Salsalate Inactive Ingredients by Manufacturer
Wondering whether your Salsalate has lactose, gluten, soy, a dye or gelatin in it? The medicine is the same, but the fillers, coatings and colors differ from one company to the next. This page shows what each Salsalate product's FDA label lists, so you can find a version that leaves out what you avoid and ask your pharmacist for it by its NDC.
We read 4 Salsalate FDA labels from 2 companies.
Answers from the FDA labels
Ask About the Inactive Ingredients in Your Salsalate
Name the company, strength or the NDC on your bottle and the ingredient you avoid. The answer comes only from the FDA labels on this page.
Answers are drawn from the FDA label data on this page and checked against it. They are not medical advice: confirm with your pharmacist before relying on them.
Check your bottle
Look Up Your Salsalate by NDC, Company or Strength
Pick your bottle and tap what you want to check. The answer comes from that product's own FDA label, which is already on this page.
1 Which bottle do you have?
Or tap your way to it: the form, then the strength, then the company.
2 What do you want to check?
Nothing tapped? We check the five big ones.
- Listed on the labelthe company names it.
- Not listedthe label does not name it.
- Source unclearthe label names a starch or maltodextrin without saying what plant it came from.
- Still being readwe have not finished this label yet.
Pick your bottle to read its label, or tap an ingredient to see which Salsalate products leave it out.
At a glance
Which Salsalate Products List Lactose, a Gluten Source, Soy, Dyes or Gelatin?
-
LactoseNo checked product
No checked Salsalate product lists lactose.
-
Wheat or gluten sourceNo checked product
No checked Salsalate product lists a wheat or gluten source.
2 of the 4 that do not list it list maltodextrin or starch without a stated source, which the label does not trace, so the answer for those is "source unclear", not "no".
-
SoyNo checked product
No checked Salsalate product lists soy.
-
Synthetic dyesEvery checked product
Every checked Salsalate product (4) lists synthetic dyes. See the products
-
GelatinNo checked product
No checked Salsalate product lists gelatin.
Also listed by some products: Starch (source not stated) 2 of 4 Titanium dioxide 4 of 4 PEG or polysorbate 2 of 4
2 products list starch without a stated source. Most pharmaceutical starch is corn, but the label does not say, so it is flagged on its own.
Find a version without it
Every Current Salsalate Product and What Its Label Lists
Fastest way: search by NDC. It is printed on your bottle's pharmacy label. If it is not, call your pharmacy: they have it on record.
An NDC (National Drug Code) is the FDA's number for one exact product from one company in one package size, written like 60505-0121-01: the first part is the company, the middle the product and strength, the last the package size. Codes that differ only in the last part are the same product in different pack sizes and share one label, so any of them finds the right product here. Two bottles of the same medicine from different companies can have different inactive ingredients, which is why the pharmacy needs the number, not just the name.
Salsalate 500 mg tablet 2 companies Synthetic dyes 2 Titanium dioxide 2 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1 Starch, source not stated 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| AmnealNDC 65162-0512-10 Other pack sizes, same label: 65162-0512-11, 65162-0512-50 | Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 9 ingredientsCARNAUBA WAX, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, D&C YELLOW NO. 10, HYPROMELLOSES, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, STEARIC ACID, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| WestminsterNDC 69367-0615-01 | Starch, source not stated Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide |
Show 8 ingredientsD&C YELLOW NO. 10, HYPROMELLOSE, UNSPECIFIED, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, STEARIC ACID, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, TRIACETIN |
Salsalate 750 mg tablet 2 companies Synthetic dyes 2 Titanium dioxide 2 Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate 1 Starch, source not stated 1
| Company | Lists | Inactive ingredients on the label |
|---|---|---|
| AmnealNDC 65162-0513-10 Other pack sizes, same label: 65162-0513-11, 65162-0513-50 | Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate |
Show 9 ingredientsCARNAUBA WAX, CELLULOSE, MICROCRYSTALLINE, CROSCARMELLOSE SODIUM, D&C YELLOW NO. 10, HYPROMELLOSES, POLYETHYLENE GLYCOL, UNSPECIFIED, SILICON DIOXIDE, STEARIC ACID, TITANIUM DIOXIDE |
| WestminsterNDC 69367-0616-01 | Starch, source not stated Synthetic dyes Titanium dioxide |
Show 8 ingredientsD&C YELLOW NO. 10, HYPROMELLOSE, UNSPECIFIED, MICROCRYSTALLINE CELLULOSE, SILICON DIOXIDE, SODIUM STARCH GLYCOLATE TYPE A, STEARIC ACID, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, TRIACETIN |
A product with none of these on its label may still contain them. The label shows only what the company listed, and it often does not say where a starch or a flavor comes from. Some companies here repackage or sell another company's product under their own name. Tap an NDC to open that product's page with its full label.
