HomeNDC LookupIngredientsInsulin Glargine › 00002-8214-05
BASAGLAR Tempo Pen Insulin glargine 100 [iU]/mL Injection, Solution — NDC 00002-8214-05 package photo

BASAGLAR Tempo Pen Insulin glargine 100 [iU]/mL Injection, Solution

by Eli Lilly and Company · 5 SYRINGE in 1 CARTON (0002-8214-05) / 3 mL in 1 SYRINGE (0002-8214-01)
NDC 00002-8214-05
🏷️ FDA NDC (as labeled) 0002-8214-05 billing pads the labeler segment with a zero
Rx only Brand Discontinued Non-controlled ⚠ On shortage ⚠ Discontinued by firm
🗂️ Data synced Jul 24, 2026 · sources: openFDA · FDA label (DailyMed) · FDA Orange & Purple Book · First Databank · CMS NADAC, ASP, Medicare & Medicaid · RxNorm
📋 All sources & update times →
⚠️
Active FDA shortage. Insulin Glargine Injection is currently reported in shortage by the FDA. Shortage details →
⚠️
Excluded from the active FDA NDC Directory. The labeler reported this product as discontinued, so it is excluded from the active NDC Directory. The listing was last certified through Jul 2026. A label may still appear on DailyMed, but the NDC is no longer in the current FDA NDC Directory. Search the FDA NDC Directory ↗

🆔 Identity & classification

FDA NDC (as labeled) 0002-8214-05
Product NDC 0002-8214
11-digit billing NDC 00002821405
NCPDP billing unit ML — per mL (volume)
UNII 2ZM8CX04RZ
Application # BLA205692
SPL Set ID 0ad21db3-2b1c-4ed9-a687-bdd6a74d0aae
Established class (EPC) Insulin Analog
Chemical class Insulin
DEA schedule Non-controlled
Marketing category BLA
Marketing status Discontinued
FDA listing status Discontinued by firm (certified through Jul 2026)
Marketing start 2015-12-16
Marketing end 2026-07-27
Route SUBCUTANEOUS
Dosage form INJECTION, SOLUTION
Substance INSULIN GLARGINE
GCN Seq No 085479
GCN 54974
HICL code 022025
Ingredient (HICL) Insulin Glargine,Hum.rec.anlog
HIC1 code C
Therapeutic class — broad (HIC1) Electrolyte Balance/Metabolism/Nutrition
HIC2 code C4
Therapeutic class — intermediate (HIC2) Antihyperglycemics
HIC3 code C4G
Therapeutic class — specific (HIC3) Insulins
AHFS code 68:20.08.00
AHFS class Insulins
FDB label name BASAGLAR TEMPO PEN 100 UNIT/ML
FDB brand name Basaglar Tempo Pen U-100
Legend status F — Federal legend — prescription drug or device
Biologic (Purple Book) 351(a)
Why two NDCs? The FDA registers this code as 0002-8214-05 — a 4-4-2 layout, and that's what's printed on the package and shown on DailyMed. For insurance claims, every NDC is standardized to a uniform 11-digit 5-4-2 format by adding a zero to the labeler segment → 00002-8214-05. Same drug, same package — only the format differs.
Where does this data come from?
Identifiers from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Structured Product Labeling; RxCUI from RxNorm (NLM); GPI from Medi-Span; GCN / HIC / AHFS / legend from First Databank.

🏷️ RxNorm drug class

This medicine belongs to the Insulin Analog class.

Pharmacologic class Insulin Analog
Drug family (ATC) Insulins and analogues for injection, long-acting
Where does this data come from?
Therapeutic classes from RxNorm RxClass (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — Established Pharmacologic Class (FDA), ATC drug family (WHO) and mechanism of action, matched by this product’s RxCUI.

🏭 Manufacturer & labeler

LabelerEli Lilly and Company
FDA applicationBLA205692 (BLA)
Labeler code00002
First marketedDec 2015
Product typeHuman Prescription Drug
Portfolio192 products on file
The labeler markets the product; the application holder owns the FDA approval. They’re often the same company but can differ (e.g. a repackager or an authorized generic). A mailing address / phone appears here when the manufacturer includes it in the product’s FDA label (not all do).
Where does this data come from?
Labeler, application holder and registered establishment from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory and Drugs@FDA; address/contact from the product’s FDA label.

🩺 Clinical

Label name BASAGLAR TEMPO PEN 100 UNIT/ML Ingredient Insulin Glargine,Hum.rec.anlog
📗 Our plain-language guide HelloPharmacist
  • Insulin glargine is a long-acting insulin that works as a steady background insulin for your body throughout the day. It helps move sugar from your bloodstream into your cells for...
  • What exactly does insulin glargine do, and why do I need it?
  • You inject insulin glargine once a day, under the skin (not into a vein or muscle), in your abdomen, thigh, or upper arm. The key is to pick the same time every day and stick to it...
  • Low blood sugar — called hypoglycemia — is the most common and most serious risk. Signs include shakiness, sweating, dizziness, confusion, rapid heartbeat, or sudden hunger. Mild c...
📖 Read our full Insulin Glargine (rDNA origin) Injection guide →
2
Nutrient depletion considerations

Insulin Glargine may be associated with lower levels of 2 nutrients — worth a chat with your pharmacist, not a cause for alarm.

An association is not a deficiency. Educational only — don't start or stop anything without professional guidance.
Where does this data come from?
Plain-language summary from MedlinePlus (U.S. National Library of Medicine); supplement & herbal interactions and nutrient depletion data from the Natural Medicines database; our full guide is HelloPharmacist editorial content.

🧪 Inactive Ingredients / Excipients

Inactive ingredients, also called excipients, are components of the drug product other than the active ingredient. They may include fillers, dyes, coatings, preservatives, flavors, or other formulation ingredients.

Loading inactive ingredients from the official FDA label in the background. No external source is being called by this page request.
Where does this data come from?
Source: official FDA Structured Product Labeling (SPL) via DailyMed and the openFDA label index. Structured IACT rows and label-wide narrative are kept separate; availability and product-level specificity depend on the submitted label.

Inactive ingredient FAQ

Are inactive ingredients the same for every manufacturer?
No. Inactive ingredients can differ by manufacturer, dosage form, strength, and package / product version.
Why might an inactive ingredient be missing?
Some SPLs do not provide a complete structured inactive-ingredient list, and older or unusual labels may only include the information in narrative text.
Can inactive ingredients matter?
Yes. They can matter for allergies, intolerances, dyes, gluten / lactose concerns, preservatives, and formulation differences — but confirm with a pharmacist or the manufacturer when it’s clinically important.

💲 Pricing

A drug doesn't have one price. Each row is a different public payment system, and none is what you'd pay at the counter — that depends on your insurance. The ⓘ on each row explains what it measures.

