lists
| Product | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| Alvogen Inc. 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 47781-0577-01 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsMAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SACCHARIN SODIUM |
| American Health Packaging 1 product | ||
| 1000 mg tabletNDC 60687-0694-21 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsMAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE K90, SILICON DIOXIDE |
| ANI Pharmaceuticals, Inc. 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 70954-0959-10 | Synthetic dyes Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5) |
Show 4 ingredientsFD&C YELLOW NO. 5, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE K30, SACCHARIN SODIUM |
| Aurobindo Pharma Limited 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 65862-0782-01 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsMAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SACCHARIN SODIUM |
| AvPAK 1 product | ||
| 1000 mg tabletNDC 50268-0549-15 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsMAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE K90, SILICON DIOXIDE |
| Bryant Ranch Prepack 2 products | ||
| 500 mg tabletNDC 72162-2654-01 | Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 11 ingredientsARTHROSPIRA PLATENSIS, CARAMEL, CARMINIC ACID, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 1000 mg tabletNDC 72162-2655-01 | Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 10 ingredientsCROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FERRIC OXIDE RED, FERRIC OXIDE YELLOW, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Chartwell RX, LLC 2 products | ||
| 500 mg tabletNDC 62135-0200-01 | Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 9 ingredientsCROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C BLUE NO. 2--ALUMINUM LAKE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 1000 mg tabletNDC 62135-0201-01 | Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 9 ingredientsCROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FD&C BLUE NO. 2--ALUMINUM LAKE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Edenbridge Pharmaceuticals LLC. 2 products | ||
| 500 mg tabletNDC 42799-0105-01 | Wheat or gluten source Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide |
Show 12 ingredientsCALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, ANHYDROUS, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, FD&C BLUE NO. 1, HYPROMELLOSES, MAGNESIUM ALUMINUM SILICATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MALTODEXTRIN, MEDIUM-CHAIN TRIGLYCERIDES, POLYDEXTROSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 1000 mg tabletNDC 42799-0106-01 | Wheat or gluten source Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide |
Show 13 ingredientsCALCIUM PHOSPHATE, DIBASIC, ANHYDROUS, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, FD&C RED NO. 40, FD&C YELLOW NO. 6, HYPROMELLOSES, MAGNESIUM ALUMINUM SILICATE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MALTODEXTRIN, MEDIUM-CHAIN TRIGLYCERIDES, POLYDEXTROSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Golden State Medical Supply, Inc. 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 51407-0880-01 | Synthetic dyes |
Show 5 ingredientsFD&C YELLOW NO. 6, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, SACCHARIN SODIUM, SILICON DIOXIDE |
| Ingenus Pharmaceuticals, LLC 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 50742-0142-01 | Synthetic dyes |
Show 5 ingredientsFD&C YELLOW NO. 6, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, SACCHARIN SODIUM, SILICON DIOXIDE |
| Jubilant Cadista Pharmaceuticals Inc. 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 59746-0797-01 | Starch, source not stated |
Show 5 ingredientsMagnesium Stearate, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Povidone, Unspecified, Silicon Dioxide, Sodium Starch Glycolate Type A |
| Micro Labs Limited 1 product | ||
| 1000 mg tabletNDC 42571-0332-01 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsMAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE K90, SILICON DIOXIDE |
| NorthStar Rx LLC 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 72603-0816-01 | None of these listed |
Show 3 ingredientsMAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SACCHARIN SODIUM |
| Oncora Pharma, LLC 1 product | ||
| 500 mg/5 mL oral solutionNDC 85477-0115-16 | Benzyl alcohol |
Show 4 ingredientsBENZYL ALCOHOL, SODIUM SACCHARIN, WATER, XANTHAN GUM |
| Viona Pharmaceuticals Inc 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 72578-0175-01 | None of these listed |
Show 5 ingredientsCROSPOVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SACCHARIN SODIUM, SILICON DIOXIDE |
| Westminster Pharmaceuticals, LLC 2 products | ||
| 500 mg tabletNDC 69367-0436-01 | Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 11 ingredientsARTHROSPIRA PLATENSIS, CARAMEL, CARMINIC ACID, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| 1000 mg tabletNDC 69367-0437-01 | Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 10 ingredientsCROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, FERRIC OXIDE RED, FERRIC OXIDE YELLOW, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, POLYVINYL ALCOHOL, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| Zydus Lifesciences Limited 1 product | ||
| 1 g tabletNDC 70771-1919-01 | None of these listed |
Show 5 ingredientsCROSPOVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SACCHARIN SODIUM, SILICON DIOXIDE |
A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.
Methenamine without a wheat or gluten source
Wheat or gluten source: wheat, barley or rye; a concern with celiac disease or wheat allergy. 2 of 21 checked products list a wheat or gluten source; 19 do not.
Does not list a wheat or gluten source
- Alvogen: 1 g tablet
- American Health Packaging: 1000 mg tablet
- ANI: 1 g tablet
- Aurobindo: 1 g tablet
- AvPAK: 1000 mg tablet
- Bryant Ranch Prepack: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Golden State Medical Supply: 1 g tablet
- Ingenus: 1 g tablet
- Jubilant Cadista: 1 g tablet
- Micro: 1000 mg tablet
- NorthStar Rx: 1 g tablet
- Oncora: 500 mg/5 mL oral solution
- Viona: 1 g tablet
- Westminster: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Zydus Lifesciences: 1 g tablet
Lists a wheat or gluten source
- Edenbridge: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
Methenamine without synthetic dyes
Synthetic dyes: FD&C or D&C colorants and their aluminum lakes. 7 of 21 checked products list synthetic dyes; 14 do not.
