Orlistat inactive ingredients by manufacturer
Wondering whether your Orlistat has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Orlistat product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We have read the FDA labels of 4 of the 4 current Orlistat products on the market today, from 3 companies listing it with the FDA, and lined them up side by side.
Ask about your bottle
Is there something in your Orlistat? Ask in plain words.
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
The short answer
Which Orlistat products list lactose, a gluten source, soy, dyes or gelatin?
-
LactoseNo checked product
No checked Orlistat product lists lactose.
-
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Orlistat product lists a wheat or gluten source.
-
SoyNo checked product
No checked Orlistat product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesEvery checked product
Every checked Orlistat product (4) lists synthetic dyes. See the products
-
GelatinEvery checked product
Every checked Orlistat product (4) lists gelatin. See the products
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 2 of 4 Titanium dioxide 4 of 4 Carmine or shellac 2 of 4 Propylene glycol 2 of 4
2 products list starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every current Orlistat product and what its label lists
Orlistat 60 mg capsule 2 companies Starch, source not stated 2 Synthetic dyes 2 Titanium dioxide 2 Gelatin 2
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| Aphena Pharma Solutions - TennesseeNDC 71610-0805-34 | Starch, source not stated Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin |
Show 9 ingredientsFD&C BLUE NO. 2, FERROUS OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| HaleonNDC 00135-0461-01 | Starch, source not stated Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin |
Show 9 ingredientsFD&C BLUE NO. 2, FERROUS OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
Orlistat 120 mg capsule 2 companies Synthetic dyes 2 Titanium dioxide 2 Gelatin 2 Carmine or shellac 2 Propylene glycol 2
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| H2-PharmaNDC 61269-0460-90 | Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol |
Show 13 ingredientsAMMONIA, FD&C BLUE NO. 2, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| H2-PharmaNDC 61269-0565-90 | Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Gelatin Carmine or shellac Propylene glycol |
Show 13 ingredientsAMMONIA, FD&C BLUE NO. 2, FERROSOFERRIC OXIDE, GELATIN, UNSPECIFIED, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, POVIDONE, UNSPECIFIED, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SHELLAC, SODIUM LAURYL SULFATE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A POTATO, TALC, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
A product with none of these listed is not certified to be without them: the label says what the manufacturer declared, and the source of a starch or a flavor is often not stated. The companies are the FDA's labelers, which include repackagers and distributors selling another company's product under their own label. The NDC opens the product's own page, with the full label and its inactive-ingredient notes.
Orlistat and synthetic dyes
Synthetic dyes: FD&C or D&C colorants and their aluminum lakes. Every checked Orlistat product (4) lists synthetic dyes.
Show which Orlistat products list synthetic dyes and which do not, by product and company
Lists synthetic dyes
- 60 mg capsule: Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Haleon
- 120 mg capsule: H2-Pharma, H2-Pharma
Orlistat and gelatin
Gelatin: animal-derived (usually bovine or porcine); a concern for vegetarian, kosher or halal needs. Every checked Orlistat product (4) lists gelatin.
Show which Orlistat products list gelatin and which do not, by product and company
Lists gelatin
- 60 mg capsule: Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Haleon
- 120 mg capsule: H2-Pharma, H2-Pharma
Orlistat without starch of unstated source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 2 of 4 checked products list starch of unstated source; 2 do not.
Show which Orlistat products list starch of unstated source and which do not, by product and company
Lists starch of unstated source
- 60 mg capsule: Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Haleon
Orlistat and titanium dioxide
Titanium dioxide: A white colorant some people choose to avoid. Every checked Orlistat product (4) lists titanium dioxide.
Show which Orlistat products list titanium dioxide and which do not, by product and company
Lists titanium dioxide
- 60 mg capsule: Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Haleon
- 120 mg capsule: H2-Pharma, H2-Pharma
Orlistat without carmine or shellac
Carmine or shellac: insect-derived red colorant or coating glaze. 2 of 4 checked products list carmine or shellac; 2 do not.
Show which Orlistat products list carmine or shellac and which do not, by product and company
Does not list carmine or shellac
- 60 mg capsule: Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Haleon
Orlistat without propylene glycol
Propylene glycol: A solvent in liquids and capsules; a concern in kidney disease, for infants, and at high doses. 2 of 4 checked products list propylene glycol; 2 do not.
Show which Orlistat products list propylene glycol and which do not, by product and company
Does not list propylene glycol
- 60 mg capsule: Aphena Pharma Solutions - Tennessee, Haleon
At the pharmacy counter
How to use this at the pharmacy counter
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common questions about Orlistat inactive ingredients
Is Orlistat gluten-free?
Does Orlistat contain lactose?
Does Orlistat contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Orlistat?
Does Orlistat contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Orlistat products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Orlistat guide