Price systemPer mLPer package
Retail pharmacies payNADAC · weekly $20.955 $314.32 / 15 ml
Medicaid paysCMS SDUD · 12 mo $21.50 $322.43 / 15 ml
Medicare drug plans payPart D · quarterly No Part D plan price is available for this NDC in our data.
Medicare Part B allowsASP · J1815 No ASP payment limit on file for J1815 this quarter.
NADAC price history (per mL) — tap or hover for the price & month
Nov 2025 $20.955 $20.955
Where does this data come from?
NADAC (National Average Drug Acquisition Cost) is the CMS weekly pharmacy-acquisition-cost survey — what pharmacies pay. ASP (Average Sales Price) is the CMS Medicare Part B drug-payment file, published quarterly. Medicaid pays is computed by us from CMS State Drug Utilization Data (total reimbursed ÷ units, trailing 12 months) — gross of rebates and inclusive of dispensing fees, so it reflects what Medicaid paid, not an acquisition cost. Medicare drug plans pay is the median negotiated point-of-sale unit cost across plans listing this NDC in the CMS quarterly Prescription Drug Plan pricing files, before rebates. The VA pays is the federal contract price (FSS, and the statutory Big 4 ceiling where listed) from the VA National Acquisition Center pharmaceutical price file. All are free public government data; each measures a different payer, so the figures are not directly comparable.

🧾 Billing & reimbursement

FDA NDC (as labeled)0002-8214-05
11-digit billing NDC00002-8214-05
Format4-4-2 as registered → padded to 5-4-2 for billing (zero added to the labeler segment)
HCPCS J-codeJ1815
DescriptorINJECTION, INSULIN, PER 5 UNITS
Billing units / pkg20 units
Crosswalk sourcePDAC NDC-HCPCS crosswalk (DME MAC / DMEPOS)
Where does this data come from?
The HCPCS J-code crosswalk comes from the CMS ASP NDC-HCPCS crosswalk and the DMEPDAC (DME MAC) NDC-HCPCS crosswalk — free public CMS data. Billing units are derived from the code’s descriptor and the package amount.

🔁 Therapeutic equivalents

ProductLabelerPackNADAC/unitTEStatusPrice vs. this
Lantus 100 [iU]/mL 00088-2220-33 sanofi-aventis 1 vial $6.149 Availability likely save 71%
BASAGLAR KwikPen 100 [iU]/mL 00002-7715-59 Eli 5 syringes $20.929 Availability likely +0%
BASAGLAR Tempo Pen 100 [iU]/mLthis 00002-8214-05 Eli 5 syringes $20.955 Discontinued
Lantus 100 [iU]/mL 50090-0876-00 A-S 10 ml FDA listed
Lantus Solostar 100 [iU]/mL 50090-1398-00 A-S 5 syringes FDA listed
Lantus Solostar 100 [iU]/mL 50090-4068-00 A-S 5 syringes FDA listed
Insulin Glargine Solostar 100 [iU]/mL 50090-6178-00 A-S 5 syringes Discontinued
Lantus Solostar 100 [iU]/mL 00088-2219-00 sanofi-aventis 1 syringe FDA listed
About this product: this is a biologic. Biologics don't have small-molecule generics — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars (shown above), not generics.
Where does this data come from?
Equivalents are other NDCs of the same ingredient, form and route from the openFDA NDC Directory, ranked least-expensive-first by NADAC. Therapeutic-equivalence (AB) ratings come from the FDA Orange Book; biologics use the FDA Purple Book for biosimilar & interchangeable status.

Availability & biosimilar status

🏛️
2015
First FDA approval
Dec 2015
📍
2026
Currently FDA-listed
11 years listed
🔓
2026
Biosimilars listed
1 FDA-licensed
🧬FDA-licensed biosimilars listed

1 interchangeable is FDA-licensed for this reference biologic — see the list below. (Biologics have no small-molecule generics.)

🛡️ Latest patent/protection date listed: Biosimilars are already FDA-licensed for this product — the last listed patent runs to Dec 2027.
📅 FDA approved Dec 16, 2015

Why the date isn’t exact: Biosimilar timing can change because patents may be challenged, settled, licensed, added or removed, and litigation can move the real date earlier or later.

FDA Purple Book — biosimilars & interchangeables
Interchangeable 1
Source: FDA Purple Book (purplebooksearch.fda.gov), matched on the reference product’s active ingredient.
Patents & exclusivity — FDA Purple Book
Exclusivity RefProduct
2015 2017 2019 2021 2023 2025 2027
Today
LOE
Biologic patent Exclusivity
🏛️Reference-product exclusivity
A flat 12 years of FDA market protection from first licensure. No biosimilar can be licensed before it ends — regardless of patents.
🧪Listed biologic patents
Patents the reference maker lists covering the molecule, formulation, or manufacturing. A biosimilar generally can’t launch until these resolve.
🔁Interchangeability
An interchangeable biosimilar may be substituted at the pharmacy (state laws vary). The first one can earn its own exclusivity period.
🛈 What do these terms mean?
Biologic patent
A patent the reference product’s maker has publicly listed. A biosimilar generally can’t launch until these expire — unless they’re invalidated or resolved in a settlement.
Reference-product exclusivity
A flat 12 years of FDA market protection from the biologic’s first licensure (the BPCIA). No biosimilar can be licensed before it ends, regardless of patents.
Interchangeable exclusivity
The first interchangeable biosimilar can earn a period as the only interchangeable version (pharmacists can substitute it without the prescriber).
Earliest biosimilar (LOE)
The latest of all the dates above — the soonest a biosimilar can realistically reach the market. Litigation and settlements can move it earlier.

Biologics have no small-molecule “generics” — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars, tracked in the FDA Purple Book.

FDA exclusivity
CodeWhat it grantsExpires
RefProductReference-product exclusivity (12-year, BPCIA) — no biosimilar can be licensed before this dateDec 16, 2027
Common questions
Is there a biosimilar for BASAGLAR TEMPO PEN 100 UNIT/ML?
Yes — at least one FDA-licensed biosimilar is listed for this biologic. See the Purple Book family above for the available products.
Why do different websites show different biosimilar dates?
Biosimilar availability isn’t based on one single date. Some sources use the reference-product exclusivity, some use the last listed patent, and patent litigation, settlements, and licenses can all change the real-world launch date. This page shows the underlying Purple Book dates so you can see why estimates differ.
Can a biosimilar launch before the last patent expires?
Sometimes. A biosimilar maker may settle with the reference manufacturer or receive a license to launch earlier. In other cases, the last listed protection delays competition.
What does “current Purple Book estimate” mean?
It means we’re using the latest patent and exclusivity dates currently listed in the FDA Purple Book. It is not a guaranteed launch date.
What does “FDA listed” mean?
It means the product appears in the FDA’s official directory. That’s a good sign a product exists for the U.S. market, but on its own it does not confirm a pharmacy can get it today. Where we have recent retail pricing data, we label it “Availability likely” instead.
What does a patent or protection date mean here?
It’s the latest date currently listed in the FDA Purple Book for a patent or exclusivity on the reference biologic. It can affect when a biosimilar becomes widely available — but it is not a guaranteed launch date. Settlements and licenses can move the real date earlier or later.
Built from the FDA Purple Book Patent List (patents the reference-product sponsor has publicly listed under the BPCIA) plus reference-product exclusivity. Biosimilars cannot launch until these clear; patent litigation and settlements can shift the real date. Biologics have no small-molecule generics — competition comes from FDA-licensed biosimilars, not the Orange Book.
Where does this data come from?
Patents and exclusivity from the FDA Purple Book (biologics), refreshed from public FDA data. Biosimilar launch timing is an estimate, not a guarantee.