Does not list synthetic dyes
- Alvogen: 1 g tablet
- American Health Packaging: 1000 mg tablet
- Aurobindo: 1 g tablet
- AvPAK: 1000 mg tablet
- Bryant Ranch Prepack: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Jubilant Cadista: 1 g tablet
- Micro: 1000 mg tablet
- NorthStar Rx: 1 g tablet
- Oncora: 500 mg/5 mL oral solution
- Viona: 1 g tablet
- Westminster: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Zydus Lifesciences: 1 g tablet
Lists synthetic dyes
- ANI: 1 g tablet
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Edenbridge: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Golden State Medical Supply: 1 g tablet
- Ingenus: 1 g tablet
Methenamine without starch of unstated source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 1 of 21 checked products list starch of unstated source; 20 do not.
Does not list starch of unstated source
- Alvogen: 1 g tablet
- American Health Packaging: 1000 mg tablet
- ANI: 1 g tablet
- Aurobindo: 1 g tablet
- AvPAK: 1000 mg tablet
- Bryant Ranch Prepack: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Edenbridge: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Golden State Medical Supply: 1 g tablet
- Ingenus: 1 g tablet
- Micro: 1000 mg tablet
- NorthStar Rx: 1 g tablet
- Oncora: 500 mg/5 mL oral solution
- Viona: 1 g tablet
- Westminster: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Zydus Lifesciences: 1 g tablet
Lists starch of unstated source
- Jubilant Cadista: 1 g tablet
Methenamine without tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)
Tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5): flagged separately: labels must warn about it, and it can cause reactions in people sensitive to aspirin. 1 of 21 checked products list tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5); 20 do not.
Does not list tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)
- Alvogen: 1 g tablet
- American Health Packaging: 1000 mg tablet
- Aurobindo: 1 g tablet
- AvPAK: 1000 mg tablet
- Bryant Ranch Prepack: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Edenbridge: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Golden State Medical Supply: 1 g tablet
- Ingenus: 1 g tablet
- Jubilant Cadista: 1 g tablet
- Micro: 1000 mg tablet
- NorthStar Rx: 1 g tablet
- Oncora: 500 mg/5 mL oral solution
- Viona: 1 g tablet
- Westminster: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Zydus Lifesciences: 1 g tablet
Lists tartrazine (FD&C Yellow No. 5)
- ANI: 1 g tablet
Methenamine without titanium dioxide
Titanium dioxide: A white colorant some people choose to avoid. 8 of 21 checked products list titanium dioxide; 13 do not.
Does not list titanium dioxide
- Alvogen: 1 g tablet
- American Health Packaging: 1000 mg tablet
- ANI: 1 g tablet
- Aurobindo: 1 g tablet
- AvPAK: 1000 mg tablet
- Golden State Medical Supply: 1 g tablet
- Ingenus: 1 g tablet
- Jubilant Cadista: 1 g tablet
- Micro: 1000 mg tablet
- NorthStar Rx: 1 g tablet
- Oncora: 500 mg/5 mL oral solution
- Viona: 1 g tablet
- Zydus Lifesciences: 1 g tablet
Lists titanium dioxide
- Bryant Ranch Prepack: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Edenbridge: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Westminster: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
Methenamine without benzyl alcohol
Benzyl alcohol: A preservative, mostly in injections and liquids; not for newborns. 1 of 21 checked products list benzyl alcohol; 20 do not.
Does not list benzyl alcohol
- Alvogen: 1 g tablet
- American Health Packaging: 1000 mg tablet
- ANI: 1 g tablet
- Aurobindo: 1 g tablet
- AvPAK: 1000 mg tablet
- Bryant Ranch Prepack: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Edenbridge: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Golden State Medical Supply: 1 g tablet
- Ingenus: 1 g tablet
- Jubilant Cadista: 1 g tablet
- Micro: 1000 mg tablet
- NorthStar Rx: 1 g tablet
- Viona: 1 g tablet
- Westminster: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Zydus Lifesciences: 1 g tablet
Lists benzyl alcohol
- Oncora: 500 mg/5 mL oral solution
Methenamine without polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 6 of 21 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 15 do not.
Does not list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
- Alvogen: 1 g tablet
- American Health Packaging: 1000 mg tablet
- ANI: 1 g tablet
- Aurobindo: 1 g tablet
- AvPAK: 1000 mg tablet
- Edenbridge: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Golden State Medical Supply: 1 g tablet
- Ingenus: 1 g tablet
- Jubilant Cadista: 1 g tablet
- Micro: 1000 mg tablet
- NorthStar Rx: 1 g tablet
- Oncora: 500 mg/5 mL oral solution
- Viona: 1 g tablet
- Zydus Lifesciences: 1 g tablet
Lists polyethylene glycol or polysorbate
- Bryant Ranch Prepack: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Chartwell RX: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
- Westminster: 500 mg tablet, 1000 mg tablet
At the pharmacy counter
How to use this at the pharmacy counter
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common questions about Methenamine inactive ingredients
Is Methenamine gluten-free?
Does Methenamine contain lactose?
Does Methenamine contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Methenamine?
Does Methenamine contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Methenamine products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of August 28, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Methenamine guide