Salsalate and Synthetic Dyes
Synthetic dyes: FD&C or D&C colorants and their aluminum lakes. Every checked Salsalate product (4) lists synthetic dyes.
Show which Salsalate products list synthetic dyes and which do not, by product and company
Lists Synthetic Dyes
- 500 mg tablet: Amneal, Westminster
- 750 mg tablet: Amneal, Westminster
Salsalate Products With Starch of Unstated Source
Starch, source not stated: the label says "starch" without naming corn, potato, tapioca or rice. 2 of 4 checked products list starch of unstated source; 2 do not.
Show which Salsalate products list starch of unstated source and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Starch of Unstated Source
- 500 mg tablet: Amneal
- 750 mg tablet: Amneal
Lists Starch of Unstated Source
- 500 mg tablet: Westminster
- 750 mg tablet: Westminster
Salsalate and Titanium Dioxide
Titanium dioxide: A white colorant some people choose to avoid. Every checked Salsalate product (4) lists titanium dioxide.
Show which Salsalate products list titanium dioxide and which do not, by product and company
Lists Titanium Dioxide
- 500 mg tablet: Amneal, Westminster
- 750 mg tablet: Amneal, Westminster
Salsalate Without Polyethylene Glycol or Polysorbate
Polyethylene glycol or polysorbate: PEG, macrogol or polysorbate; a rare cause of allergic reactions. 2 of 4 checked products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate; 2 do not.
Show which Salsalate products list polyethylene glycol or polysorbate and which do not, by product and company
Does Not List Polyethylene Glycol or Polysorbate
- 500 mg tablet: Westminster
- 750 mg tablet: Westminster
Lists Polyethylene Glycol or Polysorbate
- 500 mg tablet: Amneal
- 750 mg tablet: Amneal
At the pharmacy counter
How to Get the Version You Want at the Pharmacy
- Pick the company whose list suits you and copy the NDC from the table. Many pharmacies order from wholesalers that carry several companies' versions and can request a particular one if you ask before the prescription is filled; some buy from one contracted source only, and a few insurance plans cover only certain NDCs, so ask the pharmacist to check.
- Treat "does not list" as exactly that. The label is what the manufacturer declared; a flavor or a starch may have an unstated source, and lines change. For celiac disease or a serious allergy, ask the manufacturer's medical information line for a written statement about the lot you have.
- Check the bottle each refill. A different company usually means a different shape, color and inactive-ingredient list; the pharmacist can tell you who made it, and the two-NDC comparison shows the difference line by line.
- If you need one company's version kept constant, ask your prescriber to write that company or the NDC on the prescription and tell the pharmacy you need it held. Rules vary by state and plan, so confirm with the pharmacist.
Common Questions About Salsalate Inactive Ingredients
Is Salsalate gluten-free?
Does Salsalate contain lactose?
Does Salsalate contain soy?
Is there a dye-free Salsalate?
Does Salsalate contain gelatin?
Why do the inactive ingredients differ between manufacturers?
What can a label not tell me?
Who decides what counts as a gluten source, a dye or soy on this page?
The NDC on my bottle ends differently from the one on this page. Is it the same product?
Can my pharmacy give me a specific manufacturer's version?
How current is this list?
Sources: the products are the finished Salsalate products in the FDA's current NDC directory (openFDA), as of October 6, 2026; each inactive-ingredient list is the manufacturer's FDA Structured Product Label via DailyMed, as our label sync last read it. The concern groups are HelloPharmacist's classification of the names the label declares. Educational information only, not medical advice; confirm with your pharmacist before relying on a list. ← Back to the Salsalate guide