🗺️ Medicaid utilization & spend

📍 This exact package only: Medicaid data is reported per full 11-digit NDC — labeler, product and pack size — so every number here is for 00002-8214-05, not the drug overall. Other pack sizes report separately.
💊 Pharmacy benefit only: These are Medicaid outpatient pharmacy claims, billed by NDC. They exclude the medical benefit — clinic- or hospital-administered drugs billed under HCPCS J-codes — so drugs used mostly that way (e.g. Avastin, Lucentis, Keytruda) can look low or missing here. That’s expected, not an error.
📅 Q1 2025 – Q4 2025 · 4 quarters of data
ⓘ The newest quarter is usually incomplete when first published; states restate recent quarters in later CMS releases, so the latest figures typically revise upward. State coverage-policy changes can also shift quarter-to-quarter totals.
Prescriptions last 4 qtrs
1.6K
Units reimbursed last 4 qtrs
29.1K
Gross reimbursed last 4 qtrs
$624.6K
Avg / prescription
$389.41
Avg / unit
$21.4953
Latest quarter Q4 2025
361Rx
Medicaid pays / mL
$21.4953
gross reimbursed
vs
NADAC / mL
$20.9549
acquisition cost
=
Spread
+$0.5404
+3% vs cost
What Medicaid paid per mL (before rebates; includes the pharmacy’s dispensing fee) compared with NADAC — the average price pharmacies pay to buy the drug. A positive spread means Medicaid reimbursed more than the purchase price, before manufacturer rebates.
Fee-for-service vs managed care
61% FFS 39% MCO
Fee-for-service · 981 Rx Managed care · 623 Rx
State Medicaid map
Alaska: no data reported AK Maine: no data reported ME Washington: 6,498 units · 83.2 per 100k residents WA Idaho: no data reported ID Montana: no data reported MT North Dakota: no data reported ND Minnesota: no data reported MN Wisconsin: no data reported WI Michigan: no data reported MI New York: 2,952 units · 15.1 per 100k residents NY Vermont: no data reported VT New Hampshire: no data reported NH Oregon: no data reported OR Nevada: no data reported NV Wyoming: no data reported WY South Dakota: no data reported SD Iowa: no data reported IA Illinois: 663 units · 5.3 per 100k residents IL Indiana: no data reported IN Ohio: no data reported OH Pennsylvania: no data reported PA New Jersey: no data reported NJ Massachusetts: no data reported MA California: 15,624 units · 40.1 per 100k residents CA Utah: no data reported UT Colorado: no data reported CO Nebraska: no data reported NE Missouri: no data reported MO Kentucky: no data reported KY West Virginia: no data reported WV Virginia: no data reported VA Maryland: 456 units · 7.4 per 100k residents MD Connecticut: no data reported CT Rhode Island: no data reported RI Arizona: no data reported AZ New Mexico: no data reported NM Kansas: no data reported KS Arkansas: no data reported AR Tennessee: no data reported TN North Carolina: 1,212 units · 11.2 per 100k residents NC South Carolina: no data reported SC Delaware: no data reported DE Oklahoma: no data reported OK Louisiana: no data reported LA Mississippi: no data reported MS Alabama: no data reported AL Georgia: no data reported GA D.C.: no data reported DC Hawaii: no data reported HI Texas: 1,653 units · 5.4 per 100k residents TX Florida: no data reported FL
Units reimbursed · per 100k residents
5.383.2
gray = no data reported
Colors are per 100,000 residents, so big states don’t automatically dominate. Tap or hover a state for its actual totals.
Tap or hover a state
…for its Medicaid breakdown
🏆 Top states by units · per 100k residents
1 Washington 83.2 /100k
2 California 40.1 /100k
3 New York 15.1 /100k
4 North Carolina 11.2 /100k
5 Maryland 7.4 /100k
6 Texas 5.4 /100k
7 Illinois 5.3 /100k
National units — by quarter
💵 About the dollar figures: “reimbursed” is what Medicaid paid pharmacies before confidential manufacturer rebates, so the program’s real net cost is lower than these numbers. Fee-for-service and managed-care claims are combined unless split above. Source: CMS State Drug Utilization Data; per-100k rates use 2023 Census population estimates.

📦 Packaging — all sizes for this product

Package NDCDescription Marketing startStatus
00002-8214-05 You're viewing this 5 SYRINGE in 1 CARTON (0002-8214-05) / 3 mL in 1 SYRINGE (0002-8214-01) 2019-11-15 Discontinued by firm

🧭 About this NDC listing & data coverage

Finished prescription product No longer marketed (per FDA listing data)
What data is (and isn’t) available for this NDC — tap to expand
NDC identity (package / product / labeler codes) ✓ Available
Labeler ✓ Available
Product & package description ✓ Available
Marketing category & status ✓ Available
Active ingredient / dosage form / route ✓ Available
FDA label (SPL via DailyMed) ✓ Available
Package photos ✓ Available
Inactive ingredients (structured) — Not published for this NDC The labeler did not submit a structured excipient list, or no SPL is available.
NADAC pharmacy acquisition price (CMS) ✓ Available
Orange Book / therapeutic-equivalence data ✓ Available
HCPCS J-code billing crosswalk ✓ Available
Medicaid utilization (CMS SDUD) ✓ Available
“Not published” reflects what the public FDA / CMS / NLM sources provide for this exact package code — it is a property of the data feeds, not a judgment about the product.

Questions about this listing

What does the discontinued status mean for this NDC?
The labeler reported a marketing end date (or the listing was delisted), so this specific package is no longer actively marketed. Remaining stock may still be dispensed for a time, and the NDC stays valid for historical records and claims — but data feeds (pricing, labeling) typically stop updating for it. Other package sizes or other manufacturers' versions of the same medication may still be marketed — see the equivalents section where available.
Is the NDC printed on the package the same as the 11-digit billing NDC?
Yes, they identify this exact package in different formats. The FDA registers it as 0002-8214-05, which is what is printed on the packaging and shown on DailyMed. Insurance claims use a fixed 11-digit 5-4-2 format, so the short segment is padded with a leading zero: 00002-8214-05, written without dashes as 00002821405. The Identity section at the top of this page lists every form of this code.
What do the three segments of this NDC mean?
In 00002-8214-05, the first segment (00002) is the labeler code FDA assigned to Eli Lilly and Company; the middle segment (8214) identifies this specific product — its ingredient, strength, and dosage form; and the last segment (05) identifies this exact package size and type. Together they name one specific package of one specific product.
Who lists this product with the FDA?
Eli Lilly and Company is the labeler of record for this NDC — the company under whose FDA-assigned code the package is listed. The labeler may be the manufacturer itself or a distributor marketing the product under its own code.
Do I need a prescription for this product?
This NDC is listed with FDA as a prescription product, so it is dispensed under a prescriber's order. Your pharmacist can tell you whether any over-the-counter forms of the same medication exist.
Does this product have a billing J-code?
Yes — this NDC cross-references HCPCS code J1815 for medical-claim billing (typically used when a product is administered in a clinical setting rather than dispensed at a retail pharmacy). See the Billing section on this page.
This page identifies an FDA-listed package (the NDC) and reports public regulatory and pricing data about the listing. It is reference information, not a medical recommendation — talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own medication.
Where does this data come from?
Listing facts (marketing category, packager status, marketing dates) from the FDA openFDA NDC Directory; label availability from DailyMed; pricing coverage from CMS NADAC; equivalence scope from the FDA Orange Book.

📄 Full prescribing information FDA SPL

The complete FDA label for this product — the official prescribing information, verbatim, section by section. Jump with a chip, search within the label, or expand everything.
🎯 Indications and Usage 90 words

1 INDICATIONS AND USAGE BASAGLAR ® is indicated to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients with type 1 diabetes mellitus and in adults with type 2 diabetes mellitus. BASAGLAR ® is a long-acting human insulin analog indicated to improve glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients with type 1 diabetes mellitus and in adults with type 2 diabetes mellitus. ( 1 ) Limitations of Use : Not recommended for treating diabetic ketoacidosis.

( 1 ) Limitations of Use BASAGLAR is not recommended for the treatment of diabetic ketoacidosis.

⏱️ Dosage and Administration ~3 min read

2 DOSAGE AND ADMINISTRATION Individualize dosage based on metabolic needs, blood glucose monitoring, glycemic control, type of diabetes, prior insulin use. ( 2.2 , 2.3 , 2.4 ) Administer subcutaneously once daily at any time of day, but at the same time every day. ( 2.2 ) Rotate injection sites into the abdominal area, thigh, or deltoid to reduce the risk of lipodystrophy and localized cutaneous amyloidosis.

( 2.1 ) Closely monitor glucose when converting to BASAGLAR and during initial weeks thereafter. ( 2.2 ) Do not dilute or mix with any other insulin or solution. ( 2.1 )

2.1Important Administration Instructions Always check insulin labels before administration [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] . Visually inspect BASAGLAR prefilled pens for particulate matter and discoloration prior to administration. Only use if the solution is clear and colorless with no visible particles.

Administer BASAGLAR subcutaneously into the abdominal area, thigh, or deltoid, and rotate injection sites within the same region from one injection to the next to reduce the risk of lipodystrophy and localized cutaneous amyloidosis. Do not inject into areas of lipodystrophy or localized cutaneous amyloidosis [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 ) and Adverse Reactions ( 6 )] . During changes to a patient's insulin regimen, increase the frequency of blood glucose monitoring [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] .

Use BASAGLAR with caution in patients with visual impairment that may rely on audible clicks to dial their dose. Do not dilute or mix BASAGLAR with any other insulin or solution. Do not administer intravenously or via an insulin pump.

2.2General Dosing Instructions In patients with type 1 diabetes, BASAGLAR must be used concomitantly with short-acting insulin. Inject BASAGLAR subcutaneously once daily at any time of day but at the same time every day. Individualize and adjust the dosage of BASAGLAR based on the individual's metabolic needs, blood glucose monitoring results and glycemic control goal.

Dosage adjustments may be needed with changes in physical activity, changes in meal patterns (i.e., macronutrient content or timing of food intake), during acute illness, or changes in renal or hepatic function. Dosage adjustments should only be made under medical supervision with appropriate glucose monitoring [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . The BASAGLAR prefilled pens each dials in 1 unit increments and delivers a maximum dose of 80 units per injection.

2.3Initiation of BASAGLAR Therapy The recommended starting dose of BASAGLAR in patients with type 1 diabetes should be approximately one-third of the total daily insulin requirements. Short- or rapid-acting, pre-meal insulin should be used to satisfy the remainder of the daily insulin requirements. The recommended starting dose of BASAGLAR in patients with type 2 diabetes is 0.2 units/kg or up to 10 units once daily.

2.4Changing to BASAGLAR from Other Insulin Therapies If changing patients from another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, to BASAGLAR, the dose of BASAGLAR should be the same as the other insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL. If changing patients from a once-daily insulin glargine product, 300 units/mL, to once-daily BASAGLAR, the recommended initial BASAGLAR dosage is 80% of the insulin glargine product, 300 units/mL [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . If changing from a treatment regimen with an intermediate- or long-acting insulin to a regimen with BASAGLAR, a change in the dose of the basal insulin may be required.

If changing patients from twice-daily NPH insulin to once-daily BASAGLAR, the recommended initial BASAGLAR dosage is 80% of the total daily NPH dosage [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] .

💊 Dosage Forms and Strengths 49 words

3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS Injection: 100 units/mL (U-100) clear and colorless solution available as: 3 mL single-patient-use BASAGLAR KwikPen 3 mL single-patient-use BASAGLAR Tempo Pen Injection: 100 units/mL (U-100) is available as: ( 3 ) 3 mL single-patient-use BASAGLAR KwikPen ® 3 mL single-patient-use BASAGLAR Tempo Pen TM

Contraindications 57 words

4 CONTRAINDICATIONS BASAGLAR is contraindicated: During episodes of hypoglycemia [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] . In patients with hypersensitivity to insulin glargine or any of the excipients in BASAGLAR [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] . During episodes of hypoglycemia. ( 4 ) Hypersensitivity to BASAGLAR or any of its excipients. ( 4 )

⚠️ Warnings and Cautions ~3 min read

5 WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS Never share a BASAGLAR prefilled pen between patients, even if the needle is changed. ( 5.1 ) Hyperglycemia or hypoglycemia with changes in insulin regimen: Make changes to a patient's insulin regimen (e.g., insulin strength, manufacturer, type, injection site or method of administration) under close medical supervision with increased frequency of blood glucose monitoring. ( 5.2 ) Hypoglycemia: May be life-threatening.

Increase frequency of glucose monitoring with changes to: insulin dosage, co-administered glucose lowering medications, meal pattern, physical activity; and in patients with renal or hepatic impairment and hypoglycemia unawareness. ( 5.3 , 6.1 ) Hypoglycemia due to medication errors: Accidental mix-ups between insulin products can occur. Instruct patients to check insulin labels before injection.

( 5.4 ) Hypersensitivity reactions: Severe, life-threatening, generalized allergy, including anaphylaxis, can occur. Discontinue BASAGLAR, monitor and treat if indicated. ( 5.5 , 6.1 ) Hypokalemia: May be life-threatening.

Monitor potassium levels in patients at risk of hypokalemia and treat if indicated. ( 5.6 ) Fluid retention and heart failure with concomitant use of thiazolidinediones (TZDs): Observe for signs and symptoms of heart failure; consider dosage reduction or discontinuation if heart failure occurs. ( 5.7 )

5.1Never Share a BASAGLAR Prefilled Pen Between Patients BASAGLAR prefilled pens must never be shared between patients, even if the needle is changed. Sharing poses a risk for transmission of blood-borne pathogens.

5.2Hyperglycemia or Hypoglycemia with Changes in Insulin Regimen Changes in an insulin regimen (e.g., insulin strength, manufacturer, type, injection site or method of administration) may affect glycemic control and predispose to hypoglycemia [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] or hyperglycemia. Repeated insulin injections into areas of lipodystrophy or localized cutaneous amyloidosis have been reported to result in hyperglycemia; and a sudden change in the injection site (to an unaffected area) has been reported to result in hypoglycemia [see Adverse Reactions ( 6 )] .

Make any changes to a patient's insulin regimen under close medical supervision with increased frequency of blood glucose monitoring. Advise patients who have repeatedly injected into areas of lipodystrophy or localized cutaneous amyloidosis to change the injection site to unaffected areas and closely monitor for hypoglycemia. For patients with type 2 diabetes, dosage adjustments of concomitant anti-diabetic products may be needed.

5.3Hypoglycemia Hypoglycemia is the most common adverse reaction associated with insulins, including BASAGLAR [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )] . Severe hypoglycemia can cause seizures, may be life-threatening or cause death. Hypoglycemia can impair concentration ability and reaction time; this may place an individual and others at risk in situations where these abilities are important (e.g., driving or operating other machinery).

BASAGLAR, or any insulin, should not be used during episodes of hypoglycemia [see Contraindications ( 4 )] . Hypoglycemia can happen suddenly and symptoms may differ in each individual and change over time in the same individual. Symptomatic awareness of hypoglycemia may be less pronounced in patients with longstanding diabetes, in patients with diabetic nerve disease, in patients using medications that block the sympathetic nervous system (e.g., beta-blockers) [see Drug Interactions ( 7 )] , or in patients who experience recurrent hypoglycemia.

Risk Factors for Hypoglycemia The risk of hypoglycemia after an injection is related to the duration of action of the insulin and, in general, is highest when the glucose lowering effect of the insulin is maximal. As with all insulins, the glucose lowering effect time course of BASAGLAR may vary in different individuals or at different times in the same individual and depends on many conditions, inclu…

🤒 Adverse Reactions ~3 min read

6 ADVERSE REACTIONS The following adverse reactions are discussed elsewhere: Hypoglycemia [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 )] . Hypoglycemia Due to Medication Errors [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )] . Hypersensitivity Reactions [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.5 )] .

Hypokalemia [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.6 )] . Adverse reactions commonly (≥5%) associated with insulin glargine products are: Hypoglycemia, allergic reactions, injection site reaction, lipodystrophy, pruritus, rash, edema, and weight gain. ( 6.1 ) To report SUSPECTED ADVERSE REACTIONS, contact Eli Lilly and Company at 1-800-LillyRx (1-800-545-5979) or FDA at 1-800-FDA-1088 or www.fda.gov/medwatch.

6.1Clinical Trial Experience Because clinical trials are conducted under widely varying conditions, adverse reaction rates observed in the clinical trials of a drug cannot be directly compared to rates in the clinical trials of another drug and may not reflect the rates observed in practice. Two clinical trials with BASAGLAR were conducted: one in type 1 diabetes and one in type 2 diabetes. The type 1 diabetes population had the following characteristics: Mean age was 41 years and mean duration of diabetes was 16 years.

58% were male. 75% were Caucasian, 2% Black or African American and 4% American Indian or Alaskan native. 4% were Hispanic.

At baseline, mean eGFR was 109 mL/min/1.73m 2 . 73.5 percent of patients had eGFR>90 mL/min/1.73m 2 . The mean BMI was approximately 26 kg/m 2 .

HbA 1c at baseline was 7.8%. The data in Table 1 reflect exposure of 268 patients to BASAGLAR with a mean exposure duration of 49 weeks. The type 2 diabetes population had the following characteristics: Mean age was 59 years and mean duration of diabetes was 11 years.

50% were male. 78% were Caucasian, 8% Black or African American and 5% American Indian or Alaskan native. 28% were Hispanic.

At baseline, mean eGFR was 109 mL/min/1.73m 2 . 67.5 percent of patients had eGFR>90 mL/min/1.73m 2 . The mean BMI was approximately 32 kg/m 2 .

HbA 1c at baseline was 8.3%. The data in Table 2 reflect exposure of 376 patients to BASAGLAR with a mean exposure duration of 22 weeks. Common adverse reactions were defined as reactions occurring in ≥5% of the population studied.

Common adverse reactions during clinical trials in patients with type 1 diabetes mellitus and type 2 diabetes mellitus (other than hypoglycemia) are listed in Table 1 and Table 2 , respectively. Table 1: Adverse reactions occurring in ≥5% of adult patients with type 1 diabetes treated with BASAGLAR in a 52-week trial a Infections other than nasopharyngitis or upper respiratory tract infection. BASAGLAR + Insulin Lispro, % (n=268) Infection a 24 Nasopharyngitis 16 Upper respiratory tract infection 8 Table 2: Adverse reactions occurring in ≥5% of adult patients with type 2 diabetes treated with BASAGLAR in a 24-week trial a Infections other than nasopharyngitis or upper respiratory tract infection.

BASAGLAR + Oral Antidiabetic Medication, % (n=376) Infection a 17 Nasopharyngitis 6 Upper respiratory tract infection 5 The frequencies of adverse reactions during a clinical trial of 5 years duration with another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, in patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus are listed in Table 3 . Table 3: Common adverse reactions in 5-year trial of adult patients with type 2 diabetes (adverse reactions with incidence ≥10% and higher with another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, than comparator) Another Insulin Glargine Product, % (n=514) NPH, % (n=503) Hypertension 20 19 Sinusitis 19 18 Cataract 18 16 Bronchitis 15 14 Back pain 13 12 Cough 12 7 Urinary tract infection 11 10 Diarrhea 11 10 Depression 11 10 Headache 10 9 The frequencies of adverse reactions during clinical trials with another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, in children and adolescents with type 1 diabetes mellitus are listed in Table 4 .

Table 4: Adverse reactions in a 28-week clinical trial of pediatric patients with type 1…

🔄 Drug Interactions ~2 min read

7 DRUG INTERACTIONS Table 6 includes clinically significant drug interactions with BASAGLAR Table 6: Clinically Significant Drug Interactions with BASAGLAR Drugs That May Increase the Risk of Hypoglycemia Drugs: Antidiabetic agents, ACE inhibitors, angiotensin II receptor blocking agents, disopyramide, fibrates, fluoxetine, monoamine oxidase inhibitors, pentoxifylline, pramlintide, salicylates, somatostatin analogs (e.g., octreotide), and sulfonamide antibiotics. Intervention: Dose reductions and increased frequency of glucose monitoring may be required when BASAGLAR is co-administered with these drugs.

Drugs That May Decrease the Blood Glucose Lowering Effect of BASAGLAR Drugs: Atypical antipsychotics (e.g., olanzapine and clozapine), corticosteroids, danazol, diuretics, estrogens, glucagon, isoniazid, niacin, oral contraceptives, phenothiazines, progestogens (e.g., in oral contraceptives), protease inhibitors, somatropin, sympathomimetic agents (e.g., albuterol, epinephrine, terbutaline), and thyroid hormones Intervention: Dose increases and increased frequency of glucose monitoring may be required when BASAGLAR is co-administered with these drugs.

Drugs That May Increase or Decrease the Blood Glucose Lowering Effect of BASAGLAR Drugs: Alcohol, beta-blockers, clonidine, and lithium salts. Pentamidine may cause hypoglycemia, which may sometimes be followed by hyperglycemia. Intervention: Dose adjustment and increased frequency of glucose monitoring may be required when BASAGLAR is co-administered with these drugs.

Drugs That May Blunt Signs and Symptoms of Hypoglycemia Drugs: beta-blockers, clonidine, guanethidine, and reserpine Intervention: Increased frequency of glucose monitoring may be required when BASAGLAR is co-administered with these drugs. Drugs that may increase the risk of hypoglycemia: antidiabetic agents, ACE inhibitors, angiotensin II receptor blocking agents, disopyramide, fibrates, fluoxetine, monoamine oxidase inhibitors, pentoxifylline, pramlintide, salicylates, somatostatin analog (e.g., octreotide), and sulfonamide antibiotics ( 7 ).

Drugs that may decrease the blood glucose lowering effect: atypical antipsychotics, corticosteroids, danazol, diuretics, estrogens, glucagon, isoniazid, niacin, oral contraceptives, phenothiazines, progestogens (e.g., in oral contraceptives), protease inhibitors, somatropin, sympathomimetic agents (e.g., albuterol, epinephrine, terbutaline), and thyroid hormones ( 7 ). Drugs that may increase or decrease the blood glucose lowering effect: alcohol, beta-blockers, clonidine, lithium salts, and pentamidine ( 7 ). Drugs that may blunt the signs and symptoms of hypoglycemia: beta-blockers, clonidine, guanethidine, and reserpine ( 7 ).

👥 Use in Specific Populations ~3 min read

8 USE IN SPECIFIC POPULATIONS

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies with use of insulin glargine products during pregnancy have not reported a clear association with insulin glargine products and adverse developmental outcomes (see Data). There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy (see Clinical Considerations). In animal reproduction studies, another insulin glargine product was administered to rats before, during and throughout pregnancy at doses up to 7 times the clinical dose of 10 units/day and to rabbits during organogenesis at doses approximately 2 times the clinical dose of 10 units/day.

The effects of this other insulin glargine product did not generally differ from those observed with regular human insulin in rats or rabbits (see Data). The estimated background risk of major birth defects is 6-10% in women with pre-gestational diabetes with a HbA1c >7 and has been reported to be as high as 20-25% in women with a HbA1c >10. The estimated background risk of miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown.

In the US general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy increases the maternal risk for diabetic ketoacidosis, pre-eclampsia, spontaneous abortions, preterm delivery, and delivery complications. Poorly controlled diabetes increases the fetal risk for major birth defects, stillbirth, and macrosomia related morbidity.

Data Human Data Published data do not report a clear association with insulin glargine products and major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes when insulin glargine products are used during pregnancy. However, these studies cannot definitely establish the absence of any risk because of methodological limitations including small sample size and some with no comparative group. Animal Data Subcutaneous reproduction and teratology studies have been performed with another insulin glargine product and with regular human insulin in rats and Himalayan rabbits.

This other insulin glargine product was given to female rats before mating, during mating, and throughout pregnancy at dose up to 0.36 mg/kg/day, which is approximately 7 times the recommended human subcutaneous starting dose of 10 units/day (0.008 mg/kg/day) based on mg/m 2 . In rabbits, doses of 0.072 mg/kg/day, which is approximately 2 times the recommended human subcutaneous starting dose of 10 units/day (0.008 mg/kg/day), based on mg/m 2 , were administered during organogenesis. The effects of this other insulin glargine product did not generally differ from those observed with regular human insulin in rats and rabbits.

However, in rabbits, five fetuses from two litters of the high-dose group exhibited dilation of the cerebral ventricles. Fertility and early embryonic development appeared normal.

8.2Lactation Risk Summary There are no data on the presence of insulin glargine in human milk, the effects on the breastfed infant, or the effects on milk production. Endogenous insulin is present in human milk. The developmental and health benefits of breastfeeding should be considered along with the mother's clinical need for BASAGLAR and any potential adverse effects on the breastfed child from BASAGLAR or from the underlying maternal condition.

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of BASAGLAR have been established in pediatric patients (age 6 to 15 years) with type 1 diabetes based on an adequate and well-controlled trial of another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, in pediatric patients (age 6 to 15 years) with type 1 diabetes and additional data in adults with type 1 diabetes [see Clinical Studies ( 14.2 )] . The safety and effectiveness of BASAGLAR in pediatric patients younger than 6 years of age with type 1 diabetes an…

🤰 Pregnancy ~2 min read

8.1Pregnancy Risk Summary Published studies with use of insulin glargine products during pregnancy have not reported a clear association with insulin glargine products and adverse developmental outcomes (see Data). There are risks to the mother and fetus associated with poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy (see Clinical Considerations). In animal reproduction studies, another insulin glargine product was administered to rats before, during and throughout pregnancy at doses up to 7 times the clinical dose of 10 units/day and to rabbits during organogenesis at doses approximately 2 times the clinical dose of 10 units/day.

The effects of this other insulin glargine product did not generally differ from those observed with regular human insulin in rats or rabbits (see Data). The estimated background risk of major birth defects is 6-10% in women with pre-gestational diabetes with a HbA1c >7 and has been reported to be as high as 20-25% in women with a HbA1c >10. The estimated background risk of miscarriage for the indicated population is unknown.

In the US general population, the estimated background risk of major birth defects and miscarriage in clinically recognized pregnancies is 2-4% and 15-20%, respectively. Clinical Considerations Disease-associated maternal and/or embryo/fetal risk Poorly controlled diabetes in pregnancy increases the maternal risk for diabetic ketoacidosis, pre-eclampsia, spontaneous abortions, preterm delivery, and delivery complications. Poorly controlled diabetes increases the fetal risk for major birth defects, stillbirth, and macrosomia related morbidity.

Data Human Data Published data do not report a clear association with insulin glargine products and major birth defects, miscarriage, or adverse maternal or fetal outcomes when insulin glargine products are used during pregnancy. However, these studies cannot definitely establish the absence of any risk because of methodological limitations including small sample size and some with no comparative group. Animal Data Subcutaneous reproduction and teratology studies have been performed with another insulin glargine product and with regular human insulin in rats and Himalayan rabbits.

This other insulin glargine product was given to female rats before mating, during mating, and throughout pregnancy at dose up to 0.36 mg/kg/day, which is approximately 7 times the recommended human subcutaneous starting dose of 10 units/day (0.008 mg/kg/day) based on mg/m 2 . In rabbits, doses of 0.072 mg/kg/day, which is approximately 2 times the recommended human subcutaneous starting dose of 10 units/day (0.008 mg/kg/day), based on mg/m 2 , were administered during organogenesis. The effects of this other insulin glargine product did not generally differ from those observed with regular human insulin in rats and rabbits.

However, in rabbits, five fetuses from two litters of the high-dose group exhibited dilation of the cerebral ventricles. Fertility and early embryonic development appeared normal.

🧒 Pediatric Use 137 words

8.4Pediatric Use The safety and effectiveness of BASAGLAR have been established in pediatric patients (age 6 to 15 years) with type 1 diabetes based on an adequate and well-controlled trial of another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, in pediatric patients (age 6 to 15 years) with type 1 diabetes and additional data in adults with type 1 diabetes [see Clinical Studies ( 14.2 )] . The safety and effectiveness of BASAGLAR in pediatric patients younger than 6 years of age with type 1 diabetes and pediatric patients with type 2 diabetes has not been established.

In the pediatric clinical trial, pediatric patients (age 6 to 15 years) with type 1 diabetes had a higher incidence of severe symptomatic hypoglycemia compared to the adults in trials with type 1 diabetes [see Adverse Reactions ( 6.1 )] .

🧓 Geriatric Use 137 words

8.5Geriatric Use Of the total number of subjects in clinical studies of patients with type 2 diabetes who were treated with BASAGLAR or another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, each in combination with oral agents in a controlled clinical trial environment, 28.3% were 65 and over, while 4.5% were 75 and over. No overall differences in safety or effectiveness were observed between these subjects and younger subjects, and other reported clinical experience has not identified differences in responses between the elderly and younger patients, but greater sensitivity of some older individuals cannot be ruled out.

Nevertheless, caution should be exercised when BASAGLAR is administered to geriatric patients. In elderly patients with diabetes, the initial dosing, dose increments, and maintenance dosage should be conservative to avoid hypoglycemic reactions. Hypoglycemia may be difficult to recognize in the elderly.

🆘 Overdosage 102 words

10 OVERDOSAGE Excess insulin administration relative to food intake, energy expenditure, or both may lead to severe and sometimes prolonged and life-threatening hypoglycemia and hypokalemia [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.3 , 5.6 )] . Mild episodes of hypoglycemia can be treated with oral glucose. Adjustments in drug dosage, meal patterns, or physical activity level may be needed.

More severe episodes with coma, seizure, or neurologic impairment may be treated with a glucagon product for emergency use or concentrated intravenous glucose. Sustained carbohydrate intake and observation may be necessary because hypoglycemia may recur after apparent clinical recovery. Hypokalemia must be corrected appropriately.

🧬 Clinical Pharmacology ~2 min read

12 CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGY

12.1Mechanism of Action The primary activity of insulin, including insulin glargine, is regulation of glucose metabolism. Insulin and its analog lower blood glucose by stimulating peripheral glucose uptake, especially by skeletal muscle and fat, and by inhibiting hepatic glucose production. Insulin inhibits lipolysis and proteolysis, and enhances protein synthesis.

12.2Pharmacodynamics The pharmacodynamic profile for BASAGLAR was determined after subcutaneous administration of a single

0.5U/kg dose in a euglycemic clamp study conducted in 91 healthy subjects. The median time to maximum effect of BASAGLAR (measured by the peak rate of glucose infusion) was approximately 12.0 hours. The pharmacodynamic profile of BASAGLAR following subcutaneous injection demonstrated sustained glucose lowering activity over 24 hours with no pronounced peak.

The mean area under the glucose infusion rate curves (measure of overall pharmacodynamic effect) and maximum glucose infusion rate were 1670 mg/kg and 2.12 mg/kg/min, respectively. A euglycemic clamp study in 20 patients with type 1 diabetes showed a similar pharmacodynamic profile with a sustained glucose lowering activity over 24 hours following a single

0.3U/kg subcutaneous dose of BASAGLAR. After subcutaneous injection of 0.3 units/kg of another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, in patients with type 1 diabetes, the duration of action after abdominal, deltoid, or thigh subcutaneous administration was similar. The time course of action of insulins, including insulin glargine, may vary between individuals and within the same individual.

12.3Pharmacokinetics Absorption and Bioavailability The pharmacokinetic profile for BASAGLAR was determined after subcutaneous administration of a single

0.5U/kg dose in a euglycemic clamp study conducted in 91 healthy subjects. The insulin serum concentrations indicated a slow and prolonged absorption and a relatively constant concentration/time profile over 24 hours with no pronounced peak. The median time to maximum serum insulin concentration was 12 hours after injection.

On average, serum insulin concentrations declined to baseline by approximately 24 hours. The mean observed area under the serum insulin concentration-time curve from time zero to 24 hours and peak serum insulin concentration were 1720 pmol*hr/L and 103 pmol/L, respectively. Metabolism and Elimination After subcutaneous injection of another insulin glargine product, 100 units/mL, in diabetic patients, insulin glargine is metabolized at the carboxyl terminus of the Beta chain with formation of two active metabolites M1 (21 A -Gly-insulin) and M2 (21 A -Gly-des-30 B -Thr-insulin).

The in vitro activity of M1 and M2 were similar to that of insulin. Specific Populations Age, Race, and Gender: Effect of age, race, and gender on the pharmacokinetics of BASAGLAR has not been evaluated. Obesity: Effect of BMI on the pharmacokinetics of BASAGLAR has not been evaluated.

🧬 Mechanism of Action 50 words

12.1Mechanism of Action The primary activity of insulin, including insulin glargine, is regulation of glucose metabolism. Insulin and its analog lower blood glucose by stimulating peripheral glucose uptake, especially by skeletal muscle and fat, and by inhibiting hepatic glucose production. Insulin inhibits lipolysis and proteolysis, and enhances protein synthesis.

📦 How Supplied / Storage and Handling ~1 min read

16 HOW SUPPLIED/STORAGE AND HANDLING

16.1How Supplied BASAGLAR (insulin glargine) injection is a clear, colorless solution, 100 units/mL (U-100), available as: a Tempo Pen contains a component that allows for data connectivity when used with a compatible transmitter. BASAGLAR Total Volume NDC Number Package Size BASAGLAR single-patient-use KwikPen 3 mL 0002-7715-59 5 pens BASAGLAR single-patient-use Tempo Pen a 3 mL 0002-8214-05 5 pens The BASAGLAR KwikPen and Tempo Pen dial in 1 unit increments. Needles are not included.

This device is recommended for use with Becton, Dickinson & Company's insulin pen needles which are sold separately.

16.2Storage and Handling Dispense in the original sealed carton with the enclosed Instructions for Use. Protect BASAGLAR from heat and light. Do not freeze BASAGLAR.

In-use BASAGLAR prefilled pens must be used within 28 days or be discarded, even if they still contain BASAGLAR. Storage conditions are summarized in the following table: Not In-Use (Unopened) Room Temperature (up to 86°F [30°C]) Not In-Use (Unopened) Refrigerated (36°F to 46°F [2°C to 8°C]) In-Use (Opened) Room Temperature, (up to 86°F [30°C]) 3 mL single-patient-use BASAGLAR KwikPen 28 days Until expiration date 28 days, Do not refrigerate. 3 mL single-patient-use BASAGAR Tempo Pen 28 days Until expiration date 28 days, Do not refrigerate.

16.1How Supplied BASAGLAR (insulin glargine) injection is a clear, colorless solution, 100 units/mL (U-100), available as: a Tempo Pen contains a component that allows for data connectivity when used with a compatible transmitter. BASAGLAR Total Volume NDC Number Package Size BASAGLAR single-patient-use KwikPen 3 mL 0002-7715-59 5 pens BASAGLAR single-patient-use Tempo Pen a 3 mL 0002-8214-05 5 pens The BASAGLAR KwikPen and Tempo Pen dial in 1 unit increments. Needles are not included.

This device is recommended for use with Becton, Dickinson & Company's insulin pen needles which are sold separately.

📦 Storage and Handling 111 words

16.2Storage and Handling Dispense in the original sealed carton with the enclosed Instructions for Use. Protect BASAGLAR from heat and light. Do not freeze BASAGLAR.

In-use BASAGLAR prefilled pens must be used within 28 days or be discarded, even if they still contain BASAGLAR. Storage conditions are summarized in the following table: Not In-Use (Unopened) Room Temperature (up to 86°F [30°C]) Not In-Use (Unopened) Refrigerated (36°F to 46°F [2°C to 8°C]) In-Use (Opened) Room Temperature, (up to 86°F [30°C]) 3 mL single-patient-use BASAGLAR KwikPen 28 days Until expiration date 28 days, Do not refrigerate. 3 mL single-patient-use BASAGAR Tempo Pen 28 days Until expiration date 28 days, Do not refrigerate.

📋 Description 185 words

11 DESCRIPTION Insulin glargine is a long-acting human insulin analog produced by recombinant DNA technology utilizing a non-pathogenic laboratory strain of Escherichia coli (K12) as the production organism. Insulin glargine differs from human insulin in that the amino acid asparagine at position A21 is replaced by glycine and two arginines are added to the C-terminus of the B-chain. Chemically, insulin glargine is 21 A -Gly-30 B -a-L-Arg-30 B b-L-Arg-human insulin and has the empirical formula C 267 H 404 N 72 O 78 S 6 and a molecular weight of 6.063 kDa.

Insulin glargine has the following structural formula: BASAGLAR (insulin glargine) injection is a sterile clear and colorless aqueous solution for subcutaneous use. Each mL contains 100 units of insulin glargine (3.6378 mg). The 3 mL BASAGLAR prefilled pen presentations contain the following inactive ingredients per mL: glycerin (17 mg), metacresol (2.7 mg), zinc oxide (content adjusted to provide 30 mcg zinc ion), and Water for Injection, USP.

The pH is adjusted by addition of aqueous solutions of hydrochloric acid 10% and/or sodium hydroxide 10%. BASAGLAR has a pH of approximately 4. Structural Formula

💬 Information for Patients ~1 min read

17 PATIENT COUNSELING INFORMATION See FDA-approved patient labeling (Patient Information and Instructions for Use). Never Share a BASAGLAR Prefilled Pen Between Patients Advise patients that they must never share a BASAGLAR prefilled pen with another person, even if the needle is changed, because doing so carries a risk for transmission of blood-borne pathogens [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.1 )] . Hyperglycemia or Hypoglycemia Inform patients that hypoglycemia is the most common adverse reaction with insulin.

Inform patients of the symptoms of hypoglycemia. Inform patients that the ability to concentrate and react may be impaired as a result of hypoglycemia. This may present a risk in situations where these abilities are especially important, such as driving or operating other machinery.

Advise patients who have frequent hypoglycemia or reduced or absent warning signs of hypoglycemia to use caution when driving or operating machinery. Advise patients that changes in insulin regimen can predispose to hyperglycemia or hypoglycemia and that changes in insulin regimen should be made under close medical supervision [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.2 )] . Medication errors Inform patients to always check the insulin label before each injection [see Warnings and Precautions ( 5.4 )].

Literature revised July 2021 Manufactured by: Eli Lilly and Company Indianapolis, IN 46285, USA US License Number 1891 Copyright © 2015, 2021, Eli Lilly and Company. All rights reserved. BAS-0007-USPI-20210727

Source: FDA Structured Product Labeling, mirrored from DailyMed / openFDA. Prefer the government’s original formatting? View this label on DailyMed ↗
For educational and professional reference only — not medical advice. Pricing reflects published NADAC and CMS ASP (free public data) and may differ from your acquisition cost; always verify before billing or dispensing.